View Full Version : Adam Johnson sentenced to six years in prison

24-03-2016, 12:30 PM
What a fall from grace. International footballer, millionaire lifestyle, idolised by fans of big clubs; ruined by his own deviancy.

SJM
24-03-2016, 12:31 PM
All his own fault. Lost his family too.

24-03-2016, 12:36 PM
Prosecutor Kate Blackwell QC told the sentencing hearing there was a "significant disparity" in age between the footballer and the girl.
She said: "The most apparent feature in the view of the Crown is the severe psychological harm that the defendant has caused to the victim."

Ms Blackwell said the girl had suffered at school, both in her work and from bullying because of Johnson's actions.
The prosecutor also told the court that Johnson had a history of meeting girls for sex, describing it as a "clandestine habit".

think he got an increased length of jail time because he put the young lassie through so many court appearances by denying everything

Andy.1875
24-03-2016, 12:41 PM
Does a conviction like this prevent him moving to the States and a MLS side when he gets out?

24-03-2016, 12:42 PM
Yes, some disturbing details about Johnson were revealed in the summing up this morning.

- A psychiatric report stated that Johnson felt he had a 'right' to sex with female fans
- He would pick up women on the way home from training
- He admitted he needed help with his sexual behaviour

That's bad enough, but when the fans are under the age of consent, it makes him a danger to society. He knew the girl had only just turned fifteen, tried to cover his tracks and then lied about what happened.

24-03-2016, 12:42 PM
Does a conviction like this prevent him moving to the States and a MLS side when he gets out?

Would expect so. Not sure many teams would be interested due to his appalling baggage.

24-03-2016, 12:44 PM
:rolleyes: not sure what to make of it all.

24-03-2016, 12:45 PM
Would expect so. Not sure many teams would be interested due to his appalling baggage.

I think we all know one club that might be interested:jamboak:

24-03-2016, 12:46 PM
Yes, some disturbing details about Johnson were revealed in the summing up this morning.

- A psychiatric report stated that Johnson felt he had a 'right' to sex with female fans
- He would pick up women on the way home from training
- He admitted he needed help with his sexual behaviour

That's bad enough, but when the fans are under the age of consent, it makes him a danger to society. He knew the girl had only just turned fifteen, tried to cover his tracks and then lied about what happened.

I actually think that reeks of his defence trying to get a doctor to state he has 'issues' to affect the sentence.

24-03-2016, 12:48 PM

:faf::faf::giruy2: :greengrin

24-03-2016, 12:49 PM
I actually think that reeks of his defence trying to get a doctor to state he has 'issues' to affect the sentence.

...or, more likely, the judge having asked for a psychiatric report to help him determine the sentence.

SJM
24-03-2016, 12:49 PM

Not Falkirk that's for sure.

24-03-2016, 12:51 PM

Probably:-

http://www.usvisalawyers.co.uk/article7.htm

"A crime involving moral turpitude (or an attempt or conspiracy to commit such a crime)"

24-03-2016, 12:52 PM
...or, more likely, the judge having asked for a psychiatric report to help him determine the sentence.

Yeah, fair enough.

since90plustwo
24-03-2016, 01:01 PM
Fair sentence. Think the girl is at it though. Can see him getting a few dooings in the nick.

On another side, female teacher slept numerous times with a 15 year old boy, which if you compare the charges is much much worse considering if Johnson had sex with her he would've been looking at a double figure sentence, yet shes only been given a community service. Inconsistencies in our justice system are ridiculous.

24-03-2016, 01:05 PM
Fair sentence. Think the girl is at it though. Can see him getting a few dooings in the nick.

On another side, female teacher slept numerous times with a 15 year old boy, which if you compare the charges is much much worse considering if Johnson had sex with her he would've been looking at a double figure sentence, yet shes only been given a community service. Inconsistencies in our justice system are ridiculous.

In what way?

24-03-2016, 01:05 PM
Guaranteed he signs for Hearts after early release in 2020.

24-03-2016, 01:07 PM

I wondered how many posts there would be in this thread before someone posted this sort of rubbish.

Edson Arantes
24-03-2016, 01:13 PM

What makes you say the girl is at it?

Giro Playboy
24-03-2016, 01:15 PM
Anyone coming on here blaming the victim should have a long hard look at themselves. The girl was a star struck school kid. She did not deserve to be taken advantage off.

