View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 1-1 Inverness (Keatings)

Pages : 1 [2]

06-03-2016, 02:13 PM
Beautifully worked goal, Stokes playing really well and good to see Keatings get the goal.

Can't understand why many have been having a go at Stokes recently he is quality.

Keatings!!!! Well deserved!!!!:flag:

YAAAAAAS. Great move! :not worth

Brilliant:flag::flag:

Need to keep it going and keep our concentration. They are still a dangerous side.

Breakthrough!

Wonderfully worked goal. C'Mon the cabbage.

Hibs 1 Referee 0

06-03-2016, 02:14 PM
Leeann getting strippoed to come on

Leanne in the dugout. My kind of woman.

spudhib
Stokes and keatings looking good,same next week?

Off the bar
Yessss!! My stream is miles behind .net! Strange watching play knowing we're gonna score

06-03-2016, 02:15 PM
Tansey is a thug.

06-03-2016, 02:15 PM
Keep it tight for 5 or so Hibs.

supermcginn
06-03-2016, 02:16 PM
Stokes is different class! Just needed time to get sharp!

06-03-2016, 02:16 PM
Ffs what a greeting shower ICT are.

Yogi having another 2nd season meltdown.

06-03-2016, 02:17 PM
Tight now Hibs tight.

Keep playing the same and we will win

06-03-2016, 02:17 PM
Brilliant goal. Great work by stokes to set it up.
Trip to London hasn't affected him at all:greengrin

06-03-2016, 02:18 PM
This ref is absolutely 100% at it.

06-03-2016, 02:19 PM
How is that an ICT foul??

Fonts and Darren coping well with these high diagonal.

Edson Arantes
Stokes is different class! Just needed time to get sharp!

Took his time though.

Anyway GGTTH

Come on the cabbage.

06-03-2016, 02:20 PM
Fonts and Darren coping well with these high diagonals.

How is that an ICT foul??

warren was a sneaky git it was him that fouled McGinn

pmsl@ that dive by the caley player

Happy to give it out but big Liam stood his ground.

Like to give it out but not happy when the shoes on the other foot.

06-03-2016, 02:21 PM
The referee has let about 18 clear fouls on Hibs go and then McGinn slightly clips his man and the ref rips his diaphragm blowing the whistle

Man Down Under
Haha. Fair play ref

Sent from my GT-I9500 using Tapatalk

caley players resorting to diving now eh...big whimps

They are now being sneaky greeting faced ****s. 6ft 5 and screaming like a bairn.

Get up

Off the bar
06-03-2016, 02:22 PM
Gary Warren what a fud

06-03-2016, 02:22 PM
c'mon the red card coming soon for a caley player

06-03-2016, 02:23 PM
Some really naught challenges going in by ICT

Henderson some composure son

c'mon the red card coming soon for a caley player

We need to stay disciplined though and not get drawn into it!

Man Down Under
Cards coming out now. Rightly so.

Caley don't seem to like teams getting in their faces. Losing it a little. Their #5 is an embarrassment. Ref still being a dick

06-03-2016, 02:24 PM
Im really starting to hate Inverness.What a bunch of snivelling, greeting faced, diving nobs.

Henderson has to do better than that.

That's a booking surely pulling his jersey off his back.

15 ICT fouls

06-03-2016, 02:25 PM
Im really starting to hate Inverness.What a bunch of snivelling, greeting faced, diving nobs.

Absolute erseholes.

McGregor has owned that ugly ****er Storey so far. Outstanding work.

That Shorey is a right little welt. Been at it all game

Ref has lost it here. Hibs players beware nowt stupid!

Need to get ICT players to commit to tackles in and around their box. They are going in heavy.

highland hibbee
06-03-2016, 02:26 PM
Always have been. Maybe at last we have a team who stand up to their ****

06-03-2016, 02:27 PM
Turning into a mass brawl

ICT better in last 5 we need to keep it tight.

Maybe worth getting Boyle on to run at them

Unlucky there.

oooooohh nearly for stokes

Best team by some distance.

We need another goal.

My nerves are shot

Off the bar
06-03-2016, 02:28 PM
Second goal for hibs kills this game

06-03-2016, 02:29 PM
Keatings booked for diving.

Man Down Under
Hibs score a second and it's game over.

