View Full Version : Question re Anderlecht v Hibs

Conrad Gray
18-03-2016, 05:31 PM
I'm just watching SKY News re the police/terrorist shoot out in the Molenbeek area of Brussels.

I have hazy memories of our trip to Brussels and seem to remember a lot of Hibbies socialising in this area. I also recall the locals being quite hostile.

Can anyone remember being in the Molenbeek area? or is my memory deceiving me?

jarre1875
18-03-2016, 05:33 PM
All i remember about Anderlecht was police with machine guns and dogs and bucket loads of stella 🍻, and a good performance by the team 👍

Conrad Gray
18-03-2016, 05:36 PM
I can also remember an armed cop coming in to a pub to warn us about the noise being made. He then tanned a pint of beer in a oner and left..........

18-03-2016, 05:40 PM
No idea of name of area but recall Morroccon boys with batons knocking the **** out of some of us. That and litres of Jupiler. We stayed very central iirc.

18-03-2016, 05:45 PM
mind one of the guys in my group doing a number one against a wall in a (not so) discreet area only to be stopped mid-stream by a couple of policemen pointing guns at all in our group...think my mate done an involuntary number 2 when he turned around and saw the guns :greengrin

18-03-2016, 05:53 PM
No idea of name of area but recall Morroccon boys with batons knocking the **** out of some of us. That and litres of Jupiler. We stayed very central iirc.

Great trip we flew when we got to the airport we were told our luggage was on the next flight and were told free drinks until they arrived.2/3 hours later a employe came over to ask if that was cases on the carossel as they had being going around for the last hour.

18-03-2016, 05:53 PM
There was definitely bother in Belgium. Not as bad as Dnipro however - according to a well known 'boy' I know the Hibs lads were given a right hiding after being 'smoked out' a pub via a grenade type thing hurled into the boozer. Mind his stories do tend to make even Pinocchio blush.

18-03-2016, 06:08 PM
There were groups of very aggressive Morroccans around.

I remember being in Grand Place in the centre of Brussels and a maniac Morroccan running towards Hibs fans with a type of knuckle duster with blades on his hand. Police vans moved in swiftly and apprehended him.

18-03-2016, 06:27 PM
There were groups of very aggressive Morroccans around.

I remember being in Grand Place in the centre of Brussels and a maniac Morroccan running towards Hibs fans with a type of knuckle duster with blades on his hand. Police vans moved in swiftly and apprehended him.
I remember it too. Last time you bought a round!!! It was mental particularly down the red light area, bottles being lobbed about and battles in the streets Obviously we had taken a wrong turning to find ourselves in such a place😜

18-03-2016, 06:34 PM
There was definitely bother in Belgium. Not as bad as Dnipro however - according to a well known 'boy' I know the Hibs lads were given a right hiding after being 'smoked out' a pub via a grenade type thing hurled into the boozer. Mind his stories do tend to make even Pinocchio blush.

I was in dnipro & never seen any bother.

18-03-2016, 07:09 PM
I was in dnipro & never seen any bother.

I wasn't either mate, passing on what the excitable lad told me - hence the little caveat that he is prone to being the Southside Pinocchio

18-03-2016, 07:46 PM
I remember having to cancel going after had paid everything as had to go for a wee operation

18-03-2016, 08:01 PM
There was a lot of trouble with the locals and the cops in the town centre, it got a wee bit scary with Moroccans running around with weapons attacking Hibs fans, the group I was with took a few taxis to the outskirts and we had a good night drinking strawberry beer with the locals and other hibbies we bumped into...there is a vague recollection of doing a conga out of the pub, into a small grocery shop and into the wee square were the pub was. The local street sweeper led the way as he had scrounged Hibs stuff from us all and had become an honoury Hibby for as long as we bought him drinks. His Scaffy cart had scarves and a flag hanging from it by the end of the night and he knocked off early to get steamin with us and teach us Flemish. The locals were a good laugh and encouraged us to act daft, one of our group ended up behind the bar serving drinks to the punters in the pub. I later heard some horror stories from those that hung around the main town centre, casuals were getting up to all sorts and the stories about the guys from the Torino bus would make a serial killer blush, I couldn't print on a family forum what I heard about some of their antics. Cracking trip though and a brilliant performance by Hibs with an amazing support of 2000 or so packed behind the goals, can't believe it was over 20 years ago.

