View Full Version : Alcohol ban on trains

08-03-2016, 07:21 PM
Had it confirmed alcohol ban both ways on all trains between Edinbugh -- Glasgow on Sunday

aljo7-0
08-03-2016, 07:23 PM
No great surprise there I guess.

BH Hibs
08-03-2016, 07:42 PM
Would've been in force due to rugby anyway mate

08-03-2016, 10:38 PM
Always in place when the rugger is on, not a problem if you are discreet.

08-03-2016, 10:46 PM
Surely people can endure a train journey to Glasgow without the need for a drink.

08-03-2016, 10:47 PM
Just be subtle about it and you can have a wee bevvy.

08-03-2016, 10:47 PM
If we win, I'll probably be getting the train back from town to Bathgate after the celebrations. E.g. 9-9:30 pm.

Does anyone know if I take unopened alcohol (e.g. a six pack of beer) will that be OK, or is it no alcohol at all?

08-03-2016, 10:48 PM
Surely people can endure a train journey to Glasgow without the need for a drink.

You have a lot to learn about the Scottish 😂

08-03-2016, 10:48 PM

True, but depending on the performance you might need one on the way back!

Denverhibby
08-03-2016, 10:50 PM

I think Glasgow always looks better after a few. Just saying😀😀

08-03-2016, 10:51 PM
If we win, I'll probably be getting the train back from town to Bathgate after the celebrations. E.g. 9-9:30 pm.

Does anyone know if I take unopened alcohol (e.g. a six pack of beer) will that be OK, or is it no alcohol at all?

Unopened is not an issue. But the normal ban starts at 2200 anyway

08-03-2016, 11:01 PM

Nope.

08-03-2016, 11:13 PM
Im heading across by public bus and will be having my beer stored in plastic coke bottles. Stay classy folks!

09-03-2016, 12:02 AM
No ban for the choo choo to Fundee :cb

09-03-2016, 04:29 AM
Alcohol Bans
The undernoted trains are banned from the sale and carrying of alcohol, and may be Police accompanied to discourage unruly behaviour. Please ensure that Alcohol Bans are displayed at least 72 hrs notice at all stations (staffed and unstaffed) on the routes stipulated. BANS APPLY TO ALL INTERMEDIATE STATIONS AND ANY RAIL REPLACEMENT SERVICES.

Note our current bans from 2100-1000 will apply.

Rugby Game Sunday 13 March Scotland V France KO 1500

GLASGOW/EDINBURGH

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 10 00 AND 1400 INCLUSIVE FROM GLASGOW QUEEN ST AND GLASGOW CENTRAL TO EDINBURGH.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00 BETWEEN EDINBURGH - GLASGOW QUEEN ST/ GLASGOW CENTRAL.

ABERDEEN - EDINBURGH- ABERDEEN
ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1000 AND 1300 INCLUSIVE FROM ABERDEEN TO EDINBURGH.

ALL TRAINS FROM 1700

DUNDEE - EDINBURGH-DUNDEE
ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 10 00 AND 1330 INCLUSIVE FROM DUNDEE TO EDINBURGH.

ALL TRAINS FROM 1700

PERTH - EDINBURGH-PERTH
ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1100 AND 13 30 INCLUSIVE FROM PERTH TO EDINBURGH.

ALL TRAINS FROM 1700

EDINBURGH/FIFE/EDINBURGH
ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1000 AND 14 50 INCLUSIVE.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00

DUNBLANE - EDINBURGH-DUNBLANE

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1100 AND 14 00 INCLUSIVE.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00.

INVERNESS- EDINBURGH - INVERNESS
10 40 INVERNESS TO EDINBURGH

NORTH BERWICK - EDINBURGH - NORTH BERWICK

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 11 00 AND 14 00 INCLUSIVE.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00.

HELENSBURGH/AIRDRIE/BATHGATE TO EDINBURGH-BATHGATE/AIRDRIE/HELENSBURGH

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 11 25 AND 13 50

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00

TWEEDBANK-EDINBURGH-TWEEDBANK

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1100 AND 1400

ALL TRAINS FROM 1700

Hibernian V Ross County Cup final at Hampden Park K0 1500

GLASGOW/EDINBURGH

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 10 00 AND 1330 INCLUSIVE FROM EDINBURGH TO GLASGOW QUEEN ST AND GLASGOW CENTRAL.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 30 BETWEEN GLASGOW QUEEN ST/ GLASGOW CENTRAL AND EDINBURGH

1811 GLASGOW QUEEN ST TO INVERNESS

GLASGOW CENTRAL-MOUNT FLORIDA/KINGS PARK-GLASGOW CENTRAL

ALL TRAINS FROM 1100-1430 FROM GLASGOW CENTRAL TO MOUNT FLORIDA/KINGS PARK
ALL TRAINS FROM 1630 FROM MOUNT FLORIDA/KINGS PARK TO GLASGOW CENTRAL

In accordance with Byelaw 4(2) of Abellio ScotRail Limited Byelaws. Penalty not exceeding £1,000.

