View Full Version : Your first Hibs game

15-01-2016, 08:25 PM
Apologies as this has probably been done thousands of times. But as a more recent fan and more recent reader of the site and an even more recent contributor to the site I thought I would post it.

Me?

Well it was the 5-2 win over Dundee in 1999. I was living in Reading at the time and a guy I worked with was Hibs mad so I went up north with him to watch the mighty Hibees and Hibs has been in my blood ever since (a 5-2 win to start obviously helps)

15-01-2016, 08:26 PM
3-1 win against Morton. Andy Goram scored.

15-01-2016, 08:27 PM
Alex raes testimonial

15-01-2016, 08:32 PM
I can't honestly remember but seem to have convinced myself it was against Partick Thistle in the early 80's. I thought it was goaless but there wasn't a 0-0 according to iHibs (http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game_search.php?game=game&opp=24&comp=0&ven=H&sfrom=34&sto=30&res=0&stype=g&s=0&atype=g&a=0&mtype=g&m=0&limit=10&order=0&submit=Search) so it might have been the 1982 game.

I was probably too busy running about the terracing to notice the goals :greengrin

15-01-2016, 08:34 PM
Late 70s v Clydebank at ER

15-01-2016, 08:35 PM
Hibs 4 Feyenoord 2. Midweek friendly. 1985

Ken Monkou & Johnny Rep played for Feyenoord

15-01-2016, 08:35 PM
Late 70s v Clydebank at ER

Younger readers now scratching head wondering who the hell they are :greengrin

15-01-2016, 08:36 PM
Got beat 0-3 by Livingstone. Season 04/05 I think. Mowbray was manager.

15-01-2016, 08:37 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PS7I8hCR9k8

It was this game from 1983. Great Hibs goal but abysmal defending to gift 3 goals against the best side in Europe that year (official).

15-01-2016, 08:38 PM
Younger readers now scratching head wondering who the hell they are :greengrin😄

15-01-2016, 08:38 PM
Inverness Thistle 1- Hibs 3 in a pre-season friendly in around 1983 or 84.

In the old Thistle Kingsmill Park. Can't remember too much about the game to be honest, apart from it being a lovery sunny afternoon,mid-week I think.

EDIT: We played Inverness Thistle on the 2nd August 1980. That must have been the game.

15-01-2016, 08:40 PM
Nil nil draw v aberdeen at easter road 28 years ago this week.

15-01-2016, 08:41 PM
Not sure first game but remember my first away game 6-5 against Dunfermline at east end park

Simkin911
15-01-2016, 08:44 PM
Hibs 0 St Midden 4. 1985.
McGarvey & McAvennie amongst the goals. And yet I still returned.....

Cheshire Hibby
15-01-2016, 08:44 PM
1971 Scottish Cup semi at Hampden 0-0 v Old Rangers

15-01-2016, 08:46 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PS7I8hCR9k8

It was this game from 1983. Great Hibs goal but abysmal defending to gift 3 goals against the best side in Europe that year (official).

That's a 1980's pitch alright :greengrin

Andy Watson scoring for Aberdeen, later pulled on the green for a short spell. Had hair in that clip though!

15-01-2016, 08:46 PM
I started going to Hibs games when I was about 3 so honestly can't remember. Sometime in the late 80s or very early 1990.

First time I have a real memory of being at ER was a Hand of Hibs rally with my Mum, Dad and Grandad. I do remember being at games before that but don't remember opponents etc. Can still remember moments of that day though.

15-01-2016, 08:48 PM
Sept 1970 0-0 versus Hearts

Sent via the bushes @ EM

Hibs v Dundee in 1985. I remember the last game of that season against Dundee Utd really well :greengrin

Blackfordhibby
26 August 1964 Dunfermline at ER 1-1 draw Scottish League cup preliminary round.

15-01-2016, 08:49 PM
Hibs 0-0 Hamilton either 98 or 99.

Came out of the ground asking my dad why everyone was calling the referee a wonky! 😂

15-01-2016, 08:50 PM
St Johnstone at home I think. I'm sure we won 3-2 with Alan Gordon hat trick. 1969 or 1970. My granddad took me

15-01-2016, 08:52 PM
St Johnstone at home I think. I'm sure we won 3-2 with Alan Gordon hat trick. 1969 or 1970. My granddad took me

iHibs is a great site for stats. No 3-2 game around that time but Joe McBride got a hat-trick in one match.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game_search.php?game=game&opp=2&comp=0&ven=0&sfrom=45&sto=42&res=0&stype=g&s=0&atype=g&a=0&mtype=g&m=0&limit=10&order=0&submit=Search

15-01-2016, 08:55 PM
I was only 6 or 7 years old so it's hazy. I can vividly remember one thing tho, I was upset because my grandad explained that although we scored 3 goals we only got 2 points 😂

15-01-2016, 08:57 PM
Hibs 3-0 Dunbarton Cup game Feb,1988.

15-01-2016, 09:01 PM
Apologies as this has probably been done thousands of times. But as a more recent fan and more recent reader of the site and an even more recent contributor to the site I thought I would post it.

Me?

Well it was the 5-2 win over Dundee in 1999. I was living in Reading at the time and a guy I worked with was Hibs mad so I went up north with him to watch the mighty Hibees and Hibs has been in my blood ever since (a 5-2 win to start obviously helps)
You are correct in saying this topic has been done to death, this is the 63rd time I have seen it on here in the last 10 years or so, could be worse, it's been done 428 times on the bounce with the same 10 folk giving the same answers each time, I have memorised the first game of every single poster on every Hibs forum, apart from Sergey, I can't remember if his first game was Rayleigh Rovers or Eastbourne Ramblers. Anyway, I remember your first game well, a cracker, Dundee were full of good Italians that they couldn't afford and I think they took an early lead through Ravenelli or Cabellero or some such exotic type, then Didier Agathe took over, we were all a bit clueless about him as he had recently arrived from Raith Rovers for a bag of crisps and a mitre size 4 training ball. He destroyed Dundee and my stand out memory is a surging run and goal which probably sealed his move away from Hibs, it was so good it deserved Champions League football and he was off to Celtic after a couple of months where he carved out a very decent career. No wonder you were hooked. My own first game was a pre season friendly versus Middlesboro in 1971. Joe Baker, white boots comeback, Nobby Styles blah blah blah, done this too many times.

15-01-2016, 09:04 PM
Can't remember 1st game.....would be with my dad in early 70's. One of my earliest memories though was standing roughly where McD's in Corstorphine is watching the 72 cup winning team drive through with the cup. I was 6. Strangely though don't remember anything about the 0-7 weeks later.

15-01-2016, 09:05 PM
Tbh I'd rather read about peoples memories of and sentimental attachments to games gone by than read arguments about who is and isn't 'in the know'.

The nore threads like this with peoples stories of how they came to be Hibbies and memories of days gone by the better imo.

15-01-2016, 09:05 PM
You are correct in saying this topic has been done to death, this is the 63rd time I have seen it on here in the last 10 years or so, could be worse, it's been done 428 times on the bounce with the same 10 folk giving the same answers each time, I have memorised the first game of every single poster on every Hibs forum, apart from Sergey, I can't remember if his first game was Rayleigh Rovers or Eastbourne Ramblers. Anyway, I remember your first game well, a cracker, Dundee were full of good Italians that they couldn't afford and I think they took an early lead through Ravenelli or Cabellero or some such exotic type, then Didier Agathe took over, we were all a bit clueless about him as he had recently arrived from Raith Rovers for a bag of crisps and a mitre size 4 training ball. He destroyed Dundee and my stand out memory is a surging run and goal which probably sealed his move away from Hibs, it was so good it deserved Champions League football and he was off to Celtic after a couple of months where he carved out a very decent career. No wonder you were hooked. My own first game was a pre season friendly versus Middlesboro in 1971. Joe Baker, white boots comeback, Nobby Styles blah blah blah, done this too many times.

