View Full Version : Who's not going on Sunday and how come?

10-03-2016, 12:16 PM
So after lots of wrangling it's my youngest lads 5th Birthday. Couldn't leave him on his birthday, and he had no desire to come up to Glasgow.

So me, my eldest lad and my Dad will be having a few beers and watching it on the telly.

Anyone else not going?

ChilliEater
10-03-2016, 12:19 PM
I'm not going because I live in Australia. It's nice here, but sometimes I wish it was a bit closer - like a 2 hour, $200 flight, rather than a 20 hour, $2000 flight.

StevieT
10-03-2016, 01:08 PM
I'm not as I have refereeing commitments :boo hoo: . Gutted at not being there.

10-03-2016, 01:10 PM
Trig will be along shortly ...

Bob1875
10-03-2016, 01:13 PM
So after lots of wrangling it's my youngest lads 5th Birthday. Couldn't leave him on his birthday, and he had no desire to come up to Glasgow.

So me, my eldest lad and my Dad will be having a few beers and watching it on the telly.

Anyone else not going?

Don't take this the wrong way mate but my 8 year old isn't exactly Hibs or even football daft but he's not really had a choice about coming on Sunday.

10-03-2016, 01:33 PM

Anyone else not going?

You obviously have no imagination. You should have sold it as a big adventure for his birthday.:wink:

Newry Hibs
10-03-2016, 01:37 PM
Flights booked and match tickets bought. Wife then broke her leg - so is 'bed-ridden'. Still unsure what to do as I'd be gone from about 5am to midnight on the Sunday.

Could get wife sitter - but would feel a bit guilty.

10-03-2016, 01:38 PM
Flights booked and match tickets bought. Wife then broke her leg - so is 'bed-ridden'. Still unsure what to do as I'd be gone from about 5am to midnight on the Sunday.

She'll be fine. :greengrin

10-03-2016, 01:39 PM
Trig will be along shortly ...

What? Trig not going..................don't believe that for one minute. Surely he wasn't stupid enough to book a holiday which leaves on Sunday.

Sure he will watch it on tv though as he surely wouldn't be stupid enough to be on a plane whilst the match is on...........

10-03-2016, 01:44 PM

Plenty of websites specialise in such a service, I believe.

norhfc
10-03-2016, 02:00 PM
Cant make it over for this one as we booked flights for the whole family next Friday for the Easter holidays.
Major bummer re. timing but will be at Raith away to hopefully get a delayed celebration. :agree:

Deek9
10-03-2016, 02:29 PM
Booked Yarmageddon classic rock festival in Great Yarmouth ages ago so down here over weekend. May need to check out periscope option. Gutted can't be there.

10-03-2016, 02:47 PM
Don't take this the wrong way mate but my 8 year old isn't exactly Hibs or even football daft but he's not really had a choice about coming on Sunday.

Was going to but would have to have taken the whole tribe, working out £350 on flights alone. Moving house next month so couldn't really justify it.

I'm making it better to myself saying if me not being there guarentees a Hibs win, then it is worth it.

10-03-2016, 02:55 PM
Was going to but would have to have taken the whole tribe, working out £350 on flights alone. Moving house next month so couldn't really justify it.

I'm making it better to myself saying if me not being there guarentees a Hibs win, then it is worth it.

My boys actual birthday. Been doing a lot of commuting (coincidentally to the Weege). Missed the CIS cup as he was 5 days old and neither the "sogra" (mother in law over from Brazil) or missus were having any of it...

We'll be up Hillend "tubing". Missus kindly volunteered me to drive one of the other kids there so I'll be cutting it fine as party ends at 2:30.

Glad to see the new format means a different time of year from now on

10-03-2016, 02:56 PM

Mate I'd rather get a new wife than miss the game.

10-03-2016, 03:11 PM
I would definitely have been across if it had been any date after Sunday.

I play pipes in a bagad (Breton pipe band) and Sunday is the first competition of our 2 part championship (the other being at Lorient in August). We've been working our a***s off for this since the turn of the year (eg. 16 hours of practice last weekend) and being the heid bummer piper person I can't really just bog off to Scotland and leave the rest to get on with it.