Stokes has been superb today. Another goal please hibs

Second goal for hibs kills this game

It would and I want one now

06-03-2016, 02:30 PM
How is that not a booking?

This referee and ICT team are a disgrace.

How's that not a booking.

studs went in to grays ankle

what a waste

06-03-2016, 02:31 PM
27 should be in book for tackle on Gray

06-03-2016, 02:33 PM
They must practice that scream in training when they get tackled.

Too deep Hibs too deep. Let's push out

06-03-2016, 02:33 PM
Fallen out of the game.

06-03-2016, 02:34 PM
p@sh again from lewis

Lewis firing a poor cross inches there's no one in the box.

Is it me or does the ball seem to bounce higher at ER than anywhere else?

Thomo will have some bruises tomorrow. He's done well in the Marvin role.

06-03-2016, 02:35 PM
ah well

That's been coming.

Sitting criminally deep.

Bugger

This a replay or extra time?

06-03-2016, 02:36 PM
This a replay or extra time?

Replay.

06-03-2016, 02:36 PM
We've let a pish poor ICT team today back into this.

06-03-2016, 02:37 PM
Replay.

ffs

Was that their first shot on target all game?

Utter crap defending but great finish

liamh2202
I dont like this system at all. We have 3 cbs yet its still lewis that is covering a through ball. Time we play 4 DEFENDERS at the back and wingers instead of wing backs.

Good effort by Gray to keep it out, is that their first serious shot on goal? Yogi almost knocks out a Caley sub celebrating!!

06-03-2016, 02:38 PM
Get Farid on. We need a player to hold it in up top.

We've let a pish poor ICT team today back into this.

Yep unbelievable Aldo Our keeper has hardly had a save to make .

But 1. 0 in cup game is always precarious

We should have seen that ball out. Very poor.

Off the bar

Can't think of another one.

Good effort by Gray to keep it out, is that their first serious shot on goal? Yogi almost knocks out a Caley sub celebrating!!

That looked like serious assault.:greengrin

Off the bar
06-03-2016, 02:39 PM
Typical of this run we're on, feels like every shot the opposition have on target goes in.

attempts on target 5 v 1....why do teams only need one or two chances to score against us

I just never seen them scoring. Typical.

A replay is the last thing Hibs need.

We've got to start putting teams away when we have chances. This could haunt us big time

Matt92
06-03-2016, 02:40 PM
Yet another week where we are clearly the better team by a country f*****g mile yet somehow aren't in the lead. Real kick in the baws

you still have two subs to use stubbs...use them ffs man

Off the bar
C'mon hibs let's ****ing do this

06-03-2016, 02:41 PM
Need to get a sub on ffs.

06-03-2016, 02:41 PM
No subs imminent by the looks of the Hibs bench.

06-03-2016, 02:42 PM
Game has been abysmal... How many times have our full-backs just shelled the ball straight out of play?
One moment of composure from Stokes opens them up for the goal then it all falls to pieces again.
Inverness are even worse!
Second half is so stretched but neither team can keep the ball for more than a few seconds. McGinn & Henderson need to do more in these last 10 mins. Maybe get Boyle on for a run at them...

attempts on target 5 v 1....why do teams only need one or two chances to score against us

10 to 1 on target according to Bet365

If this goes to a replay I'll have serious concerns about the regulars being burnt out come play-off time, if we weren't chasing Falkirk I'd want a few of them rested in the league games coming up but even that's not an option! I think we're a victim of our own success a wee bit this season.

06-03-2016, 02:43 PM
Has Stokes forgotten he's playing for Hibs? His last 4 or 5 passes have went straigh to ICT players.

06-03-2016, 02:43 PM
Got to say Stokes looks gone here. Get him subbed

06-03-2016, 02:44 PM
Keatings off Dagnall on.

Keatings off??

5 mins for a sub to have any impact on the game...wonderful

Ffs what kind of free kick was that?

06-03-2016, 02:45 PM
Giving the ball away here.

Edson Arantes
06-03-2016, 02:45 PM
Keatings off??

Funny one.

Forever_Green93
06-03-2016, 02:47 PM
C’mon hibs!!!!

06-03-2016, 02:48 PM
Terrible passing here.

06-03-2016, 02:48 PM
2 minutes.

06-03-2016, 02:49 PM
When IC scored, Stubbs should've brought on the subs, why only with 5 mins to go???

