View Full Version : Tynecastle Memories.

doddsy
28-01-2016, 08:04 AM
Tynecastle as we know is the stadium of our closest neighbours. I'm going there on Saturday and was thinking about my memories of going to Tynecastle throughout the years with mixed fortunes. Some brilliant days and some not so brilliant especially in the eighties when we could'nt buy a win.

One of my earlier really good memories is if I remember rightly was when Joe McBride curled in a free kick in a 2-1 win in the late seventies very early eighties I could be wrong with date. My favourite is the night game 3-0 win in the late nineties-early noughties with a double from Kenny Miller and a 22 yard peach from the Hammer of the Hearts-Franck Sauzee. That night was one of the best atmospere's I remember.

What's yours and why.

28-01-2016, 08:08 AM
Winning the Millenium Derby 3-0 is my favourite ever game there. Dirk Lehmann, Le God and Kenny Miller scoring. Great night

The 1-0 Riordan penalty when most people expected us to get skelped was my next favourite.

Hibee_Craig7062
28-01-2016, 08:10 AM
Think I'm the same game as you but as I recall it it was the millennium derby and it ended 3-0 with deadly dirk lehmann getting the first. Was baltic that night but I never felt the cold!

Hibee_Craig7062
28-01-2016, 08:12 AM
The other stand out is obviously geebsie putting the ball past nicky walker at the gorgie road end. I was 8 year old and it was the first time I saw us beat hearts!

28-01-2016, 08:13 AM
My first visit was in September 1973. I was nine and went with the laddies from Fountainbridge. I remember a massive crush at the Gorgie Road end before KO, it has stuck in mind as the most terrifying episode I've encountered in my years of watching football.

The game was a shock to the system too. I wasn't taken to the big games by my Dad. I suppose Hibs didn't lose that many at ER in those days and so it was a bit of bursting of my bubble as we were humped 4-1.

Not many happy memories from that ground but the semi final v Dundee Utd stands out for me as a happy one.

I've only been to around 4-5 games there and sadly, none of them involved victories for Hibs over them.

doddsy
28-01-2016, 08:13 AM
Think I'm the same game as you but as I recall it it was the millennium derby and it ended 3-0 with deadly dirk lehmann getting the first. Was baltic that night but I never felt the cold!

Yes sorry folks, did'nt mean to give a goal to the Jam Tarts. It was indeed the same game 3-0 and forgot it was big Pornstar Dirk himself got one.

I got swept away with the atmosphere that night.:flag:

Salt N Sauzee
28-01-2016, 08:21 AM
Best memory for me has to be the one in 2013 when we came back from 1-0 down to win 2-1 in the last minute.

The free kick from Griffiths that day: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0-_MPKiCiA , love the second of dead silence just before the ball smashes the net and we all go fudging mental :hyper

28-01-2016, 08:25 AM
Apart from the most obvious one... :wink:

The Archiegoal game.....absolute mayhem, with a frenzied Callum Milne jumping up on the wall and almost shaking the fence down at the end.

The Geebsie game. No idea how we won that day but we deserved a break against that lot.

A Stanton equaliser at roughly 5 o'clock....they were spewin' that day! Think it was 1975.

The Millenium Derby was just superb, as good as I've seen a Hibs team away. Can't remember ever being so happy going into work on the Monday.

28-01-2016, 08:25 AM
Archibald's winner in the 80s takes some beating. Hibs with 10 men for most of the match after Rae was SO in first half. Backs to the wall, long ball forward, Archie breaks free and unleashes the perfect shot just inside the far past. Hibs fans exploded.

28-01-2016, 08:31 AM
The Brian Kerr Derby, was there with the old man, my cousin and her stunning friend from London. What a night

28-01-2016, 08:33 AM
The tree that used to grow in the main stand guttering. Never saw it flower though, and it was cruelly cut down before the start of last season.

doddsy
28-01-2016, 08:36 AM
Archibald's winner in the 80s takes some beating. Hibs with 10 men for most of the match after Rae was SO in first half. Backs to the wall, long ball forward, Archie breaks free and unleashes the perfect shot just inside the far past. Hibs fans exploded.

I had forgotton about that one. Stevie Archibald scored that one like the top class player he was. Thank you for bringing

that one back to me. Big Gordon Rae, one of the most honest hard working players, Legend.

