View Full Version : Media Graham Spiers on Twitter (Gers Content)

20-01-2016, 09:27 PM
Deary me......

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/2449429398/qk7n8fobrvsrx3vy2o0l_bigger.jpeg Graham Spiers ‏@GrahamSpiers (https://twitter.com/GrahamSpiers)

"Ok, I'll be contacting @policescotland (https://twitter.com/policescotland) tomorrow about @bearsfightback (https://twitter.com/bearsfightback) and their alarming threats about children..."

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CZLr4ysWwAAQehm.jpg

doddsy
20-01-2016, 09:30 PM
Deary me......

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/2449429398/qk7n8fobrvsrx3vy2o0l_bigger.jpeg Graham Spiers ‏@GrahamSpiers (https://twitter.com/GrahamSpiers)

"Ok, I'll be contacting @policescotland (https://twitter.com/policescotland) tomorrow about @bearsfightback (https://twitter.com/bearsfightback) and their alarming threats about children..."

Good on Graham Spiers. These people are total nutters.

20-01-2016, 09:32 PM

Champions of their own bedroom that lot are, pathetic stuff. Good on Speirs.

20-01-2016, 09:33 PM
Good on Graham Spiers. These people are total nutters.

:agree: He's getting support from other journalists as well so this isn't going to go away quickly/quietly.

20-01-2016, 09:35 PM
Disgusting. good on Spiers, and he is a fan of them, naw? what idiot wrote that?

20-01-2016, 09:38 PM
Bunch of fat wasters sitting on their parents computer surrounded by bottles of their own pish and union flags draped on the walls.

Shaking in my boots.

20-01-2016, 09:39 PM
Deary me......

What planet are these people living on.

Good on Mr Spiers, this should not be tolerated.

Take it this is in response to the match delicates report about our game against them at Ipox. Only a minority though. :rolleyes:

doddsy
20-01-2016, 09:44 PM
:agree: He's getting support from other journalists as well so this isn't going to go away quickly/quietly.

This type of behaviour from the so-called Bears Fightback is unfortunately encouraged by the banning of BBc reporters by TRIFC. It generates a siege like mentality which has the lunatic fringe foaming at the mouth. Very disappointing and why would decent folk want to take their families to football with these nutters there.

20-01-2016, 09:45 PM
Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 13 mins13 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689937767707627522) Jim Spence Retweeted Graham Spiers

Frankly If all of us in the Scottish media don't condemn and confront these imbeciles, the industry is finished. :aok:

im Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 11 mins11 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689938392273002496)

I think a line has been crossed tonight. Maybe the fightback will not be the one they thought they were organising. :tee hee:

UnofficialBear ‏@UnofficialBear (https://twitter.com/UnofficialBear)
@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) @bearsfightback (https://twitter.com/bearsfightback) You continue your free run at attacking Rangers fans. We're not taking it anymore!

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 11m11 minutes ago
(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689938556786180096)Jim Spence Retweeted UnofficialBear
"Windbag" :faf:

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 10 mins10 minutes ago
(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689939008437272578)

I think this fightback is going to go less than three rounds

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 8 mins8 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689939441197137920)
forget three rounds....looks like they've thrown the towel in already.

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 6 mins6 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689940413952741376)
I hope the polar bears last longer than the fighting ones did. They're extinct already. Evolution eh

20-01-2016, 09:46 PM
Their account has either been deleted or closed down. What a clown 😂

20-01-2016, 09:48 PM
'Hate fest' lol. A club founded on religious hate and bigotry who still belt out their hateful, disgusting(banned) songs in 2016 and then high 5 each other on social media afterwards. Absolute clowns.

20-01-2016, 09:49 PM

Take it this is in response to the match delicates report about our game against them at Ipox. Only a minority though. :rolleyes:

Brilliant SH :faf: Maybe it's delegates though, naw? :thumbsup:

20-01-2016, 09:50 PM
Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 13 mins13 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689937767707627522) Jim Spence Retweeted Graham Spiers

Frankly If all of us in the Scottish media don't condemn and confront these imbeciles, the industry is finished. :aok:

im Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 11 mins11 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689938392273002496)

I think a line has been crossed tonight. Maybe the fightback will not be the one they thought they were organising. :tee hee:

UnofficialBear ‏@UnofficialBear (https://twitter.com/UnofficialBear)
@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) @bearsfightback (https://twitter.com/bearsfightback) You continue your free run at attacking Rangers fans. We're not taking it anymore!

