View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs vs Ross County Cup Final.

12-03-2016, 11:02 PM
The day has now arrived for the 1st Cup Final of the season between Hibs vs Ross County.

Where 30,000 Hibs fans will descend on Hampden from all over the world to cheer on the Hibs to hopefully a cup win for us, the place will be bouncing well before the games starts with just a few having a few pre drinks to calm the nerves, it's understandable, :greengrin it will be a tight game but i think we have the better team and if everything clicks for us on the pitch then the cup is coming back to the Capital.

Will trust Stubbs to put out the right team to win us this game, so won't ask who is doubt's or injured or if the diamond will be played, we go with who we have and that should be enough and with 30,000 fans cheering on the players it can only lift them to get them motivated to do us proud and at the end of the game lift the cup for us.

Weather, looks okay for tomorrow, but if it snows during the game then I won't be complaining :thumbsup:

Enjoy the game and give the team your all.

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

C'mon the Hibs.

13-03-2016, 03:12 AM
Well done Silver for starting the match day thread. You have a great success rate so That's one of my superstitions looked after. 👍

13-03-2016, 03:17 AM
We've got mcginn

13-03-2016, 03:54 AM
Nice opening thread Silver - a thing of beauty . I think I'll nominate you as Hibs.net poet Laureate .

It's now time to get up and go through the pre-match ritual of looking out and scraping down my crusty old Cup Final crackers !! 😎

Have a great day everyone . 💚

13-03-2016, 08:27 AM
9.30am Edinburgh Waverley to Glasgow Queen Street train is heaving with Hibbies!

C'MON HIBS!

13-03-2016, 12:02 PM
:gwa: :flag: :flag:

13-03-2016, 12:09 PM
:gwa: :flag: :flag:

Would now be a good time to say that I'm c***nted in a top class Rutherglen bowling club

13-03-2016, 12:12 PM
In hampdens Nevis suite, bring it on!!!!!

delthehibee
13-03-2016, 12:13 PM
90 of uf us in cambuslang orange clud never thought I would say that Mon Hibees

Schteff
13-03-2016, 12:26 PM
M74 tailing back already

13-03-2016, 12:28 PM
M74 tailing back already

It was getting quite heavy about an hour ago.

Has taken ages to find a parking space!!

Cmon Hibs lets do this!!

13-03-2016, 12:29 PM
Team bus just past me on the Polmadie Road.

Twiglet
13-03-2016, 12:40 PM
Twitter has snap chat of team arriving,Inc Danny Handling.

steviehibsleith
13-03-2016, 12:50 PM
In the Beachwood Near Hampden bit apprehensive here any team news

13-03-2016, 12:50 PM
Team bus just past me on the Polmadie Road.

Cracking bus eh! (unlike the Hearts mini bus)

13-03-2016, 01:00 PM
#HFCvRCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvRCFC?src=hash): Oxley, Gray, McGregor, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, Thomson, McGinn, Henderson, Cummings, Stokes

#HFCvRCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvRCFC?src=hash): Subs - Virtanen, Gunnarsson, Handling, Boyle, Keatings, Dagnall, El Alagui. #HampdenWithHibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HampdenWithHibs?src=hash)

Much as expected starting 11, good enough to win this.

13-03-2016, 01:07 PM
Wouldve went 352. No proper midfielders on the bench is a bit worrying

13-03-2016, 01:08 PM
That is the team to win it for us today. Might be an optical illusion but the pitch looks smaller than before. To me at least.

13-03-2016, 01:09 PM
#HFCvRCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvRCFC?src=hash): Oxley, Gray, McGregor, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, Thomson, McGinn, Henderson, Cummings, Stokes

#HFCvRCFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvRCFC?src=hash): Subs - Virtanen, Gunnarsson, Handling, Boyle, Keatings, Dagnall, El Alagui. #HampdenWithHibs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HampdenWithHibs?src=hash)

Much as expected starting 11, good enough to win this.

Handling on the bench? Has he played any U20s games? Is Carmichael injured again?
Not sure about Thommo & Bartley together or if Thommo has "the legs" to cover a big pitch. We'll find out soon enough... C'mon the Hibees!

13-03-2016, 01:10 PM
Handling on the bench? Has he played any U20s games? Is Carmichael injured again?
Not sure about Thommo & Bartley together or if Thommo has "the legs" to cover a big pitch. We'll find out soon enough... C'mon the Hibees!

Pitch is hardly any bigger than ER

13-03-2016, 01:16 PM
Bartley and Thomson doesn't suggest a diamond?

