View Full Version : Malonga Leaving?

25-01-2016, 07:59 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/hibernian/6886014/Dominique-Malonga-agrees-deal-to-leave-Hibs.html

25-01-2016, 07:59 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/hibernian/6886014/Dominique-Malonga-agrees-deal-to-leave-Hibs.html

25-01-2016, 08:00 PM
Looks like Big Dom has played his last game for us :boo hoo:

25-01-2016, 08:00 PM
All the best to him :aok:

GlasgowHibee
25-01-2016, 08:01 PM
Stokes is better, still thought he was a great player when fully up for it.

Thanks for the memorable goals Dom.

Genuinely heartbroken. All the best Dom. :boo hoo:

Ok ... Not doubting you but ... Source

Genuinely heartbroken. All the best Dom. :boo hoo:

This will be a ten pager. Good luck Dom.

25-01-2016, 08:02 PM

Kenny miller Sun.

25-01-2016, 08:02 PM
Great football player, lazy git but.

25-01-2016, 08:03 PM
Apologies never saw article above ... Phone playing up !!

Sorry to see him leave, really liked him.

I really hope not.

Really disappointed with this but if he feels he has dropped behind Dagnall and Stokes in the pecking order then I can see why he wants to go and play.

Good luck Dom, totally gutted to see him go. Class player.

We have a lot of options up front, so it could be true, but I'd be sorry to see him go.

25-01-2016, 08:04 PM
All the best Dominique.

Good luck Dom, thanks for these 3 glorious goals.

Hope we get a decent price for him.

I'll be sending the melted remains of my season ticket to Petrie first thing in the morning. The worst move the clubs has made since signing Liam Craig.

Damn, he'll be missed. :boo hoo:

25-01-2016, 08:05 PM
From what I believe, it has more to do with his other half not settling here rather than anything to do with Hibs.

Good luck to him wherever he ends up :aok:

Had a touch of class....wasn't going to start much , so understand this...always welcome back at ER. Thanks for everything Dom

Mark79
I've just finished teaching my 4 year old his song.

Great football player, lazy git but.

The repetition of this nonsense is lazier than Dom ever was.

Pathetic support this guy got from us. Don't blame him for heading elsewhere.

No reason not to believe that given the speculation. Very sorry to see him go. A touch of class has left the building.

Bonne chance Dominique

Decent player but not overly fussed to see him go. Still, good luck to him. Doo doo doo...

If true it's the worst possible news for us !

25-01-2016, 08:06 PM
Link that works please

Gutted to see him leave

Quality player but think with Dagnall and stokes in we are well covered.

Does that create room for another rabbit ?

Cannot believe this. Brings something to the team that no others can.

Saddened by this.

Aw the best Dom!

25-01-2016, 08:07 PM
I'll be sending the melted remains of my season ticket to Petrie first thing in the morning. The worst move the clubs has made since signing Liam Craig.

I'll join you tomorrow mate.

Generally gutted. :boo hoo:

Pathetic support? Behave yerself.

Teo10
Ruined my year.

Disappointed, but with Cummings,Keatings and stokes all proven at this level and dagnall starting well chances will be at a premium.

My son's gonna be gutted!

25-01-2016, 08:08 PM
Hope we get a decent price for him.

We will get zero. He is being released.

25-01-2016, 08:09 PM
Gutted if true

CorrieHibs
25-01-2016, 08:09 PM
Absolutely devastated. I love Dom. Been such an important player for us.

25-01-2016, 08:10 PM
The partnership I was looking forward to seeing up front was Stokes & Malonga. Really disappointed if he has gone.

Very good player on his day but not been consistent this year.

Stokes is a far better option but I'd like to have kept him. Dissppoinnted that he doesn't seem to want to fight for his place.

Would be my 4th choice striker now, still gutted to have him leave though.

Awra best King Dom!

Bad news, if true.

I would have thought that there might have been a decent chance of him renewing his contract beyond the summer considering Stokes will definitely be going back to Celtic, Dagnall's contract is only until the end of the season and who knows where Cummings will be next season?

I'll be sorry to see him go.

(http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/hibernian/6886014/Dominique-Malonga-agrees-deal-to-leave-Hibs.html)DOMINIQUE MALONGA tonight agreed on a deal to leave Hibs. The 27-year-old striker was entering the final few months of his contract and, with interest from several clubs in Italy, Hibees head coach Alan Stubbs has allowed the player to move on early. An 'emotional' Malonga is understood to have said his goodbyes to the squad and members of staff at Hibs' East Mains training complex today.

Serie B side Pro Vercilli are said to be in the driving seat for his signature, having confirmed their interest in the Congo international this week.

His representatives had been in Edinburgh for talks, in a situation that mirrored the final day of the summer transfer window.
Though he was an inconsistent performer, Malonga became a firm fan favourite, chipping in with some vital goals to aid Hibs' promotion push.
However, he faced seeing less action following the recent arrivals of Anthony Stokes and Chris Dagnall.

(http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/hibernian/6886014/Dominique-Malonga-agrees-deal-to-leave-Hibs.html)

Lee Marvin
25-01-2016, 08:11 PM
With stokes, dagnall and Cummings he was barely going to play.

Good luck big guy

I hope that it's the case that he wanted to go, given the Farid situation.

This was always going to happen when Stokes came in. We don't have an endless budget.
Thanks for some great memories Dom, and good luck

Pretty gutted. Would have loved to have seen him in premiership.

Great player and we don't have anything like him and his ability in our squad.

Strange that farid is still here as well

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

25-01-2016, 08:12 PM
If true it's the worst possible news for us !

No it's not. Losing Cummings would be far worse.

25-01-2016, 08:12 PM
gutted. one of the most entertaining players, in a completely unpredictable way, that we've had for ages.