09-03-2016, 04:40 AM
No ban for the choo choo to Fundee :cb

Yes there is.

linlithgowhibbie
09-03-2016, 06:56 AM

no.:gwa:

09-03-2016, 06:59 AM

Have you ever been to Glasgow ? :greengrin

09-03-2016, 07:41 AM
I'm going to drink lemon Fanta until I start barfing up pure sugar :hyper

09-03-2016, 08:00 AM

😂 Of course you can take an unopened can on to the train, it's yours if you bought it. I'll be on a similar train btw, probably drinking a can of something, discreetly.

09-03-2016, 09:32 AM
Have you ever been to Glasgow ? :greengrin

Once a week unfortunately :-)

Yorkshire HFC
09-03-2016, 10:10 AM
Good.

percy veer
09-03-2016, 11:47 AM

why discriminate sport fans then, ban drink on all trains nanny state again

09-03-2016, 11:54 AM
Well, as Micky Weir said after the Skol Cup Win, I don't need drink to celebrate. :greengrin

09-03-2016, 01:09 PM
Alcohol Bans
The undernoted trains are banned from the sale and carrying of alcohol, and may be Police accompanied to discourage unruly behaviour. Please ensure that Alcohol Bans are displayed at least 72 hrs notice at all stations (staffed and unstaffed) on the routes stipulated. BANS APPLY TO ALL INTERMEDIATE STATIONS AND ANY RAIL REPLACEMENT SERVICES.

Note our current bans from 2100-1000 will apply.

Rugby Game Sunday 13 March Scotland V France KO 1500

GLASGOW/EDINBURGH

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 10 00 AND 1400 INCLUSIVE FROM GLASGOW QUEEN ST AND GLASGOW CENTRAL TO EDINBURGH.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00 BETWEEN EDINBURGH - GLASGOW QUEEN ST/ GLASGOW CENTRAL.

ABERDEEN - EDINBURGH- ABERDEEN
ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1000 AND 1300 INCLUSIVE FROM ABERDEEN TO EDINBURGH.

ALL TRAINS FROM 1700

DUNDEE - EDINBURGH-DUNDEE
ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 10 00 AND 1330 INCLUSIVE FROM DUNDEE TO EDINBURGH.

ALL TRAINS FROM 1700

PERTH - EDINBURGH-PERTH
ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1100 AND 13 30 INCLUSIVE FROM PERTH TO EDINBURGH.

ALL TRAINS FROM 1700

EDINBURGH/FIFE/EDINBURGH
ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1000 AND 14 50 INCLUSIVE.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00

DUNBLANE - EDINBURGH-DUNBLANE

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1100 AND 14 00 INCLUSIVE.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00.

INVERNESS- EDINBURGH - INVERNESS
10 40 INVERNESS TO EDINBURGH

NORTH BERWICK - EDINBURGH - NORTH BERWICK

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 11 00 AND 14 00 INCLUSIVE.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00.

HELENSBURGH/AIRDRIE/BATHGATE TO EDINBURGH-BATHGATE/AIRDRIE/HELENSBURGH

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 11 25 AND 13 50

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 00

TWEEDBANK-EDINBURGH-TWEEDBANK

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 1100 AND 1400

ALL TRAINS FROM 1700

Hibernian V Ross County Cup final at Hampden Park K0 1500

GLASGOW/EDINBURGH

ALL TRAINS BETWEEN 10 00 AND 1330 INCLUSIVE FROM EDINBURGH TO GLASGOW QUEEN ST AND GLASGOW CENTRAL.

ALL TRAINS FROM 17 30 BETWEEN GLASGOW QUEEN ST/ GLASGOW CENTRAL AND EDINBURGH

1811 GLASGOW QUEEN ST TO INVERNESS

GLASGOW CENTRAL-MOUNT FLORIDA/KINGS PARK-GLASGOW CENTRAL

ALL TRAINS FROM 1100-1430 FROM GLASGOW CENTRAL TO MOUNT FLORIDA/KINGS PARK
ALL TRAINS FROM 1630 FROM MOUNT FLORIDA/KINGS PARK TO GLASGOW CENTRAL

In accordance with Byelaw 4(2) of Abellio ScotRail Limited Byelaws. Penalty not exceeding £1,000.

