View Full Version : Sunshine on Leith on Sky (merged threads)

DavieRoy
17-02-2016, 02:48 PM
Sunshine on Leith from last night.

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/10171009/hibs-fans-sing-8216sunshine-on-leith8217

The Hibee Harp
17-02-2016, 02:50 PM

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/10171009/hibs-fans-sing-8216sunshine-on-leith8217

:thumbsup::gwa:

17-02-2016, 03:01 PM
Fantastic. :gwa:

17-02-2016, 03:01 PM
I am sure it would look a lot better if everyone held a scarve aloft. It seems a lot of folk just don't wear scarves at games any more. Sounds brilliant though.

17-02-2016, 03:02 PM

Was that your decision to put that on the website? :greengrin

DavieRoy
17-02-2016, 03:05 PM
Was that your decision to put that on the website? :greengrin

Friends in the right places!

17-02-2016, 03:06 PM
thats brilliant. photographer by the tunnel at the end couldnt resist a wee celebration :greengrin

17-02-2016, 03:07 PM
http://www.skysports.com/…/hibs-fans-sing-8216sunshine-on-l… (http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/10171009/hibs-fans-sing-8216sunshine-on-leith8217)

mghibs
17-02-2016, 03:09 PM
Goosebumps every time :flag:

WHAM
17-02-2016, 03:11 PM
Oooft.

"HIBEES...HIBEES...HIBEES!!"

17-02-2016, 03:15 PM
http://www.skysports.com/…/hibs-fans-sing-8216sunshine-on-l… (http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/10171009/hibs-fans-sing-8216sunshine-on-leith8217)

:wink: Brilliant, roll on Sunday........

17-02-2016, 03:19 PM
That is just superb! 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

EH6 Hibby
17-02-2016, 03:21 PM
I am sure it would look a lot better if everyone held a scarve aloft. It seems a lot of folk just don't wear scarves at games any more. Sounds brilliant though.

It's the only reason I take a scarf to bigger games. :greengrin

17-02-2016, 03:22 PM
Friends in the right places!

Well done my friend :greengrin

Lee Marvin
17-02-2016, 03:26 PM
Brings a tear to the eye.

17-02-2016, 03:26 PM
Shared it with a friend of mine from Manchester - he's desperate to come to ER now.

17-02-2016, 03:31 PM
Love it!

Also notice the players joining in the Sunshine on Leith part :agree::top marks

Such a unique song :thumbsup:

Clancy
17-02-2016, 03:35 PM

Goosebumps watching it

17-02-2016, 03:43 PM
Love it!

Also notice the players joining in the Sunshine on Leith part :agree::top marks

Such a unique song :thumbsup:

Yep saw Kevin Thomson giving it big licks up towards the FF stand. Great to see.

17-02-2016, 03:51 PM
Magnificent. :flag: :flag:

17-02-2016, 03:52 PM
Excellent timing with the thanks yous sang as the players faced the east.

17-02-2016, 03:53 PM
Goosebumps watching it

Everyteverytime SOL is played someone close by is peeling oinons even in my car just cannot work it out

17-02-2016, 03:56 PM
I wonder what the plums players thought when they heard that?

I bet they were thinking "and all we get is a bit of girlie scarf twirling!"

70KevinHFC62
17-02-2016, 04:00 PM
👍

17-02-2016, 04:01 PM
Doubt there's a fitba club anywhere in Britain that isn't jealous of us having as good an anthem as that.

17-02-2016, 04:04 PM
The fact that they had to watch it from the South as they slowly made for the exits was my biggest pleasure.

Must have been mental torture.

euro Hibby
17-02-2016, 04:08 PM
Not much work getting done today. I am just enjoying the moment and milking it. Being a Hibby is hard but nights like yesterday make it special. My best ever SOL was the League cup final against Killie, but last nights looked a close second. Great to see football professionals enjoy the moment because being the wee team and beating the big team has rarely been more pleasing.

A great big thanks to the players, club and Hibs fans.

17-02-2016, 04:20 PM
Oooft.

"HIBEES...HIBEES...HIBEES!!"
Love that chant when the whole crowd is doing it :greengrin

Tom Hart RIP
17-02-2016, 04:30 PM
Neil Alexander and Don Cowie amongst our boys at the start shaking hands and offering congratulations. Not sure how well that would have gone down with the Hearts fans but fair play to them.

17-02-2016, 04:35 PM

Brilliant!

