View Full Version : Weather

Hibeewilly
30-01-2016, 06:34 AM
The forecast is grim for today. Light snow and max temperature is 2 feels like -4 so wrap up well folks. The wind is to be around 25mph but average gusts around 40mph rand around 50mph at kick off. Not what we need at all

aussie_hibee
30-01-2016, 06:57 AM
Just woke up and it's white outside....! What are people thinking? Will it get called off?

30-01-2016, 07:00 AM
Rubbish weather for football but the game should still go ahead. The snow is not that heavy and can be cleared easily. The police may call it off if they think it's dangerous for the Perth punter to travel though, it's probably worse up there.

30-01-2016, 07:06 AM
Just woke up and it's white outside....! What are people thinking? Will it get called off?

Where about in Australia are you? There's hardly any snow at lochend

Peanut Shaz
30-01-2016, 07:14 AM
I'm in Crieff just now. Was meant to be travelling down for the game. Snow pretty deep here. Could be dangerous for driving down.

aussie_hibee
30-01-2016, 07:14 AM

I'm on Royal park terrace and the roads are white

aussie_hibee
30-01-2016, 07:18 AM

Weststandwanab
30-01-2016, 07:19 AM
A good inch of snow here in Duddingston.

Lang Toun Hibs
30-01-2016, 07:29 AM
Rubbish weather for football but the game should still go ahead. The snow is not that heavy and can be cleared easily. The police may call it off if they think it's dangerous for the Perth punter to travel though, it's probably worse up there.

I imagine it is a bit worse up here but stopped for the moment...

30-01-2016, 07:30 AM
Hearing Fife is bad as well.

30-01-2016, 07:34 AM
Hearing Fife is bad as well.

In general, or with the weather? :greengrin

Snow's lying quite deep in Dunfermline, not to the extent it would stop you travelling though.

30-01-2016, 07:35 AM
Saints fans will be setting off in the next couple hours so they better get a move on and decide if game is on

30-01-2016, 07:41 AM
It's not nice but I'm sure everything will be okay.

What will be required today is lots of doses of people simply manning up and less behaviour of the Jessie variety.

Hibs07p
30-01-2016, 07:42 AM
ICT game off.

30-01-2016, 07:42 AM
Thats the hearts game off.

30-01-2016, 07:44 AM
Thick snow in Perth. Laddie bussing to me from Crieff

30-01-2016, 07:47 AM
Main roads look ok. Just a thin layer of snow at burdiehouse but the snow has started up again and its heavy.

30-01-2016, 07:50 AM
Whiteout in North Edinburgh.

Mark79
30-01-2016, 07:51 AM
I have a foot of snow in Lasswade.

That happens when you shovel it all up and put it in a pile.

ManBearPig
30-01-2016, 07:52 AM
almost an inch in penicuik. I hope this game isnt called off.

30-01-2016, 07:53 AM
It was snowing when Rob Jones scored the first.

30-01-2016, 07:53 AM

What will be required today is lots of doses of people simply manning up and less behaviour of the Jessie variety.

Yup!

30-01-2016, 07:55 AM
It was snowing when Rob Jones scored the first.

One of the most iconic moments in Hibs' history.

30-01-2016, 07:59 AM
They will want this game to go ahead. All the tickets are sold, the hospitality food is organised etc.

30-01-2016, 07:59 AM

But what if someone slips?

(Now I've made that sarcy comment it's a stick on I'll fall and make a complete arse of myself)

30-01-2016, 08:00 AM
Where's all this snow?

Not a spot to be seen thus far where I am

30-01-2016, 08:00 AM
They will want this game to go ahead. All the tickets are sold, the hospitality food is organised etc.

They won't care they have the money for the ticket sales already.

30-01-2016, 08:01 AM
Think this will come down to Police Scotland's decision on travelling conditions for Saints fans.

Agree entirely. Main roads will be fine as will pitch. Forecast is for less snow throughout the day.

murray26
Forcast isn't to bad for the rest of the day.. I think the game will and should be on..

Where's all this snow?

Are you in scotland? :greengrin

30-01-2016, 08:02 AM
This heavy snow was predicted 48 hours ago. Expect early call by the police about fans travelling to/from Perth and a decision on whether game is on/off. This will be biggest risk to match.