An example of us in the same event a couple of years ago.

https://vimeo.com/156680385

10-03-2016, 03:16 PM

I play pipes in a bagad (Breton pipe band) and Sunday is the first competition of our 2 part championship (the other being at Lorient in August). We've been working our a***s off for this since the turn of the year (eg. 16 hours of practice last weekend) and being the heid bummer piper person I can't really just bog off to Scotland and leave the rest to get on with it.

Cal that an excuse??:rolleyes::wink:

10-03-2016, 03:16 PM

Which one is you

TheHarpy76
10-03-2016, 03:21 PM

Few beers and the feeling goes away :)

10-03-2016, 03:22 PM

My French is okay, but Kick in the Groin??? :confused:

10-03-2016, 03:23 PM
Which one is you

The piper nearset the audience to start off with and, IIRC (I'm at work so can't really watch the video) I move across beside the drummers toward the end of the suite.

10-03-2016, 03:28 PM
Which one is you

Bottom right. :tee hee:

10-03-2016, 03:32 PM
The piper nearset the audience to start off with and, IIRC (I'm at work so can't really watch the video) I move across beside the drummers toward the end of the suite.

Not going to the game because you are at home blowing your own trumpet is a truly fabulous reason, and I would be prepared to miss the game in the same circumstances, if I was able.

GreenPJ
10-03-2016, 03:37 PM

Least you can do is add SoL to your competition repertoire.

10-03-2016, 03:44 PM
My French is okay, but Kick in the Groin??? :confused:

All bagads have two names (often just the name of the town) - one in Breton and the other French. The Breton language was never spoken in St Malo, just as Edinburgh was never gaelic speaking, so when the group was formed 65 or so years ago they chose the name Quic en Groigne - it's old french from the time when Brittany was independant from France and is part of a quote "quic en groigne, ainsy sera, c'est mon plaisir!", basically meaning "let other people moan, I don't give a flying one".

10-03-2016, 03:52 PM

Anyone else not going?

J you were not forced to have a son who's not a Hibby.:duck:

10-03-2016, 03:54 PM

Could get wife sitter - but would feel a bit guilty.wifes come out with all the excuses, to stop you getting a few beers. mines is always trying it on. never works though.

10-03-2016, 04:15 PM
you were not forced to have a son who's not a Hibby.:duck:

It's a matter of timing, took my eldest to a game last season and is definitely a Hibby (have to resist the lure of the in-laws Tottenham support).

Will take the youngest along to a game when we come up to Edinburgh later on in the year.

Septimus
10-03-2016, 04:25 PM
I,ll be in my little office in Paphos but I wil be at Hampden in spirit. Both my sons going. One from London and one from Galway.

10-03-2016, 04:27 PM

erm, Crutches.... ;)

10-03-2016, 04:52 PM

"I'm jist nipping oot for milk" ............. :wink:

highland hibbee
10-03-2016, 05:07 PM
Anyone who knows me know I will be there in spirit. I missed 2007 as I was on a Rig tow from Invergordon to Cape Town, was crossing the equator when the final was on, kept calling my sons who were at the game on the Sat phone, cost me £100 but well worth it. This time I'm in the North Sea, off Shetland, don't get home till Wednesday, weather permitting, but will be heading straight from Aberdeen to Inverness for the replay. Gutted to be missing the final, just hope we can do the business. Know doubting our ability, just need to get the attitude right. Anyway GGTTH

10-03-2016, 05:12 PM
As explained on another thread I'll be at the Scotland v France 6 Nations match in the company of another couple of Hibs fans.

10-03-2016, 05:45 PM
In October 2015 I bought an expensive package of tickets for first and finals weekends at the BNP Paribas Tennis Open in Indian Wells. I regret it now.

Giro Playboy
10-03-2016, 06:02 PM
As long as I was physically and financially able I couldn't ever imagine missing Hibs in a cup final.
Its not like they are a regular occurrence. The Hibs fans going to the rugby instead of Hampden on Sunday have a completely different mentality from me.

10-03-2016, 06:30 PM

https://twitter.com/EastLothianHibs/status/707983392118317056/photo/1

10-03-2016, 06:31 PM
In October 2015 I bought an expensive package of tickets for first and finals weekends at the BNP Paribas Tennis Open in Indian Wells. I regret it now.

Racist.