17-02-2016, 04:37 PM
I think the Proclaimers should sing this live at ER after we win the cup

17-02-2016, 04:58 PM

Yep, actual tears here.

If there's another club out there with as strong and emotionally connected a song as SoL and a support that sings it as well as this then I haven't heard it yet.

17-02-2016, 05:03 PM
Was JC out at the end ?

17-02-2016, 05:05 PM
Wow that was just fantastic:flag:

17-02-2016, 05:08 PM
The "thank you!" part is superb in that video. Hard to tell who is thanking who :greengrin:thumbsup:

Capt Mainwaring
17-02-2016, 05:17 PM
Beautiful. Hibees belting it out good style! 

JoeTortolanoFanClub
17-02-2016, 05:25 PM
Spine tingling.

17-02-2016, 05:35 PM
Incredible, loved being part of that - we should fill Easter Road more often. It's a stunning place to be when it's like that. I absolutely love Hibernian FC. :thumbsup:

17-02-2016, 05:41 PM
Was JC out at the end ?

Don't think so. I would imagine Jason was sitting in the dressing room a mighty relieved boy.

17-02-2016, 05:43 PM

I always have my bar scarf and it was aloft last night! Scarves for the League Cup Final everyone :agree:

17-02-2016, 05:44 PM
Incredible, loved being part of that - we should fill Easter Road more often. It's a stunning place to be when it's like that. I absolutely love Hibernian FC. :thumbsup:

I think you've nailed it.

17-02-2016, 05:56 PM
Don't think so. I would imagine Jason was sitting in the dressing room a mighty relieved boy.

He was , went through the whole team

17-02-2016, 05:58 PM

The East looks amazing in the Sky video

Lee Marvin
17-02-2016, 05:59 PM
The East looks amazing in the Sky video

It does.

Can anyone more technologically gifted than me take a picture of it during this video and post it?

gorgie greens
17-02-2016, 06:09 PM
Through all the hard times we have suffered over the years, if you had to give an answer why you support Hibs apart from my dad did ,then this is it

malcolm
17-02-2016, 06:10 PM
Love that chant when the whole crowd is doing it :greengrin

Is still miss stamping my feet in the old north stand - none of your soundless soulless concrete that's in these modern stands:greengrin

gorgie greens
17-02-2016, 06:16 PM
Is still miss stamping my feet in the old north stand - none of your soundless soulless concrete that's in these modern stands:greengrin

Used to echo across to the cow shed then on to the terrace
Cries of Hibees with the feet going , ah the good old days

17-02-2016, 06:28 PM

Somebody tried that in the Hearts main stand once. I believe he's still stuck there.

17-02-2016, 06:37 PM
I had a tear in my eye at that point. We belted it out :aok:

inglisavhibs
17-02-2016, 06:56 PM

not sure a sent off player is allowed back out on the pitch.

Johnny Clash
17-02-2016, 07:01 PM
This is superb:

17-02-2016, 08:11 PM
It does.

Can anyone more technologically gifted than me take a picture of it during this video and post it?

Lee Marvin
17-02-2016, 08:17 PM

Good lad

Johnny Clash
17-02-2016, 08:19 PM
This is superb:

17-02-2016, 08:19 PM
This is superb:

Thats brilliant, where did you find that? :wink::wink:

djs69
17-02-2016, 08:24 PM
Noticed at the time but this reminded me, Stokes went straight up the tunnel and didn't do the lap but then came back out as players approached tunnel, wonder if he went to be with his new pal Jase??

17-02-2016, 08:28 PM
Absolutely first class that 👍

17-02-2016, 08:34 PM
Doubt there's a fitba club anywhere in Britain that isn't jealous of us having as good an anthem as that.

Its genius is that it can't be about any other club.

Celtc had to nick YNWA instead.

Green Man
17-02-2016, 10:17 PM
That is superb. I'm so proud to be a Hibee.

Torto7062
17-02-2016, 10:27 PM
My Jambo wife just watched the video and she said that it gives her goosebumps whenever we sing it like that.....she must be after something 😂😂

17-02-2016, 11:07 PM
Well done sky for picking it up and posting it on social media. Loads of coverage and if you see the Lin of Facebook, hundreds of comments from people all around the UK and wider. Even Family members of mine who have little interest in football picked up on it!

17-02-2016, 11:33 PM
I wonder what the plums players thought when they heard that?

I bet they were thinking "and all we get is a bit of girlie scarf twirling!"