Setting off before 10.00 so won't be an issue pre-match, just need to be discreet with the celebrations on return.

09-03-2016, 01:11 PM
Is alcohol not under a blanket ban on all trains before 10am anyway?

09-03-2016, 01:13 PM

Yes, on Scotrail trains.

09-03-2016, 01:18 PM

Fair point - discreet both ways it is then.

09-03-2016, 02:25 PM
Fair point - discreet both ways it is then.

More than likely queuing systems in operation at each end. Unless you can disguise 12 cans as something else it's highly unlikely you'll get through the barriers with bevy. Police may do searches.

09-03-2016, 02:39 PM
More than likely queuing systems in operation at each end. Unless you can disguise 12 cans as something else it's highly unlikely you'll get through the barriers with bevy. Police may do searches.

Never had to queue for either of the recent Scottish Cup finals, or had any problem getting a couple of cans on board.

09-03-2016, 02:49 PM
Never had to queue for either of the recent Scottish Cup finals, or had any problem getting a couple of cans on board.

Up to you but you run the risk of losing your booze or worst case scenario refused travel. No joke, I've seen it happen

09-03-2016, 03:05 PM

I realise it may be a bit of an issue and you may have to appease the bobby, however i can't imagine you'd be doing anything at all illegal if you walked on or off a train with 12 cans of beer.

09-03-2016, 03:23 PM

It is, but its not enforced on a normal day if your no in a group.

I was travelling to a wedding a year or so back on my own and had 2 cans for journey before I realised the ban was in place. I said to the conducter when he seen them I wont open then, i didnt realise. His response was bash on mate, we only enforce it if its a group of people drinking and being rowdy etc but if a guy on his own or sat with his wife were just having a couple of discreet drinks then it was fine with them.

obviously this wont be the thoughts for sunday

09-03-2016, 03:26 PM

Oh here we go, the English getting all disgusted :greengrin

This is Scotland. Nobody should be asking us to go 45 minutes without a bevy. The country has gone to the dugs :saltireflag

09-03-2016, 04:10 PM
Oh here we go, the English getting all disgusted :greengrin

This is Scotland. Nobody should be asking us to go 45 minutes without a bevy. The country has gone to the dugs :saltireflag

Hahahah... ahm mair wurried aboot travellin in the bus for an oor after aboot 5 pints and burstin firra pi5h, nivver mind a bevvy oan the train

09-03-2016, 05:22 PM

Waverley is going to have a few queuing Systems in place on Sunday due the football and rugby fans coming and going.

09-03-2016, 05:59 PM
Anyone know what time the pub in waverly serves from on a sunday?

10-03-2016, 12:42 PM

Should be okay with my 1.5 litre bottle of coke, the seal will show it hasn't been broken. :thumbsup:

10-03-2016, 12:45 PM
Waverley is going to have a few queuing Systems in place on Sunday due the football and rugby fans coming and going.

Haymarket is the place to get on, lucky if you see a police officer. :greengrin

10-03-2016, 01:37 PM
Haymarket is the place to get on, lucky if you see a police officer. :greengrin

If you're with a bird then always get off at Haymarket. :wink:

10-03-2016, 01:54 PM
Anyone know what time the pub in waverly serves from on a sunday?

9 o'clock

PiemanP
10-03-2016, 02:03 PM
Does anyone have any cheap train ticket deals? Am I cheaper buying in advance or is it the same as on the day?

10-03-2016, 02:26 PM
Does anyone have any cheap train ticket deals? Am I cheaper buying in advance or is it the same as on the day?

10.34 from Haymarket return is only £12.50.

Siralbertkidd
10-03-2016, 02:46 PM
9 o'clock

Afraid not mate, it is noon.

Mathias Jack
10-03-2016, 03:33 PM
Open Hours
Sunday9:00 - 23:00

Monday7:00 - 23:00

Tuesday7:00 - 23:00

Wednesday7:00 - 23:00

Thursday7:00 - 23:00

Friday7:00 - 0:00

Saturday7:00 - 0:00

10-03-2016, 03:34 PM
Open Hours

Opening hours won't necessarily be the same hours they have a licence to sell alcohol.

Andy.1875
10-03-2016, 03:38 PM
Opening hours won't necessarily be the same hours they have a licence to sell alcohol.

I've never known it to be open and not selling bevies.

10-03-2016, 03:41 PM
I have no idea on that specific pub but boozers opening hours are not always the same as the hours they sell alcohol. Weatherspoons for instance tend to open at 8am but dont sell booze until 11am.

10-03-2016, 06:13 PM
Open Hours

Doesn't sell alcohol that early on a Sunday 100%.