30-01-2016, 08:02 AM
Where's all this snow?

Open your curtains and look outside. :greengrin

ManBearPig
30-01-2016, 08:04 AM
Been outside its not too bad! They hopefully see sense and go ahead.

30-01-2016, 08:04 AM
Think this will come down to Police Scotland's decision on travelling conditions for Saints fans.

Straight forward drive down the M90 which will be be clear of snow and the trains are all running fine. They should be able to get down no bother. If they're going to call it off they better get a move on. We don't know what state the pitch is in either.

30-01-2016, 08:06 AM
Are you in scotland? :greengrin

Yep. Leith.

Just looked out and I'm confused as to what everyone is talking about. Tbf I can see a wee bit snow on some grass down the road but nowt on roads or pavements.

Ken
30-01-2016, 08:06 AM
Where's all this snow?

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160130/888c6bd8a09915acb9f41ae463bdce15.jpg EH12

Dublin07
30-01-2016, 08:08 AM
Just had a look on traffic Scotland site. All motorways are clear at the moment. There can only be about 1 cm of snow around Tynie so game should be fine. In USA they manage to get NFL games on in -25 with about 5 feet of snow outside.

30-01-2016, 08:08 AM
About an inch of snow in Gala and still snowing ..... getting the train through so I hope its the right kind of snow :greengrin

30-01-2016, 08:09 AM
Pitch inspections planned at the following grounds.

Dumbarton
cowdenbeath
berwick
East Fife

no mention of Tynecastle on SSN

peterharrogate
30-01-2016, 08:10 AM
Setting off now and conditions look perfect for football!

30-01-2016, 08:10 AM
Nowhere near enough snow to put the game at risk unless the pitch is waterlogged or frozen but you'd expect them to have the pitch heating on.

Main roads to Edinburgh and all streets in Edinburgh fine so there shouldn't be an probs as long as pitch is ok.

And hopefully the main stand roof hasnt blown off!!!

Greenworld
30-01-2016, 08:11 AM
About 1 cm at Gorgie sky dark looking like rain more than snow ..at present no danger game will be off

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

30-01-2016, 08:11 AM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160130/888c6bd8a09915acb9f41ae463bdce15.jpg EH12

Im EH12 and I've got more than that outside.

Ken
30-01-2016, 08:12 AM
I'm at South Gyle, where are you?

30-01-2016, 08:13 AM
About 1 cm at Gorgie sky dark looking like rain more than snow ..at present no danger game will be off

Have you seen the pitch? :confused:

30-01-2016, 08:13 AM
I'm at South Gyle, where are you?

Broomhall.

30-01-2016, 08:14 AM
Whiteout at Gorebridge

Greenworld
30-01-2016, 08:14 AM
I'm walking over Staughton park pitches right now and looking at Staughton enclosure very light covering which will dissappear soon

30-01-2016, 08:15 AM
Have you seen the pitch? :confused:

The pitch will be fine only way this will be called off will be travel conditions.

Greenworld
30-01-2016, 08:15 AM
Bloody spell check saughton ....if undersold heating is on a tynie pitch will be perfect

baggio70
30-01-2016, 08:17 AM

In Polwarth , very little snow .
Not snowing now

30-01-2016, 08:18 AM
Game should be ok just now. But there is more snow forecast this morning, so it will depend on how heavy I suppose.

aussie_hibee
30-01-2016, 08:19 AM
Bloody spell check saughton ....if undersold heating is on a tynie pitch will be perfect

Undersold heating....! Autocorrect got you again....! Haha

Greenworld
30-01-2016, 08:19 AM
The pitch will be fine only way this will be called off will be travel conditions.
In that case don't see it happening surrounding areas are all good Edinburgh will be snow free by lunchtime

30-01-2016, 08:20 AM

M90 looks dodgy from Kelty Northwards on traffic Scotland cameras.

30-01-2016, 08:22 AM
https://trafficscotland.org/components/livetrafficcameras/image.aspx?cam=297&ts=160130082123

30-01-2016, 08:23 AM
Just a light dusting in Dalkeith

30-01-2016, 08:31 AM
Travel problems? I despair at the lack of ingenuity sometimes.

