View Full Version : Players Who Looked The Part In First Few Games But Subsequently Failed To Make It

20-01-2016, 02:56 PM
No current players like Harris, Stanton etc allowed, as that isn't very sporting.

Paul Lovering
Jay Shields
Scott Bannerman

20-01-2016, 02:58 PM
Zarabi

20-01-2016, 02:59 PM
No current players like Harris, Stanton etc allowed, as that isn't very sporting.

Paul Lovering
Jay Shields
Scott Bannerman

Andy Dow scored a beauty in the derby at PBS then tailed off a bit only to come back to haunt us being scoring the winner for Sheep against us.

20-01-2016, 02:59 PM
Victor Pallson
Paul Heffernan

TamHibs
20-01-2016, 03:00 PM
Edwin De Graaf?

20-01-2016, 03:01 PM
Filipe Morais was excellent in his trial game, against an English team at Easter Road in a friendly I think.

He was humpty after that though.

20-01-2016, 03:02 PM
Graeme donald.

Green Fish
20-01-2016, 03:10 PM
Kuqi looked like a great signing but wasn't...not much more can be

Sent from my E2303 using Tapatalk

Green Fish
20-01-2016, 03:10 PM
Said!!

20-01-2016, 03:12 PM

Where did he look like a great signing? It wasn't on the pitch.

20-01-2016, 03:12 PM
Ryan McGivern

Abdellah Zoubir

James McPake

Paul Tosh (scored on his debut)

Did Lee Power not score on his debut too?

TamHibs
20-01-2016, 03:13 PM
Ryan McGivern

Abdellah Zoubir

James McPake

Aye he scored the opener in the 2-1 game against Celtic when Charnley scored that screamer from Larsson's misplaced pass

20-01-2016, 03:13 PM
Calum Booth

20-01-2016, 03:14 PM
Steven Thichot, came on as a sub against Barca and looked a right players, unfortunately he was never played in his DM position enough for him to establish himself.

20-01-2016, 03:16 PM
Clayton Donaldson, Mickael Antoine-Curier, Joe Keenan, Victor Palsson

Leith Mo
20-01-2016, 03:17 PM
George Chamberlain? Not even sure of his name now! Midfielder signed by Calderwood came on as a sub away to Dunfermline & we all went back raving about him. Think we won 3-2? Had a total shocker at Easter Road the next game.

20-01-2016, 03:17 PM
Where did he look like a great signing? It wasn't on the pitch.
Came on for about 10 at Aberdeen and nearly scored with a toe poke. He demonstrated a nose for a goal. That was about it..

MartinfaePorty
20-01-2016, 03:20 PM
George Chamberlain? Not even sure of his name now! Midfielder signed by Calderwood came on as a sub away to Dunfermline & we all went back raving about him. Think we won 3-2? Had a total shocker at Easter Road the next game.

George Francomb, possibly?

20-01-2016, 03:21 PM
Morais, thought he looked the part in his first game

MartinfaePorty
20-01-2016, 03:22 PM
Willie Irvine Mark II, although to be fair to him had a great career in the lower leagues after that. Scored a hat-trick in a friendly and starred as a sub in the 2-1 win in the 'Souness' game at ER.

20-01-2016, 03:25 PM
Jim Blair

Leith Mo
20-01-2016, 03:26 PM
George Francomb, possibly?

That's the one. Just checked it - not been too well lately but nowhere near as bad as some of the names on this thread made me feel at the time!

Purehibee_MYB
20-01-2016, 03:27 PM
Damon Gray looked the part up front and looked like the next Golden nugget from the youth system. Came to nothing.. Same with Kurtis Byrne

1987kev
20-01-2016, 03:28 PM
Brain Kerr score the winner at tynie on his debut???

That centre forward who played at Hunbrox under Calderwood and had a stormer, then did zip. Eastern European fella. One of the best examples of forward play I had seen in a long while or since.

magnificent_seven
Thought Kevin McCann and Damon Gray looked good players on their first few games. Neither of them have really made it. McCann has had a better career than Gray but not as good as I expected.

Others include Paul Hilland, Allan Dempsie, Jonathan Baillie, Sean Lynch and Ross Campbell.