28-01-2016, 08:36 AM
John O'Neill's equaliser

CorrieHibs
28-01-2016, 08:39 AM
After the disappointment of the semi against united. We played hearts at Tynie. Simon brown made a terrible error and we were 1 down. Second half we were excellent and won 2-1. O'Connor and Shiels. Great Night!

doddsy
28-01-2016, 08:44 AM
My first visit was in September 1973. I was nine and went with the laddies from Fountainbridge. I remember a massive crush at the Gorgie Road end before KO, it has stuck in mind as the most terrifying episode I've encountered in my years of watching football.

The game was a shock to the system too. I wasn't taken to the big games by my Dad. I suppose Hibs didn't lose that many at ER in those days and so it was a bit of bursting of my bubble as we were humped 4-1.

Not many happy memories from that ground but the semi final v Dundee Utd stands out for me as a happy one.

I've only been to around 4-5 games there and sadly, none of them involved victories for Hibs over them.

Talking about crushes, I remember a game at Berwick Rangers in the early eighties. Some of us had to be pulled out of

a packed terracing due to the crush. It was scary stuff.

28-01-2016, 08:44 AM
Most of my highlights of there have already been mentioned.

I'm going to throw in Scotland 1 Portugal 0 in The U-16 World Champs Semi in front of 29000. Some of the scenes inside and outside the ground were amazing that day.

TamHibs
28-01-2016, 08:58 AM
My first ever game at Tynie was just after i turned 10. New Years Day 1998. Fulton had the vermin 2-0 up early doors before Andy Walker & Pat McGinlay scored in the 2nd half, sure we almost won it at the death with a shot that whizzed just past the post.

Tom Hart RIP
28-01-2016, 09:02 AM
Apart from the most obvious one... :wink:

The Archiegoal game.....absolute mayhem, with a frenzied Callum Milne jumping up on the wall and almost shaking the fence down at the end.

The Geebsie game. No idea how we won that day but we deserved a break against that lot.

A Stanton equaliser at roughly 5 o'clock....they were spewin' that day! Think it was 1975.

The Millenium Derby was just superb, as good as I've seen a Hibs team away. Can't remember ever being so happy going into work on the Monday.

Agreed 100%. I was at them all including the 7-0 and the 1971 cup win. Best goal was Archie's.

Tom Hart RIP
28-01-2016, 09:04 AM
After the disappointment of the semi against united. We played hearts at Tynie. Simon brown made a terrible error and we were 1 down. Second half we were excellent and won 2-1. O'Connor and Shiels. Great Night!

I'd forgot about that one. Couldn't believe Browns error. Pressley an Webster couldn't cope with big Konte when he came on as a sub

Tom Hart RIP
28-01-2016, 09:07 AM
Most of my highlights of there have already been mentioned.

I'm going to throw in Scotland 1 Portugal 0 in The U-16 World Champs Semi in front of 29000. Some of the scenes inside and outside the ground were amazing that day.

Just found out recently that Figo played that night

28-01-2016, 09:26 AM
Tynecastle memories? Losing.

Other than that, been to two wins - 1-0 Riordan penalty and the Ross Caldwell last minute winner. The second one was memorable in that in my celebrations I managed to get to the front of the stand where the gates are, some other guys inadvertently pushed it open and I was almost reluctantly forced to invade the pitch if not for the stewards closing it just in time, catching my foot in the process.

For the rest of the celebrations I stood in silence and in silent agony, making it clear to the stewards I wasn't trying to get out and waiting for the celebrations to die down so they could open the gate again and free my foot. Didn't damper the celebrations at all, though the walk back home was ****ing painful. :grr:

28-01-2016, 09:27 AM
Joe Mcbride jr scoring two late late goals in a 2-2 draw. Think the blob scored after 27 seconds.

doddsy
28-01-2016, 09:30 AM
The Brian Kerr Derby, was there with the old man, my cousin and her stunning friend from London. What a night

What was the Brian Kerr Derby bud?

and what was the story?

28-01-2016, 09:53 AM

and what was the story?

First game of the season under John Collins.

1 nil up after about 37 seconds and controlled the rest of the game.

Was a late kick off if memory serves?

Was the debut of kerr, maka and aob along with others.

TamHibs
28-01-2016, 10:05 AM

I'm sure it was a MOnday night

norhfc
28-01-2016, 10:23 AM
Late 70s when we had the School End and the thin blue line stood between the fans just as the roof came round the corner into the School End.
A constant battle for territory, pretty brutal for a wee boy, I had to sneak out the house with my scarf for Rangers and Hearts games. A flow of
arrests and pitch invasions where my memories of Tynecastle. Still, I,m glad I experienced big games in those terracing days :agree:

28-01-2016, 10:41 AM
Many happy days at Tynecastle.

Jimmy O'Rourke and Eric Stevenson's double each in 65 when we cuffed them 4-0 plus the obvious 7-0 NewYear game.

Also when I was backin 2013 and Sparky and Ross Caldwell scored to hump the 2-1

As I say many a pleasant afternoonspe t at Tynecastle...and nearly forgot Limping Alan McGraw's winner against Dundee in the semi of the League cup....

28-01-2016, 10:44 AM
The late Johnny Hamilton being M of T M there in Autumn 1970 or 71.

28-01-2016, 10:44 AM
I used to play 5's with a guy who played football for months wearing a boxing glove and everyone used to ask me why he wore it.

We had season tickets together and went home and away to all the games. He used to drink more in the 30 minutes leading up to a game than he did during the rest of the week and probably can't remember any of our games from about 1998 - 2008.

At the Millennium derby he had his usual generous scoop prior to the match and promptly fell asleep as soon as the game kicked off. He was woken up by the bedlam that ensued after dirty Dirk's goal an leapt to his feet before falling unconscious again and falling forward about 4 rows.

When he picked himself back up his hand was wrecked and he had to wear a boxing glove to protect it at fives for months until it recovered.

It was possibly one of the funniest things I've ever seen and made a great day even better. I shouldn't laugh really but whilst he was a good mate the guy was a total liability at times.

28-01-2016, 10:50 AM
Just found out recently that Figo played that night

Rui Costa as well I think. Cracking team and Scotland beat them only to be beaten by the boy/men from Saudi.

doddsy
28-01-2016, 10:50 AM
Many happy days at Tynecastle.

Jimmy O'Rourke and Eric Stevenson's double each in 65 when we cuffed them 4-0 plus the obvious 7-0 NewYear game.

Also when I was backin 2013 and Sparky and Ross Caldwell scored to hump the 2-1

As I say many a pleasant afternoonspe t at Tynecastle...and nearly forgot Limping Alan McGraw's winner against Dundee in the semi of the League cup....

These memories are Gold. Jimmy O'Rourke, Eric Stevenson et al. Magic. Bring a tear to a glass eye thinking of all the fantastic players through the ages. And I include the honest journeyman who simply worked their socks off. Think Benny Brazil, Gordon Rae, Alan Sneddon et al.

28-01-2016, 10:51 AM
My first ever game at Tynie was just after i turned 10. New Years Day 1998. Fulton had the vermin 2-0 up early doors before Andy Walker & Pat McGinlay scored in the 2nd half, sure we almost won it at the death with a shot that whizzed just past the post.

The match that relegated us 😟

28-01-2016, 10:51 AM
I'm sure it was a MOnday night

It was and had Kerr for first goal at something like 25 to 1. Good night.

TamHibs
28-01-2016, 10:52 AM
The match that relegated us 

Sorry.... :greengrin

28-01-2016, 10:57 AM
3 abiding memories for me.

The Archibald derby, the millennium derby (the only occasion I've been to that sheethole since wallet merger tried to destroy us) and the Scotland v Portugal under 16 semi.

Tom Hart RIP
28-01-2016, 11:11 AM
Sorry.... :greengrin

I think he means that the two goals kept jim Duffy in a job. Had we lost the rumours were thT he was to be sacked. Suggestion is that Alex MacLeish would have arrived sooner and keeps us up.

TamHibs
28-01-2016, 11:15 AM
I think he means that the two goals kept jim Duffy in a job. Had we lost the rumours were thT he was to be sacked. Suggestion is that Alex MacLeish would have arrived sooner and keeps us up.

We still only won 2 of our last 12 games under McLeish. An extra month might not have made any difference.

28-01-2016, 11:19 AM
I remember me and my mate sarcastically applauding Hearts 3rd goal in the 4-4 game then ending up with my head in my hands.