25-01-2016, 08:13 PM
💔💔💔💔💔💔💔

mentalhibee
25-01-2016, 08:13 PM
Poor show if he's allowed to leave, great player for Hibs. Some of his goals have been absolute crackers.

Cabbage7062
25-01-2016, 08:14 PM
Spewing if this is the case! His goal against Queens the other month was one of my most madly celebrated hibs goals of recent times. All the best big guy - thanks for the great memories :not worth

25-01-2016, 08:14 PM
Devastated. Old Hibs fans will rejoice.

All the best king dom.

25-01-2016, 08:15 PM

I would say Dom got a better support from the Hibs fans compared to anyone else in the current squad.

From what I believe, it has more to do with his other half not settling here rather than anything to do with Hibs.

Good luck to him wherever he ends up :aok:

You won't get away with sensible posts like this. I think the fact that he looks unlikely to get a regular starting place given the squad we now have might have influenced the decision.

A bit unexpected but there is no way he would be in before Stokes and Cummings.
Popular player even though I never rated him as highly as some on here.
Would have been good back up.

25-01-2016, 08:16 PM
Could tell just by the interview Stubbs gave he was a goner. All the best Dom, thanks for the goals you scored here and that goal against Dons was a cracker.

Feel like I've been kicked in the gut [emoji174]

I'll not shed any tears but I'll be magnanimous enough to wish him well for the future.

25-01-2016, 08:17 PM
Sad about this but not surprised.

All the best Dom!!!!

25-01-2016, 08:17 PM
Could tell just by the interview Stubbs gave he was a goner. All the best Dom, thanks for the goals you scored here and that goal against Dons was a cracker.

What interview was this?

25-01-2016, 08:18 PM
Backward step if true, would hope we at least tried to keep him.

25-01-2016, 08:18 PM
This was always going to happen when Stokes came in. We don't have an endless budget.
Thanks for some great memories Dom, and good luck

This. Genuine cult hero though. His mazy v the Dons was magnificent 💚 Good luck to him.

itslegaltender
25-01-2016, 08:19 PM
a player you genuinely never knew what he was going to do next. Quite simply cool as ****.

Thanks for everything Dom, Hibs Class.

25-01-2016, 08:19 PM
What interview was this?

He was interviewed and asked if he Dom was staying. He said he'd like him to stay but it was up to Dom.

TAHibby
25-01-2016, 08:20 PM
Why

25-01-2016, 08:20 PM
Some magic moments but too few and far between for me. Good luck Dom.

25-01-2016, 08:21 PM
I'll not shed any tears but I'll be magnanimous enough to wish him well for the future.

Pretty much where I am with this. All the best Dom!

25-01-2016, 08:22 PM
Really surprised and disappointed.

All the best Big Bad Dom wherever you go. :aok:

25-01-2016, 08:23 PM
I fully expect Farid to follow him. Free up some money and I still think one more defender will come in.

Really, really sad to see him go.

Gutted as loved King Dom but he really was gonna struggle to get into the team with the likes of Stokes, Cummings, Dagnall, Keats and Boyle and who knows maybe even Farid (wishful thinking) Bonne Chance King Dom and thanks for some great memories 💚💚

25-01-2016, 08:24 PM
Cannot believe this. Brings something to the team that no others can.

Saddened by this.

Aw the best Dom!

A big earner and wages needing freed up to pay stokes ?
I think we could of done with him for the run in but I guess Stubbs has brought in Dagnall and will play him and stokes and Cummings will end up our top scorers .
If Farid as reported on here is unlikely to play leaves us with little height up front Wonder if we wil now bring in someone else .

I fully expect Farid to follow him. Free up some money and I still think one more defender will come in.

And Reguero

It's a great day when Hibs have yet again become a club who can let a player of Dom's class walk away.

Majorly disappointed to see him go.

Best wishes Dom!

sad :( had to happen though, his photo is this months calendar player.........along with Cummings :worried: thanks for some crackin goals big man :agree:

Surprised we are paying him off. If he had a club line up then I'm surprise we never tried for a fee

I doubt he would bother about a few randoms on a messageboard. Felt he got good support from the fans....not many players have got their own song after all.

hibeemikey21
25-01-2016, 08:25 PM
Awwww nawwww!!

Definitely not a player who should be leaving before the title run in, unless we have an adequate replacement lined up

25-01-2016, 08:25 PM
I thought there would be one out. Just glad it is not Cummings.

25-01-2016, 08:26 PM
And Reguero

Yeah would make sense mate.

25-01-2016, 08:27 PM
If as suggested by posters that Farid going as well and likely Reugero then I think we might see a bit more movement before Monday

Maybe one or two on here, not the case at ER where he was always cheered by the majority that I heard.

Merde!

All the best Dom

25-01-2016, 08:28 PM
Gutted.

Superb player who offered something different to our other strikers. And tbh something different to just about all the strikers we've ever had.

I hope we don't live to regret this but I'm not sure we can afford to lose as clever a player as Dom.

All the best to him wherever he goes and whatever he does. I appreciated his unique, unorthodox magic.

Edit - I reserve the right to pull the "All the best to him wherever he goes" if he ends up pulling a sneaky one on us and ending up somewhere nasty.

25-01-2016, 08:28 PM
Heard that Dundee United were interested

25-01-2016, 08:29 PM
The King is dead, long live the King!

A big earner and wages needing freed up to pay stokes ?
I think we could of done with him for the run in but I guess Stubbs has brought in Dagnall and will play him and stokes and Cummings will end up our top scorers .
If Farid as reported on here is unlikely to play leaves us with little height up front Wonder if we wil now bring in someone else .

He was a free agent signed outwith the transfer window. Can't see him being on big money.

