View Full Version : NHC Messi Penalty

14-02-2016, 08:16 PM
Barca are hot tonight leading Celta Vigo 6-1 including this penalty from Messi.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s66iJf_d8i0

14-02-2016, 08:18 PM
Barca are hot tonight leading Celta Vigo 5-1 including this penalty from Messi.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cl5FZaLg8JQ

....Hibs Class.....Leanne! :greengrin

14-02-2016, 08:19 PM
Does that go down as a missed penalty?!

14-02-2016, 08:21 PM
Brilliant Stuff.

14-02-2016, 08:22 PM
That worked out a wee bit better than this effort. :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0l_QmTEoPdk

14-02-2016, 08:24 PM
Rather arrogant, and does it not show lack of respect to the opposition? It's a bit like when a player does keepy ups during a game.

14-02-2016, 08:25 PM
Rather arrogant, and does it not show lack of respect to the opposition? It's a bit like when a player does keepy ups during a game. it's a free kick so you can boot it out for a shy if you want

14-02-2016, 08:27 PM
it's a free kick so you can boot it out for a shy if you want

If I were the manager, I think I'd be telling them not do that again but take it properly.

14-02-2016, 08:29 PM
Does that go down as a missed penalty?!

Messi record on penalties is terrible too.

14-02-2016, 08:29 PM
Should have been made to retake it, Suarez was already within ten yards when Messi touched it forward

14-02-2016, 08:31 PM
Should have been made to retake it, Suarez was already within ten yards when Messi touched it forward

I'm not sure if this a whoosh, but of course he was. The box is 18 yards, the penalty spot is 12...

Rather arrogant, and does it not show lack of respect to the opposition? It's a bit like when a player does keepy ups during a game.

Hahaha, aye why bother entertaining the fans? Burn the witch!

Disrespectful wee bawbag.

Great player, maybe the best ever, but believes his own hype a wee bit too much for me.

Thought that at the time, if it wasn't Barca folk would be saying it was arrogant.

14-02-2016, 08:32 PM
Hahaha, aye why bother entertaining the fans? Burn the witch!

I'd rather see one of the greatest players of all time smash a pen into the top corner.

14-02-2016, 08:32 PM

Great player, maybe the best ever, but believes his own hype a wee bit too much for me.

How's it disrespectful? Didn't break any rules.

Stuff like this seems to upset people more than leg breaking challenges.

14-02-2016, 08:34 PM
How's it disrespectful? Didn't break any rules.

Stuff like this seems to upset people more than leg breaking challenges.

They're 4-1 up and cruising. Just bang it on the top corner and don't take the piss.

I hasten to add, leg breakers upset me a whole lot more than a pisstake penalty.

14-02-2016, 08:36 PM
They're 4-1 up and cruising. Just bang it on the top corner and don't take the piss.

I hasten to add, leg breakers upset me a whole lot more than a pisstake penalty.

That's what I was thinking. Would they have done that at 0-0? Rather humiliating for the opposition.

Agreed!!

I despair at times...

14-02-2016, 08:37 PM
I'm not sure if this a whoosh, but of course he was. The box is 18 yards, the penalty spot is 12...

I'm not sure if this is a double whoosh, but you know that wee bendy white line just outside the box......

14-02-2016, 08:38 PM

It's no taking the piss though. It's just different.

If he had just hit it normally and scored it would have been the same outcome.

14-02-2016, 08:38 PM
Great idea, why not.

Tobias Funke
14-02-2016, 08:45 PM

You are clearly wound up by not very much aren't you? It's not a very big deal. Life goes on.

14-02-2016, 08:47 PM
Great idea, why not.

Is it disrespectful when he skins 6 men and nutmegs the keeper? The aim of football is to outwit your opponent within the rules isn't it? To do that in an innovative way shouldn't really draw criticism IMO.

14-02-2016, 08:47 PM
They're 4-1 up.

No they weren't.

And folk moaning about the best player in the world showing a bit of ingenuity makes me laugh

14-02-2016, 08:49 PM
Ajax did this about 40 years ago. Was considered genius and brilliant then. Not arrogant.

14-02-2016, 08:50 PM

Messi record on penalties is terrible too.