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 11m11 minutes ago
(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689938556786180096)Jim Spence Retweeted UnofficialBear
"Windbag" :faf:

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 10 mins10 minutes ago
(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689939008437272578)

I think this fightback is going to go less than three rounds

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 8 mins8 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689939441197137920)
forget three rounds....looks like they've thrown the towel in already.

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 6 mins6 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689940413952741376)
I hope the polar bears last longer than the fighting ones did. They're extinct already. Evolution eh

I have no proof of this but I would not be in the least surprised if Jim Spence's voluntary severance from his employment by the BBC was prompted by the reaction he got when he dared to call that Ibrox mob "The Rangers" a club with no history and that their previous incarnation should be stripped of its honours

Sadly, his peers in the media did nothing to highlight the behaviour of those 'fans' who threatened Jim with all sorts.

I know Jim and he's a bloody good bloke. Shame his peers, especially those still working for the BBC, did nothing to support him

20-01-2016, 09:51 PM

Better watch Silver you may find a Big Minority Bear oot side yer hoose the night :confused:

20-01-2016, 09:52 PM
graham spiers mentioned on radio the same day he was at the Falkirk v Bigots game(as a journalist) a few weeks back that he found a few of the 'party' songs that day rather unpleasant, has he finally woken up to the fact that sevco fans are the most vile set of fans in the country(well, the 45,000 minority are) it's just sheer coincidence the 'minority' of the vile b******s happen to be at bigotbrox on match days, close the vile institution that is ibrox down

20-01-2016, 09:57 PM
, the lot of them.

I curse the day this new club was ever admitted into the SFL.

They should have been consigned to the history books, where they belong.

Truth hurts Sevco. :aok:

20-01-2016, 10:01 PM
Tom English ‏@BBCTomEnglish (https://twitter.com/BBCTomEnglish) 8 mins8 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCTomEnglish/status/689943826723643392) @GrahamSpiers (https://twitter.com/GrahamSpiers) @bearsfightback

And the cry was 'Run Away!' :aok:

Jim Spence ‏@JimSpenceSport (https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport) 3 mins3 minutes ago

(https://twitter.com/JimSpenceSport/status/689945464939094017) Nothing more dangerous than semi intelligent apologists.

20-01-2016, 10:25 PM
Any journo with credibility has to follow this up especially those who work for the ******. Even if it is to dispell the idea that they follow follow. Much more important than their signings or magic hats .

20-01-2016, 10:29 PM
Brilliant SH :faf: Maybe it's delegates though, naw? :thumbsup:

Not even going to change it :greengrin and your correct, it is "delegates" , you must have done the same yourself at some point. :tee hee:

20-01-2016, 10:33 PM
Better watch Silver you may find a Big Minority Bear oot side yer hoose the night :confused:

#beargetsputdown :wink:

20-01-2016, 10:34 PM
Deary me, some journalists have eventually grown some balls.

Watch this fade away, and they will all fall back into the minority pish and the clubs are doing all they can to rid the sport of this bile.

20-01-2016, 10:38 PM
Dawn Raids

@Bearsdon'tfightback

:lolrangers:

20-01-2016, 10:58 PM
Deary me, some journalists have eventually grown some balls.

Watch this fade away, and they will all fall back into the minority pish and the clubs are doing all they can to rid the sport of this bile.

Kind of reminds me of the journalists during the Romanov years at Yams. The obvious is staring them in the face - the facts are laid firmly in front of them - yet they simply refuse to report the actualities of the situation.

Far be it from me to commend the press, but I worked closely with Gary Ralston and fed him the information I was getting from Lithuania and he did indeed put some decent articles together. The likes of Banderson and his EEN/Scotsman colleagues simply shouldn't be sitting at their desks (and probably won't be soon).