18-03-2016, 08:04 PM
Aye. I remember the fruity beers. Lethal.

fife hfc
18-03-2016, 08:12 PM
I was in a pub in the red light district with tons of Hibs fans when a local of North African descent attacked a fan. The street was filled with us at one end and a large group of North Africans at the other, with the police in the middle. I remember we made an exit as the locals had some serious weapons on them. We ended up in a British bar and safe from those nutters.

18-03-2016, 08:13 PM

I think that Dnipro story has sprouted more legs than a centipede over the years. All I can remember is a handful of laddies coming into the area where the Hibs fans were gathered and making a bit of noise and that was it. I do remember a wee lassie going around asking folk to write stuff in a jotter so she could show her teacher, some of the filth that was in it was a disgrace!

18-03-2016, 08:29 PM
Was at both, nothing serious in Dnipro, lots of bother in Brussels.

18-03-2016, 08:33 PM
I mind ending up in a pub all night after the game with hordes of Morrocans outside waiting. It was mental. Also some Morrocans asking our group outside the stadium to go to a "party". Needless to say we said no and got out of there!

tanfield
18-03-2016, 09:49 PM
Eventful trip!

The square was brilliant, stayed in Ostend so didn't see any bother although heard about it. The square on match day was brilliant but we all got moved on as we were making so much noise and they were having a council meeting, IIRC.

The casuals were being a bit of a pest and we decided to get the train to the ground. A bad move as 20 or so casuals stormed the next carriage removed one of the train windows and smashed it on the platform being running off.

Standing there wondering WTF! Police arrived shortly after and tried to chuck us off the train before locals intervened and put in a good word for us.

Then had to watch police launch tear gas at the casuals near the ground.

Memories!!

18-03-2016, 10:48 PM
In Belgium my friends and i were sitting in an outside cafeteria when a loud banging started and Hibs supporters were running out of an arcade towards us being chased by Morrocan youths who were carrying weapons. Needless to say we were out of there pronto. Walking past a public house when the windows came out from the inside helped by a stool thrown by casuals fighting locals. Very tense atmosphere at the game when behind the goal was packed with Hibbies.

Dnipro: we were told to stay in groups and to watch were we were going. My friend and i didnt go out but the rest of the guys went out in various sized groups. A few hours later a large group returned and one came and asked me if i had a pair of tweezers in my bag as he was having to pick bits of glass out of his friends head! they had been sitting in a pub when a group of locals had thrown in a smoke bomb and were waiting on them as they came out to be greeted with bottles and glasses being thrown at them. We got taken to the game in coaches with no lights on and were let in a side gate where police were on the roofs of the toilets and burger vans with guns and dogs watching over us. A very scary place indeed!

It was just like like being at Ibrox when we beat them!

Giro Playboy
18-03-2016, 10:50 PM
A Hibs boy got his throat slashed by a Morrocan if I recall right

18-03-2016, 10:58 PM
I was in Brussels and never encountered much bother. Bit edgy in a boozer we were in post-game as a lot of the CCS were about but we left and got a carry out and taxi back to the hotel.

Journey there was the stuff of legend and how no one on our bus got lifted I'll never know!

18-03-2016, 11:00 PM
The square was a bit mental for a while with the Moroccan boys running about.

Nothing beats Athens though. Travelling independently we didn't get the protection on the way out and it was a bit hairy getting back to town.

Greenblood70
18-03-2016, 11:04 PM
Aye, Brussels wasn't for the faint hearted that's for sure, and that was just my hotel room!

