View Full Version : Parade Monday 21st

Pages : 1 [2]

11-03-2016, 05:49 PM
What a load o *****. How long would it take for them to parade the trophy on Sunday night. Do you think the players are just going to switch off and go home to bed after the game so they are fighting fit for the Wednesday night?

100% this. People need to get a grip when talking about this game on Wednesday......Wednesday!! A full 3 days later. A party from 9pm-11pm will make NO DIFFERENCE whatsoever! In fact I take that back, I think it would get Hibs up for the Inverness game even more!

Some memories in football are priceless for player and fan, and this kind of very thing (parade) is one.

It will be poorly attending a week on Monday. Shambolic.

11-03-2016, 05:51 PM
Having the players standing on an open top bus (if they win on Sunday) for a wee while, taking the applause of their supporters, is not going to make any difference to how they play the following Wednesday. None of the players will be, or should be, "out to the wee small hours" getting hammered or anything else. That's for the fans.

The guy you replied to is coming all the way from California for this match and I fully understand why he is very disappointed.

Cheers mate. It's horrible news, truly!

11-03-2016, 05:52 PM
It was indeed.
I thought it was. Well done for travelling all that way. :greengrin

Lee Marvin
11-03-2016, 05:52 PM
100% this. People need to get a grip when talking about this game on Wednesday......Wednesday!! A full 3 days later. A party from 9pm-11pm will make NO DIFFERENCE whatsoever! In fact I take that back, I think it would get Hibs up for the Inverness game even more!

Some memories in football are priceless for player and fan, and this kind of very thing (parade) is one.

It will be poorly attending a week on Monday. Shambolic.

Word for word this.

Monday, one week later, is actually taking the piss

Giro Playboy
11-03-2016, 05:53 PM
DID SOMEONE SAY PARADE??
Edinburgh’s Lord Provost Donald Wilson has revealed he plans to host a special reception for Hibs if they take the team to victory on Sunday in the Scottish League Cup Final.
He has offered to host a reception within the City Chambers on Monday, March 21, plus a public Victory Parade through the streets of Edinburgh that night.
... The parade would see team members board an open-top bus and travel from the High Street to Easter Road.
The Lord Provost offered a message of support ahead of the match. He said: “Good luck on Sunday! What a nail-biting weekend it is for sports fans in the city.
“Hibernian Football Club face their 10th Scottish League Cup Final and I’m sure the many thousands of fans heading to the match against Ross County will cheer loud enough for all of us remaining in Edinburgh.
“Alan Stubbs’ side is aiming for their fourth League Cup triumph and a return to the top and on behalf of the city, I’d like to wish the Club the very best of luck.
“Whatever the result I’m sure they will do the city proud but I can promise we’ll make sure they receive a fitting celebration

11-03-2016, 05:55 PM
Cheers mate. It's horrible news, truly!

I know where you're coming from California-Hibs. Lets hope Hibs can win the trophy on Sunday.

11-03-2016, 05:56 PM
DID SOMEONE SAY PARADE??
Edinburgh’s Lord Provost Donald Wilson has revealed he plans to host a special reception for Hibs if they take the team to victory on Sunday in the Scottish League Cup Final.
He has offered to host a reception within the City Chambers on Monday, March 21, plus a public Victory Parade through the streets of Edinburgh that night.
... The parade would see team members board an open-top bus and travel from the High Street to Easter Road.
The Lord Provost offered a message of support ahead of the match. He said: “Good luck on Sunday! What a nail-biting weekend it is for sports fans in the city.
“Hibernian Football Club face their 10th Scottish League Cup Final and I’m sure the many thousands of fans heading to the match against Ross County will cheer loud enough for all of us remaining in Edinburgh.
“Alan Stubbs’ side is aiming for their fourth League Cup triumph and a return to the top and on behalf of the city, I’d like to wish the Club the very best of luck.
“Whatever the result I’m sure they will do the city proud but I can promise we’ll make sure they receive a fitting celebration

I'd tell him to stick his reception up his arse.

I say we all head down to the ground and wait for the team bus. Do it ourselves.

Shore Thing
Im sure the council has held a civic reception at the city chambers one or two days after the cup final, when we have won in the past.
That doesn't mean to say that the team won't be returning to Easter Road after the game on Sunday. In the past I think it's usually been a fairly spontaneous lining of the streets on the Sunday evening.

Lets focus on winning it first though!

ruthven_raiders
I hope many others like myself and my crowd, head down to Easter Road regardless to welcome back the team!

Will the players cars be parked there? Thought they were staying in an out of town hotel before game?

DarrenSQH
11-03-2016, 06:00 PM
If we win, I'm heading to ER to watch the team get off the bus with the cup regardless of whether it's open top or not. Then having a party.

We should just ignore the council and have our own celebration in and around the stadium

11-03-2016, 06:00 PM

I say we all head down to the ground and wait for the team bus. Do it ourselves.

Unfortunately should we win, I dint think they would return to Easter road. I may be wrong but no other away game does I don't thin. The psluers coach leaves from a hotel well away from e.r I'm sure and will most likely return there

11-03-2016, 06:01 PM
If we win it a Sunday parade would have been a wee bonus, Monday is not really doable for us. I'll just be happy if we have reason to have one though, whether so could go to one or not will not affect my enjoyment of Sunday afternoon in any way.
:gwa::flag:

stanton_4
11-03-2016, 06:05 PM
There was a story in the press today where Stokes talked of looking forward to an open top bus celebration should we win. Perhaps he knows something? I see no reason why there can't be a parade where the players abstain from consuming alcohol and therefore have little or no effect on the game against ICT. Surely they (and we) are entitled to a parade of celebration.

