View Full Version : The worst sequence of results in my lifetime.

19-03-2016, 07:59 PM
Livingston, Alloa, Morton, Dumbarton, QOS, and now Raith Rovers. 3 points from a possible 18.
Whatever way you look at it it is just not acceptable for a club of Hibs standing, fan base and financial clout at any level never mind this poor league.
Throw in a cup final defeat to Ross bloody County and it is a sad sad period for the club.
Of course all is not done yet but watching that mediocre performance tonight I am now beginning to fear the worst.

19-03-2016, 08:06 PM
Yet we've beaten Aberdeen, Dundee utd, St Johnstone, Hearts, Inverness this seaon.

19-03-2016, 08:08 PM
Yet we've beaten Aberdeen, Dundee utd, St Johnstone, Hearts, Inverness this seaon.

I am on about league games. We will not get promoted by winning these games .

19-03-2016, 08:10 PM
Livingston, Alloa, Morton, Dumbarton, QOS, and now Raith Rovers. 3 points from a possible 18.
Whatever way you look at it it is just not acceptable for a club of Hibs standing, fan base and financial clout at any level never mind this poor league.
Throw in a cup final defeat to Ross bloody County and it is a sad sad period for the club.
Of course all is not done yet but watching that mediocre performance tonight I am now beginning to fear the worst.

Very sad reading!

19-03-2016, 08:11 PM
I am on about league games. We will not get promoted by winning these games .

No point saying We will/We wont get promoted. No one knows till its happened. Lets judge after.

Stokesy's on fire
19-03-2016, 08:12 PM
This thread has made me feel 10 times worse

djs69
19-03-2016, 08:14 PM
We get more up for the so called less important cup games, it's a shocking run, worst run in my lifetime

19-03-2016, 08:17 PM
Very sad reading!

In what way is it sad? Is it sad because it's a true and honest reflection of how low we have stooped or is it sad because he has the nerve to state an opinion not in keeping with those who won't accept how bad we are?

19-03-2016, 08:18 PM
No point saying We will/We wont get promoted. No one knows till its happened. Lets judge after.

To be fair the OP is right. We won't get promoted by winning cup games :wink:

19-03-2016, 08:24 PM
To be fair the OP is right. We won't get promoted by winning cup games :wink:

Given the choice I would rather have had the extra 15 points and exited the cups weeks ago.

19-03-2016, 08:27 PM
It's an abysmal run and given the awful standard we're playing at and the relative weakness of Scottish football I don't think there will have been a more horrible run of results in our history.

We need to stare this down, understand and accept that this is the situation and not pussyfoot around it.

Much needs to be done to turn this around because this cannot go on any longer.

19-03-2016, 08:28 PM
The time we went down with Duffys team,that was the worst run I can remember, 9 loses in a row iirc

19-03-2016, 08:31 PM
The time we went down with Duffys team,that was the worst run I can remember, 9 loses in a row iirc

Those losses did not include the likes of Dumbarton and Morton.

19-03-2016, 08:35 PM
It is in fact our away record which has killed our automatic promotion prospects. Played 15, won 7, lost 6, drew 2: a measly 23 points out of a possible 45!

19-03-2016, 08:37 PM
Those losses did not include the likes of Dumbarton and Morton.

Being beaten twice by Dumbarton in this league is a shocker. The fact Dumbarton were beaten 6-0 by a very mediocre QoS side puts those 2 defeats into perspective. Quite pathetic really.

19-03-2016, 08:41 PM
All very true and unacceptable.

This time last year we actually had the same number of points but our goal difference is 13 less which speaks volumes.

19-03-2016, 08:58 PM
Being beaten twice by Dumbarton in this league is a shocker. The fact Dumbarton were beaten 6-0 by a very mediocre QoS side puts those 2 defeats into perspective. Quite pathetic really.

Spot on :agree:

19-03-2016, 09:42 PM
Cummings and Gray haven't won a league match since January 23rd v St. Mirren.

We've only won 2 league games since Stokes arrived.

I reckon we're just on a bad run. Rangers have had theirs and we caught up with them. We started slow and now this. It's the playoffs for us, be it 6 games or 4 that's when we need to be up for it.

19-03-2016, 09:49 PM
Given the choice I would rather have had the extra 15 points and exited the cups weeks ago.

Me too. Getting emptied out the cups early doors definitely helped Hearts stroll through the Championship last season.

19-03-2016, 09:56 PM
In what way is it sad? Is it sad because it's a true and honest reflection of how low we have stooped or is it sad because he has the nerve to state an opinion not in keeping with those who won't accept how bad we are?

Good point Jim.
There are those among us who seem to think that by acknowledging any shortcomings, we are committing some kind of treacherous act!

