stokesy this time :wink::thumbsup:
yes come on Raith.

02-02-2016, 07:55 PM
On a hat-trick.

02-02-2016, 07:56 PM
Short header back by Hanlon, Morton player beat Oxley to it but touch was well away from goal.

swindonhibs
Ya dancer tony stokes 😎 Making my birthday that bit happier👌

@HibsOfficial: 50: Johnstone heads onto the roof of the net for Morton

On a hat-trick.

Just don't !

seanshow
PMSL That may save CrazyHibby's bacon

GlasgowHibee
02-02-2016, 07:57 PM
Great finish from Stokesy, would maybe like to see him upfront instead of JC this Sunday.

PMSL That may save CrazyHibby's bacon

Only if he can also give me this week's Lotto numbers.

Goal! Morton 0, Hibernian 1. Anthony Stokes (Hibernian) right footed shot from the centre of the box to the bottom left corner. Assisted by John McGinn.

we've got McGinn
super john McGinn
i just dont think you understand

02-02-2016, 07:58 PM
I knew Crazyhibby would come good :greengrin

Don't encourage him. He's just a very naughty boy.

02-02-2016, 07:58 PM
How is Keatings playing?

02-02-2016, 07:59 PM
Great finish from Stokesy, would maybe like to see him upfront instead of JC this Sunday.

You need to look at your autocorrect - it's changing alongside to instead of.

@HibsOfficial: 50: Johnstone heads onto the roof of the net for Morton

I misread that as "heads into the roof of the net..."

Phew!

How is Keatings playing?

Exactly 😉

02-02-2016, 08:00 PM
Come on Hibs, get a second goal. ... Or third :cb

Lewis shot blocked. Corner.

Nevi_SOL
I misread that as "heads into the roof of the net..."

Phew!

Same haha

YEESSS !

Could tell from the change in Sportsound mood before reading it on here :thumbsup:

Yeah, noticed that - every time we score/win their tone goes into the 'Announcing a death' mode !!

oooohh 938 members on....that's a lot :greengrin

02-02-2016, 08:01 PM
Shocking commentary on HibsTV. I had no idea we had scored due to the lack of emotion in the commentator's voice.

Unbelievable. Didn't know we had scored . Wtf was that all about .

according to Charlie Mann it's his first for us :confused:

Noticed that too - poor effort considering the amount of attention his move attracted...

hibbypostie

yeah you should always drop your top scorer who seems to thrive in the big games for the big games eh :agree:

Is it real?

02-02-2016, 08:02 PM
Noticed that too - poor effort considering the amount of attention his move attracted...

To be fair though, Charlie Mann has never been right about anything in his life. He's not going to change now.

Is it real?

Is it just fantasy?

Does crazyhibby work for sky bet? Bassas put up that Norwich scored, I've got both teams to score......

Exactly 

02-02-2016, 08:03 PM
another please calm the nerves

02-02-2016, 08:03 PM
Is it real?

Do you mean is the universe a hologram, or have Hibs really scored?

02-02-2016, 08:04 PM
Is it just fantasy?

Caught in a landslide.

ManBearPig
Any updates on the game?

Scrappy in the Hibs box, Morton shoot wide

Told you stokes would score. ...

02-02-2016, 08:05 PM

Aw FFS :greengrin

A belated YES ! Out the room for ten minutes, come back and it's 0-1. :thumbsup:

@HibsOfficial: 60: McManus curls an effort wide of the target from the edge of the area after O'Ware's cross was blocked

Tinribs
Caught in a landslide.

No escape from reality..

Enough now lol

Again. Hilarious.

02-02-2016, 08:06 PM

You need an agent.

See next week, can you announce a hat trick in the first few minutes, that way we can relax when we go 2-0 down.. :agree:

tartanhibee

I apologise for my earlier comment.

Need another goal here hibbys

McGinn shoots wide from about 25 yards

60: McManus curls an effort wide of the target from the edge of the area after O'Ware's cross was blocked

@HibsOfficial: 62: McGinn has a shot from outside the box, but it's just over the bar

02-02-2016, 08:07 PM
See next week, can you announce a hat trick in the first few minutes, that way we can relax when we go 2-0 down.. :agree:

Takes away the fear of Stokes scoring.

No escape from reality..

Enough now lol

It was beyond my willpower to resist. I agree though enough's enough.

Greenworld
Cumon ffs my nerves are in tatters get a second goal

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

MagicSwirlingShip
Get Thommo on. Exactly the type of game he would come in useful, get his foot on the ball and provide a bit of calm in midfield.