20-01-2016, 03:30 PM
That centre forward who played at Hunbrox under Calderwood and had a stormer, then did zip. Eastern European fella. One of the best examples of forward play I had seen in a long while or since.

Valdas Trakys? Was good in a home game v Motherwell as well but otherwise was pants.

20-01-2016, 03:31 PM
Thought Kevin McCann and Damon Gray looked good players on their first few games. Neither of them have really made it. McCann has had a better career than Gray but not as good as I expected.

Others include Paul Hilland, Allan Dempsie, Jonathan Baillie, Sean Lynch and Ross Campbell.

I thought Scott Smith looked decent when he got his brief chance.

I was surprised we let him go, then surprised when he failed to make it elsewhere.

20-01-2016, 03:34 PM
Brain Kerr score the winner at tynie on his debut???

So he did.

I couldn't see what he brought to the team after that.

FastEddieFelson
20-01-2016, 03:42 PM
kujabi and doherty were both brilliant in their debut against kilmarnock in the scottish cup...

thought zoubir was going to be amazing as well

20-01-2016, 03:44 PM
Ryan McGivern

Abdellah Zoubir

James McPake

Harsh including James McPake.

20-01-2016, 03:50 PM
Victor Pallson

Had high hopes for him after his early showing.

20-01-2016, 03:51 PM
Alan O'Brien looked like Ivan Sproule on a motor bike in a friendly at Brechin.

20-01-2016, 03:52 PM
kujabi and doyle were both brilliant in their debut against kilmarnock in the scottish cup...

thought zoubir was going to be amazing as well

I don't think Doyle can be included in a list of players who failed to make it. Done a lot for Hibs and even more since he left.

20-01-2016, 03:54 PM
Paul Hartley. Still remember his first touch. Brought down a high cross field pass like he was Ronaldinho. Pretty shan after that (for us anyway).

Off the bar
20-01-2016, 03:54 PM
Aye he scored the opener in the 2-1 game against Celtic when Charnley scored that screamer from Larsson's misplaced pass

From the same game, our new keeper Oli Gotskalson (sp) I remember leaving the ground saying to my old man that our new goalie looked good and that new Celtc striker Larsson looked pish. Showing just how badly you can misjudge something!

Spudster
20-01-2016, 03:55 PM
James McPake

Harsh, was excellent for us and almost single handedly kept us up then injuries took hold. We wouldn't have got relegated had he played for Butcher IMO.

FastEddieFelson
20-01-2016, 04:00 PM
I don't think Doyle can be included in a list of players who failed to make it. Done a lot for Hibs and even more since he left.

apologies, i meant doherty.

20-01-2016, 04:14 PM
Zarabi

Youtube videos don't count. He was pony from day 1. Ran like he had lead in his boots and had a particular speciality of staying so narrow to his CB he was practically sitting on his knee and then running out to the winger from there!!

Morais and MAC I thought looked decent in far more than just a game or 2, but weren't good enough ultimately.

Was the lad's name Caldwell who scored a bobby dazzler of a late winner at Tynie a could of years ago and then fell off the map? Loved Kevin McCann as well - not at centre back though, take note JC.

Also, there was another wee terrier like player around the same time, Jay Shields. Fairly sure he forced Hartley to crap his pants with a great tackle that led almost directly to a goal (or was that McCann??)

20-01-2016, 04:21 PM
The Tank [Edward Hurtardo]

20-01-2016, 04:24 PM
Harsh, was excellent for us and almost single handedly kept us up then injuries took hold. We wouldn't have got relegated had he played for Butcher IMO.

It may seem harsh but I don't think there are many players who are more appropriate for the thread title than James McPake.

He more than looked the part in his first few games, when he arrived on loan he dragged us up a level and put in superb performances to steer us clear of relegation and, erm, get us to a cup final.

Once he got his permanent contract he was a disaster. I agree that this was mainly due to being either injured or his performances being affected by injury but the bottom line is we pushed the boat out to sign him and got very, very little in return. That he was club captain when we relegated would suggest to me that we can't really look back on his time with us as a success and ultimately (although I agree harshly because it wasn't his fault) he has to fall under the "subsequently failed to make it" tag as well.

20-01-2016, 04:34 PM
Youtube videos don't count. He was pony from day 1. Ran like he had lead in his boots and had a particular speciality of staying so narrow to his CB he was practically sitting on his knee and then running out to the winger from there!!

