View Full Version : Match Updates Dundee Vs The Heart of Midlothian

11-03-2016, 08:43 PM
Have these two clubs ever met before?

There must be some history, but I'm buggered if I can recall.

11-03-2016, 08:55 PM
Dundee have a young team but against Hearts you won't win anything with Kidds.

11-03-2016, 08:56 PM
Ffs. Do you have to bring up their 1986 title coronation?

11-03-2016, 09:04 PM
I'm sure they played a week before Hearts famous 1986 cup win against Aberdeen. The Famous had a real glorious 42 year period, an endless procession of trophies and titles.

11-03-2016, 09:10 PM
it was dundee hertz played in their league and cup double winning season in 1986

wait a minute...

11-03-2016, 09:15 PM
That's the very fixture where Craig Levein and Gary McKay won their first medals. First of many I believe. I was only two years old at the time but I think I recall them winning their second medals a week later in the Scottish cup. Must have been a great time to be a Jambo.

11-03-2016, 09:15 PM
Ffs. Do you have to bring up their 1986 title coronation?

I know. I'm still trying to block that day out...

😀

11-03-2016, 09:17 PM
I can only imagine this thread is trying to deflect from Hearts great record in the League Cup. Hopefully we can start to redress the balance on Sunday.

11-03-2016, 09:19 PM
I can only imagine this thread is trying to deflect from Hearts great record in the League Cup. Hopefully we can start to redress the balance on Sunday.

Since sixty-two,
They've no won the wee cup
Since sixty-two :singing:

11-03-2016, 09:20 PM
That's the very fixture where Craig Levein and Gary McKay won their first medals. First of many I believe. I was only two years old at the time but I think I recall them winning their second medals a week later in the Scottish cup. Must have been a great time to be a Jambo.

turns out craigy boy jambottled that game

11-03-2016, 09:24 PM
A very successful club, something we should never mock especially given our record.

HOMOFC have managed to win 3 cups in the last 60 years. One against Rangers (now defunct), one against Gretna (now defunct) and another through blatant cheating and financial doping (leading to insolvency event months later). And that's just the Scottish cup...don't get me started on the endless list of league cup successes.....

11-03-2016, 10:01 PM
I actually prefer to remember the 64/65 season where a couple of months before the end of the season Dundee turned up at PBS & won 7, yes 7-1!! Yams then lost the league on goal average by the lowest margin ever. Just imagine, Yams only need to lose at home 6-1 to win the league & they can't do it, that's some achievement!

11-03-2016, 10:04 PM
A very successful club, something we should never mock especially given our record.

HOMOFC have managed to win 3 cups in the last 60 years. One against Rangers (now defunct), one against Gretna (now defunct) and another through blatant cheating and financial doping (leading to insolvency event months later). And that's just the Scottish cup...don't get me started on the endless list of league cup successes.....

They killed us as a club with that game, so technically that's three now-defunct clubs they've beaten.

11-03-2016, 10:05 PM
I actually prefer to remember the 64/65 season where a couple of months before the end of the season Dundee turned up at PBS & won 7, yes 7-1!! Yams then lost the league on goal average by the lowest margin ever. Just imagine, Yams only need to lose at home 6-1 to win the league & they can't do it, that's some achievement!

Sharply edited! :greengrin

11-03-2016, 10:08 PM
Sharply edited! :greengrin

I was teasing! :wink:

Argylehibby
11-03-2016, 10:17 PM

The one against old Rangers won 2-1. Opening goal from a penalty awarded for a foul outside the box. Old Rangers then had a free kick on the edge of the box when the foul was committed inside the box.

The one against Gretna won on penalties.

The 3rd one again they get a penalty when the foul was outside the box. Has any other team been as fortunate in cup finals?

11-03-2016, 10:21 PM
I wonder if anyone still has one of the T shirts they were wearing a couple of weeks before the now legendary double. There were quite a few about the city at the time, imagine their value now.

Stokesy's on fire
11-03-2016, 10:35 PM
Let's hope Dundee remind them of the jambottled game

11-03-2016, 10:47 PM
Heard Levein is touch and go for the match, got a minor sickness bug

11-03-2016, 10:57 PM

:tee hee: he'll be fine - there's nothing on the game.

11-03-2016, 11:04 PM

He'll make it. Potter wouldn't let his team down for the sake of a bit if a cold.

11-03-2016, 11:06 PM
Not only did Hearts only need a point that day, even if they had lost by a single goal, Celtic still had to win by three goals!

Pleasing. :greengrin

12-03-2016, 07:00 AM
Hope they're all bringing a sweeping brush incase their bottle crashes, oh and some wellies so the tears dont soak their feet.Get stripped Albert, your going on.

12-03-2016, 07:13 AM
The Dee should do some Scott Wilson style trolling, getting their announcer to introduce Sir Albert before kick off, in recognition of his 30th anniversary. The seethe!!:lolyam:

12-03-2016, 07:34 AM
Not only did Hearts only need a point that day, even if they had lost by a single goal, Celtic still had to win by three goals!

Pleasing. :greengrin

And they refer to us 'hibsing' it. Oh the irony. Has any other team in the history of world football ever made such an arse of winning a league? That must have a been a sore one.

12-03-2016, 09:16 AM
He'll make it. Potter wouldn't let his team down for the sake of a bit if a cold.
I'm sure potter's presence will be the difference between winning and losing. It's what he would say.

Hibs07p
12-03-2016, 09:48 AM
I'm sure potter's presence will be the difference between winning and losing. It's what he would say.

If only he had the bottle to turn up, who knows what they could have achieved, eh?

12-03-2016, 10:02 AM
If I was employed at Dens Park, I would have contacted Mita, paid them to be the match day sponsor and asked someone called Marshall to dress up in chunky, chicken *champion suit.

*a person who has surpassed all rivals in a sporting contest or other competition, for any of our pink pals looking in.

12-03-2016, 10:39 AM
Craig levein has bottled it and Albert Kidd is expected to make the bench

12-03-2016, 12:16 PM

JHFC
12-03-2016, 03:07 PM
Jamie insall scores for east fife

12-03-2016, 03:10 PM
Jamie insall scores for east fife

Definitely the best thread for that information. :greengrin

12-03-2016, 03:33 PM
Is it far too early to bring on Sir Albert? :greengrin

12-03-2016, 03:41 PM
Still 0-0. Will a draw be enough for Hertz?

12-03-2016, 03:43 PM
Still 0-0.

Hearts looking nervous which is surprise considering they only need a point and most teams would go for jugular rather than sit back.

Levein spotted at top of stairs of main stand inbetween toilet breaks.

They will never ever live it down if they don't get the point they need to win the league.

12-03-2016, 03:44 PM
Still 0-0.

Hearts looking nervous which is surprise considering they only need a point and most teams would go for jugular rather than sit back.

Levein spotted at top of stairs of main stand inbetween toilet breaks.

They will never ever live it down if they don't get the point they need to win the league.

12-03-2016, 03:58 PM
I take it this is as close to a "another matches" thread as we're going to get.

To be fair absolutely nothing is happening anywhere.

Sheep 1 killie 0

Dumbarton 17.15 Falkirk

Jdawg
12-03-2016, 04:02 PM
0-0 at Dens Park at HT, sounds familiar!

12-03-2016, 04:07 PM
I take it this is as close to a "another matches" thread as we're going to get.

To be fair absolutely nothing is happening anywhere.

Sheep 1 killie 0

Dumbarton 17.15 Falkirk

Christ that's some game at Dumbarton.

12-03-2016, 04:10 PM

Could go either way though. :greengrin

Sheep 1 killie 1

12-03-2016, 04:10 PM
Hertz just scored, Walker.
Listening to Preston you'd think that it was Barcelona playing, welt.

12-03-2016, 04:14 PM
Hertz just scored, Walker.
Listening to Preston you'd think that it was Barcelona playing, welt.

Aye, that wasn't in the script. Bawbags.

12-03-2016, 04:26 PM
ICT 0 Hamilton 1

Richie Foran is back though.

12-03-2016, 04:27 PM

:agree: I didn't see that coming.

12-03-2016, 04:27 PM
Faissal 2 goals for Dunfermline

12-03-2016, 04:28 PM
Refrigerator Perry coming on at Dens.

12-03-2016, 04:29 PM
Is Dumbarton v Falkirk on Alba, hence the late kick off?

12-03-2016, 04:31 PM
Walker 1-0 Hearts

12-03-2016, 04:34 PM
Is Dumbarton v Falkirk on Alba, hence the late kick off?

Think so.

Abersheep 2 killie 1

I wonder if ICT will get sucked into the play off dogfight.

12-03-2016, 04:41 PM
it will be interesting to see how Celtic's nerve holds as Aberdeen apply the pressure. It could go to the wire.

12-03-2016, 04:42 PM
Think so.

Abersheep 2 killie 1

I wonder if ICT will get sucked into the play off dogfight.