10-03-2016, 06:41 PM
As long as I was physically and financially able I couldn't ever imagine missing Hibs in a cup final.
Its not like they are a regular occurrence. The Hibs fans going to the rugby instead of Hampden on Sunday have a completely different mentality from me.

This. Would never say no to attending a Hibs cup final! It just wouldn't feel right.

10-03-2016, 07:01 PM
As explained on another thread I'll be at the Scotland v France 6 Nations match in the company of another couple of Hibs fans.

OK mate :faf:

EskbankHibby
10-03-2016, 07:47 PM

I read this initially as "could get wife's sister - but would feel a bit guilty"

10-03-2016, 09:22 PM

Aye, nice try. :rolleyes:

10-03-2016, 09:23 PM
"I'm jist nipping oot for milk" ............. :wink:

See you Tuesday. :greengrin

10-03-2016, 09:56 PM

Really? We've won 2 cups in 40 years and you're given up the chance to see us win another trophy to sit through a rugby match that's played every year.....wow!

10-03-2016, 10:03 PM
What? Trig not going..................don't believe that for one minute. Surely he wasn't stupid enough to book a holiday which leaves on Sunday.

Sure he will watch it on tv though as he surely wouldn't be stupid enough to be on a plane whilst the match is on...........

:greengrin Have I mentioned it before then?

WellingtonHibby
10-03-2016, 10:08 PM
18,365km and a $2,800 flight away, means its too far for me to pop back for this one. Ill be watching with a beer and a bacon roll at 4am with a few others down here in Wellington.
Celebrating in the bars opening at 6am, if we win!

10-03-2016, 10:09 PM
:greengrin Have I mentioned it before then?

Are you missing the game;-)

jon paul jones
10-03-2016, 10:20 PM
Here is my dilemma

Tickets bought and in my top drawer
My first and only son has now arrived born 2 days ago (Deliriously happy btw)
Partner and son still in hospital, partner on mend from c section
Waiting for all clear to bring her home but she will barely be able to get out of bed due to abdominal muscles / painkillers

If she is still in hospital on Sunday....... do I go???

PS she doesn't know it but Ruben will be a hibee...just playing the long game and saying he can choose his own sport / team /

(blah blah blah my arse!! Hibees all the way)

10-03-2016, 10:24 PM
Are you missing the game;-)

10-03-2016, 10:25 PM
See you Tuesday. :greengrin

10-03-2016, 10:48 PM

Nah. Not having that.

Greenworld
10-03-2016, 10:55 PM
Really? We've won 2 cups in 40 years and you're given up the chance to see us win another trophy to sit through a rugby match that's played every year.....wow!
In all the threads your comment should be Highlighted as I can't help think fans have that livingston feeling again.
Just turn up and we win

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

JoeTortolanoFanClub
10-03-2016, 10:56 PM
Booked Yarmageddon classic rock festival in Great Yarmouth ages ago so down here over weekend. May need to check out periscope option. Gutted can't be there.

Make sure you catch LiveWire. Absolutely superb.

Buc
10-03-2016, 10:56 PM
Can you do Sunshine on Leith,????

10-03-2016, 11:06 PM

Giving up a Hibs cup final for a meaningless rugby game?

147lothian
10-03-2016, 11:14 PM
ColintonHearts AKA ColintonHibs isn't going because "the big team" didn't qualify

AZhibee
10-03-2016, 11:25 PM
No passport.

10-03-2016, 11:28 PM
I won't. Mechanic says my Pontiac can't swim the Atlantic.

Jdawg
10-03-2016, 11:53 PM
Can't understand why a hibs supporter would go to any 6 nations match never mind what is now a meaningless one when hibs are in a cup final. That's also regardless if tickets bought well in advance, etc.

10-03-2016, 11:57 PM
Just been home for a quick visit to see my new nephew ( who i'm worried might grow up a jambo as they live in that end of town and big bro is not the most active of Hibs supporters) the wife is pregnant with our first bundle of joy and just bought our first house. Tried to drop the hint of well i could just fly over for the Sunday be home the monday morning didn't go down to well, her response was something along the lines of "all the times of having to sit through you being a grumpy ******* and you think you can travel away and maybe get a happy ending, don't think so" I get her point. Hibs Tv it is then!