Morais and MAC I thought looked decent in far more than just a game or 2, but weren't good enough ultimately.

Was the lad's name Caldwell who scored a bobby dazzler of a late winner at Tynie a could of years ago and then fell off the map? Loved Kevin McCann as well - not at centre back though, take note JC.

Also, there was another wee terrier like player around the same time, Jay Shields. Fairly sure he forced Hartley to crap his pants with a great tackle that led almost directly to a goal (or was that McCann??)

RE: McCann, Collins has received stick for playing him at CB in one game against Aberdeen, when we had no other conceivable options. If that is all that it took to destroy the guys confidence, and send his career on a downward spiral, then it just shows how weak McCann was mentally. Alas, I doubt it had that big an effect on him. Probably just another case of a young player bursting onto the scene with no expectation, to then be found out as not all that good when they went through a rough patch.

20-01-2016, 04:44 PM
RE: McCann, Collins has received stick for playing him at CB in one game against Aberdeen, when we had no other conceivable options. If that is all that it took to destroy the guys confidence, and send his career on a downward spiral, then it just shows how weak McCann was mentally. Alas, I doubt it had that big an effect on him. Probably just another case of a young player bursting onto the scene with no expectation, to then be found out as not all that good when they went through a rough patch.

Was McCann not another one who was badly affected by injury?

It seemed like JC brought him from nowhere when he put him in the team but he looked the part at RB and had a really solid game as a defensive midfielder in one game as well.

Unfortunately most folk remember the game that he played CH when, as you say, we didn't have any better options and he gave it his best. The fact that that didn't work out wasn't down to McCann.

20-01-2016, 04:47 PM
One player that I was so wrong about was Stuart Beedie . Brought in with Billy Kirkwood , and was immense in the "souness" game. . I thought "what a signing this boy looks ". Think he played about another 10 games - no impact whatsoever.

20-01-2016, 04:53 PM
Paul Hartley. Still remember his first touch. Brought down a high cross field pass like he was Ronaldinho. Pretty shan after that (for us anyway).

I've seen a few folk say this about Hartley on here, but I can't agree - was handy and scored a couple of important goals for us in the First Division, and had a decent goals to starts ratio overall (8 in 23) - didn't get much of a shot in the SPL.

Getting £200K for him from St. Johnstone looked like good business at the time, especially given we got John O'Neil from them on a Bosman at the same time (though O'Neil's wages and appearance money would later prove problematic for us). Was that move to Saints, and Billy Stark playing him centrally, that made Hartley's career though, certainly.

Still a Hearts ****, mind you.

hibbybob
20-01-2016, 05:02 PM
Billy Finlay
Mark McGraw

20-01-2016, 05:11 PM
Kenny Davidson looked an outstanding prospect on his debut but he never went on to make the impact I expected. Having said that, injuries did hamper his career progression.

20-01-2016, 05:14 PM

His Hibernian report card would certainly be marked with a "Pass" in my eyes.

20-01-2016, 05:16 PM
Danny Lennon
Antonio Murray

20-01-2016, 05:20 PM

His Hibernian report card would certainly be marked with a "Pass" in my eyes.

The first 6 months would be "pass with flying colours".

The last 2 years however…….

20-01-2016, 05:22 PM
Danny Lennon
Antonio Murray

I think we sold Lennon too early, (and for too little, probably). Was a great deal for Raith.

20-01-2016, 05:24 PM
I think we sold Lennon too early, (and for too little, probably). Was a great deal for Raith.

I loved Danny Lennon, he went on to be a superb player for Raith.

20-01-2016, 05:26 PM
Matt Thornhill

20-01-2016, 05:26 PM
The first 6 months would be "pass with flying colours".

The last 2 years however…….

Because of injury, he probably shouldn't have been playing half the time but there's no doubt he was 100% committed to Hibs.

20-01-2016, 05:30 PM

I remember as a young lad watching him come off the bench at ER against Aberdeen and thinking he was the greatest thing I had seen. He totally changed the game and I'm sure he scored the only goal in a 1-0 win in the 90th min. I'm sure we were at Tynecastle the next game and I vaguely remember telling Jambos at my primary school that we would beat them because we had Danny Lennon. I don't think he even played and I'm sure we got beat [emoji52]

20-01-2016, 05:32 PM
Brian Kerr has to be right up there. Scores after 2 mins at the PBS then vanishes after that.