Our bus windows got panned in on the way to the game by some local rascals, who were then chased off by the more excitable youth element on our bus. Were skirmishes going on pretty much the whole time between the North African immigrants, police and Hibs fans.

Mind coming back to the hotel one night which was in some square near some official EEC building and the scenes that greeted me reminded me of the riot episode in Only Fools and horses. Was chaotic.

Game was fantastic, the scenes on that overcrowded terrace when Jacko scored were something else.

Was practically delirious wi lack of sleep when I got back, what a trip it was.

18-03-2016, 11:12 PM
Was Anderlecht our biggest away support in European competition apart from Leeds and Liverpool ( both games in both cases ) ? Not sure how many we took to Malmo ( 2013 not 1970 ) , Athens , Dnipro , Liege , etc .

18-03-2016, 11:25 PM
Was Anderlecht our biggest away support in European competition apart from Leeds and Liverpool ( both games in both cases ) ? Not sure how many we took to Malmo ( 2013 not 1970 ) , Athens , Dnipro , Liege , etc .

It was a huge support. The terracing behind the goal was quite scary. A lot of the guys who had tickets for the upstairs seating area just went into the terrace. They weren't taking tickets, they just let everyone in.

18-03-2016, 11:30 PM
2500 fans in Brussels. We also had a seated area as well as the standing pens. Add 2 for the 2 randoms who jumped up in the home end and started singing "Jingle Bells" alternative version :rotflmao:

DickieDastardly
18-03-2016, 11:32 PM
We drove to and flew from Manchester on the Sunday, the airport was full of Utd supporters heading out for a euro tie. We had three great nights on the lash in Brussels but never saw any bother, though there were plenty rumours about it. Two abiding memories for me - sitting outside a street bar having a beer on the Monday and hearing this loud banging noise, round the corner come three ramshackle McKendry coaches which were absolutely rocking; the other was seeing a worse for wear Fish in a pub after the match wearing a green tartan suit....

19-03-2016, 02:08 AM
We drove to and flew from Manchester on the Sunday, the airport was full of Utd supporters heading out for a euro tie. We had three great nights on the lash in Brussels but never saw any bother, though there were plenty rumours about it. Two abiding memories for me - sitting outside a street bar having a beer on the Monday and hearing this loud banging noise, round the corner come three ramshackle McKendry coaches which were absolutely rocking; the other was seeing a worse for wear Fish in a pub after the match wearing a green tartan suit....

I was just about to mention Fish's suit....he got dogs abuse for it! I ended up sitting in front him at the game and being a big Marillion fan was quite star struck and had a jump about with him when Jackson scored.

My first football trip abroad and it was pretty mental. Saw a Hibs fan get stabbed in the leg by some Moroccan nutter who jumped out a car and also I remember a group of Hell's Angels types chasing some Moroccans who were looking a bit threatening outside a pub full of Hibs fans near Grand Place.

19-03-2016, 03:29 AM
I do remember a wee lassie going around asking folk to write stuff in a jotter so she could show her teacher, some of the filth that was in it was a disgrace!

Remember that too mate. As you say disgusting.

Never seen any bother in Dnipro when I was there except in the stadium within their own support.

Have a few Dnipro photos on my pc which I could upload :greengrin

19-03-2016, 08:34 AM
All i remember about Anderlecht was police with machine guns and dogs and bucket loads of stella , and a good performance by the team 

Sound like they were guarding the wrong people.

