0-0
0-0
0-0
0-1
0-0
0-0
0-0
0-0

From that, they ended up winning 4 times, losing 2 times and drawing 5 times (though they lost one of them on penalties against Middlesbrough). The teams they beat were CSKA Moscow (1-0), West Brom (2-0), Swansea (2-1) and Sheffield Utd (1-0 last minute Rooney penalty).

Not a great run for a once mighty team. Not much excitement either.

23-01-2016, 07:48 PM
Can't stand them, Long may it continue.

23-01-2016, 07:48 PM
Can't stand them, Long may it continue.

Agree.

23-01-2016, 07:50 PM
Half times in their last eleven home games:

0-0
0-0
0-0
0-0
0-0
0-0
0-1
0-0
0-0
0-0
0-0

From that, they ended up winning 4 times, losing 2 times and drawing 5 times (though they lost one of them on penalties against Middlesbrough). The teams they beat were CSKA Moscow (1-0), West Brom (2-0), Swansea (2-1) and Sheffield Utd (1-0 last minute Rooney penalty).

Not a great run for a once mighty team. Not much excitement either.

A lot of United fans need to remember that bit in bold...

23-01-2016, 07:51 PM
They are jobby.

23-01-2016, 07:51 PM
They need practically a whole new team.

They're a mediocre side with mediocre players and they're boring to watch.

I wouldn't be surprised if Derby beat them in the FA Cup next week.

23-01-2016, 07:52 PM
Who give a flying one

23-01-2016, 07:54 PM
A couple of mates were at the game today who are ST holders at ER said it was the worst game they'd seen all season

23-01-2016, 07:57 PM
Man u talking about hibs end off

23-01-2016, 08:08 PM
Cant stand man u .

For years ive been hoping they would turn shight and im getting my reward :-)

They are honkin and long may it continue !!

23-01-2016, 08:18 PM
Don't like them but agree wth other poster..... Who cares?. However, it does seem a bit odd to be looking at their half time scores when tbey have a 75,000 seater, a couple of european trophies and numerous english titles and silverware. And us?

I remember meeting someone who tbought we were actuallly called Hibernian Nil.

23-01-2016, 08:23 PM
Don't like them but agree wth other poster..... Who cares?. However, it does seem a bit odd to be looking at their half time scores when tbey have a 75,000 seater, a couple of european trophies and numerous english titles and silverware. And us?

I remember meeting someone who tbought we were actuallly called Hibernian Nil.

I think the poster is pointing out that this isn't the norm for Man U. For as long as I can remember Man U have dominated English football with the odd teams winning inbetween since the Prem started.

For a team who you pointed out have won so many cups and European silverware it's simply not good enough. But again, I can't stand them so I'm happy for it to continue 😁

23-01-2016, 08:40 PM
I was in Changi Airport, Singapore recently and in the bar, I could see they were playing Sky Sports - a Man U game from the 3rd round of the FA cup.

They were 1-0 down and the folks watching it had their heads in their hands - gutted/concerned they were. Then I noticed Stephen Fletcher - in a Burnley shirt - then a close up of old bacon face Ferguson himself and then I realised that this must've been a rerun of a famous 3rd round game from a few years back. Full time came and there were groans and excited chatter about the defeat.

Just about sums up most Man U fans. They follow the brand, not the team. Amazing how many folks have Aunties who lived near Old Trafford... even back in the days when Man U were actually pish and were struggling in the lower division.

That said, far prefer seeing Chelsea getting beaten but also enjoy the sight of a once great team flatlining - whether or not their fans notice it!

23-01-2016, 09:01 PM
Are pish.

23-01-2016, 10:16 PM
Even van Gaal has admitted their fans were right to boo.

Given that he has assembled the squad, picked the team and decided the tactics, he'll be gone in the summer.

23-01-2016, 10:40 PM
Man City will be getting a lot of new fans next season.

23-01-2016, 10:50 PM
LvG is doing a great job hopefully he keeps it up!

24-01-2016, 12:09 AM
A lot of United fans need to remember that bit in bold...

A lot of Citeh "fans" need to remember "their team" were ****ing pony for years until someone threw their cash at them.

24-01-2016, 01:13 AM
SAF sitting in the stand with the camera continually cutting to him. Poisoned chalice just now.

24-01-2016, 01:34 AM
Just watching the Match of the Day highlights, Smalling should have given away three penalties alone.

24-01-2016, 01:39 AM
I would like to see Leicester or West Ham take the title but surely it can't happen.

24-01-2016, 07:56 AM
A lot of Citeh "fans" need to remember "their team" were ****ing pony for years until someone threw their cash at them.

I support neither but I do remember United winning the title after 26 or so years - pretty sure they've spent millions on the upkeep.

