View Full Version : Match Updates Raith Rovers 2-1 Hibernian (Stokes)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Callum7
19-03-2016, 02:07 PM
Since I've never started a match thread I thought I would.:aok:
Any team news, weather, 'if Oxley should play' arguments put here.
Good luck to the team and GGTTH.

19-03-2016, 02:10 PM
Where's everyone going for a bevvy in Kirkcaldy today?

19-03-2016, 02:13 PM
Tough game, a win keeps the pressure on Falkirk, and gets us going again in the promotion stakes. Get in tae them, and Hibs, please don't 'The Rangers' it.

The Sundance Kid
19-03-2016, 02:16 PM
Might be wrong but think Henderson is suspended for today

19-03-2016, 02:26 PM
Might be wrong but think Henderson is suspended for today
Is he really?? Been no mention in press of this??

The Sundance Kid
19-03-2016, 02:30 PM
Is he really?? Been no mention in press of this??

Picked up his 6th league booking of the season against Dumbarton on the 27th of February so pretty sure he misses today. The lack of mention of it anywhere is making me doubt myself though

19-03-2016, 02:30 PM
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resources/documents/Disciplinary/CurrentSuspensions/Season2015/16/PlayerSuspensions/LOS34%20(%203%20Mar%202016)%20CW.pdf

Think that this confirms that Henderson is suspended

19-03-2016, 02:32 PM
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resources/documents/Disciplinary/CurrentSuspensions/Season2015/16/PlayerSuspensions/LOS34%20(%203%20Mar%202016)%20CW.pdf

Maybe a start for Handling today then??

19-03-2016, 02:33 PM
Maybe a start for Handling today then??

Or Fyvie

19-03-2016, 02:36 PM

Blast:confused:

19-03-2016, 02:37 PM
Is the game on Alba?

Callum7
19-03-2016, 02:38 PM
Is the game on Alba?

Yes

et_hibby
19-03-2016, 02:46 PM
Since I've never started a match thread I thought I would.:aok:
Any team news, weather, 'if Oxley should play' arguments put here.
Good luck to the team and GGTTH.
Any chance of a seat sales grid?

et_hibby
19-03-2016, 02:53 PM
:lol::lol::lol:

...no
Jeezo ;-)

Callum7
19-03-2016, 02:55 PM
Jeezo ;-)

wait I can do one just wait:angeldevi

Callum7
19-03-2016, 03:03 PM
wait I can do one just wait:angeldevi

http://i64.tinypic.com/346kvwk.jpg

19-03-2016, 03:06 PM
http://i64.tinypic.com/346kvwk.jpg

There are ten people there already. Hard core.

Callum7
19-03-2016, 03:10 PM
There are ten people there already. Hard core.

Looks like there heading north.

19-03-2016, 03:31 PM
Boyle in for henderson
No other changes.

Not convinced...

#Hibs starting line-up: Oxley, Gray, McGregor, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGinn, Boyle, Keatings, Cummings, Stokes

19-03-2016, 03:32 PM
#Hibs substitutes: Virtanen, Gunnarsson, Donaldson, Thomson, Handling, El Alagui, Dagnall

19-03-2016, 03:32 PM
Boyle in for henderson
No other changes.

Not convinced...
#Hibs starting line-up: Oxley, Gray, McGregor, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGinn, Boyle, Keatings, Cummings, Stokes

What would you have done like?

19-03-2016, 03:33 PM
Must be a 4-3-3 surely?

Boyle in for henderson
No other changes.

Not convinced...

Hopefully a front 3 with stokes left and boyle right

What would you have done like?

I think a winger in central midfield is a strange one. So I'd possibly have played Thomson or handling.

Or gone 3-5-2.

19-03-2016, 03:34 PM
Hopefully a front 3 with stokes left and boyle right

Then where does Keatings fit?

Centre mid?

19-03-2016, 03:34 PM
I think a winger in central midfield is a strange one. So I'd possibly have played Thomson or handling.

Or gone 3-5-2.