If a camera had been on my face in that last 4 minutes they would have seen all emotions known to man.:cb

28-01-2016, 11:38 AM
The match that relegated us 😟

I was going to make that comment too, that result kept Duff Jimmy in the job a wee bit longer.

ozhibs
28-01-2016, 11:58 AM
Best memory for me has to be the one in 2013 when we came back from 1-0 down to win 2-1 in the last minute.

The free kick from Griffiths that day: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0-_MPKiCiA , love the second of dead silence just before the ball smashes the net and we all go fudging mental :hyper

This... I was back over on holiday (well a funeral actually) and it wasaboslutely brilliant. I could not speak to the wife in Australia for greetin wi joy, I tried to say we beat the bar stewards.

LithgaeHibby
28-01-2016, 12:44 PM
1994. Geebsie, 0-1, breaking the 22-in-a-row hoodoo. Climbed up the fence when he scored, the whole end was absolute bedlam. They had temporary stickers on their away seats at the time. Every Hibby left Swiney with one of those on their forehead!
:flag::devil::giruy2:

bringbackbenny
28-01-2016, 12:50 PM
Darren Jackson vs the Arabs, think it was 1993?. Great shot drilled in the corner from edge of box.

sbell1875
28-01-2016, 12:58 PM
Mowbrays's first season when we won there midweek. If memory serves me right (I had not long turned 18) Shiels got the winner.

Had that iconic photo of GOC & Shiels sitting on the pitch after the 2nd goal on my bedroom wall for years!

28-01-2016, 01:03 PM
The 0-7 obviously, but would be lying if I remembered it too much (except my jambo supporting uncles saying they would take a sip of their hip flask for every hearts goal :tee hee: )
Also the next game there....got pumped 4-1 can still see Schaedlers own goal going in....lovely day as well.
Stanton's 95th minute equaliser !...what scenes / emotions then.
More recently coming from 2-0 down to getting a draw, and Griffiths free kick.

28-01-2016, 01:27 PM
This defo got me thinking

1-2 SC in 1971
0-7 League in 1973
1-1 league in 1975(Pat Stanton)
0-2 league Archibald
0-3 league in 1999
1-2 league 2013 Caldwell & Griffiths
0-1 League cup 1974 V Falkirk
0-1 League Cup 1993 v Dundee Utd

There are quite a few more that I have either forgot about or have already been mentioned

28-01-2016, 01:41 PM
The 1-0 riordan match back in 2009 was my first ever Derby at Tynecastle, that day made me realise I wanted to be a hibee forever

28-01-2016, 02:05 PM
There was a 2-2 draw back in 1977 when Des Bremner scored both our goals. They were on the way to getting relegated and it was absolute mayhem after the game. My mate got a right doing on Dalry Road.

28-01-2016, 02:08 PM
Geebsy scoring when we won 1-0 back in the 90's.

We hadn't beat them for donkies and Geebsy popped up at the back post at the McLeod Street end to score the only goal of the game.

Medals Mackay was also sent off that day making it doubly sweet.

28-01-2016, 02:41 PM

and what was the story?

When our most prolific midfielder when it came to unseen work scored in the first few minutes to win it for us.

Also makalambys debut I believe.

But the real story of the night was my cousins pal 😍

28-01-2016, 02:55 PM
Seen us win nine times at that shhithole . Favourite win :cb Every one of them .

28-01-2016, 03:17 PM
Caldwell's last minute winner and the semi-final 9 years ago.

Great times.

We'll win on Saturday and Next Sunday. Cannot wait.

28-01-2016, 03:41 PM
I remember me and my mate sarcastically applauding Hearts 3rd goal in the 4-4 game then ending up with my head in my hands.

If a camera had been on my face in that last 4 minutes they would have seen all emotions known to man.:cb

Can remember a guy in front of me having put a bet on Hibs winning 4-2, oh dear. That final goal against must be one of the most unprofessional ever in terms of defending.

28-01-2016, 03:44 PM
Definitely have a few that have been wiped for sure.

My abiding memory of the Millennium derby (which I'm pretty sure was my first derby) was the concrete steps seemingly bouncing off the stand as we did the Hibee Bounce on and on and on. They made a pretty big programme for the game too, think it was 3 quid.

The following season we played them there in the first game and got to see Laursen and Matty Jack, Gary Smith, Paul Fenwick, John O'Neil and some Didi Agathe guy. A load of them including Sauzee and Mixu had gone bleached blonde for the start of the season. 0-0 with Agathe missing a great chance.

