View Full Version : Acceptable humour or promoting bigotry?

06-04-2016, 04:08 PM

06-04-2016, 04:10 PM
The whole tweet...

06-04-2016, 04:12 PM
If it had come from a celtic fan I would have said it was just old firm banter.

06-04-2016, 04:14 PM
Context is all.

When you posted the first shot, my reaction was "yawn... another weegie Twatter thinking he's funny." (not you, btw)

Having seen the second one now, I think there's a different twist to it. It's still not funny, but I'm now wondering WTF Paddy Power are doing posting that. Good way to alienate thousands of potential customers..or, of course, to attract new ones.

That said, we're talking about it. Job done.

Still no funny............

06-04-2016, 04:17 PM

Acceptable, but not humour.

06-04-2016, 04:18 PM
Hmmm....How many The Rangers fans are likely to bet with a bookie called Paddy?

06-04-2016, 04:18 PM
Pish banter either way. Probably not smart of paddy power to go near Glasgow's bigotry either.

06-04-2016, 04:19 PM
Bored of the banter on the basis of sectarianism, no matter how light it is. The whole wink-wink humour based on Celtic as a Catholic club and Rangers as a protestant one is so outdated and backwards.

06-04-2016, 04:25 PM
That must be photoshopped just like the Hibs one last night.

06-04-2016, 04:33 PM
That must be photoshopped just like the Hibs one last night.

Nope, it's a genuine Tweet from PP

Followed up by "our traders have quoted us 10000/1 to sign for Rangers..."

06-04-2016, 04:33 PM
Not real apparently.

06-04-2016, 04:35 PM
Not real apparently.

https://twitter.com/paddypower?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp% 7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

.. about 6 or 7 down.

06-04-2016, 04:37 PM
Not real apparently.

Definitely real

https://twitter.com/paddypower/status/717665085938921472

06-04-2016, 04:39 PM
Not really acceptable from an organisation, if indeed it is genuine.

If it had been a Celtic fan, I would have said it was just the usual childish, mind numbing banter that the pair of them seem to enjoy.

06-04-2016, 04:55 PM
It's borderline but PP know this and you're talking about them. There's the potential for both sets of fans to find this funny so it's quite clever in that respect.

06-04-2016, 05:02 PM
Tame by their own standards.

http://www.thejc.com/news/the-diary/paddy-power’s-own-goal

06-04-2016, 05:05 PM
Definitely real

https://twitter.com/paddypower/status/717665085938921472

Wonder why they've done that? Surely that's shooting yourself in the foot!

06-04-2016, 05:11 PM
This is not funny in the slightest. Sadly for Scotland, in the juvenile world of the mild sectarian joshing between Old Firm chums, a large chunk of Scots will find this highly amusing indeed. The rest of us will probably be embarrassed that such lame fare passes as humour in our country.

06-04-2016, 05:27 PM
Wonder why they've done that? Surely that's shooting yourself in the foot!

I wouldn't say so. The type of The Rangers fan that would be annoyed/offended by that isn't going to bet with an Irish bookmaker called Paddy whose company colours are green and white anyway.

IMO they are likely to gain custom from more celtc sympathisers through this free advertising than they are to lose rangers supporting customers. Still piss poor west coast 'banter' though.

06-04-2016, 05:31 PM
Bored of the banter on the basis of sectarianism, no matter how light it is. The whole wink-wink humour based on Celtic as a Catholic club and Rangers as a protestant one is so outdated and backwards.

It's the underlying religious hatred between the OF that makes this non-funny. Using the religious figure in the 'joke' is the telltale bigot barb.
Rikky Fulton had several sketches that played on the OF's cultural division. I squirmed when I viewed every one of them.

06-04-2016, 05:45 PM
I wouldn't say so. The type of The Rangers fan that would be annoyed/offended by that isn't going to bet with an Irish bookmaker called Paddy whose company colours are green and white anyway.

IMO they are likely to gain custom from more celtc sympathisers through this free advertising than they are to lose rangers supporting customers. Still piss poor west coast 'banter' though.

Yeah looking at it like that your prob right. As you say poor banter in any case! It's only going to get worse now they are back. Next season before every Derby we will be subjected to this.