It will be if he passes them all.

14-02-2016, 08:51 PM
Thought it was a great bit of entertainment but can understand the opposition thinking it's taking the p*ss a bit.

Wouldn't fancy Jason trying this on Tues night if we get a pen however. :greengrin

14-02-2016, 08:52 PM
Football has got way to serious. Do folk forget that it's a game and a sport that is to entertain fans who watch it. This is brilliant because it shows they have the balls to keep doing different things.

Players running up the line keeping the ball up etc is also great. If you have the talent for gods sake use it and show what football can be.

All this it's disrespectful is crap. I'd love to have the talent to do these things and if my team were doing it I'd encourage it. Like when Hearts won 10-0 never took their foot off the gas and totally humiliated Cowdenbeath. I'd have loved us to do that.

14-02-2016, 08:54 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1sEk61PRlFs

14-02-2016, 08:54 PM

:rotflmao::rotflmao:

For the best player that's ever lived, he is extremely humble. Bold is complete rubbish.

That match was more entertaining than anything I'd seen for a while involving a team I have no feeling for, largely down to moments like that. Stop being miserable.

hibbymick
14-02-2016, 08:56 PM
It shouldve been a retake as Suarez was in the box just before Messi kicks it. I wont be complaining on Tuesday if Hibs manage the same thing. :wink:

14-02-2016, 08:57 PM
Great thinking. I love things like that. The best bit about this will be watching pub teams attempt it as well.

14-02-2016, 08:58 PM
Disrespectful? Taking the pish? Can't quite believe what I'm reading here.

Brilliant to watch, more please!

14-02-2016, 08:58 PM
I'm not sure if this is a double whoosh, but you know that wee bendy white line just outside the box......

That makes twenty yards. So 20-12 =8 yards.

So he wouldn't be 10 yards away.

14-02-2016, 08:59 PM

Disrespectful ? :faf::faf:

You are allowed to do that in football - it's within the rules. I would say it's the work of a genius.

I despair at times - he's the greatest player who has ever lived and he believes his own hype :confused: odd thing to say.

He could have easily scored his 300th goal but set up a fellow team mate!!

14-02-2016, 09:00 PM
I loved it. Sheer class from a wonderful player. Barca were magnificent in the second half.

14-02-2016, 09:02 PM
Video clip not working so can't comment. :greengrin

14-02-2016, 09:02 PM
Disrespectful ? :faf::faf:

You are allowed to do that in football - it's within the rules. I would say it's the work of a genius.

I despair at times - he's the greatest player who has ever lived and he believes his own hype :confused: odd thing to say.

He could have easily scored his 300th goal but set up a fellow team mate!!

No George Best was the greatest that ever lived. Until Messi signs for Hibs we will never know just how good he is. :greengrin

hibbymick
14-02-2016, 09:03 PM
I loved it. Sheer class from a wonderful player. Barca were magnificent in the second half.

They were fantastic. :aok:

Argylehibby
14-02-2016, 09:04 PM
So that brilliant piece of skill my dad keeps telling me about when Gordon Smith ran up the touch line keeping the ball up on his head was just a huge piss take by Gordon. Not Hibs class at all?

14-02-2016, 09:06 PM
No George Best was the greatest that ever lived. Until Messi signs for Hibs we will never know just how good he is. :greengrin

Messi is miles ahead of Best and sadly Messi will never leave Barca let alone sign for Hibs :greengrin

14-02-2016, 09:06 PM

Messi missed it.

Purple & Green
14-02-2016, 09:07 PM

I think your right, I always assumed the arc on the edge of the penalty box was 10 yard radius from the penalty spot and Suarez is inside it when the pen is taken fwiw.

Paying homage to cruyff maybe? Didn't Jesper Olsen do it for Ajax too?

14-02-2016, 09:07 PM

Yes, George BEST!

14-02-2016, 09:09 PM

SuperAllyMcleod
14-02-2016, 09:10 PM
Ajax did this about 40 years ago. Was considered genius and brilliant then. Not arrogant.

Yes, that is why they did it - it's a tribute to Cruyff (former Barca player and manager) who has just announced that he is winning his battle with lung cancer.