06-03-2016, 02:50 PM
Another game FFS.

06-03-2016, 02:50 PM
Threw that away with the negative tactics after going ahead.

06-03-2016, 02:51 PM
Stokes broke up every attack we had in that second half, dire.

Stokes' passing towards the end of the game was terrible.

Ref ended it early. Cant even count.

Is the replay on a champions league night?

Stokes broke up every attack we had in that second half, dire.

Apart from the one where he was instrumental in us scoring?

06-03-2016, 02:52 PM
Yogi is a total tosser.

Forever_Green93
06-03-2016, 02:52 PM
Disappointing that we let inverness back into the match.

06-03-2016, 02:53 PM
When IC scored, Stubbs should've brought on the subs, why only with 5 mins to go???

because he's a stubborn b**ger in thinking things will change themselves, caley on top for 20 mins before they scored but he still didn't think of using different personnel or a change of formation...he infuriates me with these senseless subs with a few minutes to go, we should have saw that game out

Apart from the one where he was instrumental in us scoring?

That was great yes but after that he done nothing and should have been subbed.

Fatigue is showing.

06-03-2016, 02:54 PM
Yogi makes the change to try and influence the game , Stubbs sticks and once again the lack of changes costs us...

Billy McKirdy
Are Cummings and Bartley available for the replay?

A decent result. The replay is unneeded though.

Fwiw I really don't like a Stokes on a personal level but he was reasonably good today

Off the bar
Had to make a change with 20 minutes or so left we were falling out of it, we didn't respond to the 2 Caley changes at all.
Still gutted to concede with only shot on target that they had.

Ref ended it early. Cant even count.

Is the replay on a champions league night?

Ref probably as bored as the majority of TV audience. Can you imagine watching that as a neutral?
Really poor stuff.

06-03-2016, 02:55 PM
Blowing out our arse last 20 mins.

rotherhamrob
Could have done without a replay.
Could stubbs not see we had players out on their feet? Needed to bring subs on sooner.
Still, it was better than it has been and the players can now have a bit of a rest before next week.

Billy McKirdy

Good. hopefully Dylan will be fit too, we're still in this.

06-03-2016, 02:56 PM
I can't be too disappointed with that, we have been on a bad run and we were missing a few big players, Dylan going off and playing one of the most cynical teams I've seen as well as getting no help from the ref at all

Just gutted it's yet another game we have to play

We've got to start putting teams away when we have chances. This could haunt us big time

The game was there to be won but we need to take the positives from this one But let's not kid ourselves they were poor and we really should of won it Towards the end players were tiring so another game is something we could of done without especially as it will be after a cup final on Hampden s wide open spaces

Stokes should have been hooked, did well for the goal then fell away.

Played well for the majority of the game and this has given me a bit more confidence going in to next week.

06-03-2016, 02:57 PM
Blowing out our arse last 20 mins.

I noticed that. Why no subs then to try and keep momentum?

Thought IC were dirty fouling gets and moaned about everything, the ref was awful and should've booked somebody earlier, looked better going 3 at the back, I think it suits us better as Gray and Stevenson have a wee bit more freedom. Didn't understand Keating being subbed as he was playing well, Henderson and McGinn looked knackered after 75 minutes and should've been the ones to come off, we started losing the midfield around then. We were the better team and should've won by more, better performance that's for sure.

Green&White
Thomson was 100% at fault for their goal. Completely left the man and sauntered into no man's land doing sweet f all. Played decent otherwise but disappointed with his lack of concentration there

Sent from my SM-G928F using Tapatalk

Stokes' passing towards the end of the game was terrible.

Wasn't just Stokes who had a wayward pass, a few of them were culpable,

06-03-2016, 02:58 PM
Could stubbs not see we had players out on their feet? Needed to bring subs on sooner.
Still, it was better than it has been and the players can now have a bit of a rest before next week.

it's quite bizarre how long he takes to try change things

Wasn't just Stokes who had a wayward pass, a few of them were culpable,

All of them were pretty poor including henderson and mcginn.

Yogi makes the change to try and influence the game , Stubbs sticks and once again the lack of changes costs us...

The sub made no sense either. Farid has scored a couple coming on as a sub yet remains seated whilst Dagnall gets the nod? Bizarre.

If Farid isn't fit then he shouldn't be stripped at all.