It was a great goal and he was some player but I'd have better memories of him if he hadn't fell over the long grass or his shoes laces or whatever when he missed an open goal against the Yams. Or am I making that up :confused:

15-01-2016, 09:09 PM
1967 Hibs 2 Dundee 1

15-01-2016, 09:10 PM
It was a great goal and he was some player but I'd have better memories of him if he hadn't fell over the long grass or his shoes laces or whatever when he missed an open goal against the Yams. Or am I making that up :confused:

1st game of that season, 0-0.

Open goal and it was cleared 'off the line' but it was lucky if it was even making the line he ****ed it so badly.

15-01-2016, 09:12 PM
1st game of that season, 0-0.

Open goal and it was cleared 'off the line' but it was lucky if it was even making the line he ****ed it so badly.

That's the one. It didn't have the power to get over the line :grr:

15-01-2016, 09:12 PM
I know it was late sixties and a European game it wasn't a great game and we may have scored a scrappy goal late on to win But I remember the Train journey through and walking to Easter road more than the game itself . Sat in the old main stand ,and it It was the only game my Father ever took me to .

Pinkie
15-01-2016, 09:18 PM
Hibs 3 Motherwell 2. 1988 or 1989. Houchen, Weir and Collins scored. Both sets of fans singing before kick-off (I think - maybe a bit rose-tinted memory that one). Davie Cooper getting it tight from the fans all game, and giving plenty back too.

Hooked on Hibs from that game onwards.

15-01-2016, 09:57 PM
Hibs vs Aberdeen, Easter road, hibs won 3-1 I think, 2000?

rotherhamrob
15-01-2016, 10:08 PM
I can't remember anything about my 1st game except that it was away, I can however remember my 2nd game, it was a 9-2 win against st johnstone, been hooked since.

15-01-2016, 10:37 PM
21/10/78 1-1 draw with Dundee Utd are ER.

15-01-2016, 10:45 PM
Home game against Aberdeen early in season 90/91. Mate from school was an Aberdeen fan, and I think we drew.

15-01-2016, 10:56 PM
October 1962 - Hibs 2 - Dundee 2 @ ER

I was 4 and the old man took me. Stood on the upper part of the old east terracing aisle 5, which became my favourite spot in years to come.

Often wondered why my dad took me to that game. He never said at the time and don't recall him saying over the years. But recently I realised (and confirmed) that Gordon Smith was playing for Dundee that day. He was my dad's favourite player, having seen him many times as part of The Famous Five team in the late 40s / early 50s and I guess he just wanted to see him one more time before he hung up his boots.

I now feel privileged to say I have seen one of the greatest Hibs players of all time, even though I didn't realise it at the time.

15-01-2016, 10:56 PM
First I can properly remember was against Meadowbank in 79 or 80..,...Ally McLeod became my hero - such an under rated player and I do wish we acknowledged him a bit more in this era.

mikewynne
16-01-2016, 03:53 AM
I can't remember anything about my 1st game except that it was away, I can however remember my 2nd game, it was a 9-2 win against st johnstone, been hooked since.

St Jonstone 9-2 game in the mid-1970's was my first game. I was about 3ft tall, on the east terracing so couldn't see the pitch and didn't know what the hell was going on so relied on my dad for updates (he lost count of the score), chaos but it was so much fun!! We went home celebrating a 10-1 win. :)

AZhibee
16-01-2016, 05:13 AM
4-0 win over Chelsea
August 5, 1986
Easter Road
Friendly

16-01-2016, 05:42 AM
My first game was Skol cup final 91, did anyone else go? :greengrin

Good way to start I reckon? I was quite young but actually remember the game. Funny enough I don't remember how we got to Scotland but was on a coach from Edinburgh to game.

16-01-2016, 06:40 AM
Hibs 0, Aberdeen 5.

Must have been about 1984. I have this very vague memory of standing on the old East terracing before it was halved.

When did that happen / a roof go on it?

16-01-2016, 06:41 AM
What I do remember us someone getting run over on Easter Road near the Sunnyside street entrance.

16-01-2016, 06:44 AM
10th March 1979. Scottish Cup Quarter Final

Hibs 2 - 1 Hearts

Att: 22,618

16-01-2016, 06:45 AM
Hibs 0, Aberdeen 5.

Must have been about 1984. I have this very vague memory of standing on the old East terracing before it was halved.

When did that happen / a roof go on it?

We lost 5 -0 at home to Aberdeen in 1980. That was the day they won the league and the season we were relegated

Could it have been that one?

16-01-2016, 06:56 AM
We played Dundee and either drew 2-2 or won 2-0/2-1. Would have been the mid-eighties. Remember being in the old family enclosure bit of what used to be the south stand, but is now the west.

16-01-2016, 06:58 AM
We lost 5 -0 at home to Aberdeen in 1980. That was the day they won the league and the season we were relegated

Could it have been that one?

Not that one mate. Would have just had my first birthday! It's this one!

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=1305

16-01-2016, 06:59 AM

16-01-2016, 07:13 AM
A 2-1 defeat from the yams at ER in the early nineties.

16-01-2016, 07:16 AM
Not that one mate. Would have just had my first birthday! It's this one!

OK, maybe a bit young for that game then

16-01-2016, 07:52 AM

I don't think we signed Alan Gordon until 1972. As someone else said, it was probably Joe McBride. An easy mistake to make as a slim guy with blonde hair, can easily be mistaken for an overweight guy with dark hair. :wink:

As for my first game.........It was in 1962 but i've no idea who we were playing. I'll never forget the feeling of climbing those steps though, then reaching the top and seeing the huge terracings for the very first time.

Things go in circles though.........I was out of breath by the time i climbed those stairs as a young lad for the first time, and i get out of breath when i climb those ******' steps in the east stand now too. :greengrin

ACLeith
16-01-2016, 08:39 AM
I was told growing up that the first game I attended was when I was 2YO. I can picture my mother saying to my dad "You are only going to the game if you take YOUR brat with you who won't sleep at night, so I can have some shut-eye this afternoon". My dad told me I fell asleep as the teams came out and wakened up as we were leaving the ground! Must have been a riveting game :greengrin

I started going 1956-7, don't know if it was my first game, but I have a dog-eared programme from 6th October 1956, match v Queen's Park, finished 1-1. Our team (2-3-5 in them days!) was Wren; Grant, Muir; Higgins, Paterson, Combe; Smith, Turnbull, Reilly, Harrower and Ormond. Or at least that's what my dog-eared programme says!

John Fraser was due to play number 7, but replaced by Gordon Smith. I read not that long ago that this was his first game back after a broken leg.