11-03-2016, 06:06 PM
Anyone want to come to my hogmanay party tomorrow night?

If the parades is going to be a week later I won't be going whether I can make it or not, it's just daft as was getting the cup back out the cupboard at the Hearts game last time around.

Win the game, celebrate that weekend then get the cup back in the cabinet and focus on winning the next one.

Greenblood70
11-03-2016, 06:07 PM

Thats what our lot are doing if all goes to plan result wise - so will thousands of others - **** the 'offical reception'.

11-03-2016, 06:07 PM
16260A week later is taking the p177.
Pilgrimage should be made to ER on the Sunday regardless.
What symbolically can folks do once there tho to mark the occasion?

I'm wondering if green padlocks on the railings might symbolise presence and protest...

combo 0762

11-03-2016, 06:08 PM
If we win, I'm heading to ER to watch the team get off the bus with the cup regardless of whether it's open top or not. Then having a party.

We should just ignore the council and have our own celebration in and around the stadium

That's my plan. Head for a pub on ER or surrounding area and if they are mobbed then get a carry out and enjoy a party with loads of other like minded Hibbies.

11-03-2016, 06:14 PM
There was a story in the press today where Stokes talked of looking forward to an open top bus celebration should we win. Perhaps he knows something? I see no reason why there can't be a parade where the players abstain from consuming alcohol and therefore have little or no effect on the game against ICT. Surely they (and we) are entitled to a parade of celebration.

Stokes will be in London by 8pm on the Sunday down the rippers, come what may. I follow him on Bebo, so know this kind of stuff in advance.

11-03-2016, 06:16 PM
If we win I'll be in Edinburgh on Sunday night, on Monday I'll be back at work and nowhere near the city.

If it's Monday it's a terrible decision should we win, turnout will be dire.

EDIT: just noticed its the 21st, hilarious, good luck with that then.

11-03-2016, 06:17 PM
**** off.

This. Hibs should tell them to bolt. Disgrace if anyone at Hibs has agreed to it.

11-03-2016, 06:17 PM
Monday 21st? Very bad idea. Just put the team on a flippin bus and parade it sunday night. Dont really care if the bus rockets past and does the parade inside 15minutes as long as we see it.If this was the jambos they would be allowed it. Anyone remember what the plans where when they got pumped by St Mirren?

11-03-2016, 06:19 PM
This. Hibs should tell them to bolt. Disgrace if anyone at Hibs has agreed to it.

Hibs may well have told them to do one. Then the polis/council told them to go bolt and where does that leave us??

Still no parade. Anyone thinking Hibs are going to just go rogue and bang down ER in an open topped bus without the proper traffic and crowd control measures in place is displaying Yamtastic levels of delusion IMO.

11-03-2016, 06:21 PM
Deary me. The notion will have worn off by then ! :rolleyes:

11-03-2016, 06:23 PM
Hibs may well have told them to do one. Then the polis/council told them to go bolt and where does that leave us??

Still no parade. Anyone thinking Hibs are going to just go rogue and bang down ER in an open topped bus without the proper traffic and crowd control measures in place is displaying Yamtastic levels of delusion IMO.

Don't have a parade. Parade the trophy at the next home game. I'll be making sure my locally elected officials know what I think of this. Not that it will do any good :rolleyes:

11-03-2016, 06:26 PM
Monday 21st? Very bad idea. Just put the team on a flippin bus and parade it sunday night. Dont really care if the bus rockets past and does the parade inside 15minutes as long as we see it.If this was the jambos they would be allowed it. Anyone remember what the plans where when they got pumped by St Mirren?

A parade for them had been planned for the very same night.

11-03-2016, 06:28 PM
A parade for them had been planned for the very same night.

It had indeed. There was numerous photos on here of the bus sitting empty in the garage, temporary barriers in place around Gorgie and screenshots of the Lothian Buses declaring 'incident over' on Gorgie Road and so on.

Why it was ok then and not now is beyond me. Farcical.

Greenblood70
11-03-2016, 06:33 PM
It had indeed. There was numerous photos on here of the bus sitting empty in the garage, temporary barriers in place around Gorgie and screenshots of the Lothian Buses declaring 'incident over' on Gorgie Road and so on.

Agreed some of my happiest memories of previous LC victories are the scenes in Edinburgh that night when we get back.

There is going to be trouble in the City if there is nothing planned - folk will rightly go tonto about it.

Absolutely disgraceful situation and way to be treated by your own city.

11-03-2016, 06:34 PM
Sorry for infecting the thread with jambo buthttp://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/blog/newsblog/post/265/league-cup-final-%E2%80%93-potential-victory-parade

11-03-2016, 06:44 PM
Agreed some of my happiest memories of previous LC victories are the scenes in Edinburgh that night when we get back.

There is going to be trouble in the City if there is nothing planned - folk will rightly go tonto about it.

Absolutely disgraceful situation and way to be treated by your own city.

Pretty much sums it up for me.

