View Full Version : NHC Transfer money spending

18-01-2016, 05:07 PM
Get quite fed up listening to Sky TV reminding us that there's been £60m or £70m spent in the transfer window. 99.999999% of that total by English clubs mainly with Sky TV money. I like Bournemouth FC but a wee seaside toon being able to spend the amount they have in this window when we're all slavering over a loan deal until May for a guy who can't even get a game for Celtic doesn't lie well with me.

Rant over.

18-01-2016, 05:12 PM
Norwich have just splashed oot 17 million oan 2 players the now :Ummm:

18-01-2016, 05:14 PM
Get quite fed up listening to Sky TV reminding us that there's been £60m or £70m spent in the transfer window. 999999.99% of that total by English clubs mainly with Sky TV money. I like Bournemouth FC but a wee seaside toon being able to spend the amount they have in this window when we're all slavering over a loan deal until May for a guy who can't even get a game for Celtic doesn't lie well with me.

Rant over.

Well anytime the transfer center comes on SSN , simply turn the channel off.. Simples..

18-01-2016, 05:27 PM
Comparing England to Scotland is like comparing go-karting to Formula One these days, completely different sport. That will never change unfortunately.

dmc1875
18-01-2016, 05:28 PM
The thing that got me today was the Jordan Rhodes story. Sheffield wednesday preparing a £12m bid. Absolutely mental. The championship now getting to that sort of level. Teams like Celtic have no hope.

18-01-2016, 05:29 PM
Preferred getting Haynes and Boateng on the same day Fulham were forking out £11m.

18-01-2016, 05:42 PM
I almost cacked my pants when Jim White said that Rangers, who were desperate to get out the Championship, had upped their offer to £3 million for a Peterborough player. He then went on to say Queens Park Rangers.

18-01-2016, 05:43 PM
Well anytime the transfer center comes on SSN , simply turn the channel off.. Simples..

I like a moan like everybody else. Hate Man City too. :greengrin

18-01-2016, 05:44 PM
I like a moan like everybody else. Hate Man City too. :greengrin

Why do you hate Man City ??

18-01-2016, 05:47 PM
Why do you hate Man City ??

I just do.

18-01-2016, 05:47 PM
The thing that got me today was the Jordan Rhodes story. Sheffield wednesday preparing a £12m bid. Absolutely mental. The championship now getting to that sort of level. Teams like Celtic have no hope.

Will be a strange move for him if it goes through. He'll have moved for over £20 million in recent years and still be nowhere near the Premiership

18-01-2016, 05:49 PM
I just do.

Any particular reason ??

United fan ??

18-01-2016, 05:51 PM
Any particular reason ??

United fan ??

No. I like Liverpool but not a fan. Only Hibs for me.

Don't take it personally. There's lots of teams I hate. :aok:

18-01-2016, 05:52 PM
Any particular reason ??

United fan ??

I don't know his reason but I used to hate them because they had some connection to Hearts many moons ago

Now it's because they're the plaything of a billionaire.

nellio
18-01-2016, 05:54 PM
Ross McCormack went for big money as well. Crazy all these championship players being sold for 8 figure sums.

18-01-2016, 05:56 PM
I don't know his reason but I used to hate them because they had some connection to Hearts many moons ago

Now it's because they're the plaything of a billionaire.

They also had a connection to Hibs many moons ago if you remember...

if that's your feelings then you must hate nearly every team going.

18-01-2016, 05:58 PM

Funny thing is, Celtic would sell Griffiths for that but the scouting is so poor even though the money they are spending is so huge. Griffiths ten times the player Rhodes is.

18-01-2016, 05:58 PM
No. I like Liverpool but not a fan. Only Hibs for me.

Don't take it personally. There's lots of teams I hate. :aok:

I won't take it personally no but I don't understand your logic.. I actually have a wee soft spot for Liverpool and I must admit part of me was gutted when Liverpool chucked the league away the other season..

18-01-2016, 06:06 PM
Clubs like Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen have suffered just as much as Rangers and Celtic because of the explosion of the EPL as a worldwide brand.

I worry where it will end up as the number of people I know, Scottish and Scotland based, who only follow English football is concerning. I follow Newcastle as a 2nd team and make a couple of games a season but the idea of not supporting a team in my home country is totally alien to me. I don't understand how you can build up proper feelings for a club you support through watching on TV every 3rd week in the pub.

Ken
18-01-2016, 06:11 PM
Get quite fed up listening to Sky TV reminding us that there's been £60m or £70m spent in the transfer window. 999999.99% of that total by English clubs mainly with Sky TV money. I like Bournemouth FC but a wee seaside toon being able to spend the amount they have in this window when we're all slavering over a loan deal until May for a guy who can't even get a game for Celtic doesn't lie well with me.