16-01-2016, 08:43 AM
4/11/67 v Stirling Albion 1-4 is the first game I can remember

E10 Rifle
16-01-2016, 10:27 AM
Hibs v Oesters 1976 UEFA Cup. Like a previous poster I spent most of the time running round the terracing but what I do remember is walking up the stairs of the old East Terrace for what seemed like forever and when I got over the top seeing the green and white strips warming up on the pitch, under the floodlights, and it just looked magical. I had a new shiny (not knitted) Hibs scarf and green and white bobble hat that had been bought for me. Simply being there, in that new and exciting environment, with a whole lot of other people in green and white scarves beside you, shouting, cheering, smoking, swearing, drinking, buying macaroons and programmes was so amazing.

I still enjoy evening fixtures above the others for that very reason, floodlights and the green and white on the pitch. I think the experience is more plastic for kids nowadays but now I sound like an old duffer.

Every time I walk up St Clair Street and see the stadium (particularly at night with the floodlights on) it reminds me of my grandfather who took me to that first game and many afterwards. I now tell my 7 year the same story as we walk up that road towards the ground and I start getting sentimental and he says...'Yeh I know dad, you told me that last time!' :rolleyes:

16-01-2016, 10:35 AM
Hibs v Oesters 1976 UEFA Cup. Like a previous poster I spent most of the time running round the terracing but what I do remember is walking up the stairs of the old East Terrace for what seemed like forever and when I got over the top seeing the green and white strips warming up on the pitch, under the floodlights, and it just looked magical. I had a new shiny (not knitted) Hibs scarf and green and white bobble hat that had been bought for me. Simply being there, in that new and exciting environment, with a whole lot of other people in green and white scarves beside you, shouting, cheering, smoking, swearing, drinking, buying macaroons and programmes was so amazing.

I still enjoy evening fixtures above the others for that very reason, floodlights and the green and white on the pitch. I think the experience is more plastic for kids nowadays but now I sound like an old duffer.

Every time I walk up St Clair Street and see the stadium (particularly at night with the floodlights on) it reminds me of my grandfather who took me to that first game and many afterwards. I now tell my 7 year the same story as we walk up that road towards the ground and I start getting sentimental and he says...'Yeh I know dad, you told me that last time!' :rolleyes:
Great post :top marks

Drumlanrig
16-01-2016, 10:51 AM
Hibs vs Raith Rovers at Easter Road in September 1967

Hibs 3 Raith Rovers 0

Peter Cormack and Colin Stein scored I think, can't remember who else!

My dad took me along and been hooked ever since!

I even remember the music blasting out over the PA. Concrete and Clay by Unit 4 plus 2!

Seems like just yesterday!!

16-01-2016, 10:58 AM
Aug 1962 St Mirren v Hibs 1-1 ( Gerry Baker)
My dad was a rugby man so I was brought up watching Gala during the 50s but he relented and took me up by train to watch this game while on holiday in Ayr.

16-01-2016, 10:59 AM
Hamilton, November 1965, 11-1, the only goal that I remember was the Hamilton one, which came off the crossbar hit the Hibs keeper [Willie Wilson I think] the back and went in.

Mcpakeisgod
16-01-2016, 11:04 AM
I just remember being really young, Jamie mccluskeys debut v Dundee I think

rotherhamrob
16-01-2016, 11:39 AM
St Jonstone 9-2 game in the mid-1970's was my first game. I was about 3ft tall, on the east terracing so couldn't see the pitch and didn't know what the hell was going on so relied on my dad for updates (he lost count of the score), chaos but it was so much fun!! We went home celebrating a 10-1 win. :)

Aye I remember every time we scored running up to the back to ask my uncle who it was that scored, many happy memories, it wasn't just the game but going to the hibs club for juice and crisps then a pie supper going home.
I'm just glad my uncle james was a hibby as he was brought up in gorgie .

j'adore hibs
16-01-2016, 11:52 AM

16-01-2016, 11:58 AM
84 or 85? 2-2 at tynie with super Joe McBride getting two late goals. Fell in love with the cabbage after that match.

16-01-2016, 12:02 PM
Clyde at home in the cup 93 I think

16-01-2016, 12:04 PM
Hibs 0-0 Kilmarnock, May 14, 1994.

Killie needed a point to avoid relegation. They brought through over 6,000 fans - searching match reports reveals that there was only 9,971 at the so must have been around 3,500 Hibs fans.

Tommy Burns was player-coach for Kilmarnock - his last game before becoming Celtic boss about 3 weeks later - and all I really remember is spilling tea on myself and Kevin McAllister playing well. Think Killie might have scored a goal that was ruled out for offside. Terracing at the Dunbar End looked massive to a six-year-old me and was just a sea of blue and white.

Hibs: Leighton, Miller, Mitchell, Love, McIntyre, C Jackson, Evans, D Jackson, Wright, Hamilton., McAllister.

Killie: Geddes, McPherson, Black, Montgomerie, Burns, Millen, Mitchell, Reilley, Brown, McKluskey, McSkimming.

James.
16-01-2016, 12:12 PM
24th September 1994. Celtic 2 Hibs 0. Pretty much setting the tone for the next two decades :greengrin

Back when Celtic Park was being redeveloped, the game was at Hampden. All I can remember is we wore the purple and green striped strips - still one of my favourite tops 21 years later.

Celtic 2

Marshall, Galloway, McNally, Mowbray, Boyd, McGinlay, Grant, O'Donnell, Collins, Nicholas, Walker
Subs Donnelly (Walker 57), O'Neil (Nicholas 70), Bonner
Scorers O'Donnell 12, Collins 53

Hibernian 0

Leighton, Miller, Hunter, Tweed, Love, O'Neill, Hamilton, Farrell, Findlay, Jackson, Harper
Subs McAllister (O'Neill 75), Evans (Findlay 75), Reid

Nemo
16-01-2016, 08:50 PM
October 1981

Hibernian v San jose earthquakes with George Best appearing for San Jose

on a very very cold night at easter road

was only 8 years old, can't remember a thing apart from aw these big men stamping their feet on the terracing trying to stay warm

cause it was a bitterly cold night.

More poignantly for me was my Dad used to play for the Jambos and all the family were Jambos( I Grew up in Gorgie) and he HATED the Hibees but took me along anyway because i was a hibee

somehow i had absolutely no interest in Hearts, and from the earliest memories, i have always had Hibs in ma heart, cool eh!

Groathillgrump
16-01-2016, 09:27 PM
19th September 1970, Hibs v Celtic. Hibs won 2-0

I was eight years old and I believe it was Tom Hart's first game after he became Chairman.

tanfield
16-01-2016, 09:32 PM
Pat Stanton's Testimonial. Remember being awfae excited that Roughie was playing in goals for Hibs!

16-01-2016, 09:44 PM

I was eight years old and I believe it was Tom Hart's first game after he became Chairman.

It was and Joe McBride scored both goals.

16-01-2016, 09:44 PM
1960. A 4-0 home victory v Kilmarnock. God bless my late Dad but he's got a lot to answer for, imagine introducing me to Hibernian FC!

16-01-2016, 09:56 PM
Hibs 0-0 Kilmarnock, May 14, 1994.

Killie needed a point to avoid relegation. They brought through over 6,000 fans - searching match reports reveals that there was only 9,971 at the so must have been around 3,500 Hibs fans.

Tommy Burns was player-coach for Kilmarnock - his last game before becoming Celtic boss about 3 weeks later - and all I really remember is spilling tea on myself and Kevin McAllister playing well. Think Killie might have scored a goal that was ruled out for offside. Terracing at the Dunbar End looked massive to a six-year-old me and was just a sea of blue and white.

Hibs: Leighton, Miller, Mitchell, Love, McIntyre, C Jackson, Evans, D Jackson, Wright, Hamilton., McAllister.