Fair play to their number 21 who took time to shake every Hibs players hand and not scurry off down the tunnel at great speed like his team mates.

17-02-2016, 11:38 PM
Fair play to their number 21 who took time to shake every Hibs players hand and not scurry off down the tunnel at great speed like his team mates.

Don Cowie I think? Genuine good professional.

Big90inOz
18-02-2016, 12:21 AM
Looked like a fan on the pitch asking for a jersey? Nice to see he was just calmly asked to go back to the stands with no over reaction.

Salt N Sauzee
18-02-2016, 12:27 AM
Just out of interest - does anyone know when we adopted this as our anthem?

18-02-2016, 12:30 AM
Looked like a fan on the pitch asking for a jersey? Nice to see he was just calmly asked to go back to the stands with no over reaction.

After watching it about 20 times I just noticed that. Lucky guy not to get more made of that. Also noticed one of the photographers raising his hand when sunshine on leith line came out. Must've been enjoying himself too much :).

18-02-2016, 01:17 AM
Just out of interest - does anyone know when we adopted this as our anthem?

That's a good question! Trying to think of the first time we all burst into song with it?..

Slicer
18-02-2016, 02:17 AM
It was on the soundtrack from a video from the early 90's. Hibernian - The Team That Wouldn't Die. I think Tony Higgins narrated. Documented the period between the takeover bid and the Skol Cup win.

The song itself must have been released a couple of years before.

As for when it was first sung at ER? I don't know. I have no specific memory of it before the AEK game.

JOD
18-02-2016, 02:47 AM
Did ye notice right at the end. Stokesey shook our captains hand. It went like this '' gaffer says no big celebs to night guys' low profile'' I thought Stokes was very good

tonight and with another 90 under his belt great news for us.

ozwoody
18-02-2016, 04:40 AM
Spine tingling and shows a great connect with team and fans.
One thing i picked up on was stubbs letting the players have their time thanking the fans,shaking each players hands as they go down the tunnel and then thanks the fans himself.
He just gets us,totally hibs class

18-02-2016, 06:03 AM
My sons first derby match and he said it was the best experience of his life!

:hibees

18-02-2016, 06:30 AM
I just watched this video on the way to work this morning on a packed cold tube down here in the Big Smoke. Moody faces everywhere but i couldn't stop beaming listening to that. Beyond powerful.

What a bloody club :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

18-02-2016, 07:03 AM
****ing magic 💔💔💔💔💔

18-02-2016, 07:13 AM
It's what separates us from hertz and every other team. Through all the good times and mostly bad times we are hibbies and we love the club and Craig and Charlies brilliant song sung by the massed green choir is just magnificent. Never loses its power.

18-02-2016, 07:57 AM
Well done sky for picking it up and posting it on social media. Loads of coverage and if you see the Lin of Facebook, hundreds of comments from people all around the UK and wider. Even Family members of mine who have little interest in football picked up on it!

Can someone post a link to the Facebook comments for the technology inept amongst us please?

Thanks

hibbypostie
18-02-2016, 07:59 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmf7fBpfjBE

18-02-2016, 09:02 AM
Can someone post a link to the Facebook comments for the technology inept amongst us please?

Thanks

https://www.facebook.com/SkySports/posts/10153919619073762

18-02-2016, 10:02 AM
I'll take that to the grave with me.

Thank you..... thank you.....

18-02-2016, 10:04 AM

Thanks very much.

There are some unbelievably bitter flumps in the world.

Every time one of them opens their mouth it reminds me just how much I hate them.

**** the Hearts

I think we saw a glimpse of their future on Tuesday and it was fine viewing

Second rate foreign imports and with their new financial constraints and Harry Potter at the helm they will stop bringing through any young talent

They are going to be pish for years and I cant wait!

18-02-2016, 11:22 AM
Just wait until the yams get themselves sorted out and learn this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RnXaWmOzxXo

18-02-2016, 12:00 PM
Big Marv Bartley has shared it on Facebook saying "words can't describe that feeling!!!" He gets it [emoji16]

ManBearPig
18-02-2016, 12:16 PM

Hahahahaha that's brilliant (if yer aff yer heed on eccies)

18-02-2016, 12:52 PM

What utter pish.

Special thanks to Clum and his mate for the dance moves.