This is a discussion board and people use it air their points of view.....it is not the equivalent of Pravda of the 60's where the only thing published was the strict party line that the masses were supposed to devour unthinking!

19-03-2016, 09:59 PM
4 points tbf. Not 3

19-03-2016, 10:04 PM

embarrassing :agree:

19-03-2016, 10:04 PM

Pedant Alert - it was 4 points. Frustrating, but I'd rather this than the Bertie Auld days or the latter part of the Duff Jimmy and Alex Miller regimes. I think we play good football and so will do well against "bigger" teams. But the Diddy Teams have worked out a system for frustrating us and waiting for out inevitable mistakes at the back. Stubbs will sort it, I'm sure.

19-03-2016, 10:07 PM
Cummings and Gray haven't won a league match since January 23rd v St. Mirren.

We've only won 2 league games since Stokes arrived.

I reckon we're just on a bad run. Rangers have had theirs and we caught up with them. We started slow and now this. It's the playoffs for us, be it 6 games or 4 that's when we need to be up for it.

win as a team lose as a team

19-03-2016, 10:09 PM
In what way is it sad? Is it sad because it's a true and honest reflection of how low we have stooped or is it sad because he has the nerve to state an opinion not in keeping with those who won't accept how bad we are?what, are you actually oan aboot? It is very bloody sad that the fans, you and me have expected so much more at this crucial time of the season. Hibernian usually collapse around January but that is normally in the SPL. we are in a diddy league, we were flying and looked like we' d be in there at the death. now,it has all gone tits up. I am gutted, you are gutted we are all gutted. cant believe the miss that probably cost us the game tonight. what else can be said, other than last Sunday. Hibernian fc, the club that takes you up to the heights than let's you down wher you can fall straight doon oan yer puss, while others around piss themselves laughing.

19-03-2016, 10:17 PM
Don't agree - I think it's unrealistic to presume that we would go an entire season without a bad spell regardless of the league we're in. These teams are, after all, in the same league as us.

Criswell
19-03-2016, 10:36 PM
Feeling as low now as I can remember. Utterly miserable sequence of results. The team seems able to raise their game against SPL teams yet can't do it against part-time journeymen? Beginning now to seriously question Stubb's credentials. Maybe I'm a half-empty glass type of guy, but on the recent evidence, I can't see us getting out of this league this season. Lack of goals is killing us!

Bay Area Hibees
19-03-2016, 10:57 PM
FFS
You must be about 3 and a half then.

19-03-2016, 11:10 PM
FFS
You must be about 3 and a half then.

I think he means when you consider the standard of opposition over those games.

19-03-2016, 11:12 PM
what, are you actually oan aboot? It is very bloody sad that the fans, you and me have expected so much more at this crucial time of the season. Hibernian usually collapse around January but that is normally in the SPL. we are in a diddy league, we were flying and looked like we' d be in there at the death. now,it has all gone tits up. I am gutted, you are gutted we are all gutted. cant believe the miss that probably cost us the game tonight. what else can be said, other than last Sunday. Hibernian fc, the club that takes you up to the heights than let's you down wher you can fall straight doon oan yer puss, while others around piss themselves laughing.

I think it's perfectly clear what I'm 'oan aboot', and at least one other understood what I was asking. It was a simple question to clarify what the guy meant by 'sad reading'. Was the 'sad reading' a statement of agreement about our perilous position or was the 'sad reading' a comment about Malcolm Bogie's opinion of our demise? Sorry if I can't make my point any clearer.

19-03-2016, 11:15 PM
I think it's perfectly clear what I'm 'oan aboot', and at least one other understood what I was asking. It was a simple question to clarify what the guy meant by 'sad reading'. Was the 'sad reading' a statement of agreement about our perilous position or was the 'sad reading' a comment about Malcolm Bogie's opinion of our demise? Sorry if I can't make my point any clearer.

Well I certainly took his comment to mean it's a sorry state of affairs, rather than a criticism of the OP's post.

19-03-2016, 11:20 PM
Well I certainly took his comment to mean it's a sorry state of affairs, rather than a criticism of the OP's post.

That's absolutely fine, then. Sometimes ambiguity can be difficult to determine.

19-03-2016, 11:23 PM
Me too. Getting emptied out the cups early doors definitely helped Hearts stroll through the Championship last season.
call the cops. you did not want a cup final then?

19-03-2016, 11:51 PM
Well I would not have.

Looks like Hibs net is on suicide watch once more.

20-03-2016, 12:18 AM
Losing four league games in a row in the Scottish Championship is completely unacceptable for a club that should have ambitions to be top five in the Premiership.

The players and coaching staff need to take a long, hard look at themselves.

20-03-2016, 12:35 AM

When you look at the opposition can't say I disagree with the OP.