Killie: Geddes, McPherson, Black, Montgomerie, Burns, Millen, Mitchell, Reilley, Brown, McKluskey, McSkimming.Wasn`t at this game and don`t even remember reading about it . Have been to several Spanish games in similar situations where team needing point(s) get it in matches with almost no shots on goal . Was this game like that ? No Hibs attacks and both teams happy with draw . In Spain it`d be assumed that players of team with no relegation worries shouldn`t bother too much or worse .

16-01-2016, 10:01 PM

I was eight years old and I believe it was Tom Hart's first game after he became Chairman.I was 10 and one of the goals Joe McBride senior scored that day is still the best goal I`ve seen . That was the season of our last Scottish Cup meeting with Hearts at Tynecastle so hopefully we can repeat win at Tynecastle and beat Celtic again in later round .

E10 Rifle
16-01-2016, 10:09 PM
Pat Stanton's Testimonial. Remember being awfae excited that Roughie was playing in goals for Hibs!

Do you remember the Celtic fans refusing to give the ball back and nicking the policeman's helmet who went in to retrieve it?

16-01-2016, 10:16 PM
Do you remember the Celtic fans refusing to give the ball back and nicking the policeman's helmet who went in to retrieve it?

At Pats testimonial I'd heard a story of a Republican band playing on the park at half time but others have said it didn't happen. What's the story there? Is there one?

16-01-2016, 10:20 PM
At Pats testimonial I'd heard a story of a Republican band playing on the park at half time but others have said it didn't happen. What's the story there? Is there one?

It's late, but I think there was. Let's just say it didn't please everybody.

16-01-2016, 10:23 PM
Hibernian 3 Raith 0 on 2nd January of 1968 or 1969 probably latter since I think we`d drawn at Tynecastle the day before and New Year Derbies were at Tynecastle in odd years until Hearts started to be relegated in mid 70s . In those days it was normal to play 2 games in 2 days at New Year . Remember thinking left winger Eric Stevenson and goalie Thomson Allan were great .

16-01-2016, 10:29 PM
1966 or thereabouts. 6-0 home win against Stirling Albion.

17-01-2016, 12:04 AM
At Pats testimonial I'd heard a story of a Republican band playing on the park at half time but others have said it didn't happen. What's the story there? Is there one?A story if people want to call it that . I was in terracing at corner at what is now Famous Five Stand . Crowd was about 25000 with about 5000 Celtic fans in Dunbar End and rest of ER Hibernian or neutral with a very friendly atmosphere . My memory is of Irish flute band playing at Dunbar End at half time and then getting flak for not playing at Hibs end too and getting cheered by Hibernian support when they did move down to bottom of the slope. Some Hibs fans at the time mght have got upset but very few ( everyone was there to celebrate a Hibernian legend , including Celtic fans who knew he was ( and still is ) Mr Hibernian FC . Important to remember that it was a testimonial game that was not organised by Hibs but attracted thousands of Hibs fans . In my case , I remember Pat`s testimonial as one of the big occasions of being a Hibernian supporter and enjoyed the music that day

JJP
17-01-2016, 12:17 AM
2 - 0 loss in the Scottish Cup to Kilmarnock in January 1996.

17-01-2016, 12:34 AM
73 or 74 at Easter Road v Dundee. I'm pretty sure Alan Gordon scored for Dundee in the first half and Paddy Stanton equalised early in the second half - I think we went on to win the game 2-1, but I may be getting confused with my second game where we humped St Johnstone 5-1.

17-01-2016, 01:00 AM
2006 Scottish Cup semi final. We'll say no more.

17-01-2016, 02:16 AM
My older cousins started taking me when I was six. 1979-80 season. We used to get the bus from Bruntsfield to ER and it felt the best thing in the world to be sitting upstairs in the front seats with a Hibs scarf on :greengrin

Not sure if it was my first game but I remember us beating Morton, though what I do remember is their goal - it was the proverbial scorer turning on a sixpence.

We stood roughly where the FF and East would meet. My abiding memory is simply how cold it would be. You had that open exposed view to Arthur's Seat then, and the cold would just come in and hit you, painfully.

Other memories are the steps and IIRC leaving the game you saw guys jumping or reaching up to smack the boarding above the gates as we exited.

Rodsterino
17-01-2016, 05:41 AM
1972 SC Final. Ouch.

17-01-2016, 08:05 AM
4/11/67 v Stirling Albion 1-4 is the first game I can remember

This is the game that just before I decided I was fed up with the Binos being relegated so I was a Hibs supporter. Says it all I guess. I got a fair bit of abuse for a wee 11 year old for that game.😁

17-01-2016, 08:11 AM
Versus Celtic at ER.

0-2. I want to say McAvennie and Walker scored but I have a feeling it could have been someone else.

Think it was 87.

Infact, I'm going off to check out exactly when and who!

E10 Rifle
17-01-2016, 08:19 AM
A story if people want to call it that . I was in terracing at corner at what is now Famous Five Stand . Crowd was about 25000 with about 5000 Celtic fans in Dunbar End and rest of ER Hibernian or neutral with a very friendly atmosphere . My memory is of Irish flute band playing at Dunbar End at half time and then getting flak for not playing at Hibs end too and getting cheered by Hibernian support when they did move down to bottom of the slope. Some Hibs fans at the time mght have got upset but very few ( everyone was there to celebrate a Hibernian legend , including Celtic fans who knew he was ( and still is ) Mr Hibernian FC . Important to remember that it was a testimonial game that was not organised by Hibs but attracted thousands of Hibs fans . In my case , I remember Pat`s testimonial as one of the big occasions of being a Hibernian supporter and enjoyed the music that day

I was very excited about the prospect of Dalgleish playing but he didn't turn up or it was just a rumour that did the rounds. In looking it up (as I was 8 and don't remember a lot) Joe Jordan scored for us. I remember the Tommy Gemmell cameo though, although not knowing who he was I wondered why someones grandad was on the pitch!

17-01-2016, 08:26 AM
Wasn`t at this game and don`t even remember reading about it . Have been to several Spanish games in similar situations where team needing point(s) get it in matches with almost no shots on goal . Was this game like that ? No Hibs attacks and both teams happy with draw . In Spain it`d be assumed that players of team with no relegation worries shouldn`t bother too much or worse .

Hibs finished comfortably 5th that season. I don't really remember much as I was just 6 but I don't think it was like how you describe. Others may be better placed to give a definitive response though!

17-01-2016, 08:32 AM
25th Sept 1991 - that cross, that header.... Hibs 1-0 Rangers - Skol cup semi!

17-01-2016, 08:36 AM
Hibs finished comfortably 5th that season. I don't really remember much as I was just 6 but I don't think it was like how you describe. Others may be better placed to give a definitive response though!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BsuouIM11zE&feature=youtu.be

East was getting redone hence small Hibs crowd.

H18S NX
17-01-2016, 08:44 AM
Third lanark away at cathkin park 1957,i was at ER before that wi ma dad,but don't really remember.

17-01-2016, 09:47 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BsuouIM11zE&feature=youtu.be

East was getting redone hence small Hibs crowd.

Ah, that explains it. :aok:

Jim Herriot
17-01-2016, 10:57 AM
Hibs 4 Celtc 4, 4/9/85. Won on penalties apparently. Not many specific memories but loved it.
(Bit confused as I thought it was in the league but fitbastats says otherwise.)