The John O'Neil last minute equaliser to keep Sauzee's unbeaten record against Hearts intact was my last good memory at Tynecastle. Lyndon Andrews was our best player that day IIRC.

Not been to many games at Tynie since but they generally haven't gone too well.

MM19
28-01-2016, 04:15 PM
There was a 2-2 draw back in 1977 when Des Bremner scored both our goals. They were on the way to getting relegated and it was absolute mayhem after the game. My mate got a right doing on Dalry Road.

There was also the one when Ralph Callaghan scored from an impossible angle which was at the end of the season they got relegated and we won 1-0. The 7-0 game obviously when we beat them 2-0 in the league when Crops and Hamilton scored and the cup game when Hazel and Arthur scored we were spoiled for choice in these days. Also the 1-0 when Joe McBride scored around 1970

28-01-2016, 05:27 PM
Lived on Wardlaw Place for a while as a kid and was taken to my first ever game (an Edinburgh derby which finished 1-1) to Tynecastle in 1951. Also took my son there for his first match to see Meadowbank Thistle v Hibs in the Scottish Cup during George Best’s time at ER. So I suppose the old place does mean something to me.
However, during Mercer’s attempt to kill us off , I (like many other Hibees) vowed never to attend another derby match at Tynecastle. I was there for the last St. J semi in 2007 and I’ll be there on Sat because it’s classed as a neutral venue - but that’s it! So despite having enough points to get a ticket on the first day of sale for the cup-tie next Sunday, I’ll be staying away.
The thing is, I’ve some great memories of games attended at Tynecastle – the 4-0 game in the mid 60’s, the 7-0 New Year’s Day game and (young) Joe McBride’s late double in the 2-2 draw, to name but a few. There’s also been some games to forget too, obviously. Some folk might think it’s stupid but I’m sticking to my guns.
Anyway - here’s hoping for two memorable results for the Hibees at Tynecastle in the next two weekends. :aok:

28-01-2016, 05:28 PM
Gordon Hunters winner in 94.

1st time I remember us beating Hearts in the time I had been going to games. I'd seen us lose at Tynecastle a few times before that. To my 7 year old self the celebrations were mental both at the goal and at FT.

28-01-2016, 05:30 PM
Caldwell's last minute winner and the semi-final 9 years ago.

Great times.

We'll win on Saturday and Next Sunday. Cannot wait.

The celebrations after Caldwells winner were mad. I ended up about 8 rows further forward than where I started. You would have thought it was a league decider with how radge we all went. Atmosphere that day was superb and the Hibs support never shut up from the 1st minute to the last.

Ireallywasthere
28-01-2016, 05:39 PM
I was at the 0 -7 game outstanding. But the "casper" 0 -1 beat that

28-01-2016, 05:42 PM
I was at the 0 -7 game outstanding. But the "casper" 0 -1 beat that

You're at it. A 1-0 penalty win better than a historic pumping playing incredible football??

Ireallywasthere
28-01-2016, 05:45 PM
The way hibs were playing then we were pumping everyone. Went into the casper game with a weakened team expecting to get horsed. The yams were full of it and yes - better memories

28-01-2016, 06:11 PM
The Casper game is one of my all-time favourites.

We'll never go into another derby with as weak a squad as that - even our full-strength team struggled against their financially super doped squad.

The manager and every player deserve massive credit for their dogged defending, resolute midfield play and ability to take the chance when it came.

We played with such spirit that a decent case could be made for playing our reserve team in every derby - we just looked like we wanted it more that night than we ever did with our regular players.

They've done us the same way so often over the years, it's the only time (ok, O'Connor's last minute winner with 10 men counts too) that I can really remember us turning them over as heavy underdogs. I started going during the 22 in a row sequence and it didn't seem to matter how much better we were than them, they'd always still manage to scrape something.

28-01-2016, 06:42 PM
Another one that comes back to me is the last game of 99/00 season and Tam McManus' first start.

He played well on the right of midfield and I remember Colin Cameron kicking him into the baying mob of Jambos in the front row of their big bus shelter.

28-01-2016, 06:46 PM
Oh and this. Can't find the vid though.

