View Full Version : Alloa 1 - 0 Hibs
09-04-2016, 03:57 PM
Time for dempster to act now. ****ing absolute joke. Im done for this season, will attend the play off game in the hope we do something but thats it
Hibeesforever
I wasn't even that concerned at half time i thought we would at least score. I'm baffled with hibs at the moment.
No wingers is the problem and strikers that don't link up together or score.
Renew my season ticket? At the moment I don't even want to go on Tuesday. This is a total disgrace. Spewing.
09-04-2016, 03:58 PM
You defending this ***** like?
Can't defend a result like that mate. Still fully behind Stubbs and the team though.
When was the last time we ended a season on a high?
This is the worst result of the season. The question is why has our challenge fell apart?
Would go further than that, one of the worst results in our recent history given the importance and circumstances of both teams. Something is dreadfully wrong at ER and Stubbs needs to accept 100% responsibility for that. He rightly got praised for the first half of the season and our cup results (bar the final), but we've collapsed and he's FAILED to address the problem. 100% Stubbs.
pennyhibee
09-04-2016, 03:59 PM
Of course we have to get someone in to change a system everyone has sussed out At this rate we won't get by the 3rd place play off game FFS Stuart McCall almost done it for rangers take a chance or we're f....d again
Stubbs has taken Hibs as far as he is capable of, time for him to stand down. No way that players of the calibre in the team should be losing week after week to part timers. The manager has lost the plot, one shock result can be accepted but this run of results is unacceptable. We would be getting relegated with results like this in the first half of the season.
rotherhamrob
The next 3 games could well define our season, if things go tits up then imo stubbs has to go, all this tippy tappy Everton pi## does not work in this league.
It's time for stubbs to do what he's paid to do and manage the team, if need be change tactics/personnel if that upsets a few ego's then tough sh##.
We've collapsed, we've completely collapsed.
I'll say it loud and clear - 3-5-2 !
We play our best football in this formation, we have width, and get rid of this ineffectual diamond.
Play this formation from now on we will win games of football - surely to goodness we have a youth player in the ranks who can play wide, or indeed give Lewis a break at left back - team looks shattered these days.
We have to act now just as we should have sacked Butcher before the end of the relegation season.
09-04-2016, 04:00 PM
I think the recent form is far from acceptable and very frustrated with how results are going. However I don't think Stubbs should be sacked before the end of this season.
Hope that's okay.
gerry
Plain and simple we should beat Alloa . There's no excuse from players or manager sad state of affairs .
Sorry not accepting that. We can kiss goodbye to 2nd.
Utter embarrassment. Serious questions need to be asked.
A terrible and frankly very embarrassing result. Another one.
How many people, I wonder, who were wavering about buying a season ticket before the early bird deadline on Monday will now be saying f*** that? I know that LD and the Hibs board will be fully aware of the consequences of a result like today's.
Where do Hibs go from here? Someone will no doubt be along soon with a boring cliche like "we go again on Tuesday". :fuming:
coldingham hibs
09-04-2016, 04:01 PM
Renew my season ticket? At the moment I don't even want to go on Tuesday. This is a total disgrace. Spewing.
Couldn't agree more, I can't face another game at the moment, absolutely sickening. Just renewed my season ticket and HSL subscription, truly sole destroying.
Get Stubbs out and McCall in, we may scrape through.
Callum7
Now it's time for the countless threads with different opinions.
A good squad being set up badly. Stubbs should be replaced
A very good squad for this division at least, this is turning into a mare.
09-04-2016, 04:02 PM
Time for dempster to act now. ****ing absolute joke. Im done for this season, will attend the play off game in the hope we do something but thats it
after the final i was already done for the season until the play-offs...unfortunately i stupidly bought a ticket for the game v Falkirk next week :greengrin
Niffy
Dempster and Stubbs can say all they want about making improvements at the club from the ground up, but where it matters has failed big style.
Forget playing Killie, there is no danger this lot will get past Falkirk IF they manage past Raith.
We could well be fighting against Dundee Utd AND Killie next season.
Well it is :hnet:
marleyhib
09-04-2016, 04:03 PM
4 points from 21 in the championship , lost to Dumarton and Alloa, I was shocked when we got humped off Morton now I'm just embarrassed
09-04-2016, 04:03 PM
I'm generally thinking of holding off next season. £380 to watch championship football plus the club wants people to buy shares and that. Nah I'll pass :aok:
spudhib
09-04-2016, 04:04 PM
Honestly think the vast majority want him out like .