Edina Street
21-02-2023, 10:27 PM
Hibernian 4-1 Clydebank. 14/02/1987. Scottish Premier Division.

I had actually been to Easter Road a couple of times before. I have vague memories of sitting in the cowshed with my father during what I think was a 3-1 victory against someone. I have another memory of sitting in the stand with my grandfather during a friendly match against a team that played in white that I think we beat 4-1. There must have been something special about this friendly match because my grandfather whom claimed to have started watching Hibs in the 1920s had long since retired from going to matches. But the match against Clydebank is the first one I remember vividly and could actually tell you about. I was nine years old and went to the game with my father and his friends. We stood in the Old East Terracing and Hibs went in at half-time 0-1 down, but came out in the second half shooting down the slope and scored four goals. We got beat one week later in the Scottish Cup 0-1 at Clydebank, though I was not present at that game, I do remember listening to it on the radio.

21-02-2023, 10:48 PM
Scott brown's debut for hibs vs Dundee united we won 2-1

Donegal Hibby
21-02-2023, 11:20 PM
My first Hibs game I don't remember that much about now , it was at Love street and I think Gordon durie might have been in the Hibs team , Alex Miller was st mirren manager and I think he might have got sent to the stand , he was appointed Hibs manager shortly afterwards . Anyone remember that game?

22-02-2023, 12:39 AM
I don't think we signed Alan Gordon until 1972. As someone else said, it was probably Joe McBride. An easy mistake to make as a slim guy with blonde hair, can easily be mistaken for an overweight guy with dark hair. :wink:

As for my first game.........It was in 1962 but i've no idea who we were playing. I'll never forget the feeling of climbing those steps though, then reaching the top and seeing the huge terracings for the very first time.

Things go in circles though.........I was out of breath by the time i climbed those stairs as a young lad for the first time, and i get out of breath when i climb those ******' steps in the east stand now too. :greengrin

My wee brother is a year younger than me so probably went to his first game in 62. My dad told me fifty years ago that my first game was an East of Scotland Shield Derby versus the Hearts in 1961 which we won 4-3.

I was a tall 4 year old back then but still had to haud onto my dad's coat when walking past Abbeyhill and the Bothwell Street Bridge as we walked from the Dumbiedykes to Easter Road.

That brother of mine would never have made it up to the seats my sons and I stood in at the Killie game. Row JJ, the very back row of S43 in the East. The rake is steeper there than the old East terracing that we played on during half-time as kids.

Trinity Hibee
22-02-2023, 05:50 AM
Lost 2-0 to Falkirk in 1995. Was a Wednesday 5pm kick off due to new stands being developed. Think it was a defeat that stopped us getting 2nd. Also think Kenny Mclean ex chairman had just passed away as remember him on front of programme

Silversand
22-02-2023, 06:12 AM
1979 Scottish Cup semi final v Aberdeen, Hampden, 2-1 Hibs [emoji106]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

22-02-2023, 06:53 AM
Hibs 1 v 1 Leeds United 1968

As soon as I saw the Hibs running out with their strips green with long white sleeves reflecting off the drenched floodlighting in front of 40000 fans I was hooked

Even more so when Colin Stein squared the tie on the night within minutes with a fine lob from an acute angle over Gary Sprake

Hibs would go on to concede a late controversial goal to begin 55 years of frustration following the Cabbage

I would not change a thing

Chorley Hibee
22-02-2023, 06:54 AM
14th November 1987, Hibs beat Motherwell 1-0 at Easter Road with a Paul Kane goal.

Livingston away will be my 1000th game.

DIXIHIBS
22-02-2023, 07:18 AM
Hibs v airdrie 1967 apparently but i was only 4 so cant remember a thing😁😁

Green Man
22-02-2023, 07:23 AM
My first Hibs game was a pre season friendly in 1987, Kelso United 0 Hibs 6. My mum’s side of the family is from Kelso, and Hibs happened to be playing when we were down there visiting, so I went with my dad and cousins. Full of enthusiasm, I went to my first home game a couple of weeks later where we lost 4-0 to Dundee. I can’t remember anything about the game but did see a fight in the street afterwards.

bythecringe
22-02-2023, 07:43 AM
28 November 1959 Hibs 3 Stirling 1
Don’t remember much about the game but I’m sure Joe Baker was playing. The floodlights came on at half time and it was like electric sunshine on Leith. Had me hooked from then on.
Incredibly the attendance was shown as 14,000

Bobo
22-02-2023, 07:52 AM
Dunfermline, 1967, 2-0 home win.

I remember more about getting a lift over and then climbing up the steps of the old East Terraces, before seeing the crowd and the pitch, than I do of the game to be honest.

22-02-2023, 08:03 AM
2-1 loss to Utd in May 1998.

Don’t remember a thing.

Hillsidehibby
22-02-2023, 08:08 AM
1968 v Falkirk. 2-0 down then a Joe Davis penalty and 2 from Peter Cormack for the win. Was only 8 but still remember it

22-02-2023, 08:16 AM
Hibs v Bolton pre season friendly 1963 a 2-0 win I think, just recently bought the programme 👍💚

22-02-2023, 09:03 AM
Feb 23 1974. 2-4 v celtic at ER. Over 48K at the game, I was in the old North Stand. Can't remember much about the game but I do remember walking back after the game with my Hibs scarf held above my head and a huge celtic fan saying to me " proud of your team today wee man?" Funny how you remember things like that. 2nd in the league that year, played Leeds in Europe. How times change. Hope we can see days like those again

22-02-2023, 09:29 AM
April 3rd 1963 Hibs v Valencia in Inter-Cities Fairs Cup.

22-02-2023, 09:32 AM
I was 7 years old and thought it was going to be like this every time…Taken from Scotsman Archive, it’s a nice wee wander down memory lane for a fair few of us I imagine:

Classic Match: Hibs 9, St Johnstone 2: Aug 28, 1976
Lindsay Muir hit a brace as Hibs put Saints to the sword in this goal feast

By The Newsroom
HIBS hit the goal trail with a vengeance when St Johnstone were blasted by a second-half goal rush. Five goals came in 12 minutes after the interval with young Lindsay Muir stepping in for a quick double.

It was Muir who provided the first flash of excitement for Hibs. He took a return pass from Arthur Duncan and blasted a 25-yarder against the crossbar. The ball bounced high into the air and the wind almost carried it into the net and Robertson had to make a frantic dive to prevent a goal.
It wasn't all Hibs, though. McGregor had a good try blocked for Saints and then he found Hibs' defence was easily split in a one-two move with the man who would later become synonymous with the hot seat at Partick Thistle – not to mention pigeons – John Lambie.
In 33 minutes Duncan sent a low corner towards John Blackley, who turned the ball further into the middle for Macleod to open Hibs' account.
The second goal arrived in 42 minutes. MacLeod moved to collect a Duncan pass when Taylor intervened and handled the ball. The referee gave a penalty which Brownlie swept past Robertson.
Hibs hit struggling Saints with three goals in the first six minutes of the second half. This sequence began in 48 minutes when Fyfe was hauled down by Thomson in the box. Brownlie scored his own second goal from the spot.
Two minutes later, Bremner collected a Blackley pass and sent a raging right-footer past Robertson from the edge of the box.
Hibs made it five in 51 minutes when Scott put his name on the scoresheet after Smith had carelessly lofted the ball into the air for Hibs' centre to volley a fierce one into the net.
The goal-spree continued at the other end, for slack work by Brownlie led to Sellars lobbing a St Johnstone goal in 54 minutes.
St Johnstone were totally outclassed and Hibs banged in two more goals within a minute on the hour. A fast cross from MacLeod on the right was headed back into the middle by Duncan and Muir finished it off. Only seconds later, another Duncan cross provided Muir with his own second goal and Hibs' seventh. Although Hibs were well on top, the defence had a sloppy appearance as St Johnstone grabbed a second goal in 71 minutes.