20-01-2016, 05:37 PM
Because of injury, he probably shouldn't have been playing half the time but there's no doubt he was 100% committed to Hibs.

He was probably too committed.

His commitment aggravated his injuries as he was determined to play through them to help the cause. His determination to play when he wasn't 100% fit also probably led to some below-par performances as well.

I don't want to come across as a McPake hater - I most certainly am not. He was brave, committed and he had some superb performances for us.

But the performances he had whilst on loan were a big contrast to the ones he had when signed permanently so therefore whilst it may appear harsh, his name was one of the first that sprung to mind when it came to players who showed great early promise but who eventually (for whatever reason) failed to deliver.

20-01-2016, 05:38 PM
Hugh Hamil
Paul McGlinchey
Lindsay Muir
Pat Carroll
Bobby Robertson
Gary Murray
Willie Murray
Alex McGhee
Bobby Thomson
Bobby Hutchison
Robin Rae

'Jas' Brown.....

20-01-2016, 05:45 PM
Rab Shannon

Derek Anderson

heidtheba
20-01-2016, 06:14 PM
Sorry for bringing this one up, and apologies to anyone from African countries I've become confused about but...

The Gambian/Zambian/I can't remember/I blocked it out 'Roberto Carlos'. I never saw him play but didn't he do some praiseworthy neat wee move on his debut?

heidtheba
20-01-2016, 06:15 PM

My mate was convinced he was a sweetner in a deal for then Raith captain Peter Heatherstone (who went to Aberdeen IIRC?)

20-01-2016, 06:17 PM
Graham Love.

tanfield
20-01-2016, 06:22 PM

Paul Lovering
Jay Shields
Scott Bannerman

Paul Lovering was brilliant for us in division 1 but that was his level.

tanfield
20-01-2016, 06:23 PM
Graham Donald

Totally on fire after being introduced late on in the season by lexo but that was it for him apart from a goal against hertz

20-01-2016, 06:25 PM
Harsh including James McPake.

McPake was an utter liability

20-01-2016, 06:28 PM
Bobby Hutchinson.

20-01-2016, 06:29 PM
Graeme donald.

Think we can blame AM for hindering him as he was a top prospect as a striker but Miller tried to turn him into a right back I think? Defiantly across the back somewhere.

20-01-2016, 06:36 PM
Graham Donald

Totally on fire after being introduced late on in the season by lexo but that was it for him apart from a goal against hertz

Agree but the goal was against the Huns I think and it was around October of the season after he was introduced. Jim Leighton penalty game ? Then.....Sunk.

Tom Hart RIP
20-01-2016, 06:37 PM
Can't believe I'm first to mention Dirk Lehmann.

Tom Hart RIP
20-01-2016, 06:38 PM
Calum Milne

Ryan69
20-01-2016, 06:41 PM
Bjarni Laruson(I think) Icelandic guy,debut at Killie
Seemed amazing when he made his debut...then was rubbish

Thorsten Schmugge? Signed from Bochum.
Was big hopes for him...and failed miserably.

20-01-2016, 06:41 PM
What was the name of the young guy that did a Pole Dance at Tannadice after scoring.

He seemed to be a good prospect but just fell away completely.

20-01-2016, 06:46 PM
Can't believe I'm first to mention Dirk Lehmann.

I can't believe you think he belongs in this thread.

Off the bar
20-01-2016, 06:46 PM
What was the name of the young guy that did a Pole Dance at Tannadice after scoring.

He seemed to be a good prospect but just fell away completely.

Tam McManus

20-01-2016, 06:47 PM
Calum Milne

Hated Hertz. Alex Miller ruined this boy.

20-01-2016, 06:56 PM

I always thought that Clayton Donaldson was a decent player and he has since gone on to prove it. There was a Northern Irish lad who played up front alongside Garry O'Connor and Deeks just after Mowbray took charge, he scored a great goal at ER in the cup against Brechin I think but then got injured and returned to Ireland

20-01-2016, 06:56 PM
I can't believe you think he belongs in this thread.