Was well worth whatever we were paying him anyway.

Can't remember the last time I was disappointed to see a player leave.

25-01-2016, 08:30 PM
Looking at it dispassionately Stokes for Dom is a significant upgrade.

25-01-2016, 08:31 PM
Jesus Christ if his Mrs is unhappy in Edinburgh what the hell would she be like in Dundee. :confused:

QMU-1875
25-01-2016, 08:32 PM
When we signed KingDom a few days after a horrific loss to Alloa Athletic I feared the worst. I thought, here we go, another Thomas Showumni type signing. How wrong I was. Man scored so many important goals for us, a real talent. I fear we may regret letting him go. Goodbye King Dom, you will be remembered for a long time around Easter Road that's for sure! An entertainer.

Jesus Christ if his Mrs is unhappy in Edinburgh what the hell would she be like in Dundee. :confused:

I'd say suicidal!

Thought you were gutted when Liam Craig left Bingo green grin

Salt N Sauzee
Gutted about this. Love Malonga.

He's like a Black Berbatov, plays the game walking and with a swagger. Cool as ice.

Griffiths?

25-01-2016, 08:33 PM
Was not too impressed to begin with, but he clearly has class. I did think he'd be better in the top league, but alas its not to be.

Good luck Dom.

25-01-2016, 08:34 PM
Yeah would make sense mate.

And a defender in :wink:

Really disappointed with this. One of the most talented players we have at the club.

Cabbage7062
When we signed KingDom a few days after a horrific loss to Alloa Athletic I feared the worst. I thought, here we go, another Thomas Showumni type signing. How wrong I was. Man scored so many important goals for us, a real talent. I fear we may regret letting him go. Goodbye King Dom, you will be remembered for a long time around Easter Road that's for sure! An entertainer.

:not worth:not worth

25-01-2016, 08:35 PM
Would love to see a wee King Dom tribute vid. Some great goals and plenty of this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Un8OipfIJpQ

25-01-2016, 08:35 PM
Griffiths?

Yeah, probably was.

Should point out though he came up in the unpopular hibs players thread for me, cracking player and goes without saying we missed his goals, never really took to him much though so probably wasn't as bothered as I should have been.

25-01-2016, 08:36 PM
Very sorry to hear this. Really like Dom

the_ginger_hibee
25-01-2016, 08:36 PM
:boo hoo:

Gutted.

25-01-2016, 08:37 PM
Why is everyone acting like this is confirmed?

All I've seen so far is some pish from the sun, to be honest I don't think it's likely he'll leave at this time.

Maybe in the summer but feels like now would be a very strange time to move

25-01-2016, 08:37 PM
I think Dom is possibly the most talented player at ER but his output does not always match his ability. As for the fans, I think Dom got cut quite a bit slack at times. His penalty tantrum at St M this season & his failure to pass vs Yams last season jump to mind but his goal vs Sheep & some of his sublime touches are great memories to have. I think we should just be thankful he graced ER for a while & appreciate we now have a Mgt team who replace players before they leave. With Cummings, Dagnall, Keatings & Stokes we're well covered. Just a shame re Farid!

25-01-2016, 08:38 PM

All I've seen so far is some pish from the sun, to be honest I don't think it's likely he'll leave at this time.

Kenny Millar is rarely wrong about Hibs stories. If he's reporting it then I'm inclined to believe it.

In who

Kenny Millar is usually spot on with his info mate ...sadly on this occasion

25-01-2016, 08:40 PM
And a defender in :wink:

Correct 😁

25-01-2016, 08:40 PM
Kenny Millar is usually spot on with his info mate ...sadly on this occasion

Kenny Millar is rarely wrong about Hibs stories. If he's reporting it then I'm inclined to believe it.

Nooooooo!!!!!! I'm just gonna hope it's not true until it's absolutely confirmed

For what it's worth it's very possible that he's simply agreed to move at the end of his contract so we might still get a few months out of him

25-01-2016, 08:43 PM

Correct. He's a good hibby

Billy McKirdy
25-01-2016, 08:44 PM

I've just heard this last 10 minutes too and considering the source I can't fathom why everyone is believing this story.
The Scottish Sun is as biased as the Daily Hun, I don't believe this at all.

Stuarty27
25-01-2016, 08:45 PM
1great game followed up by 4 mediocre games will sum up Malongas time for me.

On his day he is quality, sadly we never seen it enough.

The Pointer
25-01-2016, 08:45 PM
Disappointed at the news and thought he could have seen out the season. Because of his unpredictability could be a match winner (QotS).

So long Dom.

25-01-2016, 08:46 PM
I've just heard this last 10 minutes too and considering the source I can't fathom why everyone is believing this story.

Kenny Millar is biased alright.

25-01-2016, 08:46 PM
Very good player on his day but his day wasn't every week unfortunately, disappointed he didn't stay till the end of the season but a small fee and freed up wages might be what AS is thinking. We have a lot of attacking options and 4 strikers is more than enough to see us through, Dagnall has more directness and runs the line well and with Stokes coming in, our forwards now look even more dangerous.

25-01-2016, 08:48 PM
Just been told he's gone from a decent source. Absolutely devastating.

25-01-2016, 08:50 PM

It's not so much the Sun, it's who's said this. Kenny has good info on Hibs and doesn't post unless he's 99% sure. I fully expect an announcement from Hibs tomorrow.

The Leith Dutch
25-01-2016, 08:51 PM
If true it's a bad decision for me.

His close control brings something we don't have in the other strikers and I was looking forward to seeing what would happen with him and Stokes playing together.

The other downside is squad continuity:
Farid looks like he might not come back from injury properly
Cummings, barring a drop in form, will likely be sold in the Summer due to an offer we can't refuse
Stokes is a loan till the end of season
Dagnell is a short term till the end of the season

I think Malonga would have been the best of the ones we could keep hold of personally.