13-03-2016, 01:18 PM
Surprised with Handling on the bench and Thommo and Bartley both starting.

Happy for Handling to score the winner though.

13-03-2016, 01:20 PM
Sitting in D4 I didn't realise how little a section Ross County actually had for the match. Some of main stand and about a quarter of behind the goals at West stand

Cmon Hibbies

13-03-2016, 01:20 PM
Wouldve went 352. No proper midfielders on the bench is a bit worrying

Amazed to see Danny on the bench. Both McGinn and Hendo can play in a central position so midfield has options.

Stubbs has shown faith in Cummings and Stokes upfront. Cmon boys, show us your quality!

13-03-2016, 01:21 PM
That is the team to win it for us today. Might be an optical illusion but the pitch looks smaller than before. To me at least.

That's because no matter where you sit in Hampden it's too low down, so the pitch is foreshortened. I'd have moved the game to the Westfalenstadion or the Mestalla.

13-03-2016, 01:30 PM
That's because no matter where you sit in Hampden it's too low down, so the pitch is foreshortened. I'd have moved the game to the Westfalenstadion or the Mestalla.

I don't know how Cliff Pike would sound in German.

13-03-2016, 01:32 PM
I don't know how Cliff Pike would sound in German.
He may as well be speaking German when Hibs score.......:greengrin

euro Hibby
13-03-2016, 01:33 PM
gutted not to be there , but let the wife and daughter have a trip to London , while I will watch from home in Italy. Big day nonetheless , big win on it's way !

13-03-2016, 01:45 PM
At the ground now. Build up has began.

13-03-2016, 01:47 PM
The boy has managed to get me the game on the telly. Don't know how, I'm too stupid to understand all that stuff but it beats the hell out of Hibs TV on the computer screen :thumbsup:

HiBremian
13-03-2016, 01:48 PM
The boy has managed to get me the game on the telly. Don't know how, I'm too stupid to understand all that stuff but it beats the hell out of Hibs TV on the computer screen :thumbsup:

Well I've got Hibs TV on the telly :-)

Islington Hibs
13-03-2016, 01:51 PM
Disaster a F@@@ing wedding in Engalnd and missing the game. Can't get BBC 2 Scotland down here- any way of getting a stream (no access to Sky) or periscope at game?

I subscribe tyo Hibs TV so at least can get commenrty which shopuld drown out wedding!

jst1875
13-03-2016, 01:55 PM
Disaster a F@@@ing wedding in Engalnd and missing the game. Can't get BBC 2 Scotland down here- any way of getting a stream (no access to Sky) or periscope at game?

I subscribe tyo Hibs TV so at least can get commenrty which shopuld drown out wedding!

BBC iPlayer, change location to Scotland, working for me here in lanzarote

Islington Hibs
13-03-2016, 01:57 PM
BBC iPlayer, change location to Scotland, working for me here in lanzarote

thanks will try it

13-03-2016, 02:02 PM
thanks will try it

I'm watching on iPlayer from London. Go to settings and change location.

13-03-2016, 02:02 PM
Alan Stubbs dressed like the groom! Very dapper.

JennaFletcher
13-03-2016, 02:15 PM
Fantastic shot from JC, good save by keeper

13-03-2016, 02:16 PM
Fontaine misses two great chances in two minutes.

PhoenixHibee
13-03-2016, 02:26 PM
How do I change iPlayer? I'm in USA. Any help appreciated.

13-03-2016, 02:28 PM
Kevin Thomson

13-03-2016, 02:28 PM
****'s sake Hibs.

13-03-2016, 02:29 PM
Suspected offside there, doesn't excuse poor ball from Thomo

13-03-2016, 02:29 PM
County showing up with nothing so we have to give them a hand. FFS.

geohibby
13-03-2016, 02:30 PM
****'s sake Hibs.

shocking!!!!!

McIntosh
Very poor defensively

Poor stuff there. Typical that one bad play gives them a goal.

County were sat back waiting to counter.

C'mon Hibs, get intae them.

Edson Arantes
13-03-2016, 02:32 PM
FFS Hibs.

They wernae even in the game.

What a gift that was

Np words to describe that. Time to redeem themselves so hoe they do it.

13-03-2016, 02:33 PM
Suspected offside there, doesn't excuse poor ball from Thomo

Never offside, just sloppy.

13-03-2016, 02:34 PM
Can't see us coming back. .looks like one of those days where nothing goes

Jim McIntyre: "We're gonna attack Hibs" Like **** you are. Another hammer throwing unit just like Falkirk.

Auckland Hibs
Comical defending.

Only we could turn a positive attacking situation into a calamity goal FFS.