****ing booooo.... Absolute disgrace and totally not acceptable
When was the last time we ended a season on a high?1999 ? Team applauded off after losing cup final in 2013 .
coldingham hibs
Callum, I think most have now decided enough is enough, a change is required to give us any hope of recovering the situation, there are no second chances.
09-04-2016, 04:06 PM
Exactly, too all those shouting for Stubbs head, be careful what you ask for, you may just get it. If you think we are in a mess just now, god help us if he does go. Mental, just pure mental.
What does worse look like? Bizarre comment. Even just punching our weight would be good.
09-04-2016, 04:07 PM
4 points from 21 in the championship , lost to Dumarton and Alloa, I was shocked when we got humped off Morton now I'm just embarrassed
Wow, relegation form :rolleyes:
09-04-2016, 04:07 PM
Alloa's first home win since May last year
ashamed
mcfly
09-04-2016, 04:10 PM
what's he gonna say this time??
Fed up with the excuses but he still doesn't change the team.
Shocking
Looking at the betting for next week we are favourites - crazy how that is
We are on a terrible run
I honestly think his position has become untenable and he has taken us as far as he can IMHO.
The last 6 or so weeks has proved that. Week after week the same tactics and not a lesson learnt!
He can have no excuse for that today.
Yes the players must shoulder some of the responsibility but the buck stops with Stubbs and the management team!
Shambles.
09-04-2016, 04:12 PM
I'm also concerned about his tactics, formations, inability to score and unbelievable decision not to play Boyle after Tuesday. Don't know if he should go just yet but it's not acceptable now.
Big Deek
09-04-2016, 04:12 PM
After the most embarrassing result since the last one, it is natural for people to want to change the manager. I will admit that when Butcher left and Stubbs name was mentioned as a possible successor, I was distinctly underwhelmed. When he got the job, as a Hibs fan of 40 plus years I vowed to support him but was concerned that he was a rookie. That support has now gone. Went to Dumbarton and Kirkcaldy (was working today) and watched 11 diddies who looked like they had just met each other. The football played is devoid of passion and direction and ALL the players look like they could not give a monkeys whether we win,lose or draw and a lot of that is down to the Manager's laid back attitude and the "I'm right and every one else is wrong" attitude that he seems to have.We will be extremely lucky to win any other game this season
09-04-2016, 04:13 PM
1999 ? Team applauded off after losing cup final in 2013 .
We also clapped them off last year but I wouldn't consider that a positive end of the season more of a we respect the effort you put in.
inglisavhibs
09-04-2016, 04:14 PM
Seriously? He's the chairman of a failing club.
By all accounts the club is being well run behind the scenes, it's the football side that's struggling. If Petrie had appointed Stubbs I am sure there would be mayhem on here.
Alloa's first home win since May last year
Yet, STILL some folk come on here and say that things have improved and defend this s***. That is simply horrendous from a footballing perspective. There can be no excuse for that. Something is seriously wrong at Easter Road now.
There's backing your team, and that's great. But there has to be a time to stop burying one's head in the sand. Surely?
Its not very good eh? Any info from those at the game?
what's he gonna say this time??
Fed up with the excuses but he still doesn't change the team.
Shocking
Looking at the betting for next week we are favourites - crazy how that is
We are on a terrible run
"We've got a great bunch of lads, who I know are better than this result. They are hurting and will be determined to get back to winning ways."
09-04-2016, 04:15 PM
Its not very good eh? Any info from those at the game?
We need to wait for the fans to get back.
09-04-2016, 04:15 PM
Any words from him after the game yet?
09-04-2016, 04:20 PM
If he uses the narrow pitch and surface as an excuse I'm afraid he's lost the plot. And why he doesn't start with a confident, upbeat Boyle after he made such a difference midweek is astounding - football is about confidence and reward and Boyle deserved to start - he must have been deflated when told he was benched.
The players themselves need a rocket too - far too slow paced and narrow in their play. They have to start at pace and with high energy and be direct. The play is far too contrived and predictable hence we are losing games as opposition teams easily set up in banks of 4 and 5 and organise.
Too many 'niggles' on the injury front too. Players need to grow a set and management needs to put pressure on them to return quickly. I'm not buying the length of time some of these injuries are taking to clear.
Have we a manager who is more a players 'friend' than into discipline ?
Jim Herriot
09-04-2016, 04:21 PM
No it's not. :wink:
Actually, I think today I'm going to skip the post-defeat threads. I've got no problem with debate, but it often descends into tedious and illogical arguments along the lines of:-
We still played reasonably well.
...... Oh, so you think a defeat by Alloa is acceptable?
It's Stubbs' fault.
...... Oh, so you'd prefer Terry Butcher?