Agree 100% nothing wrong with the Porn Star. Played well for us.

20-01-2016, 07:03 PM
I thought Sodje was like a superhero when he came in because, unlike Nishy who we'd been used to as striker, when Sodje jumped for the ball his feet left the ground. But that was more or less his only redeeming feature.

Casey1875
20-01-2016, 07:03 PM
I always thought that Clayton Donaldson was a decent player and he has since gone on to prove it. There was a Northern Irish lad who played up front alongside Garry O'Connor and Deeks just after Mowbray took charge, he scored a great goal at ER in the cup against Brechin I think but then got injured and returned to Ireland
Sam Morrow? Played for another couple of scottish clubs too.

20-01-2016, 07:05 PM
Tam McManus

That's the fella, cheers

20-01-2016, 07:08 PM
Sam Morrow? Played for another couple of scottish clubs too.

Yes, that is who I was thinking of. Really thought he was going to be a great player before he got injured.

20-01-2016, 07:08 PM
Matt Doherty
David Wotherspoon
Gary Deegan
Graeme Smith
Alan Gow
Kevin McBride

tanfield
20-01-2016, 07:19 PM
Agree but the goal was against the Huns I think and it was around October of the season after he was introduced. Jim Leighton penalty game ? Then.....Sunk.

Sure he scored against hertz when he slide in at the back post. Possibly the 2-2 game when the new north and south stands were opened with robbo scoring a last minute equaliser???

20-01-2016, 07:25 PM
McPake was an utter liability

This thread was about his first few games. He was immense for the first six months and single handedly kept us up. Pish after that when his back injury took hold.

20-01-2016, 07:27 PM
Steven Pinau. Looked liked a world beater in a league cup game v Morton. Dire after that

heidtheba
20-01-2016, 07:27 PM
I remember as a young lad watching him come off the bench at ER against Aberdeen and thinking he was the greatest thing I had seen. He totally changed the game and I'm sure he scored the only goal in a 1-0 win in the 90th min. I'm sure we were at Tynecastle the next game and I vaguely remember telling Jambos at my primary school that we would beat them because we had Danny Lennon. I don't think he even played and I'm sure we got beat [emoji52]

Funny how this match has come up a couple of times in a day or so! Check the 'lesser games' thread and you'll see I nominated this match and someone kindly posted the YouTube link! 3-1 and he scored the final goal.

BTW I thought the same about his ability as you did!

20-01-2016, 07:29 PM
Funny how this match has come up a couple of times in a day or so! Check the 'lesser games' thread and you'll see I nominated this match and someone kindly posted the YouTube link! 3-1 and he scored the final goal.

BTW I thought the same about his ability as you did!

Haha never seen that, quality. Will go and watch the highlights! [emoji16] I thought he was the real deal after that game.

20-01-2016, 07:41 PM
Matt Doherty
David Wotherspoon
Gary Deegan
Graeme Smith
Alan Gow
Kevin McBride

Eh?! Deary me... Opinions eh?!! :rolleyes:

20-01-2016, 07:56 PM
Ma Kalambay.

Looked good in pre season and the opening game of the season against Hearts. Had a mare against Gretna the following week and had 'one of those days' all too often afterwards.

20-01-2016, 07:58 PM

No other option with the exception of a German under 21 international centre back sitting on the bench that day?

marleyhib
20-01-2016, 08:03 PM
Bjarni Laruson(I think) Icelandic guy,debut at Killie
Seemed amazing when he made his debut...then was rubbish

Thorsten Schmugge? Signed from Bochum.
Was big hopes for him...and failed miserably.

Was going to post Bjarni, looked decent at killie that day, I remember them playing Lust for life at half time more fondly tho

20-01-2016, 08:38 PM
Peter Guggi
Klaus Dietrich

Purple & Green
20-01-2016, 08:46 PM
Anybody for Hibs anti legend Andy Walker?

Or Ulises De La Cruz?

20-01-2016, 08:53 PM
The Matt Doherty mentions are wide of the mark and only a result of comments he made.

He was a big improvement on any right backs we had. He scored a couple as well in 13 games. A regular at Wolves since.

20-01-2016, 08:55 PM
Anybody for Hibs anti legend Andy Walker?

Or Ulises De La Cruz?

