View Full Version : Media No Live Television For Replay?

07-02-2016, 07:29 PM
It seems that the replay takes place on Tuesday 16th February. Unfortunately, this date clashes with the Champions League. I stand to be corrected, but I'm fairly certain that there can be no live coverage of domestic matches if the CL is taking place.

Looks like no live TV unless it's Hibs TV for overseas fans.

Am I correct?

07-02-2016, 07:34 PM
I believe so mate, all the morn reason for a packed Easter Road! :aok

aljo7-0
07-02-2016, 07:35 PM
I think you are but then again I'm usually wrong......

07-02-2016, 07:35 PM
A bit of a pain for those who stay far away and would have been nice to get some extra cash but the less Live Football on TV the better for me. I watched today's game back as soon as I got home. It was like a different event. Being at the game is just so much more involving and the less games on the TV th emore fans that would feel that feeling. Hopefully everyone that can will made the effort a week on Tuesday.

murray26
07-02-2016, 07:36 PM
No sure yet.. But I think the Hun v killie game is the same night.. Can't see sky pieing one of the replays.. Plus bt have the cl now.. Just need to wait and see..

07-02-2016, 07:40 PM
More chance of it selling out if it's not on the box .
So I hope it isn't .

07-02-2016, 07:41 PM
Can you get hibs tv for one game? I'll be abroad that week.

07-02-2016, 07:43 PM
Can you get hibs tv for one game? I'll be abroad that week.

Subscribe then cancel after the match. You'll pay 1 month.

Malongoals
07-02-2016, 07:44 PM
Like people have said, more chance of a sell-out. Derby under the lights, electric atmosphere and hopefully a packed out East Stand (at least)

07-02-2016, 07:50 PM
No sure yet.. But I think the Hun v killie game is the same night.. Can't see sky pieing one of the replays.. Plus bt have the cl now.. Just need to wait and see..

You can watch the SEVCO and Celtic matches live via their own TV channels. All are streamed and are there if you know where to find them.

I don't think it matters who screens the CL matches, but there looks like there will be no live broadcast and it'll probably be the dreaded 'Open All Mics' option for us who can't attend.

:brickwall

07-02-2016, 07:52 PM
Thought tv ban was just for top flight games?

Think cup games are allowed to be shown :confused:

SuperAllyMcleod
07-02-2016, 08:56 PM
So much the better if not on TV - only 3500 Yams can see it and it will encourage the Hibs fans to turn up on the night and roar the team on.

Torto7062
07-02-2016, 09:04 PM
Why not get someone to Skype you during the game I did it for my son a couple o seasons ago when we played Utd and lost on penalties 😂😂

magpie1892
07-02-2016, 10:41 PM
Happy to be shot down here but Sky buy the rights to the tie, not the match, and on that basis they will be televising the replay.

EH6 Hibby
07-02-2016, 11:03 PM
Why not get someone to Skype you during the game I did it for my son a couple o seasons ago when we played Utd and lost on penalties 😂😂

Gonnae no do it again then. :greengrin

Torto7062
07-02-2016, 11:05 PM
Gonnae no do it again then. :greengrin
😂😂😂😂

How No 😉

07-02-2016, 11:05 PM
Happy to be shot down here but Sky buy the rights to the tie, not the match, and on that basis they will be televising the replay.

You may be right, but think there's a UEFA rule that you can't show a game live when champions league is on.
That's unless they change the date of the game....
Nothing surprise me anymore

07-02-2016, 11:12 PM
The Champions League games are crap, so I'm not surprised UEFA are desperate to protect them from competition.

Won't be able to make the game, and won't watch the CL if our game isn't televised.

KingFranck
08-02-2016, 07:31 AM
I thought the rule was only for champions league final there can't be a match something like within 7 hours of the game no idea where I heard or saw this but it rings a bell. No idea about earlier rounds

wearethehibs
08-02-2016, 07:48 AM
Pretty sure 1 of our games v Livi last season was live on ALBA while the Champions League was on.

I thought it was weird at the time, as I thought live games weren't meant to be shown at same time as Champs League too.

Think the footage actually cut out for a minute or 2 dead on kick off. But it came back on

ZAGREB RED
08-02-2016, 08:56 AM
Few years back, Celtic had to play an SPL game at 6PM because it was on TV same night as CL games - at St.Johnstone maybe ? I think other countries have shown domestic games same night as CL games, then just taken the hit in the form of a fine...Not sure how it all works though

08-02-2016, 09:05 AM
From a totallly selfish point of view I hope it isn't on TV as it increases the chance of a sell out, seeing as the only way to watch the game will be to go to it or HibsTV.

08-02-2016, 09:27 AM
From a totallly selfish point of view I hope it isn't on TV as it increases the chance of a sell out, seeing as the only way to watch the game will be to go to it or HibsTV.

It won't be a sell out.

LioNeilMessi
08-02-2016, 09:29 AM
I heard the ban doesn't apply when the country doesn't have a CL representative?

08-02-2016, 09:34 AM
It won't be a sell out.

Why not? The team deserve it.

08-02-2016, 09:36 AM
It won't be a sell out.

We have to all make it a sell out

Time to show up, this team deserves it

08-02-2016, 09:37 AM
We have to all make it a sell out

Time to show up, this team deserves it

Not disputing that at all sir, think we all know it won't be a sell out though!

08-02-2016, 09:39 AM
Why not? The team deserve it.

because its a Tuesday night
because its another £50 odd quid a couple
because it will be on TV
because a lot of people wont bring kids/wives to a jumbo game (and its late for kids on school night)

Again,from a purely selfish point of view, I hope somebody shows it. I head offshore for 3 weeks today.

I'm no fussed if it's not on the TV. It'll only increase our chances of selling out.

08-02-2016, 09:40 AM
because it will be on TV
because a lot of people wont bring kids/wives to a jumbo game (and its late for kids on school night)

It's school holidays that week so hopefully that'll mean more kids can attend

08-02-2016, 09:43 AM
It's school holidays that week so hopefully that'll mean more kids can attend

unfortunately not for my lads (west lothian) - they return to school on Wednesday. :rolleyes:

08-02-2016, 09:44 AM
because it will be on TV

Kids are off school. Was only two years ago that we sold out an evening game which was on TV, when the prices were exactly the same. I will be massively surprised if the attendance is below 17,000 which would be a very good return for the turnaround in time we have between the games to sell tickets. Games like this where the "Print at Home" function becomes a godsend.

08-02-2016, 09:46 AM
Kids are off school. Was only two years ago that we sold out an evening game which was on TV, when the prices were exactly the same. I will be massively surprised if the attendance is below 17,000 which would be a very good return for the turnaround in time we have between the games to sell tickets. Games like this where the "Print at Home" function becomes a godsend.

I'd also be surprised to see less than 17000 people at ER on the 16th, however, that isn't a sell out, is it?

08-02-2016, 09:52 AM
I'd also be surprised to see less than 17000 people at ER on the 16th, however, that isn't a sell out, is it?

It's not, but it wouldn't be because of any of your reasons stated. It is unlikely to be on TV, the majority of kids are not at the school, and as stated the game just two years ago, sold out at the same prices and was also a night time game.

08-02-2016, 10:01 AM
It's not, but it wouldn't be because of any of your reasons stated. It is unlikely to be on TV, the majority of kids are not at the school, and as stated the game just two years ago, sold out at the same prices and was also a night time game.

OK, cool. I disagree but i guess thats what a fans forum is all about.

08-02-2016, 12:25 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scottish-cup-replays-face-tv-7331503

They better not be considering a teatime kick off!!!!

08-02-2016, 12:32 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scottish-cup-replays-face-tv-7331503

Considering it could go to extra time and penalties, would need to be looking at 5pm ko, to finish safely before 7.45

08-02-2016, 12:32 PM

Tea time wouldn't work either, unless it was moved to Wednesday

Tuesday 16th February 2016

Fenerbahce v Lokomotiv Moscow UEFA Europa League Last-32 1st Leg 17:00 BT Sport Europe / BT Sport Europe HD

Benfica v Zenit St Petersburg UEFA Champions League Last-16 1st Leg 19:45 BT Sport 2 / BT Sport 2 HD

PSG v Chelsea UEFA Champions League Last-16 1st Leg 19:45 BT Sport Europe / BT Sport Europe HD

Wednesday 17th February 2016

Sporting Gijon v Barcelona La Liga 17:30 Sky Sports 2 / Sky Sports 2 HD

Chelsea U21 v Norwich City U21 U21 Premier League 19:05 Chelsea TV / Chelsea TV HD

Gent v Wolfsburg UEFA Champions League Last-16 1st Leg 19:45 BT Sport 2 / BT Sport 2 HD

Roma v Real Madrid UEFA Champions League Last-16 1st Leg 19:45 BT Sport Europe / BT Sport Europe HD

08-02-2016, 12:37 PM
Hopefully the club tell them to bolt if they try and move it. Next Tuesday is pretty convenient as we'll have a few days before our next Championship game.

£80,000 loss won't have too much effect given that we'll sell a lot more tickets without TV coverage (3000 more adult fans @ £28 = £84,000), with a chance of further cup games and a cup final which will generate far more cash than that. I'd rather see Easter Road full for once. Let's make it happen:flag:

08-02-2016, 12:38 PM

£80,000 is around 2857 paying adults.... The clubs would lose a hell of a lot more than that to folks at work and unable to attend... cant see it.

08-02-2016, 12:38 PM
Does anyone even watch the CL anymore?

rubber mal
08-02-2016, 12:48 PM
£80,000 is around 2857 paying adults.... The clubs would lose a hell of a lot more than that to folks at work and unable to attend... cant see it.

But it have to be double that as we'd only get half.

Anyway, it's not really a "loss" is it? This is a bonus game that won't have been budgeted for so surely anything we make is additional profit.

08-02-2016, 12:50 PM
Why would the announce they Dundee replay date if they already knew Dundee Utd were also at home that night?

08-02-2016, 12:53 PM
But it have to be double that as we'd only get half.

Anyway, it's not really a "loss" is it? This is a bonus game that won't have been budgeted for so surely anything we make is additional profit.

Yup, agreed. I just assumed Sky being Sky, they'd have the clout to get it on the telly but if the article is correct, cant see a dinner time KO and neither team will want a Monday match...

08-02-2016, 12:58 PM

Just as I thought. So much for "UEFA is determined that its financial fair play measures will bring greater stability to club football, blah blah blah..."

The Yams should do the decent thing and threaten to boycott the CL by way of protest.

Newry Hibs
08-02-2016, 01:03 PM

Nice pictures in the gallery of the 3 Hearts stands, Hearts players this, tackling that, scoring, celebrating. None of Hibs doing likewise. And yes I know I shouldn't have clicked the link.

ZAGREB RED
08-02-2016, 01:05 PM
I heard the ban doesn't apply when the country doesn't have a CL representative?