14-02-2016, 09:10 PM
That was quality. Not into this chat about it being disrespectful - it was creative and entertaining, and I'd rather see players trying things like this if they're good enough to do it.

Bob1875
14-02-2016, 09:14 PM
You'd be raging if you had Messi next goal or Messi 2 or more etc. Absolutely furious!

14-02-2016, 09:23 PM
Lovely tribute the Johan. Hope his recovery continues to go well.

14-02-2016, 09:25 PM
Messi missed it.

Again

14-02-2016, 09:27 PM

Difference being it's not hype, it's true and of course he believes in himself or he wouldn't be the player he is.

14-02-2016, 09:27 PM
Disrespectful? Of whom and in what way?

14-02-2016, 09:34 PM
Barca are hot tonight leading Celta Vigo 6-1 including this penalty from Messi.

Would be worth getting sent off for putting that erse up in the air after taking that liberty.

14-02-2016, 09:35 PM
Would be worth getting sent off for putting that erse up in the air after taking that liberty.

What a load o bollocks

14-02-2016, 09:35 PM
Messi believes his own hype hahahaha. A hibs.net classic

14-02-2016, 09:39 PM
Remember Pires and Henry...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-ajDTudr3c

14-02-2016, 09:49 PM
Rik Coppens of Belgium done this 25 years before Cruyff!

https://twitter.com/AntiqueFootball/status/698992167411257345

14-02-2016, 09:50 PM

Messi gets kicked about 50 times a game but he's the bad guy for setting up a goal!

14-02-2016, 10:01 PM
That makes twenty yards. So 20-12 =8 yards.

So he wouldn't be 10 yards away.

It's 22-12. 22 yards from the goal line to the edge of the circle bit.

Hedlund12
14-02-2016, 10:08 PM
I'm in Barcelona and took my son to the game.
I've never seen anything as cheeky in football in my life!
I Was PMSL... it was a cracker that paid off but it would have been embarrassing as hell if they had fluffed it!
6-1 Barcelona ... that was money well spent.

14-02-2016, 10:11 PM
Cheeky wee Leo, sublime stuff.

14-02-2016, 10:17 PM
Since when do you have to respect your opponent, are you going to respect the Hearts on Tuesday night ? did Alan Gordon have to score the seventh against the Hearts all those years ago ? , maybe he should have deliberately missed out of respect for them ! aye right.

14-02-2016, 10:19 PM
If the people who are calling this 'disrespectful' were around in the 1800s they'd probably also be frowning on the use of players in defensive positions.

Out of interest, was Jim McIntyre's penalty in the semi replay disrespectful or skilful?

14-02-2016, 10:20 PM
I'm in Barcelona and took my son to the game.
I've never seen anything as cheeky in football in my life!
I Was PMSL... it was a cracker that paid off but it would have been embarrassing as hell if they had fluffed it!
6-1 Barcelona ... that was money well spent.

Superb....I hope your son appreciates what he's just witnessed!

14-02-2016, 10:21 PM
As gladiator said "are you not entertained"?.......

meister
14-02-2016, 10:26 PM
I thought it was a wee touch of class. Sky reported that would have been a milestone goal for Messi but he instead set Suarez up for a hatrick.

Within the rules, entertaining and completely unselfish, loved it. Not disrespectful either.

14-02-2016, 10:35 PM
Yes, that is why they did it - it's a tribute to Cruyff (former Barca player and manager) who has just announced that he is winning his battle with lung cancer.

TBH I was in the disrespectful camp but having read this that's a real touch of class. Fair play Leo, keep it up and you might get to play for the mighty Cabbage one day :top marks

14-02-2016, 10:36 PM
Fair play to Messi . Could have hit his 300th goal but instead sets up Suaraz for his hat trick 👍
Remember Henry and co making a pigs ear of a pen years ago . Fwiw a wish Mixu had done something similar against that lot with his last min dink over the bar pen .

14-02-2016, 11:09 PM
Disrespectful :faf:
Football is for entertainment ffs! More of that please! :aok:

15-02-2016, 01:02 AM
Even most Hearts fans I know wouldn't even call it disrespectful.