From a Lambie corner on the right, Sellars nodded the ball into the middle and Thomson headed home.

At least there was value for money in terms of goals, and Hibs went 8-2 in front with 15 minutes to go. It was one of the best in the game with Brownlie and Scott setting it up for Macleod.

Duncan shot a ninth goal for Hibs with four minutes left.

Hibs: McDonald, Brownlie, Smith, Bremner, Stewart, Blackley, Fyfe, MacLeod, Scott, Muir, Duncan. Subs: Stanton, McGhee.

St Johnstone: D Robertson, McKay, McBean, Taylor, Rankin, Smith, V Robertson, Lambie, McGregor, Thomson, Sellars. Subs: Hamilton, Robson.

Referee: KJ Hope, Glasgow.

Attendance: 6000.

22-02-2023, 09:40 AM
I was 7 years old and thought it was going to be like this every time…Taken from Scotsman Archive, it’s a nice wee wander down memory lane for a fair few of us I imagine:

By The Newsroom
HIBS hit the goal trail with a vengeance when St Johnstone were blasted by a second-half goal rush. Five goals came in 12 minutes after the interval with young Lindsay Muir stepping in for a quick double.

It was Muir who provided the first flash of excitement for Hibs. He took a return pass from Arthur Duncan and blasted a 25-yarder against the crossbar. The ball bounced high into the air and the wind almost carried it into the net and Robertson had to make a frantic dive to prevent a goal.
It wasn't all Hibs, though. McGregor had a good try blocked for Saints and then he found Hibs' defence was easily split in a one-two move with the man who would later become synonymous with the hot seat at Partick Thistle – not to mention pigeons – John Lambie.
In 33 minutes Duncan sent a low corner towards John Blackley, who turned the ball further into the middle for Macleod to open Hibs' account.
The second goal arrived in 42 minutes. MacLeod moved to collect a Duncan pass when Taylor intervened and handled the ball. The referee gave a penalty which Brownlie swept past Robertson.
Hibs hit struggling Saints with three goals in the first six minutes of the second half. This sequence began in 48 minutes when Fyfe was hauled down by Thomson in the box. Brownlie scored his own second goal from the spot.
Two minutes later, Bremner collected a Blackley pass and sent a raging right-footer past Robertson from the edge of the box.
Hibs made it five in 51 minutes when Scott put his name on the scoresheet after Smith had carelessly lofted the ball into the air for Hibs' centre to volley a fierce one into the net.
The goal-spree continued at the other end, for slack work by Brownlie led to Sellars lobbing a St Johnstone goal in 54 minutes.
St Johnstone were totally outclassed and Hibs banged in two more goals within a minute on the hour. A fast cross from MacLeod on the right was headed back into the middle by Duncan and Muir finished it off. Only seconds later, another Duncan cross provided Muir with his own second goal and Hibs' seventh. Although Hibs were well on top, the defence had a sloppy appearance as St Johnstone grabbed a second goal in 71 minutes.

From a Lambie corner on the right, Sellars nodded the ball into the middle and Thomson headed home.

At least there was value for money in terms of goals, and Hibs went 8-2 in front with 15 minutes to go. It was one of the best in the game with Brownlie and Scott setting it up for Macleod.

Duncan shot a ninth goal for Hibs with four minutes left.

Hibs: McDonald, Brownlie, Smith, Bremner, Stewart, Blackley, Fyfe, MacLeod, Scott, Muir, Duncan. Subs: Stanton, McGhee.

St Johnstone: D Robertson, McKay, McBean, Taylor, Rankin, Smith, V Robertson, Lambie, McGregor, Thomson, Sellars. Subs: Hamilton, Robson.

Referee: KJ Hope, Glasgow.

Attendance: 6000.

Just look at that attendance. What times we live in now.

bythecringe
22-02-2023, 09:48 AM
28 November 1959 Hibs 3 Stirling 1
Don’t remember much about the game but I’m sure Joe Baker was playing. The floodlights came on at half time and it was like electric sunshine on Leith. Had me hooked from then on.
Incredibly the attendance was shown as 14,000

West Upper
22-02-2023, 09:58 AM
10th February 2001 - Hibs 4-2 St Mirren. Was my Grandad’s last ever game and my first ever game.

The St Mirren manager that day Tom Hendrie was a few years later my high school Maths teacher.

22-02-2023, 10:17 AM
Hibs v Newcastle friendly 67/68 think nil nil. Stein was my first hero can remember him punching a goalie in the face might have been Kilmarnock and him getting a ticking off for it : greengrin

22-02-2023, 10:18 AM
10th February 2001 - Hibs 4-2 St Mirren. Was my Grandad’s last ever game and my first ever game.

The St Mirren manager that day Tom Hendrie was a few years later my high school Maths teacher.

I remember it well and I spoke about it in your grandads eulogy when I mentioned he had handed over the Hibs baton to you and was so pleased to have actually made a game with his grandson.

22-02-2023, 10:41 AM
Hibs 5 Dumbarton 0. 3 March 1973. Was taken by my uncle and big cousin as my dad wasn’t a big football fan. I was taken down to the wall at the front and remember looking down on to the lush green turf from the back of the terracing and being awe-struck.
Two memories from the game were that I asked the fellow young boy next to me down at the front why the crowd were singing the Rupert the Bear song and he told me it was because Jimmy O’Rourke was coming on 😀
Second memory was at the end of the game asking my uncle what the score was. “We won 5-0 ya wee bugger. You’re no coming back!” Great times.

ACLeith
22-02-2023, 10:55 AM
Not sure if it was the first game I attended but the oldest programme I have is from October 1956 v Queens Park, 1-1 according to my fair hand on the front. One change to the printed team was Gordon Smith replacing John Fraser on the right wing; read later that was a comeback game for him after a broken leg.

22-02-2023, 10:58 AM
4-1 home win v Dundee, Nov 1967. Colin Stein double.

ACLeith
22-02-2023, 11:01 AM

By The Newsroom

I remember playing against Lindsay Muir in a pre-season friendly. That night he scored the best goal I ever had put past me. Never seen a ball hit so hard. Was delighted when I heard after the game he had signed for us (Hibs, not the team I played for!)

MartinfaePorty
22-02-2023, 11:16 AM
Hibs 2 Celtic 1, 31st March 1979. Had been pestering my Dad to take me for ages and finally he relented. Was in the old North Stand and think all the goals were scored at that end of the pitch.

22-02-2023, 11:25 AM
We've had these threads before and my answer is the same, i cant remember, but i have a hazy memory of us playing at Powderhall against a Sunderland/Newcastle select there.

Although that could be sheite? :greengrin

Dalkeith Boy
22-02-2023, 12:26 PM
1963/64 Hibs 6 Falkirk 0 Neil Martin scored 4 goals ...still have the programme!

Superfurry72
22-02-2023, 12:55 PM
First match for me was a 1-1 draw with Dundee United at ER in October 1981, aged 9. Davie Dodds gave United the lead, Arthur Duncan equalised for Hibs. I was very excited to see it on Scotsport the next day too.