That should make showing Scottish games the same night as CL games safe for many years to come if that's true :wink:

08-02-2016, 01:22 PM
Considering that Champions League games...in the UK at least...are only available from paid subscription broadcasters, UEFA should be told to bolt.

scooby
08-02-2016, 01:28 PM
unfortunately not for my lads (west lothian) - they return to school on Wednesday. :rolleyes:

Same for us, but I couldn't keep my kids away if I tried!
Wouldn't miss this for anything.

08-02-2016, 01:33 PM
Same for us, but I couldn't keep my kids away if I tried!
Wouldn't miss this for anything.

my kids are 4 and 5... we take them to quite a few but i'm not ready to subject them to a derby/rangers game yet.

08-02-2016, 01:43 PM
Whats the legality of a broadcaster playing the game on a slight delay 10-30 seconds? :confused:

08-02-2016, 02:04 PM
Whats the legality of a broadcaster playing the game on a slight delay 10-30 seconds? :confused:

Or put it on Alba, nobody knows it exists :greengrin

08-02-2016, 02:14 PM
I found this about the TV blackout, no mention of UEFA

Football TV Blackout Rule

UK football’s TV blackout rule prevents live football matches from being televised between 2.45pm and 5.15pm on Saturday afternoons. The blackout rule was introduced during the 1960s when Football League chairmen believed televised matches had a negative impact on attendances at other matches being played at the same time.

The rule has caused controversy in recent years as live coverage of El Clasico, arguably the biggest match in world football, has been heavily disrupted.

Supporters of the rule believe removing the blackout would "threaten the sanctity" of the traditional Saturday 3pm kick-off. Recent findings from the European Court of Justice suggest the blackout period has little or no impact on attendances and, in fact, may restrict the European Commissions desire for cross-border access to audio-visual content.

08-02-2016, 02:16 PM

illegal!

08-02-2016, 02:17 PM
illegal!

Why? It's no longer live.

_hucks_
08-02-2016, 02:21 PM

It's how they're broadcast anyway - betting firms etc get access to the quicker pictures but the 'live' stuff on the telly has a built in delay.

BH Hibs
08-02-2016, 02:24 PM
Just another example of UEFA trying to rule the game for the select view where cash is king. Pisses me off that when you walk into a sports shop you can't see a Hibs, Aberdeen Dundee top etc but it's no problem to get a Barcelona, Real Madrid or even PSG ffs one. **** the Champions League.

08-02-2016, 02:26 PM

No, I think you are mixing things up with the rule for the major Leagues, that no matches can even take place when CL ties are staged regardless of whether they are televised or not. It is a devil of a job to reschedule postponed matches in the English Premier League as the CL takes up all bar about three Tuesdays and Wednesdays from mid February right through to the end of the season. The EL does the same with most Thursdays.

When is someone going to have the guts to tell UEFA to bugger off?

08-02-2016, 02:57 PM
The yaks have confirmed that the game:

is being played on Tues 16th Feb at 7:45pm
will not be televised due to UEFA restrictions.

08-02-2016, 03:01 PM
Hearts have this on their ticket update -

Fans should note that due to UEFA broadcasting rules, this tie will not be televised live.

08-02-2016, 03:05 PM
**** Uefa and their ***** rules.

PercyHibs
08-02-2016, 03:16 PM
Does anyone even watch the CL anymore?

good point, I stopped watching it a couple of years ago. :zzzzz!:

PercyHibs
08-02-2016, 03:19 PM
Surely the game not being televised will ensure more people actually go to the match? As someone else said around 2500 people will cover the tv money. win win

08-02-2016, 03:19 PM

Because its not about being live so much as showing other games at any point during the time window when the CL games are being played.

08-02-2016, 03:20 PM
Its fans like my old dad I feel sorry for. Too old an infirm to go to the game but would have loved to watch it on tv.

08-02-2016, 03:21 PM
good point, I stopped watching it a couple of years ago. :zzzzz!:

Same teams. same groups, same fixtures every year. Boring as ****.

08-02-2016, 03:22 PM
Jamie Bothwick from STV saying on Twitter that replay will not be showing on TV

08-02-2016, 03:23 PM
Same teams. same groups, same fixtures every year. Boring as ****.

Yep. Could tell you now three of the likely semi finalists. Boring.

08-02-2016, 03:26 PM
Can anyone find the UEFA rule saying it can't be shown?

I found this.. http://www.uefa.com/news/newsid=19817.html

Article 48.2
Implementing regulations (Article 3)
Decision on blocked hours by the national associations
2015/16 season – all times CET

Scotland

25 July 2015–21 May 2016
15.45–18.15

But that is just domestic games.

http://www.uefa.com/newsfiles/88494.pdf

08-02-2016, 03:35 PM
Jamie Bothwick from STV saying on Twitter that replay will not be showing on TV

Good. Should be a better atmosphere at the game.

It's a bugger for me to be there for kick off but I'm going even if it means being a bit late. Wouldn't miss this for the world.

Wife isn't too happy but I just don't think she understands.

08-02-2016, 03:47 PM

That you're Alan Stubbsy man?

08-02-2016, 03:57 PM

and better than Zidane. :greengrin

08-02-2016, 04:07 PM
Beyond gutting news that FFS.

08-02-2016, 04:14 PM

and better than Zidane. :greengrin

A lot of my spare time and cash will be going on hibs and the only explanation I'll be giving is "we've got John McGinn".

stantonsboots
08-02-2016, 04:15 PM
Not disputing that at all sir, think we all know it won't be a sell out though!I think it will! no doubt about it GGTTH

08-02-2016, 04:19 PM
Whilst I'm genuinely disappointed for fans who would love to come but can't for whatever reason.

This should see a significantly larger crowd than we'd have got with the game being on tele. Surely we can sell this out?