11-03-2016, 12:01 AM
Not a hope in hell i'd be anywhere else other than Hampden on Sunday..If my teams goes on to lift the League cup in front of 30K Hibs fans their is not another place in the world i'd rather be..Each to their own where they wanna be but Hibs every single time for me.

Deek9
11-03-2016, 12:39 AM
Make sure you catch LiveWire. Absolutely superb.

Absolutely intend to. Seen them couple of times before but both times set was upset by illness of a band member or sound problems. Hoping for a full set without hitches this time. And of course a Hibs win on Sunday!

JennaFletcher
11-03-2016, 12:51 AM
I'm not going to make it on Sunday as I am recovering from surgery. It's the first final I have missed since 2001, I was gutted at first but I have had time to come to terms with not being there. First cup game in general I have missed in a while!

Feeling positive about Sunday though - GGTTH!!

11-03-2016, 01:34 AM
Here is my dilemma

Tickets bought and in my top drawer
My first and only son has now arrived born 2 days ago (Deliriously happy btw)
Partner and son still in hospital, partner on mend from c section
Waiting for all clear to bring her home but she will barely be able to get out of bed due to abdominal muscles / painkillers

If she is still in hospital on Sunday....... do I go???

PS she doesn't know it but Ruben will be a hibee...just playing the long game and saying he can choose his own sport / team /

(blah blah blah my arse!! Hibees all the way)

Hmmmm, tough one that. Looking unlikely IMHO. As even if she's out a C-section is pretty hardcore. I had to ferry my missus around with our first lad after having a C-section, and run round the house. She was pretty beat with having a brand new baby and major abdominal surgery at the same time.

11-03-2016, 02:12 AM
Skint and thus stuck overseas.

11-03-2016, 05:10 AM
Why on earth would anyone choose to go to the rugby over a cup final is completely bizarre.

11-03-2016, 05:24 AM
Can you do Sunshine on Leith,????

Probably. I'm not convinced it would sound great though.

Newry Hibs
11-03-2016, 07:20 AM

Now my son who was going to go with me has cried off school sick. Can't see him being ready to get up at 4:30am on Sunday. So I'll have 2 patients at home - with my younger son acting as doctor.

I think I'll give it one last go with the big cow eyes and 'it doesn't matter, it's on telly anyway - and sure they might even get to another final in another 9 years'.

Hoping the response will be - 'It's OK I've arranged my mum and dad to look after me - you go and enjoy yourself because you're worth it'.

11-03-2016, 07:22 AM
Now my son who was going to go with me has cried off school sick. Can't see him being ready to get up at 4:30am on Sunday. So I'll have 2 patients at home - with my younger son acting as doctor.

I think I'll give it one last go with the big cow eyes and 'it doesn't matter, it's on telly anyway - and sure they might even get to another final in another 9 years'.

Hoping the response will be - 'It's OK I've arranged my mum and dad to look after me - you go and enjoy yourself because you're worth it'.

haha, fingers crossed for you !

HFC07
11-03-2016, 07:31 AM
I'm loving this thread, some belters in here.

I could never miss a cup final, I'll be their with my old man (who will also never miss a final). My sister and mother are also coming along 👍🏼.

To the guys going to the rugby instead of the Hibs game, give yourselves a shake, tell me what do Scotlanf stand to win in the 6 nations tournament..................

Sweet FA, get yourselves along to Hamden.

Alan Stubbs Green and White army.

HFC07
11-03-2016, 07:35 AM

Newry Hibs, I genially hope your wife's leg gets better. However the anguish of you not being at the cup final will take longer to heal than her leg. She'll understand, you know it makes sense. 👍🏼

11-03-2016, 07:38 AM

I could never miss a cup final, I'll be their with my old man (who will also never miss a final). My sister and mother are also coming along .

To the guys going to the rugby instead of the Hibs game, give yourselves a shake, tell me what do Scotlanf stand to win in the 6 nations tournament..................

I couldn't miss a final, barring (a) a bereavement or (b) the promise of my Nat King from Kirsty Gallacher. Here endeth the list.

oramhibee
11-03-2016, 07:49 AM
I'm not going because I'm in Amsterdam at the moment. I thought about changing my holiday to the following week but then I realised it would be an extra £90 so I just decided to leave it. I'll watch the game on Hibs TV

HFC07
11-03-2016, 07:50 AM

I couldn't miss a final, barring (a) a bereavement or (b) the promise of my Nat King from Kirsty Gallacher. Here endeth the list.