And http://cdn.c.photoshelter.com/img-get/I0000ffi7Q98gt6s/s/880/880/stewart-hearts-v-hibs-09.jpg

28-01-2016, 06:52 PM
Brian Kerr in the first minute. It was just about the only good thing he did for us, and was superb. Hibs end went bonkers :greengrin

28-01-2016, 07:02 PM
John Hazel and Arthur Duncan scoring either side of a kevin Hegarty goal, on the way to the 1971, "Rangers are rubbish" Scottish cup semi & of course I was one of the 400k Hibs fans that was at Tynie for the 0-7 league match almost two years later.

28-01-2016, 07:05 PM
The way hibs were playing then we were pumping everyone. Went into the casper game with a weakened team expecting to get horsed. The yams were full of it and yes - better memories

Each to their own! For me, the Casper game would be at the bottom of the pile of wins at the piggery although it was great at the time.

Newry Hibs
28-01-2016, 08:40 PM
Mentioned in another thread about the 1-1 in 1978 when we scored (McLeod) in the last minute after they had 2 players sent off.

Was mental on the terraces. I was 13 and went with my brother (16). Was up on holiday and my folks thought it would be safe enough! I think they were reminiscing about the old days when there was no trouble.

Also a boakback link about the game.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/72277-any-memories-of-the-august-1978-derby-with-lots-of-crowd-trouble/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ju4V5oi5yM4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ju4V5oi5yM4)

28-01-2016, 08:45 PM
Best memory for me has to be the one in 2013 when we came back from 1-0 down to win 2-1 in the last minute. The free kick from Griffiths that day: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0-_MPKiCiA , love the second of dead silence just before the ball smashes the net and we all go fudging mental :hyper

Gets better every time I watch it

That and Archie's goal are the two best I've celebrated in 40 odd years visiting that dump

28-01-2016, 09:12 PM
Mentioned in another thread about the 1-1 in 1978 when we scored (McLeod) in the last minute after they had 2 players sent off.

Was mental on the terraces. I was 13 and went with my brother (16). Was up on holiday and my folks thought it would be safe enough! I think they were reminiscing about the old days when there was no trouble.

Also a boakback link about the game.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/72277-any-memories-of-the-august-1978-derby-with-lots-of-crowd-trouble/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ju4V5oi5yM4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ju4V5oi5yM4)

That was mental😂😂the school end was carnage

Sweet Left Peg
28-01-2016, 09:27 PM
Andy Dow. Stephanie Pie.

28-01-2016, 09:49 PM
Not been to Tynie since last St J semi in 2007 but 3 games in the 70's stand out.

New Years Day 1973 - was only at that game cos my dad wax on plain clothes duty. He got me in the polis gate at McLeod Street. Strange but main memory was the Jambo fans emptying out of Wheatfield terracing at half time.

The Stanton equaliser game. 2-2 think it was. Really late injury time.

The other game was when Alan McGraw went off injured. More or less broke his leg but came back on with huge strapping or splint on his leg. He slid in and scored the winner late in the game. Not even sure if that was a Jambo game. Might have been a cup game?

cmcd
28-01-2016, 10:50 PM
John Hazel and Arthur Duncan scoring either side of a kevin Hegarty goal, on the way to the 1971, "Rangers are rubbish" Scottish cup semi & of course I was one of the 400k Hibs fans that was at Tynie for the 0-7 league match almost two years later.

I missed the first two goals in 73 was standing in a queue at the Gorgie road end when a number of jambos came out and threw their scarves in a bin 😄😄

CL0762
29-01-2016, 10:10 AM
I have never celebrated a goal as much in my life as I did the Ross Caldwell goal. I was sitting in row 8 section J, ended up row 1 section M absolutely lost my mind.

The video is Sparky's free kick I can watch over and over again. Especially with no commentary, the sound of the 'YAAAAS' brings the goosebumps every single time.

29-01-2016, 10:33 AM
I have never celebrated a goal as much in my life as I did the Ross Caldwell goal. I was sitting in row 8 section J, ended up row 1 section M absolutely lost my mind.

The video is Sparky's free kick I can watch over and over again. Especially with no commentary, the sound of the 'YAAAAS' brings the goosebumps every single time.

Actually took a video of Griffiths' goal. Started the video expecting absolutely nothing, then when the ball hits the net there is a brief moment of not quite believing that happened, before I completely forget I'm holding the phone and am jumping about screaming. Good times.