It's not Stubbs' fault.
...... Oh, so you like being in the Championship?
I disagree with a previous poster.
...... Oh, so I'm not allowed an opinion?
09-04-2016, 04:23 PM
Another in a now long list of pathetic results in a poor league. For the first time I really wouldn't care if Stubbs left now.
marleyhib
09-04-2016, 04:24 PM
09-04-2016, 04:25 PM
Where's the Stokes fan club today then?
Couldn't even score against a postman.
09-04-2016, 04:37 PM
Neither could anyone else. What about the defence? Conceding a goal against that *****.
Big Deek
09-04-2016, 04:37 PM
Wouldn't care now if Stubbs left and took his underachieving wage thieves with him along with the medical team who can't seem to heal all those injured players we have.
Big Deek
09-04-2016, 04:39 PM
After the most embarrassing result since the last one, it is natural for people to want to change the manager. I will admit that when Butcher left and Stubbs name was mentioned as a possible successor, I was distinctly underwhelmed. When he got the job, as a Hibs fan of 40 plus years I vowed to support him but was concerned that he was a rookie. That support has now gone. Went to Dumbarton and Kirkcaldy (was working today) and watched 11 diddies who looked like they had just met each other. The football played is devoid of passion and direction and ALL the players look like they could not give a monkeys whether we win,lose or draw and a lot of that is down to the Manager's laid back attitude and the "I'm right and every one else is wrong" attitude that he seems to have.We will be extremely lucky to win any other game this season
09-04-2016, 04:43 PM
Didn't go today as I swore I would never again visit that dump of a ground with the worst playing surface in the country. Having said this, I fully expected a win in what was a very important game for us. I feel worse now than I did after the cup final. Stubbs just doesn't seem to have any answers to the opposition we play in this diddy league and the way they set up. He has had almost two seasons to suss this out. He's failed.
Leithwalk
09-04-2016, 04:47 PM
Same old story. Slow pace. Too often beaten to the ball by a team who wanted it more. They defended well and I don't recall their substitute keeper having to do much. We did get a few decent shots but all deflected. Sloppy passing, etc etc. You know the rest
Seems there are still those that think it will be alright on the night, maybe, but for me, who has followed the club since 1971this awful stuff, just awful. This is a proud club, we won 3 league titles, 2 of them in consecutive years, were one of the first if not the first British club to play in European football, beat the cream of European football and now we can't beat part time Alloa. We have a 20000 all seater stadium, one of the best in Scotland and as things stand it will be virtually empty next season.
One thing is for sure there will be NO more talk of Stubbs as the next Celtic manager, he has made certain of that himself.
ionahibby
09-04-2016, 04:49 PM
It will be interesting to see what Stubbs says after that. Does he stick with supporting the players or will he finally slate them and boot them up the arse.
09-04-2016, 04:50 PM
When we lost to Alloa early last season it seemed a massive result that would not be acceptable to anyone to be repeated. There was some excuse given we were adjusting to the league and Farid getting his injury.
Dempster said at the fan meetings shortly after that she slept in a hotel that night because she couldn't face going home.
We seem to have gone from that to this being normal. 18 months or whatever on from that there are no excuses.
09-04-2016, 04:50 PM
Is anyone surprised? This is Hibs, it's what we do.
09-04-2016, 04:51 PM
When we lost to Alloa early last season it seemed a massive result that would not be acceptable to anyone to be repeated. There was some excuse given we were adjusting to the league and Farid getting his injury.
Dempster said at the fan meetings shortly after that she slept in a hotel that night because she couldn't face going home.
We seem to have gone from that to this being normal. 18 months or whatever on from that there are no excuses.
Would you replace him now Andy?
mcfly
09-04-2016, 04:53 PM
His goalie can't play next week and he still won't drop him.
hibs board will be very concerned now. I can see the early bird being extended again.
I can't renew again until I know what league we are in.
If Stubbs can't sort this then be a man and walk
inglisavhibs
09-04-2016, 04:54 PM
totally agree with this, imo we have the players
Not sure the squad is as good as some people think. Stubbs signed Boyle and Carmichael as wide midfield players but for various reasons neither has established themselves as first team regulars. Both our full backs have severe limitations, although in our diamond formation they are asked to do too much and also things they are not good at. Despite having some talented individuals we still lack decent width, pace and anyone who has the ability to beat an opponent and get to the bye line. Signing a balanced team is a big part of any managers remit and in that respect Stubbs has failed. He has steadfastly refused to change from his favoured diamond formation, which has caused many teams problems over the season but also has become easy to defend against as opponents got to know us. His reluctance to change is probably because he wants to play his favoured midfield players, none of whom are happy wide and also he obviously doesn't like 3-5-2. Bottom line now is that he is under huge pressure. The burning question is whether we would have more chance of going up with Stubbs or a stop gap replacement?
