1 England
2 Ireland
3 France
4 Wales
5 Scotland
6 Italy

05-02-2016, 07:38 AM
I'll start with my usual improbable optimism levels and in a couple of weeks will have accepted the OP's forecast of 5th as just about the best we can expect.

Along the way there'll be the usual mixture of unrewarded excellent performances, suicidal handling errors and shoddy refereeing decisions coupled with at least 1 terrible all-round performance (generally against Wales for some reason).

Sergio sledge
05-02-2016, 09:17 AM
I'll start with my usual improbable optimism levels and in a couple of weeks will have accepted the OP's forecast of 5th as just about the best we can expect.

Along the way there'll be the usual mixture of unrewarded excellent performances, suicidal handling errors and shoddy refereeing decisions coupled with at least 1 terrible all-round performance (generally against Wales for some reason).

:agree: this pretty much describes it perfectly.

05-02-2016, 09:20 AM
What do you think?

Im going

1 England
2 Ireland
3 France
4 Wales
5 Scotland
6 Italy

Very difficult to tell where England will finish. Could be anywhere. Scotland will probably be 4 or 5.

05-02-2016, 09:52 AM
Well all I ask is a scotland win tomorrow. So not asking much :greengrin

I have won 2 tickets to be at the game, so will be my first ever 6 nations match. Can't wait!!

05-02-2016, 05:12 PM
we only have two home games this season, Engerland tomorrow and France(cup final day) i think we can beat the french at home and the italians away, don't be too shocked if we beat engerlund tomorrow though :)

05-02-2016, 09:31 PM
Where's the optimism we will come a spectacular 2nd

05-02-2016, 09:41 PM
I think we'll do pretty well. Next Thursday I head off for 4 days on the lash in Wales with Alloa Rugby Club on our usual tour to Swansea🏉🍻🍺. I think we might just sneak a win tomorrow and then see off the Welsh. I expect us to beat Italy away and France at home but see us struggle against Ireland. I think we'll finish second. I am an eternal optimist and expect a Scottish cup win every year too🏆

06-02-2016, 05:26 AM
Many moons ago this was one of the years where we had a chance. We had the tough games at home and the Welsh and Irish were givens anyway so it didn't matter where we played them.

I think this will be close and I think we'll edge it. If not, at least we'll still be in the Scottish cup unlike two years ago. That was a crap day.

06-02-2016, 03:14 PM
Italians unlucky France 23 Italy 21

06-02-2016, 04:36 PM
HT 6-7 terrible attempt at a drop goal from russell that would have put us ahead at HT...erse

06-02-2016, 05:01 PM
A dour game so far. There's not much evidence that we have a cutting edge to our game.

06-02-2016, 05:33 PM
every ****** time we make advances forward and we muck it up, russell main culprit, unfortunately cotter took until 15 mins left to decide seymour was pure rank today, russell really mucked up when we had that breakaway and instead of giving it out to hogg he blooters it up the park and out for some bizarre reason, still, at least ireland and wales will make far FAR better use of the ball when up at the english 5 metre line, still think we will beat the French at murrayfield for a glorious double on 13th march :greengrin 504 minutes since we last scored a try against england at murrayfield...will be another 504 before we do again

06-02-2016, 05:39 PM
Swing Low!

Mr Grieves
06-02-2016, 05:40 PM
Scotland were poor, far too many mistakes. England were unspectacular but got the basics right.

06-02-2016, 05:43 PM
Bloody awful. Favourites for the wooden spoon already.

coldingham hibs
06-02-2016, 05:54 PM
Verne Cotter is far too negative in the way he gets Scotland play, there was zero excitement in that performance, Hogg is the only player in the team with enough pace to trouble the opposition. It's all huff & puff.

Wooden spoon again I reckon.

06-02-2016, 06:36 PM
and looking at things realistically, registered rugby players in each six nation country

England = 2 Million
France = 360,000
Ireland = 153,000
Italy = 66,000
Wales = 50,000
Scotland = 38,500

06-02-2016, 08:52 PM
and looking at things realistically, registered rugby players in each six nation country

England = 2 Million
France = 360,000i
Ireland = 153,000
Italy = 66,000
Wales = 50,000
Scotland = 38,500

Definately a factor but it doesn't excuse basic mistakes and the inability to learn from these mistakes.

06-02-2016, 09:18 PM
Farquhar and Findlay and all those other guys with first named that should be last names will be crying into there white wine spritzers tonight. Shame really.

06-02-2016, 09:22 PM
Definately a factor but it doesn't excuse basic mistakes and the inability to learn from these mistakes.

certainly wont disagree with that, i get more het up watching the scottish rugby team than i do watching hibs :greengrin i've honestly never saw any other international rugby team make so many **** ups when at the oppositions 5 metre line, we either get caught out with a silly basic schoolboy error or just lack imagination to get over that try line, and we just know that if we get a penalty(even a big distance out) 9/10 times we will kick for goal instead of a line-out, ross ford was pretty poor with his throw-ins again today, i've shouted at the tellybox for quite a few years now for us to change the thrower :rolleyes: but cotter/whoever just wont listen :(

hibbymick
06-02-2016, 10:38 PM
Think that's 10 or 11 years we've gone without winning our opening game.

LustForLeith
07-02-2016, 08:04 PM
Think that's 10 or 11 years we've gone without winning our opening game.

Think we've lost sixteen out of the last seventeen opening games.

10-02-2016, 06:45 PM
Gutted about Saturday. England were crap but we were crappier! Basic errors and wrong decisions cost us. Hopefully we will sort that out as this squad of players has huge potential. I have just taken time off from ironing my rugby club shirts and packing my case for the bi annual Alloa Rugby Club trip to Wales. Leave at 6am tomorrow, back at 10pm Sunday. Monday off work, Easter Road on Tuesday

12-02-2016, 07:20 AM
I wonder if Scotland will be able to keep their six nations campaign on track this weekend. I was slightly concerned it may have come off the rails last weekend but thankfully they were able to steady the ship and stay on course.

12-02-2016, 04:37 PM
I think England are the only 6 nations team that the much improved Italians haven't beaten yet.

I think they might give England a problem or two on sunday.

12-02-2016, 08:01 PM
I wonder if Scotland will be able to keep their six nations campaign on track this weekend. I was slightly concerned it may have come off the rails last weekend but thankfully they were able to steady the ship and stay on course.

Aye sure you were!!

13-02-2016, 05:56 PM

Still on course, good old Scotland ever reliable.

13-02-2016, 06:59 PM
Doubt you'll get any bites until you change your username SH.

14-02-2016, 06:52 AM
Doubt you'll get any bites until you change your username SH.

Well that ain't happening,SH is a way of life!

14-02-2016, 07:24 AM
Still on course, good old Scotland ever reliable.
Still waiting for the day you post something constructive on this thread but maybe Scotland rugby team need to contact Jurgen the German to see how real rugby should be played. Liverpool seem to be good at that. :aok:

14-02-2016, 08:28 AM
Got one Hutchy.

14-02-2016, 08:42 AM
Got one Hutchy.
Think so ?

Your posts are like your rugby team. Slow and very predictable :na na:

14-02-2016, 09:04 AM
Think so ?

Your posts are like your rugby team. Slow and very predictable :na na:

Still biting.

14-02-2016, 09:59 AM
Got one Hutchy.

:clapper:

14-02-2016, 02:23 PM
Any idea what the hand gesture is that that wee nyaff Farrell does after each conversion?

Italy are spent in this game.

14-02-2016, 02:27 PM
Any idea what the hand gesture is that that wee nyaff Farrell does after each conversion?

Italy are spent in this game.

It's to support a charity called Joining Jack and will be down to his Dad (Andy) being a friend of Andy Johnson from his Rugby League days.

14-02-2016, 02:44 PM
It's to support a charity called Joining Jack and will be down to his Dad (Andy) being a friend of Andy Johnson from his Rugby League days.

Yeah, just read that. Maybe not so much of a nyaff as I previously thought.

27-02-2016, 10:47 AM
Come on Scotland keep it going this weekend.

27-02-2016, 03:24 PM
Aw FFS that's it ******.

27-02-2016, 07:41 PM
Aw FFS that's it ******.

You'll not sleep tonight!

27-02-2016, 07:50 PM
I watched Wales v France last night and it's got to be one of the worst games ever.
It was devoid of action, littered with scrums and officiated by a referee who obviously thought he was the centre of attraction.

27-02-2016, 09:23 PM
I watched Wales v France last night and it's got to be one of the worst games ever.
It was devoid of action, littered with scrums and officiated by a referee who obviously thought he was the centre of attraction.

:agree: straight from the Hugh Dallas school of refereeing. Dull.

Still Scotland are on the march now - I think we can win our last 2 matches.

28-02-2016, 07:53 PM
The Six Nations seems to be two lines of hulks bashing into each other. Where's the expansive play?

Scrumdowns are a farce. After several collapses, the ref spends an age getting them to set nicely and then the scrum half pops it in his side every time and gets away with it.

01-03-2016, 02:10 PM
The Six Nations seems to be two lines of hulks bashing into each other. Where's the expansive play?

Scrumdowns are a farce. After several collapses, the ref spends an age getting them to set nicely and then the scrum half pops it in his side every time and gets away with it.

:agree: it's turning into Rugby League. Even with the farcical scrums - at least league have accepted they're a farce and just get them over with quickly.

And the amount of time wasted with the guys taking the kicks doing some kind of Tourette's routine is ridiculous.

13-03-2016, 04:48 PM
Champions.

13-03-2016, 07:45 PM
Champions.

Aye that news was all I needed to complete a totally disastrous day!

14-03-2016, 01:09 AM
Champions.

It's been easy for England this year. I suppose the first year after a World Cup isn't the year you want to win it (although any year is good I suppose) but Jones has made a huge difference to your team by just making a few subtle changes like playing Robshaw in his actual position.

Really surprised by how little England have won the grand slam in the last 20 years given the resources they have.

14-03-2016, 06:41 AM
Just watched the game. Who knows how the game would have went if those 2 early French kicks had been scored but we were excellent after that.

I'd say we've got a truly world class player in Hogg.

16-03-2016, 06:52 PM
I'm quite surprised theres been no action taken against Marler for calling Samson Lee "gypsy boy". Seems to be being brushed off as "banter".

19-03-2016, 09:04 PM
Grand slam champions

20-03-2016, 09:35 AM
Grand slam champions

Easy in the end as well. You had a good run of fixtures but still well deserved.

20-03-2016, 09:41 AM
Easy in the end as well. You had a good run of fixtures but still well deserved.

Quite a transformation under Eddie Jones, I'm not a great follower of rugby to be honest,the 6 nations is the only interest I show.

20-03-2016, 10:42 AM
Had a fair sized wedge on England in the handicap betting last night, nice wee end to a decent day in the bookmakers.

21-03-2016, 02:10 AM
The miscarriage of soccer. crap sport I have never missed. Throwball is only marginally more tedious.

16-05-2016, 12:56 AM
well done scotland winning the Bowl final in the Paris 7's, beating engerlund (again) 28-10 :thumbsup: and also a great result v USA in the SF

17-05-2016, 09:11 AM
well done scotland winning the Bowl final in the Paris 7's, beating engerlund (again) 28-10 :thumbsup: and also a great result v USA in the SF

NYHibby
20-05-2016, 02:53 PM
Is anyone watching Glasgow's playoff game tomorrow after the cup final?

21-05-2016, 01:44 PM
Is anyone watching Glasgow's playoff game tomorrow after the cup final?

Definitely. That's of much more interest than the FA Cup Final. 'Mon the Warriors!

NYHibby
21-05-2016, 08:41 PM
Definitely. That's of much more interest than the FA Cup Final. 'Mon the Warriors!

I took an Uber from Hampden to Waxy O'Connors and just caught the start of the game. Bit disappointing, but earlier in the day made up for it. Plus I already got to see Glasgow lift the cup in Belfast last year.

23-05-2016, 11:38 AM
well done the 7's, winning their first cup final, with two tries in the last minute against South Africa in the last round at twickers...and another win v the 'home' team, superb :agree:

http://www.worldrugby.org/sevens-series/news/161490

great weekend of sports :)