Buy two tennis rackets, tie them to your feet and after the match you can pretend you're Andy or Jamie Murray for a bit.

30-01-2016, 08:32 AM
More snow later this morning with winds picking up in the afternoon. It's going to be freezing so hopefully we have plenty action to take our minds of it.

30-01-2016, 08:34 AM
Travel problems? I despair at the lack of ingenuity sometimes.

Buy two tennis rackets, tie them to your feet and after the match you can pretend you're Andy or Jamie Murray for a bit.

Who'd choose to be Jamie Murray, rather than Andy? That'd be like having a game of football and pretending to be Dave Beaumont instead of Keith Wright.

Fenriz
30-01-2016, 08:34 AM
Is the potential risk more to do with travelling conditions for St Johnstone fans, rather than conditions in Edinburgh?

30-01-2016, 08:35 AM
Is the potential risk more to do with travelling conditions for St Johnstone fans, rather than conditions in Edinburgh?

I would say so however should be ok IMO.

30-01-2016, 08:36 AM
I trust that the hospitality suites at The Asbestos Arena have ordered extra Calor Gas Heaters to ensure customers can dine on their gastronomic delights in comfort. Last time I was there the heater had a faulty ignition starter and it was Baltic, they gave us Russian hats to keep us warm but one the locals done a wee dance on his much to the annoyance of his comrades.

30-01-2016, 08:46 AM

Check the traffic scotland cameras, the M90 looks fine.

https://trafficscotland.org/livetrafficcameras/

30-01-2016, 08:48 AM
Check the traffic scotland cameras, the M90 looks fine.

https://trafficscotland.org/livetrafficcameras/

Make your mind up. It was dodgy 20 minutes ago :-)

30-01-2016, 08:50 AM

Someone has obviously wiped the camera lens. :greengrin

30-01-2016, 08:51 AM
Who'd choose to be Jamie Murray, rather than Andy? That'd be like having a game of football and pretending to be Dave Beaumont instead of Keith Wright.

You're on good form this morning! :greengrin

30-01-2016, 08:53 AM
Hmmm what's the snow like in Gorgie? I'm live on Corstorphine Hill and always looks worse this high up.

30-01-2016, 08:54 AM

Its amazing what can happen in 20 minutes, roads looking good now.

30-01-2016, 08:55 AM
Hmmm what's the snow like in Gorgie? I'm live on Corstorphine Hill and always looks worse this high up.

Canny hide money eh.

30-01-2016, 08:59 AM
Canny hide money eh.

If I had some I would try to hide it :-)

30-01-2016, 09:02 AM
View of Calton Hill 9am.

30-01-2016, 09:03 AM
Canny hide money eh.

Is he not in a tent!

30-01-2016, 09:04 AM
View of Calton Hill 9am.

I wanted to buy one of those flats. :greengrin

30-01-2016, 09:06 AM
Is he not in a tent!

Caravan mate, it was a ****** getting it up here.

30-01-2016, 09:06 AM
Is he not in a tent!

An enclosure in the Zoo :greengrin

30-01-2016, 09:07 AM
I bet you're glad you didn't now, the seem to have fallen over :greengrin

Sky just gave a list of all the games in Scotland with a planned pitch inspection. No mention of our game

Wonder who pays for hearts to put the under soil heating on...

Game surely has to go ahead / it's really not that bad (sun is currently out in Edinburgh) and as others have said main roads etc are fine.

Just give yourself plenty time to get there and wrap up for cold weather / wear decent footwear !

Come on Hibs !!

30-01-2016, 09:08 AM
Blizzard conditions in Falkirk - not sure if I'll make it over.

30-01-2016, 09:08 AM

I can actually see my old house in North Gyle from up here, some views of the city, fantastic but one hell of a walk from the pub!

30-01-2016, 09:10 AM
I bet you're glad you didn't now, the seem to have fallen over :greengrin

He's actually climbing out the window after being caught by the angry father......:tee hee:

30-01-2016, 09:11 AM
GAME ON | There are no plans for a pitch inspection for the League Cup semi-final between @HibsOfficial and @St_Johnstone_FC at Tynecastle

30-01-2016, 09:11 AM
I can actually see my old house in North Gyle from up here, some views of the city, fantastic but one hell of a walk from the pub!