😂😂 I'd have to agree with that list 👍🏼

11-03-2016, 09:19 AM
I'm on a conference in Hamburg. Will go out for an extended ablutions break about 14:00 on Sunday and return the next morning accompanied with a hangover that can only be achieved on the Reeperbahn.

11-03-2016, 09:49 AM

😂😂😂

11-03-2016, 09:51 AM

I could never miss a cup final, I'll be their with my old man (who will also never miss a final). My sister and mother are also coming along 👍🏼.

Plus the guys that cant go cause of a birthday party. Ffs its a cup final!!!!!

11-03-2016, 10:17 AM
I'm not going because I'm in Amsterdam at the moment. I thought about changing my holiday to the following week but then I realised it would be an extra £90 so I just decided to leave it. I'll watch the game on Hibs TV

£90 to see Hibs winning a cup?? Would be a no brainier for me

JOD
11-03-2016, 10:33 AM
A pensioner on a fixed income. Had to make a choice. Been to last 2 L/C wins.

No brainer for me. Booked train----B/B------Match Ticket------+£100 all in.

Inverness on Wed for me. Holy grail every time.

Tom Hart RIP
11-03-2016, 10:51 AM
1993, 2001 and 2004 I ran a minibus with 15 on board. Some glory hunters but a few regulars.
2007 car with 5. 2012 car with 3 and 2013 car with 2.
This year just me. Best mate who used to travel home and away for years is watching on TV. Last time he was knocked over by 2 drunken ar@@holes who were trying to batter another drunk at full time for throwing his scarf away. Broken glasses and bruised knees. My
Mate is in his 60s. He can't be bothered with the hassle and every Hampden trip bar 2007 has ended with Hibs fans fighting amongst themselves. Like I said I will be going with. Fingers crossed that I'm not sitting next to people who can't hold their bevvy. Another pal was telling me his bus was leaving 8am so I suspect there will be a few steaming by 3pm. No probs with that as most people are happy drunks but a few will get off their skull and want to fight.hope the cops and stewards are on the ball

HIBEES 4 LIFE
11-03-2016, 11:26 AM
1993, 2001 and 2004 I ran a minibus with 15 on board. Some glory hunters but a few regulars.
2007 car with 5. 2012 car with 3 and 2013 car with 2.
This year just me. Best mate who used to travel home and away for years is watching on TV. Last time he was knocked over by 2 drunken ar@@holes who were trying to batter another drunk at full time for throwing his scarf away. Broken glasses and bruised knees. My
Mate is in his 60s. He can't be bothered with the hassle and every Hampden trip bar 2007 has ended with Hibs fans fighting amongst themselves. Like I said I will be going with. Fingers crossed that I'm not sitting next to people who can't hold their bevvy. Another pal was telling me his bus was leaving 8am so I suspect there will be a few steaming by 3pm. No probs with that as most people are happy drunks but a few will get off their skull and want to fight.hope the cops and stewards are on the ball

That's a crying shame that your friend has been put off supporting his team in a national cup final! I fully understand as my Dad is in a similar situation having grown up never missing a game, but now the hassle and drunken idiots have put him off.

Lets remember win or lose, we are HIBS and we are all HIBS. Keep it civil!

NYHibby
11-03-2016, 11:46 AM
I have a Scotland season ticket so I'll be at Murrayfield.

Brunswickbill
11-03-2016, 11:49 AM
Booked my annual holiday to Florida months ago. Holiday to coincide with Paddy's day when I do a bit of piping. Left on 5 March and return on 20 March. Miss a final and two semis. What a time to go on holiday. Still looking for a pub in the Sarasota area that will be showing the game.

11-03-2016, 11:50 AM
Booked my annual holiday to Florida months ago. Holiday to coincide with Paddy's day when I do a bit of piping. Left on 5 March and return on 20 March. Miss a final and two semis. What a time to go on holiday. Still looking for a pub in the Sarasota area that will be showing the game.

I think you know a couple of guys in the video I posted.

11-03-2016, 12:00 PM

What semis did you miss?

