View Full Version : Hibbies staying behind in Glasgow after the game??

01-03-2016, 07:06 AM
Due to flight times/the need to get back to work ASAP, I'm flying GLA - LGW at about 9pm on the night of the final.

That should give me plenty of time afterwards to - win or lose - have a couple of drinks in Glasgow city centre or indeed around Hampden before getting out to the airport.

Of course, I expect most people will be heading back through to Edinburgh/the East (hopefully to watch a victory parade :pray:) but will any others be staying in Glasgow and having a couple of drinks?

If so, perhaps there could be some sort of a civilised meet-up :greengrin I'm happy to drink on my Jack Jones, but obviously preferable to do so with a couple of intelligent and erudite Hibbies as company..............

01-03-2016, 08:21 AM
Likely to stay through there until the last bus in the event of a defeat.

01-03-2016, 08:30 AM
When we win everyone will want to be in the capital for the parade so I think you'll be drinking with jack jones 😄

01-03-2016, 08:35 AM
Likely to stay through there until the last bus in the event of a defeat.

Christ, don't know if I'm ready to jump in head first drinking with .net's most experienced Pub expert!!

01-03-2016, 08:40 AM
Christ, don't know if I'm ready to jump in head first drinking with .net's most experienced Pub expert!!

Dinnae build your expectations too high! :party:

01-03-2016, 04:53 PM
Will be staying in Glasgow after the game as well. Not quite sure what the plans are but think it'll just be a case of heading to a pub near Queen St station to have a few beers with other fans while they wait for the train queue to go down. Working on the Monday so can't be a late one though.

01-03-2016, 05:09 PM
IF we win the cup, will they bring it back to ER on the night? Would the parade be the following day?

01-03-2016, 05:13 PM
Will be staying in Glasgow after the game as well. Not quite sure what the plans are but think it'll just be a case of heading to a pub near Queen St station to have a few beers with other fans while they wait for the train queue to go down. Working on the Monday so can't be a late one though.
I'm off til Thursday, could be a messy one.

reservoir hibee
01-03-2016, 05:20 PM
I'm told that I'm getting the train there and back and regardless of the result i plan to take my time and chill in the weedge before jumping on a train back

01-03-2016, 05:26 PM
Not after the game, but two of us staying in Glasgow the Saturday night. Not been out in Glasgow for about 8 years.

02-03-2016, 04:34 PM
I'm off til Thursday, could be a messy one.

You gonna be in Glasgow after the game or are you heading through to Edinburgh?

02-03-2016, 05:01 PM
Not after the game, but two of us staying in Glasgow the Saturday night. Not been out in Glasgow for about 8 years.

So are me and the missus

02-03-2016, 05:10 PM

A squad of from across the globe are lashing it in Glasgow on Saturday night too. :aok:

02-03-2016, 05:36 PM
A squad of from across the globe are lashing it in Glasgow on Saturday night too. :aok:

I'll be in Glasgow on the Saturday as well.....

02-03-2016, 06:32 PM
You gonna be in Glasgow after the game or are you heading through to Edinburgh?
As usual that depends on the result.

02-03-2016, 06:35 PM
I'll be in Glasgow on the Saturday as well.....

Cool - drop me a PM if you fancy a wee night out on the Saturday.

02-03-2016, 06:48 PM
IF we win the cup, will they bring it back to ER on the night? Would the parade be the following day?

I was told that should it happen, nothing would be paraded until a week later !?

Brummie_Hibs
02-03-2016, 06:55 PM
Getting 8.50pm flight to Stansted after the game.

hibbymick
02-03-2016, 07:02 PM
Were staying in Glasgow on the saturday night,,,,and straight home if we win on the sunday,,,,,

02-03-2016, 09:20 PM
Getting 8.50pm flight to Stansted after the game.

9.10pm with BA to Gatwick for me. Airport pint(s) on the cards I sense, especially if we win :greengrin

Hibeewilly
02-03-2016, 10:18 PM
I've heard it will be the Monday

Calvin
03-03-2016, 09:21 AM
9.10pm with BA to Gatwick for me. Airport pint(s) on the cards I sense, especially if we win :greengrin

I'm on the 20:20 back to Heathrow. Don't know if that gives me enough time to go via town after the game, so airport pints it may be!

Eire hibs
04-03-2016, 06:26 AM
There are four or five of us heading back to Dublin on the nine o'clock flight.

Sent from my MI 3W using Tapatalk

patlowe
04-03-2016, 06:38 AM
I've heard it will be the Monday

Staying through for a gig after the game so this would be an ideal scenario!

04-03-2016, 07:02 AM
There'll be a squad of us staying behind to let the crowds disperse before getting a train. Thinking about a pub around Hampden, maybe the Clockwork or if too busy, The Church on the Hill.

04-03-2016, 08:30 AM
So far we have somebody claiming it would be the Monday for the parade and another saying the following week!!

Does anybody actually know? It should be right after the game like the previous twice we have won it

celthedd1
04-03-2016, 08:38 AM
So far we have somebody claiming it would be the Monday for the parade and another saying the following week!!

Does anybody actually know? It should be right after the game like the previous twice we have won it

Fri till Mon for me, any suggestions where to watch Wales stuff England in the rugby on Sat !

04-03-2016, 08:43 AM
I'm hoping to stay at a pal's that night who lives not too far from Hampden. Can anyone recommend a good Irish pub to head to? More likely to be Hibs friendly (I hope). You have to be careful in the Weege.

04-03-2016, 08:56 AM
I'm hoping to stay at a pal's that night who lives not too far from Hampden. Can anyone recommend a good Irish pub to head to? More likely to be Hibs friendly (I hope). You have to be careful in the Weege.

Trust me mate, most people don't give a toss. However, if you do want a decent pint of the black stuff in a decent boozer, Heraghty's is a decent shout.

04-03-2016, 08:59 AM
Trust me mate, most people don't give a toss. However, if you do want a decent pint of the black stuff in a decent boozer, Heraghty's is a decent shout.

The Louden it is then, for celebratory sash bash :greengrin

04-03-2016, 09:08 AM

Now you're talking Brother. :greengrin

04-03-2016, 02:57 PM

A world of it's own! Quite amazing inside but was only there briefly with it being on the sub crawl.

04-03-2016, 04:36 PM
I'm no flying anywhere but might just come to the airport to join the party :greengrin

09-03-2016, 03:19 PM
So, other than the airport, is there anything happening after the game?

09-03-2016, 03:46 PM
Not if Hibs win! ;-)

Mango Man
09-03-2016, 04:24 PM
Staying through for a gig after the game so this would be an ideal scenario!

Field Music per chance?

Giro Playboy
09-03-2016, 04:36 PM
Was going to rush back to Edinburgh on the train IF we won but it looks like there won't be a parade anyway so just as well to stay in Glasgow and let the train crowds disappear. Will be drinking in the Horseshoe

11-03-2016, 12:06 PM
For the airport crew, perhaps The Caledonia on the far side of security would be an amenable location for a jar or 2 pre-flight?

http://www.glasgowairport.com/media/106748/caledonia-drinks-menu-march-15.pdf (http://www.glasgowairport.com/media/106748/caledonia-drinks-menu-march-15.pdf)

11-03-2016, 02:30 PM
If anyone is headed straight to the airport or has any tips on how it's best to get there immediately let me know!

My bro is flying back down south at 19.46

11-03-2016, 02:31 PM
I'm on the 20:20 back to Heathrow. Don't know if that gives me enough time to go via town after the game, so airport pints it may be!

How you getting back to the airport?

My brother is needing to zip straight there as well

11-03-2016, 02:44 PM
If anyone is headed straight to the airport or has any tips on how it's best to get there immediately let me know!

My bro is flying back down south at 19.46

Best bet would be to book a local cab - there's one called Hampden Cars.

11-03-2016, 02:54 PM
Best bet would be to book a local cab - there's one called Hampden Cars.

Yeah someone else mentioned that on another thread.
Cheers.

I'll see if anyone else is going straight there. They could share a cab

Eire hibs
12-03-2016, 10:15 AM
For the airport crew, perhaps The Caledonia on the far side of security would be an amenable location for a jar or 2 pre-flight?

http://www.glasgowairport.com/media/106748/caledonia-drinks-menu-march-15.pdf (http://www.glasgowairport.com/media/106748/caledonia-drinks-menu-march-15.pdf)
Sounds like a plan. Our flights at 8 so will be heading straight back to the airport after the game for a (hopefully) celebratory couple.

Calvin
12-03-2016, 10:21 AM
How you getting back to the airport?

My brother is needing to zip straight there as well
Not too sure yet, that's this afternoon's investigation!

£4.75 for a bottle of Punk? It'll do I suppose!

13-03-2016, 09:02 AM
Given that there isn't gonna be a parade, it's a Sunday and some of us have work tomorrow. Is anyone else gonna be staying behind/out in Glasgow after the game?

13-03-2016, 09:05 AM
If we win I'll probably get bleeshed and miss my bus home :hyper

13-03-2016, 09:08 AM
I'm planning to get the train back with my old man, but the contingency of staying at a friend's in Croftfoot is there if needed.

13-03-2016, 09:14 AM
I'm not talking of an all night bender. Just think that if we win, would be good to celebrate as a group :thumbsup:.

13-03-2016, 09:56 AM
I'm not talking of an all night bender. Just think that if we win, would be good to celebrate as a group :thumbsup:.

Id be up for that need to get train at 21.20 so time for a few drinks

Hibdan12
13-03-2016, 10:00 AM

This!

13-03-2016, 05:36 PM
Not too sure yet, that's this afternoon's investigation!

£4.75 for a bottle of Punk? It'll do I suppose!

So. See you at the bar??

Eire hibs
13-03-2016, 05:49 PM
Anyone here? I'm sat nursing a drink on my own.

Calvin
13-03-2016, 05:59 PM
So. See you at the bar??

£4.70 for a pint of Punk in the Spoons won out...

13-03-2016, 06:45 PM
There now. Waiting on a monster burger to take my mind off that!!

13-03-2016, 06:47 PM
Anyone on the half 7 train from queen street. So packed.

13-03-2016, 06:48 PM
We couldn't get home fast enough. All plans oot the windae.

Calvin
13-03-2016, 06:50 PM
There now. Waiting on a monster burger to take my mind off that!!

Already on the plane. BA efficiency at its finest!

13-03-2016, 06:56 PM
Went to the Montford for a couple of beers and watched the West Ham game. Heading home now for a Chinese :drool:

13-03-2016, 07:22 PM
Only just left Central, three hours after originally arriving. Missed our train home as the half hour delay publicised by National Rail and Virgin Trains turned out to be three minutes!

13-03-2016, 10:29 PM
Got on the Citylink bus at 2230 with my old man instead of the 1900 we were booked on. Gave the driver some nonsense story about an RTA on Battlefield Road at 1800, so he just let us on. Only positive of the day!