25-01-2016, 08:53 PM
I'm absolutely devastated not gonna lie and from our perspective it looks a terrible decision, however we don't know the full story and I don't think Stubbsy would let him go without good reason

I think it's important we keep a hold of Dagnall now (assuming he performs obviously) because we're probably not keeping Stokes past the summer and we need to properly replace a talent like Dom

25-01-2016, 08:55 PM
Absolutely gutted.

25-01-2016, 08:55 PM
Great first touch and control, also some cracking goals. Wish he was staying.Good luck Dom.

25-01-2016, 08:56 PM
Unlike Sevco and The Gorgie cheats at least Hibs realise they have to make an attempt to balance the books. You can't keep bringing players in without sacrificing a decent player or two.

mghibs
25-01-2016, 08:57 PM
Gutted with this, brilliant first touch and great control when on the ball... all the best King Dom!

25-01-2016, 08:57 PM
gutted to see dom go but i trust stubbs, dagnall looks to be a good player and with stokes arrival he would be further down the pecking order, all the best dom and thanks for some good goals, the belter against aberdeen in the cup will be one i will always remember :flag:

25-01-2016, 09:00 PM
I wish he'd got a chance to say goodbye on Saturday now (assuming Hibs knew then) by coming on as a sub and we could have shown our appreciation :not worth

25-01-2016, 09:00 PM
If true it's a bad decision for me.

His close control brings something we don't have in the other strikers and I was looking forward to seeing what would happen with him and Stokes playing together.

The other downside is squad continuity:
Farid looks like he might not come back from injury properly
Cummings, barring a drop in form, will likely be sold in the Summer due to an offer we can't refuse
Stokes is a loan till the end of season
Dagnell is a short term till the end of the season

I think Malonga would have been the best of the ones we could keep hold of personally.
But it sounds like he didn't want to stay mate...it's highly likely he knew he wasn't guaranteed a start and wants away. I loved King Dom too but if he doesn't want to stay and fight for a place it's understandable why Hibs have let him move on tbh

25-01-2016, 09:01 PM
We won't be letting him go without good reason. He was rumoured to be close to leaving in the summer so i'm not surprised he looks to be away now. Good luck Dom :not worth

Frogga
25-01-2016, 09:01 PM
Now I know how all the 1D-ers felt when Zayn left. I'm away to lock myself in my room :boo hoo:

25-01-2016, 09:03 PM
I've not felt this bad since my dad left.

25-01-2016, 09:04 PM
A bit gutted, a real character and sublimely talented. Viva King Dom!

25-01-2016, 09:06 PM
Hope it isn't true but best of luck to him if he moves on!

25-01-2016, 09:10 PM
http://youtu.be/pGNKSvLDJ74
Absolutely gutted the big mans going. All the best and thanks

HiBremian
25-01-2016, 09:14 PM
Any chance he can bow out on Saturday?

A Hibs legend called Dominique Malonga
Won't be with us for very much longa
But his very last kick
Will complete a hat-trick
At that place they call Dome of the Wonga

Really disappointed. Malonga is a very entertaining player who is capable of of doing something brilliant on his day. I hope he finds a good club!

shamo9
We've had some forgettable faces come through the door over the last 9 years, Malonga was anything but.

He scored some wonderful goals and brought class to the team after years of dire football. Two of my biggest highlights so far this season have been his goals against Aberden and QOS. I won't forget him and that says a lot :not worth

25-01-2016, 09:15 PM
Poor decision. I'm happy with the stokes signing but that is only for 4 months. Dom is someone we could've offered a contract for next season. Gutted

25-01-2016, 09:16 PM
I am devastated... All the best big chap, love you 💚

Edson Arantes
25-01-2016, 09:16 PM
Had a touch of class....wasn't going to start mutch, so understand this...always welcome back at ER. Thanks for everything Dom

Gutted too mate but...mutch?

drink when you are sad means bad drink thoughts..

Drink when you are happy means good thoughts.

Sorry to see him go too but was he going to, realistically, play much?

Dinny hink sae.

25-01-2016, 09:17 PM
Any chance he can bow out on Saturday?

A Hibs legend called Dominique Malonga
Won't be with us for very much longa
But his very last kick
Will complete a hat-trick
At that place they call Dome of the Wonga

https://georgedellow.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/i-like.jpg

Edson Arantes
25-01-2016, 09:17 PM
I am devastated... All the best big chap, love you 

That is it summed up.

HappyHanlon
25-01-2016, 09:18 PM
First Bowie.....Now Dom.... 2016 can ****** right off

Bronson
25-01-2016, 09:20 PM
Devastated is an understatement

25-01-2016, 09:21 PM
http://youtu.be/uR8lXziQNxM

hibbydad
25-01-2016, 09:23 PM
Very disappointed if true an absolute quality player

Torto7062
25-01-2016, 09:23 PM
Cummings,Dagnall,Stokes,
Keatings,Boyle......
Maybe Malonga felt he would drop down the pecking order.....
Cummings and Stokes or Stokes and Dagnall will be front two

25-01-2016, 09:24 PM
Very gutted with this. Best of luck Dom. Always welcomed back at ER.

lochhibs
25-01-2016, 09:24 PM
if any other unpredictable and inconsistent player was leaving he wouldnt get as much praise as dom has had tonight. as much as i liked him he didnt do it regularly enough for me. good luck to him but i feel we're still strong up front and doubt he would have got much playing time now anyway.