11-03-2016, 12:10 PM

Crap ride. I missed Hibs Development East of Scotland tie against Craigroyston because of her. Hibs every time since and she knows it.

Brunswickbill
11-03-2016, 12:15 PM
I think you know a couple of guys in the video I posted.

Jonny Graham- aye. Tried his best to teach me. Good lad. Very impressed with that video when Jonny posted it a couple of years back. Trying to persuade the missus to go to Lorient but she's not into piping. Queen of the South supporter as well. Where did I go wrong?

Brunswickbill
11-03-2016, 12:18 PM
What semis did you miss?

Sorry - quarters. Too much bevvy here in Fl.

Greenworld
11-03-2016, 12:20 PM
Too many fans going I'm claustrophobic

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

gavhfc10
11-03-2016, 12:23 PM
I'm on holiday in Koh Samui - anyone who's knows anywhere that will show it and/or if any hibbies are also here?!

11-03-2016, 12:27 PM
Jonny Graham- aye. Tried his best to teach me. Good lad. Very impressed with that video when Jonny posted it a couple of years back. Trying to persuade the missus to go to Lorient but she's not into piping. Queen of the South supporter as well. Where did I go wrong?

Tony Collins is there too - do you not know him?

hibsforeurope
11-03-2016, 12:30 PM
I also have a Scotland Season ticket and will be at Murrayfield on Sunday.

I just hope the phone signal is good enough so I can watch the final on the BBC app.

Brunswickbill
11-03-2016, 12:55 PM
Tony Collins is there too - do you not know him?
Don't know Tony. I recall that there were 2 or 3 lads went with Jonny to play with your bagad. There were some posts of them learning the tunes on the way across. Well out of my league lol.

HTD1875
11-03-2016, 01:22 PM

I just hope the phone signal is good enough so I can watch the final on the BBC app.

I hope the signal is crap and I hope Scotland get beat

11-03-2016, 01:26 PM

That's a bit strong :shocked:

11-03-2016, 01:33 PM
Don't know Tony. I recall that there were 2 or 3 lads went with Jonny to play with your bagad. There were some posts of them learning the tunes on the way across. Well out of my league lol.

Aye, 3 made the trip across for that competition. Good players and brilliant craic.

11-03-2016, 01:38 PM

11-03-2016, 01:41 PM
That's a bit strong :shocked:

Well, I can see posters point. There are folks coming from Canada, Texas, Dubai, Australia and all over the world for this and some so called Hibs fans cannot travel 35 miles to watch us in a Cup Final coz of some egg chasers. Begers belief.

11-03-2016, 01:53 PM

11-03-2016, 01:54 PM
Well, I can see posters point. There are folks coming from Canada, Texas, Dubai, Australia and all over the world for this and some so called Hibs fans cannot travel 35 miles to watch us in a Cup Final coz of some egg chasers. Begers belief.

Well, it's no great loss to the rest of us. They'd probably spend their time at the final on their phone watching the rugby on the BBC app instead of cheering the team on.

11-03-2016, 01:55 PM

give them a cheer for me :aok: i'l try avoid the score and watch a double recording when i get back home from the final, Hibs and Scotland winning would be quite nice :thumbsup:

hibsforeurope
11-03-2016, 01:55 PM

Some time you can't win. Called a glory hunter for only gouing to big games. Accused of not being a good enough fan for missing a game.

I wonder how many of these more committee fans you refer to will be at the next home games against Dumbarton or Livingston...

11-03-2016, 01:56 PM
 I'd have to agree with that list 

not quite........ a and b are the wrong way round :-)

inglisavhibs
11-03-2016, 02:50 PM
I have a Scotland season ticket so I'll be at Murrayfield.
Not really a Hibby then. Enjoy the rugger.

inglisavhibs
11-03-2016, 02:58 PM
Some time you can't win. Called a glory hunter for only gouing to big games. Accused of not being a good enough fan for missing a game.

I wonder how many of these more committee fans you refer to will be at the next home games against Dumbarton or Livingston...
Don't get too upset mate, you are choosing a friendly rugby match over a cup final with a chance of winning a major trophy (we don't win that many). Strange choice as you can see Scotland play France every second year, and sometimes they might even be meaningful.