Disrespectful to them is when you **** your sister in the toilets at the Wheatfield stand before you buy her a pie and bovril.

15-02-2016, 07:44 AM
I swear to the big man, some folk would reach down to the scabby pavement, pick up the winning euromillions ticket and call the council about the litter.

15-02-2016, 09:02 AM
If I were the manager, I think I'd be telling them not do that again but take it properly.

Check out the manager reaction. He didn't know WTF was going on lol.

Could we please stop all this Messi being the greatest player ever nonsense.

GreenPJ
15-02-2016, 09:12 AM

Spot the contradiction, you admit he may be the best player ever and yet criticise him for believing he may be the best player ever.

15-02-2016, 09:37 AM
My pal was there and took this video https://vimeo.com/155368558

15-02-2016, 11:22 AM
When you've watched Davie Farrell in his pomp, Messi just looks a bit pish.

15-02-2016, 11:47 AM
Between Friday and Monday I watched around 6 games of football, and that Barca game was just night and day from the rest of them. The close control of Neymar, Messi and Iniesta is absolutely joyful. In the first 45 they played some lovely stuff without doing any real damage, but it was the second 45 that they really came to life. One of the best 45 minute team performances I've seen in a long long time. Outrageous play. Messi cannot be human. He just makes top level footballers look like 16 year old amateurs. It was just an absolute joy to watch and thats what football is all about!!

haagsehibby
15-02-2016, 12:07 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=kuajcjc5fJI

The Cruyff one was better IMO since Olsen rolls it back to him to score.

15-02-2016, 12:12 PM
Odds on Jase trying this?

Bracksy
15-02-2016, 12:13 PM
I thought it was absolute genius - pure entertainment watching that game last night!

Football is all about being different and trying to outwit your opponent whenever possible

15-02-2016, 12:14 PM
Thats why your not the manager.:greengrin

Caversham Green
15-02-2016, 12:37 PM
That worked out a wee bit better than this effort. :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0l_QmTEoPdk

One for the refs - am I right in thinking that should have been retaken as the ball didn't roll its full circumference so it was never in play?

15-02-2016, 12:44 PM
It was a regular thing in the English First Division in the 1960s. In fact Don Revie tried a variant of this when he played for Manchester City in the 1950s. One player would run up to take the penalty but jump over the ball. A teammate would then follow him and roll the ball into the net past a confused goalkeeper.

The only problem was that it was ruled out as the ball had not been touched. So later they tried rolling the ball forward a few inches (it had to move by the diameter of the ball). Later the ploy was to pass the ball sideways for the teammate to score. The other problem is that it will not work if the opposition are expecting it as they will mark other attackers and reduce the chance of getting a clean hit.

I doubt if Messi will do it again in the near future.

Nothing new at all.

15-02-2016, 01:35 PM

Why? No need to debate it here, but he's got a very good claim has he not? It's hardly nonsense.

15-02-2016, 01:36 PM

Go on...whose better ?

15-02-2016, 01:57 PM
So if this was John mcginn on Tuesday night against the *****, people on here would call him dis respectful and order a retake. Aye right.

15-02-2016, 02:14 PM
One for the refs - am I right in thinking that should have been retaken as the ball didn't roll its full circumference so it was never in play?

I don't think that law has been in place for a few years now. Had a quick look at the 2015/16 FIFA laws doc and it certainly doesn't refer to the circumference. I remember an incident many years ago when a free kick was taken, the taker chipped the ball into the air and a teammate volleyed it, and the debate was whether vertical movement counted as it travelling the distance of its circumference!

15-02-2016, 02:55 PM
http://www.skysports.com/barcelona

It's a debate anyway. Those of us who don't like it, aren't alone, seemingly. I'd rather not see it, to be honest. Smacks of smugness and disrespect, IMO.

15-02-2016, 03:26 PM
http://www.skysports.com/barcelona

It's a debate anyway. Those of us who don't like it, aren't alone, seemingly. I'd rather not see it, to be honest. Smacks of smugness and disrespect, IMO.

Cannot understand this argument at all.

Aim of football? To win.
How to win? To score goals.
Did they score goals? Yes.
Did they do it legitimately? Yes.