11-03-2016, 06:47 PM

The council bending over backwards for their beloved hearts.

11-03-2016, 06:51 PM
The council bending over backwards for their beloved hearts.No parade for the Hibs and secret trips to Lithuania, Panorama or Dispatches might be watching.

11-03-2016, 06:53 PM
A week later? Eh, no ta.

What he said😡

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-03-2016, 06:54 PM
Hibs should tell them to ram-it.

Its another example of somebody not realising that spontaneity is a good thing, and stage managing it kills it. It will be weird an cringey, and i wont be going.

IF we win (fingers crossed, etc etc), why should the Lord Provost get to bask in the reflected glory? Hibs should tell them to ram it, do something at one of our own games or end of season, and make it clear that the Council havent allowed us and that the blame lies squarely with them.

Hibs should also come out and ask why it was OK for Hearts to have planned it in 2013?

I wonder what that SNP councillor who had a go at Hibs the other work (wrongly) thinks about it all?

Its time to flush these bassas out and publicly expose them.

11-03-2016, 06:57 PM
Time to close this thread now perhaps? We now know what the plans are for IF we win (whether you are happy with them or not) which was the point of the thread being started, lets just concentrate now on winning it and then we can worry about celebrate plans lol.

Don't want on lookers thinking this is us planning victory before a balls even been kicked. The plan has been released for best case scenario that we win so thats that cleared up.

11-03-2016, 07:02 PM
What.

Something along the lines of we'd rather get the players rested up before another big game 3 days later

or

What the hell we'l keep the players out till the wee small hours get them knackered and when we play pish and fall asleep during the SC QF on Wednesday and worry about the flack on this site then.

A one hour parade on the Sunday would make no difference to the players, if we win they will be high as kites.

Monday 21st is an absolute pisstake. Why not Sunday 20th in the afternoon. Grunts at the council are at it. Would like to here a full explanation of this appalling decision from the council not the drip feed of info we have had up to now.

11-03-2016, 07:04 PM
Hibs should tell them to ram-it.

Its another example of somebody not realising that spontaneity is a good thing, and stage managing it kills it. It will be weird an cringey, and i wont be going.

IF we win (fingers crossed, etc etc), why should the Lord Provost get to bask in the reflected glory? Hibs should tell them to ram it, do something at one of our own games or end of season, and make it clear that the Council havent allowed us and that the blame lies squarely with them.

Hibs should also come out and ask why it was OK for Hearts to have planned it in 2013?

I wonder what that SNP councillor who had a go at Hibs the other work (wrongly) thinks about it all?

Its time to flush these bassas out and publicly expose them.

Absolutely this.

Skol
11-03-2016, 07:13 PM
lets win the thing first

11-03-2016, 07:15 PM
DID SOMEONE SAY PARADE??

They can stick that. Waste of time.

Is this not even worse for our prep on Wednesday?

Not assuming we will win but, you know..

11-03-2016, 07:18 PM

it would be a week on monday

11-03-2016, 07:19 PM

So it would. Even bigger waste of time then.

11-03-2016, 07:20 PM

A week on Monday quit simply an astounding decision. No doubt Lord provost getting bladdered at the rugby..

11-03-2016, 07:21 PM
Very dissapointed, and really would like hibs to clarify who's decision it was.

Just hope if we win, and to anyone who thinks wmthis thread is arrogant, it's not, but IF we win just hope my wee boy will be awake to see any parade.

Forgetting about this now and concentrating on the game. Any win and the party will be sweet enough. GGTTH

11-03-2016, 07:22 PM

Which makes it even mare laughable..By that time we will be over the League cup final and will have our head screwed on for the final push in league placings trying to get 2nd place..Celebrating the cup final 8 days later ? lol

11-03-2016, 07:22 PM
A one hour parade on the Sunday would make no difference to the players, if we win they will be high as kites.

Monday 21st is an absolute pisstake. Why not Sunday 20th in the afternoon. Grunts at the council are at it. Would like to here a full explanation of this appalling decision from the council not the drip feed of info we have had up to now.

Agree it should be Sunday night and I suspect many supporters will go to Easter Road anyway which is probably a greater safety risk. Seemingly there is a demonstration on the following Sunday which is why it is not allowed on that day.

Wonder if this is due to the Scottish (Glasgow) Police Service being in charge rather than the old L&B force as they seem to treat us all like Celtic and The Rangers and probably aren't in favour of any parades. They took over after Hearts had their invisible parade after the St Mirren match.

hibbymick
11-03-2016, 07:23 PM
lets win the thing first

I agree, nothing like tempting fate.

11-03-2016, 07:24 PM
Which makes it even mare laughable..By that time we will be over the League cup final and will have our head screwed on for the final push in league placings trying to get 2nd place..Celebrating the cup final 8 days later ? lol

We should get some kind of Facebook campaign going or something to encourage as many Hibs fans as possible to pile down to Leith Links or the like for 8 or 9pm for a big party if we win. Carry outs, food and a big sing song. What are the Police going to do? Arrest hundreds of people for having a good time.

Greenblood70
11-03-2016, 07:34 PM
We should get some kind of Facebook campaign going or something to encourage as many Hibs fans as possible to pile down to Leith Links or the like for 8 or 9pm for a big party if we win. Carry outs, food and a big sing song. What are the Police going to do? Arrest hundreds of people for having a good time.

