View Full Version : Question How are you getting to Hampden

07-04-2016, 12:14 PM
Still undecided myself and just wondering what other folk are doing to get there. What's the situation with Queen Street if we decided to go by train.

Cheers. :aok:

07-04-2016, 12:21 PM
Still undecided myself and just wondering what other folk are doing to get there. What's the situation with Queen Street if we decided to go by train.

No idea but it may be easier to relocate Hampden to the outskirts of Edinburgh for the day :greengrin

07-04-2016, 01:13 PM
Citylink bus due into Buchanan Street Bus Station @ 0755, just in time for Alfredo's opening at 0800.

07-04-2016, 01:15 PM
House party from 4am then through for opening time.
I ain't letting an early kick off stop me being a drunken mess by kick off.

07-04-2016, 01:18 PM

There is usually an Express train leaving Waverley at 9.15 on Sat am. Takes 1 hour and gets in at CENTRAL at 10.15. Few beers then train from central to Mount Florida. 5 min walk from there.

07-04-2016, 01:27 PM
Train

gets in at about 11 so no time for a pre match bevvy. However train home leaves around 6 so plenty of time to celebrate/drown sorrows after the game.

07-04-2016, 01:31 PM
Train, thousands of people use it to go between Edinburgh & Glasgow every day, journey time slightly longer but no major issues.

linlithgowhibbie
07-04-2016, 01:31 PM
Supporters bus from Linlithgow, still has seats available too, what a change from the final just a few weeks ago:confused:

07-04-2016, 01:44 PM
Car for me. Seeing the state of some past few times at Hampden has convinced me never to take a train or bus again!!

07-04-2016, 01:51 PM
Car for five of us . Was thinking of parking near that Tesco as its a five minute walk to Hampden ( what's to stop folk parking in Tesco ? )

seanshow
07-04-2016, 01:54 PM
Supporters bus from Linlithgow, still has seats available too, what a change from the final just a few weeks ago:confused:

We've lost 23k supporters in 3 weeks, still less than misplacing 400,000 i suppose :greengrin

jarre1875
07-04-2016, 02:11 PM
If anyone has a spare seat on a bus leaving edinburgh. Could some1 message me. Cheers

SON OF PADDY
07-04-2016, 02:11 PM
Car for five of us . Was thinking of parking near that Tesco as its a five minute walk to Hampden ( what's to stop folk parking in Tesco ? )

Only thing I can think of, is it's actually "ASDA" unless there's now a Tesco built there.
Apologies if wrong.;-)

Callum7
07-04-2016, 02:13 PM
I'm taking the car to st enochs shopping centre then once I'm their I'll get a train to Hampden.

07-04-2016, 02:17 PM
Train into glasgow then train to ground. Kings park think it is?

07-04-2016, 02:24 PM
Driving from Aberdeen.

07-04-2016, 03:04 PM
If anyone has a spare seat on a bus leaving edinburgh. Could some1 message me. Cheers

PM sent

07-04-2016, 03:10 PM
House party from 4am then through for opening time.
I ain't letting an early kick off stop me being a drunken mess by kick off.

Me too. Being drunk is the only way I can deal with going to Hampden again. I can't even bear to think about the atrocities and unspeakable acts that happened to me on previous occasions.

In fact I'm sorry, I can't face it.

*swoon*

MickeyEdwards
07-04-2016, 03:20 PM
We'll be leaving Edinburgh around 8am by car, parking in the Queens Park area and walking down to Hampden for the match. Got tickets in the Upper South and its easier to get there from the West side of the ground we find.

07-04-2016, 04:10 PM
Me too. Being drunk is the only way I can deal with going to Hampden again. I can't even bear to think about the atrocities and unspeakable acts that happened to me on previous occasions.

In fact I'm sorry, I can't face it.

*swoon*

Come on Pete. Stay positive.

NYHibby
07-04-2016, 05:46 PM
I'm taking the car to st enochs shopping centre then once I'm their I'll get a train to Hampden.

I live by St Enochs. The 75 bus runs from the parking lot to Hampden.

Callum7
07-04-2016, 05:50 PM
I live by St Enochs. The 75 bus runs from the parking lot to Hampden.

Thanks, might take that instead.

Ged
07-04-2016, 05:59 PM
Which bus is best from Glasgow city centre?