Stokesy's on fire
06-04-2016, 05:54 PM
Paddy power loves a bit of banter

06-04-2016, 06:04 PM
Embarrassing stuff.

WestCoastHibby
06-04-2016, 06:16 PM
Just tedious and stand by for more of the same .....ZZZzzzz

06-04-2016, 06:17 PM
Any sort of religious "banter" is prehistoric and is a joke in 21st century Scotland.

They can **** off.

06-04-2016, 06:19 PM
Not sectarian i.e. the item makes no sectarian comments towards Rangers, rather it uses somebody who is enemy number one to many Rangers fans to mock them, but it's a crap joke, IMO.

06-04-2016, 06:56 PM
***** "banter" really. Its embarrassing that these two bigots have to keep bringing religion/politics into football.

06-04-2016, 07:43 PM
It's what we've all been missing for the past few years. :wink:

06-04-2016, 07:49 PM
Only in Scotland.

hibee
06-04-2016, 07:55 PM
Must admit, I preferred this one:

My vote goes to the power rangers.

06-04-2016, 07:57 PM
This is not funny in the slightest. Sadly for Scotland, in the juvenile world of the mild sectarian joshing between Old Firm chums, a large chunk of Scots will find this highly amusing indeed. The rest of us will probably be embarrassed that such lame fare passes as humour in our country.

Media jokers sit safe in their unpaid for seats. No thought whatsoever for fans who have to put up with actual threats and abuse to, at and coming away from games.

06-04-2016, 07:59 PM
It is actally so devoid of anything that non residents of Scotland's west coast would deem humorous, that I expect Jonathan Watson to be digging out the cassock and mitre in order to regurgitate the hilarious gag for this years "Only an Excuse?"

06-04-2016, 07:59 PM

Absolutely.

Good post. It's what I was trying to say, only far better put.

06-04-2016, 08:13 PM
I take it this is the sort of thing that the media were referring to when they said that Scottish football had missed Rangers?

As someone else has already said, they and Celtic can **** right off as far as I'm concerned. I wish the pair of them would disappear.

06-04-2016, 08:25 PM
Only in Scotland.

It was an Irish firm tho.

06-04-2016, 09:06 PM
***** "banter" really. Its embarrassing that these two bigots have to keep bringing religion/politics into football.

On this occasion the Bigot Brothers have nothing to do with the ***** patter of Paddy Power, and indeed that's all it is.

06-04-2016, 10:18 PM
Paddy Power always try a bit too hard with the 'banter'.

07-04-2016, 07:50 AM
It is actally so devoid of anything that non residents of Scotland's west coast would deem humorous, that I expect Jonathan Watson to be digging out the cassock and mitre in order to regurgitate the hilarious gag for this years "Only an Excuse?"

You beat me to it with the "Only an excuse" connection.

I find this football related sectarian "banter" quite pathetic , plus like "Only an Excuse" this just isn't funny.

Most Celtic fans wouldn't be able to quote any pronouncements that Pope Francis has made and I doubt many Rangers fans could name the Moderator of the COS.

Tedious archaic but highly predictable pish. Just the start of things to come as the OF "fitba banter" gears up.

07-04-2016, 10:35 AM
Only in Scotland.

They're an Irish company who also had a dig at Scotland for voting no in the referendum. And remember many English football cities also have a religious divide only not as well advertised as the OF.

07-04-2016, 10:36 AM
They're an Irish company who also had a dig at Scotland for voting no in the referendum. And remember many English football cities also have a religious divide only not as well advertised as the OF.

How many?

07-04-2016, 10:53 AM

Bull****

07-04-2016, 11:34 AM
Given the background to this 'rivalry', it's questionable, to say the least.

07-04-2016, 11:34 AM
Bull****

07-04-2016, 11:37 AM
Given how Catholic a club are, you would think their supporters wouldn't have a problem with something dying and then coming back shortly after and proclaiming to have risen from the dead.

Or do they call him "the" jesus?

07-04-2016, 12:05 PM
Bull****

You saying Paddy Power isn't an Irish company?

07-04-2016, 12:11 PM
On this occasion the Bigot Brothers have nothing to do with the ***** patter of Paddy Power, and indeed that's all it is.

I agree. What I meant was that religion always has to be brought into thing when they are concerned. Very poor from an offical company.