02-02-2016, 08:08 PM
McGinn shoots wide from about 25 yards

Clown! He'll never score from that distance. :rolleyes:

02-02-2016, 08:09 PM
A belated YES ! Out the room for ten minutes, come back and it's 0-1. :thumbsup:

Away oot again then :greengrin

Clown! He'll never score from that distance. :rolleyes:

I just don't think you understand

Morton header wide from a corner. Need to lift it.

02-02-2016, 08:10 PM
Vardy just scored a stoater for Leic.

02-02-2016, 08:11 PM

Ffs I wanted to watch MOTD tonight

02-02-2016, 08:12 PM
Stokes shot straight at the keeper

02-02-2016, 08:12 PM
Ffs I wanted to watch MOTD tonight

Now you've got something to look forward to.

02-02-2016, 08:13 PM
Forster having a fantastic game for Southampton.

@HibsOfficial: 68: Gaston holds onto a shot from Stokes

Good build up but cross is straight to the keeper.

HibeeEmma
I wonder if this game is as dull in Greenock as it is listening to it live and refreshing the thread page on .net?

Ocht! I was going to watch that later. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

02-02-2016, 08:14 PM
I wonder if this game is as dull in Greenock as it is listening to it live and refreshing the thread page on .net?

Ask crazy to liven it up ;)

02-02-2016, 08:15 PM
Ocht! I was going to watch that later. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

MOTD not on tonight anyway.

02-02-2016, 08:15 PM
possession
46% v 54%

shots
6 v 12

on target

0 v 2 <<< this must include the non-goal goal

02-02-2016, 08:16 PM
Stokes shot deflected wide. Corner

02-02-2016, 08:16 PM
It was beyond my willpower to resist. I agree though enough's enough.

Open you're eyes,ya plonker
Look up to the skies,as Shakespeare once said
Annnndddd seeeeeeeee🐇

02-02-2016, 08:17 PM

It's on at 23:45 but you'll get it an hour earlier on
BBC One in the English regions.

Aye it is. In England anyhow.

It is.

Yes it is.

02-02-2016, 08:18 PM
@HibsOfficial: 72: Stokes has a shot blocked and it's out for a corner. Henderson takes it, and Gaston holds it

David_D

Is on at 11.45 for some crazy reason

Mon Raith Rovers. Score a goal.

Hwnderson breaks free in the box but overruns and is tackled.

How long left now? Getting nervous.

HibeeEmma
Stokes shot deflected wide. Corner

How did that turn out? Any interesting updates?

02-02-2016, 08:19 PM
How is Keatings playing?

Cos Stubbs picked him. That's how they're all playing.

02-02-2016, 08:19 PM
Come on Hibs. Watching the scores on SSN. I've got two cans of lager in my fridge (been in there since before Christmas). Might need one in a minute.

02-02-2016, 08:20 PM
Raith goal chopped off. Wrong decision apparently

HibeeEmma
How long left now? Getting nervous.

17 minutes according to the twitter feed

Stokes off Dagnall on

Off the bar
Dagnall coming on for Stokes

02-02-2016, 08:21 PM
@HibsOfficial: SUB: In the 76th minute, Dagnall replaces Stokes for #Hibs

02-02-2016, 08:21 PM
Cos Stubbs picked him. That's how they're all playing.

Beginning to think Hearts knew what they were doing on that front. Really disappointing the past couple of months.

02-02-2016, 08:22 PM
Dags is going to score

02-02-2016, 08:22 PM

There's a shock!!!

02-02-2016, 08:23 PM
Dags is going to score

Hopefully mate. Deserves it I'd say

02-02-2016, 08:23 PM
http://www.hibs.net/image.php?type=dberror
Database error

ManBearPig
02-02-2016, 08:24 PM
Only counts if crazyhibs says he'll score

@HibsOfficial: 78: Henderson's in-swinging corner is almost connected with by Gunnarsson. The ball breaks for McGinn, but his shot is blocked

Nevi_SOL
Dags is going to score

Keeping it for sunday

Dags is going to score

C'mon Daggers you're due one

02-02-2016, 08:25 PM
Raith new boy Panatioyou has the ball in the net but Toshney penalised for winning a full-blooded challenge in build-up. Harsh decision!

02-02-2016, 08:25 PM
Beginning to think Hearts knew what they were doing on that front. Really disappointing the past couple of months.

Not convinced he's suited to playing off the strikers/at the top of the diamond.