They really do have some superstar fans

Ronnie Corbett and now Cicero

Seething with envy

18-02-2016, 01:16 PM

Wouldn't bother reading them. Just full of bitter Yam tramps with the usual 1-5, 1902 pish. They really are a bunch of deluded twats of the highest order. Most of them wouldn't recognise quality if it bit them on the nose. If they had won it at Tynecastle all you would've seen is a couple of thousand of them swirling their scarves in the Queen Victoria Stand singing some wee ****ty ditty.

Yams. :giruy2:

Barstewards.

18-02-2016, 01:21 PM
It was on the soundtrack from a video from the early 90's. Hibernian - The Team That Wouldn't Die. I think Tony Higgins narrated. Documented the period between the takeover bid and the Skol Cup win.

As for when it was first sung at ER? I don't know. I have no specific memory of it before the AEK game.
http://youtu.be/qKddRTvnS1k

Stoney Hibee
18-02-2016, 05:00 PM
Through all the hard times we have suffered over the years, if you had to give an answer why you support Hibs apart from my dad did ,then this is it

Agree 100%!

HarpyHibby
18-02-2016, 08:22 PM

I always have my bar scarf and it was aloft last night! Scarves for the League Cup Final everyone :agree:

I think it's the fact a lot of people have different scarfs now as opposed to green and white ones. The white bars stand out clearly but tartan and all green scarfs aren't easily seen against a dark background...

Agreed though, would look far better with the green and white bars!

OsloHibs
18-02-2016, 09:08 PM
FANTASTIC :not worth:scarf::not worth

18-02-2016, 10:53 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpt1/v/t1.0-9/12717712_10208881974430786_7689469915756521679_n.j pg?oh=dbd7e3629338442e6c1e09a3edf96087&oe=5761FED5

18-02-2016, 11:09 PM
Two fans invaded from what I saw. Hope they were ejected and are told any further invasions will result in a lengthy ban.

The coverage this clip has is amazing. Take a look at the likes for other clips on their page. This one is way above the vast majority of others

Hibeesforever
18-02-2016, 11:15 PM
I like this video......

Dr_Regal
18-02-2016, 11:21 PM
Absolutely brilliant! This is a special team.

Sorry i couldnt be a part of that.

19-02-2016, 12:48 AM

The album was released in 1988 and I remember walking down the big East Terrace steps after a rare derby win around then and the song was played over the tannoy. 'My heart was broken' was about all you got.

I'm sure either Irvine Welsh or Aiden Smith refers to that game somewhere - but I'm damned if I know where...

19-02-2016, 01:42 AM
I think it's the fact a lot of people have different scarfs now as opposed to green and white ones. The white bars stand out clearly but tartan and all green scarfs aren't easily seen against a dark background...

Agreed though, would look far better with the green and white bars!

It would but a lot of people have to do it for it to look really good when you have a stand like the East.

I went to loads of games at both Easter Road and Tynecastle when I was young and these "displays" were what happened at half time, especially with the away fans. Hibs, Hearts, Rangers and Celtic used to fill their allocation and all the scarves being held aloft was some sight because of the shallow gradient. The thing hearts did also looked amazing back then and almost made you dizzy.

Maybe I'm nitpicking but the 2007 final looked better because Hampden is just a terrace with seats plonked on it. However, Tuesday felt the same and was just as emotional.

It also feels a bit strange to hear all these compliments from all corners of the U.K. regarding our "anthem" and our singing of it. To me, it's just what we do.
Maybe it takes an observer from the outside to make you realise what you have.

19-02-2016, 12:11 PM
I've never known a song to give me goosebumps so often!

Is it possible for someone to upload to youtube - could see lots of people watching it around the world.

19-02-2016, 12:16 PM
I've never known a song to give me goosebumps so often!

Is it possible for someone to upload to youtube - could see lots of people watching it around the world.

Already done.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vbIvtEeJZK4

monarch
19-02-2016, 12:57 PM
A great football anthem ---- and not a hint of sectarianism or description of anyone's blood group :wink:

19-02-2016, 12:59 PM
The best football anthem in the world, bar none.

SOL pisses all over YNWA!

19-02-2016, 01:08 PM
Love it when KT raises his arms.