Working to a 'local' remit and not given any journalistic licence.

Thank the Lord for messageboards where stories now emanate.

20-01-2016, 11:09 PM
I am just surprised they could type that after a day of knuckle dragging.

20-01-2016, 11:24 PM
Not even going to change it :greengrin and your correct, it is "delegates" , you must have done the same yourself at some point. :tee hee:

:faf: :top marks

20-01-2016, 11:49 PM

Silver has nothing to worry about, The Don will sort it out while he sleeps :agree:

20-01-2016, 11:56 PM
I'm still worried by so-called journalists failing to pick up the improper punctuation...

21-01-2016, 12:19 AM
Smarter than your average bear? Obviously not. :rolleyes:

Anybody know where I can buy a bear alarm? I'm not taking any chances.

21-01-2016, 01:43 AM
Bears ***** cack

21-01-2016, 03:27 AM
Well done to Spiers, Spence and English for speaking out. Unfortunately not many of their colleagues have the nuts to do the same.

21-01-2016, 06:08 AM
Daily Record headline spin.....

"Brave supporters group take on bias media bullies"

21-01-2016, 07:08 AM
Kind of reminds me of the journalists during the Romanov years at Yams. The obvious is staring them in the face - the facts are laid firmly in front of them - yet they simply refuse to report the actualities of the situation.

Far be it from me to commend the press, but I worked closely with Gary Ralston and fed him the information I was getting from Lithuania and he did indeed put some decent articles together. The likes of Banderson and his EEN/Scotsman colleagues simply shouldn't be sitting at their desks (and probably won't be soon).

Working to a 'local' remit and not given any journalistic licence.

Thank the Lord for messageboards where stories now emanate.

Sergey - the term "journalist" has been used a bit on this and other threads.
How many of the Scottish sports writers are actually qualified journalists - do you know roughly?
A while back the now lesser spotted Jack Regan advised that surprisingly Jackson was one of the few.

Qualifications don't necessarily impl professionalism and adherence to a code of conduct (understanding Ethics isn't a county) but at least it's some threshold. It also perhaps an indicator they understand the demands, expectation and craft.

So if the scottish sportswriter in the main aren't qualified should we credit them with the title and in the same moment tar the actual journalists with the same brush?

If as JB speculates Jim Spences colleagues didn't stand by him perhaps journalism and the notion of freedom of speech (without fear of intimidation and violence) isn't in their DNA. Wonder how many of his colleagues joined the herd with the "je suis Charlie" proclamations?

21-01-2016, 09:19 AM
How many of the Scottish sports writers are actually qualified journalists - do you know roughly?
A while back the now lesser spotted Jack Regan advised that surprisingly Jackson was one of the few.

Qualifications don't necessarily impl professionalism and adherence to a code of conduct (understanding Ethics isn't a county) but at least it's some threshold. It also perhaps an indicator they understand the demands, expectation and craft.

So if the scottish sportswriter in the main aren't qualified should we credit them with the title and in the same moment tar the actual journalists with the same brush?

If as JB speculates Jim Spences colleagues didn't stand by him perhaps journalism and the notion of freedom of speech (without fear of intimidation and violence) isn't in their DNA. Wonder how many of his colleagues joined the herd with the "je suis Charlie" proclamations?

Sports "Journalism" in Scotland = Fans with laptops

21-01-2016, 10:56 AM
Pathetic stuff from some spotty saddo living in his mums basement in Govan. I'm surprised the journos even bothered with it to be honest.

As for the 'silent dignity' from Ibrox :faf:

Ross4356
21-01-2016, 11:03 AM
Totally missed this, what has been said?

21-01-2016, 11:20 AM
graham spiers mentioned on radio the same day he was at the Falkirk v Bigots game(as a journalist) a few weeks back that he found a few of the 'party' songs that day rather unpleasant, has he finally woken up to the fact that sevco fans are the most vile set of fans in the country(well, the 45,000 minority are) it's just sheer coincidence the 'minority' of the vile b******s happen to be at bigotbrox on match days, close the vile institution that is ibrox down

No. Credit where it's due, even to a hun - Spiersy has often spoken out critically of sectarian behaviour by huns. As did Souness, and Butcher.

21-01-2016, 11:53 AM
Totally missed this, what has been said?

See post one :greengrin

Bighoose
21-01-2016, 12:10 PM
This is what was tweeted originally by the bearsblah blah. Sent from phone so hope its readable.

21-01-2016, 12:33 PM
This is what was tweeted originally by the bearsblah blah. Sent from phone so hope its readable.

Hilarious.
Wish we had a dignified silence a few weeks back at Hunbrox rather than the filth we got.

21-01-2016, 12:57 PM
See post one :greengrin

Super_JMcGinn
21-01-2016, 08:07 PM
'Hate fest' lol. A club founded on religious hate and bigotry who still belt out their hateful, disgusting(banned) songs in 2016 and then high 5 each other on social media afterwards. Absolute clowns.
Rangers were not founded on religious hate or bigotry at all, let's not stoop to their level and make up stuff for the sake of it. :wink:

21-01-2016, 08:12 PM

You forgot their dignified silence!

21-01-2016, 08:23 PM
Rangers were not founded on religious hate or bigotry at all, let's not stoop to their level and make up stuff for the sake of it. :wink:

Founded on a principle of not signing players purely based on their religion

Super_JMcGinn
21-01-2016, 08:27 PM
Founded on a principle of not signing players purely based on their religion
I'm sorry but that is nonsense.

21-01-2016, 08:34 PM
Was it not some time in the 1930's that they decided to become a "proddy" club?

21-01-2016, 08:35 PM

Agreed. Founded being the operative word. Their 'signing policy' started in the 1930's

21-01-2016, 08:41 PM
Was it not some time in the 1930's that they decided to become a "proddy" club?

The migration of protestants from Ulster to work in the Glasgow shipyards was a big factor in the Club becoming sectarian. The migrants attached themselves to Rangers rather than Celtic, naturally. This was many years after the Club was founded.

22-01-2016, 08:25 AM

You're right, founded is the wrong word. They've definitely spent a large chunk of their existence encouraging hatred through their signing policy etc though. They certainly shouldn't be accusing others of a hate campaign I don't think

22-01-2016, 08:38 AM
The migration of protestants from Ulster to work in the Glasgow shipyards was a big factor in the Club becoming sectarian. The migrants attached themselves to Rangers rather than Celtic, naturally. This was many years after the Club was founded.

Is it not the case that back in the day the original Rangers football club were one of the few clubs to support Hibs being allowed to play in the Scottish league?

JIm
22-01-2016, 08:41 AM
I see they have re-appeared on twitter this morning :cb

22-01-2016, 08:44 AM
Agreed. Founded being the operative word. Their 'signing policy' started in the 1930's

Without checking the book (because it's in my pal's garage). Bill Murray magnificent study of the Old Firm- sectariansim, sport and society, suggested that the Rangers anti-Catholic stance gathered momentum in the very early 20th century.

The commercial possibilities and the rise immense popularity of the game operated in tandem with Harlaand and Wolff's takeover by John Brown shipbuilding led to an influx of Ulster Protestant's and the cementing of the no catholic policy. I'm pretty sure the term the "Old Firm" was being used prior to this.

Whilst one or two may have slipped the net, this was a club that spent the next 80 years feeding bigotry and hate. They may not have been founded on sectariansim but they certainly thrived and fuelled it.

23-01-2016, 08:29 AM
Is it not the case that back in the day the original Rangers football club were one of the few clubs to support Hibs being allowed to play in the Scottish league?

They were, and Hibs were invited to play friendly games against Rangers in Glasgow quite regularly which attracted large crowds populated by Glasgow's immigrant Irish.

23-01-2016, 09:19 AM

I take your point but having an NQJ, some of which can be one year diplomas, doesn't make you any better or worse a journo.

There's a lot to be said for learning the craft by moving up through the industry. Arguably the best sports journalist there has been, Hugh McIlvanney, does not have a qualification in journalism!