Trip to spain done good so far ffs

How many chances do we need????

McIntosh
13-03-2016, 02:35 PM
We are going to have to take our chances

McIntosh
13-03-2016, 02:38 PM
Stokes is looking poor

13-03-2016, 02:40 PM
Some cracking football from Hibs. We need goals though.

We should introduce the front 2 to each other, I'm not sure they know they're on the same team.

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk

McIntosh
What do we need to do take a chance

13-03-2016, 02:41 PM
I'm sure every team that has scored first in this competition has gone on to win it

13-03-2016, 02:42 PM
Hibees fighting in the West Stand. Ridiculous!

13-03-2016, 02:43 PM
I'm sure every team that has scored first in this competition has gone on to win it

Aye, remember when Hearts won it in 2013? :greengrin

geohibby
13-03-2016, 02:44 PM
get stokes off and alagui on

13-03-2016, 02:45 PM
We should be 4 up.

McIntosh
13-03-2016, 02:45 PM
We were lucky

13-03-2016, 02:48 PM
****ing yeeeeeeeres!

JennaFletcher
13-03-2016, 02:48 PM
Yesssss what a strike!!!

13-03-2016, 02:49 PM
Yaaaaasssssss ....my being a negative prick has spurred us on

13-03-2016, 02:49 PM
ya beauty!

Fontaine from a corner! Finally taken a chance!

13-03-2016, 02:50 PM
Aye, remember when Hearts won it in 2013? :greengrin

Lol forgot about them

Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:flag::flag::flag::flag:

Yaaaaasssssss ....my being a negative prick has spurred us on

13-03-2016, 02:51 PM
Literally said to my Dad before the corner was taken that Liam Fontaine would finally score from a corner. You can all thank me for that one.

13-03-2016, 02:51 PM
Where in the hell did big Liam get that ability? :greengrin

PiemanP
13-03-2016, 02:52 PM
Justice done. We should not be going in at HT losing.

Ps the shoulder tappers are out in force telling people to sit down. Erses.

13-03-2016, 02:53 PM
Amazing stuff. We were looking dominant for almost all of it. They looked harmless until one mistake let them in with a very against the run of play goal. Brilliant to equalize right before the whistle.

If luck evens out we win by 3 or 4.

Team talk - "go for the throat"

13-03-2016, 02:54 PM
Ross County trying to mark McGinn out of the game but they just can't handle him. The team need to help him out.

HiBremian
13-03-2016, 02:54 PM
Least we deserve. Created far more chances that half.

13-03-2016, 02:56 PM
Amazing stuff. We were looking dominant for almost all of it. They looked harmless until one mistake let them in with a very against the run of play goal. Brilliant to equalize right before the whistle.

If luck evens out we win by 3 or 4.

Team talk - "go for the throat"

RC had a huge slice of fortune and couldn't go in ahead of us.

We had a penalty shout too. Cmon Hibs, get at em.

Callum7
13-03-2016, 02:56 PM
Literally said to my Dad before the corner was taken that Liam Fontaine would finally score from a corner. You can all thank me for that one.

Who's going to score next?

Man Down Under
13-03-2016, 02:58 PM
Watching the chopiest video stream ever. Half time and Im still thinking it's 1-0! 5am in NZ so probably doing my house mates a favour.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

norhfc
13-03-2016, 02:59 PM
So deserved that equalizer, we are the better team tho look a bit nervous at the back. Keep the consentration up and we can go on and win this.....feeling confident :flag:

Deek9
Thanks for all the updates folks, keep them coming, relying on them here.

geohibby

cummings

We need to get the next goal ...if county get it they will park the bus

13-03-2016, 03:00 PM
Loved how the Proclaimers were played when Hibs equalised. Nice one!

13-03-2016, 03:00 PM
My wife if we win......

13-03-2016, 03:02 PM
We've got no one playing in front of Gray in midfield and Thomson is a passenger. Get Boyle on and switch McGinn for second half.
County have done nothing...

ionahibby
Blood pressure is sky high that's for sure!

Absolutely deserved that goal, and couldn't have come at a better time. Let's crack on now

Islington Hibs
13-03-2016, 03:04 PM
Well deserved equaliser. We are looking the better team and making more chances but are a bit vulnerable at the back- if we tighten up we will win :flag:

13-03-2016, 03:06 PM
County look like they're still sitting back waiting to counter.

13-03-2016, 03:07 PM
Side net, ****, thought that was in.

13-03-2016, 03:11 PM
Cummings whacks one between the posts. Goal post and flag post.