24-03-2016, 01:18 PM
Anyone coming on here blaming the victim should have a long hard look at themselves. The girl was a star struck school kid. She did not deserve to be taken advantage off.

Suppose you could say annyone coming on here claiming to know who or what the girl is/was should take a long hard look at themselves. Truth is, whether you agree with the sentence or not, can't imagine many on here are better placed to make the decision than the judge.

24-03-2016, 01:19 PM

You should be ashamed of yourself. Blaming the victim is quite disgusting.

24-03-2016, 01:20 PM

You're the only one "at it" here.

I agree entirely with your 2nd paragraph FWIW.

Andy.1875
24-03-2016, 01:21 PM

She was not the one that was on trial. She was a 15 year old girl who was being groomed by an adult.

since90plustwo
24-03-2016, 01:23 PM
What makes you say the girl is at it?

Not for a second am i saying she isn't the victim or blaming her or anything what was done was wrong in every possible way. But her saying she was in a dark place for 12 months and other comments just made me thin k she is milking it now its in the press. Her lawyer wont be stupid. Could be wrong

Edson Arantes
24-03-2016, 01:27 PM
Not for a second am i saying she isn't the victim or blaming her or anything what was done was wrong in every possible way. But her saying she was in a dark place for 12 months and other comments just made me thin k she is milking it now its in the press. Her lawyer wont be stupid. Could be wrong

Possibly the 'dark place' comment was a wee bitty over the top.

24-03-2016, 01:27 PM

Although everybody is entitled to an opinion, sometimes it's best to keep some thoughts to yourself

24-03-2016, 01:28 PM

He will never be allowed in to the USA again.

Tapes99
24-03-2016, 01:30 PM
The judges up here are soft.

I remember about 10 years ago a guy brutally beat and raped a 14 year old girl on the southside. He was sentenced to 6 years in prison but was released after 3 for good behaviour.

since90plustwo
24-03-2016, 01:31 PM

All i was meaning.

24-03-2016, 01:37 PM
You think?

How would we know that?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

24-03-2016, 01:41 PM
You think?

How would we know that?

Indeed. It's mere supposition from anyone who doesn't know the girl. She endured the ordeal of being groomed by Johnson and was then subjected to attacks upon her reputation by peers; all of which must be enormously distressing for a teenager.

Newry Hibs
24-03-2016, 01:46 PM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/babysitter-who-sex-11-year-6976012

24-03-2016, 01:59 PM

I remember about 10 years ago a guy brutally beat and raped a 14 year old girl on the southside. He was sentenced to 6 years in prison but was released after 3 for good behaviour.

Dinnae. There was a recent case in Dunfermline where some guy grabbed a girl off the street and put her through this horrendous ordeal for nearly two days. "Jailed for life" was the headlines after sentencing but the reality is that the punishment element of his sentence was only four years and he theoretically could be released after that.

Really does make you sick.

24-03-2016, 02:09 PM
Dinnae. There was a recent case in Dunfermline where some guy grabbed a girl off the street and put her through this horrendous ordeal for nearly two days. "Jailed for life" was the headlines after sentencing but the reality is that the punishment element of his sentence was only four years and he theoretically could be released after that.

Really does make you sick.

Folk who do that should not be allowed to walk the streets alone again

Tapes99
24-03-2016, 02:27 PM
Folk who do that should not be allowed to walk again
Fixed that for you.

Edson Arantes
24-03-2016, 02:48 PM
You think?

How would we know that?

OK, we wouldn't.

It just perhaps, perhaps sounds like something she may have been 'advised' to say.

I am in no way defending Johnson, I'm sure he's as guilty as hell. I was just saying it might be a wee bit over the top.

24-03-2016, 02:52 PM
Obviously, AJ's actions were utterly horrific and he deserves jail time.
But, what about the 21-year-old babysitter who had sex with an 11-year old or the teacher who had sex with a pupil "almost 50 times" and claimed she was pregnant?
Now I am not condoning Johnson's actions but when you consider all of this plus the fact that Oscar Pistorius only got 5 years for murdering his wife, it really doesn't make sense.
Justice systems all over the world need looked at and AJ probably deserves his 6-year imprisonment but those two women who actually had sexual intercourse with children deserve the same sentence and Pistorius should never see the light of day again.