What on earth can you complaint about?
What if he had run up and missed the penalty?
What about getting a free kick on the edge of the box, rather than fire it goalwards, is it disrespectful to pass it and change the angle?

Who have they disrespected? Their opponents? Who have come out applauding it and angry at themselves?

Only people who want to be offended and disrespected have been here.

Is it disrespectful for Neymar to flick it over the boys head rather than run around him in the middle of the park? Because he is good enough to do so.

Football is about entertainment, and that second half, watching Messi Suarez and Neymar was the most entertaining half of football I have potentially every watched.

15-02-2016, 03:38 PM

Aim of football? To win.

What about getting a free kick on the edge of the box, rather than fire it goalwards, is it disrespectful to pass it and change the angle?

Who have they disrespected? Their opponents? Who have come out applauding it and angry at themselves?

Is it disrespectful for Neymar to flick it over the boys head rather than run around him in the middle of the park? Because he is good enough to do so.

Football is about entertainment, and that second half, watching Messi Suarez and Neymar was the most entertaining half of football I have potentially every watched.

Agree 100%. That 45 minutes was football from dreamland.

15-02-2016, 03:39 PM
So if this was John mcginn on Tuesday night against the *****, people on here would call him dis respectful and order a retake. Aye right.

If a guuntt pulled that stunt I would fully expect him to be halfed at the first opportunity.

15-02-2016, 03:41 PM
If a guuntt pulled that stunt I would fully expect him to be halfed at the first opportunity.

15-02-2016, 03:42 PM

If a guuntt pulled that stunt I'd fully expect him to miss the pass, fall over the ball, roll about in agony and probably get a second penalty awarded!

15-02-2016, 03:45 PM
If a guuntt pulled that stunt I'd fully expect him to miss the pass, fall over the ball, roll about in agony and probably get a second penalty awarded!

Good point well made. Can you imagine how many pairs of maroon slacks would also be soiled in the process?

15-02-2016, 03:48 PM

Aim of football? To win.

People saying it's disrespectful haven't a clue! :rolleyes: next we will be saying making a tackle is disrespectful as it may upset the opposition. :dummytit:

Smug ? Quite the opposite from Messi - it's being humble and setting up a team mate.

HibsMax
15-02-2016, 03:53 PM
It was a cheeky move but not illegal and it got the job done i.e., another goal scored.

Players flopping around on the ground like they've been shot are far more annoying and do more damage to the game than something like this.

15-02-2016, 03:54 PM
It was a cheeky move but not illegal and it got the job done i.e., another goal scored.

Players flopping around on the ground like they've been shot are far more annoying and do more damage to the game than something like this.

I wouldn't disagree with that.

Luzern67
15-02-2016, 04:04 PM

How do work that one out? He didn't score saurez did, it would have been his 300th league goal, hardly the act of a selfish player

Gordy M
15-02-2016, 04:06 PM
Think its a kinda un written rule that when ur thumping a team...you dont take the p*** and basically start goading them. Ive no issue with it, however i would then have no issue with messi and neymar being the subject of 'robust' challenges thereafter!!!

HappyHanlon
15-02-2016, 04:06 PM
Absolutely heehaw wrong with it.

Disrepectful? Bolt!

Messi had the confidence to try it and it worked. Also allowed Suarez to get his hat-trick.

I'd cream my s****s if Jase done that tomorrow night.

This idea that it's disrespectful/humiliating is exactly what's wrong with some of our support. Too bloody soft.

15-02-2016, 04:18 PM
Think its a kinda un written rule that when ur thumping a team...you dont take the p*** and basically start goading them. Ive no issue with it, however i would then have no issue with messi and neymar being the subject of 'robust' challenges thereafter!!!

Again more nonsense.

Fans pay good money to be entertained.

Kids football maybe (though I would say it's great creativity) but adult football - no chance.

The funny thing is players try and thump Messi, Neymar and co and can't get near them - plus it motivates them to try harder so rarely works :greengrin

Gordy M
15-02-2016, 04:28 PM
Again more nonsense.

Fans pay good money to be entertained.

Kids football maybe (though I would say it's great creativity) but adult football - no chance.