13-03-2016, 03:12 PM
Bartley is a fantastic player

13-03-2016, 03:12 PM
**** that was close

13-03-2016, 03:13 PM
Bartley is a fantastic player

geohibby
13-03-2016, 03:13 PM

he has been fantastic today

13-03-2016, 03:14 PM
he has been fantastic today

13-03-2016, 03:17 PM
County looking rattled

13-03-2016, 03:19 PM
RC retreating back onto their own 18 yd line time and time again.

A bit of quality from our strikers would get us in front here. Neither has been great IMO.

13-03-2016, 03:20 PM
Boyce off for RC. Katie getting a talking to from the ref.

13-03-2016, 03:23 PM
Bartley YC for throwing an arm in a boy's face. Naughty.

13-03-2016, 03:23 PM
Bartley booked cause a County player fell over.

Auckland Hibs
13-03-2016, 03:24 PM
We need to make a change - nothing up front

Dan Sarf
13-03-2016, 03:24 PM
Leeann after Bartley was booked for blatant elbowing: "absolute rubbish referee

13-03-2016, 03:25 PM
Hope Hibs can win this without extra time. We're giving 110% just now and that can't last.

GlasgowHibee
13-03-2016, 03:26 PM
Can barely watch!! from where I'm sitting Bartley looked to have elbowed the boy, not sure though, will be good to see again later.

Hibees!!'

Throw ins are as poor as ever like. McGinn very quiet.

We'll still get the win.

Final touch failing us again in the last quarter

13-03-2016, 03:27 PM
Cummings just doesn't know when to pass it and when to hit it.

Auckland Hibs
13-03-2016, 03:28 PM
Can barely watch!! from where I'm sitting Bartley looked to have elbowed the boy, not sure though, will be good to see again later.

Hibees!!'

Clear elbow/arm across the face - seen a red given for similar

Sounds like Stubbs should think of a change!!! Freshen things up? Boyle to inject a bit of pace and try and help others conserve some energy.

Come on Hibs...you can do this !!!

How was that not a foul?????

13-03-2016, 03:29 PM
Cummings having an uncharacteristically poor game.

13-03-2016, 03:30 PM
Shocking by the linesman.

Auckland Hibs
13-03-2016, 03:31 PM
Cummings having an uncharacteristically poor game.

Him & Stokes have been poor - needs a change ASAP

Bartley should have had a free kick in RC's left back area there.

The right sub could win it for us here. Boyle for Katie? Sub one of front 2?

Playing some great combination stuff but it goes to pot near their penalty area.

GlasgowHibee
13-03-2016, 03:32 PM
Think this could go all the way to pens.

13-03-2016, 03:33 PM
Think this could go all the way to pens.

Dog I hope not

13-03-2016, 03:34 PM
Would get KT off now. Race is run.

13-03-2016, 03:35 PM
Looks like it's keatings for Katie.

13-03-2016, 03:35 PM
Thomo off

13-03-2016, 03:36 PM
All Hibs.

Pretty poor that the Premiership team have set up to play on the counter in a cup final against lower league opposition.

13-03-2016, 03:38 PM
All Hibs.

Pretty poor that the Premiership team have set up to play on the counter in a cup final against lower league opposition.

13-03-2016, 03:39 PM
Dangerous area for a free kick

13-03-2016, 03:40 PM
Foul on oxley. County goal scrubbed

Corner Hibs. C'mon hibs

9 mins

13-03-2016, 03:41 PM
Another free kick to RC. Dangerous area.

Decent save, back into the box, Graham fouls Oxley and goal ruled out.

13-03-2016, 03:44 PM
FFS Stokes. You gonna show us what you are made of this afternoon?

13-03-2016, 03:44 PM
Gonna have to watch this fouling, yellow for Mcginn. Hibs tiring?

13-03-2016, 03:45 PM
The final pass is just no gonna happen today.

13-03-2016, 03:47 PM
The ref is beginning to fail badly at his job

13-03-2016, 03:47 PM
Gonna have to watch this fouling, yellow for Mcginn. Hibs tiring?

They look knackered as well and we still have 2 subs.

13-03-2016, 03:49 PM
Penalty denied

****ing scandal

WTF is McGreggor thinking?

Cover the ****ing ball you ****ing idiot.

13-03-2016, 03:50 PM
Right on the death,if you don't take your chances then that's ****ing guaranteed.

13-03-2016, 03:50 PM
Oh f***.

Hibs can't on the break in the final minute.

13-03-2016, 03:51 PM
Fontaine from hero to zero.

Just ****....stokes is just hopeless

Smash n Grab

13-03-2016, 03:52 PM

No allowed to say that on here.