24-03-2016, 02:55 PM
OK, we wouldn't.

It just perhaps, perhaps sounds like something she may have been 'advised' to say.

I am in no way defending Johnson, I'm sure he's as guilty as hell. I was just saying it might be a wee bit over the top.

The Judge didn't think she was being over the top.

The judge said: “You lied about the nature and extent of your contact with her and you lied then and throughout the months which followed about the level of your sexual activity with her. “You had every opportunity to enter guilty pleas to the matters you finally admitted to the court but you chose not to do so, and one consequence of that is that (the girl) was regarded as a liar, by her peers and by the football supporters who would chant abuse about her.
“Little wonder that by the time of this trial she had, in her words, endured a year of abuse, of being called a liar and other more graphic insults, and was deeply upset by what you had done to her and by her treatment, such that she required counselling and such that she reached the lowest ebb after she gave evidence.”
He added: “She speaks of entering many dark places in that year and said she had suffered bullying and stress and had underachieved at school as a result of the case.”
The judge said: “I am satisfied that (the girl) has suffered severe psychological harm and have no doubt that I should take this into account.” She had suffered sadness, anger and confusion which had been “exasperated” because of the footballer’s status and standing, he said

Read more at http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/adam-johnson-sentencing-live-jailed-7618941#cupg8b1xQX06fo12.99

24-03-2016, 02:56 PM
Obviously, AJ's actions were utterly horrific and he deserves jail time.
But, what about the 21-year-old babysitter who had sex with an 11-year old or the teacher who had sex with a pupil "almost 50 times" and claimed she was pregnant?
Now I am not condoning Johnson's actions but when you consider all of this plus the fact that Oscar Pistorius only got 5 years for murdering his wife, it really doesn't make sense.
Justice systems all over the world need looked at and AJ probably deserves his 6-year imprisonment but those two women who actually had sexual intercourse with children deserve the same sentence and Pistorius should never see the light of day again.

AJ gets 6 years and OJ walks free.

Obviously celebrity counts for more in the USA.

Edson Arantes
24-03-2016, 03:08 PM
The Judge didn't think she was being over the top.

The judge said: “You lied about the nature and extent of your contact with her and you lied then and throughout the months which followed about the level of your sexual activity with her. “You had every opportunity to enter guilty pleas to the matters you finally admitted to the court but you chose not to do so, and one consequence of that is that (the girl) was regarded as a liar, by her peers and by the football supporters who would chant abuse about her.
“Little wonder that by the time of this trial she had, in her words, endured a year of abuse, of being called a liar and other more graphic insults, and was deeply upset by what you had done to her and by her treatment, such that she required counselling and such that she reached the lowest ebb after she gave evidence.”
He added: “She speaks of entering many dark places in that year and said she had suffered bullying and stress and had underachieved at school as a result of the case.”
The judge said: “I am satisfied that (the girl) has suffered severe psychological harm and have no doubt that I should take this into account.” She had suffered sadness, anger and confusion which had been “exasperated” because of the footballer’s status and standing, he said

Read more at http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/adam-johnson-sentencing-live-jailed-7618941#cupg8b1xQX06fo12.99

Hadn't seen this before.

I take back my comment.

24-03-2016, 03:11 PM
Suppose you could say annyone coming on here claiming to know who or what the girl is/was should take a long hard look at themselves. Truth is, whether you agree with the sentence or not, can't imagine many on here are better placed to make the decision than the judge.

He was found guilty by a jury of his peers, not the judge.

A jury which heard all the evidence.

How can anyone on here disagree with the verdict?

24-03-2016, 03:32 PM
He was found guilty by a jury of his peers, not the judge.

A jury which heard all the evidence.

How can anyone on here disagree with the verdict?

He was sentenced by a judge.

Don't think anyone is disagreeing with the verdict (anywhere).

24-03-2016, 03:39 PM
It can also now be reported that Adam Johnson browsed a website called “Nice Young Teens”, which featured explicit images but not unlawful.

It can now be reported that Adam Johnson was arrested for possessing extreme pornography - bestiality - on his laptop last year.

It can also be reported that Adam Johnson was taking medication used to treat sexually-transmitted infections when he was arrested last year.