Still a Hibee

Benny Brazil
19-02-2016, 01:34 PM
Still watching this :)

Never noticed until just now - one of the Hertz coaching staff (think its maybe Stevie Crawford) stays right until the end of our lap of honour to shake the hands of the Hibs players - nice touch - and he gets to listen to the best football anthem in the world live! :greengrin

19-02-2016, 01:47 PM
Words can't express how much I love the Sky Sports footage of this. The recording is even better than that of the 07 cup final so I got more enjoyment out of it than I did for the footage from Hampden (which was a hell of a lot to begin with). Hopefully I'll be in the next one rather than just watching them back on repeat for days on end. :greengrin

Showed a few Norwich supporting friends and they were astonished. Didn't realise the magnitude of the club and the passion of the supporters was so mammoth beforehand. They also admitted to being green with envy at us having such a powerful anthem... Green was certainly the colour to go for.

19-02-2016, 02:11 PM

Thanks for posting. I read some of the comments & thought just what kind of moronic illiterates would take time to post these when I realised the answer was self-evident, Yams! They really are special, their pathetic inadequacy complexes means they continually have to stress we're a tiny team & then they question why we celebrate beating them! They make Baldrick look like Einstein!

19-02-2016, 02:19 PM
Los Yambolinos envy shows with that clip. They just don't have that class, that profile.

19-02-2016, 02:20 PM

Aaaarrrrgggghhhh! You ****! You made my ears bleed :fuming:

If the sound of the players singing it in the changing rooms got up Neilsons nose....You have to wonder how he was feeling on hearing the full welly version :greengrin

19-02-2016, 02:22 PM
Still watching this :)

Never noticed until just now - one of the Hertz coaching staff (think its maybe Stevie Crawford) stays right until the end of our lap of honour to shake the hands of the Hibs players - nice touch - and he gets to listen to the best football anthem in the world live! :greengrin

Neilson did as well, although less noticeable, he was stood in the tunnel shaking the players hands as they walked off.

19-02-2016, 02:26 PM
We need to get the club to make this the official club anthem, as its always referred to as the Hibs unofficial anthem.

If ever any song was any clubs anthem, this is it. :thumbsup:

19-02-2016, 02:30 PM
We need to get the club to make this the official club anthem, as its always referred to as the Hibs unofficial anthem.

What is the official club anthem?

19-02-2016, 02:30 PM

Get the boys to re-record this with the support sing along on the track and on the vid :aok:

p.s. I would buy it....and that would be the first time I bought a record since the internet was invented :greengrin

19-02-2016, 02:33 PM
Already done.

Cheers :thumbsup:

Came across this video also - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQHhhJNxvEo :top marks

Hongkong Phooey
19-02-2016, 02:36 PM
Ages since I've posted or even felt compelled to. Man, I miss days like you've just had. Special team but even more special fans. From a long way away, f'n chapeau!

19-02-2016, 02:41 PM

Came across this video also - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQHhhJNxvEo :top marks

Saw that as well. Some brilliant footage taken on the night.

19-02-2016, 02:49 PM
Spoke to a client based in Halifax today, he was raving about the video (he's a Leeds fan but I bought him a Hibs mug for Xmas), then got onto an old colleague in Watford and he mentioned it too, 'amazing video on SSN about the Hibees, what a great song that is, wish Watford had one like that'.
Seems to be doing that slow viral thing some videos do on line, I expect to see it popping up on my feed over the next few months 😉 It's rather pleasant being a Hibby right now.

19-02-2016, 02:49 PM
Already done.

downloaded, muchos grassyass

19-02-2016, 02:56 PM

FFS.

I watched it once in sheer disbelief.

Then watched it again to have a proper laugh at it.

And now I can't get it out of my head……..

19-02-2016, 03:54 PM

That video has been shamefully stolen by the Talkingbaws Facebook page and has got over 50k views since last night already.

https://www.facebook.com/talkingbaws/?fref=ts

That's only a Scottish Football page as well.....some of the comments are from upset Yams who clearly need to get a ride :greengrin

19-02-2016, 03:55 PM
FFS.

I watched it once in sheer disbelief.

Then watched it again to have a proper laugh at it.

And now I can't get it out of my head……..
I think i saw him on carstairs got talent. Deary me i am shellshocked my toes will not uncurl

19-02-2016, 06:04 PM
Alan Stubbs said in an interview on HTV that he's been listening to it on YouTube whilst in the car. Also mentioned that it's the first time since being at Everton he's actually had the hairs on the back of his neck stand up due to a fan's song. :thumbsup:

19-02-2016, 08:39 PM
Some of the Hearts fans comments are funny. Stuff like it's a pity hey don't sell out every week. I'm not sure why they think it's a pity / from their point of view it's the last thing they'd want cos we'd be able to outspend them even more than we already are.

It'd be 30 in a row before they know it.