I am hoping he is more right wing but see your point

19-03-2016, 03:35 PM

Or gone 3-5-2.

What if he's not playing in central midfield?

007 Mickey Weir
19-03-2016, 03:38 PM
We play a diamond midfield with Keatings in the number 10 role.

19-03-2016, 03:38 PM
Boyle in for henderson
No other changes.

Not convinced...

So only 1 change from a team that beat a premier league team and you arent convinced, strange comment

19-03-2016, 03:39 PM
Reckon it will still be the diamond with Boyle on right and Keatings at tip

Either that or 4-2-4

Boyle and Keatings on the wings

Or

4-2-3-1

Bartley and McGinn

Boyle Keatings Stokes

Cummings

19-03-2016, 03:39 PM
So only 1 change from a team that beat a premier league team and you arent convinced, strange comment

Because I don't see Boyle or Keatings as central midfielders and one of them needs to be.

19-03-2016, 03:40 PM
Reckon it will still be the diamond with Boyle on right and Keatings at tip

Either that or 4-2-4

Boyle and Keatings on the wings

Or

4-2-3-1

Bartley and McGinn

Boyle Keatings Stokes

Cummings

4-2-3-1 looks good.

19-03-2016, 03:41 PM
3 car bump on forth road bridge - down to one lane meaning some long traffic jams - hopefully won't affect anyone getting to game.

19-03-2016, 03:53 PM
Because I don't see Boyle or Keatings as central midfielders and one of them needs to be.

Mcginn and Boyle will probably play wider today, different from the usual narrow diamond.

AL-Qaholik
19-03-2016, 03:54 PM
Down to the absolute bare bones in midfield.
Glad to see Boyle getting a chance though.

19-03-2016, 04:04 PM
Down to the absolute bare bones in midfield.
Glad to see Boyle getting a chance though.

Yep. Really want to see Boyle run at them today. Makes so much difference when you play with a bit of pace

19-03-2016, 04:08 PM
Away end is empty

19-03-2016, 04:10 PM
3 points or bust.

19-03-2016, 04:13 PM
Away end is empty

Home end is empty as well!

19-03-2016, 04:13 PM
Away end is empty

Are you at game?

19-03-2016, 04:15 PM
Keatings on the wing :confused:

19-03-2016, 04:19 PM
Is that Raith Rovers home shirt?

Callum7
19-03-2016, 04:19 PM

No

19-03-2016, 04:20 PM

No, but the green and blue clash and purple and blue would too.

Sensible choice of strips imo.

Still not sure what formation we're playing!

19-03-2016, 04:21 PM

Aye, how come both teams are in their away strips?

Since when? :greengrin

Not playing the advantage rule today?

19-03-2016, 04:22 PM
Not playing the advantage rile today?

Are you at Starks, PB?

19-03-2016, 04:22 PM
Since when? :greengrin

Since we both wore our home shirts at Starks earlier in the season.

Bottle green with white sleeves against navy with white sleeves was a total nightmare.

19-03-2016, 04:24 PM

Cheers . Thought it was odd they were in away strip.

Are you at Starks, PB?

Unfotunately not. Playing football early this morning then had a funeral late AM/early PM that went on a bit longer than I expected.

Rivers Cuomo
Is Henderson just being rested or is he injured?

Boyle brings a save out. Maybe could've done better.

Great pass.

Should have scored there.

19-03-2016, 04:25 PM

Suspended for 6 bookings.

Suspended.

Boyle with a chance, but seconds before Cummings shows again his naivety in shooting from 25 yards out when its just not on?

Rivers Cuomo
Cheers lads, never realised.

19-03-2016, 04:26 PM
Still nonny nonny.

19-03-2016, 04:26 PM
Should have scored there.

Yes, keeper did well though.

19-03-2016, 04:27 PM

4-2-3-1

19-03-2016, 04:27 PM
Yet another game where the opposition get their fouls in early, with no action from the ref. Hibs guaranteed to get first few yellows.