The funny thing is players try and thump Messi, Neymar and co and can't get near them - plus it motivates them to try harder so rarely works :greengrin
Yeh you might think its nonsense....others dont. If its entertainment you want, see if they would do it at 0-0?? Now that would be entertaining...but they wont, they did it to show off...which is fine but dont be surprised if folk take it another way.

15-02-2016, 04:34 PM
Yeh you might think its nonsense....others dont. If its entertainment you want, see if they would do it at 0-0?? Now that would be entertaining...but they wont, they did it to show off...which is fine but dont be surprised if folk take it another way.

A large majority think it's fine - did the Celta players really make a fuss about it?

What about when Neymar flicked the ball over the oppositions head?

No they aren't bothered as they are professionals getting paid around £50,000 upwards a week!

At 0v0 who knows...showing off? So scoring a penalty top corner isn't showing off also ? Shall we just pass the ball back to the keeper and show them some respect?

I am surprised as it's ridiculous people are even letting it cross their mind that's it's disrespectful :greengrin

Gordy M
15-02-2016, 04:47 PM
A large majority think it's fine - did the Celta players really make a fuss about it?

What about when Neymar flicked the ball over the oppositions head?

No they aren't bothered as they are professionals getting paid around £50,000 upwards a week!

At 0v0 who knows...showing off? So scoring a penalty top corner isn't showing off also ? Shall we just pass the ball back to the keeper and show them some respect?

I am surprised as it's ridiculous people are even letting it cross their mind that's it's disrespectful :greengrin

Not sure if the celta players bothered as i didnt see the whole game, but aston villa players certainly did at the weekend when jordon henderson tried a back flick during their game, and villa players will be paid a lot more than celta players. Its called taking the p***. Ive seen it loads of times when a team are on top and start the fancy flicks...and yes the opposition have been bothered!!! Ive seen it happen in other sports as well.
You enjoy it, others think its ott, thats all i was saying.

15-02-2016, 05:01 PM
Bit sick of the Barca media love in. Hell of a side and fantastic to watch but they along with Real Madrid do their best to decimate any competition in La Liga. 77 players signed during a supposed transfer embargo? Wonder how many other Spanish clubs aside from those two be would be allowed to do that... More than a club indeed.

15-02-2016, 06:01 PM
I'm hoping that the next time Hibs are winning easily, no-one tries to nutmeg an opponent.

I seriously felt ashamed when Hibs beat Rosenborg 9-1 in 1974. Sick to the stomach I was.

And when Sauzee lobbed the ball over the hearts players head,
twice, in the millennium derby, I threw my scarf on the pitch in disgust.

15-02-2016, 06:03 PM
I'm sure it was all very entertaining, and there is no doubt that at their best Barcelona are Harlem Globetrotter esque.

But in my opinion what they did was disrespectful to fellow professional players ..... If Hibs did that in a game against the Yams or Sevco we would all talk and laugh for ever more about the day Hibs took the piss, not about the day Hibs played like Barcelona.

I wonder how entertaining folk would have found it if one of the Celta players having been humiliated in front of 30,000 people and a TV audience of millions had taken it upon himself to 'restore his honour' by breaking Messi's leg. We have all played in matches on public parks were our team was getting well beaten and some smart arse has decided to try out his repertoire of circus tricks. I don't know about anybody else, but my first reaction was always to hound the bugger round the park until I got 'a guid yin in' ...... its human nature and I would imagine that feeling is magnified tenfold when its how you make a living.

Anybody who thinks that the Celta players didn't feel like Barcelona were taking a bloody liberty is kidding themselves ... just the same as the president of Royo Vallecano felt moved to pose the question as to why Real Madrid felt the need to utterly humiliate his club by banging in 10 goals against them recently when Royo only had 9 men on the park after 30 minutes ....... there was no professional reason for Real not to do it, but was it really very sporting of them?

15-02-2016, 06:13 PM
I wonder how many on here can say they knew you could do that at a penalty, I certainly didn't and so 10 out of 10 to Barcelona for knowing the rules, not disrespectful in the least, all part and parcel of the beautiful game.