Yep, it's all Antony Stokes' fault Hibernian FC finds itself in the mess it's in today. :rolleyes:
It will be interesting to see what Stubbs says after that. Does he stick with supporting the players or will he finally slate them and boot them up the arse.
Slate them?
Boot them up the arse?
What about himself? It is his responsibility and he put out a team that LOST TO A RELEGATED TEAM.
A blind man can see that the Keatings/Cummings/Stokes thing doesnt work.
A blind man can see it, but not Stubbs.
I have been a stubbsy supporter, but today was the last straw. I am unsure how much worse we would be with any of our youth coaches in charge, to be honest.
Enough is enough.
09-04-2016, 04:56 PM
The same Stokes who's prob looked more sharp than Jason and McGinn recently aye?
None of them could score today FFS not just Stokes. Although he did score Wednesday though. Sorry for reminding you.
09-04-2016, 04:57 PM
No excuses. No disrespect to Alloa but its teams like them that hibs should be beating comfortably.
We have to act now just as we should have sacked Butcher before the end of the relegation season.
It's too late.
09-04-2016, 05:02 PM
Would you replace him now Andy?
I would now, yes.
09-04-2016, 05:05 PM
Has he done a post match interview yet?
Will be great to see how he spins it on hibs tv
09-04-2016, 05:06 PM
The same Stokes who's prob looked more sharp than Jason and McGinn recently aye?
None of them could score today FFS not just Stokes. Although he did score Wednesday though. Sorry for reminding you.
Remind me how we did today? Your manager does not have a bloody clue how to set this team up now. He's been sussed out by every team in this league and also Ross County.
I'd take your first pick Butcher to get us up out this league over Stubbs, he has already done it before. I'd take Fenlon over Stubbs and i'd take Hughes over Stubbs.
09-04-2016, 05:06 PM
Rod will be nudging Dempster and whispering "Not so easy eh...?"
Maybe if we haven't had a 'Business 1st - Football 2nd' ethos installed by RP for well over a decade, we might've produced teams/players who would at least fight for the club, realise exactly how much this club means to it's supporters !!
As it is, a team that had a 28-game unbeaten in the season now look like canon-fodder for all the games left - you can understand one or two players hitting an off-form period but an entire team !!??
09-04-2016, 05:07 PM
Remind me how we did today? Your manager does not have a bloody clue how to set this team up now. He's been sussed out by every team in this league and also Ross County.
I'd take your first pick Butcher to get us up out this league over Stubbs, he has already done it before. I'd take Fenlon over Stubbs and i'd take Hughes over Stubbs.
Think it's time to put the bottle down.
09-04-2016, 05:09 PM
Sorry this is about Stokes BH. I quoted him on that not Stubbs.
He's not 'MY' manager as you will see if you bothered reading that it's not acceptable.
As for Butcher and Fenlon no I wouldn't take those over him.
Edit.. Anyway not sure why I'm bothering replying to someone who's said already he's 'thrown in the towel' prefer to have a debate with folk who still watch Hibs or at least still care.
09-04-2016, 05:16 PM
Think it's time to put the bottle down.
It's true though.
I think with this squad of players an untrained monkey could have got similar results in the league. It's a bloody dreadful standard and we've got probably one of the biggest budgets in the country and we're strum King towards third in the league, it's completely unacceptable.
I despised Butcher but in his defence he never had much chance to bring in his own players (one window was it?) had he been given last season he'd have brought in a big bunch of effective hammer throwers and although we wouldn't have gone up last year we'd have made a better fist of it this year. To be so far off the top is outrageous.
Stubbs does deserve credit for our performance in the cups but that's not where he'll be judged and ultimately tells me he's motivating them differently for those game.
09-04-2016, 05:26 PM
I will only defend Stubbs with one point with that today. That is that NOBODY played well. Everyone was poor! Front three were so bad I can't think of a word to describe them. Midfield were slow and so far off the pace and the defence lost their man for the goal.
Having said that Stubbs needs to put out a team that can play together and in a formation they are comfortable with. He did neither today and his subs were just for the sake of it. Keatings hasn't done anything of note for months and I honestly don't see what he has to offer. Cummings and stokes just clearly doesn't work both need dropped. Mcginn Henderson and gray have to be rested they are clearly exhausted and don't have the legs to keep playing all these games in such quick succession.