19-03-2016, 04:30 PM
Good effort there from Cummings. Comfortable save in the end though.

Boyle with a chance, but seconds before Cummings shows again his naivety in shooting from 25 yards out when its just not on?

The goals part of this game is where I feel we need guidance from above. Hopefully Cummings works through this patch.

Get him off my telly. :rolleyes:

Stuarty27
19-03-2016, 04:31 PM
We have Keatings playing on the right, one of the most left sided players going.

Boyle on the left who can't kick with his left.

Don't get it

19-03-2016, 04:31 PM
Does ray mckinnon remind anyone else of Steve Clarke?

19-03-2016, 04:32 PM
Oxley looking sharp off the line tonight, twice now he's come out the box well to sweep up.

19-03-2016, 04:32 PM
Oxley looking sharp off the line tonight, twice now he's come out the box well to sweep up.

Can't be right, he never comes off his line apparently. Maybe he's just timewasting.

19-03-2016, 04:33 PM
First I've seen of Stokes.

Get him off my telly. :rolleyes:

Maybe the seats are a bit neat for him.

We have Keatings playing on the right, one of the most left sided players going.

Boyle on the left who can't kick with his left.

Don't get it

Presumably so they can cut in and shoot. Not a fan of it personally, but plenty of teams do it.

Probably more common when you don't expect the players to put in many crosses, which I suppose is why we do it.

19-03-2016, 04:34 PM
Bartley looks like he has taken a sore one.

Bartley down. This could be terrible news.

Is there anyone on the thread who is at the game? :thumbsup:

19-03-2016, 04:35 PM
Bartley looks like he has taken a sore one.

Innocuous. Looks ok though.

Does ray mckinnon remind anyone else of Steve Clarke?

I was amazed at how old he looked.

I remember him breaking through at United.

Me

That's a shocker

19-03-2016, 04:36 PM
Game looks and sounds like lower division rubbish. Zero quality on show.

Marv got strapping on and limping.

Hope he's alright. Though Thomson could come on.

That was a terrible tackle on Bartley.

Another scrappy one by the looks of it.

19-03-2016, 04:37 PM
Dire football so far.

GlasgowHibee
Quite grateful the game is on TV, but how shocking is the Alba picture? Looks like it's being filmed and broadcasted with a ****ing potato. :greengrin

That was a terrible tackle on Bartley.

Disagree.

Thought the boy got all the ball and none of marv.

Off the bar
anyone getting a picture on hibs.tv? Might be my dodgy vpn but I'm only getting audio

19-03-2016, 04:39 PM
Disagree.

Thought the boy got all the ball and none of marv.
Why did Bartley need treatment then?

Bartley penalised for **** all.

Me

This tinternet modern technology is great, isn't it? :greengrin

Give us your pitch side thoughts during the game, Billy.

Ball is not sticking up top at all.

That is a bizarre decision Raith player beats marv and mcgregor and gets a free kick, despite being through on goal and not being tackled...

19-03-2016, 04:40 PM
How bad is the pitch! Looks horrendous !

ShadesLongThrow
Cummings and Stokes both looking like they've had a long lunch. Slow and plodding.

live on alba.............

Header from Stokes. Should have scored I reckon

Free header from 6 yards straight at the keeper FFS.

fife hfc
19-03-2016, 04:41 PM
Too many forwards on pitch and can't get a hold of the ball in midfield. Set up all wrong in my opinion.

How many touches does McGinn want there? Get the shot away man.

A lot better now.

live on alba.............

Aye, I'm watching, mate. :aok:

19-03-2016, 04:42 PM
Goooal stokes

Yes!

Stokes, great finish.

Getting on top now yesss 1-0

Stokesy!!!!!

Nice finish from stokes.

:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Free header from 6 yards straight at the keeper FFS.

Stokesy!!

1-0 Stokes

Nice finish.

Stokes :flag:

Get in 1-0 stokes

Goooaaaallll!! Stokes!