11-03-2016, 03:48 PM

😂😂😂

JOD
11-03-2016, 04:26 PM
A pensioner on a fixed income. Had to make a choice. Been to last 2 L/C wins.

No brainer for me. Booked train----B/B------Match Ticket------+£100 all in.

Inverness on Wed for me. Holy grail every time.

Change that just noticed selling on the day. F___K it what's money ?

I'll live on bread/water (wine if we win) for a week!!

11-03-2016, 04:36 PM
I'm not going because I don't feel great these days and the prospect of getting jostled about is unattractive. No jostling in the pub though!

11-03-2016, 04:40 PM

You cannae take it with you after all...

11-03-2016, 04:46 PM

Brest :tee hee:

11-03-2016, 04:47 PM

Hats off to you sir. :thumbsup:

It's certainly not cheap being a hibby right now. I don't even want to look at my bank statement.

Giro Playboy
11-03-2016, 05:08 PM

I just hope the phone signal is good enough so I can watch the final on the BBC app. That's not a problem but your a rugby fan first and a Hibs fan second.

11-03-2016, 05:18 PM
The only things that I can think of that would make me miss a Hibs cup final would be my own wedding (but I always organise those for the close season), serious family illness/death or the birth of a son or daughter. Call me cynical but I'm not sure that some of the reasons on this thread are strictly genuine.

Giro Playboy
11-03-2016, 05:18 PM
I'm actually sitting here laughing at some of the lame excuses for not going on Sunday.
If your not going you would be better just not posting anything at all

11-03-2016, 05:21 PM
I truly, madly, deeply hope that Hibsforeurope was just on a massive fishing mission and is sitting back with a beer pishing himself

11-03-2016, 05:33 PM

Is that jonny that used to be in bags of rock?

11-03-2016, 05:42 PM

Bags of cock! :tee hee:

The very same.

11-03-2016, 05:48 PM
Bags of cock! :tee hee:

The very same.

Thought i recognised the name, other halfs cousin used to play with them

Brunswickbill
11-03-2016, 05:48 PM

Now in Red Hot Chili Pipers

Newry Hibs
11-03-2016, 06:46 PM

Well, it looks like the cow eyes and quivering bottom lip worked. I am good to go! Just need to hold my nerve and not feel too guilty on Sunday morning and cave in.

11-03-2016, 06:47 PM
Well, it looks like the cow eyes and quivering bottom lip worked. I am good to go! Just need to hold my nerve and not feel too guilty on Sunday morning and cave in.

Result!

11-03-2016, 08:40 PM

It's a trap.

bob12345
11-03-2016, 08:53 PM
The folk saying they'll be at the rugby can't be serious. My money is on a wind up.

11-03-2016, 10:14 PM
At present i have a abscess in my mouth and the left hand side of my face is very swollen, on antibiotics but not getting any better, and it is very sore indeed, just hope it goes dow before Sunday but if not, I won't be missing the game but may just drive through and back, there will be no drinking for me, please get better abscess. :greengrin

On the bright side, should get a good spot for the parade in a few weeks time. :rolleyes: :greengrin

NYHibby
11-03-2016, 10:17 PM
Not really a Hibby then. Enjoy the rugger.

Thank you, I will.

11-03-2016, 10:18 PM
The folk saying they'll be at the rugby can't be serious. My money is on a wind up.

I explained at some length on another thread why I took the decision to stick to my original plan to go to Murrayfield on Sunday despite Hibs subsequently reaching the cup final. It's less to do with already having tickets for the rugby, more to do with health issues involving family members. However, while it's clearly tricky for some to understand, I also happen to enjoy watching rugby and have enjoyed some thrilling days at Murrayfield (albeit a lot more often during the 70s and 80s than now!). In fact, I also happen to believe you'll far more often see a good game of rugby than a good game of football. You'll certainly almost always see more scoring! In the way I find it hard to understand why anyone would watch, say, a Grand Prix motor race, I'm aware there are many who feel the same way about rugby. However, I also think you should respect other people's sporting passions if you don't actually know anything about them.