OldEast
22-02-2023, 02:21 PM
September 1967 Hibs 3 Raith rovers 0.
Remember pretty much nothing of the game but the climb to the top of the old east terracing then looking down at the beautiful bright green pitch will stay with me forever.

King Cosell
22-02-2023, 02:47 PM
27th Nov, 1982

Hibs 2 Celtic 3

Alan Rough's debut. Simon Murray's dad, Gary, scored both our goals, McGarvey 2 & McStay for Celtic.

King Cosell
22-02-2023, 03:03 PM
https://youtu.be/NPYJ57pMHdA

Green forever
22-02-2023, 03:08 PM
Hibs 0 Motherwell 1 , 14th April 1973 , Pat Stanton missed a penalty. It's always good to have your expectations lowered nice and early.

22-02-2023, 03:25 PM
Hibs v Hearts, Hampden, 2006.

If you've ever wondered why I take derbies so seriously, there you go.

nairn hibee
22-02-2023, 03:33 PM
Nairn 1 v 1 hibs 1970 they were the first league team I’d seen ,I had a st mirren top from an aunty in paisley .but liked the hibs one better so followed them from then on .first time I seen them at a league game was a Wednesday night at home to Dundee utd ,my dad took me down after school.George best was playing ,and I think it was 0-0

22-02-2023, 03:33 PM
30/09/1967 Partick Thistle Easter Road 5–1 win
4/11/67 First away game at Stirling Albion 1-4 defeat
10/01/1968 European tie v Leeds 1-1
All at the grand old age of 7

Weir07
22-02-2023, 07:02 PM
10th of January 1976 was my first game. Don't remember too much about the football as I was just 7 but can recall the atmosphere and wearing my scarf. We beat Ayr Utd 3-0, Joe Harper scored a double. Still got the match programme, which I treasure more than the three cup final winning ones I have.

22-02-2023, 07:23 PM
Pretty sure my first match was home to Aberdeen in December 1977 - a match we won 2-0 with Arthur Duncan getting on the scoresheet. That must have made an impression as Arthur was my favourite Hibs player in my early days as a fan :not worth

22-02-2023, 07:31 PM
What's the site of the Hearts guy who kept all the stats for us and others?

I'm trying to narrow down what I think was my first game.

Hillsidehibby
22-02-2023, 07:44 PM

https://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/

Hibees1973
22-02-2023, 07:45 PM
UEFA Cup 1973.

Hibs 0 Leeds 0 (4-5 on penalties).

I was 7 and attended the game with my Dad & Uncle, sadly both now passed away and my cousin who I still go to the Hibs games with.

Stood on a packed East Terracing that night. There are loads of photos showing how packed the terracing was that night but unfortunately no TV footage exists. Have watched short clips of the 1st leg at Elland Road.

Probably because I was only 7, that for me, was the most memorable game I was ever at. Much as the Scottish Cup win in 2016 is obviously a highlight it doesn't beat that game in 1973 when I was a wee boy.

22-02-2023, 07:46 PM
Pretty sure my first match was home to Aberdeen in December 1977 - a match we won 2-0 with Arthur Duncan getting on the scoresheet. That must have made an impression as Arthur was my favourite Hibs player in my early days as a fan :not worth
Aberdeen for me too but in 1970. Pat Stanton scored for us but can't recall who got the second. Anyway we won :greengrin

22-02-2023, 07:46 PM
Dunfermline v Hibs 1965 Scottish Cup semi final as a 4 year old

poulton hibs
22-02-2023, 07:51 PM
Hibs v East fife 1973, the John Brownlie leg break game. West stand north bench seats, hooked for life.

eaststandJJ
22-02-2023, 07:53 PM
Hibs v Patrick Thistle c.1976-1978, 0-0. sat in the cave

Shanksaidno
22-02-2023, 08:08 PM
Home v St Johnstone 1968 won 4-2 Sat in old Centre Stand with my dad.

King Cosell
22-02-2023, 09:29 PM

londonhearts.com is excellent for all Scottish team stats.

22-02-2023, 10:16 PM
I honestly can’t remember my first game as I was under 10 yrs at the time and only went to a few matches with my dad and uncle. My first really meaningful and memorable game was the 1961 game against Barcelona.

GRA
23-02-2023, 06:06 PM
Hibs 3 Raith 0 sitting near the front of the cowshed with my brothers circa 1992. Keith Keith Keith Wright scored twice, including a beauty of a lob right in front of us.

HarpOnHibee
23-02-2023, 06:09 PM
Can't really remember my first game or who it was against. But I'm sure I asked my old man "who's winning?" when they were still warming up 10 minutes before KO. :greengrin

23-02-2023, 06:46 PM
19th November 1983. 4-1 win v St Johnstone. Bobby Thomson got sent off for pushing/punching the linesman. Pretty sure he got a 6 month ban for it.

Despite it being nearly 40 years ago, it was a Hibs kids game. My daughters who have both been Hibs kids in the past laugh that they're auld dad was once a Hibs kid.

May21/05/16
23-02-2023, 06:49 PM
I don't remember my first game but one that I remember is when my dad and his friends took me down to Leeds utd away can't remember the year

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

23-02-2023, 06:50 PM
Skol Cup final 1991.

Started on a high. 😁

23-02-2023, 07:00 PM
Had to look it up. I knew it was a smaller team from the north east. Scottish cup jan 1971 v Forfar. Won 8-1. I thought it would be like that every week.

HibbyStardust50
23-02-2023, 07:16 PM
01/08/79 Anglo Scottish Cup 0-2 v St Mirren....was 7 years old...stood in the south enclosure of the main stand next to the tunnel...honk of wintergreen and the clacking of the studs as the players came up the tunnel....all I remember of the game was a guy called Jackie Copeland running the show for St Mirren....a few days later was back at ER for the ‘Skol Festival Trophy’...Hibs v Hearts and Coventry City v Man City....think we won 2-1 and Coventry won 4-2...wearing that all brown strip I think

23-02-2023, 07:38 PM
Taken to the Edinburgh derby at T/castle in 1951, aged 4, by my dad. Can't remember much but, it finished 1-1 with our goal scored by Lawrie Reilly.

23-02-2023, 08:30 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/4875748.stm

Edina Street
23-02-2023, 09:18 PM
Falkirk 1-1 Hibernian, Scottish Premier Division, 31/10/1987

As I stated earlier in the thread, one of my first games that I can remember was the 4-1 demolition of Clydebank at Easter Road in 1987. However that was only the first ever home game that I can remember clearly. Far more exciting was my first ever away game, and I can remember my entire Saturday. I first attended Letham Park to play for my football team which had a 9:30am kick off, then my friend and I went running from Letham Park to Warriston Playing Fields to play for our school team which had an 11am kick off, then I went running home to meet my father whom quickly took me up to the waverley station and off we went to Brockville for my first away match. I can even remember my father being very disappointed with me when I told him I had put on the gloves for my team, as he far preferred it when I played striker, rather than goalkeeper. I played right-wing for my school team however, and he accepted this grudgingly. Anyway, at the match I remember Hibernian went one nil down in the first half. My father told me that the Falkirk goalscorer was a Hibernian supporter. I remember in the second half Hibernian equalising. I think the goalscorer was Dougie Bell. I remember coming home and going round to the shop to buy the Pink News, and then later on running up Easter Road to buy the Sunday newspapers off a man that sold them on the street. I then came home with the papers to watch Sportscene. From that moment on, that was my Saturday's set in stone for the next couple of years, as running from Letham Park to Warriston, and then from Warriston to the Hibs match, to the Pink news, to the Sunday papers, to sportscene, became my Saturday ritual.