Exactly - theere is no way folk are just going to quietly toddle off home if we are fortunate and good enough to win on Sunday.

The parties involved in making this absolutely farcical decision have created a situation where it will actually be more difficult to control than if theyd just gone ahead and had the parade.

**** the council and the police - if we win we celebrate in the streets of our City on the night.

11-03-2016, 07:36 PM

Right up my street

11-03-2016, 07:41 PM
Hibs should just say thanks but no thanks ya jambo luving council!!!

11-03-2016, 07:43 PM
Hibs should just say thanks but no thanks ya jambo luving council!!!

Not wanting to defend the council but the police will have a big say in this.

11-03-2016, 07:46 PM

How hard is it to hire a open top bus. Make a mock cup and stick 2.fingers up haha

11-03-2016, 07:57 PM
I refuse to get upset at this until we win the cup. Then I'm going to be raging but not a minute before then.

ruthven_raiders
11-03-2016, 08:13 PM
I refuse to get upset at this until we win the cup. Then I'm going to be raging but not a minute before then.

This! Well said, also let's close thread now.....

11-03-2016, 08:15 PM
Haven't read through the whole thread but when I read there that if we win the parade would be on the Monday I presumed it would be the Monday after the final.

That would have been bad enough and a total damp squid. Having it a week on Monday would be a complete and utter waste of time.

If its on the Sunday i'll be there (regardless of how short it is) but if its any other day I wont bother. I'd guess that the majority of fans would be the same.

And who gives a f*** if the lord provost makes an appearance or not?!?

11-03-2016, 08:19 PM

Do you not think it will be a wee bit too late to do anything about it by then?

11-03-2016, 08:25 PM
Haven't read through the whole thread but when I read there that if we win the parade would be on the Monday I presumed it would be the Monday after the final.

That would have been bad enough and a total damp squid. Having it a week on Monday would be a complete and utter waste of time.

If its on the Sunday i'll be there (regardless of how short it is) but if its any other day I wont bother. I'd guess that the majority of fans would be the same.

And who gives a f*** if the lord provost makes an appearance or not?!?

Could turn out to be a bit embarrassing. Hibs history would suggest we would lose the next two games and the parade would become a bit of a nightmare. Hopefully not but doing it some time later leaves you open to such things. It's not like we have a massive support out there that will all come out for a league cup win 8 days later.

MichelleHibs
11-03-2016, 08:57 PM
That's ridiculous for us out of towners who make the effort to come and support them each week. Next they'll be telling us we'll earn loyalty points if we turn up?! Completely baffling hibs... Let the Lord provost host them a week later when he can fit them in but let the fans celebrate on the day (should we be lucky enough!!)

11-03-2016, 09:03 PM

No point asking me, I'll be drunk.

11-03-2016, 09:05 PM

Most weeks the players meet at a hotel on the outskirts of the city and leave their cars there. Think it might be the same on Sunday.

The club might have a plan for the players, staff and families for back at ER at night

11-03-2016, 09:10 PM

Why would it be too late by then ?

itslegaltender
11-03-2016, 09:11 PM
Easter Road on Sunday night from 7pm it is then.

11-03-2016, 09:13 PM
If they win the club have booked one of the establishments in George Street.

11-03-2016, 09:13 PM
Most weeks the players meet at a hotel on the outskirts of the city and leave their cars there. Think it might be the same on Sunday.

The club might have a plan for the players, staff and families for back at ER at night

The team are staying at Mar Hall tomorrow night, I was reading earlier. Think that is the same place that the Scotland team use now.

I'd imagine they'll be meeting at the stadium or East Mains to travel through there. Maybe just go directly from East Mains tomorrow after their final training session?

hibbydad
11-03-2016, 09:15 PM
Easter Road on Sunday night from 7pm it is then.

If we wi we should all head tom ER the lord provost can get lost

11-03-2016, 09:17 PM
The team are staying at Mar Hall tomorrow night, I was reading earlier. Think that is the same place that the Scotland team use now.

I'd imagine they'll be meeting at the stadium or East Mains to travel through there. Maybe just go directly from East Mains tomorrow after their final training session?

I was meaning for Sunday. I know they are staying in Glasgow on Saturday night. It's safer to leave their cars at the hotel in Edinburgh than east mains which will probably be unmanned over weekend

11-03-2016, 09:21 PM
Why would it be too late by then ?

Because you have to have things in place for a parade.

If we forget about it until half past five on the Sunday then what chance is there of having anything that night?

11-03-2016, 09:28 PM

This. IF we were to win.

And if the Chaplins bus were to happen by playing SoL and other Hibs melodies, then all the better.

linlithgowhibbie
11-03-2016, 09:49 PM
Hows about the Tron outside the city chambers from 7pm till 8pm. We can celebrate/party, stick the proverbial fingers up at the council, gob on the Heart of Midlothian and then head down Leith.

:gwa:

11-03-2016, 09:54 PM

Players will be in for a wee hour or so in the morning for some training on Saturday, then they will be allowed to go home to see the family and get things sorted for the Sunday with them, they will then have to be at the hotel for about 5/6 o'clock at night and put to to bed for the night, that's where they will park there cars that night and the bus on the way home win or lose will take the players back to the hotel, the bus will be escorted back by the Police if we win and if there is to be no parade then the police will direct the bus back to the hotel.