The default mechanism deployed by most males (and I guess some females) when in the vicinity of a TV screen showing a game of football is to stare at it constantly, no matter how awful or inconsequential the game. Personally, the only football I ever watch is Hibs matches. The mind-numbing Champions League and the absurdly hyped English Premier League do nothing for me. Football, by and large, is over-rated and there are actually a number of sports I'd watch in preference to it. Hibs, however, are in the blood and I can trace my family's support of the club right back to the late 19th Century. I get to as many games as work and family commitments allow, probably around a dozen a season, and the family tradition of supporting the club is one I'll always be proud of. Nevertheless, it's also a decades-old family tradition of ours to attend Scotland's Home Internationals at Murrayfield so like it or lump it, that's where I'll be in body on Sunday, but with a sizeable chunk of my heart and soul at Hampden.

11-03-2016, 10:49 PM
At present i have a abscess in my mouth and the left hand side of my face is very swollen, on antibiotics but not getting any better, and it is very sore indeed, just hope it goes dow before Sunday but if not, I won't be missing the game but may just drive through and back, there will be no drinking for me, please get better abscess. :greengrin

On the bright side, should get a good spot for the parade in a few weeks time. :rolleyes: :greengrin

Abscess makes the Heart grow fonder Silver
Have had a few in my time ****in murder .Root Canal Treatment must be a form of Human Torture
Drug yourself up legally of course

VivaHiberña
11-03-2016, 11:33 PM
I explained at some length on another thread why I took the decision to stick to my original plan to go to Murrayfield on Sunday despite Hibs subsequently reaching the cup final. It's less to do with already having tickets for the rugby, more to do with health issues involving family members. However, while it's clearly tricky for some to understand, I also happen to enjoy watching rugby and have enjoyed some thrilling days at Murrayfield (albeit a lot more often during the 70s and 80s than now!). In fact, I also happen to believe you'll far more often see a good game of rugby than a good game of football. You'll certainly almost always see more scoring! In the way I find it hard to understand why anyone would watch, say, a Grand Prix motor race, I'm aware there are many who feel the same way about rugby. However, I also think you should respect other people's sporting passions if you don't actually know anything about them.

[...]

More or less how I see it. I wouldn't miss a cup final for the world but I'm not going to judge somebody for not sharing my preference.

I know a ST-holding couple who are going to Murrayfield on Sunday and while I personally can't understand their thinking, they are by every measure more "loyal"* Hibs supporters than plenty of folk going to Hampden on Sunday.

11-03-2016, 11:53 PM

You'll still look better than Steve :faf:

12-03-2016, 12:23 AM
It's the Australia excuse for me, leave to travel Asia in 3 weeks as well so money wise just not feasible.. absolutely gutted to be missing it! 2am kick off here on Sunday night/Monday morning.. bracing myself for a long long day on Sunday, suspense is killing me already

seattlehibby
12-03-2016, 12:35 AM
Would love to go, but can't afford it just now. Was back for the 2007 final. Amazing.Going to see if I can find it in Seattle somewhere.Will be back in August to cheer on the Hibees!.

12-03-2016, 05:21 AM
I too like the egg chasing......was an active (and not bad) one for a good number of years. But the choice of watching your national rugby team over a cup final does seems to be a no brainer..

If its a semi or earlier round I can see why an international rugby match might be the preferred option (just!)

But National cup finals are a very rare animal indeed ..........and any football fan who has the ability (and finances) to attend would surely do so over a rugby match (even if they were ST holders) to cheer their team on such is the rarity of the occasion.

That's maybe too black and white for some who are looking to advance apparently legitimate excuses......

.....but in this instance if I was them I'd probably not have posted! :)

Jim Herriot
13-03-2016, 07:17 AM

Launch the Yarm fud. :)

Deek9
13-03-2016, 07:24 AM
Launch the Yarm fud. :)

Ha ha, had my blood boiling for a second there!

14-03-2016, 11:36 AM
Ironically it had been longer since Scotland's last win over France than it had been since Hibs last won a cup! I was in Dublin for the Ireland v Italy game on Saturday, supporting the Azzurri, and at Hampden yesterday, supporting Hibs. Not the best of sporting weekends!

hibs69
14-03-2016, 11:52 AM
I'm not as I have refereeing commitments :boo hoo: . Gutted at not being there.

Aw man, should've had you there......., maybe on the field 2nd half.

14-03-2016, 12:01 PM
1st place - back of the net!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRcfYIxd8tk