Both as guilty as each other, jeezo.

OtleyHibs
24-03-2016, 04:08 PM

Johnson will be released after 3 years too. You get sentenced to a custodial length (6 years in this case) but you only serve half the time in prison and the other half is served under licence in the community.

I work in the criminal justice system down here and we were all surprised in the office at the sentence. We have many other cases on far shorter sentences for even more serious offences, not sure if his celebrity status or high public interest have had an effect on it.

It's a fair sentence in my opinion, those I mentioned on lesser sentences for offences such as rape got off far too lightly if you ask me. We do need better consistency in sentencing though

24-03-2016, 04:12 PM

Never can get my head round that. Both are indefensible yet the punishment are starkly different. Not sure what it says about the whole debate.

24-03-2016, 04:13 PM
Never can get my head round that. Both are indefensible yet the punishment are starkly different. Not sure what it says about the whole debate.

I reckon it's another sign that the patriarchy is still alive and well.... the notion that women can never be as corrupting to boys as men are to girls.

Twisted logic, of course, but I think it's there.

24-03-2016, 04:18 PM

With that conviction over him I would doubt he would get any kind of visa allowing him into the country.

24-03-2016, 04:32 PM

It's now being reported that the girl attempted suicide during the trial and her family revealed they've had hundreds of abusive messages, including threats of violence.

Is it fair to describe that as a dark place?

24-03-2016, 04:34 PM
I reckon it's another sign that the patriarchy is still alive and well.... the notion that women can never be as corrupting to boys as men are to girls.

Twisted logic, of course, but I think it's there.

There could be a mindset of that kind which still exists, in the same way gay sex was once illegal but lesbian sex wasn't, as some members of parliament didn't believe such a thing existed. 'Deviancy' (as homosexual activity was then considered) was believed unique to men.

24-03-2016, 04:44 PM
There is a lot of conjecture going on, none of us know the finer details but the court did.

Sometimes you have to trust your justice system - there will have been a judge, a jury drawn from various walks of life, evidence from all sorts of experts and lawyers making a case.

He's been found guilty and given a heavy sentence so you would imagine that the blanks we're trying to fill in (and never will) just didn't look good for Johnson at all. Whilst we tend to approach these cases from a "no smoke without fire" standpoint rather than an "innocent until proven guilty" one, it's always going to be hard for a 28 year old millionaire in a position of power to convince anyone that somehow he's been stitched up by a 15 year old girl.

My speculative take on it - she's not guilty of anything more than naivety, and those are the kind of people who are preyed on by people by Johnson and they are the kind of people who need to be protected from him. She may well have been adversely affected by the experience - this would have been taken into consideration during Johnson's sentencing, which was severe. He's a disgusting predator whose life is in tatters and frankly he deserves nothing else.

That doesn't mean that I don't think she (or rather, her advisers) will be trying to wring as much as she possibly can out of the situation. She'll more than likely get a pile of cash out of it but this will in no way make up for the damage to her reputation that she will never, ever be able to leave behind now as there will always be people who think less of her as a result of something that happened to her as a 15 year old girl.

There are no winners here, big losers all round and it is tragic.

24-03-2016, 04:50 PM
There could be a mindset of that kind which still exists, in the same way gay sex was once illegal but lesbian sex wasn't, as some members of parliament didn't believe such a thing existed. 'Deviancy' (as homosexual activity was then considered) was believed unique to men.

Or it could be that they didn't lie about what happened, thereby putting the victims through hell.

Johnson's victim was devastated after being used by him and then he denied his actions, making it even worse for her.

We also know that Johnson asked for sex in return for signing a football shirt for her. Nice.

I don't know how that behaviour compares to what happened in the other cases.

24-03-2016, 04:57 PM
Or it could be that they didn't lie about what happened, thereby putting the victims through hell.

Johnson's victim was devastated after being used by him and then he denied his actions, making it even worse for her.

We also know that Johnson asked for sex in return for signing a football shirt for her. Nice.

I don't know how that behaviour compares to what happened in the other cases.

I got absolutely nothing for that ball i gave you, not even a kiss. :hug:

24-03-2016, 05:01 PM
I got absolutely nothing for that ball i gave you, not even a kiss. :hug:

Gave me?

I was your mule through customs!

But the mule kicked back.