SuperAllyMcleod
08-02-2016, 05:21 PM

I take it she is not a John McGinn fan either? [emoji4]

08-02-2016, 05:27 PM
Why not get someone to Skype you during the game I did it for my son a couple o seasons ago when we played Utd and lost on penalties 

Periscope. :thumbsup:

08-02-2016, 06:08 PM
Surely the game not being televised will ensure more people actually go to the match? As someone else said around 2500 people will cover the tv money. win win

If someone said 2500 will cover it I think they're a wee bit out.The last I heard the home team at a cup tie gets £100,000,the away team £80000 from live TV.2500 split two ways is a long way short of £100K.

NeilT
08-02-2016, 06:57 PM
Big, big game.

No TV.

Could this be the first sell-out since the East redevelopment?

08-02-2016, 07:00 PM
Big, big game.

No TV.

Could this be the first sell-out since the East redevelopment?

Only if you don't include the derby a couple of years back.

08-02-2016, 07:51 PM
I'm surprised the game is going ahead aren't Hearts playing in the champions league that night.

08-02-2016, 07:53 PM
I'm surprised the game is going ahead aren't Hearts playing in the champions league that night.

They got a bye all the way to the final. UEFA know they are far too big a club to be playing in the last 16.

08-02-2016, 07:53 PM

They must be in the Europa league instead then

08-02-2016, 08:15 PM
Good. Should be a better atmosphere at the game.

It's a bugger for me to be there for kick off but I'm going even if it means being a bit late. Wouldn't miss this for the world.

Already on holiday that day so will come back from Arran early in the day and my daughter is off as well so will want to come along for this one .
If it had been on t v I would of been under pressure to stay on Arran ,but having watched me leap out my chair shouting when the equaliser went in ,my wife fully understands why I would want to be there

08-02-2016, 08:16 PM
Any chance this will be on Hibs TV for overseas subscribers?

08-02-2016, 08:27 PM
I'm surprised the game is going ahead aren't Hearts playing in the champions league that night.They just signed 11 playershttp://www.uefa.com/memberassociations/news/newsid=390976.html

EastCalderHibby
08-02-2016, 09:23 PM

they must be due another boycot

08-02-2016, 09:50 PM
they must be due another boycot

Wonder if they'll sell out their allocation

08-02-2016, 09:51 PM

I just saw a clip of De la Cruz scoring in the first minute v them. Empty away end - what was the boycott for that day?

08-02-2016, 10:06 PM
They just signed 11 playershttp://www.uefa.com/memberassociations/news/newsid=390976.html

'Hearts paid a club-record €1.25m to bring Bosnia-Herzegovina winger Miršad Beslija from KRC Genk, with another €750,000 spent acquiring the services of HJK Helsinki's Finnish international striker Juho Makela'

Can't find any info on Beslija (copy/pasted his name and got 'Your search found no documents') but on Makela, apparently Gunts freed him 19 months after buying him. How the ***** did they manage to get away with what they were up to for all these years ??

Slicer
08-02-2016, 10:19 PM
I just saw a clip of De la Cruz scoring in the first minute v them. Empty away end - what was the boycott for that day?

The 'unofficial' boycott was due to Hibs increasing ticket prices. What they didn't say is, they got horsed 6-2 the year before, Hibs were 3rd best, going into the derby as favourites, had been in Europe, and they wasted their SMG money on Gordon Petric.

The season after, they only had the bottom tier for the Phil Stamp game. They're not as loyal as they make out.

Craig Levein, the Hearts manager, sympathised with their cause, but also made a realistic point.

"I'm not going to comment on other people's business," said Levein, "but if you ask the Hearts supporters, you'll know why they weren't there. I know what they're saying, but I suppose if we were at the very top of our game, it would have been full. …

09-02-2016, 09:11 AM
'Hearts paid a club-record €1.25m to bring Bosnia-Herzegovina winger Miršad Beslija from KRC Genk, with another €750,000 spent acquiring the services of HJK Helsinki's Finnish international striker Juho Makela'

Can't find any info on Beslija (copy/pasted his name and got 'Your search found no documents') but on Makela, apparently Gunts freed him 19 months after buying him. How the ***** did they manage to get away with what they were up to for all these years ??

Here's Beslija. Cost £850k and made 9 appearances.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mirsad_Bešlija

Vlad tried to knock Genk for the transfer fee and UEFA intervened to get them their money.

God - that was 10 years ago :faint:

09-02-2016, 09:32 AM

I think they will sell out in one day.

scooby
09-02-2016, 09:39 AM
my kids are 4 and 5... we take them to quite a few but i'm not ready to subject them to a derby/rangers game yet.

Fair play - mine are 7 & 9 so completely understand.
My biggest problem is reigning in their expectations at the moment, as they think we should beat everyone..... It's a great time to be a hibby!

09-02-2016, 09:56 AM
Fair play - mine are 7 & 9 so completely understand.
My biggest problem is reigning in their expectations at the moment, as they think we should beat everyone..... It's a great time to be a hibby!

Yup, I know the feeling - I have a wee brother with cerebral palsy - hibs daft - thinks we should win everything and is a nightmare when it doesn't go our way.... Thankfully not very often these days 😝

Salt N Sauzee
09-02-2016, 10:27 AM

Course they will. Their entire existence is based around getting one over Hibs at any opportunity. I think obsessed is the word.

Hope we stuff them in front of a full house.

09-02-2016, 10:30 AM
Course they will. Their entire existence is based around getting one over Hibs at any opportunity. I think obsessed is the word.

Hope we stuff them in front of a full house.