07-04-2016, 06:07 PM
Which bus is best from Glasgow city centre?

Not entirely sure about this but I think you have to walk to St Enochs which is a ten minute walk from Queen Street then get the First Bus 75.

07-04-2016, 06:08 PM
Oan the choo choo

07-04-2016, 06:09 PM
Car with 3 others.

07-04-2016, 06:13 PM
Train with 4 others.

Ged
07-04-2016, 06:14 PM
Not entirely sure about this but I think you have to walk to St Enochs which is a ten minute walk from Queen Street then get the First Bus 75.

That would work as the wife could easily spend 3 or 4 hours there. She'll be praying for extra time and penalties.

Thanks.

Mango Man
07-04-2016, 06:16 PM
Well done all you hardy souls for heading along, I'm still not over the final and don't think I will ever go back to Hampden again. Done.

07-04-2016, 06:37 PM

I'm sure the 75 goes along Ingram Street, just down from QS Station.

Torto7062
07-04-2016, 06:39 PM
Car for us all.

Is their still Rail line works that weekend ?

07-04-2016, 06:44 PM

Cheers. I'll check that. :aok:

07-04-2016, 06:50 PM
Car with 3 others.

Ditto

07-04-2016, 07:02 PM
Come on Pete. Stay positive.

I've tried but it's no use. You're all so brave for heading along but you'll have to leave me behind.

One thing to consider. Will you beable to deal with the consequences if, it hurts even saying it...we don't win?

NYHibby
07-04-2016, 07:08 PM

Yes, the 75 bus stops on Ingram Street before making a right hand turn down Glassford and then running past St Enochs before crossing the river.

https://goo.gl/maps/pfezHDKisUT2 (https://goo.gl/maps/pfezHDKisUT2)

EDIT: My link might not be working, but at least it shows the stop to get on at

07-04-2016, 07:44 PM
we had 4 buses to the final. Now cut to 2, and could probably fill 3 at a push. I think our 2 are virtually full, and I have a list. If we have spaces near the end of next week I will post. we have folk going to Alloa, that have not been regulars but they are defo for the Semi.

07-04-2016, 07:46 PM
Heading through early on the Friday with Mrs OS, bit of shopping a couple of beers, out for a meal and a few beers. Wake up in the center o Glasgow. Probably a joe out to game.

What pubs in Glasgow are open 9 or 10 on a Saturday.

07-04-2016, 07:48 PM
Bus Edin to Buchanan
Walk down to Central.
Train to Mount Florida.

07-04-2016, 08:12 PM
Well done all you hardy souls for heading along, I'm still not over the final and don't think I will ever go back to Hampden again. Done.

"Hardy souls" for going to a very winnable Scottish Cup semi at Hampden? These are the good times, it's midweek trips to Ross County and QOTS that are the hard ones!

07-04-2016, 08:53 PM
"Hardy souls" for going to a very winnable Scottish Cup semi at Hampden? These are the good times, it's midweek trips to Ross County and QOTS that are the hard ones!well said Boab. not that we have run many buses to those joints midweek. there are always Hibernian fans that want to be there on the night though, so well done to the Hardy souls! This can still be one of the good times though as you say. we can quite possibly win this one, and who knows. We will win this cup one day, the problem is that maist Hibees don't believe it:.:our day will surely come :cb

07-04-2016, 09:24 PM
Taxi fae the hoose tae the pub

07-04-2016, 10:04 PM
"Hardy souls" for going to a very winnable Scottish Cup semi at Hampden? These are the good times, it's midweek trips to Ross County and QOTS that are the hard ones!

Best post for a while on here.

07-04-2016, 11:09 PM
Only thing I can think of, is it's actually "ASDA" unless there's now a Tesco built there.
Apologies if wrong.;-)

It is ASDA . Doh :)

NorthHibees
07-04-2016, 11:23 PM
Driving to Edinburgh on Friday staying the night at friends house then driving through to Glasgow on the Saturday morning.

Mango Man
08-04-2016, 12:04 AM

Haha, maybe Hardy souls was a bit much, should have been more along the lines of...Well done to the fans for heading back along to Hampden, so soon after our latest dissapointment there, and obviously with our special record in the Scottish cup, and with our current form not being very good, I just couldn't get myself up for going to this game at all.

08-04-2016, 04:37 AM
Train - Ramsgate to London, London to Birmingham (got a concert), Birmingham to Edinburgh

497.3 miles - gutted it's not 2.7 miles more.

Bus - The four in hand to Hampden

08-04-2016, 07:19 AM

Even if we make the final?

What a radge comment!!

08-04-2016, 07:26 AM
I've tried but it's no use. You're all so brave for heading along but you'll have to leave me behind.

One thing to consider. Will you beable to deal with the consequences if, it hurts even saying it...we don't win?

What "consequences" are those out of interest??

It's a football game, not an Israel - Palestine peace summit.

I'll be in Scotland, but rather busy saying "I do" right about the time you're all hopefully hitting the bars celebrating a victory.

LustForLeith
08-04-2016, 07:30 AM
There is usually an Express train leaving Waverley at 9.15 on Sat am. Takes 1 hour and gets in at CENTRAL at 10.15. Few beers then train from central to Mount Florida. 5 min walk from there.

Well up for this! Got a rail card so it works out quite reasonable. Any child friendly pubs near central for a pint and a breakfast?

Bill Milne
08-04-2016, 08:02 AM
I'm walking from the car park!!

08-04-2016, 09:09 AM

I'll be in Scotland, but rather busy saying "I do" right about the time you're all hopefully hitting the bars celebrating a victory.

I think there might be a touch of sarcasm in pete's post.

08-04-2016, 09:31 AM
Train again.

3rd trip to Hampden in the space of a month. Sick of the place tbh :greengrin

08-04-2016, 10:01 AM
Four in hand bus

Mango Man
08-04-2016, 10:53 AM
Even if we make the final?

What a radge comment!!

Yup.

08-04-2016, 11:35 AM
Yup.

😂😂😂

08-04-2016, 12:17 PM
😂😂😂

Just be thankful it isn't yourself that's had the traumatic experience that he's had.

Let's take his "well done for attending" message with us as we grit our teeth and prepare ourselves for the horrors that await.

08-04-2016, 12:31 PM

"Does the accused understand the severity of the charges?" :greengrin

08-04-2016, 01:01 PM
"Does the accused understand the severity of the charges?" :greengrin

:tee hee: All too well.

08-04-2016, 01:10 PM
Well up for this! Got a rail card so it works out quite reasonable. Any child friendly pubs near central for a pint and a breakfast?
Horseshoe Bar about 2 mins from Central. Serves alcohol from 9am with breakfast rolls.

LustForLeith
08-04-2016, 02:49 PM
Horseshoe Bar about 2 mins from Central. Serves alcohol from 9am with breakfast rolls.

Looks good!

Was halfway through registering for their £5 off food voucher when I noticed it's only valid between Monday to Friday!

derekHFC
08-04-2016, 02:56 PM
We parked down beside the Mount Florida bowling club at the league cup final and it took 5 minutes max to the ground.

Never seen any parking restrictions on the street I parked in and there was no sign of any wardens that side.

LithgaeHibby
08-04-2016, 03:55 PM
For the LC final I parked in Prospecthill Circus just east of Asda, thinking that it would be a quick jaunt through Rutherglen to join the M74, heading away from the ground. How wrong - it took almost one and a half hours to join the M74. Prospecthill Road was gridlocked eastbound and most of the time I was just sat with my engine off. On another thread some people have recommended heading for the M77 instead - might try that for the semi!

08-04-2016, 04:55 PM
For the LC final I parked in Prospecthill Circus just east of Asda, thinking that it would be a quick jaunt through Rutherglen to join the M74, heading away from the ground. How wrong - it took almost one and a half hours to join the M74. Prospecthill Road was gridlocked eastbound and most of the time I was just sat with my engine off. On another thread some people have recommended heading for the M77 instead - might try that for the semi!

Drive to newton in lanarkshire, inbetween Uddingston and cambuslang, 5 minutes off the m74 and get the train direct to kings park. There's a large car park at the station, a return ticket costs 3 quid and the trains are deserted as the crowds travel inbetween central and kings park. I've done it the last 2 times now and it's quicker and a lot less stressful than trying to park near the stadium and get away afterwards.

LustForLeith
08-04-2016, 06:53 PM
Anyone know if the Clockwork pub is ticket only or will be open to Hibs or Dundee United fans only?

Cheers!