I don't think the club will just say "right see you the morn for training" as soon as the bus gets back, the club will arrange something for them but it will be players coaching staff, staff from the club and family members only, where a celebration will take place (if we win) for them, will be low key and only a couple of drinks and then home for them, it might be held at ER or even the hotel they go back to. Just my thoughts on things. :greengrin

11-03-2016, 10:03 PM
Easiest party street with most space would have to surely be Leith Walk !

11-03-2016, 10:10 PM
lets win it 1st,we can party on anytime

11-03-2016, 10:31 PM
It's a bad idea not to have a parade because it would be a big disappointment to Hibs fans and reeks of nanny state-ism but they are not "asking for trouble" in the sense that I suspect you mean it.

If there's no parade, anyone doing any sort of damage to council buildings/pavement dancing or anything similar will have no justification for doing so.that's rich coming from someone that does not pay council tax etc here. the ordinary fans , and lets be honest a lot of them, will be drinking bigstyle if we win. why cant they "pavement dance" in the city they live in? is this some sort of crime, and is it causing damage? . the poster that mentioned trouble, was I assume referring to the possibility of fans being noisy in the streets then suddenly challenged by the police ,which in turn could inflame the situation. they can ban our parade but not our party , if we win.

11-03-2016, 10:40 PM
I would as I have always done headed through to Edinburgh if we win and there was the Cup being Paraded .if we win I am sure I will still head through .
But I won't be driving through on a Monday night a week later For me the moment has then gone

11-03-2016, 10:44 PM
A week on Monday is laughable. If they can't do it on Sunday night (which they can) then I would leave any potential parade until the end if the season but only have it if we win the Scottish Cup or promotion.

11-03-2016, 10:50 PM
DID SOMEONE SAY PARADE??
“Whatever the result I’m sure they will do the city proud but I can promise we’ll make sure they receive a fitting celebrationAye right Donald. you did say that without s******ing, didn't you ya ****ing clown

11-03-2016, 10:54 PM
that's rich coming from someone that does not pay council tax etc here. the ordinary fans , and lets be honest a lot of them, will be drinking bigstyle if we win. why cant they "pavement dance" in the city they live in? is this some sort of crime, and is it causing damage? . the poster that mentioned trouble, was I assume referring to the possibility of fans being noisy in the streets then suddenly challenged by the police ,which in turn could inflame the situation. they can ban our parade but not our party , if we win.

:greengrin I think by 'pavement dancing' the poster means fighting in the streets. I don't think he meant people literally dancing on the pavements in joy. That was still allowed the last time I checked.

11-03-2016, 11:08 PM
Exactly - theere is no way folk are just going to quietly toddle off home if we are fortunate and good enough to win on Sunday.

The parties involved in making this absolutely farcical decision have created a situation where it will actually be more difficult to control than if theyd just gone ahead and had the parade.

**** the council and the police - if we win we celebrate in the streets of our City on the night.

Exactly :partyhibb

11-03-2016, 11:10 PM
:greengrin I think by 'pavement dancing' the poster means fighting in the streets. I don't think he meant people literally dancing on the pavements in joy. That was still allowed the last time I checked. fair enough:greengrin wont stop me from hand jiving in the direction of the polis, if they think they'll stop me from pavement dancing:thumbsup:

tonyhib7
11-03-2016, 11:13 PM
I am a season ticket holder and travel down to Easter from Monifieth outside Dundee to watch the Hibs.
I have been to every cup final since the 60's. I have taken time off my work on the Monday in the event we win the cup to enjoy the celebrations down Easter road as we have done in the past to see the cup being parade on the open top bus while our emotions are still running high. I fine this idea that of having a parade on Monday 21st a complete disrespect for the traveling fans not just from Scotland but from all over the world who have spent hard earned money to travel and not be part of the final celebrations down Easter road should we win the cup.
If this is the case I will not be able to attend the so call celebrations on the 21st as I will be in Portugal on holiday and even if I wasn't on holiday I would not attend as it would not be emotionally the same.
So could someone provide me with Leeann email as I wish to relay my feelings directly to her and how again I feel as a traveling supporter and season ticket holder we are being let down and I wish an answer to why this has been left to the last minute to be relaid to the support.

When we win the cup on Sunday I will still be heading down Easter road to celebrate as we all should as it is our night not the Lord provost or any one else to tell us when we can celebrate.

11-03-2016, 11:18 PM
damp squid.
A what?
(IT Crowd folk ken whit's gaun oan)

AL-Qaholik
11-03-2016, 11:44 PM
A what?

Stop putting him on a pedal stool.

11-03-2016, 11:46 PM
I am a season ticket holder and travel down to Easter from Monifieth outside Dundee to watch the Hibs.
I have been to every cup final since the 60's. I have taken time off my work on the Monday in the event we win the cup to enjoy the celebrations down Easter road as we have done in the past to see the cup being parade on the open top bus while our emotions are still running high. I fine this idea that of having a parade on Monday 21st a complete disrespect for the traveling fans not just from Scotland but from all over the world who have spent hard earned money to travel and not be part of the final celebrations down Easter road should we win the cup.
If this is the case I will not be able to attend the so call celebrations on the 21st as I will be in Portugal on holiday and even if I wasn't on holiday I would not attend as it would not be emotionally the same.
So could someone provide me with Leeann email as I wish to relay my feelings directly to her and how again I feel as a traveling supporter and season ticket holder we are being let down and I wish an answer to why this has been left to the last minute to be relaid to the support.