25-01-2016, 09:25 PM
Hes a decent player but i don't feel we saw enough of him this season. ...hes been far too inconsistent and his attitude at times had been absolutely honking.........onwards and upwards

25-01-2016, 09:25 PM
Gutted. I also do not get the comments that Stokes is his replacement. We lost Anier and Feruz and brought in Dagnell and Stokes. We are now a striker down. With Farid nowhere to be seen, Anier gone and now Malonga away we also lack height and physical presence up front.

Edson Arantes
25-01-2016, 09:26 PM
First Bowie.....Now Dom.... 2016 can ****** right off

That is so poignant mate.

Well said. Bowie was a big big hero of mine.

Dom was obviously not that big, but gutted today at this news.

GGTTH :flag::flag:

25-01-2016, 09:27 PM
if any other unpredictable and inconsistent player was leaving he wouldnt get as much praise as dom has had tonight. as much as i liked him he didnt do it regularly enough for me. good luck to him but i feel we're still strong up front and doubt he would have got much playing time now anyway.

Some of the most highly praised attackers in footballing history were very inconsisent

25-01-2016, 09:32 PM
Hes a decent player but i don't feel we saw enough of him this season. ...hes been far too inconsistent and his attitude at times had been absolutely honking.........onwards and upwards

lochhibs
25-01-2016, 09:32 PM
Some of the most highly praised attackers in footballing history were very inconsisent

i mean the ones we've had,and there's been more than a few over the years.

25-01-2016, 09:34 PM
Sad to see him go. Great player on his day and scored some cracking goals for us.

Good luck for the future, Dom

Put it this way...who would you rather have ..stokes to the end of the season or malonga.

Gutted. I also do not get the comments that Stokes is his replacement. We lost Anier and Feruz and brought in Dagnell and Stokes. We are now a striker down. With Farid nowhere to be seen, Anier gone and now Malonga away we also lack height and physical presence up front.

I think we'll be OK with the 6 strikers. Dagnall's got height and physical presence

25-01-2016, 09:36 PM
I think we'll be OK with the 6 strikers. Dagnall's got height and physical presence

Dagnall is 5'8"

Who are the six?

25-01-2016, 09:36 PM
Put it this way...who would you rather have ..stokes to the end of the season or malonga.

I'd rather have Stokes than Feruz and Anier. He doesn't compensate for Big Dom too.

25-01-2016, 09:37 PM
Some over reaction on this thread. He was no Frank Sauzee for christ sake. He was a good player. He was a luxury we could not afford. He would drift out of games quickly if it was not going his way. We have already signed a better player.

25-01-2016, 09:38 PM
He said his goodbyes today. Gutted! Missed a chance to play him in behind stokes and cummings I think. Good luck Dom!

25-01-2016, 09:39 PM
Some over reaction on this thread. He was no Frank Sauzee for christ sake. He was a good player. He was a luxury we could not afford. He would drift out of games quickly if it was not going his way. We have already signed a better player.

Too far other way though eh?

A luxury we couldn't afford??

Think you need to look back at scorers in some recent games.

25-01-2016, 09:40 PM
Gutted to see him leave.

I'm also amazed that so many people seem so sure that Dagnell is a better player than him based on the little evidence so far.

Too far other way though eh?

A luxury we couldn't afford??

Think you need to look back at scorers in some recent games.

Doubt this decision was made based on the last 5 games.

Hes a decent player but i don't feel we saw enough of him this season. ...hes been far too inconsistent and his attitude at times had been absolutely honking.........onwards and upwardsWhen was this?

StevieBoyKdy
If we got to the cup final against the smeltick he would have had a field day running at that lot. However I wish him all the best was hot and cold but I really thought we would have kept him until the summer would rather have had him than not.

25-01-2016, 09:42 PM
Doubt this decision was made based on the last 5 games.

Okay. Was it the goal every couple of games on average that's the problem?

25-01-2016, 09:42 PM
gutted all the best Dom

25-01-2016, 09:45 PM
The way I look at this is, would I rather have Stokes or Dom for the remaining 6 months?

He was a good player but Stokes is miles better at scoring goals.

25-01-2016, 09:45 PM
Yes he had weaknesses but there was a bit of the "devil you know" about that.

We don't yet know what weaknesses Dagnall or Stokes might bring to the table (well I suppose with Stokes we might).

He is a mercurial talent and his ability to make runs at a deceptively quick pace and hold the ball up were instrumental at bringing the best out of other players.

I'm sure amongst others Jason Cummings and Scott Allan would sing his praises.

25-01-2016, 09:46 PM
Heart broken

25-01-2016, 09:48 PM
Anyone else worried about the prospect of losing Dom now, Jason possibly in the summer and stokes loan finishing in the summer. Farid will be gone as well

25-01-2016, 09:49 PM

Na probably the 6 goals all season.

25-01-2016, 09:50 PM
The way I look at this is, would I rather have Stokes or Dom for the remaining 6 months?

The great thing about Stokes coming was that it was adding to the squad and the quality. Dom's scoring record is good so Stokes is only giving us a bit of a potential uplift there.

If Stokes or JC get injured we are quickly into players who either haven't scored yet or not much recently.

I'm much less of a happy Hibby tonight. Dom was a special player that you just don't see round these parts too often.

25-01-2016, 09:51 PM

He's physical but only 5'8 seemingly

25-01-2016, 09:51 PM
Gutted to see Dom go. Absolutely gutted.

25-01-2016, 09:53 PM
Anyone else worried about the prospect of losing Dom now, Jason possibly in the summer and stokes loan finishing in the summer. Farid will be gone as well

Dont worry about the day you haven't seen mate.

Let's enjoy the squad we have right now and the rest will take care of itself.

25-01-2016, 09:56 PM
Na probably the 6 goals all season.