County might be doing okay in the Premiership but just look at them today. Taken apart by all accounts by the same Inverness Team that we beat midweek.

Stubbs/Dempster - the honeymoon period is over. Get it sorted as opposed to sunning the players in Spain. That worked really well for the play-offs last season and the Final this season, didn't it! The only thing that is important now is promotion. If that's not obtained this season will have been be a disaster.

20-03-2016, 12:39 AM
When you look at the opposition can't say I disagree with the OP.

County might be doing okay in the Premiership but just look at them today. Taken apart by all accounts by the same Inverness Team that we beat midweek.

Stubbs/Dempster - the honeymoon period is over. Get it sorted as opposed to sunning the players in Spain. That worked really well for the play-offs last season and the Final this season, didn't it! The only thing that is important now is promotion. If that's not obtained this season will have been be a disaster.This nonsense needs to stop. You have absolutely no idea if it worked or not, we could have lost by more and played worse if we hadn't gone. Also ''get it sorted'' suggests they are not trying to sort it already when they obviously are.

20-03-2016, 01:06 AM
This nonsense needs to stop. You have absolutely no idea if it worked or not, we could have lost by more and played worse if we hadn't gone. Also ''get it sorted'' suggests they are not trying to sort it already when they obviously are.

All about opinions. Obviously my opinion doesn't match yours. But it would be a boring world if we all agreed.

In my opinion it didn't work. County seemed to cope with the Scottish weather pretty well.
If we need to sun the players every time were looking for a good performance, were we out there before the Hearts, Dundee Utd or Aberdeen matches? We seemed to get on okay for these matches.

We've gone three times in the last year. 1st trip, beaten by Rangers in the play-off. 2nd trip, preseason, we return beaten by Rangers in the Petro Cup, 3rd trip, League Cup Final beaten by RC.

Yes I hope they are trying to sort it. They're just not doing it quick enough. I make that 4 league defeats on the bounce.

20-03-2016, 04:36 AM
Que será será... One of the sequences needed to be the worst in your lifetime. Crap its I this league we landed in due to mismanagement over a number of years and failed to pull out the nose dive leaving Stubbs with nothing.'

We have a little time to turn this around but yesterday was the day to start winning.! Regrouping over the international break is key. Brave decisions need to be made and it should be a period of collective and self reflection esp the management.

20-03-2016, 07:18 AM

As someone has pointed out already we have actually amassed 4 points from these games not 3. My maths are not what they were :greengrin
As far as the cup final goes, I would rather not have been in the final than experience the deep depression I suffered last Sunday night.
The extra 14 points from this sequence of fairly easy league games would have us 3 behind Rangers with a game in hand. I would certainly take that now.

20-03-2016, 07:32 AM
Given the teams we are playing, this run of results is worse than Butchers from two years ago.

20-03-2016, 07:47 AM
Given the teams we are playing, this run of results is worse than Butchers from two years ago.

Deary me. Why on earth do you want Stubbs to be emptied?

buktapurple79
20-03-2016, 07:53 AM
If I was Leanne I'd be asking all those who went to Spain for the costs back then donate it to charity. I'd also offer the lot if them the opportunity to sign a clause that if we don't get promotion they accept half wages next season. I guarantee we'd start seeing consistent winning performances against the dross in this league.

20-03-2016, 07:53 AM
If my history of the club is correct we have never spent more than two seasons in a lower division so failure to get promoted this season would be one for the record books, if the worst happens then it is pretty obvious that heads must roll at all levels. The fans have dug deep and for the most part have stuck by the team but you do wonder how long that will last if promotion is not achieved this season.

20-03-2016, 08:07 AM
We seem to peak for the cup games which are the cherries on the cakes but are inconsistent in the games that actually matter. Routinely we have never been in with a chance or expectation of winning leagues and never been in with a real chance of relegation, until the last two seasons and each time we have come up short.

20-03-2016, 08:23 AM
If my history of the club is correct we have never spent more than two seasons in a lower division so failure to get promoted this season would be one for the record books, if the worst happens then it is pretty obvious that heads must roll at all levels. The fans have dug deep and for the most part have stuck by the team but you do wonder how long that will last if promotion is not achieved this season.It's kinda false that though.First fifty years of last century we finished below or well below 12th place alot, as there were 20 teams in the first division we never got relegated for being poor.

20-03-2016, 08:31 AM

We should be saying that every year, in the premiership

killie-hibby
20-03-2016, 08:40 AM
We seem to peak for the cup games which are the cherries on the cakes but are inconsistent in the games that actually matter. Routinely we have never been in with a chance or expectation of winning leagues and never been in with a real chance of relegation, until the last two seasons and each time we have come up short.