Ref probably as bored as the majority of TV audience. Can you imagine watching that as a neutral?
Really poor stuff.

Wasn't dull - was a decent game?

Disappointed not to win a game we were the better team in. Will be difficult up in highlands but we will have Bartley and Cummings back and will live to fight another day

Semi draw will give us indication how important replay is. Draw Celtic and it's difficult to see how we can go all the way, draw United and it's game on.

06-03-2016, 02:59 PM
3 defeats and now out the cup means it's been a terrible couple of weeks.

Midweek. Away. Highlands.

No chance.

06-03-2016, 03:00 PM

Costa del Sol for a week.

06-03-2016, 03:01 PM

No chance.

Well we arent out the cup and anything can happen with this team just now

06-03-2016, 03:01 PM
Thought Farid should of been the striker to come on and boyles pace as we were tiring wasn't utilised Think we should of gone for it to try and avoid a reply .
But easy for me to say in hindsight

06-03-2016, 03:02 PM
Game spoiled by a stupid referee.

06-03-2016, 03:03 PM

No chance.

Eh?

06-03-2016, 03:04 PM
One thing Yogi does know about is rough-house tactics to break up play. That's how he played (e.g. in the semi final against us for Ayr) and I remember his Falkirk side coming to ER and kicking us off the park.

I remember vividly being disappointed when he was touted as our manger, as the Falkirk game was still fresh in my mind.

06-03-2016, 03:06 PM
Attendance:9,884

06-03-2016, 03:06 PM
Seen most of the game and missed Keatings goal.

Another replay on the cards. Busy few days over the next week ahead.

mentalhibee
06-03-2016, 03:07 PM

No chance.

That's the spirit!

06-03-2016, 03:07 PM

No chance.attention seeking pish. I was at Dingwall last season. Cup tie. midweek. Away. 2-0 Hibs ?

GlasgowHibee
06-03-2016, 03:08 PM
When's the replay?

I dont like this system at all. We have 3 cbs yet its still lewis that is covering a through ball. Time we play 4 DEFENDERS at the back and wingers instead of wing backs.

Just back in boozer after the game. We werent in the game until we changed to three at the back when McGeough had to go off.

QMU-1875

No chance.

How do you like your puddles?

liamh2202
When's the replay?

Wed 16th

06-03-2016, 03:09 PM
Our midfield were shattered towards the end.Both McGinn and Henderson disappeared but there wasnt anyone on the bench to change them with.Hopefully injuries clearing up and suspensions being served give us different options.Really want to beat these clowns in the replay.They are just like Hearts in their approach and play.

06-03-2016, 03:09 PM
When's the replay?

Wednesday 16th

06-03-2016, 03:10 PM
We scored and sat back, their stronger more physical players then took over and got a well deserved goal to take it to a replay.

The bullied our midfield in that 2nd half, Henderson and McGinn were 2nd best all throughout that 2nd 45.

There was only one team wanting to win that game when it was 1-0 to Hibs, once again we fail to take our chances and see the win slip away from us.

Luckily we get another bite at the cherry, but we do really need to start finishing teams off when on top.

mentalhibee
06-03-2016, 03:10 PM
Just back in boozer after the game. We werent in the game until we changed to three at the back when McGeough had to go off.

Defo looked better when gunnarsson came on, good performance. Hopefully do the business in the replay!

liamh2202
06-03-2016, 03:11 PM

Yeh but look how many times macgregor was one on one and had to do well plus lost another crap goal from an over he top ball into the corner. I just dont think our fullbacks are good enough going forward for that system. Much rather with wingers than wingbacks with a more conventional 4 at the back

rotherhamrob
06-03-2016, 03:11 PM
Costa del Sol for a week.

Aye, unfortunately that's never helped before :-)

06-03-2016, 03:12 PM
Ahhhh well. We're still in it. Quarter final replay Wednesday week! I'll try and go to that.

In the meantime... anyone doing anything particular next Sunday ? 😜

06-03-2016, 03:12 PM
The sub made no sense either. Farid has scored a couple coming on as a sub yet remains seated whilst Dagnall gets the nod? Bizarre.

If Farid isn't fit then he shouldn't be stripped at all.

Agree baffling

06-03-2016, 03:13 PM
Ahhhh well. We're still in it. Quarter final replay Wednesday week! I'll try and go to that.

In the meantime... anyone doing anything particular next Sunday ? [emoji12]

Thought you were going bowling Alf green grin

We started with 4 defenders and were struggling. Looked much better when we went 3 at the back and took control of the game

Great effort from Hibs well done to the 9000 who made the effort to come along. Hope everyone who couldn't make it enjoyed Mothers Day.

06-03-2016, 03:15 PM
Great effort from Hibs well done to the 9000 who made the effort to come along. Hope everyone who couldn't make it enjoyed Mothers Day.

:confused::rolleyes::blah:

Originally Posted by Cameron1875:

No chance.

How do you like your puddles?

😂😂

No chance.
Who are these people?!

liamh2202
06-03-2016, 03:16 PM
We started with 4 defenders and were struggling. Looked much better when we went 3 at the back and took control of the game

I know what your saying but at the moment we arnt playing with four defenders as the full backs are being asked too much going forward. We need quality in width , unfortantely all too often we dont get it. All imo of course.

06-03-2016, 03:16 PM
:confused::rolleyes::blah:

exactly, a pointless dig at other fans, gets tiresome after the 270th time

:)

06-03-2016, 03:19 PM
exactly, a pointless dig at other fans, gets tiresome after the 270th time

:)
Aye it is pointless. Which is a grand shame.

06-03-2016, 03:19 PM
Thought you were going bowling Alf green grin

Hey Ronnie, Thought I might go brass rubbish in St Giles!!!

Will you get through passport control at Ardrossan for the final ? 😄

06-03-2016, 03:21 PM
Good performance today let down by the old chestnut of not converting chances and possession into goals.

BH Hibs
06-03-2016, 03:22 PM
Who are these people?!

The surname clan

Turkish Green
06-03-2016, 03:22 PM
That was Hibs best chance of progressing. I do not fancy a cold wet evening in Inverness going to EOT.

looking on the positive it gives the team a lift going into next Sunday's game knowing that they are still in the Scottish. Hate to get defeated by a couple of teuchter teams.

A little worryingly, Falkirk could (a big COULD mind) go 8 points ahead before Hibs play another league game. Then again, it only means that they will have to play 2 extra games in the play-offs.

06-03-2016, 03:24 PM
3-1 Hibs in replay, no f, n problem.

06-03-2016, 03:26 PM
Good performance today - lots of effort and on another day we could have had three. Thought Gunnarson played well today, he's getting fitter and is looking a better each time I see him. Needed fresh legs last 15/20 minutes to get us up the pitch.

Can't fault the boys today.

06-03-2016, 03:27 PM
Hey Ronnie, Thought I might go brass rubbish in St Giles!!!

Will you get through passport control at Ardrossan for the final ? [emoji1]

Back home tonight so will be fine .
Do you mean Brass Rubbing or Brass Robbing ? Lol.

06-03-2016, 03:28 PM

No chance.

Tape up the sharp edges at home / place of work.

06-03-2016, 03:29 PM
That was Hibs best chance of progressing. I do not fancy a cold wet evening in Inverness going to EOT.

looking on the positive it gives the team a lift going into next Sunday's game knowing that they are still in the Scottish. Hate to get defeated by a couple of teuchter teams.

A little worryingly, Falkirk could (a big COULD mind) go 8 points ahead before Hibs play another league game. Then again, it only means that they will have to play 2 extra games in the play-offs.

Some of the leaps folk make would have Carl Johnson ask for a doping test.

06-03-2016, 03:31 PM
Is it just me that thinks going to Spain again is a bad idea.

rotherhamrob
06-03-2016, 03:34 PM

Celtic-15000
Rangers-30000
Ross c-3000
Hibs-9000
Are celtic or rangers attendances anywhere near their average?
At the end of the day, it's the q and attendances generally aren't great,for us to get near our average is pretty decent, especially considering how much some have forked out recently.

A change of scenery, more relaxed atmosphere, bit of sun/warmth? Could be what we need imo.

Didn't do us any good last year.

shamo9
06-03-2016, 03:36 PM
We'll have at least three key players back for the replay and their stadium can't be as bad as some of the dumps we've had to play in lately. If we can win the cup next week our confidence will return with a vengeance.

We can do it :flag:

06-03-2016, 03:36 PM

I agree, that was the last thing I wanted to hear before the cup final!