This. No doubting his talent and natural ability however his flashes of great play were outnumbered by the games which seem to just pass him by. We need a 2nd striker who can help lift the burden of Cummings, a 6 goal return in this league, at this stage of the season, is not good enough. I do wish him all the best though!

25-01-2016, 09:57 PM

Yes I agree that Stokes is the better player. If it was a choice between either player, I would definitely say Stokes. However he is only here till the end of the season and will be back at Celtic. Malonga could have been here for the long term and offers something different to what we currently have.

Anyway I have total faith that Stubbs will find some very good strikers in the summer to replace Malonga, Stokes and most likely El Alagui. Maybe Cummings but reckon he should stay.

25-01-2016, 09:57 PM
Ach. Really sad to hear this, if it is in fact correct.

Greenblood70
25-01-2016, 09:59 PM
Good luck Dom, totally gutted to see him go. Class player.

We'lll miss him imo - he gave us something a bit different. Really disappointed to hear he's leaving us but wish him all the best. Cheers for the goal against Aberdeen Dom, was a favourite moment of the season for me.

25-01-2016, 10:00 PM

22 in 54 according to ihibs. Decent. Did score a reasonable number against the poorer sides.

25-01-2016, 10:02 PM
This. No doubting his talent and natural ability however his flashes of great play were outnumbered by the games which seem to just pass him by. We need a 2nd striker who can help lift the burden of Cummings, a 6 goal return in this league, at this stage of the season, is not good enough. I do wish him all the best though!

That's how I see it. I think he's a good player, very good on his day. But as far as I'm concerned there is no way he has contributed enough this year.

I'd have been more than happy to keep him but I think we have more goals in the squad now than we did before the transfer window opened so I'm not too disappointed.

25-01-2016, 10:02 PM
22 in 54 according to ihibs. Decent. Did score a reasonable number against the poorer sides.

Like Hearts, Rangers, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd and Ross County?

25-01-2016, 10:03 PM
22 in 54 according to ihibs. Decent. Did score a reasonable number against the poorer sides.There are only 3 decent sides in this division and he plays for one of them. Malonga has goals for Hibs against Rangers, Falkirk, Ross County, Dundee United, Aberdeen and Hearts.

25-01-2016, 10:04 PM
Never lost a game against the jambos 😏

25-01-2016, 10:09 PM
Like Hearts, Rangers, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd and Ross County?

There are only 3 decent sides in this division and he plays for one of them. Malonga has goals for Hibs against Rangers, Falkirk, Ross County, Dundee United, Aberdeen and Hearts.

Yep, I would accept that as well. :agree:

25-01-2016, 10:10 PM
The great thing about Stokes coming was that it was adding to the squad and the quality. Dom's scoring record is good so Stokes is only giving us a bit of a potential uplift there.

If Stokes or JC get injured we are quickly into players who either haven't scored yet or not much recently.

I'm much less of a happy Hibby tonight. Dom was a special player that you just don't see round these parts too often.

Don't get me wrong id rather he stayed, but I don't think he himself would want to be a squad player because that's what he would have been Andy. Playing in the hole wouldn't be his preferred choice i'd imagine.

I think this is more Doms decision than Stubbs as we all know Dom has talent.

25-01-2016, 10:11 PM
A great guy and someone who provided entertainment and often produced.

When was the last time you saw a Hibs player score like the one against Aberdeen in the cup.

While he may not run around like a headless chicken - he had one of the best 1st touches I've seen and scored some important goals.

All the best for the future! He would always be welcomed back !

All hail KING DOM! :flag:

25-01-2016, 10:12 PM
Don't get me wrong id rather he stayed, but I don't think he himself would want to be a squad player because that's what he would have been Andy. Playing in the hole wouldn't be his preferred choice i'd imagine.

It was Stubbs decision IMO.

25-01-2016, 10:13 PM

I'm not consolable on this one TC 😭

25-01-2016, 10:13 PM
Frees up wages for Cummings' extension.

25-01-2016, 10:14 PM

I'm not so sure, I think this would be both with Malonga not wanting to just be on the bench each week. Either way I trust Stubbs and I'm happy with the squad just now.

Greenblood70
25-01-2016, 10:14 PM
Any chance we'll be looking to bring in a replacement for Malonga or do we reckon that we need to save on his wage to bring Stokes in? I'm hoping we're going to pull anther rabbit out the hat as if (God forbid) we get any injuries to Stokes or Cummings Im not convinced the backup have the pedigree to get enough goals in the run in.

25-01-2016, 10:15 PM

Stubbs said it was up to Dom.

Is he lying?

25-01-2016, 10:15 PM
I'm not consolable on this one TC 😭

Haha, it's a new day tomorrow Andy, if you still feel the same I'll pop round for a cuddle 😁

25-01-2016, 10:16 PM
No it's not. Losing Cummings would be far worse.

The window needs to be slammed shut soon.

25-01-2016, 10:17 PM
Frees up wages for Cummings' extension.

FS not another dodgy hairdo....

25-01-2016, 10:19 PM

Is he lying?

You think Stubbs just lets the players decide if they are leaving?

Bracksy
25-01-2016, 10:21 PM
Gutted to hear this, but all the best to him. Scored some brilliant goals. Thanks for the memories KingDom

25-01-2016, 10:25 PM
Anier and Feruz played about 45 mins between them mate...they didn't need replacing as they never really took part to be fair

25-01-2016, 10:30 PM
Gutted to see him leave.

I'm also amazed that so many people seem so sure that Dagnell is a better player than him based on the little evidence so far.

FFS, some folk have got Cummings out the team and having Dagnall & Stokes upfront, has Dagnall been that good in his last 2 games that he should be replacing our top scorer from the starting 11.

Surprised to see Dom go at this time in the window.