It's not only city that spend cash - they all do even the "traditional" teams.

24-01-2016, 07:57 AM
I would like to see Leicester or West Ham take the title but surely it can't happen.

Can't see it but maybe Spurs could.

24-01-2016, 08:01 AM
They are a poor side under Moyes but LVG has made them worse. For all their money the lack of goals and fight is pathetic. They maybe the biggest club in the world but if they fail to entertain and win then they will lose lots of followers across the globe.

24-01-2016, 08:14 AM
They are a poor side under Moyes but LVG has made them worse. For all their money the lack of goals and fight is pathetic. They maybe the biggest club in the world but if they fail to entertain and win then they will lose lots of followers across the globe.

Yeah but Moyes was sacked for his part and spent way less than LVG.

24-01-2016, 08:19 AM
They won't sack Van Gaal until the end of the season. It would mean half the coaching team upping and leaving as well which is an impossible situation mid season.

A few of the red tops were reporting yesterday a few reps from United have already met with Guardiola. Whilst I still think he will end up at Man City it makes it clear they don't see Van Gaal at the club for any more than the short term.

24-01-2016, 08:22 AM

Did they not only have 1 shot on target the whole game?

As for the biggest club in the world, I'd still argue Real and maybe even Barca are bigger

hugo boss
24-01-2016, 09:01 AM
They are jobby.

Agreed

24-01-2016, 09:38 AM
They won't sack Van Gaal until the end of the season. It would mean half the coaching team upping and leaving as well which is an impossible situation mid season.

A few of the red tops were reporting yesterday a few reps from United have already met with Guardiola. Whilst I still think he will end up at Man City it makes it clear they don't see Van Gaal at the club for any more than the short term.

Pretty sure Fergie met with Pep in NY as they were good friends and wanted him to take over but Pep had agreed to go to Bayern, so Fergie had to think again.

If you are looking for a club to take over and prove you are the best coach by taking them back to the top, then Man U is that club.

24-01-2016, 09:41 AM

Yeah but Moyes was sacked for his part and spent way less than LVG.

Did they not only have 1 shot on target the whole game?

As for the biggest club in the world, I'd still argue Real and maybe even Barca are bigger

I think both Moyes and LVG are scared to be adventurous and allow their players to express themselves, they seem intent at not losing and forget about the attacking play, the players look scared to show what they can do.

24-01-2016, 11:32 AM
Just watching the Match of the Day highlights, Smalling should have given away three penalties alone.

Things like that hardly ever happen at Old Trafford Scott.. Hahaha... :aok:

24-01-2016, 11:40 AM
Only Manchester United fans would use a term mocking the dialect of the City that 'their' team are from.

You are betrayed by your London location!

24-01-2016, 11:43 AM

No daft icons on this thread I see. Must be hurting.

24-01-2016, 11:46 AM

Thanks for the history lesson.. I think you will now find , that someone has now thrown money at United and now they are ****ing pony.

:aok::aok::na na::na na:

24-01-2016, 05:12 PM
Only Manchester United fans would use a term mocking the dialect of the City that 'their' team are from.

You are betrayed by your London location!

Anyone living in London has to deal with London accents suddenly changing to pronounce "City" as "Citeh" in an attempt to look lime they have ever been near Manchester.

As I have said many times before, I follow West Ham United. Gotta love that porn money.

24-01-2016, 05:13 PM
Thanks for the history lesson.. I think you will now find , that someone has now thrown money at United and now they are ****ing pony.

:aok::aok::na na::na na:

:aok: No problem mate

24-01-2016, 05:14 PM
No daft icons on this thread I see. Must be hurting.

Just for you :hyper

25-01-2016, 12:30 PM
How is that useless fud Van Gaal still in his job today? He's a clown whose negative, defensive tactics are destroying good players. There's just no excuse for the results after circa £250 million spent. It's deadly boring to watch and seems to be getting worse as confidence dissipates. Get him out; he is totally alien to the United tradition of trying to attack teams.

20-08-2023, 07:04 AM
How poor were Manchester United yesterday evening? Well for the 2nd half that I watched.

So many highly paid players, but they looked a poor side. A midfield that is so easy to play against.

Many thought that they would be challenging Citeh for the Premier League, but they are miles away from offering a challenge. They've got enough good players who'll win games for them, but not when they are player the better, more organised teams, like Spurs were last night. Wolves should have buried them on Monday night, but their failure of turning opportunities into goals cost them. Spurs, without Harry Kane, took the opportunities that came their way, and after they scored there was only going to be one winner.

20-08-2023, 07:12 AM
How poor were Manchester United yesterday evening? Well for the 2nd half that I watched.

So many highly paid players, but they looked a poor side. A midfield that is so easy to play against.

Many thought that they would be challenging Citeh for the Premier League, but they are miles away from offering a challenge. They've got enough good players who'll win games for them, but not when they are player the better, more organised teams, like Spurs were last night. Wolves should have buried them on Monday night, but their failure of turning opportunities into goals cost them. Spurs, without Harry Kane, took the opportunities that came their way, and after they scored there was only going to be one winner.

Did many think they'd be challenging for the title? I honestly can't remember ever seeing someone say that.

20-08-2023, 07:21 AM
Underwhelming start to the season (again) and this year ETH at least has the bulk of his squad.

Still so much dross such is the **** show united have been over the last few years and are a good few players short of city and arsenal and are a cluster of clubs fighting for 3rd and 4th

20-08-2023, 07:52 AM

Leicester need to get out of the Championship first :greengrin

20-08-2023, 08:03 AM
Bought an injured striker so play Rashford up top who as we all know is fantastic coming off the left, signed Anthony who does a few step overs and that's that,(their Ryan Kent). Sold Fred who was a pocket of energy in the middle and haven't replaced him but insist on playing Casemiro who is still decent but not the player he once was and is expecting to do 2 men's work in a 4231 system. Bought Mount who was hopeless last season for Chelsea and yet to show anything yet in a Man U jersey, can't get rid of big earners Maguire or ever injured Bailly and the Glazers not yet selling is hampering the buying and selling of players, so instead of getting the top players, they're dealing in level 2 instead and it shows.

They are still a mess of a club.

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 08:05 AM
How is that useless fud Van Gaal still in his job today? He's a clown whose negative, defensive tactics are destroying good players. There's just no excuse for the results after circa £250 million spent. It's deadly boring to watch and seems to be getting worse as confidence dissipates. Get him out; he is totally alien to the United tradition of trying to attack teams.

These 2 posts had me confused for a second until I looked at the dates of posting :greengrin

Suppose it shows the length of time of the malaise at OT.

Roy Keane probably paid the most pertinent insult to Man U last night when he called them "the new Tottenham"

20-08-2023, 08:29 AM

I don’t think many folk expected them to be challenging for the league, but definitely be competing for the champions league places.

Mason Mount was a weird signing.

20-08-2023, 08:47 AM

believe it or not, over the 90 minutes they were far better than they were against wolves.

shambles of a club

20-08-2023, 09:08 AM
I don’t think many folk expected them to be challenging for the league, but definitely be competing for the champions league places.

Mason Mount was a weird signing.

Of all the crazy money thrown around England this last year or so, I honestly think Mount was the most bizarre. £55m for a guy with 1 year left on his contract who has never really stood out.

They seem to have quite a strict budget this year, and to blow half on another average midfielder, who is no better than McTominany imo, feels like they haven't learned any lessons from their recent disasters in the transfer market.

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 10:11 AM
Of all the crazy money thrown around England this last year or so, I honestly think Mount was the most bizarre. £55m for a guy with 1 year left on his contract who has never really stood out.

They seem to have quite a strict budget this year, and to blow half on another average midfielder, who is no better than McTominany imo, feels like they haven't learned any lessons from their recent disasters in the transfer market.

It’s about ensuring that they have enough home grown players in the squad. As the whole EPL is now an international Harlem Globe Trotters league, UK players of any real ability go for extortionate prices as the City, Arsenals of the league make sure they stay compliant. Hence stupid money for decent but not world class players

20-08-2023, 10:17 AM
How can you spend a billion pound and keep getting worse?

It probably emphasises how important it is to have proper structures in place in modern football. For all Man City have spent on their first team, it works because they have the whole operation running like a well oiled machine. Man Utd are spending not incomparable sums but are a total shambles.

Dmas
20-08-2023, 10:18 AM
Man Utd are a shambles how quickly that all fell away after fergie is incredible they’ve just stuttered about desperate signing strategy under every manager since with no real plan in place looks to have continued under ETH who I thought was a good appointment

20-08-2023, 11:02 AM
How can you spend a billion pound and keep getting worse?

It probably emphasises how important it is to have proper structures in place in modern football. For all Man City have spent on their first team, it works because they have the whole operation running like a well oiled machine. Man Utd are spending not incomparable sums but are a total shambles.

Darren Fletcher is the technical director whatever that is

20-08-2023, 11:15 AM
As far as I can tell, they just never moved with the times. I think they lack the scouting and other more modern approaches to the game, look at their recent recruitment, mostly established, older players, past their peaks even.

It seems like that is changing, but they’ve spent years being a largely commercially focused operation while others have left them behind. With so many well funded and / or well run clubs in the league now, they’ve no guarantee of even bagging a default champions league spot if they don’t get it right.

I guess it does show that just having vast pots of cash is no guarantee of success…