Rant over.

It's because of the number of people that subscribe to Sky Sports, BT etc...

18-01-2016, 06:15 PM

To them, that's their season ticket.

I can understand soft spots but not this full blown emotional investment.

I saw a banner at Anfield saying "we are Liverpool". A high percentage of people under it were probably nothing of the sort.

Ken
18-01-2016, 06:20 PM
I guess the argument is, would you subscribe to Sky Sports if the English Premier League wasn't included? I for one definitely wouldn't have it, as I mostly watch the EPL, with some Scottish/Spanish games.

I know 85%+ of my money is going to EPL clubs and that's probably fair

18-01-2016, 06:25 PM

I know. It's also because of the oil sheiks and other billionaires who throw their money at the English game and then treat the clubs like their toy. Spending millions on your average player.

Stopped subscribing to Sky and BT Sports years ago.

18-01-2016, 06:26 PM
Norwich have just splashed oot 17 million oan 2 players the now :Ummm:

Aye and we were in for one of them. Allegedly. 😜

Iceman1875
18-01-2016, 06:38 PM
Rhodes for £12m! Can't even get a game for Scotland!

I don't pay interest to the fees down south just the actual transfer of player between clubs as it's depressing [emoji15]

At Easter Road we play...

18-01-2016, 07:44 PM
I guess the argument is, would you subscribe to Sky Sports if the English Premier League wasn't included? I for one definitely wouldn't have it, as I mostly watch the EPL, with some Scottish/Spanish games.

I know 85%+ of my money is going to EPL clubs and that's probably fair

Yes, but then I watch a lot of rugby on it and this season I've seen very few Premiership games.

Ken
18-01-2016, 07:49 PM
Yes, but then I watch a lot of rugby on it and this season I've seen very few Premiership games.

They'll always be the exception and those people who have Sky Sports for sports other than football, but I can guarantee it's a small percentage and of those who do watch mostly football the EPL will be the most watched by far.

If Scottish football had the same demand we (the football clubs) would reap the rewards, unfortunately it's a million miles apart

18-01-2016, 07:57 PM
They'll always be the exception and those people who have Sky Sports for sports other than football, but I can guarantee it's a small percentage and of those who do watch mostly football the EPL will be the most watched by far.

If Scottish football had the same demand we (the football clubs) would reap the rewards, unfortunately it's a million miles apart

It's a chicken and egg situation for Scottish football. If the standard was higher then it would get more TV money because more people would watch it. But without the TV money it can't improve the standard to get more people watching.

I can't remember the last time I watched a Scottish game than didn't involve Hibs. Even then the standard isn't that great, but it's my team so I'll watch the whole game anyway. On the other hand I'll switch off a Premiership game if I'm not enjoying it.

18-01-2016, 08:04 PM
The commentators and the pundits especially Jamie carragher bore the life out of me. Martin Tyler has been doing it for too long they need to freshen it up big time for me

18-01-2016, 09:46 PM
It's a chicken and egg situation for Scottish football. If the standard was higher then it would get more TV money because more people would watch it. But without the TV money it can't improve the standard to get more people watching.

I can't remember the last time I watched a Scottish game than didn't involve Hibs. Even then the standard isn't that great, but it's my team so I'll watch the whole game anyway. On the other hand I'll switch off a Premiership game if I'm not enjoying it.

I'm the opposite, I enjoy the excitement of the Scottish game, not always the best quality but always decent games. Having a joke with a colleague the other week about which 0-0 championship English game we would be watching on the Friday night as they bore the life outta me! I watched the first half of Aberdeen county before leaving on Sunday, I watched both old firm games last weekend and the hearts game the night before, just because it is what I've been brought up with and what i enjoy! The English game is commercialised rubbish, overpaid pansies and the fact they still sell it as the 'best league in the world' is beyond me!

Ryan69
19-01-2016, 04:22 AM
They also had a connection to Hibs many moons ago if you remember...

if that's your feelings then you must hate nearly every team going.

What's wrong with hating Man City?
They have been an average English team for most of their existence that came across a sugarsdaddy. Most people only support them cause they win,and a large percentage of fans wouldn't even know the name of their old ground never mind find it if you dumped them in Manchester.

19-01-2016, 12:23 PM
What's wrong with hating Man City?
They have been an average English team for most of their existence that came across a sugarsdaddy. Most people only support them cause they win,and a large percentage of fans wouldn't even know the name of their old ground never mind find it if you dumped them in Manchester.

If you wanna hate Man City then fill your boots pal... If most people support them because they win then wouldn't that apply to every top team in the EPL ??