It's gone badly wrong for us every time in the past.

06-03-2016, 03:37 PM
We scored and sat back, their stronger more physical players then took over and got a well deserved goal to take it to a replay.

The bullied our midfield in that 2nd half, Henderson and McGinn were 2nd best all throughout that 2nd 45.

There was only one team wanting to win that game when it was 1-0 to Hibs, once again we fail to take our chances and see the win slip away from us.

Luckily we get another bite at the cherry, but we do really need to start finishing teams off when on top.
Dunno what match you were at but other than last 15 to 20 when we tired I thought we were the better side. Very harsh summary and not how I saw it at match

06-03-2016, 03:37 PM
Just back. Hibs were very unlucky not to win this tie. Had 3 or 4 good chances to ICT's 1 shot on target, but suppose that's what you can expect against a Prem outfit. Cannot fault the players for effort, gave 100% and had to compete against a team of hammer throwers constructed in John Hughes own likeness. Ref did not give Hibs players nearly enough protection, allowing Hughes Hoofers to foul continually. There was only 1 team that wanted to play football an that was Hibs.

Best of show for Hibs were: Keatings, Super JM, Hendo, Fonts and Gray.

The downside is we've now got a tough midweek game in the Highlands, when we could do with concentrating on the League. And Stubbs reluctance to put on subs.

The plus side, is Hibs have definitely stopped the rot and after a nervy first 10 mins, competed well and played some decent football and unlucky not to go through. Huge game next Sunday, and feeling much more positive about our confidence and chances against RC. Bring it on.

06-03-2016, 03:38 PM

If Stubbs thinks it's a good idea then I'll go with it.

He knows his squad better than the football managers on here.

shamo9
06-03-2016, 03:38 PM
I agree, that was the last thing I wanted to hear before the cup final!

It's gone badly wrong for us every time in the past.

Except the last time we won the cup :wink:

06-03-2016, 03:39 PM

My mothers deid.

06-03-2016, 03:40 PM
Dunno what match you were at but other than last 15 to 20 when we tired I thought we were the better side. Very harsh summary and not how I saw it at match

Apart from the last bit which is the important bit?

06-03-2016, 03:40 PM
Inverness are one of the dirtiest sides I've seen at ER in a long time. Hibs done well to stand up to them today and unlucky not to maybe sneak it.

06-03-2016, 03:41 PM
Except the last time we won the cup :wink:

Inconvenient fact.

06-03-2016, 03:42 PM

Definitely a "half empty" view of this game. Hibs were coming off 3 straight defeats and after a nervous first 10 mins controlled the game. ICT scored with their first shot on target and were fortunate to still be in the cup. IMO just the kind of performance Hibs needed before the Cup Final next week. Here's hoping.

TheFall
06-03-2016, 03:46 PM
Team did well today
The good: Stokes did well, McGregor great, Cummings & Bartley back for the replay.
The bad: Dylan breaking down again, Gunnarson not good on the ball, young guys McGinn & Henderson looked exhausted in the last 20 mins. They have worked so hard this season, neither knows how to save energy and Stubbs hasn't saved them from themselves by substituting them often or early enough.
Conclusion: Well done to all today.

Hope the players are allowed to rest in the warmth next week in preparation for 3 big games in a week starting next Sunday.

06-03-2016, 03:47 PM
Apart from the last bit which is the important bit?
BH said we were overrun in midfield which is very harsh imo

06-03-2016, 03:52 PM
Definitely a "half empty" view of this game. Hibs were coming off 3 straight defeats and after a nervous first 10 mins controlled the game. ICT scored with their first shot on target and were fortunate to still be in the cup. IMO just the kind of performance Hibs needed before the Cup Final next week. Here's hoping.

I agree we took lots of positives today, but where i feel we let ourselves down was once again failing to finish another team off.

I thought Stokes and Keating looked like a partnership today, and the back 4 then 3 looked solid for most of the game.

Yet once again we disappear in the middle of the park for the best part of 30 minutes. Clearly our manager see's a completely different game to me, as we looked knackered in midfield and needed more legs.

I cant for the life of me understand why Boyle and maybe even Carmichael were not brought on to give us pace and width, or Farid up front to hold the ball up.