Johnny Clash
19-03-2016, 12:05 PM
Got overnight ferry from Dover and then spent entire day drinking in small pub over the road from the main railway station. Pub was draped in Hibs flags. No digs booked so we were happy when the barman said we could crash out back in boozer after the game. We then heard that a bunch of casuals had smashed some windows and abused locals so word spread through the community to attack all Hibees. After game cop comes in boozer with gun in hand and told us to leave. Then we were chased by local gangs swinging belts above their heads with large metal buckels. Ended up sleeping in rail station concourse. Brilliant atmosphere at game just a shame we were all targeted just coz of some bammers!

doddsy
19-03-2016, 12:12 PM
I was on the Gunner Pilton bus, meant to be a airconditioned modern bus with toilet, only to find a 22 seat minibus for around 30 folk, bus was way overpacked on the way there, 3 people in seats meant for two all the way to Dover. What a laugh though. Pissed the whole time. I remember though the bus home was half empty, plenty of seats God knows where the missing went to. There was plenty got lifted methinks. Brilliant time. Unforgettable.

19-03-2016, 12:28 PM
I think that Dnipro story has sprouted more legs than a centipede over the years. All I can remember is a handful of laddies coming into the area where the Hibs fans were gathered and making a bit of noise and that was it. I do remember a wee lassie going around asking folk to write stuff in a jotter so she could show her teacher, some of the filth that was in it was a disgrace!

Sorry but your last sentence...:faf: It's so wrong but hahahaha!

19-03-2016, 12:40 PM
We went on one of the buses laid on by the club. We left ER around midnight so most folk were already pished. Douglas Crombe came on board to wish us a safe journey and tell us to behave. First stop was Washington Services which was basically ransacked by Hibs fans resulting in the police turning us away from all other services the rest of the way to Dover. This meant we arrived a couple of hours early and ended up mixing with Rangers and Airdrie fans (basically the same thing) who were also playing away in Europe. Yes Airdrie were in Europe! The Rangers fans were all on a ferry berthed next to ours and a full scale bottle fight ensued between the boats. All very bizarre!

IrnBru22
19-03-2016, 01:13 PM
Aye. I remember the fruity beers. Lethal.

Magma? I once had a lock in with 3 police and the mayor of this small town in belgium, they made us play this drinking game and we were downing 9% orange magmas every 2 secs. 1 police guy gave me his number and said "call me tomorrow and i'll let you arrest someone" they even offered for us to sleep in the pub overnight (there was no hostels about) but we ended sleeping up the back of a cinema.... One of the most confused ive been when i woke up

wpj
19-03-2016, 01:17 PM
Magma? I once had a lock in with 3 police and the mayor of this small town in belgium. 1 police guy gave me his number and said "call me tomorrow and i'll let you arrest someone" they even offered for us to sleep in the pub overnight (there was no hostels about) but we ended sleeping up the back of a cinema.... One of the most confused ive been when i woke up

Sounds like the cops from Superbad! Probably the most drunk I have ever been at a Hibs match but what a couple of days it was!

KNBE
19-03-2016, 02:39 PM
Aye, Brussels wasn't for the faint hearted that's for sure, and that was just my hotel room!

Our bus windows got panned in on the way to the game by some local rascals, who were then chased off by the more excitable youth element on our bus. Were skirmishes going on pretty much the whole time between the North African immigrants, police and Hibs fans.

Mind coming back to the hotel one night which was in some square near some official EEC building and the scenes that greeted me reminded me of the riot episode in Only Fools and horses. Was chaotic.

Game was fantastic, the scenes on that overcrowded terrace when Jacko scored were something else.

Was practically delirious wi lack of sleep when I got back, what a trip it was.

I might have been on the same bus as you - although I definitely wasn't one of the excitable youths.

My other abiding memory was when we were leaving the hotel to go back to the ferry, the hotel manager came running out to get some guys off the bus who hadn't paid their minibar bills. As they were walking back down the bus, one turned to another and said "I telt you it wisnae a fridge full of free bevvy".

19-03-2016, 04:08 PM
Surprised nobody has mentioned it - but two of our number sadly passed away in tragic circumstances on that trip.

19-03-2016, 04:14 PM
Surprised nobody has mentioned it - but two of our number sadly passed away in tragic circumstances on that trip.

Yup I travelled with John. We all grew up together and were there when he fell. Bad memories