I was only at the lash, they will sell out today

Also think this looks like it could be a sell out at the Hibs end by the weekend

Greenworld
09-02-2016, 10:46 AM
They way things are looking hibs may sell out in one day ....this not being on TV

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

NYHibby
09-02-2016, 10:50 AM
If someone said 2500 will cover it I think they're a wee bit out.The last I heard the home team at a cup tie gets £100,000,the away team £80000 from live TV.2500 split two ways is a long way short of £100K.

You are correct. We'd need to sell more than 7000 extra tickets at full price to match the TV money, which is impossible.

In cup games the club is almost always better off with the game on TV.

09-02-2016, 10:52 AM
You are correct. We'd need to sell more than 7000 extra tickets at full price to match the TV money, which is impossible.

Yeah but the way to look at it is this is a completely additional game, so ANY profit is a bonus. If a completely full house at ER for the derby helps the players get through to the next round, then the loss of TV money will be worth it.

09-02-2016, 10:53 AM
They way things are looking hibs may sell out in one day ....this not being on TV

Season ticket holders have to Friday to reserve their seats, maybe sell out over the weekend

09-02-2016, 11:44 AM
Season ticket holders have to Friday to reserve their seats, maybe sell out over the weekend

Then Sky make a late announcement on Sunday confirming that they will be televising the match. Win win win.

09-02-2016, 11:46 AM
Then Sky make a late announcement on Sunday confirming that they will be televising the match. Win win win.

They'd have to change the date then

09-02-2016, 11:47 AM

Or find a loophole.

09-02-2016, 11:52 AM

Monday night was discussed but we play at 17:15 on the Saturday night so it was a non starter.

09-02-2016, 11:54 AM

No chance. There are thousands available online in every stand, plenty in the corners of the FF upper and lower and the west upper and lower, plenty at the sides of the East as well.

09-02-2016, 11:55 AM
There are still 10 green sections in the stadium map online.

09-02-2016, 12:00 PM
Or find a loophole.

Who would take the hit if Sky showed either replay and UEFA took the huff?

09-02-2016, 12:01 PM
there will be a few seats available at the end of the week, from the very few season ticket holders who don't buy a ticket....

09-02-2016, 12:02 PM
Did Sky not show St Johnstone v Celtic at something daft like 5.45pm a couple of years back befor a champions league tie? Can mind Celtic fans protesting by booting about 20 balls over their behind the goals stand then big Samaras going for one of them :greengrin

09-02-2016, 12:03 PM

It was more wishful thinking than anything else. Full house and tv money. Perfect but unlikely to happen.

MagicSwirlingShip
09-02-2016, 12:07 PM

Aye, but it's a replay - Hibs wouldn't have budgeted for any extra TV cash coming in.

Any ticket sales are a bonus :thumbsup:

09-02-2016, 12:13 PM
Or find a loophole.

I'm sure something like happened a few years ago. UEFA fined the association, but the fine was covered by the tv costs.
Maybe someone can remember this

09-02-2016, 12:16 PM

The SFA they would poop their pants if UEFA spoke to them in a harsh way, isnt going to happen. EPL showed a game a couple of years back and got fined however they have substantially more clout than we have.

09-02-2016, 12:18 PM
I'm sure something like happened a few years ago. UEFA fined the association, but the fine was covered by the tv costs.
Maybe someone can remember this

The Liverpool derby I think it was.

Greenworld
09-02-2016, 01:01 PM
No chance. There are thousands available online in every stand, plenty in the corners of the FF upper and lower and the west upper and lower, plenty at the sides of the East as well.
East nearly sold out(around 350 left) I know about the green bits they are filling fast....I just bought 8 for guys that have never been for ages....which is great ...not being on the telly is bringing stay at homers out...

09-02-2016, 04:23 PM
East nearly sold out(around 350 left) I know about the green bits they are filling fast....I just bought 8 for guys that have never been for ages....which is great ...not being on the telly is bringing stay at homers out...

09-02-2016, 10:45 PM
Does the UEFA blackout thing apply to Hibs TV?

haagsehibby
10-02-2016, 03:26 PM
Does the UEFA blackout thing apply to Hibs TV?

No, it's just been announced on the official site that there will be audio for UK/ROI subscribers and full tv for Rest of World.

10-02-2016, 03:43 PM
No, it's just been announced on the official site that there will be audio for UK/ROI subscribers and full tv for Rest of World.

VPN it is then! Buzzing can get to watch the game still.

10-02-2016, 06:19 PM

Cheers. :aok:

10-02-2016, 06:34 PM

I'm at the game so doesn't effect me. What are they charging

10-02-2016, 06:39 PM
I'm at the game so doesn't effect me. What are they charging

Looks like £5.99 for a months membership recurring payment though unless you cancel.

10-02-2016, 06:47 PM
Looks like £5.99 for a months membership recurring payment though unless you cancel.

Could be a nice wee extra earner for Hibs, hope they don't have to share the profits with Hearts

11-02-2016, 11:07 AM
I noticed some FA cup game was live on tv last night while our big neighbours were playing. How is that possible? :greengrin

11-02-2016, 12:17 PM
If you have a subscription do you still have to pay extra to watch matches live? Was the case when I used to subscribe.

11-02-2016, 12:45 PM
No extra cash required i believe. Can't watch the footage of the game live unless your IP address comes from outside UK/Ireland, so if you are in UK/Ireland, grab a VPN to watch game otherwise listen to the audio broadcast

11-02-2016, 12:56 PM
It really is a pity that this game isn't being shown live on TV, it is going to be a superb atmosphere so it is on the night, the only person i can think of that will be delighted this game isn't being beamed across the world on live TV is Queen B. :cb

11-02-2016, 01:54 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hearts/moira-gordon-clubs-to-benefit-from-tv-blackout-of-cup-games-1-4027208

11-02-2016, 01:57 PM
So if I am in Berlin I can watch is LIVE? on Hibs TV?