Today was yet another disaster there's no getting away from it. If we lose to Falkirk we've well and truly f'd it up and the buck stops with Stubbs.
One thing is for sure, Peter Houston will be looking forward to Tues night more than Alan Stubbs.
09-04-2016, 05:31 PM
No excuses. No disrespect to Alloa but its teams like them that hibs should be beating comfortably.
The problem is that we haven't been beating anyone comfortably in this league. Off the top of my head, I think we've had one 4-2 win and two 3-0 wins in the league. I don't expect to score 4 or 5 every week but in this league we should have had three or four 4 goal or even 5 goal wins. How come teams playing us seem to score every week from their only one or two shots on target while we seem to have 5, 6 or more shots on target and score one if we're lucky? The number of times, this season and last, I've seen our strikers hit/scuff a shot weakly into the goalkeeper's arms is beyond belief. And that goes for all our strikers, Malonga included.
mcfly
09-04-2016, 05:33 PM
Keatings was brought to score goals- he has failed...
Why do you think hearts got rid of him - ain't good enough.
Boyle offers pace and can score but Stubbs has his favourites and won't change.
I've defended Stubbs for weeks - not anymore the jury is out.
No promotion then he'll be gone
gegs70
09-04-2016, 05:38 PM
Stokes and Cummings don't work......I thought stokes and Keatings worked better.
Berwickhibby
09-04-2016, 05:41 PM
Pathetic Hibs..... ******g sick of this..... I will have trouble holding my tongue at the Hibs Club POTY dinner tomorrow
mcfly
09-04-2016, 05:49 PM
I would also have NO MORE days off.
Training every day till this is sorted.
No golf days no jollies to Spain.
Get it sorted or go
I will only defend Stubbs with one point with that today. That is that NOBODY played well. Everyone was poor! Front three were so bad I can't think of a word to describe them. Midfield were slow and so far off the pace and the defence lost their man for the goal.
Having said that Stubbs needs to put out a team that can play together and in a formation they are comfortable with. He did neither today and his subs were just for the sake of it. Keatings hasn't done anything of note for months and I honestly don't see what he has to offer. Cummings and stokes just clearly doesn't work both need dropped. Mcginn Henderson and gray have to be rested they are clearly exhausted and don't have the legs to keep playing all these games in such quick succession.
Today was yet another disaster there's no getting away from it. If we lose to Falkirk we've well and truly f'd it up and the buck stops with Stubbs.
Hibs need to develop and grow. Are the team just playing the way they were at the start of the season but everyone else has them Sussed? Has Stubbs anything new to team them or is that it? Is there a reason he was the development coach?
I would also have NO MORE days off.
Training every day till this is sorted.
No golf days no jollies to Spain.
Get it sorted or go
To what end?
09-04-2016, 05:56 PM
One thing is for sure, Peter Houston will be looking forward to Tues night more than Alan Stubbs.
Falkirk wont fear us one bit and im sure they will be feeling very confident ahead of tuesday night and quite frankly who can blame them. We are rank rotten atm and teams know they dont have to create many chances against us to get a goal and as for us, we simply can't put away chances.
09-04-2016, 06:08 PM
The problem is that we haven't been beating anyone comfortably in this league. Off the top of my head, I think we've had one 4-2 win and two 3-0 wins in the league. I don't expect to score 4 or 5 every week but in this league we should have had three or four 4 goal or even 5 goal wins. How come teams playing us seem to score every week from their only one or two shots on target while we seem to have 5, 6 or more shots on target and score one if we're lucky? The number of times, this season and last, I've seen our strikers hit/scuff a shot weakly into the goalkeeper's arms is beyond belief. And that goes for all our strikers, Malonga included.
This!!
Sums up this and last season perfectly.
It's not good enough!!
Dobosz83
09-04-2016, 06:28 PM
I went along today, first trip to Alloa.
Firstly, I was astounded by just how narrow that pitch is and it's incredible they've been allowed to change the dimension mid season to suit them. That's before we get started on that playing 'surface'. Literally looked like the players where playing on a filthy carpet. It was like the Tennant Sixes with 11 aside.
I have to address a few concerns, apologies for the long post:
Firstly, when I heard Keating/Stokes/Cummings, my heart sank. Where on earth was Boyle? The lad comes off the bench earns MOTM and scores a world class strike to get Stubbs out of jail on Tuesday night and his reward? A seat on the bench - farcical decision.
The front three never connected, I didn't know if Keatings was meant to be the tip of a diamond, wide right or wide left, I'm not convinced he knew. What I know is that Cummings was a complete and utter waste of a jersey today. Selfish, incapable of finding a Hibs player and played with his head down, literally. Always seems to be out for himself, show him his right foot and he's easily playable. Stokes was the best of the front three today, but that isn't saying much.