He done well to set Stokes up and scored a few goals prior to that playing as a striker so maybe he can make it.

Off the bar
02-02-2016, 08:26 PM
Gray preparing to come on for Gunnarson

02-02-2016, 08:26 PM
Henderson shot comfortably saved

02-02-2016, 08:27 PM
Gray on for Gunnarssom

02-02-2016, 08:27 PM

Levein may be grade A roaster, but I get the impression he looks for weakness in his squad and punts them as fast as he can. In short he's got the decisiveness that Petrie never had.

02-02-2016, 08:28 PM
Raith new boy Panatioyou has the ball in the net but Toshney penalised for winning a full-blooded challenge in build-up. Harsh decision!

Yam 😁

02-02-2016, 08:29 PM
Dags is going to score

I would hope he does so at some point. He works hard but give me a striker that scores goals!

02-02-2016, 08:29 PM
Great block Dylan in our box

Tinribs
02-02-2016, 08:30 PM
Site getting slow now

02-02-2016, 08:31 PM

Of course it was the wrong decision - how dare Raith threaten 'The Cause' !!

I fully expect Raith to receive a warning from the SPFL !!

Jpdhfc
Reff getting pelters on hibs TVs

@HibsOfficial: 85: Johnstone has a shot blocked in the box. A corner is awarded and #Hibs clear the danger

02-02-2016, 08:34 PM
Henderson makes space and somewhow passes it straight to the keeper with the whole goal to aim at.

02-02-2016, 08:34 PM
@HibsOfficial: 89: Henderson picks the ball up and drives towards goal. He has a shot, but it's deflected into Gaston's arms

02-02-2016, 08:36 PM
Dagnall draws a good free kick

02-02-2016, 08:37 PM
bigots win in kawdy

02-02-2016, 08:37 PM
Fyvie absolutely leathere whilst trying to keep it in the corner. Still down off the park.

02-02-2016, 08:38 PM
Levein may be grade A roaster, but I get the impression he looks for weakness in his squad and punts them as fast as he can. In short he's got the decisiveness that Petrie never had.

To be fair though, Rod was never a Director of Football.

TAHibby
02-02-2016, 08:40 PM
FT

McaGeough taken out, no free kick and booked for dissent.

Full time 1-0

FT 0-1 the cabbage, good 3 points

Site very slow and database errors for last wee while.

Off the bar
McGeoch booked for questioning ref. FT
Good result Stokes the right man in the right place again. Another win on Sunday and it'll have been a good week!

02-02-2016, 08:42 PM
Well that did;t sound like our best game, a few changes in the starting line up. But and it's a bit BUT, a win is a win and the 3 points which were required are coming back with the team.

Rest up boys, big game on Sunday

Excellent 3 points. Well done lads.

Get in; it's a huge three points. Well done, lads :thumbsup:

02-02-2016, 08:43 PM
No movement1
'The' Bigots

No movement2
Hibernian (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/hibernian)

No movement3
Falkirk (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/falkirk)

No movement4
Raith Rovers (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/raith-rovers)

No movement5
Queen of Sth (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/teams/queen-of-the-south)

02-02-2016, 08:43 PM
Win is a win. Well done Hibs :gwa:

Still coming to get you, Huns.

02-02-2016, 08:44 PM
Well done Hibs, tough game in a tough schedule, nae breaks from what sounded like another erse of a ref, just Thompson to play on Sunday, Onward and upward Hibs.

02-02-2016, 08:45 PM
Site very slow and database errors for last wee while.

Volume of traffic, with everyone hammering the same thread. ispy is the way to go and we say it often enough.

AugustaHibs
With our game in hand we can pull 8 clear of Falkirk? Am I right?

hibbymac
Brain freeze, who is our 'game in hand' against?? :confused:

02-02-2016, 08:46 PM
Well done lads who cares about the performance...huge 3pts after a tough game on Saturday...rest up before Sunday as we take on 12 men at the Piggery

Good win. Move on.

Slightly concerned we are down to just the two strikers that are scoring goals, but then again I'm not going to get over letting Dom go anytime soon. 😉

HNA8
Brain freeze, who is our 'game in hand' against?? :confused:

Morton, we're playing them at home on wednesday 24th feb

Fyvie looks like he took a dull yin. [emoji29]

02-02-2016, 08:47 PM
Doesnt sound like we played well but its an important 3 points.

Still 8 behind the rangers obviously but we are now 5 ahead of Falkirk with a game in hand. That's second sewn up now IMO, if it was ever really in doubt.