When we win the cup on Sunday I will still be heading down Easter road to celebrate as we all should as it is our night not the Lord provost or any one else to tell us when we can celebrate.

GGTTH:aok: don't have her address, but some on here may. check the official site

Archie89
12-03-2016, 05:31 AM
Can this thread title be changed to "Potential Parade Monday 21st"?

12-03-2016, 06:48 AM
This is the same city that brags about having the biggest street party every year at New Year yet is unable to somehow accommodate a rugby match in the afternoon from which the vast majority would be travelling home by the time Hibs fans return if we were to win. There is IMO no way on this earth that a parade could not be done say 8pm until 9pm on the night. Quite simply whoever has made this decision is absolutely at it and isn't it so typical that we still don't know the reasons and why such a nonsense decision has been made. Faceless unaccountable morons.

12-03-2016, 07:01 AM
Just caught up with this decision, which is wrong on so many levels and for so many reasons.

All those who have been involved in discussions and in agreeing to delay any post-match celebrations for 8 days needs to be NAMED and SHAMED. It is a truly horrendous decision that only utter incompetents or cowards could make.

If we win, I genuinely fear that any "parade" will be poorly attended, contrived and cringingly embarrassing for the players, the fans and the club. LD needs to protect the club's reputation and tell the Lord Provist, the Council and Police to stuff it. Edinburgh will have FAILED in its duties, FAILED the good citizens of Leith and FAILED Hibernian FC.

12-03-2016, 07:08 AM
This is the same city that brags about having the biggest street party every year at New Year yet is unable to somehow accommodate a rugby match in the afternoon from which the vast majority would be travelling home by the time Hibs fans return if we were to win. There is IMO no way on this earth that a parade could not be done say 8pm until 9pm on the night. Quite simply whoever has made this decision is absolutely at it and isn't it so typical that we still don't know the reasons and why such a nonsense decision has been made. Faceless unaccountable morons.

:top marks I share your despair. IMO we need a full and formal statement from Leanne Dempster explaining who was involved and why the club has agreed to this.

12-03-2016, 07:14 AM
:top marks I share your despair. IMO we need a full and formal statement from Leanne Dempster explaining who was involved and why the club has agreed to this.

I'd imagine Hibs are keeping their powder dry until after the game so as not to give the impression that they are sure they will win. Can you imagine the tabloids with the headlines Hibs think they have already won the cup. I am hoping if we win the club give whoever has made this call both barrels and rip them apart.

ruthven_raiders
12-03-2016, 07:17 AM
I'd imagine Hibs are keeping their powder dry until after the game so as not to give the impression that they are sure they will win. Can you imagine the tabloids with the headlines Hibs think they have already won the cup. I am hoping if we win the club give whoever has made this call both barrels and rip them apart.

Exactly, that's why this thread should be deleted and let's concentrate on the game tomorrow 😊

12-03-2016, 07:19 AM

Exactly.

If we win, I will be meeting up with some people and getting pished, might even see the players and the cup, but not having an official parade/ceremony wont worry me one bit.

And having it the week after is just stupid, Hibs should just say nope, we will bring it out at the next home game.

12-03-2016, 07:21 AM

It's symptomatic of a wider problem within Edinburghs council. They are utterly determined to kill off any personality, character or traits that belong to the city and turn it into just another dull urban area.

****ing clueless the lot of them.

12-03-2016, 07:22 AM
Agree we should only speak after the game but then it should only involve telling them to stick their Monday parade up their hoop.

The more I think about this the more annoyed I get. What about the players who dream about going on an open top bus parade? Their moment is being partially ruined by sad little suits in the council or the police who are probably hearts fans.

Stuff the Lord Provost. We should have a street party after the game and something arranged for our next home match. It's a poor substitute but it's better than the laughable alternative.

12-03-2016, 07:24 AM
Exactly, that's why this thread should be deleted and let's concentrate on the game tomorrow 😊

Definitely shouldn't be deleted. :confused:

I'm sure the players will be totally focused, don't worry.

12-03-2016, 07:31 AM
Definitely shouldn't be deleted. :confused:

I'm sure the players will be totally focused, don't worry.

:agree: If we delete it, this decision will be swept under the carpet and those involved will slink away into the dark with a contented smirk on their two faces. LD and the Hibs Board need to pick this up, irrespective of tomorrow's outcome.

Peanut Shaz
12-03-2016, 07:35 AM
I'm dealing with the Council just now regarding a personal matter and on a professional level, a work issue. I have never come across a more incompetent organisation ever. It is a shambles. This decision does not surprise me one bit. Must be the worst Council in the country. Seriously.

12-03-2016, 07:39 AM
Stop putting him on a pedal stool.

What's a Pedal Stool green grin

12-03-2016, 07:48 AM
We should just pack out princes st unless they change their mind.

hibeesathampden
12-03-2016, 07:49 AM
IF Edinburgh Council have made the decision and Hibs are willing to allow the fans and players chance to celebrate back in Edinburgh then they could still do so. Fine, there cannot be a parade without the agreement and backing of the Council but what's to stop Hibs opening up Easter Road and have the players bring the trophy out. If organised properly doesn't have to be a big deal, few interviews with players and a lap of honour with the trophy. Would much prefer this to a half hearted attempt at a parade over a week past the final.