Hughes a manager we all apparently thought was clueless made 2 changes in that 2nd half and it directly contributed to them scoring the equaliser, who'd have thought that eh?

06-03-2016, 03:55 PM
I agree we took lots of positives today, but where i feel we let ourselves down was once again failing to finish another team off.

I thought Stokes and Keating looked like a partnership today, and the back 4 then 3 looked solid for most of the game.

Yet once again we disappear in the middle of the park for the best part of 30 minutes. Clearly our manager see's a completely different game to me, as we looked knackered in midfield and needed more legs.

I cant for the life of me understand why Boyle and maybe even Carmichael were not brought on to give us pace and width, or Farid up front to hold the ball up.

Hughes a manager we all apparently thought was clueless made 2 changes in that 2nd half and it directly contributed to them scoring the equaliser, who'd have thought that eh?

Can't argue with that, wish we brought on a couple of the subs earlier. I'm still glad we don't have Yogi though, but looks like he's learned over the years so fair play.

06-03-2016, 03:57 PM
I agree we took lots of positives today, but where i feel we let ourselves down was once again failing to finish another team off. I thought Stokes and Keating looked like a partnership today, and the back 4 then 3 looked solid for most of the game. Yet once again we disappear in the middle of the park for the best part of 30 minutes. Clearly our manager see's a completely different game to me, as we looked knackered in midfield and needed more legs. I cant for the life of me understand why Boyle and maybe even Carmichael were not brought on to give us pace and width, or Farid up front to hold the ball up. Hughes a manager we all apparently thought was clueless made 2 changes in that 2nd half and it directly contributed to them scoring the equaliser, who'd have thought that eh?

First paragraph BH is spot on.

We should of had the game out of sight by half time (least a couple up)

Loads of positives and for the whole team but KT and McGinn were outstanding in middle of the park as were Keatings and Stokes, for me showed signs today of his old self with his link up play and positioning.

Cummings will be back as will Big Marv.

We have it in us to win the replay and I hope our chance hasn't been lost.

06-03-2016, 03:58 PM

Carmichael not in team, but yes think Boyle would have been worth a run, also thought the sub Dagnal for Keatings didn't change anything too similar in style, size etc, Farid should have come on.

06-03-2016, 04:05 PM
Carmichael not in team, but yes think Boyle would have been worth a run, also thought the sub Dagnal for Keatings didn't change anything too similar in style, size etc, Farid should have come on.

Was Carmichael not on the bench today? :confused: Maybe find it hard to bring him on then :greengrin

06-03-2016, 04:12 PM
Was Carmichael not on the bench today? :confused: Maybe find it hard to bring him on then :greengrin

Didn't think he was

shamo9
06-03-2016, 04:22 PM
I would've brought on Farid and Boyle for Stokes and Keatings. Midfield was knackered so bypassing them and lumping it up for Farid to win and Boyle to chase could've given them a break and caused a different problem for ICT.

Stevenson was getting outnumbered at times so Boyle would've had the legs to help him out on that side too if you play him on the left.

Ideally we would've been able to bring on a midfielder but that wasn't an option due to injuries and suspensions.

06-03-2016, 05:48 PM

Not sure you need to drag this up from the depths.

His sacking from Hibs was harsh perhaps (another eve-of-AGM special from Petrie), but I remember even you saying at the time that you thought it was time for him to go. The pressure seemed to have got to him and the team was looking directionless.

06-03-2016, 05:52 PM
Not sure you need to drag this up from the depths.

His sacking from Hibs was harsh perhaps (another eve-of-AGM special from Petrie), but I remember even you saying at the time that you thought it was time for him to go. The pressure seemed to have got to him and the team was looking directionless.

He deserves a bit of credit for learning how to change things when they are not working, no?

06-03-2016, 09:30 PM
I've not read the whole thread so apologies if I'm repeating stuff.

I thought Hibs were the better team on the day, and more than matched ICT in everything apart from kicking their opponents off the park. The referee was the usual standard. Absolutely awful.

I felt Hibs were unlucky not to have won this tie, and the last thing we need is another very hard fixture. It's time cup replays were done away with.

To me, today's overall performance makes it even harder to understand the last three league results.

Once again though, Hibs failure to take enough of their chances came back to haunt them by conceding a late equaliser. I note both ICT subs were involved in their goal within minutes of coming on. Did Hibs switch off in the lead up to that goal?