11-02-2016, 02:45 PM

Yes you can as long as you are a subscriber.

11-02-2016, 03:13 PM

Yes, but you don't have to go to Berlin especially as it is shown all round the world except in Britain and Ireland.:greengrin

11-02-2016, 05:32 PM
HeartsTV saying they are not allowed to show it after clarification from UEFA. Must affect us too?

les83
11-02-2016, 05:45 PM
Am I the only one who thinks UEFA really need to get over themselves?
They're so precious about their wee cup. If the product was as great as they seem to think then folk would watch it and they wouldn't need to worry about our local derby being screened live - it seems even on a supporters only web page!
Don't they realise that these are two completely different markets? Nobody outside of Scotland will be interested in our match unless they follow one of the two sides involved.
Then again, having looked at their fixtures for Tuesday night, I can see why they're worried! lol

11-02-2016, 05:49 PM
HeartsTV saying they are not allowed to show it after clarification from UEFA. Must affect us too?

Who will they pay for the rights to do this? SFA or Hibs

11-02-2016, 06:05 PM
If you have a subscription do you still have to pay extra to watch matches live? Was the case when I used to subscribe.

No, but the subscription is more expensive than it was. Still well worth it though.

ZAGREB RED
11-02-2016, 06:06 PM
Yes you can as long as you are a subscriber.
Probably will be available through the usual, ahem, "unofficial means" :wink:

11-02-2016, 06:09 PM
I wonder if BBC will cover it and show highlights at the back of 10.

Just like the old days, watching the game then rushing home to watch the highlights on Sportscene. Bliss.

spudhib
11-02-2016, 06:11 PM

Just like the old days, watching the game then rushing home to watch the highlights on Sportscene. Bliss.

More likely 5 minutes online.

11-02-2016, 08:41 PM
Am I the only one who thinks UEFA really need to get over themselves?
They're so precious about their wee cup. If the product was as great as they seem to think then folk would watch it and they wouldn't need to worry about our local derby being screened live - it seems even on a supporters only web page!
Don't they realise that these are two completely different markets? Nobody outside of Scotland will be interested in our match unless they follow one of the two sides involved.
Then again, having looked at their fixtures for Tuesday night, I can see why they're worried! lol

You are right but it's all about the big boys cornering the market - The Champions League is the preserve of the few & they don't give a flying one
for anyone else.

11-02-2016, 09:02 PM
More likely 5 minutes online.

And that'll be after the near 15-20 minutes highlights of Kilmarnock V the Hun .................. well, maybe, assuming the Huns win !

11-02-2016, 09:04 PM

Nothing in their forward planner

12-02-2016, 09:53 AM

Following today's announcement that HeartsTV International was set to broadcast Hearts' William Hill Scottish Cup fifth-round replay against Hibs live to overseas subscribers, contrary to previous advice, the club has had further clarification that this is not permitted.

UEFA broadcasting rules prevents the tie from being televised live on any format.

The club would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused.

A full-match replay of the Edinburgh derby, plus extended highlights, goal clips and interviews full be available to watch on HeartsTV from midnight onwards after the game.

As others have suggested, this surely means Hibs TV can't show it either. Total farce that UEFA can dictate what clubs show to their subscribers.

itslegaltender
12-02-2016, 09:53 AM
If there are no highlights scheduled then it is an absolute farce.

Also, Rangers are now saying they cant beam game on their tv abroad, suspect Hibs TV will have to announce this also.

Maybe we should get some volunteers to do it on periscope?

12-02-2016, 09:58 AM
Sky should just put it on pay per view and take the hit with the fine. I'd pay 15 quid to see it.

12-02-2016, 10:03 AM
Hearts not allowed to show any live footage - so Hibs won't be able to either.

Has to be radio or highlights for those not going to game.

12-02-2016, 10:12 AM
Yes, but you don't have to go to Berlin especially as it is shown all round the world except in Britain and Ireland.:greengrin

Im there for the Film Festival. :na na:

12-02-2016, 10:12 AM
This is an absolute joke. I have ZERO interest in watching the Champions League! UEFA can GTF! I fail to see how they can control a subscription only website from showing it? We're probably talking about 200 viewers worldwide FFS. Absolute joke.

12-02-2016, 10:38 AM
Hibs TV need to tell subscribers if it will be shown or not, fans in other countries are maybe relying on this as the only way to follow the game.

12-02-2016, 10:51 AM
When is someone going to have the guts to tell those corrupt bunch of crooks at UEFA to stick it?

They are effectively sealing off 30 Mondays and Tuesdays at the peak of the season not to mention one Saturday at the end of the season. The English Premier League teams cannot even stage matches for those days. It makes it a nightmare to reschedule fixtures in the second half of the season.

Half of them including Platini should be in jail by now.

12-02-2016, 10:59 AM
Have Hibs not said they are showing it on Hibs TV though?

12-02-2016, 11:03 AM
I have searched long and hard to find where UEFA say the game, or any other game, cannot be shown in direct competition to any of their own tournaments, and have failed.

Here are their Champions League regulations.

http://www.uefa.org/MultimediaFiles/Download/Regulations/uefaorg/Regulations/02/23/57/51/2235751_DOWNLOAD.pdf

Appendix F only seems to refer to clubs in the competition not showing their own games in opposition to UEFA own media partners.

12-02-2016, 11:08 AM
Hibs TV undoubtedly planned to show the match - UEFA wouldn't have been any the wiser. Whether they will depends on how much interest this thread has attracted.