I think you have spelt walker slighty wrong

20-01-2016, 08:56 PM
Joe Ward.

20-01-2016, 08:57 PM

Not one of them ever looked a player. Ever.

20-01-2016, 08:59 PM
Andy Walker and Matt Doherty were both fine when they were playing football for Hibs (with the possible exception of Doherty's final game - even then he was hung out to dry by the tactics on the day that left him exposed).

They both let themselves down badly practically every time they open their mouths.

Yeah they did.

Palsson was raved about after his debut...

20-01-2016, 09:00 PM

Donaldson who scored a hat trick for us and is now playing in the English Championship? Really?!?

20-01-2016, 09:00 PM
Sure he scored against hertz when he slide in at the back post. Possibly the 2-2 game when the new north and south stands were opened with robbo scoring a last minute equaliser???

I'll need to give you that as I can't remember, although if I'm right in thinking, Pat McGinlay put us ahead late in that game?
I'm certain that Graeme Donald got a winner v the Huns in the game where Leighton saved the retaken penalty. And it was October 96. Jocky Scott in charge?

If he's got goals against both of that set of *******s he doesn't belong on this thread though!

20-01-2016, 09:02 PM
Joe Ward.

Photo of Joe jackie mac tony higgins & georgie boy on the wall in Jingly Georges a favorite wattering hole for above mentioned

20-01-2016, 09:02 PM

Must be hard. Not being a player when you're on the books at clubs like Liverpool and Chelsea.

20-01-2016, 09:05 PM

I agree but Donaldson has gone on to prove his worth he looked good but was easily pushed around when he played at ER

20-01-2016, 09:19 PM
What happened to Kevin McCann?

20-01-2016, 09:24 PM
What happened to Kevin McCann?

He plays for a team in Singapore

20-01-2016, 09:25 PM
He plays for a team in Singapore

I thought he looked great at times - even when he played midfield. The game at CH is often referred to but I think it was injuries that done for him rather than one game out of position.

20-01-2016, 09:26 PM
Matt thornhill plays for a team called shaw lane aquaforce in the northern premier league division 1 South

20-01-2016, 09:29 PM
I thought he looked great at times - even when he played midfield. The game at CH is often referred to but I think it was injuries that done for him rather than one game out of position.

Brilliant at Aberdeen in the cup. And a raker against the Huns on his CV. Played well in a few big games. Not a failure. Underestimated.

20-01-2016, 09:35 PM
Brilliant at Aberdeen in the cup. And a raker against the Huns on his CV. Played well in a few big games. Not a failure. Underestimated.

:agree: And unlucky.

20-01-2016, 09:41 PM
:agree: And unlucky.

Indeed. Looked a fantastic prospect at right back and excellent going forward. I think he suffered some serious back problems and never got near the first team again. Very unfortunate. Jonathan Baillie was another top young prospect who suffered a serious back injury that ended his career. A bit disappointing seeing these two lads names mentioned on this thread.

Purple & Green
20-01-2016, 09:45 PM
Paul McGovern is another that springs to mind, along with one game wonder Lyndon Andrews.

But what a game.

20-01-2016, 10:08 PM
The Matt Doherty mentions are wide of the mark and only a result of comments he made.

He was a big improvement on any right backs we had. He scored a couple as well in 13 games. A regular at Wolves since.

He was but he had his fair share of shockers

20-01-2016, 10:14 PM
He was but he had his fair share of shockers

i'd agree with that. He had a few good games, but couldn't say he was a good performer. overall his contribution on the pitch was pretty mixed. even worse knowing that he actually had some decent ability...never always tried 100% in my view.

Stax
20-01-2016, 11:09 PM

Paul Lovering
Jay Shields
Scott Bannerman
Always liked Jay Shields, some players make it and some don't. Less talented than him have made a better living from the game.

20-01-2016, 11:13 PM
Chic Charnley

Jimmy Boco

Barry Lavety...

Any one that signed at the start of that season then played up until the Rangers 4-3 game...

Bronson
20-01-2016, 11:19 PM
Jonathan Baillie - was superb on his debut v Celtic when we beat them 2-1 at ER in the cup. He's since retired and is a car salesman, although in his defence that was mainly due to injury, but he dropped down the leagues before that.

