View Full Version : Semi final in doubt?

28-01-2016, 09:57 AM
Check oot the weather forecast for Tynecastle on Saturday:

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/public/weather/forecast/gcvwnxeqv#?fcTime=1454112000

Heavy snow is worrying.

28-01-2016, 10:02 AM

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/public/weather/forecast/gcvwnxeqv#?fcTime=1454112000

Heavy snow is worrying.

If the timings are about right then it looks like it'll have stopped and they'll have plenty of time to clear the pitch before the 3pm kick-off. Does anyone know if the tramps have working undersoil heating?

28-01-2016, 10:12 AM
If the timings are about right then it looks like it'll have stopped and they'll have plenty of time to clear the pitch before the 3pm kick-off. Does anyone know if the tramps have working undersoil heating?

They have to have it. It's a top flight requirement.

Salt N Sauzee
28-01-2016, 10:14 AM
They have to have it. It's a top flight requirement.

Whether they can afford to run it is another question

28-01-2016, 10:19 AM

Heavy snow is worrying.

I played in the first fans game at the PBS and it was snowing really heavily the night before. The undersoil heating ensured the pitch was competely clear the next day. Pitch however was dry as a bone.

son of haggart
28-01-2016, 10:44 AM
Tynecastle has a great record for playability - very rarely waterloggged or snowed off. The only doubt would be if the surrounding areas were snowbound/ icy and deemed unsafe for those travelling to the match

28-01-2016, 10:46 AM
Tynecastle has a great record for playability - very rarely waterloggged or snowed off. The only doubt would be if the surrounding areas were snowbound/ icy and deemed unsafe for those travelling to the match

Also one of the more wind resistant grounds given how compact and enclosed it is.

28-01-2016, 10:48 AM

I thought the surface looked a wee bit dodgy in your game against the Dons SoH, a bit bumpy and bare in places. Am I being a bit too critical or is that indeed the case. Pitches have taken a hammering this year with all the rain.

28-01-2016, 10:54 AM
http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/public/weather/warnings/#?regionName=dg&from=rss&sn=3473121D-D0FF-096D-E3E6-8795C0DB2F7A_2_TA&tab=warnings&map=Warnings&zoom=5&lon=-3.50&lat=55.50&fcTime=1454025600

28-01-2016, 10:58 AM
The game called off for a wee bit of snow?

Were you at the 2007 Final?

28-01-2016, 11:54 AM

Heavy snow is worrying.

Sleet and light snow according the BBC.
I've played outdoor bowls in worse conditions :wink: :greengrin

28-01-2016, 12:07 PM

Wasn't there a game called off this season for a waterlogged pitch?

28-01-2016, 12:15 PM

Yes. We heard about it on the radio on the way to Greenock. :greengrin

28-01-2016, 12:27 PM

No, it was the roads around the ground that were flooded, I believe the park was playable.

28-01-2016, 12:28 PM

Think that game was called off due to the wind. Pretty sure Hearts tweeted on the day saying the pitch wasnt waterlogged.

28-01-2016, 12:28 PM
No, it was the roads around the ground that were flooded, I believe the park was playable.

Wasn't it called off due to high winds?

28-01-2016, 12:30 PM
Wasn't it called off due to high winds?

Yes it was.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/34951634

HappyHibby93
28-01-2016, 12:40 PM
There's every chance a gust of wind will blow that main stand down right enough.

28-01-2016, 01:26 PM
There's every chance a gust of wind will blow that main stand down right enough.

And stop Hearts playing their 'long passing' game :wink:

son of haggart
28-01-2016, 02:22 PM
I thought the surface looked a wee bit dodgy in your game against the Dons SoH, a bit bumpy and bare in places. Am I being a bit too critical or is that indeed the case. Pitches have taken a hammering this year with all the rain.

I wasn't at the cup game against them - was at the league game a month before and didn't really notice anything. The surface has been pretty good and consistent (it's the team which has been inconsistent this year). My seat is in the Roseburn and that end certainly doesn't ever have any problems with variable bounce etc. The only area I can recall being bare was the goalmouth at that end towards the end of last season.

28-01-2016, 02:37 PM
Think that game was called off due to the wind. Pretty sure Hearts tweeted on the day saying the pitch wasnt waterlogged.

They also said they were self - sufficient.

28-01-2016, 04:14 PM
Heavy snow is worrying.

It isnae really, finding a polar bear in a wardrobe would be though.

28-01-2016, 05:24 PM
I'm in Queen Street station in Glasgow. They've just said that a reduced time table will be on the go tomorrow & Saturday due to high winds. Could be a problem for folk getting to the game.

28-01-2016, 05:29 PM
I'm in Queen Street station in Glasgow. They've just said that a reduced time table will be on the go tomorrow & Saturday due to high winds. Could be a problem for folk getting to the game.

Gertrude is tonight. Should have blown out by Saturday. Rain and snow for Saturday.

28-01-2016, 05:33 PM

Edinburgh - Glasgow services will be every 30 minutes instead of every 15. Edinburgh dunblanes will be every hour vice every 30. Folk advised not to travel unless necessary.

28-01-2016, 05:37 PM
Edinburgh - Glasgow services will be every 30 minutes instead of every 15. Edinburgh dunblanes will be every hour vice every 30. Folk advised not to travel unless necessary.

Is Falkirk High still part of the journey?

28-01-2016, 05:40 PM

i take it that includes the via bathgate choo-choo ? any idea which times will be used for the 30 min trains

28-01-2016, 07:07 PM
i take it that includes the via bathgate choo-choo ? any idea which times will be used for the 30 min trains

When they do that its always XX15 and XX45 from Edinburgh and XX00 and XX30 from queen st. No idea about the bathgates. If the overheads come down that line will get shut.