Quality finish :thumbsup:

GlasgowHibee
GOAL! Stokesy, great finish after an awful defensive header. :thumbsup:

oldbiker
stokesy a cracking hit :thumbsup:

rotherhamrob
Yes get in there

19-03-2016, 04:43 PM
3 in 2 games now. 😎😎

Just saying!!

Nice finish from Stokes.

Forever_Green93
YAAASSSS!!! well done stokes!

Petrie's hat is shocking

Stokes takes advantage of laughable defending there :faf: happy days :flag:

fife hfc
Ha ha enough forwards on pitch now😀

GOAL! Stokesy, great finish after an awful defensive header. :thumbsup:

Keeper leaves a lot to be desired as well, came to punch and never got near it, nowhere near strong enough. Not that I'm complaining.

Great finish!!!!

Mr Grieves
Yaaas! Good finish, shocking headed clearance from their player

LD rocking back and forward like an inmate from carstairs. :greengrin

19-03-2016, 04:44 PM
The real Anthony Stokes is turning up now. :aok:

Petrie's hat is shocking

Facial hair and a flat cap. Bit of a hipster is Rod.

Great movement off the ball from Stokes, read that all the way and spanked that volley home. Class

Off the bar
19-03-2016, 04:45 PM
Yes mon the hibs

LD rocking back and forward like an inmate from carstairs. :greengrin

That comes quickly when watching Hibs :greengrin

I can see what we are trying with Boyle and Keatings but just keep them on natural sides and I think it would be more effective.

Need a 2nd goal to put this to bed.

Facial hair and a flat cap. Bit of a hipster is Rod.

Should probably fix his buttons though. Not a good look.

19-03-2016, 04:46 PM
Boyles playing well, having someone on the pitch with that much pace gives us a good outlet

BarneyHibby
19-03-2016, 04:46 PM
Brilliant finish:thumbsup:

Big L
19-03-2016, 04:47 PM
I want to see JC git one or two, last few weeks he's posted missing!

19-03-2016, 04:47 PM
I've seen better public parks than this pitch.

Always look dangerous with Boyles pace in the team.

19-03-2016, 04:48 PM
I wish Cliff would just stick to basic commentating. Some of his "insights" are painful.

19-03-2016, 04:48 PM
Petrie's hat is shocking

A good match. :wink:

Callum7
19-03-2016, 04:51 PM
On the radio that hibs are in front. Someone might have said.
Who scored?

Stokes

Cummings getting the treatment from big Benedictus. Could be 3-0 already.

Who scored?

The player getting loads of abuse on here recently has scored 3 in 2 games.

Got lucky there with Oxley juggling a simple ball.

Tell me you never shouted just catch the ****in thing.

Who scored?

Eh ...Stokes

19-03-2016, 04:52 PM
Got lucky there with Oxley juggling a simple ball.

Wtf was he doing?

Big Ox juggling the ball there. Hope he's got his lenses in 😳

Purehibee_MYB
I wish Cliff would just stick to basic commentating. Some of his "insights" are painful.

Hibs TV commentary is so bad at times

Wtf was that free kick?

19-03-2016, 04:53 PM
Weird that the 3 players are amongst the fans.

How many fouls are they getting away with here? :rolleyes:

Hibs TV commentary is so bad at times

I like it, dont agree with them at times but i love their passion.

19-03-2016, 04:54 PM
Wtf was he doing?

Who knows, thankfully it never cost us.

How many fouls are they getting away with here? :rolleyes:

Benedictus must have committed five already!

Goal Raith

Callum7
Oh dear

Baws

Ffs

Terrible defending :rolleyes:

Hibs creating nothing. Goal came from bad defending. 1-1 shocking defending.

Ffs 1-1

ManBearPig
Comical defending

19-03-2016, 04:55 PM

FFS Hibs.

FFS. Our defending is pish. 1-1

That was a shambles.

Terrible defending and oxley nowhere near again.

FFS Sunday league defending from Gray and McGreggor.

Comedy defending again.

Forever_Green93
Argh!!!

Would get Gannarson on at half time.

Seems every shot on target ends up in the net...

Mon Hibs FFS

What a pishy goal to give away. Too easy again.

Our defence has gone from solid to a farce.

What the **** were McGregor and Gray doing? Mess at the back.

oldbiker
awfy pish defending

Benedictus must have committed five already!

Should be booked.

Dear o dear that is poor.

3 of them.

Comfortable but again switch off

Rubbish defending 1-1

Got lucky with a bounce off of McGregor

That was a shambles.

Ball was right in the corner was it not?

Another goal down Gray's side.

EH54
That was a shambles.

Don't think there was much oxly can do there...

Big Ox juggling the ball there. Hope he's got his lenses in 

He should get a pair of the Edgar Davids wraparound fellies.

Goal out of nothing, flukey bassas 1-1

19-03-2016, 04:56 PM
That was a shambles.

Nowt Oxley could do.

awfy pish defending

Gray is having a mare.

keystone cops defending

Couldn't defend a long ball down the middle. He finished it well though.

Crapdefending but I would like ox to make the odd save too.......

Was that an own goal, looked like it was a Hibs player who got the final touch?

That was a shambles. Terrible defending and oxley nowhere near again.

No keeper was getting that! No way in hell was that Oxleys fault! I'm more concerned about the 3 defenders!

Nowt Oxley could do.

Indeed. Total nonsense that comment.

19-03-2016, 04:57 PM
That was a shambles.

Can Oxley be criticised there? 2 defenders get in each others way, neither deals with it and the guy hammers it home. Keeper has no chance.

The problem with this blaming Oxley when it isn't his fault is that when there are valid criticisms it leaves those making them open to the 'scapegoat' stuff.

Shocking defending. One against 3 and he scores.

Gray looks tired.

thebausburst
Gray is having a mare.

Agree Gray having a shocker and looks knackered (as usual) already!

I like McGregor and Fontaine but we seriously miss Hanlon at the back.

Other 2 are too similar.

Still think we should be playing 3-5-2

19-03-2016, 04:58 PM
Our whole back four are a car crash.

Dav id. Gray dear oh dear
Not blaming O ley at all but he just never seems to pull out any saves other than the run of the mill

Mark79
Gray is having a mare.

Agree. Been brutal all season. Like a different player from previous season.

wtf has happened to grays crossing

Can Oxley be criticised there? 2 defenders get in each others way, neither deals with it and the guy hammers it home. Keeper has no chance.

The problem with this blaming Oxley when it isn't his fault is that when there are valid criticisms it leaves those making them open to the 'scapegoat' stuff.

I did blame the defenders.

It's a slow shot and it goes under him. He's slow to get down.

Also, I've not criticised him before now.

19-03-2016, 04:59 PM
Can Oxley be criticised there? 2 defenders get in each others way, neither deals with it and the guy hammers it home. Keeper has no chance. The problem with this blaming Oxley when it isn't his fault is that when there are valid criticisms it leaves those making them open to the 'scapegoat' stuff.

No chance for Oxley but it seems it's easier to blame him rather than anyone else involved!

Gray is having a mare.

You could have copy and pasted that for about 5 of the last 6 weeks.

The defence, much like a couple of seasons ago, has fallen apart without the much maligned Paul Hanlon.

Comical defending

I am no laughing we cant keep giving away goals like that

Gray has been ****ing stinking.
Not completed a cross and shambolic defending for the equaliser. Waken up ffs!

19-03-2016, 05:00 PM
Slow build up, slow transition and can't deal with their simple game plan of hitting the centre halfs and winning 2nd ball.

More goals in this. Just need to kill it off quicker

I know the pitch is terrible but this is absolutely dreadful.

rotherhamrob
How many attempts does gray need to get the ball in the box?

Agree Gray having a shocker and looks knackered (as usual) already!

What wrong with Gunnarsson ? Always looks decent and got to be better than a 50% Gray.

I did blame the defenders. It's a slow shot and it goes under him. He's slow to get down.
It didn't go under him though. it was placed to his right hand side, right into the corner.