12-02-2016, 11:09 AM
Just reposting what the yams posted on their main site and what another poster shared above....

Following today's announcement that HeartsTV International was set to broadcast Hearts' William Hill Scottish Cup fifth-round replay against Hibs live to overseas subscribers, contrary to previous advice, the club has had further clarification that this is not permitted.
UEFA broadcasting rules prevents the tie from being televised live on any format.
The club would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused.
A full-match replay of the Edinburgh derby, plus extended highlights, goal clips and interviews full be available to watch on HeartsTV from midnight onwards after the game.

12-02-2016, 11:10 AM
Surely club tvs are allowed to show the game. Man u show all their euro games when they are in the champions league I'm sure.

12-02-2016, 11:12 AM
Hibs TV undoubtedly planned to show the match - UEFA wouldn't have been any the wiser. Whether they will depends on how much interest this thread has attracted.

No - its been canned due to the Jumbos asking UeFA if they could show it!

pogo
12-02-2016, 11:23 AM
I subscribed to Hibs TV yesterday for the first time, because I thought I would get the match! Oh well, at least I'll get audio commentary!(presume this is allowed!)
Joke of a rule by EUFA, I haven't watched Champions League for years, and have no intention of doing so again in the foreseeable future.

12-02-2016, 11:24 AM
OK folks, explanation required. Here are listings for Wednesday night

Wednesday 17th February 2016

Sporting Gijon v Barcelona La Liga 17:30 Sky Sports 2 / Sky Sports 2 HD

Chelsea U21 v Norwich City U21 U21 Premier League 19:05 Chelsea TV / Chelsea TV HD

Gent v Wolfsburg UEFA Champions League Last-16 1st Leg 19:45 BT Sport 2 / BT Sport 2 HD

Roma v Real Madrid UEFA Champions League Last-16 1st Leg 19:45 BT Sport Europe / BT Sport Europe HD

The Sporting Gijon game will be over before the CL games kick off, but the Chelsea U21 game will still be in direct completion to the CL games. My reading of that is that clubs own channels can show their own games if the rights are not owned by UEFA.

Anyone disagree?

TamHibs
12-02-2016, 11:26 AM
OK folks, explanation required. Here are listings for Wednesday night

The Sporting Gijon game will be over before the CL games kick off, but the Chelsea U21 game will still be in direct completion to the CL games. My reading of that is that clubs own channels can show their own games if the rights are not owned by UEFA.

Anyone disagree?

Not sure if that is the case as Hearts have said they aren't allowed to show the game to International customers

12-02-2016, 11:30 AM
Not sure if that is the case as Hearts have said they aren't allowed to show the game to International customers

What about the Chelsea U21 game then?

12-02-2016, 11:36 AM
What about the Chelsea U21 game then?

Senior competitions only maybe ?

Nothing stopping someone show a feed of say Edinburgh City v Spartans at the same time.

The rule is a joke anyway - though we complain when games are on TV and we complain when they aren't!

12-02-2016, 11:40 AM
Apparently clubs in Scotland receive a 'solidarity' (aye right) payment of about 2,000,000 (in total) for this to apply and breaking it leads to fines and withholding of the payment

12-02-2016, 11:40 AM
Can anyone find the actual rules and wording?

It is surely more likely Hearts have sought a legal opinion rather than simply "asked UEFA". Possibly that opinion could be incorrect.

12-02-2016, 11:42 AM

It is surely more likely Hearts have sought a legal opinion rather than simply "asked UEFA". Possibly that opinion could be incorrect.

Post #154 above.

12-02-2016, 11:55 AM
I completely fail to see the legal grounds that UEFA can take over this. A club records their team playing and streams it over their own server to a paying fanbase. It has bawz all to do with UEFA. Broadcasting is a competitive market, not a monopoly. If UEFA are concerned that they'll lose viewers, then they should improve their own services, not snatch away others.

12-02-2016, 11:58 AM
I completely fail to see the legal grounds that UEFA can take over this. A club records their team playing and streams it over their own server to a paying fanbase. It has bawz all to do with UEFA. Broadcasting is a competitive market, not a monopoly. If UEFA are concerned that they'll lose viewers, then they should improve their own services, not snatch away others.

I'm guessing here, but could it be that Hibs are allowed to do this for Hibs TV, but aren't permitted to sell this on to Hearts TV or anyone else? :dunno:

12-02-2016, 12:11 PM
I'm guessing here, but could it be that Hibs are allowed to do this for Hibs TV, but aren't permitted to sell this on to Hearts TV or anyone else? :dunno:

No idea mate. But if I had to hazard a guess I would say that how HibsTV distribute their media is entirely up to them, as long as they have full consent from the clubs board.

The_Sauz
12-02-2016, 12:35 PM
Could it be that UEFA don't believe that "The Big Team"/ "Future Champions League Winners"don't have over 400,000 fan's around the world and that's why they blocked them from streaming the game :lolyam:

12-02-2016, 12:45 PM
How difficult would it be for the club to come out with an announcement on this :confused:

12-02-2016, 12:47 PM
How difficult would it be for the club to come out with an announcement on this :confused:

There's maybe nothing new to announce

12-02-2016, 01:27 PM

They just have on Twitter.

12-02-2016, 01:27 PM
Hibernian can confirm that we will unfortunately be unable to broadcast live video of Tuesday night's Edinburgh Derby to overseas subscribers of Hibs TV.

UEFA broadcasting rules prevents the tie from being televised live on any format, which has been confirmed as including club broadcasts. We are able to provide live audio commentary to both UK and international subscribers.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6195

I'll ask again, how an Chelsea get away with it for a game very few are going to watch anyway.

19:00

Live Chelsea U21 v Norwich U21 15/16

Chelsea U21s meet Norwich U21s in the Barclays U21 Premier League at the Recreation Ground in Aldershot.

http://www.chelseafc.com/content/cfc/en/homepage/videos/chelsea-tv-live.html

12-02-2016, 01:30 PM
So UEFA are basically forcing us to watch PSG v Chelsea (again) or Benfica v Zenit - game of the ****ing season, people!

If they had their way UEFA would plant (unpaid) workers outside ER on Tuesday night turning people away and telling them to go and watch the Champions League on TV.

12-02-2016, 01:31 PM
I think the rest of Scotland should join Celtic in their boycott of the UEFA Champions League.

12-02-2016, 01:35 PM
I was sure we played on TV last year during a UCL night and having checked, we did.

On the 22nd April 2015 Hibernian travelled to Livingston, live on BBC Alba at 7.45pm.

On the same night the UCL Quarter finals took place with Monaco vs Juventus and Real Madrid vs Atletico.

This wasn't an issue then so have no idea why it would be an issue now?

12-02-2016, 01:45 PM
Why not broadcast the game with a 10 second delay. Then the game is not live

12-02-2016, 01:45 PM

Given that a legal opinion would cost money and asking UEFA wouldn't, I think that is less likely. :greengrin

12-02-2016, 01:47 PM
I was sure we played on TV last year during a UCL night and having checked, we did.

On the 22nd April 2015 Hibernian travelled to Livingston, live on BBC Alba at 7.45pm.

On the same night the UCL Quarter finals took place with Monaco vs Juventus and Real Madrid vs Atletico.

This wasn't an issue then so have no idea why it would be an issue now?

I could be wrong, but I think it only applies to "premier" competitions in each UEFA country. For Scotland, this would be the SPL, the Scottish Cup and the League Cup.

12-02-2016, 01:54 PM
Email sent to the Media and Communications Officers at the SFA for clarification

It is with dismay that I find both Hibernian and Heart of Midlothian have announced that the Scottish Cup Replay scheduled for Tuesday 16 February that they are unable to broadcast the match live to oversea subscribers over the internet due to UEFA regulations preventing any broadcast of matches while UEFA Champions League games are being broadcast on subscription channels such as BT Sports. What is more confusing is Chelsea TV are advertising the internet broadcast of an Under 21 fixture on the Wednesday 17th February, also while UEFA Champions League games are scheduled.

The Hibs v Hearts game is arguably the highest profile match in this round of the Scottish Cup yet overseas fans are being denied the opportunity to watch it, while a few Chelsea fans are able to tune into an under 21 League game. Is it possible that there is a different interpretation of some vague rule by UEFA that I have found impossible to track down? What exactly is the wording? Is it possible for the SFA to intervene on behalf of Scottish football supporters.

12-02-2016, 02:07 PM
Why not broadcast the game with a 10 second delay. Then the game is not live

There already is about a minute - 2 minute delay on Hibs tv any way. I witnessed this when watching a game abroad last season and flash scores were ahead by a good minute or 2.

EUFA are a effin joke tbh.

Also what is the rules? Is it just Europe? If so then HIBS tv should be able to say they are streaming it to America/Africa/Australia etc

12-02-2016, 02:35 PM
I could be wrong, but I think it only applies to "premier" competitions in each UEFA country. For Scotland, this would be the SPL, the Scottish Cup and the League Cup.

Who decides which competitions are "Premier" or not lol?

Again, another example is that Alba showed our game with The Rangers in the Petrofac cup on a UCL night.

Not having a go at yourself, but I find it absurd that technically we could show Hibs vs Rangers in the Championship however couldn't show Preston Athletic vs Spartans in an early Scottish Cup round?

Someone needs to tell UEFA to bolt

12-02-2016, 02:48 PM
Don't betting sites such as Bet365 etc offer live streamed matches at the same time as Champions League games? Are they exempt?

12-02-2016, 06:54 PM
Post #154 above.

Sorry I trawled through it and couldn't find the exact regulation that applies.

13-02-2016, 09:16 AM
Sorry I trawled through it and couldn't find the exact regulation that applies.

Same result as me. It seems to be one of those 'rules' that has come about through repeated quotes. I don't think it exists otherwise Chelsea, one of UEFA's pets, would not be showing their under 21 game on the Wednesday on their channel.

13-02-2016, 12:52 PM
Email sent to the Media and Communications Officers at the SFA for clarification

It is with dismay that I find both Hibernian and Heart of Midlothian have announced that the Scottish Cup Replay scheduled for Tuesday 16 February that they are unable to broadcast the match live to oversea subscribers over the internet due to UEFA regulations preventing any broadcast of matches while UEFA Champions League games are being broadcast on subscription channels such as BT Sports. What is more confusing is Chelsea TV are advertising the internet broadcast of an Under 21 fixture on the Wednesday 17th February, also while UEFA Champions League games are scheduled.

The Hibs v Hearts game is arguably the highest profile match in this round of the Scottish Cup yet overseas fans are being denied the opportunity to watch it, while a few Chelsea fans are able to tune into an under 21 League game. Is it possible that there is a different interpretation of some vague rule by UEFA that I have found impossible to track down? What exactly is the wording? Is it possible for the SFA to intervene on behalf of Scottish football supporters.

Fans in the US should write to their local Senator, there are laws against anti competition like this and it would be interesting to see if EUFA could be fined or banned from broadcasting their games here. Class Action law suit from thousands of US Hibbies and three Jambos coming up! 😀