Ross Caldwell - had high hopes for him after that goal at tynie, but he turned out pretty hopeless.

Liam Miller - looked the business when he first joined, thought we had a real player but faded into nothing and now plays part time in Ireland for Cork City.

20-01-2016, 11:34 PM
I though Damon Gray was going to be good. Still remember him scoring early on in his career at Pittodrie - there was an angle from behind our goal and before he had scored it Ross Chisolm was celebrating in anticipation - obviously he'd seen him do it hundreds of times and knew he was going to do it again.

Don't know what happened with him - went to Berwick Rangers and has just vanished.

20-01-2016, 11:38 PM
Eh?! Deary me... Opinions eh?!! :rolleyes:

He was fantastic when he first broke through. Really thought he was going to make it big time! But he just all of a sudden became very inconsistent and didn't really seem to trouble the opposition full backs (unless it's Kevin McHattie) when he had the ball. It was best for the lad to get a fresh new start elsewhere and part ways with Hibs in the end.

20-01-2016, 11:40 PM
He was fantastic when he first broke through. Really thought he was going to make it big time! But he just all of a sudden became very inconsistent and didn't really seem to trouble the opposition full backs (unless it's Kevin McHattie) when he had the ball. It was best for the lad to get a fresh new start elsewhere and part ways with Hibs in the end.

I agree. He was great when Yogi played him at RB. Problem was he wasn't taken out the team when on a high, when he played a few poor games the fans got on his case and his confidence never seemed to come back.

Spudster
21-01-2016, 12:14 AM
It may seem harsh but I don't think there are many players who are more appropriate for the thread title than James McPake.

He more than looked the part in his first few games, when he arrived on loan he dragged us up a level and put in superb performances to steer us clear of relegation and, erm, get us to a cup final.

Once he got his permanent contract he was a disaster. I agree that this was mainly due to being either injured or his performances being affected by injury but the bottom line is we pushed the boat out to sign him and got very, very little in return. That he was club captain when we relegated would suggest to me that we can't really look back on his time with us as a success and ultimately (although I agree harshly because it wasn't his fault) he has to fall under the "subsequently failed to make it" tag as well.
:confused: He played 4 games the season we got relegated.

21-01-2016, 12:22 AM
Richie Towell

21-01-2016, 01:28 AM
Derek Riordan?

21-01-2016, 01:29 AM
Clayton Donaldson.

21-01-2016, 04:48 AM
Richie Towell.

21-01-2016, 06:00 AM
Paddy Cregg. Absolutely ran the show in a Pre season friendly at EEP. Mediocre thereafter

21-01-2016, 07:40 AM

Harsh? He didn't play a game for us after August that season. As for Club Captain, I'm not even sure he was after Butcher joined.

21-01-2016, 09:23 AM
A few in John Collins' first full season had very promising pre seasons ( I think we won all of our pre season games?) and then flew to the top of the league by October, the rest we know too well.

Ghatuessi, Brian Kerr both looked like they were going to be good players but fell away shariah.

I'd also put up Matt Thornhill and Victor Palsson, who started life at Hibs with an unbeaten February of 5 straight wins.

Finally and probably a little harshly, Farid. His injuries is the main reason to his downfall but ultimately he will be looked upon as not contributing enough over 2 years at Hibs.

Mark79
21-01-2016, 11:01 AM
James Keatings? Bit harsh I suppose but has fallen away somewhat.

21-01-2016, 11:17 AM
Harsh? He didn't play a game for us after August that season. As for Club Captain, I'm not even sure he was after Butcher joined.

From Captain Fantastic who kept us up single-handed to one of our highest earners not playing a game beyond August?

Harsh but unfortunately true.

Really unfortunate for McPake as none of it was his fault but he there is no way anyone could say that he fulfilled his early promise as a Hibs player.

21-01-2016, 11:19 AM
James Keatings? Bit harsh I suppose but has fallen away somewhat.

I was going to get my fishing rod out and say John McGinn but thought better of it….

21-01-2016, 11:24 AM
Liam Craig.

Stuarty27
21-01-2016, 11:54 AM
Jan Rippa anyone?

21-01-2016, 12:08 PM

Taken off him and given to Craig.