24-03-2016, 05:03 PM
https://twitter.com/JoshHalliday?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

24-03-2016, 05:03 PM
Gave me?

I was your mule through customs!

But the mule kicked back.

Mule. :greengrin

24-03-2016, 05:09 PM
The guys been branded a paedophile and sentenced to 6 years....yet a female that used a prothetic ***** to pretend to be a man in order to have sex with 3 girls ...one being 12 years old gets 3 years

24-03-2016, 05:09 PM
There are a lot of ill-informed opinions on this thread. The judge's full sentencing remarks are here. It maybe helps to accurately fill in some of the blanks that some folk have instead filled with assumptions.

https://www.judiciary.gov.uk/judgments/sentencing-remarks-r-v-adam-johnson/

24-03-2016, 05:26 PM
Never ceases to amaze me that some like to pontificate about how the child was 'at it' etc without knowing what the **** they're talking about. The Ched Evans threads are the same.

Presumably, she was still 'at it' when she took the overdose too.

24-03-2016, 05:35 PM
Never ceases to amaze me that some like to pontificate about how the child was 'at it' etc without knowing what the **** they're talking about. The Ched Evans threads are the same.

Presumably, she was still 'at it' when she took the overdose too.

Aye but she's got a near adult mind!!!!

24-03-2016, 05:37 PM
He will never be allowed in to the USA again.

Correct. His crime is classified as statutory rape there.

24-03-2016, 05:43 PM
Adam Johnson has been rightly locked up and he'll never play professional football, certainly not in this country, ever again. There does seem to be some inconsistencies in the justice system. I would hope that if the tables were turned and that it was a female grooming a 15 year old male they would also be rightly punished to the same correct extent. Based on some of the examples provided in this thread I very doubt that would be the case.

24-03-2016, 05:54 PM
Adam Johnson has been rightly locked up and he'll never play professional football, certainly not in this country, ever again. There does seem to be some inconsistencies in the justice system. I would hope that if the tables were turned and that it was a female grooming a 15 year old male they would also be rightly punished to the same correct extent. Based on some of the examples provided in this thread I very doubt that would be the case.

We don't know all the facts in relation to other cases, which are required to make a proper comparison. It's better to stick to the Johnson case: we know he lied about exactly what went on with the girl, and we know he was fully aware she was underage. We know he groomed her and abused his position. Six years (out in three) doesn't sound excessive, IMO.

24-03-2016, 05:55 PM
Crazy that he thought he would get away with it, these guys think they are untouchable for some reason, yip he obviously has issues himself but doesnt excuse trying to get a 15yr old wee lassie. Feel sorry for his kid not having a parent around due to being a twat

24-03-2016, 05:58 PM
There are a lot of ill-informed opinions on this thread. The judge's full sentencing remarks are here. It maybe helps to accurately fill in some of the blanks that some folk have instead filled with assumptions.

https://www.judiciary.gov.uk/judgments/sentencing-remarks-r-v-adam-johnson/

That does make quite grim reading and clears up my earlier thoughts that the defence have tried to use a doctor to somehow justify his actions for consideration in sentencing.

24-03-2016, 06:18 PM
news report says he's appealing, does that mean that he could actually get a longer term if appeal judges think he's wasting their time

24-03-2016, 06:19 PM
news report says he's appealing, does that mean that he could actually get a longer term if appeal judges think he's wasting their time

Frivolous appeal gets his sentence doubled? :greengrin

24-03-2016, 06:34 PM

Dirkster23
24-03-2016, 06:51 PM
We don't know all the facts in relation to other cases, which are required to make a proper comparison. It's better to stick to the Johnson case: we know he lied about exactly what went on with the girl, and we know he was fully aware she was underage. We know he groomed her and abused his position. Six years (out in three) doesn't sound excessive, IMO.

Having read this article, I'm not sure why she only received 2 years (out in one).

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/law-and-order/12001392/Teaching-assistant-who-groomed-schoolboy-jailed-after-suspended-sentence-deemed-too-lenient.html

24-03-2016, 08:26 PM
It can also now be reported that Adam Johnson browsed a website called “Nice Young Teens”, which featured explicit images but not unlawful.

It can now be reported that Adam Johnson was arrested for possessing extreme pornography - bestiality - on his laptop last year.