All assuming we win of course!

12-03-2016, 07:56 AM
The article says:

'He has offered to host a reception within the City Chambers on Monday, March 21, plus a public Victory Parade through the streets of Edinburgh that night.'

This would indicate the council have invited Hibs without any consultation with Hibs. Hibs should politely decline, let the players go to City Chambers for afternoon tea and meet Lord Provost but that's it.

With regards to a parade, IF WE WIN, let the fans have what they want; bring it back to Leith the night straight after the game.

The club can then move on and concentrate on the Scottish Cup and League.

Over a week to wait for a parade on a Monday night is just a kick in the teeth to the fans. No way Hibs have been consulted on this, it's purely a cooncil decision.

hibeesathampden
12-03-2016, 08:01 AM
The article says:

'He has offered to host a reception within the City Chambers on Monday, March 21, plus a public Victory Parade through the streets of Edinburgh that night.'

This would indicate the council have invited Hibs without any consultation with Hibs. Hibs should politely decline, let the players go to City Chambers for afternoon tea and meet Lord Provost but that's it.

With regards to a parade, IF WE WIN, let the fans have what they want; bring it back to Leith the night straight after the game.

The club can then move on and concentrate on the Scottish Cup and League.

Over a week to wait for a parade on a Monday night is just a kick in the teeth to the fans. No way Hibs have been consulted on this, it's purely a cooncil decision.

I hope you're right, I'm concerned though that Hibs haven't moved to reassure fans before now. The fact they've said nothing the day before the final makes me think that there is nothing in place.

12-03-2016, 08:26 AM
Total farce, IMHO. It's like getting your exam results but being told you can't celebrate that night, after all your hard work/efforts/preparation.

Funny how an Orange Walk was allowed on the same day as a Hibs game a few years back and marathons are held also.

12-03-2016, 08:55 AM
Spontaneity. In the "festival city". It would be like some bizarre scene out of a fringe comedy show. Absolute joke. Mibbie the councillors should use some of their slush funds to visit the carnaval in Brazil to see how to loosen up a bit and live in the moment.

Imagine the council - "excuse me Mr Mercury - I know you're having such a good time, having a ball but I'm afraid we'll have to stop you there. Can you hold that moment tho and come back in about a week?" If we win the decision makers should get pummelled for this. Maybe the people of Leith should declare the "lightening plebiscite" unlawful, claim independence from Embra and do their own thing anyway...?

12-03-2016, 08:56 AM
I hope you're right, I'm concerned though that Hibs haven't moved to reassure fans before now. The fact they've said nothing the day before the final makes me think that there is nothing in place.

It's a bit irrelevant the timing though. If we win, Hibs will put something on Twitter to say "bus arriving at ER at 8pm" or whatever and it will go round instantly.

12-03-2016, 08:59 AM
Instead of sufficiently planning the police and council have ensured that they will have a challenge on their hands should we win. It's a complete shambles and they have neglected the good law abiding fans who may get caught up in the maelström of the authorities making. This should have been resolved long ago in consultation with the Edinburgh clubs and the muppets.

Gordy M
12-03-2016, 09:17 AM
I assume that someone has to 'apply' for the parade? I take it that happened and the council and police have come out and said that a parade is not allowed?

Frogga
12-03-2016, 09:37 AM
Someone at my work's police-working partner is apparently pencilled in to work at any parade we may have on Sunday.

12-03-2016, 09:46 AM
A what?

:faf: great spot!

12-03-2016, 10:13 AM
I like the idea of an unofficial party somewhere like leith walk or leith links and the fact it sticks a massive 2 fingers up at the clowns who made this decision is even better.

galahibee
12-03-2016, 10:38 AM
Not seen it mentioned but if the parade is on the 21st even more pointless at least 3 players Mcginn, Henderson and Cummings won't be able to make it as away on international duty

12-03-2016, 11:17 AM
I'm dealing with the Council just now regarding a personal matter and on a professional level, a work issue. I have never come across a more incompetent organisation ever. It is a shambles. This decision does not surprise me one bit. Must be the worst Council in the country. Seriously.

Edinburgh council are an absolute shambles, and speaking from personal experience, an extremely unpleasant organisation.

Peanut Shaz
12-03-2016, 11:44 AM
Edinburgh council are an absolute shambles, and speaking from personal experience, an extremely unpleasant organisation.

👍

12-03-2016, 12:09 PM
We should shut princess st down.
Aye that would be even better. What we could do is pretend to be rugby fans and the police would just dismiss it as 'banter' :greengrin

12-03-2016, 12:12 PM
Aye that would be even better. What we could do is pretend to be rugby fans and the police would just dismiss it as 'banter' :greengrin

Pissing in pint glasses, brightly coloured trousers and an unhealthy desire to get your cock out at every opportunity should be the prefect disguise.

(Before anyone starts I'm aware most rugby fans aren't like this but a hell of a lot of the 6 Nations day trippers are)

12-03-2016, 12:12 PM
Would like to take that statement back, I wouldn't want to encourage public disorder. 🙄

12-03-2016, 01:51 PM
Ok what's the hashtag?

#YouveGottaFight4YourRight2Party ?