Mark79
29-01-2016, 12:16 PM

that was my one. not just for the football but I mind going to the bogs before the game started and then again at half time (few pints before the game)

by the time I got back for a second time all the sinks were overflowing. one had a turd in it and the toilet and cubicle were lying at the other end of the room. now I'm not condoning wrecking the joint but it was the change in 45 mins that made me laugh.

29-01-2016, 12:58 PM
Oh and this. Can't find the vid though.

And http://cdn.c.photoshelter.com/img-get/I0000ffi7Q98gt6s/s/880/880/stewart-hearts-v-hibs-09.jpg

Not a happy memory for me - Murray was lucky not to be sent off and we got beat in the last 5 minutes.

That game was also made harder for us due to some classic Petrie transfer shenanigans - the transfer window had been open for only 12 hours prior and we had already sold Bamba.

29-01-2016, 01:16 PM
Not a happy memory for me - Murray was lucky not to be sent off and we got beat in the last 5 minutes.

That game was also made harder for us due to some classic Petrie transfer shenanigans - the transfer window had been open for only 12 hours prior and we had already sold Bamba.

Murrays challenge didn't really make any difference either. Black ran the show and got MOTM.

1987kev
29-01-2016, 01:38 PM
John oneill last minute goal when le God was the manger.
2-1 goc and deano best game I've been to a tynie.
1-0 brain Kerr

Tom Hart RIP
29-01-2016, 02:55 PM
Worst refereeing decision I've ever seen when rowbotham sent off Yogi for ruffling stephan paille's hair. For some reason I was sitting behind the dugout and saw it clear as day. Rowbotham was not looking at yogi and when the cheat fell to the floor holding his face he reacted to the crowd. Disgraceful decision. He showed his true colours when he didn't send gazza off for head butting the Aberdeen player at Ibrox

pundy man
29-01-2016, 09:34 PM
0-7 say no more

greenlad
30-01-2016, 07:19 AM
Worst refereeing decision I've ever seen when rowbotham sent off Yogi for ruffling stephan paille's hair. For some reason I was sitting behind the dugout and saw it clear as day. Rowbotham was not looking at yogi and when the cheat fell to the floor holding his face he reacted to the crowd. Disgraceful decision. He showed his true colours when he didn't send gazza off for head butting the Aberdeen player at Ibrox

and Gilles Rousset sprinting 50 yards

hibee
30-01-2016, 09:02 AM
My last memory of Tynecastle for a derby was turning up to find the seat I had been allocated wasn't actually there because there was a pillar where it would have been. Had to stand up the back and dodge the river running out of the overflowing toilets for the whole game.

This was probably 15 years ago or more but I'm returning today and taking the kids for their first ever visit, no better time to go than when the locals aren't allowed in.

I was there in 2007 for the St Johnstone game but don't remember where I sat.

30-01-2016, 09:55 AM
Mowbrays's first season when we won there midweek. If memory serves me right (I had not long turned 18) Shiels got the winner.

Had that iconic photo of GOC & Shiels sitting on the pitch after the 2nd goal on my bedroom wall for years!
Was that the game when simon brown let the ball go in thinking it was going wide

30-01-2016, 10:06 AM
Archibald game v them at the PBS.

Gorgie Road end heaving and pouring with rain.

30-01-2016, 10:26 AM
Mine is a bit left field. Few years back there was the Festival Cup Games. I won a competition to come on the pitch at HT and try and hit corner flag from the centre circle. (pretty hard but they made the Hibs fans also kick into the wind)

Not long before the match Gordon Smith passed away so the match was also turned into a tribute for him. So come HT we enter the pitch as the legends get introduced to the crowd and I walk on with Lawrie Reilly. That was pretty special.

30-01-2016, 11:37 AM
Pat Quinns hat trick in 1967 was a great day as was Willie McFarlanes first game . Magic times.

bournehibby
30-01-2016, 12:50 PM
Pat Quinns hat trick in 1967 was a great day as was Willie McFarlanes first game . Magic times.
Remember that well Malcom, also Willie Hamiltons effort from "an impossible angle" a couple of years before :not worth
bh

30-01-2016, 01:45 PM

and what was the story?

Saw Brian Kerr yesterday, the company I work for has an office in Hamilton.

Brian has a sandwich takeaway (very good it is to) near the Hamilton ground called Kerrusts.