24-02-2023, 05:29 AM
Inverness Thistle on a weekday afternoon around 1982 in a pre-season friendly at Kingsmill Park. Score was 4-1 I think (to the Hibees).

24-02-2023, 06:13 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/4875748.stm

I remember that game well.

Guest of honour at the Sunnyside club. :flag:

24-02-2023, 06:59 AM
Hibs v Celtic at ER in April 1978. 4-1 win.

24-02-2023, 08:59 AM
Hibs v Celtic at ER in April 1978. 4-1 win.
That game is on YouTube. An Ally McLeod masterclass. What a player and my earliest hero that I can remember

24-02-2023, 09:01 AM
That game is on YouTube. An Ally McLeod masterclass. What a player and my earliest hero that I can remember

If truth be told I was ****ting myself with the noise. He was a super player

JimmyGreen
25-02-2023, 11:24 AM
My first game was on 25th February 1967

56 years ago today!!!

Hibs 1 Aberdeen 0, with Peter Cormack scoring

Frogga
25-02-2023, 05:03 PM
Hibs 2 0 Motherwell in 1996. Darren Jackson scored both.

Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk

Prof. Shaggy
25-02-2023, 05:14 PM
August 1967 Hibs 2 Dundee 4
Stanton, Stein, Cormack, Stevenson.

(Eric, that is)

Never looked back.

25-02-2023, 05:29 PM
August 1968

Hibs 1 Newcastle Utd 2

Colin Stein scored.

DIXIHIBS
25-02-2023, 06:46 PM
UEFA Cup 1973.

I was 7 and attended the game with my Dad & Uncle, sadly both now passed away and my cousin who I still go to the Hibs games with.

Stood on a packed East Terracing that night. There are loads of photos showing how packed the terracing was that night but unfortunately no TV footage exists. Have watched short clips of the 1st leg at Elland Road.

Probably because I was only 7, that for me, was the most memorable game I was ever at. Much as the Scottish Cup win in 2016 is obviously a highlight it doesn't beat that game in 1973 when I was a wee boy.

I was at that game as a 10year old...awesome. Found my ticket for it recently...50p😀

25-02-2023, 07:31 PM
Celtic at Easter Road in 1988. 2-0 to Celtic.

I found out only a couple of months ago that this was the first Hibs Celtic game after the CS gas incident!!

Wondering what was going through my faithers heid!...

"What game can I take the laddie to for his first game? I know, I'll take him to the 2nd home fixture of the season against the team that was responsible for the radgest ever game at ER"

25-02-2023, 09:36 PM
August 1967 Hibs 2 Dundee 4
Stanton, Stein, Cormack, Stevenson.

(Eric, that is)

Never looked back.Presumably 4 v 2 for us ? Looking at scorers you can see what a great team we had in late 60s . Folk talk about Tornadoes ( Turnbull was our manager from summer 1971 ) but we had a great team from several years before . Great wins in Glasgow in brief time Willie Macfarlane was our manager for example .

26-02-2023, 07:31 AM
Presumably 4 v 2 for us ? Looking at scorers you can see what a great team we had in late 60s . Folk talk about Tornadoes ( Turnbull was our manager from summer 1971 ) but we had a great team from several years before . Great wins in Glasgow in brief time Willie Macfarlane was our manager for example .

Willie Macfarlane had an eye for a player Shades and Arthur for example and was a good Manager but Tom Hart wanted him gone

26-02-2023, 07:18 PM
Willie Macfarlane had an eye for a player Shades and Arthur for example and was a good Manager but Tom Hart wanted him gone

Willie had a bookmakers shop in Dmains for a number of years after Hibs

26-02-2023, 08:07 PM
1987 can’t recal but it was the game before a Celtic game then we played Hearts IIRC. Something like £2 for a ticket and £1 for a Programme…

HendoDelivered
26-02-2023, 08:51 PM
04/05 season. I think it was a 3-0 home defeat to Livi.

27-02-2023, 12:12 PM
5th August 1969, pre-season friendly against Newcastle ..0-0 draw, watched from the top of the old East Terracing.

couldn't believe the size of the crowd and I was hooked.

27-02-2023, 12:23 PM
UEFA Cup 1973.

I was there too, aged 9. Never forgotten that night, although not at full strength, Leeds still had a team full of internationalists, and of course Bremner. Real shame there's no footage, I have see the short clips from Elland Road. Leeds won the English league that season, going something like 28 games unbeaten (that may be wrong....)

First game I remember is v Aberdeen and the Joe Baker return. I can also remember the friendly v Midlesboro, with Nobby Stiles, that probably was after the Dons game.

First derby, 4-1 game at Tiny, went with pals and it was a scary crush getting in, aged 10. WTF was my ma thinking of, lol.

aljo7-0
27-02-2023, 12:55 PM
April 1974. home game against Dumbarton. An Alan Gordon hatrick in a 3 - 0 win confirmed him as my boyhood hero and Hibs as my team.

Was taken to a Hearts game around then by my friend's Dad at Tynecastle. it was against Motherwell and was celebrating their centenary. They kicked balls into the crowd to keep before the game. Came away not liking Hearts - I didn't get a free ball and it was a boring 0 - 0 draw

AllyT
27-02-2023, 05:13 PM
Berwick v Hibs 8.3.80, Scottish Cup, George Best was playing. Was living in Germany at the time as I was in the Army. Back home on leave. My Brother in Law (a Jambo!) went with me. Pretty sure it was 0-0 and GB didn't appear in the second half.

zitelli62
27-02-2023, 09:07 PM
Willie had a bookmakers shop in Dmains for a number of years after Hibs

Was in it many times had a TV behind the counter before you were allowed to show live racing so if it was on the TV we could see it ahead of his time that man.

28-02-2023, 10:07 AM

Remember speaking to Willie and he said that on the day before the Liverpool game Tom Hart phoned him twice drunk, telling him not to play Johnny Graham.

Obviously there are two sides to every story, but that was Willie’s.

28-02-2023, 10:52 AM
And put Joe McBride Snr on the bench our top scorer because he refused to move through to Edinburgh allegedly

Liverpool away would be Joe McBride’s last game scoring 58:91

Johnny Graham was a fan’s’ favourite scoring 20:58

Roxyhibee
28-02-2023, 02:24 PM
August 1965, Easter Road, St Mirren (in the League Cup i think), evening game. Willie Wilson our goalie takes a boot in the head and as there are still no subs allowed, Peter Cormack goes in goals. Willie comes back on with a bandage round his napper and plays on the right wing.!

We won 1-0 - what a night for me and never stopped going since that game. Overriding memory is all my uncles and dad (all long passed away sadly) laughing in the Dunbar End at Willie hurtling down the wing with a big white turban on his head.!

28-02-2023, 03:37 PM
Presumably 4 v 2 for us ? Looking at scorers you can see what a great team we had in late 60s . Folk talk about Tornadoes ( Turnbull was our manager from summer 1971 ) but we had a great team from several years before . Great wins in Glasgow in brief time Willie Macfarlane was our manager for example .

I agree. It wasn't all Tornadoes for me.