28-01-2016, 07:08 PM
Is Falkirk High still part of the journey?

Yes. Via Halkirk high. This is tomorrow though, not Saturday.

28-01-2016, 07:09 PM
https://www.scotrail.co.uk/about-scotrail/news/service-changes-due-storm-gertrude-friday-29-january

28-01-2016, 07:10 PM
I was worried about getting in from Penicuik but didn't even think about the saints fans. It could be a very difficult travel for them. Even more to consider should the wind and snow come to anything.

28-01-2016, 07:15 PM
I was worried about getting in from Penicuik but didn't even think about the saints fans. It could be a very difficult travel for them. Even more to consider should the wind and snow come to anything.

Perth-Inverness trains withdrawn tomorrow but Perth-Edinburgh will run as scheduled.

28-01-2016, 07:18 PM
Perth-Inverness trains withdrawn tomorrow but Perth-Edinburgh will run as scheduled.

I'm more thinking about the snow on Saturday and bridge restrictions. Usually comes to nothing these big warnings and you get it worse when it isn't forecast.

28-01-2016, 07:20 PM
What will be will be. No point worrying, it doesn't help

28-01-2016, 08:01 PM
What will be will be. No point worrying, it doesn't help

I'm more worried about travelling home North tomorrow M. [emoji33]

28-01-2016, 08:39 PM

No chance your getting through. Derby is unpassable till Sunday. Someone will text you score updates :-).

28-01-2016, 08:41 PM
No chance your getting through. Derby is unpassable till Sunday. Someone will text you score updates :-).

Luckily being on the east coast I don't need to go via Derby, it's up through Grantham, York Newcastle for me - maybe :D

28-01-2016, 08:50 PM
Luckily being on the east coast I don't need to go via Derby, it's up through Grantham, York Newcastle for me - maybe :D

It is a total rip off up that line when i try to book it through York.

28-01-2016, 08:52 PM
It is a total rip off up that line when i try to book it through York.

Perhaps because your quickest route is via Preston up the west coast?

28-01-2016, 08:54 PM
Perhaps because your quickest route is via Preston up the west coast?

Yes that is the route i use as its a 3rd of the price.

Hope if there is an issue Saturday I know about it early as I am driving a few up for the semi final.

28-01-2016, 08:56 PM
Yes that is the route i use as its a 3rd of the price.

Hope if there is an issue Saturday I know about it early as I am driving a few up for the semi final.

There will be plenty info on here if there's a problem.

28-01-2016, 09:10 PM

Good luck pal😄🙏

Greenworld
28-01-2016, 11:01 PM
No snow in Edinburgh

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

28-01-2016, 11:19 PM
No snow in Edinburgh

Not yet.

29-01-2016, 08:08 AM
Really strong wind expected to continue into tomorrow with 50mph gusts around kick off time. Would not surprise me if the game is effected with public safety concerns. There is fallen fences and trees all over the place this morning.

29-01-2016, 08:19 AM
Really strong wind expected to continue into tomorrow with 50mph gusts around kick off time. Would not surprise me if the game is effected with public safety concerns. There is fallen fences and trees all over the place this morning.

Wouldn't surprise me if the main stand fell down

29-01-2016, 08:21 AM

Winds to die down to a mere 20mph for kick off time

29-01-2016, 08:43 AM
Winds to die down to a mere 20mph for kick off time

Aye but they need to factor in folks travelling to the game in the morning.

29-01-2016, 08:56 AM
Aye but they need to factor in folks travelling to the game in the morning.

The gusts have to die down later on today so I'm sure everyone will make it

Greenworld
29-01-2016, 09:03 AM
2c and 49kmh winds tomorrow how is that going to threaten anyone going..... Tynecastle is well enclosed.....Game on 2-0 hibs

29-01-2016, 09:05 AM
The game will go ahead, it has to, I´m flying back tonite for the game.

TamHibs
29-01-2016, 09:10 AM
Serious question, has a semi final ever been postponed :dunno:

29-01-2016, 09:21 AM
The game will go ahead, it has to, I´m flying back tonite for the game.

I'm stuck in Peterborough. Overhead lines are down at Alnmouth. Trai are goosed for the time being.

29-01-2016, 09:22 AM
Serious question, has a semi final ever been postponed :dunno:

I asked same thing. Yes. Aberdeen v ddee Utd in 2008/9 is the answer I got. At tynecastle as well funnily enough.

29-01-2016, 09:25 AM
I'm stuck in Peterborough. Overhead lines are down at Alnmouth. Trai are goosed for the time being.

If you start walking now you might make it. Being such a loyal fan and all that :-)

29-01-2016, 09:33 AM
This won't have anything to do with the game but it might cause folk bother if they still need to pick up tickets, St Clair Street is closed due to parts of the roof coming off the block of flats on th corner. Traffic obviously heavier now around the stadium

29-01-2016, 09:42 AM
If you start walking now you might make it. Being such a loyal fan and all that :-)

He is currently cycling north in 5th gear on a borrowed push bike. Ha.

HC if you can't make it but can get to Leeds area let me know will pick you up and give you a lift up tomorrow. PM me if needed but in work till 8pm.

29-01-2016, 09:42 AM
Its a nice day here in the Capital city. A little windy but thats it.

29-01-2016, 09:46 AM

Haha, that's a good one, by hook or by crook I'll make it :-)

He is currently cycling north in 5th gear on a borrowed push bike. Ha.

HC if you can't make it but can get to Leeds area let me know will pick you up and give you a lift up tomorrow. PM me if needed but in work till 8pm.

Very kind of you but I'm going to get the first available to Newcastle and take it from there.