Midfield? Well, nice to see Fyvie back and he was neat at times and wanted the ball. McGinn and Henderson looked knackered, utterly jaded and devoid of energy from the kick off. I honestly wasn't convinced they knew their roles/responsibilities in midfield today.
Back four? Stevenson and Gray again covered their flanks tirelessly but neither stood out. Hanlon at times in the first half was our best player on the ball and I include when he surged forward beyond the midfield. Decent spreading of the play at times and done well. I wonder whether midfield would suit him at times.
Oxley, can't really fault him today. Had nothing to do. In fact, he didn't even need to pick the ball out of the net, I wasn't even sure the ball crosses the line but the linesman was somehow convinced. Maybe, maybe not...
Worryingly for me today was the air of inevitability when Alloa took the lead. I never felt we would get back in the game. We huffed and puffed going forward but crossed where to deep, or too easy to defend. Every strike at goal was off target of seems to hit a wall of Alloa players. As the game crept into the final minutes, most supporters left. There was no anger, just an air of inevitability. I truly fear for our season ticket sales next year. I really do.
Sad day all round, we seem to be setting ourselves up for another horrendous end to the season and I don't feel we are any further forward from a year ago, in fact, we've gone backwards despite cup runs. IMO, should Stubbs not pick up the three points on Tuesday, he should be out on Wednesday morning.
Deflated, hurt, disappointed but all of this is becoming the norm in the last god knows how many years....:rolleyes:
09-04-2016, 06:55 PM
Looks like it's one way traffic at the moment, going by the Hibs twitter feed. Chance after chance after chance.
LOL- you were watching the game in Twitter. Now I get how you were convinced that Hibs were dominating at half time and were agreeing with thecat23 when he was putting me in my place with those all important game stats.
Hibs did not look remotely like scoring for the vast majority of that game and Alloa looked far more menacing than us in the 1st half.
09-04-2016, 07:04 PM
<Excellent post snipped>
Thanks for posting :aok:
09-04-2016, 07:07 PM
Was Stubbs interviews on any radio stations after the game? Any insight into what rubbish he said this time?
09-04-2016, 07:08 PM
LOL- you were watching the game in Twitter. Now I get how you were convinced that Hibs were dominating at half time and were agreeing with thecat23 when he was putting me in my place with those all important game stats.
Hibs did not look remotely like scoring for the vast majority of that game and Alloa looked far more menacing than us in the 1st half.
Wish I was you.
09-04-2016, 07:09 PM
Was Stubbs interviews on any radio stations after the game? Any insight into what rubbish he said this time?
http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2016/04/09/alloahibs/
09-04-2016, 07:10 PM
Attendance:1,364
Col_0762
09-04-2016, 07:12 PM
http://www.deadlinenews.co.uk/2016/04/09/alloahibs/
Hibs head coach Alan Stubbs has slammed the performance of both his players and the officials after Michael Duffy’s controversial strike gave Alloa their first home win of the season.
On loan Celtic forward Duffy’s effort just before the break was ruled to have crossed the line after coming down off the underside of Mark Oxley’s cross bar.
Hibs created a series of half chances either side of the interval but failed to prevent a fifth league loss from seven outings.
Stubbs, whose team are now six points adrift of second place Falkirk ahead of Tuesday’s crunch visit of the Bairns, said: “The performance was disappointing. We didn’t play well and we didn’t do the basics, and that’s control and pass it.
“We also seemed really affected by the pitch, we looked uncomfortable with it.
“There is obviously a slight worry, I don’t want to see my team play the way they were today. But I know that football can change very quickly as well.
“It is a good thing to have Tuesday’s game so quickly after this. There are not a lot of things to speak about positively. I’ll be looking for the players to respond.”
Speaking about the goal, which appeared to be given by assistant referee Thomas Shaw and not referee Bobby Madden, Stubbs added: “I’ve seen replays of it and it’s inconclusive, so how he can come to that decision in that short space of time, here’s me talking about another decision and I don’t want to be.
“It’s another decision that’s gone against us. We’ve had a few recently and they’ve led to goals.
“He can’t be guaranteed with the speed of which he hits it and it bounces that he can say it was a goal.”
Alloa manager Jack Ross, whose side had their relegation confirmed last weekend, said: “I didn’t think it had been given just because of the way things have gone for us this season.
“It could have been five yards this side and I couldn’t care. I think we’ve deserved, the players have deserved it and Michael Duffy in particular has deserved it.
“I’m delighted for the players. That’s how we’ve played in the main over in the last three or four months but the little things probably fell for us and that’s the fine margins you need.
“They’re going out this league taking another scalp. Hibs are a huge club full of internationals and with aspirations of winning a major trophy and getting back to the Premiership.”
09-04-2016, 07:12 PM
Wish I was you.
:agree: (if true)
Dobosz83
09-04-2016, 07:18 PM
Thanks for posting :aok:
No worries. I'm sure some may disagree with the assessment, some may agree. Thought I'd try and give a bit more than 'pish' and try and make sense of it... for my own sanity! :wink:
I think Stubbs and the coaching team need to have an intensive workshop away for a couple of days to work out some strategies to rescue the team before they are allowed anywhere near the team.
Lang Toun Hibs
09-04-2016, 07:25 PM
I think Stubbs and the coaching team need to have an intensive workshop away for a couple of days to work out some strategies to rescue the team before they are allowed anywhere near the team.
A wee trip to Spain perhaps? That's worked well on the past...now, how much do they want me to pay for my season ticket....
09-04-2016, 07:28 PM
Wish I was you.
Expected a far wittier put down than that.
09-04-2016, 07:29 PM
After almost 2 seasons in this league with the squad at hand Stubbs and co should be thinking about how we will spend the time off waiting on 3rd and 4th to play off by this point, if we have to suggest anything other than being narrowly pipped for 2nd then IMo he isnt fit to do the job.
Forget play offs they are extra games we will have had 36 matches a fair assesment and if this guy cannae even manage 2nd I care not a jot if he gets us up, oot the door. He has no idea how to change things when its not working. He is best out the door now. He has shown me no confidence in us beating Raith or Falkirk over 2 games. He has p1ssed it away him and his players.
09-04-2016, 07:35 PM
Expected a far wittier put down than that.
Aye, to be fair it was pretty rank. Think we're all pissed off, shouldn't be putting anyone down, so apologies for a shan response.
09-04-2016, 07:37 PM
The linesman who gave the goal was 10 yards from the byeline, looking towards the far side of the goal, was a bit of a joke [and not just for his Simon Cowell shorts]. Having been pretty much behind him I cannot understand how he gave the goal - there was something, because the ball came back at an angle, but the power of the shot combined with his poor position meant he could not be 100% sure it had crossed the line.
His offside decision against Dagnall in the second half was poor, particularly when chances were hard to come by.
The pitch was poor, a dry aging astro with a tennis ball bounce. Kept looking for a rain shower that never came! Despite my thoughts beforehand the narrowness was a factor which allowed then to close down space.
None of the above are an excuse for the performance. The management chose the wrong team, and the players didn't perform.
Will be at the next 3 games and have renewed our season tickets - only wish is for someone to show Stubbs the Einstein quote ...
09-04-2016, 08:04 PM
Relegation form just now but I'm sticking with them.
I'll go along with the anti Stubbs sentiment prevalent on here if we lose the next two but can you imagine this board next Saturday night if we win both?
Doesn't get any worse than today but I've seen us lose to the likes of Stirling Albion and Montrose, so I like to think the darkest hour is the one before the dawn.
Just away to watch the cup replay highlights against the insolvent cheats.
Relegation form just now but I'm sticking with them.
We will all stick with them but, good lord, there's not much pleasure in it!!
coldingham hibs
10-04-2016, 08:32 AM
Firstly, I was astounded by just how narrow that pitch is and it's incredible they've been allowed to change the dimension mid season to suit them. That's before we get started on that playing 'surface'. Literally looked like the players where playing on a filthy carpet. It was like the Tennant Sixes with 11 aside.
I have to address a few concerns, apologies for the long post:
Firstly, when I heard Keating/Stokes/Cummings, my heart sank. Where on earth was Boyle? The lad comes off the bench earns MOTM and scores a world class strike to get Stubbs out of jail on Tuesday night and his reward? A seat on the bench - farcical decision.
The front three never connected, I didn't know if Keatings was meant to be the tip of a diamond, wide right or wide left, I'm not convinced he knew. What I know is that Cummings was a complete and utter waste of a jersey today. Selfish, incapable of finding a Hibs player and played with his head down, literally. Always seems to be out for himself, show him his right foot and he's easily playable. Stokes was the best of the front three today, but that isn't saying much.
Midfield? Well, nice to see Fyvie back and he was neat at times and wanted the ball. McGinn and Henderson looked knackered, utterly jaded and devoid of energy from the kick off. I honestly wasn't convinced they knew their roles/responsibilities in midfield today.
Back four? Stevenson and Gray again covered their flanks tirelessly but neither stood out. Hanlon at times in the first half was our best player on the ball and I include when he surged forward beyond the midfield. Decent spreading of the play at times and done well. I wonder whether midfield would suit him at times.
Oxley, can't really fault him today. Had nothing to do. In fact, he didn't even need to pick the ball out of the net, I wasn't even sure the ball crosses the line but the linesman was somehow convinced. Maybe, maybe not...
Worryingly for me today was the air of inevitability when Alloa took the lead. I never felt we would get back in the game. We huffed and puffed going forward but crossed where to deep, or too easy to defend. Every strike at goal was off target of seems to hit a wall of Alloa players. As the game crept into the final minutes, most supporters left. There was no anger, just an air of inevitability. I truly fear for our season ticket sales next year. I really do.
Sad day all round, we seem to be setting ourselves up for another horrendous end to the season and I don't feel we are any further forward from a year ago, in fact, we've gone backwards despite cup runs. IMO, should Stubbs not pick up the three points on Tuesday, he should be out on Wednesday morning.
Deflated, hurt, disappointed but all of this is becoming the norm in the last god knows how many years....:rolleyes:
How did Boyle play when he came on?.
Dobosz83
10-04-2016, 10:14 AM
How did Boyle play when he came on?.
He never really influenced the game. He appeared to be playing wide right and at times the link up with Gray was a bit muddled. I noticed him more than Keatings though who was very quiet bar one shot in the first few minutes of the 1st half.
I can only assume that Stubbs decided against Boyle due to how narrow the pitch was, that said, he ought to have started.
gaz1875
10-04-2016, 10:19 AM
He never really influenced the game. He appeared to be playing wide right and at times the link up with Gray was a bit muddled. I noticed him more than Keatings though who was very quiet bar one shot in the first few minutes of the 1st half.
I can only assume that Stubbs decided against Boyle due to how narrow the pitch was, that said, he ought to have started.
The perseverance Stubbs has with playing Keating's is getting very very tiresome. He should be on the bench or played in a two striker role I have no idea what his role is when he plays, he just seems to be on the pitch making up the numbers :confused:
Dobosz83
10-04-2016, 10:34 AM
The perseverance Stubbs has with playing Keating's is getting very very tiresome. He should be on the bench or played in a two striker role I have no idea what his role is when he plays, he just seems to be on the pitch making up the numbers :confused:
That's exactly what I was thinking as I watched yesterday. He drifted wide right a few times yesterday and honestly have no idea what the purpose was behind this other than him, Stokes and Cummings being told to interchange throughout the game (if so, that's madness, they aren't anywhere near good enough to do that effectively).
He was ineffective to say the least. I know Stubbs has tried to play him at the tip of this 'diamond' that's drove us all mad in the past 6 weeks, but now he appears to just be a borderline headless chicken and his confidence is clearly shot to pieces. It's hard to watch. His head went down mid way through the first half when he blazed a free kick from an excellent position nearly onto Clackmannanshire Road. The thing about these pokey grounds is, he would have heard some of the pelters he got in the aftermath.
I feel for Keatings in some ways, he should have been given an opportunity in Cummings' place in recent weeks to see if he could link up with Stokes. Instead we have a player up front in Cummings who IMO thinks he's above this level and destined for better things.
gaz1875
10-04-2016, 10:53 AM
That's exactly what I was thinking as I watched yesterday. He drifted wide right a few times yesterday and honestly have no idea what the purpose was behind this other than him, Stokes and Cummings being told to interchange throughout the game (if so, that's madness, they aren't anywhere near good enough to do that effectively).
He was ineffective to say the least. I know Stubbs has tried to play him at the tip of this 'diamond' that's drove us all mad in the past 6 weeks, but now he appears to just be a borderline headless chicken and his confidence is clearly shot to pieces. It's hard to watch. His head went down mid way through the first half when he blazed a free kick from an excellent position nearly onto Clackmannanshire Road. The thing about these pokey grounds is, he would have heard some of the pelters he got in the aftermath.
I feel for Keatings in some ways, he should have been given an opportunity in Cummings' place in recent weeks to see if he could link up with Stokes. Instead we have a player up front in Cummings who IMO thinks he's above this level and destined for better things.
I feel for him too, he very rarely gets a touch of the ball and when he does, more often than not he balloons it over the bar. His head does go down and being constantly substituted won't lift his confidence. He is sharp and has good power in his shots, ideal in a two striker role but just a waste of a player in his current position. The same goes for Dagnall although he is occupying the bench just now.