07-04-2016, 12:13 PM
Given the background to this 'rivalry', it's questionable, to say the least.

Its far from rivalry with those two, its just sheer poison. Both constantly trying to say the other is worse but the reality is they are both as hate-filled and bigoted as each other.

07-04-2016, 12:14 PM
Bull****

Tbf whilst I'm not sure about sectarian divides in English football there does seem a certain misplaced 'Loyalism' amongst certain fans in England.

There's always a few Ulster banners amongst the West Ham away support for example, a quick look at 'Football Away Days' and the like on Twitter suggests they are far from the only ones. It also wasn't that long ago England fans were investigated for alleged sectarian singing at a friendly at Celtic Park.

Of course none of that equates to them being anywhere near as tragic as Rangers and Celtic supporters.

07-04-2016, 12:17 PM
You saying Paddy Power isn't an Irish company?

Very funny. There is no sectarian divide in English football.

07-04-2016, 12:54 PM

I'm fairly certain both Liverpool and Manchester City were founded by prominent Orangemen. In the early days at least, there were policies in place which caused Catholics to support their rivals. There were particular problems during the late 19th and early 20th centuries over the Irish separatism issue. It may not be on the scale of the Glasgow madness but I do know people who support a particular team based on their religion.

07-04-2016, 12:59 PM
I'm fairly certain both Liverpool and Manchester City were founded by prominent Orangemen. In the early days at least, there were policies in place which caused Catholics to support their rivals. There were particular problems during the late 19th and early 20th centuries over the Irish separatism issue. It may not be on the scale of the Glasgow madness but I do know people who support a particular team based on their religion.

So two cities, a hundred years ago, and your conclusion is that 'many' cities 'have' a religious divide. What next - 'Hibs are an Irish Catholic football club'?

07-04-2016, 01:14 PM

What that has to do with present day I have no idea,let me make it clear there is no existing sectarian divide between either of the clubs in Manchester or Liverpool. It's total nonsense to suggest otherwise and a ridiculous notion. In Liverpool our religion is football,the red God is Robbie Fowler,ruled by King Kenny and the red bible was written by Shanks.

07-04-2016, 01:18 PM
What that has to do with present day I have no idea,let me make it clear there is no existing sectarian divide between either of the clubs in Manchester or Liverpool. It's total nonsense to suggest otherwise and a ridiculous notion. In Liverpool our religion is football,the red God is Robbie Fowler,ruled by King Kenny and the red bible was written by Shanks.

So since Everton fans wont agree with that, are you saying there is a religious divide? :wink:

07-04-2016, 01:19 PM
So since Everton fans wont agree with that, are you saying there is a religious divide? :wink:

Haha no, just a divide in class :-)

07-04-2016, 05:59 PM

I don't whether what you say is correct regarding the origins of Liverpool and Man City, but from my experience of having relatives and friends in Manchester, I haven't experienced any religious tension between City and United. Their support is geographical: City fans mainly in the east of the city, United fans mainly west. I've personally never heard a fan of either club cite a religious divide.

07-04-2016, 06:59 PM
I don't whether what you say is correct regarding the origins of Liverpool and Man City, but from my experience of having relatives and friends in Manchester, I haven't experienced any religious tension between City and United. Their support is geographical: City fans mainly in the east of the city, United fans mainly west. I've personally never heard a fan of either club cite a religious divide.

Correct I work in both Liverpool & Manchester and know both cities well, I am quite certain that there is no religious divide associated with football and to suggest otherwise IMO is nonsense

07-04-2016, 07:08 PM

Crap as it is, what did either club do here to 'bring this in'?

07-04-2016, 07:19 PM

That's fine then. Ricky Tomlinson's book (an otherwise good read) suggested otherwise mind. For what it's worth, I don't see a 'divide' up here either. You think they have some sort of qualification process? You must know lots on non-Catholic Celtic fans. I do. I also know lots of Hun types who have never been near a church in their lives.

On the other hand, don't be black in Paris and attempt to get on your regular Metro if the Headhunters are in town. That's another divide altogether. Are there many clubs in Scotland with significant White Supremacist factions in their support?