This is what we do.

Auckland Hibs

Should have been hooked at HT - him and Cummings have been dreadful

13-03-2016, 03:53 PM
Hopeless defending has cost us all season and does so again. Stubbs failure to break down a team shown up again.

Piss ****ing poor.

Auckland Hibs
Jackson Irvine MOM - best player on the park by a country mile

Sickest luck. Two goals from blunders. How do they deserve to win like this.

ionahibby
13-03-2016, 03:54 PM
I'm sorry but you can't lose to Ross county and keep your job sorry Stubbs has to go!

Story of our season...

Hibs 1 Luck and Referee 2

13-03-2016, 03:55 PM
Or seasons under Stubbs would be more accurate.

Toothless as always.

Stokes has been utterly useless. Christ knows what the point of bringing Boyle on in injury time was either.

I'm sorry but you can't lose to Ross county and keep your job sorry Stubbs has to go!

Steady. Ross County are a league above us remember and Stubbs has beaten better Premiership teams this season than Ross ...

13-03-2016, 03:56 PM
Bollocks

Islington Hibs

You cannot be serious. Gutted but we didn't deserve that. Well done Hibs to get to the final- no disgrace at all

Dan Sarf
Beaten by a man in a bra.

Hibs 1 Luck and Referee 2

Its not luck, its horrific defending. Stubbs has a serious question mark over him now. Pish.

13-03-2016, 03:57 PM
You sir are an eejit.

What was McGregor thinking? He's got to go out and cover that. ****ing Fontaine though. **** me.

Scandalous we've lost that game. Just like plenty other games we've thrown away this season.

Disgrace of a performance by Ross County but we got what we deserved with our inability to take chances.....again.

13-03-2016, 03:58 PM
Not applauding that performance, ****ing joke hibs, same kick in the teeth nothing ****ing changes

13-03-2016, 03:58 PM
Treble is off

13-03-2016, 03:59 PM
Seriously. Pissed off any wee team who hasnt won a cup must want us i final We didn't try and win it and we gave it away
Season now hangs in the balance re promotipn

Hopeless defending has cost us all season and does so again. Stubbs failure to break down a team shown up again.

Piss ****ing poor.

Yep and I fear will cost us for the rest of the season.

We can't score goals!!!!!!

Islington Hibs
Its not luck, its horrific defending. Stubbs has a serious question mark over him now. Pish.

Bad loser. We were the better side- sure a couple of mistakes but we have done very very well to beat so SPL many teams to get there and we player pretty well today. No disgrace at all.

13-03-2016, 04:00 PM
So unlucky Hibs. Best team lost. Yet another bunch of cloggers from the so called SPFL get lucky.

Heads up!

Typically hibs. We WILL lose the caley game, we WILL ***** the play offs, cause we are hibs, and we don't do success. Before anyone comes along to question my allegiance, this is bourne of experience - we fail, A LOT, it's what we do and nothing is ever going to change.

Latapy1911
Didn't deserve to lose, We were the better team. Gray, McGregor and McGinn were top class, the rest of the team played well except Stokes who I thought looked very slow and should of been subbed around the 60th minute mark

so it's stokes and stubbs fault in my book!

13-03-2016, 04:01 PM
Very harsh on Fontaine. People will point the finger but he got us back into the game and the strikers didn't do their job.

Things won't change until we get a ref appointed from another country.

GlasgowHibee
Really devastated after that, really devastated.

Didn't deserve to lose, We were the better team. Gray, McGregor and McGinn were top class, the rest of the team played well except Stokes who I thought looked very slow and should of been subbed around the 60th minute mark

McGinn was as poor as he's been for hibs today

Stuck in that boy wi the pony tails pocket

13-03-2016, 04:02 PM
Will never make excuses but that Ref was diabolical.

Not surprised tbh. Too much was spoken about our chances before. Trip to spain before stubbs tactices so many questions. Just keep bottling it when it matters

gerry
Gutted again the game needed width and pace and as for our number 1

13-03-2016, 04:03 PM
Gutted again the game needed width and pace and as for our number 1

How was oxley at fault like?

13-03-2016, 04:04 PM
We had not one bit of fortune in that game. Where was our lucky goal? They had 2. This was a sick result and one which should not be held against the team. We created chances against a team that sat back for the counter attack.

The ref made sure our play was blunted by favoring his calls towards RC.

Another sick outcome which causes me to wonder why refs are so biased against Hibs.

ArmadaleHibs
Today might in some fans eyes not be a disgrace. In some ways I agree. But here we are again, in a big game, and we've effing bottled it again. It's just so Hibs to do this. Again another 30k plus fans turn up and the boys can't produce the goods against a team, for me, certainly on paper, who we should be rolling over. We had enough of the ball today to win this game twice yet here we are again talking about another kick in the sack.

See for all the folks that are calling for bad tactics, Oxley this, McGinn that.... We were a decent ref away from a comfortable victory today. GGTTH

McGreggor cost us the 2nd goal by not closing down the ball in a dangerous area. Shambolic stuff from him.

Not surprised tbh. Too much was spoken about our chances before. Trip to spain before stubbs tactices so many questions. Just keep bottling it when it matters

Bottled it....not!

Man Down Under
Anyone want to put some money together for a plane?

Seriously though, it wasn't a disaster. We deserved to win but we robbed in the 89th minute. I just hope we can start scoring again on Wednesday.

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

Sadly, Stokes for Malonga has been a disaster. We need to stop our season unravelling from here.

gerry
13-03-2016, 04:05 PM

Does he fill you with confidence if not think about the players in front of him

13-03-2016, 04:06 PM
McGreggor cost us the 2nd goal by not closing down the ball in a dangerous area. Shambolic stuff from him.

The whole defence was shambolic....AGAIN!

13-03-2016, 04:07 PM

A disappointing result never fails to get them scuttling out.

norhfc
We had our chances, poor decisions by our front men, cost us the cup, need to regroup quickly. Feel for the fans who turned up in huge numbers.

ionahibby
Took too long to make a change. Stokes isn't getting back into the Celtic squad any time soon.

hfcok
Since Stokes has arrived we are less dangerous up front, why let Malonga go, he was the glue up front.,then brought others into play.

Dan Sarf
Anyone know how to repair a TV that's had a foot through it?

jakeshibs
I don't know what to say as once again I am totally gutted, our fans are the greatest and feel we deserve more, hard one... we gifted them their only chances

heidtheba
13-03-2016, 04:08 PM
We had not one bit of fortune in that game. Where was our lucky goal? They had 2. This was a sick result and one which should not be held against the team. We created chances against a team that sat back for the counter attack.

The ref made sure our play was blunted by favoring his calls towards RC.

Another sick outcome which causes me to wonder why refs are so biased against Hibs.

This. I don't think Stubbs was at fault, although Stokes was looking like he was either going to do not very much or have a moment of genuis. Its this counter attack, do sod all positive football that we're up against all the time. We basically camped out in their half. We had chances. We didn't take them - that isn't the manager's fault. No wonder Scottish football is dying, crap managers playing negative football and getting rewarded for it does not an afternoons entertainment make (to the casual observer anyway).
Gutted but not surprised. I STILL think the team played well (bar that first half mistake that gave them the goal). I thought Henderson was superb. I thought we played football far better and we deserved to get that. Crap result but not one that warrants a witch hunt I don't think.

hibeesjoe
13-03-2016, 04:09 PM
If we get beat on Wednesday then pressure is truly on Stubbs. Maybe I'm just hurting but if we don't go up this season I would let him go.

AngusHibby
Boys played there hearts out and got let down by a couple bad bits of luck. Still a great effort. Folk pointing the finger at certain players already can gtf

Let's just beat the **** out of Inverness on Wednesday.

13-03-2016, 04:10 PM
If we get beat on Wednesday then pressure is truly on Stubbs. Maybe I'm just hurting but if we don't go up this season I would let him go.

We can't afford to sack him.

13-03-2016, 04:11 PM
I was kinda glad there was no extra time. I was bored rigid at the game and just wanted out of there. Shocking spectacle to be honest.

Slope
Stubbs should have made it clear at the start of the season that promotion was the only thing that mattered this season. We may still get that but this final and the other cup has proved to be an expensive and so far disappointing distraction to our league efforts. No-one would have complained if we had weakened our cup selections and got knocked out of both, whilst keeping pace with the huns in the league. A miserable journey back home is about to commence! Not happy!

Nothing wrong with Oxley today.

He's nae Peter Schmeichel naw, but he wasn't at all at fault today.

Thegreenside
Why on earth was their number 7 not put into the stand for the 3 runs he made from the half way line

gerry
A disappointing result never fails to get them scuttling out.

Never really post on this mate I'm not scuttling anywhere Been and done this with hibs and no doubt do it again but if you have a goalie that makes defenders and fans nervous not a great place to start your spine of your team

hibeesjoe
We can't afford to sack him.

Can we really afford another couple of seasons in the championship though

13-03-2016, 04:12 PM
Gutted to have lost that game, but that needs to give us the motivation to go and and achieve promotion now. That was our aim at the start of the season and that shouldn't change now. The cups have just been a bonus, however if we win on Wednesday, even better.