He had no chance.... Unless he was about 8 ft tall!

thebausburst
They look very vulnerable down the right side if we can just move things quicker and make better decisions/final ball in last 3rd. Few folks off the pace, like Bartman.

19-03-2016, 05:01 PM
Great move and a great block denies stokes a second.

Some block from the defender there.

rotherhamrob
Good ball from keats there.

When you normally rely on the width from Stevenson and Gray, its no real surprise we struggle to provide decent balls in from wide.

ShadesLongThrow
Getting loads of room on the right but Gray isn't making the most of it. Would like to see him try and hit the bye line and cut it back.

Big L
19-03-2016, 05:02 PM
Some good stuff!!

19-03-2016, 05:02 PM
Great move and a great block denies stokes a second.

Good move, good defending

19-03-2016, 05:03 PM
Too laboured, too slow in possession. Turgid.

Lucky not to be 2-1 down.

Jeezo this ****ing defence.

McGreggor all over the shop.

Big L
Panic defending.

ManBearPig
Jesus this defending is shoking

Boyle is hugging that left touch line but not getting the ball!

One moment and they are back in it.

Woeful defending again.

Need someone to take responsibility here and deal with it!

Hibs = shambles at the back.

Total mess at the back. Get Stubbs on.

HT

wtf has happened to grays crossing
He can't, not impressed by this performance at all. We are worrying about playing Killie or Hamilton in play offs, got a lot to do before we get there.:confused:

19-03-2016, 05:04 PM
Anyone who thinks that's Oxley's fault should GTF. Grey was the one who ****ed up and should have delt with it.

I'd get Gunnerson on!

Grim stuff for the most part in that half.

Couple of decent spells but ponderous going forward and shaky at the back. An erse booting required.

Hibs, what are you all about

19-03-2016, 05:05 PM
Horribly exposed again.

Bartley having a bad game after weeks of him being our best player. McGinn not involved. Stokes the only one to offer any composure. Nothing from wide areas yet again.

Comedy capers defending, lucky to not be 2-1 RR at the break.

Bartley off the pace today.

Very open half. It could easily be 4-1 Hibs or 2-1 Raith. There must be more goals to come.

Boyle is hugging that left touch line but not getting the ball!

One moment and they are back in it.

Woeful defending again.

Need someone to take responsibility here and deal with it!

Get Gunnarson on and go 3 at the back, Gray off and put boyle wide on the right.

19-03-2016, 05:06 PM
Needs to kill these games off then take McGinn and Gray etc off after 60-70mins

It's all a bit slow and laboured. Players maybe looking a bit physically and mentally tired?

McGinn looks like the only one who hasn't just woken up.

Need somebody to run at their defence.
As usual not direct enough.

ManBearPig
Get Gunnarson on and go 3 at the back, Gray off and put boyle wide on the right.

Agree but not gonna happen

#stubborn

19-03-2016, 05:07 PM
Our defence has been a shambles for weeks now. We've been shipping soft goals left right and centre to very poor teams.

19-03-2016, 05:07 PM

Agreed with you BH!

cameronw-hfc
19-03-2016, 05:08 PM
Get Gray to ****, can take McGinn off with him, too many touches, too slow.

Tin hat firmly on. :brickwall

Comedy capers defending, lucky to not be 2-1 RR at the break.

Bartley off the pace today.

Yeah Bartley has been poor. Also swap Boyle and keatings

The big lad was coming on to being a good player for us then taken out completely.

GlasgowHibee
Half-time came at the perfect time. Just a quick one, where's Henderson today?

spudhib
Boyle on the right please Stubbsy Grays had time and space all day.

Half-time came at the perfect time. Just a quick one, where's Henderson today?

Suspended

19-03-2016, 05:09 PM
Yeah Bartley has been poor. Also swap Boyle and keatings

Bartley better when he can sit in the middle not as one of two.

Yorkshire HFC
19-03-2016, 05:09 PM
What's happened to Gray? He used to be one of our best players.