They've hit poor form at the wrong time and they're definitely in with a shout if they get beat today. Hopefully, it will be on their minds come Wed :greengrin

12-03-2016, 04:48 PM
They've hit poor form at the wrong time and they're definitely in with a shout if they get beat today. Hopefully, it will be on their minds come Wed :greengrin

:agree: the last thing they need right now is the distraction of a cup run. Someone text Yogi and get him to focus on the dog fight (the league one - not the illegal one).

12-03-2016, 04:52 PM
FT earlier Blackburn 1 Super Leeds 2 sol bamba getting on the scoresheet

good result for Rotherham v Derby, they were 0-3 and ended up drawing 3-3

FT Alloa 1 Raith Rovers 1

st.mirren 2 Q.o.S 1

12-03-2016, 04:54 PM
FT earlier Blackburn 1 Super Leeds 2 sol bamba getting on the scoresheet

Horrible club

12-03-2016, 05:02 PM
FT

Norwich 0 Man city 0
Stoke 1 Southampton 2
Bournemouth 3 Swansea 2

12-03-2016, 05:39 PM
That Dumbarton goal was disallowed for what????

Hibs07p
12-03-2016, 06:40 PM
So, did the poppy thieves / tax dodgers win the league today then?

12-03-2016, 06:41 PM
One of the worst refereeing decisions this season for the Falkirk pen and Dumbarton red card. Even by Scottish Championship standards.

12-03-2016, 06:41 PM
Bairns one up. Harsh hand ball and red card. Pen scored. Hope we have better fortune tomorrow than the Sons.

12-03-2016, 06:47 PM
good result for Rotherham v Derby, they were 0-3 and ended up drawing 3-3

Away team were sitting pretty until the 83rd minute.
Home team brought on substitute in the second half.
Substitute proceeded to score two goals at the end of the game to deny the away team.
Wonder if that's a unique sequence of events? :dunno:

12-03-2016, 06:50 PM
Bairns one up. Harsh hand ball and red card. Pen scored. Hope we have better fortune tomorrow than the Sons.

That's putting it mildly.

Ridiculous decision.

12-03-2016, 06:54 PM
Another Dumbarton goal ruled out for offside.

Looked very tight.

12-03-2016, 06:55 PM
Dumbarton score 1-1

What game are you watching? :greengrin

12-03-2016, 06:55 PM
Another Dumbarton goal ruled out for offside.

Looked very tight.

Didn't look anyone offside there either.

Can they go through a full season with a pretty much a full strength team and zero bad luck?

12-03-2016, 07:01 PM

and that's without a drink :everythin

12-03-2016, 07:04 PM
Penalty for Dumbarton! :thumbsup:

12-03-2016, 07:04 PM
Come on Christian

12-03-2016, 07:05 PM

it was a premonition :cb

12-03-2016, 07:05 PM
Dumbarton 1-1 Falkirk :thumbsup:

Big goal there for us.

12-03-2016, 07:06 PM
Suck it up houston.

Dumbarton leveller late.

Reckon even Houston would have a job saying that wasn't a penalty.

12-03-2016, 07:07 PM
Full time, 1-1.

Take that.

12-03-2016, 07:08 PM
GIRFUY Houston ya Yam pr***. That could turn out to be a very important two points dropped by Falkirk come the end of the season.

12-03-2016, 07:09 PM
Full time, 1-1.

Take that.

Could be a massive result for us.

3 points ahead of us having played two games more, the bigots next up for the bairns next friday

coldingham hibs
No more than Dumbarton deserved, Falkirk are rank, if we lose a playoff against them then we deserve all we get.

12-03-2016, 07:12 PM
3 points ahead of us having played two games more, the bigots next up for the bairns next friday

I really hate to say this, but it would be in Hibs best interests if the new club won against Falkirk next Friday. Sorry. I feel kind of dirty now.

12-03-2016, 07:15 PM
I really hate to say this, but it would be in Hibs best interests if the new club won against Falkirk next Friday. Sorry. I feel kind of dirty now.

and by quite a few goals as well...they have a GD 6 better than us

12-03-2016, 07:22 PM

Tooting, hope the Huns pump them.

12-03-2016, 10:11 PM

Of course.

Although I prefer to say that I hope that Falkirk lose next Friday, rather than say I hope Sevco win.

Potty 86's mate
12-03-2016, 10:27 PM
No more than Dumbarton deserved, Falkirk are rank, if we lose a playoff against them then we deserve all we get.

im seriously dreading the play offs, teams like Falkirk will have nothing to lose whereas we will be expected to win and we all know how that type of scenario normally ends.

12-03-2016, 10:40 PM
im seriously dreading the play offs, teams like Falkirk will have nothing to lose whereas we will be expected to win and we all know how that type of scenario normally ends.

You'll fit right in here. :greengrin