07-04-2016, 07:25 PM

Out on a limb here, so forgive me if this is hearsay, urban myth, whatever.... and I know you've got Manc background..... wasn't it late 70s before Manchester United employed a non-Catholic manager? Even going as far as the disastrous appointments of the likes of Wilf McGuiness and Frank O'Farrell? Happy if wrong. Even if it's only to discuss such obviously rank custodians!

ionahibby
07-04-2016, 07:32 PM
Unfortunately is rife throughout even only an excuse touched on it at new year. They do it to keep the weegie masses happy who find this rubbish funny.

07-04-2016, 07:36 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12974399_1762999897267672_2458012422763968909_n.jp g?oh=d2f6c8efbda7e7c9228db8153cc9df75&oe=57736113

07-04-2016, 07:48 PM
Out on a limb here, so forgive me if this is hearsay, urban myth, whatever.... and I know you've got Manc background..... wasn't it late 70s before Manchester United employed a non-Catholic manager? Even going as far as the disastrous appointments of the likes of Wilf McGuiness and Frank O'Farrell? Happy if wrong. Even if it's only to discuss such obviously rank custodians!

That actually isn't true. United had Protestant managers before Matt Busby, and Jock Stein (Protestant) had agreed to succeed him, but changed his mind. Wilf McGuinness was one of the Busby Babes who had to retire early and took up a coaching role, hence his promotion; it had nothing to do with his religious beliefs.

07-04-2016, 07:53 PM
That actually isn't true. United had Protestant managers before Matt Busby, and Jock Stein (Protestant) had agreed to succeed him, but changed his mind. Wilf McGuinness was one of the Busby Babes who had to retire early and took up a coaching role, hence his promotion; it had nothing to do with his religious beliefs.

Without dragging this out, who were they? (I did say non-Catholic).

07-04-2016, 07:54 PM
On this occasion the Bigot Brothers have nothing to do with the ***** patter of Paddy Power, and indeed that's all it is.easy for you to say, not living in Scotland:wink:

07-04-2016, 07:59 PM
Without dragging this out, who were they? (I did say non-Catholic).

Honestly can't remember all their names, mate; but I know a Scot called Scott Duncan was one between the wars. He'd played for Rangers, so was obviously non-Catholic :greengrin

07-04-2016, 08:07 PM
Honestly can't remember all their names, mate; but I know a Scot called Scott Duncan was one between the wars. He'd played for Rangers, so was obviously non-Catholic :greengrin

That's not necessarily historical fact either. Rangers morphed into a sectarian organisation some time after their formation. Widely believed to have been a reaction against the power of the Irish and Celtic, post-1888. (The Frankenstein monster we created). However I've googled Scott Duncan and he deserves credit for dragging Man United away from the danger of 3rd Division football, irrespective of his faith :greengrin
It is urban myth right enough. If I use it again I'll narrow it down to post-war non-Catholic managers!

Love your avatar my friend. (quote) 'A good Socialist and a ****ing good Hibby'!

07-04-2016, 08:15 PM
That's not necessarily historical fact either. Rangers morphed into a sectarian organisation some time after their formation. Widely believed to have been a reaction against the power of the Irish and Celtic, post-1888. (The Frankenstein monster we created). However I've googled Scott Duncan and he deserves credit for dragging Man United away from the danger of 3rd Division football, irrespective of his faith :greengrin
It is urban myth right enough. If I use it again I'll narrow it down to post-war non-Catholic managers!

Love your avatar my friend. (quote) 'A good Socialist and a ****ing good Hibby'!

First post war non-Catholic manager was Ron Atkinson, but that wasn't due to deliberately appointing Catholics only. As I say, big Jock was offered and accepted the chance to succeed Busby, but changed his mind to stay at Celtic, sadly. Busby, McGuinness, O'Farrell, Docherty and Sexton all Catholics, right enough. So from 1945-81 all managers were Catholic.

07-04-2016, 08:17 PM

First post war non-Catholic manager was Ron Atkinson, but that wasn't due to deliberately appointing Catholics only. As I say, big Jock was offered and accepted the chance to succeed Busby, but changed his mind to stay at Celtic, sadly. Busby, McGuinness, O'Farrell, Docherty and Sexton all Catholics, right enough. So from 1945-81 all managers were Catholic.

Aye it wiz! :greengrin