It can also be reported that Adam Johnson was taking medication used to treat sexually-transmitted infections when he was arrested last year.

Playing devil's advocate but considering these things are legal, are they relevant?

24-03-2016, 08:32 PM
Playing devil's advocate but considering these things are legal, are they relevant?

Not to his conviction today, no. The guy can do as he likes, when his activities are legal.

24-03-2016, 08:39 PM

A 6 year prison sentence would make it virtually impossible to visit the states, let alone work there.

24-03-2016, 08:41 PM
A 6 year prison sentence would make it virtually impossible to visit the states, let alone work there.

Isn't the case that a police caution can even create problems getting into America?

24-03-2016, 08:41 PM

It's not just the length, it's the type. Moral Turpitude prevents any kind of visa, IIRC.

24-03-2016, 08:55 PM
Type is an issue there too, yes.

Also the likes of Australia/NZ, prison sentences over 12 months mean you ain't getting in. At least for a long number of years.

Having been arrested EVER can supposedly cause issues getting into the US but I have my doubts anyone is ever stopped because of that.

24-03-2016, 08:56 PM

They were probably useful for the prosecution to show propensity, during the case.

24-03-2016, 09:00 PM
They were probably useful for the prosecution to show propensity, during the case.

They weren't allowed to be brought as evidence. The jury convicted him without knowing his previous sexual behaviour.

24-03-2016, 09:01 PM
They weren't allowed to be brought as evidence. The jury convicted him without knowing his previous sexual behaviour.

Could be prejudicial. Not relevant to the charge.

24-03-2016, 09:04 PM
I wondered how many posts there would be in this thread before someone posted this sort of rubbish.

:agree:Bloody hell, He lived in this country and knew the age of the girl and his sneaky actions suggested he knew the laws of this country centred around age - specifically the age where he should have backed off rather than being as arrogant about pursuing the victim as he was, anything about her behaviour is truly irrelevant.....

24-03-2016, 09:12 PM

Decent / possible soft sentence in my view, now that I have learnt a bit more about what seems to have been held back I prefer the idea that this type of individual is off the streets for a longer rather than a shorter time, and everyone now knows the bigger picture. Pets in the Teeside / Wearside area can wander the streets safely as well.

Horrible sounding individual, worse than yam class.

Edson Arantes
24-03-2016, 09:21 PM
Decent / possible soft sentence in my view, now that I have learnt a bit more about what seems to have been held back I prefer the idea that this type of individual is off the streets for a longer rather than a shorter time, and everyone now knows the bigger picture. Pets in the Teeside / Wearside area can wander the streets safely as well.

No need.

24-03-2016, 09:26 PM

It was just mentioned on SSN (albeit brushed over quite quickly) that the police decided to take no further action after initially being arrested on suspicion of having animal porn.

The way the media report these types of things need to be seriously looked at imo. Things are reported in a way to maximise effect (regardless of whether it is confirmed or entirely relevant) and in the case of the school girl it appears to me that the media spotlight / subsequent bullying caused a significant amount of the trauma experienced throughout the whole event.

24-03-2016, 09:31 PM
It was just mentioned on SSN (albeit brushed over quite quickly) that the police decided to take no further action after initially being arrested on suspicion of having animal porn.
the
The way the media report these types of things need to be seriously looked at imo. Things are reported in a way to maximise effect (regardless of whether it is confirmed or entirely relevant) and in the case of the school girl it appears to me that the media spotlight / subsequent bullying caused a significant amount of the trauma experienced throughout the whole event.

Much of what you say could be avoided by not naming the accused until after he or she is convicted, and also having strict reporting restrictions about the case itself, thereby protecting the alleged victim or complainant.

24-03-2016, 09:33 PM
No need.

C'mon, the pets get a safe nights sleep tonight.

Edson Arantes
24-03-2016, 09:36 PM
C'mon, the pets get a safe nights sleep tonight.

ok :thumbsup:

24-03-2016, 09:37 PM

See where you are coming from ( I think). Especially about reporting generally - I do wonder if in this case his lap top was seized as evidence for the main case and then the evidence that was on it got into the public domain as a consequence of the investigation / main trial? Not my area of law so who knows.................

24-03-2016, 09:53 PM
See where you are coming from ( I think). Especially about reporting generally - I do wonder if in this case his lap top was seized as evidence for the main case and then the evidence that was on it got into the public domain as a consequence of the investigation / main trial? Not my area of law so who knows.................

He really is a 6 fingered one isn't he, hope he loses his appeal and is given a 10 year jail sentence, Durham Prison, Ooft, not the best prison to be in, I only visited someone in the place, :greengrin

24-03-2016, 10:01 PM
He really is a 6 fingered one isn't he, hope he loses his appeal and is given a 10 year jail sentence, Durham Prison, Ooft, not the best prison to be in, I only visited someone in the place, :greengrin

:agree: Nearly said fingers crossed he does appeal :greengrin. especially if the initial sentence was influenced by the judges view that the victim was put through an unnecessary ordeal in view of his apparent change in plea. No idea if 6 years was the limit.

24-03-2016, 10:06 PM
:agree: Nearly said fingers crossed he does appeal :greengrin. especially if the initial sentence was influenced by the judges view that the victim was put through an unnecessary ordeal in view of his apparent change in plea. No idea if 6 years was the limit.

It was reported this morning, before the sentencing took place, that the judge was considering a sentence of between 4 and 10 years so 6 years was certainly not the limit.

24-03-2016, 10:07 PM
It was reported this morning, before the sentencing took place, that the judge was considering a sentence of between 4 and 10 years so 6 years was certainly not the limit.

Cheers :thumbsup:

24-03-2016, 10:16 PM

I doubt 6 would be the limit, so if "fingers" loses his appeal it could be extended so he could count it out on the one hand. :greengrin

24-03-2016, 10:29 PM
Much of what you say could be avoided by not naming the accused until after he or she is convicted, and also having strict reporting restrictions about the case itself, thereby protecting the alleged victim or complainant.

Would be a big step forward imo.

Would also be better in cases where the accused isn't found guilty (preventing the 'no smoke' and 'attention seeker' accusations that tend to follow).

24-03-2016, 10:44 PM

Ah, I did read that. Still, presumably was used for the sentencing decision.

25-03-2016, 07:48 AM
Ah, I did read that. Still, presumably was used for the sentencing decision.

They only came to light after the sentence was issued.

Courts will only take previous criminal convictions into account for sentencing.

The release of the new information just gives us a clearer idea of the kind of lifestyle Johnson had.

I posted it in here because folk were suggesting that the victim was "as much at fault" as he was. The new info sheds a an even darker light on his behaviour.

Giro Playboy
25-03-2016, 08:54 AM
The more you read about Johnstone the worse it gets. Riddled with sexual diseases and obsessed by animal porn. The freak should get put down

25-03-2016, 09:25 AM

Courts will only take previous criminal convictions into account for sentencing.

The release of the new information just gives us a clearer idea of the kind of lifestyle Johnson had.

I posted it in here because folk were suggesting that the victim was "as much at fault" as he was. The new info sheds a an even darker light on his behaviour.

Courts use more than previous convictions in sentencing.

Edit - these other issues were clearly mentioned in court at some stage as the Judge had restricted disclosure of them in the media.

25-03-2016, 09:34 AM
Isn't the case that a police caution can even create problems getting into America?

Yep.

25-03-2016, 09:37 AM

Well I agree that those who are inexplicably victim blaming are wrong.

25-03-2016, 11:06 AM
The mair I look at his puss on pics in paper and web the creepier he is absolute rodent

thebigman1875
25-03-2016, 04:56 PM

Hearts sign Adam Johnson, wait a minute, what did he do ? That's fine son, start on Monday :greengrin

25-03-2016, 05:18 PM
The more you read about Johnstone the worse it gets. Riddled with sexual diseases and obsessed by animal porn. The freak should get put down

Seriously warped. That's also illegal, was he done for that?

25-03-2016, 05:48 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/uk/1999/mar/27/vivekchaudhary

I don't know if this has been mentioned already but I thought it interesting that Johnson got 6 years when Graeme Rix got 12 months for his crimes and walked straight back into a job.

25-03-2016, 06:02 PM
Hearts sign Adam Johnson, wait a minute, what did he do ? That's fine son, start on Monday :greengrin

Won't happen. Levein likes big muscular types
who can hoof the ball almost as far as they can
kick an opponent.

25-03-2016, 06:06 PM
Won't happen. Levein likes big muscular types
who can hoof the ball almost as far as they can
kick an opponent.

25-03-2016, 06:51 PM
What I find creepy about this thread is that there are people making attempts at humour about his prospective future employment at Hearts. Not many biting on that one thank ****, but totally lacking class. Give it a rest ya ignorant muppets.

25-03-2016, 07:14 PM
Is it not time this thread was punted to the holy ground ..... its depressing seeing it at the top of the page all the time ...... lets get back to discussing fitba on the main forum instead of perverts, even if they are footballers.

Just sayin' like

25-03-2016, 08:34 PM

I don't know if this has been mentioned already but I thought it interesting that Johnson got 6 years when Graeme Rix got 12 months for his crimes and walked straight back into a job.
Pleading guilty, like rix did, would have made a difference to johnsons punishment. Presumably there are other differences between the cases too but on the face of it I agree that is a fairly big disparity in punishments for 2 broadly similar crimes.

Schteff
25-03-2016, 08:52 PM
Yep.

Only if you're doss enough to mention it on your Visa/ETSA

Edson Arantes
25-03-2016, 09:09 PM
The mair I look at his puss on pics in paper and web the creepier he is absolute rodent

This post is incredibly difficult to read.

Edson Arantes
25-03-2016, 09:10 PM
Is it not time this thread was punted to the holy ground ..... its depressing seeing it at the top of the page all the time ...... lets get back to discussing fitba on the main forum instead of perverts, even if they are footballers.

Just sayin' like

Quite right. :thumbsup:

26-03-2016, 11:14 AM
This post is incredibly difficult to read.

I had my doubts at the start of all this however during and after the case all the evidence sums him up on google imagesthe look on his face says it all he is a creepy looking dude plus now that everything is out he clearly is a danger

26-03-2016, 01:06 PM
Firstly she was a kid, he was what, 28 or something, we all know that's wrong
secondly, she has been in the spotlight since this all came to light and no matter what will always be the girl involved for many years.
Make no mistake this will affect her life considerably because of the media circus.

26-03-2016, 02:14 PM
I had my doubts at the start of all this however during and after the case all the evidence sums him up on google imagesthe look on his face says it all he is a creepy looking dude plus now that everything is out he clearly is a danger

Are you being serious ?

26-03-2016, 02:46 PM

puredeidbrilliantstuffmanken

Edson Arantes
26-03-2016, 02:56 PM
Are you being serious ?

I think he is but, with such a long train of un-punctuated words, the posts are, as I said last night, incredibly difficult to read and indeed follow.

SJM
26-03-2016, 02:57 PM
I think he is but, with such a long train of un-punctuated words, the posts are, as I said last night, incredibly difficult to read and indeed follow.

Why be an arse??

26-03-2016, 03:49 PM
Sounds like the guy is not only some depraved creep but also thick as pig ****. He took advantage of the fact he had a starstruck teenager at his mercy who idolised him. He knew fine well she was too young but continued anyway. No excuses at all. Thrown his whole life away. Deserves everything he gets. One less predator off the streets.

If she had been an underage girl in a club using fake ID and he'd gone home with her then I could have sympathised. There are guys that get caught in such a trap, not meaning to sleep with an under but get fooled into believing the girl is of legal age. This however is inexcusable, he knew her age, he knew the age of consent.

27-03-2016, 08:44 PM
Only if you're doss enough to mention it on your Visa/ETSA

Having worked over there you really should declare it, if they find out then it is good bye visa and home time.

Luckily, I don't have one so no problem.

Edson Arantes
27-03-2016, 09:49 PM
Why be an arse??

Classy and well thought out.

Well done :aok:

28-03-2016, 06:54 PM
Classy and well thought out.

Well done :aok:
Did you consider that the poster you criticised might be dyslexic?

Edson Arantes
28-03-2016, 07:30 PM
Did you consider that the poster you criticised might be dyslexic?

28-03-2016, 09:46 PM

I think with Rix it was argued that the girl had lied about her age and he believed she was 18 at the time and he has pled guilty to the charges.

Johnson knew the girls age, there were text messages asking her what year in school she was so he has deliberately targeted and groomed someone he knew to be underage and then pled not guilty to the charges which will likely have resulted in a harsher sentence in the end.