MartinfaePorty
Hope I never see that ref again. Seemed to think thuggery is acceptable. Must be a Jambo.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

hibbymac
Morton, we're playing them at home on wednesday 24th feb

:doh: Cheers :aok:

02-02-2016, 08:48 PM
Christ that was nerve wracking!

Hope I never see that ref again. Seemed to think thuggery is acceptable. Must be a Jambo.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Who was the ref?

H18S NX
Big thanks to PB and the rest for the updates,cheers....:aok:

Peeps saying how bad Sportsound is. Their mood changed completely when Sevco scored and was really upbeat during the HT chat. When Hibs scored, it was like someone had die. McCall and the others sounded like they wanted to slash their wrists. Stayed like that for rest of show.

Not just the Yams that are obsessed with the Hibees :greengrin

Excellent result. Keep grinding them out Hibs!

MUPPET
02-02-2016, 08:50 PM
12 points better of than last season cannae argue with that!

Tinribs
02-02-2016, 08:51 PM
Christ that was nerve wracking!

Aye it was, but at least we are closing out these type of games now :agree:

02-02-2016, 08:51 PM
Well done Hibs, good result after a tough game on Saturday :aok: :flag:

There are over a thousand folk looking in on this thread .......... I don't recognise most of the names & I've been posting for 9 years. It would be nice if some of them would post an opinion now and then.

02-02-2016, 08:53 PM
Who was the ref?

John McKendrick. F****** clown

Good 3 points against tricky opposition.

Good win. Move on.

Slightly concerned we are down to just the two strikers that are scoring goals, but then again I'm not going to get over letting Dom go anytime soon. 😉

Dom wasnt scoring either... 4 league goals all season

Ronster117
Another good win .... Keep grinding out results...well done Hibees
:gwa:

Cheers to Pretty Boy again for the updates :not worth

att: 2,696 - Cappielow

att: 5,493 - Kawdy

att: 2,487 - Maryhill

Ronster117
02-02-2016, 08:54 PM
Cheers to Pretty Boy again for the updates :not worth

A venue and conditions in which a team of 'bottlers' would drop points. Well done Hibs, shown steel once again. Bring on the Hearts.

Superb week so far, confidence will be very high.

Just hope Fontaine and Fyvie are ok.

02-02-2016, 08:55 PM
att: 2,696 - Cappielow

att: 5,493 - Kawdy

att: 2,487 - Maryhill

Well done the 10,000 or so who paid their money.

For those at game would Fyvie be a doubt for Sunday
??

sticky windaes

There are over a thousand folk looking in on this thread .......... I don't recognise most of the names & I've been posting for 9 years. It would be nice if some of them would post an opinion now and then.

I did once, but got into a bit of bother :greengrin

02-02-2016, 08:56 PM
??

Not sure but looks bad. Was still getting treatment after game ended😡

02-02-2016, 08:57 PM

Hearts are pish. That's me done.

Peeps saying how bad Sportsound is. Their mood changed completely when Sevco scored and was really upbeat during the HT chat. When Hibs scored, it was like someone had die. McCall and the others sounded like they wanted to slash their wrists. Stayed like that for rest of show.

Not just the Yams that are obsessed with the Hibees :greengrin

At least if they get promoted, they can weep into each others underpants every time they lose to Celtic.

??

Pretty sure it was a stretcher job. Difficult to see as he was off the pitch.

02-02-2016, 08:58 PM
Dom wasnt scoring either... 4 league goals all season

He had been scoring in recent weeks though and overall scoring record was good.

We need the others to start hitting the back of the net. Obviously Stokes and Cummings doing so.

Not a great game. Very cold but a good win without our strongest side. Morton fans win the award for the biggest whingers this season.

Annoying about the Huns getting that decision like

portyhibernian
02-02-2016, 08:59 PM
Nervy at points but we closed it out. Seen us play better but 3 points is what matters in these away games.

He had been scoring in recent weeks though and overall scoring record was good.

We need the others to start hitting the back of the net. Obviously Stokes and Cummings doing so.
Yes I agree overall it was decent Andy but not since his return from African cup of nations this time last year to be fair

??

Looked a bad one. Stayed down for a long time and was still being treated after the final whistle. Would be a blow as he was decent again tonight.

Ref was humpty again.

Hibeesforever
02-02-2016, 09:00 PM
Raith manager said four times that ref had a shocker and their goal should have stood!

02-02-2016, 09:04 PM
Looked a bad one. Stayed down for a long time and was still being treated after the final whistle. Would be a blow as he was decent again tonight.

Ref was humpty again.
Fingers crossed mate. ..couldn't make tonight due to work...what happened with Fonts??

02-02-2016, 09:05 PM
Raith manager said four times that ref had a shocker and their goal should have stood!

He wasn't happy.

Although Derek Ferguson cleared up that it'd have been "irrespective" because Rangers could've been a few up at half time.

I wonder how much they pay him.

Looking forward to seeing it. Same old story.

NorthHibees
Vital win tonight after a tough game on Saturday and Greenock Morton is not a easy place to go.

02-02-2016, 09:06 PM
Another 3 hard-earned points. Just as well when The rangers are getting a little help from their friends (a Raith goal chalked off tonight apparently). Some things never change.😬

02-02-2016, 09:06 PM
Fingers crossed mate. ..couldn't make tonight due to work...what happened with Fonts??

Not totally sure tbh. Seemed to be a coming together with a Morton player. Didn't look much in it but both went down.

Possibly a dead leg? Hoping the sub was just a precaution.

02-02-2016, 09:07 PM
He wasn't happy.

Although Derek Ferguson cleared up that it'd have been "irrespective" because Rangers could've been a few up at half time.

Lol. Heard that. What a fanny.

02-02-2016, 09:08 PM
Not totally sure tbh. Seemed to be a coming together with a Morton player. Didn't look much in it but both went down.

Possibly a dead leg? Hoping the sub was just a precaution.
Cheers PB...hope both are fit for Sunday 👍

mghibs
02-02-2016, 09:09 PM
Another gritty performance, looked a bit tired, as was to be expected. Another vital 3 points... On to the next one.

02-02-2016, 09:09 PM
I fell asleep and missed the goal. Glad we got 3 points.

northeast hibby
02-02-2016, 09:11 PM

read the board every day hardly ever post anything a bit like I do on facebook etc

02-02-2016, 09:12 PM
read the board every day hardly ever post anything a bit like I do on facebook etc

Join in, mate. Same for others who do the same :aok:

02-02-2016, 09:13 PM
Well done to everyone who made the journey!

HappyHanlon
02-02-2016, 09:13 PM
They were bringing a stretcher over to Fyvie as I was leaving the ground.

Hope he's alright.

02-02-2016, 09:16 PM
Nervy at points but we closed it out. Seen us play better but 3 points is what matters in these away games.
Make no mistake this was always going to be a tough game in a tough venue and Hibs deserve a big pat on the back for winning this game. A hard won and welcomed 3 points.

02-02-2016, 09:17 PM
To be fair though, Rod was never a Director of Football.

Doesn't let him off the hook for me. In short he was never able to identify the rot, let alone do anything decisive about it.

inglisavhibs
02-02-2016, 09:20 PM
Well that did;t sound like our best game, a few changes in the starting line up. But and it's a bit BUT, a win is a win and the 3 points which were required are coming back with the team.

Rest up boys, big game on Sunday

A difficult place to win at the best of times but jammed in between a semi final and a derby made it even tougher. No matter how we played it's a great result.

Ferry green
02-02-2016, 09:23 PM
Join in, mate. Same for others who do the same :aok:

Ok. I will join in too.

Following the result Saturday tonight was a game where we could easily have stumbled. Grinding out another result is superb to see , and a credit to the players still recognising the league is priority. Solid effort.

MOrton may be a skank place to have to play .... Still an improvement from where we had to play at the weekend tho 😎

02-02-2016, 09:25 PM
A very good result tonight for Hibs. Taking absolutely nothing for granted, if Hibs win their game in hand they are five points behind the new Ibrox club.

What bothers me is there doesn't seem to be anyone apart from Hibs likely to beat them anytime soon. Their next three games taking us up to the end of February are Alloa (A), QOS (A) and St Mirren (H).

02-02-2016, 09:28 PM
Ok. I will join in too.

Following the result Saturday tonight was a game where we could easily have stumbled. Grinding out another result is superb to see , and a credit to the players still recognising the league is priority. Solid effort.

MOrton may be a skank place to have to play .... Still an improvement from where we had to play at the weekend tho 

Good first post :greengrin

02-02-2016, 09:28 PM
Well done to everyone who went through 👏🏻

Any highlights yet?

02-02-2016, 09:29 PM
A very good result tonight for Hibs. Taking absolutely nothing for granted, if Hibs win their game in hand they are five points behind the new Ibrox club.

What bothers me is there doesn't seem to be anyone apart from Hibs likely to beat them anytime soon. Their next three games taking us up to the end of February are Alloa (A), QOS (A) and St Mirren (H).

We've played an extra game at Ibrox and Falkirk. We have to beat them and hope Falkirk get something again.

The Pointer
02-02-2016, 09:30 PM
Thanks for the updates PB. Obviously a load of people on here were depending on you and others for their fix.

I had the radio on as well but there were no updates apart from the score whilst the PT/Motherwell game sounded gash.

Stubbsy was putting a decent spin on the result and he's right given the 'remotivation' they'll have been doing on the players since Saturday, the changes to the team and the fact that Stokes scored.

P.

As some said at the time -that result at Dumbarton will come back to haunt us.

Greenblood70
After the great Cup win there's always the danger of a reaction and a poor performance. While we didn't hit the heights tonight the 3 points were the most important thing. Job done .

**** the Hertz

and

**** the (cheating) Huns

And on that rousing note, I bid you all good night. :flag:

gaz1875
02-02-2016, 09:31 PM
He wasn't happy.

Unbelievable quote from that boring hun...burst out laughing when he said it, I thought Richard Gordon was going to say something hun roaster!!

02-02-2016, 09:31 PM

I wasn't having a go at folk for not posting as such .... it would just be good to hear from a few more than just the usual suspects, including me :greengrin

02-02-2016, 09:32 PM
Doesn't let him off the hook for me. In short he was never able to identify the rot, let alone do anything decisive about it.

He was unmoved by the rot.

Bay Area Hibees
Great result. If only Der Hun hasn't got last min winner v livi...still all to play for.

Unbelievable quote from that boring hun...burst out laughing when he said it, I thought Richard Gordon was going to say something hun roaster!!

He's given up on correcting them. He didn't even bother last week when Scott McDonald repeatedly called him "Gordon".

02-02-2016, 09:33 PM
I wasn't having a go at folk for not posting as such .... it would just be good to hear from a few more than just the usual suspects, including me :greengrin

:top marks:top marks:top marks:greengrin

gaz1875
02-02-2016, 09:37 PM
He's given up on correcting them. He didn't even bother last week when Scott McDonald repeatedly called him "Gordon".

Hahaha the reporter at the Hibs match kept saying Stokes has scored on his return to Hibs...so that'll be his second goal in TWO games lol

02-02-2016, 09:38 PM
Hahaha the reporter at the Hibs match kept saying Stokes has scored on his return to Hibs...so that'll be his second goal in TWO games lol

Charlie Mann - heard him. Thought RG would correct it but he didn't bother his arse.

Ferry green
02-02-2016, 09:41 PM
Good first post :greengrin

Aww naw. That's me going to be up all night worrying about the quality of my 2nd post 😱

Seriously though there are loads of us furtive lurkers that rely on this forum : the match updates are way more accurate, regular and enjoyable than the lame media gash we are fed (or not fed depending on das media). Big thanks

EDit : ok will worry about my 3rd post now instead

02-02-2016, 09:42 PM
We've played an extra game at Ibrox and Falkirk. We have to beat them and hope Falkirk get something again.

I agree. If Hibs are to win the Championship, they will certainly have to beat them, a draw is no use now, and hope Falkirk (or anyone!) can take points off them. If only Falkirk had held on for a draw at Ibrox.

It's just not in our own hands at the moment. See ancient hibee's post below too, and my reply.

As some said at the time -that result at Dumbarton will come back to haunt us.

It might, but I really hope not.

green.and.white
02-02-2016, 09:44 PM
A very good win in a tricky game with difficult conditions. Well done lads, on to the Derby!

HappyHibby93
02-02-2016, 10:02 PM
Sorry if this has been posted before ( couldn't be arsed reading through) how many hibees were through tonight?

James.
02-02-2016, 10:09 PM
Just in from Cappielow (guessing my journey wasn't as long as others but did find myself sliding across some treacherous snow in the hills near Kilmacolm which was a bit of a scary moment on my way to the game :rolleyes: Almost turned back at that point)

Hibs were pretty dominant and I never felt Morton were ever a threat. Stokes took his goal well but the two stand outs for me were McGeouch who looked dangerous going forward every time and Gunnarson who looked commanding dealing with anything that came his way down that side. It was a professional job against a poor side and although we looked tired, we deserved it. Ref was equally shocking for both sides - I felt we were lucky to get away with the handball shout tbh.

02-02-2016, 10:12 PM
Just home. That was the coldest I have ever been at a match. Morton didn't really cause us many problems. Stokes should have made it 2 not long after he scored the first and that would have killed them off.

02-02-2016, 10:13 PM
Just in from Cappielow (guessing my journey wasn't as long as others but did find myself sliding across some treacherous snow in the hills near Kirconell which was a bit of a scary moment on my way to the game :rolleyes: Almost turned back at that point)

Hibs were pretty dominant and I never felt Morton were ever a threat. Stokes took his goal well but the two stand outs for me were McGeouch who looked dangerous going forward every time and Gunnarson who looked commanding dealing with anything that came his way down that side. It was a professional job against a poor side and although we looked tired, we deserved it. Ref was equally shocking for both sides - I felt we were lucky to get away with the handball shout tbh.
Good summary for those of us not there...Cheers 👍👍

02-02-2016, 10:14 PM
Just in from Cappielow (guessing my journey wasn't as long as others but did find myself sliding across some treacherous snow in the hills near Kilmacolm which was a bit of a scary moment on my way to the game :rolleyes: Almost turned back at that point)

Good to hear on Gunnarson. Thought he looked like he had something about him at Raith but struggled with fitness and the pace a bit.

02-02-2016, 10:15 PM
Good to hear on Gunnarson. Thought he looked like he had something about him at Raith but struggled with fitness and the pace a bit.

I thought he strolled it tonight.

02-02-2016, 10:16 PM

Thought he did well defensively tonight, which is his main duty. Got to do a bit better with his final ball though

02-02-2016, 10:16 PM
Rangers last two games have been massively frustrating. Injury time winner on Saturday and a dodgy decision to win tonight by all accounts. We need to start getting these breaks, as well as doing our own job obv-which we've done again tonight

02-02-2016, 10:20 PM
Rangers last two games have been massively frustrating. Injury time winner on Saturday and a dodgy decision to win tonight by all accounts. We need to start getting these breaks, as well as doing our own job obv-which we've done again tonight

Spot on, but it also demonstrates what we already know: they aren't great and can be beaten and caught. If we beat them at ER in March, we could be in a position to really put them under pressure.

02-02-2016, 10:24 PM
Was freezing at Greenock. Cappielow hasn't changed. I stood in the same puddle during the game ,....,. back in 1984. Well done all the Hibbies who were able to come along tonight.
Result was about right in the end. We ground that score out where in the past we would have.

Special mention for Dylan McGeoch - he was great tonight. Bossed everyone.

3 points tonight at a grotty Cappielow, a cup final and a crack at the Jambos this weekend. It's good being a Hobby just now 👍🏻

02-02-2016, 10:32 PM
Just back to a bovril and a ham toastie from the missus, speaking of toast, McGeouch had them on toast all night. Super win, super job done tonight.

Quick note re the ref, what an absolute howler - great entertainment though.

02-02-2016, 10:32 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/34952082

Is that the colour of the Hibs strip tonight ?

02-02-2016, 10:33 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/34952082
A

Is that the colour of the Hibs strip tonight ?

Yes!

02-02-2016, 10:36 PM
Job done. Nothing special but never under any real pressure. Similar to a lot of games this year.

whereswallace?
02-02-2016, 10:36 PM
I am also just back and have a completely different opinion in Gunnarson. He had a couple of good tackles in the second half but thought he was poor, he was caught out of position a few time both attacking and defending, looks slow and very awkward at full back. First game so benefit of the doubt but I wasn't impressed.

Mcgeouch was head and shoulders above anyone on the pitch, sometimes guilty of one too many touches but he was superb.

If we had brung our shooting boots first half, the game would have been dead and buried by half time. Happy with the performance, controlled and never in much trouble. A good 3 points.

anon1875
02-02-2016, 10:37 PM
I think Gunnarsson stopped every attempted cross today, he was solid at the back.

02-02-2016, 10:37 PM
Well done to everyone who made the journey!

02-02-2016, 10:40 PM
Midweek games away at this time of the year are all about the result. Job done and move on.

02-02-2016, 10:43 PM
Midweek games away at this time of the year are all about the result. Job done and move on.

:agree: Especially when sandwiched between 2 huge cup ties.

02-02-2016, 10:51 PM

Spot on. It was a great 3 points. But we move on. March is looking a massive month for us but then again so is April and May

02-02-2016, 10:57 PM

What a goal. Wow!

E10 Rifle
02-02-2016, 11:05 PM
I thought a lot of the players looked a bit tired in the second half understandably but everyone put in a decent shift. McGeoch and McGregor were the best two for me with a great shift from Fyvie. Keatings was the only below par performance I would say. 3 points in the bag. Nice one.

I think hats off the Morton groundstaff - the pitch looked in great nick and thumbs down to their supporters however who haven't a clue.

"Handball"

02-02-2016, 11:11 PM
I concur that McGregor and McGeouch were superb tonight. Was disappointed in Keatings again; even his workrate was in question tonight. I do rate him though and hopefully he gets a goal soon to boost his confidence.

The ref was shocking. So far behind play and his booking of Lewis was ludicrous.

02-02-2016, 11:29 PM
Not long in as well, thought we were good in patches tonight, and quite careless at other times.
Ref was brutal, just brutal. Thought we deserved the win overall, McGeouch and Fyvie were our best players tonight.

Aubenas
02-02-2016, 11:42 PM
Good performances from McGeouch, who was superb, and from Fyvie and Henderson. Thought Gunnarson played well also. Could have been a banana skin but we coped well.

Talking of banana skins - one burger van for the whole away end! Arrived home starving - thank God Franco's in Stockbridge still open! :not worth

I like Cappielow as an old time stadium, but standing on a bench in the pouring rain on an empty stomach is not calculated to aid enjoyment. Nor was that ref who was honking!

:flag::gwa::aok:

03-02-2016, 12:13 AM
I am also just back and have a completely different opinion in Gunnarson. He had a couple of good tackles in the second half but thought he was poor, he was caught out of position a few time both attacking and defending, looks slow and very awkward at full back. First game so benefit of the doubt but I wasn't impressed.

Mcgeouch was head and shoulders above anyone on the pitch, sometimes guilty of one too many touches but he was superb.

If we had brung our shooting boots first half, the game would have been dead and buried by half time. Happy with the performance, controlled and never in much trouble. A good 3 points.he played his first game at Starks Park for Hibernian and lasted not long into the second half iirc? he was a bit sloppy, with passes, and positioning etc but I put that down to being his first game, and not quite up to speed. did he last 90 mins? he is renowned for long throw ins but only saw one, at Raith. was he doing anything special with that? don't think he will replace the club captain, on Sunday

hibbypostie
03-02-2016, 12:25 AM
just seen the goal great interception and pass from McGinn but Stokes just got away with that and by the look on his face he knew ithttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

03-02-2016, 06:46 AM
just seen the goal great interception and pass from McGinn but Stokes just got away with that and by the look on his face he knew ithttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/video/844

At the game it did look like either a great bit of skill or a miss control. Video confirms the latter.

Pity he didn't score again straight after.

whereswallace?
03-02-2016, 07:08 AM
he played his first game at Starks Park for Hibernian and lasted not long into the second half iirc? he was a bit sloppy, with passes, and positioning etc but I put that down to being his first game, and not quite up to speed. did he last 90 mins? he is renowned for long throw ins but only saw one, at Raith. was he doing anything special with that? don't think he will replace the club captain, on Sunday

Indeed he did, my mistake there. He was replaced probably with about 10 to play last night by Gray. He had a couple of short throws that looked suspiciously like foul throws,

Don't mean to bash the guy before he's started, just my opinion. Having watched him last night for the first time.

Jumbo
03-02-2016, 07:14 AM
I thought a lot of the players looked a bit tired in the second half understandably but everyone put in a decent shift. McGeoch and McGregor were the best two for me with a great shift from Fyvie. Keatings was the only below par performance I would say. 3 points in the bag. Nice one.

I think hats off the Morton groundstaff - the pitch looked in great nick and thumbs down to their supporters however who haven't a clue.

"Handball"
Haha, how annoying was that, everytime the ball went near one of our players they were shouting for a handball 😂😂

03-02-2016, 07:37 AM
That finish from Stokes singles him out from any of the other forwards we have, yes he miss controls the original pass, but there's no panic and he just strokes it into the back of the net.

Thats quality. :top marks

EH54
03-02-2016, 07:40 AM
Big shout out to the guy in the stand near the dugout that continuously shouted abuse towards stokes gave us a little bit more entertainment on a cold night guessing the fares to Kirkcaldy was just out of your price range.

Gunnarsson i was rather impressed with not much to offer going forward was a bit frustrating but defended very well and that's all i care about from defenders, Dylan was superb again had a few dodgy moments but it was a difficult night just glad to get out of there with the 3 points and now move onto Hearts with confidence still high and in good form! GGTTH