25-01-2016, 10:30 PM
that's us lost one of our better songs as well :(

25-01-2016, 10:31 PM
Very disappointing if he`s leaving but no surprise given the little time he`s played this season . When Stokes rumours started I assumed Dom would be leaving but would have liked to have seen Stokes and Malonga upfront in promotion fight and in both cups and ideally Malonga would have been with us on a new contract in top division next season . Very much doubt we`ll find a player of the same quality in attack whatever division we`re in . Maybe someone who`ll score as many goals ( though how many would Dom have if he`d been starting all matches this season ? ) but not with same entertainment value .

25-01-2016, 10:33 PM

If they're not happy, I'd say he would, I think AS is a very good man manager and the players happiness is a big part of his philosophy.

His 1st season he was pretty decent but this season only scoring 6 goals is just not good enough in this league, AS has brought in Stokes as he knows he needs more goals, trust Stubbs I say.

25-01-2016, 10:34 PM
that's us lost one of our better songs as well :(
That's what's the most upsetting in all this 😢😢😢

25-01-2016, 10:45 PM

Is he lying?

It seems like Stubbs didn't have 100% confidence in Dom.

Doesn't mean that Stubbs is lying, but how hard did he fight to keep him?

For me, it would be Dom + 1 other upfront every week, unless he was seriously out of form. He had a slow start to this season, but he does seem to be one of those players who needs to feel his best to perform. He's far from alone in that.

Sorry to say, this has taken all the gloss off the Stokes signing for me. Gutted.

25-01-2016, 11:05 PM
It seems like Stubbs didn't have 100% confidence in Dom.

Doesn't mean that Stubbs is lying, but how hard did he fight to keep him?

For me, it would be Dom + 1 other upfront every week, unless he was seriously out of form. He had a slow start to this season, but he does seem to be one of those players who needs to feel his best to perform. He's far from alone in that.

Sorry to say, this has taken all the gloss off the Stokes signing for me. Gutted.

You would play Dom ahead of Stokes who's record is incredible, along with our top scorer at the club?

As much as I didn't want him to go, I can see why Hibs and Dom have parted ways. He'd be a squad player as the other two are better goal scorers.

25-01-2016, 11:06 PM
If we get promotion, Malonga's departure will be forgotten about. If it all goes tits-up, his departure will be listed as one of the reasons.

25-01-2016, 11:11 PM
You would play Dom ahead of Stokes who's record is incredible, along with our top scorer at the club?

As much as I didn't want him to go, I can see why Hibs and Dom have parted ways. He'd be a squad player as the other two are better goal scorers.

Is Stokes fit enough to play 90 minutes yet?

Stokes is a more rounded player than he was in his first stint at Hibs, and of course I'll be delighted if he just slots into the team, but what if him and JC don't work together?

We're taking a big gamble in losing Dom halfway through the season, no?

25-01-2016, 11:26 PM

I'll turn that around - do you think managers can force players to leave in the middle of their contracts?

If players want to leave a club, they usually get their way. What's the point of keeping a player against his will for 4 months or so?

Dom could have been here till May if he wanted to.

25-01-2016, 11:33 PM
Is Stokes fit enough to play 90 minutes yet?

Stokes is a more rounded player than he was in his first stint at Hibs, and of course I'll be delighted if he just slots into the team, but what if him and JC don't work together?

We're taking a big gamble in losing Dom halfway through the season, no?

We still have Keatings and Dagnall as well if anything went wrong. As I say, I think this is as much Doms decision as it is Stubbs. He's clearly wanting to play each week and knows that won't happen right now.

25-01-2016, 11:33 PM
If we get promotion, Malonga's departure will be forgotten about. If it all goes tits-up, his departure will be listed as one of the reasons.

IF we get to the cup final and we play Celtic there will be no Stokes either.

25-01-2016, 11:34 PM
FS not another dodgy hairdo....

:top marks :greengrin

And so it's solonga Malonga. Bad news.

cameronw-hfc
25-01-2016, 11:36 PM
Gutted isn't the word. Bye Dom! :boo hoo:

25-01-2016, 11:40 PM
IF we get to the cup final and we play Celtic there will be no Stokes either.

If we do go through I just hope Keatings can step up. He's proved he can score goals when played as a front man, but having Dom would have been a bonus.

26-01-2016, 01:05 AM
I am sorry that he is leaving.

Have not read the entire thread but i imagine it is as much his decision. Dont think Dagnalls short stint would have AS offloading Malonga.

I always felt confident when he started against the Rangers.

But if hes gone, time to move on.

26-01-2016, 01:11 AM
Think this could end up being a big mistake, we look a lot more dangerous with him playing.

Bay Area Hibees
26-01-2016, 01:28 AM
Real shame. Really wish we had him till end of season.

26-01-2016, 02:23 AM
I think he would have been away at the end iof the season. He was good but not often enough. I'll trust Stubbs on this one. If he was just honna mope around if not playing then it's for the best. Still four quality / Strikers the club and inThe first team squad.

26-01-2016, 02:38 AM
Has it been stated officially that he is leaving?

26-01-2016, 02:41 AM

He's thanking folk for their good wishes on social media and saying he will miss Hibs so I think we can take it he's away.

26-01-2016, 03:06 AM
Does this mean Stubbs knows nothing about football?

coco22
26-01-2016, 03:34 AM

Agree with this. Other impressive additions may cloud this but could be regrettable long term. Occasionally frustrated with Dom but doubtless class outshone his misgivings

26-01-2016, 04:25 AM
Shame but if there's one area where we have plenty cover it's up top.