12-03-2016, 05:53 PM
IF Hibs were to win tomorrow, being realistic, how many people are likely to turn out on the streets of Edinburgh at 8pm on a Monday night, eight days after the final?

A large number of Hibs supporters who were at the final, 8 days previously FFS, probably wouldn't or couldn't be there for all sorts of reasons, and any "parade" could turn out to be a farce and an embarrassment.

Better not having a "parade" at all under these circumstances. Shambles.:grr:

12-03-2016, 05:56 PM
IF Hibs were to win tomorrow, being realistic, how many people are likely to turn out on the streets of Edinburgh at 8pm on a Monday night, eight days after the final?

A large number of Hibs supporters who were at the final, 8 days previously FFS, probably wouldn't or couldn't be there for all sorts of reasons, and any "parade" could turn out to be a farce and an embarrassment.

We're having one with or without the consent of the powers that be. We can all congregate around Easter Road and Albion Road waiting for the team bus to come back.

12-03-2016, 05:57 PM
We're having one with or without the consent of the powers that be. We can all congregate around Easter Road and Albion Road waiting for the team bus to come back.

Exactly.

If we win tomorrow there's nowhere in the world I'd rather be than around about ER with or without the consent of a bunch of pen pushers.

EH54
12-03-2016, 05:59 PM
Exactly.

If we win tomorrow there's nowhere in the world I'd rather be than around about ER with or without the consent of a bunch of pen pushers.

my thoughts exactly if we do win the cup our bus is dropping us off at ER with or without a parade :flag:

12-03-2016, 06:00 PM

I suspect that's what will happen on Sunday night (hopefully!!) or something like that anyway. But you get the point I'm making about an official parade?

EH54
12-03-2016, 06:02 PM
I suspect that's what will happen on Sunday night (hopefully!!) or something like that anyway. But you get the point I'm making about an official parade?

totally it almost as if there saying winning a cup doesn't mean much, i would be pissed off if it was on Monday after the final never mind a week on Monday

12-03-2016, 06:17 PM
totally it almost as if there saying winning a cup doesn't mean much, i would be pissed off if it was on Monday after the final never mind a week on Monday

:agree: The bit in bold is beyond belief really. I look forward to hearing from someone in authority why that day was chosen. Someone from the police, the council, and / or Hibs perhaps?

Maybe there's a good reason that we are not aware of? If so, lets hear it.

12-03-2016, 06:30 PM

:top marks My thoughts exactly. It will just embarrass the club.

12-03-2016, 07:54 PM
So if we win the cup the morn, the stadium isn't thrown open, nae big party and a big week to calm down, loose the buzz and then "celebrate"!?!!?!?

Really. WTAF!!!

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Silky
12-03-2016, 08:16 PM
It's a joke. No reason why we all shouldn't turn up at Easter Road if we win and have a party. Edinburgh Council should remember the old adage that he who pays the piper calls the tune. We pay our Council Tax, if we win tomorrow we call the tune!! 😃

12-03-2016, 08:44 PM
If we win I'd imagine there will be thousands on Leith walk bevvying away and celebrating.

Be class if everyone made the decision to leave at about 8/9 and start heading towards the stadium:greengrin

capitals_finest
12-03-2016, 09:01 PM
Instead of sufficiently planning the police and council have ensured that they will have a challenge on their hands should we win. It's a complete shambles and they have neglected the good law abiding fans who may get caught up in the maelström of the authorities making. This should have been resolved long ago in consultation with the Edinburgh clubs and the muppets.

Well said. This is just another example of their incompetence. I really hope the people that made these decisions are named and shamed... Lets bin these idiots.

12-03-2016, 09:06 PM
Reading through this I think it's fair to assert that most fans would accept no celebration party at Easter Road provided we got to see the team parade the cups on return to Edinburgh. If we win , is that really too much to ask for ?

12-03-2016, 09:19 PM
F*** the council, F*** the polis, if we win we are having a party on Easter Road, if 1000's turn up there is nothing the polis can do apart from let it go ahead, they ain't going to start lifting everyone, carry oot and corner of ER & Albion Rd and we are sorted, and wait for the team to arrive with the cup at the front of the bus.

The Hibs are having a party.

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

12-03-2016, 09:22 PM
Reading through this I think it's fair to assert that most fans would accept no celebration party at Easter Road provided we got to see the team parade the cups on return to Edinburgh. If we win , is that really too much to ask for ?I'd rather we parade it through the team bus window tomorrow night than an open top bus on a far away monday when the buzz has gone.

12-03-2016, 10:24 PM
F*** the council, F*** the polis, if we win we are having a party on Easter Road, if 1000's turn up there is nothing the polis can do apart from let it go ahead, they ain't going to start lifting everyone, carry oot and corner of ER & Albion Rd and we are sorted, and wait for the team to arrive with the cup at the front of the bus.

The Hibs are having a party.

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

Just like the single twally of a yam yam that held up our cup parade at ER the polis have shown themselves more than capable of sitting on their hands when suits. However in the new era of weegie policing perhaps any perceived liberties will be swirly and harshly dealt with. It's incredible that things could come to this. Someone needs to take accountability for this and explain their rationale (sorry if this has been done but if it has even then it's too little too late)

CEC - Edinburgh's modern day disgrace and #omnishambles ?