15-02-2016, 06:21 PM
Bit sick of the Barca media love in. Hell of a side and fantastic to watch but they along with Real Madrid do their best to decimate any competition in La Liga. 77 players signed during a supposed transfer embargo? Wonder how many other Spanish clubs aside from those two be would be allowed to do that... More than a club indeed.

Players can't be denied the right to move to Barcelona or any club, it was a registration ban. And as a result players that signed (77:confused:) had to sacrifice months of playing time in order to wait and be registered. Rangers done the same. Any club in England that may be put under transfer embargo will be able to do so as well.

15-02-2016, 07:16 PM
I'm sure it was all very entertaining, and there is no doubt that at their best Barcelona are Harlem Globetrotter esque.

But in my opinion what they did was disrespectful to fellow professional players ..... If Hibs did that in a game against the Yams or Sevco we would all talk and laugh for ever more about the day Hibs took the piss, not about the day Hibs played like Barcelona.

I wonder how entertaining folk would have found it if one of the Celta players having been humiliated in front of 30,000 people and a TV audience of millions had taken it upon himself to 'restore his honour' by breaking Messi's leg. We have all played in matches on public parks were our team was getting well beaten and some smart arse has decided to try out his repertoire of circus tricks. I don't know about anybody else, but my first reaction was always to hound the bugger round the park until I got 'a guid yin in' ...... its human nature and I would imagine that feeling is magnified tenfold when its how you make a living.

Anybody who thinks that the Celta players didn't feel like Barcelona were taking a bloody liberty is kidding themselves ... just the same as the president of Royo Vallecano felt moved to pose the question as to why Real Madrid felt the need to utterly humiliate his club by banging in 10 goals against them recently when Royo only had 9 men on the park after 30 minutes ....... there was no professional reason for Real not to do it, but was it really very sporting of them?

Wow! Where to start with that guff you've posted?
Ok. Firstly, when did we, as arm chair football fans, suddenly think we should be like some black L.A. rap gangs? It's all about respect is it? That N(fill in the blanks!) disrespected me so I's gonna cap his ass! He's been showing me up in front of ma hos... Boy gonna meet ma hommies smith and wesson!

Get a ****in grip!!

Next: it's probably been a while(can't be bothered checking) since there were 30k at Camp Nou for a league game..

"Restore his honour" by doing the offending player? This, coupled with amount of ability, is just one of the many attributes that separates top sportsmen from useless,pub league thugs that you allude to be yourself.

Why no uproar about Celtic reject John Guidetti - yes, that's right, a player too useless to disrespect the likes of Hamilton and kilmarnock - having the sheer brass neck to cup his disrespectful ears in a MOST disrespectful manner to the (72½thousand BTW) fans after he'd shamelessly (some, not me, may say disrespectfully) scored a penalty to make the score 1-1 ?

Oh, and its Rayo..... Show some respect FFS! royo????

Finally. Here's a scenario: imagine Hibs were 5-0 up at half time, away to the jambos , perhaps in a new year match. How many should we let the maroon balloons score in the second half to regain their respect?

Respect? You and yer respect can **** off back to Compton, N.....

15-02-2016, 07:20 PM

I wouldn't have found it entertaining at all. Someone breaking their leg on the football field isn't really to my taste, whereas something different and effective at a set-play most certainly is.

Hedlund12
15-02-2016, 07:57 PM
Superb....I hope your son appreciates what he's just witnessed!

He certainly does... he knows he is a lucky lad!
He had the cheek to say "first half wasn't that great but second half was much better!" That made me laugh considering he's been going to Easter Road for 4 years now!!
Heard him say on the phone to his Hearts supporting uncle that the derby replay will be the highlight of his week!!
I sincerely hope he is correct on that one!!

15-02-2016, 10:50 PM
Not sure if the celta players bothered as i didnt see the whole game, but aston villa players certainly did at the weekend when jordon henderson tried a back flick during their game, and villa players will be paid a lot more than celta players. Its called taking the p***. Ive seen it loads of times when a team are on top and start the fancy flicks...and yes the opposition have been bothered!!! Ive seen it happen in other sports as well.
You enjoy it, others think its ott, thats all i was saying.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35578309

No the Celta players weren't bothered.