13-03-2016, 04:12 PM

He's a liability

13-03-2016, 04:13 PM
Never really post on this mate I'm not scuttling anywhere Been and done this with hibs and no doubt do it again but if you have a goalie that makes defenders and fans nervous not a great place to start your spine of your team

You're at it. Ltyf

The whole defence was shambolic....AGAIN!

Disagree.

RC were pretty tasty on the counter, we made a couple of mistakes and got punished twice.

The reason we lost is our strikers didn't do the business.

I think Stubbs is over rated. Would not be bothered if he left at the end of the season.

Castle Hibs
Typical Hibs, Soft, Soft, Soft. Ref was terrible but we had enough of the ball to win the game so can't blame anyone apart from Hibs for another embarrassment! Soft club & soft team once again!

He's a liability

Not today he wasn't. Far from it.

He's a liability

Today?

Matty_Jack04
[B]

This. I don't think Stubbs was at fault, although Stokes was looking like he was either going to do not very much or have a moment of genuis. Its this counter attack, do sod all positive football that we're up against all the time. We basically camped out in their half. We had chances. We didn't take them - that isn't the manager's fault. No wonder Scottish football is dying, crap managers playing negative football and getting rewarded for it does not an afternoons entertainment make (to the casual observer anyway).
Gutted but not surprised. I STILL think the team played well (bar that first half mistake that gave them the goal). I thought Henderson was superb. I thought we played football far better and we deserved to get that. Crap result but not one that warrants a witch hunt I don't think.

I'm not so sure I think he needs to learn to Use his subs better keatings for thommo...that change happens most weeks (obvs not always
Thommo) it never ever pays off, stokes and Cummings where pretty poor today Boyle,keatings,farid could have all gave us another option another way to try and open them up

geordielad
13-03-2016, 04:14 PM
Things won't change until we get a ref appointed from another country.

R u serious? The ref cost us wtf!

Turkish Green
13-03-2016, 04:15 PM
Since Stokes has arrived we are less dangerous up front, why let Malonga go, he was the glue up front.,then brought others into play.

Stokes instigated their first goal but how we did not put that game to bed earlier is a mystery to me. stubbs will have his hands full trying to pick them up for Inverness.

Auckland Hibs
Let's just beat the **** out of Inverness on Wednesday.

If we have any chance of winning at ICT then Stubbs needs to change the front two - they were both utter pish today.

Bartley was decent for us, the RC player (MOM) Jackson Irvine had McGinn in his back pocket for most of the game.

Bad loser. We were the better side- sure a couple of mistakes but we have done very very well to beat so SPL many teams to get there and we player pretty well today. No disgrace at all.

Too right I am. It is a disgrace. We we favourites and rightly so yet we gift 2 goals in a cup final? GTF

13-03-2016, 04:16 PM
[B]

The only thing I disagree with is that we should be working out better ways to score with all our territory. Stokes and Cummings just don't seem to click. I would have liked to see El Alagui on in the second half. Bigger fish to fry for us, and to some extent we can take out some frustration on these pesky Highlanders when we go to ICT.

Onwards and hopefully UPwards…

13-03-2016, 04:16 PM
Typical Hibs, Soft, Soft, Soft. Ref was terrible but we had enough of the ball to win the game so can't blame anyone apart from Hibs for another embarrassment! Soft club & soft team once again!

Rubbish.

We went toe to toe with RC, dominated possession first half, clear period of superiority second half, just didn't score.

13-03-2016, 04:17 PM
It was a more even 2nd half and we did look vulnerable to counter most of the 2nd half. Our strikers were poor as well. Typical bad luck both their goals landed perfectly in their path from a Hibs player. Gutted

13-03-2016, 04:18 PM
Rubbish.

We went toe to toe with RC, dominated possession first half, clear period of superiority second half, just didn't score.

So basically our whole season in 1 game?

Maybe it's time we stopped calling it bad luck and actually accepted we have pretty major failings as a team.

TheHarpy76
13-03-2016, 04:18 PM
You could almost smell the lack of confidence from Cummings. A disgrace that he lasted the 90.

13-03-2016, 04:21 PM
Never mind Inverness. Put the reserves out. Get that team firing again - not in flipping Malaga either! Promotion is the thing now.

I thought Cummings did well first half, held the ball well and moved around a lot trying to make something happen. I thought that we would have been better playing with 2 wingers and 2 full backs in the second half. The county pace coming forward was too much, especially when you have so much space out wide

Castle Hibs
Rubbish.