From a posh area to a posh area, some folk get all the luck. :greengrin

30-01-2016, 09:17 AM
GAME ON | There are no plans for a pitch inspection for the League Cup semi-final between @HibsOfficial and @St_Johnstone_FC at Tynecastle

Excellent news.

30-01-2016, 09:17 AM

Same here in west Lothian and while the clouds look dark there isn't a lit of snow on the ground. Yet.

30-01-2016, 09:19 AM

Wee bit of snow? What happened to the Dunkirk spirit?:cb

30-01-2016, 09:22 AM
Here it comes again plenty of snow falling.

30-01-2016, 09:22 AM

Oooh hark at you, I get a similar view from clerrie hill

30-01-2016, 09:23 AM
Here it comes again plenty of snow falling.

Very heavy down in Broomhall.

30-01-2016, 09:24 AM

Are you on BBC or Sky?

30-01-2016, 09:24 AM
Oooh hark at you, I get a similar view from clerrie hill

Just asking about the weather pal and it's coming down heavy just now.

30-01-2016, 09:26 AM
Ha! Sun is away and snow has started !

Greenworld
30-01-2016, 09:27 AM
Snow storm arrived Gorgie and off in 5 minutes back to nothing

Fine here now. Blowing through quickly.

Time to get changed and head for the city.

Died off a bit now.

Greenworld
30-01-2016, 09:28 AM
Think it will be like this most of the day not enough to effect the game in my opinion

30-01-2016, 09:28 AM
Plenty snow falling in Leith now.

30-01-2016, 09:29 AM
It's got pretty heavy down Easter road way now

nellio
Snowing again here in Drylaw.

Since1875Hibs
Games on

I'll call your snow.... and raise you a light dusting on the M90.

Since1875Hibs
30-01-2016, 09:30 AM

It's got pretty heavy down Easter road way now

Suggest you get out of there asap :aok:

Is there a parrot in here?

30-01-2016, 09:31 AM
Any news on possiblepitch inspection?

30-01-2016, 09:32 AM
It's gone from bright blues skies, to dark and snowing here in Dalkieth, looks like I'll skip the bus and take the Rangerover instead. Can't be arsed drinking in Gorgie anyway

30-01-2016, 09:32 AM
Any news on possiblepitch inspection?

keep up

30-01-2016, 09:33 AM
Hammering down in Dalkeith. Not that this is anywhere near Gorgie likes.

HibeeMassive
30-01-2016, 09:36 AM

Only other thing would be the police worrying about the surrounding areas, but can't see it being too much of an issue.

Bring it on!

Since1875Hibs
30-01-2016, 09:37 AM

Think it will be like this most of the day not enough to effect the game in my opinion

Stopped snowing now. It's not lying so that's good.

Get those thermals looked out ! Hats and gloves !

30-01-2016, 09:40 AM
Looks like it's just little showers, brighten up again here. Still might drive though. And decent parking?

30-01-2016, 09:40 AM
after heavy snow earlier the sun has now got his hat on

30-01-2016, 09:43 AM
after heavy snow earlier the sun has now got his hat on

No snow forecast today in Edinburgh after 10am

30-01-2016, 09:47 AM
Just checked out of a window overlooking Haymarket- a little white on rooftops and ground but clear skies and no sign of more to come (I appreciate things change quickly though!).

30-01-2016, 09:50 AM
Sun shining in the Weege. Taps aff !!!
GGTTH 😊

30-01-2016, 09:59 AM
The snow has stopped.

30-01-2016, 10:11 AM
Not too drastic in Peebles - heavy showers but pretty wet stuff so no travel concerns for a decent contingent of Hibs fans from here.

30-01-2016, 10:16 AM
Over in Anstruther picking up my wee dug from the orthopaedic vet, wee bit snow over here. Quite sunny. Cannae imagine we have many fans coming from here though.

30-01-2016, 10:22 AM
Heavy snow in Lanarkshire, glad games not at fir park😬

30-01-2016, 10:22 AM
Quite dark with a lot of snow flurry in Livvy but that's just stopped and it's brightening again.