In hindsight Dempster made a mistake in sacking Butcher.She was correct in employing Stubbs but was not savy enough to keep Butcher on as specialist cup tie manager.He would have had us out of the first round of every cup,ensuring our players need not tire theirselves by playing midweek replays,cup finals etc.I truly believe with the aforementioned scenario we would be going for automatic promotion.

20-03-2016, 09:15 AM
As far as the cup final goes, I would rather not have been in the final than experience the deep depression I suffered last Sunday night.
Doesn't this sort of statement imply that you'd rather not play football in case you lose? Man up!

20-03-2016, 09:19 AM
If I was Leanne I'd be asking all those who went to Spain for the costs back then donate it to charity. I'd also offer the lot if them the opportunity to sign a clause that if we don't get promotion they accept half wages next season. I guarantee we'd start seeing consistent winning performances against the dross in this league.

Meanwhile, back on planet earth...

20-03-2016, 10:02 AM

Yes, I would rather have 15 additional points, and be challenging for automatic promotion, than watch Hibs chuck it away in yet another cup final.

It's great getting to cup finals. But only when you win. Nobody gives a toss about the losers.

Promotion is a million times more important to Hibernian FC than winning the League Cup.

20-03-2016, 10:10 AM
Yes, I would rather have 15 additional points, and be challenging for automatic promotion, than watch Hibs chuck it away in yet another cup final.

It's great getting to cup finals. But only when you win. Nobody gives a toss about the losers.

Promotion is a million times more important to Hibernian FC than winning the League Cup.

"Nobody gives a toss about the losers"? Given the media fixation with us and the SC (and us to be fair) that's not quite true is it? We annually get this thrown at us. Getting to cup finals only good if you win? For a Hibee sometimes (more often than not) it's about enjoying the journey rather than arriving at the destination.
This year is about promotion tho'. We're not there yet but it's not gone out the window either but we need to buck up.

20-03-2016, 10:25 AM
Doesn't this sort of statement imply that you'd rather not play football in case you lose? Man up!

After faithfully following his team for nearly 60 years I can fully understand his frustrations. Believe me, for the OP to come out with a post like that, then it's a sure sign that after promising so much, our Season is in imminent danger of falling apart.

It's certainly not a case of "man up!"

Fergos
20-03-2016, 10:33 AM

Me also. I'd go as far a saying I'd rather we went up than won the Scottish too.

We deserved to be relegated, there's no doubt about that but the supporters deserve to be supporting a top league Hibs and not one in the championship - and certainly not one that could, & I hope not, be in the championship for 3 years.

Gut feeling is having seen Stubbsys comments regarding yesterday & the players due back is that our form will improve, whether it's enough to get us up is another matter.

Ideally..let's win the Scottish and get promoted - it could still happen!

20-03-2016, 10:35 AM
"Nobody gives a toss about the losers"? Given the media fixation with us and the SC (and us to be fair) that's not quite true is it? We annually get this thrown at us. Getting to cup finals only good if you win? For a Hibee sometimes (more often than not) it's about enjoying the journey rather than arriving at the destination.
This year is about promotion tho'. We're not there yet but it's not gone out the window either but we need to buck up.

It's because Hibs always lose Scottish Cup finals that "the media" (and Hearts supporters in particular) use it as a stick to beat the club with. Apart from that, what I mean is nobody remembers the losers in cup finals.

Yes, getting to cup finals is only good if your team wins as far as I'm concerned. I'm sick and tired of the losers mentality which has afflicted this club, and some of its supporters, for years.

For me, it's not about enjoying the journey and then a feeling of massive disappointment yet again. I want Hibs, my team, to be winners. Not losers. It's something I was hoping AS and his team might eradicate.

20-03-2016, 10:38 AM
Me also. I'd go as far a saying I'd rather we went up than won the Scottish too.

We deserved to be relegated, there's no doubt about that but the supporters deserve to be supporting a top league Hibs and not one in the championship - and certainly not one that could, & I hope not, be in the championship for 3 years.

Gut feeling is having seen Stubbsys comments regarding yesterday & the players due back is that our form will improve, whether it's enough to get us up is another matter.

Ideally..let's win the Scottish and get promoted - it could still happen!

The bit in bold - from a footballing perspective, as a Hibs supporter, nothing would give me greater pleasure mate. :aok:

Fergos
20-03-2016, 10:41 AM
Yes, getting to cup finals is only good if your team wins as far as I'm concerned. I'm sick and tired of the losers mentality which has afflicted this club, and some of its supporters, for years.

For me, it's not about enjoying the journey and then a feeling of massive disappointment yet again. I want Hibs, my team, to be winners. Not losers. It's something I was hoping AS and his team might eradicate.[/QUOTE]

Well said, totally agree.