Thanks for the skills and goals :thumbsup:

26-01-2016, 05:39 AM
Sorry to see him go, but that's football. We have lost better players than Dom in the past and we just have to move on. I trust AS in pretty much all he does so I'm sure it'll work out for us

26-01-2016, 06:00 AM
I have to be honest i am totally gutted at this. He was a cracking player. Yes sometimes inconsistent, but lets be honest if he was 100 percent everyweek he would have been nowhere near Hibernian at this stage of his career. I have thoroughly enjoyed Malonga's time at the club and wish him every bit of luck in his career.

I just really hope we dont look back on this in May and think "if only we had kept someone like Malonga for those final few months". But nevertheless in AS i trust so lets support those that will still be in a green jersey come the windows close.

26-01-2016, 06:07 AM
I'm gutted at losing King Dom too but can't believe some on here think this was Stubbs' decision....he clearly stated at weekend he wanted Dom to stay but it was up to him. Dom clearly knows he is down the pecking order and if he really wanted to stay and fight he would have...come on guys stop seeing this thru Dom tinted specs..we all know player power wins these days. Also yes Dom was class but he is no legend, he was part of a team that failed to win promotion last season and scored a grand total of 6 this season. ...he will be missed but let's not make out he was something he wasn't

26-01-2016, 06:10 AM

No but a Hibs supporting Sun journalist (who's brother works at Hibs) has put the story out.

26-01-2016, 06:15 AM
Feel just as bad this morning as I did last night. I'm going to need counselling to get through this.

Now I ken how those daft bints felt in the 90s when Robbie announced he was leaving Take That.

Dark room, two bottles of red and Whitney Houston's definite collection album for me tonight. Tears.

26-01-2016, 06:21 AM
Always disappointed to see Hibs lose a decent player,but honestly can't describe my feeling as gutted. Players come and go and the club keeps on moving.Pretty sure an outsider reading this thread with no knowledge of Dom would think we were losing one of the best players we've ever had,not in my opinion. Best wishes to Dom, and thanks for your efforts.

26-01-2016, 06:25 AM
I'll turn that around - do you think managers can force players to leave in the middle of their contracts?

If players want to leave a club, they usually get their way. What's the point of keeping a player against his will for 4 months or so?

Dom could have been here till May if he wanted to.

Agree with you to a point. However, I think had Stubbs really wanted him here then he would not have allowed him to leave whether he was contracted or not. I also don't believe he'd have let him leave before a national cup semi final, he could have been in the squad for Saturday and then released him.

He's a good player but I am surprised by some of the reaction to him leaving.

26-01-2016, 06:27 AM
Feel just as bad this morning as I did last night. I'm going to need counselling to get through this.

Now I ken how those daft bints felt in the 90s when Robbie announced he was leaving Take That.

Dark room, two bottles of red and Whitney Houston's definite collection album for me tonight. Tears.

It's not right but it's okay.

Niffy
26-01-2016, 06:29 AM
Could be more to it ?
Offered a new contract , said no, Stubbs knows his game time will be almost nil with Stokes so thanks the board with a wage away.
Or it pays for a JC extension.

26-01-2016, 06:35 AM
Always disappointed to see Hibs lose a decent player,but honestly can't describe my feeling as gutted. Players come and go and the club keeps on moving.Pretty sure an outsider reading this thread with no knowledge of Dom would think we were losing one of the best players we've ever had,not in my opinion. Best wishes to Dom, and thanks for your efforts.

:agree: "devastated" and the like are a bit OTT as far as I'm concerned.

Good luck to him.

26-01-2016, 06:43 AM
Good player on his day.all the best bigman will keep an eye on his scoring record after leaving.

In Stubbs we trust

26-01-2016, 06:44 AM
I'm sad to see Dom go, however as ever I'll trust Stubbsie's judgement on this one and quite honestly if it's a choice between Dom and Stokes playing for us then it's a no brainer. Anthony is a different class from our other strikers at the moment.

26-01-2016, 06:51 AM
Really sad about this but can understand player wanting to secure future.

My son (6) has only just started to come to some Hibs games and can't stop signing the do do do Malonga song!! I might delay telling him he has left as he will be gutted!

26-01-2016, 07:04 AM
Does this mean Stubbs knows nothing about football?

He knows a wee bit but not as much as the experts on here.

iainm1875
26-01-2016, 07:16 AM
It's not right but it's okay.

Can't believe I got this gag. 

26-01-2016, 07:18 AM
Has to be more to it. Why would Dom want to even leave if there's no club lined up.

26-01-2016, 07:21 AM
Has to be more to it. Why would Dom want to even leave if there's no club lined up.

Looks like his agent has something in the pipeline for him.
According to the EEN
clubs in England and Italy interested.

Greenworld
26-01-2016, 07:22 AM
I must be in the minority not fussed on this one we have now more than enough strikers all good as far as I can see

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

26-01-2016, 07:23 AM
Looks like his agent has something in the pipeline for him.
According to the EEN
clubs in England and Italy interested.

Chelsea and Inter. :agree:

Although both worried they will pipped by a better side.

26-01-2016, 07:30 AM
Good luck dom.Thanks for some great memories.

26-01-2016, 07:33 AM
The player wanted to leave. Again its good man management from Stubbs. The last thing we need is unhappy players in that dressing room. Lets see if he manages to get in another player over the next few days.

26-01-2016, 07:45 AM
The player wanted to leave. Again its good man management from Stubbs. The last thing we need is unhappy players in that dressing room. Lets see if he manages to get in another player over the next few days.

Perhaps this Highland "wonderkid" we have down for a trial this week. Lots of clubs after him. Any word on this Billy ?

26-01-2016, 07:47 AM

Oh you know something 😉

rodhibs55
26-01-2016, 07:50 AM
Said from the moment I saw him "Class Act" I know his style did not endear him to a number of fans, however if you really know your football there can be no doubt the boy could play.
Thanks for the memories, in particular that goal against Aberdeen. Good Luck Dom