30-01-2016, 10:25 AM
I'm playing at Peffermill this morning and that's just been inspected and games on.

Out and about now and very little snow on the ground on roads or pavements around the city centre, Bridges, Southside areas. Can't see there being any reason for the game to be off unless something really drastic happens in the next few hours.

30-01-2016, 10:28 AM
Snowing here again.

ruthven_raiders
30-01-2016, 10:31 AM

The snow up Swanston way in Edinburgh doesn't know the time, heavy snow again 😂

Weststandwanab
30-01-2016, 10:33 AM
Snowing in . Edinburgh now !

30-01-2016, 10:34 AM
Snowing in . Edinburgh now !

Not where I am. Just been out to clear the car of snow, and there's a thaw on

andy1875
30-01-2016, 10:36 AM
Todays weather exactly like that day in March 07 when it was rain, sun, snow, rain, sun, snow repeat :greengrin

30-01-2016, 10:48 AM
Can confirm slush on the Royal Mile.

30-01-2016, 10:50 AM
Todays weather exactly like that day in March 07 when it was rain, sun, snow, rain, sun, snow repeat :greengrin
:agree: sunny in Magdalene but snowing in Bingham at the moment.

30-01-2016, 10:51 AM
sunny in slateford, looks cold outside though

30-01-2016, 10:54 AM
Updates from Tynie and SPFL are non-existent. Contrast with Falkirk from 2 wks ago.

How about a confirmation that game is defo on? Maybe a wee pic of Tynie pitch etc?

30-01-2016, 10:59 AM
Updates from Tynie and SPFL are non-existent. Contrast with Falkirk from 2 wks ago.

How about a confirmation that game is defo on? Maybe a wee pic of Tynie pitch etc?It was confirmed two hours ago?

SPFL ‏@spfl 2h2 hours ago (https://twitter.com/spfl/status/693360095732862976) GAME ON | There are no plans for a pitch inspection for the League Cup semi-final between @HibsOfficial (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) and @St_Johnstone_FC (https://twitter.com/St_Johnstone_FC) at Tynecastle

30-01-2016, 11:12 AM

How about a confirmation that game is defo on? Maybe a wee pic of Tynie pitch etc?

I imagine the saints fans have set off, or will be about to so if there has been no announcement about concern for travelling support. I imagine game has no concerns. The pitch has ubdersoil heating, it will be fine

30-01-2016, 11:22 AM
Can confirm slush on the Royal Mile.

Oh dear. Is that Yellow slush or Amber slush?

squire
30-01-2016, 11:23 AM
Hail or storm or thunderstorms I'll go. Hibee, Hibernian!

30-01-2016, 11:28 AM
Photo of Tynie pitch on hibs Twitter now. All is clear

30-01-2016, 11:35 AM
Currently half a mile from Tynecastle and the sun is out , very cold but it is dry at the moment. Meant to be piss it down later mind.

30-01-2016, 11:39 AM
#‎HFCvSJFC‬: Tynecastle is set for the Scottish League Cup presented by Utilita Semi Final. The pitch is just being cleared of the little bit of snow lying on top of it ‪#‎UtilitaFootball‬ (https://www.facebook.com/hashtag/utilitafootball?source=feed_text&story_id=929071193858609)

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/12647077_929070630525332_2547788839644319856_n.jpg ?oh=98ce4503770d886deb069779a5d25e18&oe=5732FA8F

et_hibby
30-01-2016, 11:45 AM
#‎HFCvSJFC‬: Tynecastle is set for the Scottish League Cup presented by Utilita Semi Final. The pitch is just being cleared of the little bit of asbestos lying on top of it.

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/12647077_929070630525332_2547788839644319856_n.jpg ?oh=98ce4503770d886deb069779a5d25e18&oe=5732FA8F[/QUOTE]

Stoney Hibee
30-01-2016, 12:13 PM
I have just driven down from Stonehaven and the roads were fine, bit of a blizzard between Dundee and Dunfermline but it was not lying.

30-01-2016, 02:20 PM
Sitting having a coffee in sainsburys to kill time, weather is fine

30-01-2016, 02:22 PM
Pitch is fine. Hovel of a ground. Forget new stand, need to bulldoze the whole place.