Another who had words with Butcher, he was fit for the last 7-8 weeks of the season but was never picked, even though we needed him, funnily enough he got a contract at Dundee no problem afterwards.

21-01-2016, 12:49 PM
A few in John Collins' first full season had very promising pre seasons ( I think we won all of our pre season games?) and then flew to the top of the league by October, the rest we know too well.

Ghatuessi, Brian Kerr both looked like they were going to be good players but fell away shariah.

I'd also put up Matt Thornhill and Victor Palsson, who started life at Hibs with an unbeaten February of 5 straight wins.

Finally and probably a little harshly, Farid. His injuries is the main reason to his downfall but ultimately he will be looked upon as not contributing enough over 2 years at Hibs.

Sorry to interject but no. A liability to both his own team and opposition players from day 1. I'm sure one of my very first posts on here was after a friendly that we had won but something about Gathuessi as a player didn't quite fit with me. Loved a gamble forward with little or no attempt to make it back. Hogg spent about half of every game shouting and him and pointing to where TG should clearly be but wasn't.

Couldn't stand him.

PiemanP
21-01-2016, 01:37 PM
Sorry to interject but no. A liability to both his own team and opposition players from day 1. I'm sure one of my very first posts on here was after a friendly that we had won but something about Gathuessi as a player didn't quite fit with me. Loved a gamble forward with little or no attempt to make it back. Hogg spent about half of every game shouting and him and pointing to where TG should clearly be but wasn't.

Couldn't stand him.

I actually quite liked HKT purely for the amusement of watching his complete lack of tactical nous/positioning/discipline. The boy just did whatever he wanted on the pitch. He actually had a few decent games for Hibs, including one absolute raker against Celtc.

McGivern would definitely get my vote. He looked a seriously classy left back in his first few starts - don't forget he was a Man City and international player at the time. Roll forward 18 months and he all but relegates us with his awful pass straight to a Hamilton player. Awful.

since90plustwo
21-01-2016, 02:07 PM
We were all raving about Abdellah Zoubir a couple years back. Youtube sensation. Decent cameo for a few games then majorly fell away.
Victor Palsson had an unbelievable first 6 months throught we really had a player - fell away.
Danny Galbraith had a good first season, came off the bech alot to impact games but another who faded away quickly.

McSwanky
21-01-2016, 04:02 PM
Hartley and Cregg for me.

Another who impressed for a few games then turned into a total disappointment for slightly different reasons would be Didier Agathe....

21-01-2016, 04:10 PM
Sean O'Hanlon - when he came he seemed like he might be the no nonsense, brave, take the game by the scruff of the neck type we'd been needing since Jones left. After the first few games, whilst he may have always tried, he was fairly pish apart from a goal and great performance away to the Sheep IIRC

21-01-2016, 04:52 PM
Sean O'Hanlon - when he came he seemed like he might be the no nonsense, brave, take the game by the scruff of the neck type we'd been needing since Jones left. After the first few games, whilst he may have always tried, he was fairly pish apart from a goal and great performance away to the Sheep IIRC

Didn't he break his toe in his first match (v Celtic)?

21-01-2016, 10:46 PM
Barry lavety bit harsh as he had injurys etc and Fred arpinon

07BigD
22-01-2016, 02:39 PM

A useless big tattie

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk

22-01-2016, 02:52 PM
Sean O'Hanlon - when he came he seemed like he might be the no nonsense, brave, take the game by the scruff of the neck type we'd been needing since Jones left. After the first few games, whilst he may have always tried, he was fairly pish apart from a goal and great performance away to the Sheep IIRCHe got injured 30 minutes into his first game and didn't play for weeks.

Green Fish
22-01-2016, 02:55 PM
A useless big tattie

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk
Aye, that he was. When he signed I had high hopes, big lad, decent pedigree but turned out to be utter p*^h!!

22-01-2016, 02:59 PM
Aye, that he was. When he signed I had high hopes, big lad, decent pedigree but turned out to be utter p*^h!!

Great player earlier in his career and there was a clip that was doing the rounds of a total raker he scored the year before he joined us for (iirc) Oldham.

Totally over the hill by the time he joined us though and was horribly past it.

Shame really.

22-01-2016, 03:18 PM
He got injured 30 minutes into his first game and didn't play for weeks.

The first few games in which he actually played then :greengrin