T

Just didn't score because we are just not ruthless enough. They as others have done this season scored with the chances that came their way. We still have a soft streak within the club like it or not!

We should not have lost that match today and other teams that had that much possession in dangerous areas would have scored the goals to win the match.

13-03-2016, 04:22 PM
You could almost smell the lack of confidence from Cummings. A disgrace that he lasted the 90.

I was just thinking neither striker could complain about being hooked in ET as hed given them plenty time to do something. :(

Kaiser_Sauzee
13-03-2016, 04:22 PM
We lost today because our players made too many wrong decisions in and around the box and because we played too many long balls out of midfield.

GlasgowHibee
13-03-2016, 04:24 PM
Pretty disappointed in McGinn today, think we may be expecting too much from such a young lad. Jackson Irvine had him in his back pocket all game.

SneakersO'Toole
13-03-2016, 04:25 PM
All those blaming bad luck for our defeat. When are Hibs gonna get some - 2 wins in our last 10 finals.

It's not bad luck - we are inherent losers.

13-03-2016, 04:26 PM
Carbon copy of the Falkirk semi.

Trying to walk it in.

Bringing Boyle on after going behind has me seriously questioning Stubbs' tactics.

13-03-2016, 04:27 PM
So basically our whole season in 1 game?

Maybe it's time we stopped calling it bad luck and actually accepted we have pretty major failings as a team.

We've obviously got failings. I'm not shy to say what they are.

But to say we are 'soft' is lazy and inaccurate IMO.

RC players run ragged today, they knew they had been a game. But we failed to score... that's not being soft, that's a strike force that has fallen to pieces since the end of January.

patch1875
13-03-2016, 04:28 PM
None of the other strikers seem to be able/want to play with Stokes, cumming had a poor game but I would go with him and Keatings midweek.

13-03-2016, 04:29 PM
Carbon copy of the Falkirk semi.

Trying to walk it in.

Bringing Boyle on after going behind has me seriously questioning Stubbs' tactics.
Probably going to make a couple of subs in ET. I would rather the ball fell to Boyle in the last couple of minutes than Bartley

13-03-2016, 04:30 PM
All those blaming bad luck for our defeat. When are Hibs gonna get some - 2 wins in our last 10 finals.

It's not bad luck - we are inherent losers.
**** off and support someone else then.

13-03-2016, 04:33 PM
Really feel for those that have travelled many hundreds or even thousands of miles, to be let down again.

Typically hibs. We WILL lose the caley game, we WILL ***** the play offs, cause we are hibs, and we don't do success. Before anyone comes along to question my allegiance, this is bourne of experience - we fail, A LOT, it's what we do and nothing is ever going to change.

Away and have a word ya tube. Get a grip.

Probably going to make a couple of subs in ET. I would rather the ball fell to Boyle in the last couple of minutes than Bartley

With the amount of long balls we played I was shocked it wasn't Farid coming on instead of Boyle.

13-03-2016, 04:34 PM

So better team by miles but playing for extra time....

He's got it wrong IMO

13-03-2016, 04:39 PM
With the amount of long balls we played I was shocked it wasn't Farid coming on instead of Boyle.

Said that after 60 minutes. We played a lot of high balls that none of the forwards were winning yet didn't bring on the one guy we have who can deal with that kind of ball.

13-03-2016, 04:40 PM
Lots of possession but Stokes and Cummings were poor. Lack of pace has been a problem for seasons now. Bartley and Henderson decent but our problem of being great until 18 yards out reared its head again.

Fabulous support as always.

13-03-2016, 04:43 PM
Lots of possession but Stokes and Cummings were poor. Lack of pace has been a problem for seasons now. Bartley and Henderson decent but our problem of being great until 18 yards out reared its head again.

Fabulous support as always.

Aye, Bartley and Henderson were the only two who played good enough today.

thebausburst
13-03-2016, 04:43 PM
So used to losing cup finals almost numb to it now.
Can't see us getting anything at ICT so it
Will realistically be all about the play offs
And whether we can mentally handle yet
Another big occasion.

13-03-2016, 04:46 PM
Our throw ins are embarrassing. Unless it's to Cummings, to drop the shoulder and turn inside, we give it back to the opposition far too often.

13-03-2016, 04:52 PM
Pretty disappointed in McGinn today, think we may be expecting too much from such a young lad. Jackson Irvine had him in his back pocket all game.

2nd half maybe. 1st half McGinn was the best player on the park.

13-03-2016, 04:53 PM
2nd half maybe. 1st half McGinn was the best player on the park.

No danger he was.