Villa are bottom of the league for a reason and some Celta players will be on good money though I would say Celta are a better team than Villa so not sure what the money point full is.

Will have to disagree but I like seeing players show confidence in their ability and the hot heads run around and lose control. Basically players without any discipline resorting to violence as they can't get the ball so they kick the player.

I know what I would rather watch any day of the week - shame there are not more players who entertain us weekly.

Were Hibs disrespectful to hammer Hearts 7v0 ? Come on. where do you draw the line :greengrin

16-02-2016, 08:58 AM
Wow! Where to start with that guff you've posted?
Ok. Firstly, when did we, as arm chair football fans, suddenly think we should be like some black L.A. rap gangs? It's all about respect is it? That N(fill in the blanks!) disrespected me so I's gonna cap his ass! He's been showing me up in front of ma hos... Boy gonna meet ma hommies smith and wesson!

Get a ****in grip!!

Next: it's probably been a while(can't be bothered checking) since there were 30k at Camp Nou for a league game..

"Restore his honour" by doing the offending player? This, coupled with amount of ability, is just one of the many attributes that separates top sportsmen from useless,pub league thugs that you allude to be yourself.

Why no uproar about Celtic reject John Guidetti - yes, that's right, a player too useless to disrespect the likes of Hamilton and kilmarnock - having the sheer brass neck to cup his disrespectful ears in a MOST disrespectful manner to the (72½thousand BTW) fans after he'd shamelessly (some, not me, may say disrespectfully) scored a penalty to make the score 1-1 ?

Oh, and its Rayo..... Show some respect FFS! royo????

Finally. Here's a scenario: imagine Hibs were 5-0 up at half time, away to the jambos , perhaps in a new year match. How many should we let the maroon balloons score in the second half to regain their respect?

Respect? You and yer respect can **** off back to Compton, N.....

Ha ha .......dry yer eyes mate :faf:

FYI .... I was talking about a good hard tackle, at least in my case, I've never deliberately hurt an opposition player in my life. But if you don't think a player in any game, amateur or professional, is far more liable to be on the receiving end of a clattering tackle if he is perceived to be taking the piss you cant have been paying attention all these years ....... what's more you would be kidding yourself if you think that the players on the team having the piss taken wouldn't be thinking 'serves ye right'

Ooh he got the venue wrong and misspelled Rayo, he cant possibly be allowed an opinion because he doesn't go radge about players cupping their ears ..... get ower yersel Mr pedant.

As for your Hibs v Hearts scenario geeze peace, even from way up there on your high horse you must be able to tell the difference between apples & oranges.

Anyway ..... I'm away to support Reel Madryd ... the most popular team in my hood :greengrin

16-02-2016, 09:44 AM

FYI .... I was talking about a good hard tackle, at least in my case, I've never deliberately hurt an opposition player in my life. But if you don't think a player in any game, amateur or professional, is far more liable to be on the receiving end of a clattering tackle if he is perceived to be taking the piss you cant have been paying attention all these years ....... what's more you would be kidding yourself if you think that the players on the team having the piss taken wouldn't be thinking 'serves ye right'

Ooh he got the venue wrong and misspelled Rayo, he cant possibly be allowed an opinion because he doesn't go radge about players cupping their ears ..... get ower yersel Mr pedant.

As for your Hibs v Hearts scenario geeze peace, even from way up there on your high horse you must be able to tell the difference between apples & oranges.

Anyway ..... I'm away to support Reel Madryd ... the most popular team in my hood :greengrin

17-02-2016, 03:38 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W40sCCdij2o

Apart from the zillions of brilliant nutmegs, watch out for the unbelievable through pass at 4.10 min.

Different planet.

17-02-2016, 05:02 PM

Don't think you got the venue wrong... just every other point you made 😊

17-02-2016, 05:17 PM
... And the cheeky little Argentinian imp has just scored his 300th and 301st goals in Barcelona's game (in hand) against Sporting Gijon currently on sky sports 2. Been a cracker so far.

17-02-2016, 05:29 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W40sCCdij2o

Apart from the zillions of brilliant nutmegs, watch out for the unbelievable through pass at 4.10 min.

Different planet.

Soooo much disrespect in that vid :agree::thumbsup: