View Full Version : How much is a League Cup Final worth ?

Earl of Currie
30-01-2016, 04:54 PM
Tremendous performance to get into the final.
How much is a league cup final appearance worth to the club

30-01-2016, 04:56 PM
When it comes to pride? Priceless

30-01-2016, 04:56 PM
Hunners and hunners 😁

30-01-2016, 04:57 PM
It's only a Diddy Cup......

.....if we lose :greengrin

30-01-2016, 05:30 PM
When was the last time two semi-final underdogs reached the League Cup final?

30-01-2016, 05:30 PM
Sad truth is that cup competitions have been devalued to small change in the crass finance-driven world of football. Scottish means more to us due to the jinx, but while both are arguably two-bob in the grand scheme of things, there is no team in the country who doesn't want to win them and no player who doesn't care about having a winners medal.

30-01-2016, 05:38 PM
When was the last time two semi-final underdogs reached the League Cup final?

30-01-2016, 06:39 PM
Nice wee financial windfall coming Hibs way that won't have been budgeted for. Might we yet see another signing before the window closes? Personally I would prefer guys like Hanlon and Cummings to receive extended and improved terms with a new contract.

30-01-2016, 06:49 PM
Tremendous performance to get into the final.
How much is a league cup final appearance worth to the club

Could be huge - the difference between Prem or Champ football !

Stubbs will be knocking on LD's door first thing Monday looking to bring in another top player in Jan on the back of the money we'll get from the Final. Even if we don't catch the Rangers, Stubbs want a team/squad that can win any Play off over 2 legs irrespective of who we meet.

The Huns humbling by Motherwell last season shows us what's needed.

30-01-2016, 07:03 PM
250k IMO

McIntosh
30-01-2016, 07:11 PM
A minimum of £1 million. In 2013 the minimum ticket price was £40 the capacity currently is 52063. With merchandise sales this figure could be significantly higher.

inglisavhibs
30-01-2016, 07:17 PM
250k IMO
More if it's Celtic. We get around 1/3 of the gate so 50000 at say £20 average(maybe more) is £1m.Sponsors money will cover our costs. We would have made a few bob today as well.

30-01-2016, 07:21 PM
If it's Celtic it will be a sell out.

If it's county it will still be 40k+

40k @ average £25 = £1m less 25 % costs so £750k / 2 = £375k min

Add in merchandise and TV and sponsorship it should be worth min £450k to say £600k to club.

That's a big deal given we are overspending on quality on the park.

30-01-2016, 07:24 PM
Could be huge - the difference between Prem or Champ football !

Stubbs will be knocking on LD's door first thing Monday looking to bring in another top player in Jan on the back of the money we'll get from the Final. Even if we don't catch the Rangers, Stubbs want a team/squad that can win any Play off over 2 legs irrespective of who we meet.

The Huns humbling by Motherwell last season shows us what's needed.

after beating Aberdeen, Dundee utd and st.johnstone all reasonably comfortably i think we already have a squad to handle the play-off games

30-01-2016, 07:27 PM
A minimum of £1 million. In 2013 the minimum ticket price was £40 the capacity currently is 52063. With merchandise sales this figure could be significantly higher.

eh :confused: i doubt that very much

30-01-2016, 07:31 PM

Crikey, the last Final I attended was 2007, and I don't remember paying that much, but the Final will be a money spinner for Hibs for sure. Great Stuff. Mon the County..

30-01-2016, 07:51 PM
Reckon this is worth £6-700K at least....

Fabulous achievement beating 3 SPL teams on the way to Final.....Brilliant:flag:

30-01-2016, 08:01 PM
Sad truth is that cup competitions have been devalued to small change in the crass finance-driven world of football. Scottish means more to us due to the jinx, but while both are arguably two-bob in the grand scheme of things, there is no team in the country who doesn't want to win them and no player who doesn't care about having a winners medal.

That is the case down in England given the prize money on offer in their Premiership, but up here the cup competitions still have meaning for the fans of every team except Celtc as these are the only realistic opportunities to win anything.

McIntosh
30-01-2016, 08:23 PM
eh :confused: i doubt that very much You are correct I meant to write average

30-01-2016, 08:33 PM
That's not true, the price for a cup final ticket is always between £20 and £30 for standard seating.
edit, didn't see your previous post

30-01-2016, 08:38 PM
Absolute minimum of £500,000.

More if its Celtic.

30-01-2016, 09:17 PM
That's not true, the price for a cup final ticket is always between £20 and £30 for standard seating. edit, didn't see your previous post

It's usually dearer for the north and south stand at hampdump.

Sure it was £35 for North and South and £28 for the other sections at 2013 SCF?

30-01-2016, 09:18 PM
Absolute minimum of £500,000. More if its Celtic.

Not to be sniffed at?

Could this money in theory allow us to bring another 'quality' player in before the window slams shut??

monarch
30-01-2016, 09:31 PM
More if it's Celtic. We get around 1/3 of the gate so 50000 at say £20 average(maybe more) is £1m.Sponsors money will cover our costs. We would have made a few bob today as well.

You're forgetting that neither Sevco or Yams are in the final so VAT will have to be deducted from ticket sales. :wink:

Topographic Hibby
30-01-2016, 09:54 PM
Nice wee financial windfall coming Hibs way that won't have been budgeted for. Might we yet see another signing before the window closes? Personally I would prefer guys like Hanlon and Cummings to receive extended and improved terms with a new contract.How about buying out Hendo's contract at We Are Obsessed By All Things Irish FC and making him permanent?

30-01-2016, 10:13 PM
How about buying out Hendo's contract at We Are Obsessed By All Things Irish FC and making him permanent?
We could do a lot worse and I reckon Hendo would love to stay

30-01-2016, 10:20 PM

And we had a couple of decent home games against Aberdeen and DUFC. In total a few games that must boost the coffers a bit.

30-01-2016, 10:49 PM
Our last cup final was defo £35 for my ticket.

30-01-2016, 11:30 PM
How about buying out Hendo's contract at We Are Obsessed By All Things Irish FC and making him permanent?

just signed a new 3-year contract at sellick before the season started...i'd say no chance(imo of course) but we never know

inglisavhibs
30-01-2016, 11:32 PM
You're forgetting that neither Sevco or Yams are in the final so VAT will have to be deducted from ticket sales. :wink:
forgot the vat! still should be a good earner though.

30-01-2016, 11:38 PM
Taken into account TV money, gate receipts and merchandise sold I would guess at least 350-400k, 1/2 million if it's Celtic. Massive unplanned cash injection for the club.

30-01-2016, 11:38 PM
This goes some way towards compensating for the financial hit we'll undoubtedly take by being down here for a second year.

Winning it will be a bonus :thumbsup: