View Full Version : Longest stretch you've gone without attending a game in person?

13-01-2016, 04:05 PM
As the cruel realisation hits that it's been more than a year since I last watched Hibs in person (my attendance inspired us to our 1st 4 goal victory over The Hun in 50 odd years back on 27th Dec 2013), I was wondering what's your longest stretch - for whatever reason - without watching Hibs in person??

I kid myself on that distance means I care less, and yes, not being Edinburgh based does mean that the aftermath of a defeat is less acute than it once was, but when I do get to see Hibs on the box, I get as involved as I ever would in person.

Malonga's last minute winner a couple of weeks ago on the SSN ticker drew a bonkers reaction as if I'd been in the East Stand myself.

I know we have posters all over the world, from way further away than ZH. What's being a far flung ex-pat Hibbie like for you??

13-01-2016, 04:10 PM
Two week holidays is about as long as I've gone. Close season excluded of course. Just can't stay away!

13-01-2016, 04:13 PM
2-2 draw with Dundee United in 2010 was the last game I attended. I was back last year but that was in June so no games. Thank goodness for Hibs TV........

13-01-2016, 04:14 PM
I was 15 the first time I went to ER so I guess my answer is 15 years.

Mark79
13-01-2016, 04:19 PM
Saturday was first game since Dumbarton at home.

13-01-2016, 04:20 PM
I'm in the middle of my longest stretch.

My last game was Raith Rovers away 28th March 2015.

Might try and get up for the next Rangers home game in March.

Either that or bring the boy up for a random game before the end of the season.

13-01-2016, 04:22 PM
Probably the two and a half months between the old season ending and the new one beginning.

13-01-2016, 04:35 PM
Probably the two and a half months between the old season ending and the new one beginning.You don't go to pre-season friendlies? Part timer.

13-01-2016, 04:38 PM
9 months while I was in Alaska

Glorious St Pat
13-01-2016, 05:01 PM
Find this a really sad thread and frankly something that anyone shouldn't be proud of - but hey ho.

13-01-2016, 05:03 PM
Find this a really sad thread and frankly something that anyone shouldn't be proud of - but hey ho.

I don`t think it is a thread to taken too seriously to be fair.

13-01-2016, 05:18 PM
10 months, back in 1995 when I was off on a trip. Heard on world service Darren Jackson scoring against Aberdeen at ER while in Australia one very late night!

13-01-2016, 05:41 PM
I missed all bar the first 2 games of the 98/99 season as I was in Oz. After seeing us lose 1-2 at home to Stranraer I was a bit less bothered about missing Hibs!

13-01-2016, 05:47 PM
From 3rd Jan to 14th Feb every year - [spend the worst of our winters in sunny Spain. ][and yes I still buy my season ticket every year as I have done for past 57 years]

13-01-2016, 06:08 PM

Eh?? I'm not "proud" of anything in particular, just that the ebbs and flows of life have taken me away from Edinburgh on a relatively long term basis, as has happened to many others.

Just wondering - for people whose passion for Hibs hasn't really abated - how long they've gone between "fixes".

If I was Edinburgh based, I'd be at near as damnit every game, as I was a few seasons ago.

13-01-2016, 06:12 PM
This thread will be flooded with part timers, who will all want a ticket for Hampden should we beat St Johnstone.

And i will be one of them. :na na:

13-01-2016, 06:13 PM
Eh?? I'm not "proud" of anything in particular, just that the ebbs and flows of life have taken we away from Edinburgh on a relatively long term basis, as has happened to many others.

Just wondering - for people whose passion for Hibs hasn't really abated - how long they've gone between "fixes".

If I was Edinburgh based, I'd be at near as damnit every game, as I was a few seasons ago.
I didn't really understand his comments either to be honest......

SJNB Hibby
13-01-2016, 06:13 PM
Moved to Canada in '74 and was rarely in Scotland during footie season
so 1987-2006 was a loooong Hibbyless spell, and before the 'net, and Setanta coverage, so only saw a few games on TV---usually with Sellick or Hun supporters

13-01-2016, 06:16 PM
About 3 weeks

Close to twenty years, but that was because there was no-one to take me when I was a kid and I wasn't allowed as a teenager.

Next longest would be about fifteen years, a stretch that came to an end last year when I attended the 1-1 draw with Raith. I hadn't been enjoying the games and had other commitments and interests, so stopped going.

The uber-fans will be appalled to read that second paragraph.

What's sad about it?

13-01-2016, 06:49 PM

Eh? You've lost me, plenty of reasons why folk have had to stop going for a period, what is sad about it?

malcolm
13-01-2016, 07:33 PM
Spent the first 3 months of 1990 in hospital and did not get back to ER until the next season. A pretty turbulent time for various reasons :wink:

13-01-2016, 08:08 PM
What's sad about it?
The post you are challenging Sean. I'm with you, Deary me. Need to fire up the ignore button again.

TrinityHibs
13-01-2016, 08:30 PM
From 3rd Jan to 14th Feb every year - [spend the worst of our winters in sunny Spain. ][and yes I still buy my season ticket every year as I have done for past 57 years]

You're only 56 according to your profile :greengrin. That's a new thread who bought the earliest ST

13-01-2016, 08:38 PM
I'm on mine. Was home briefly last new year but couldn't get a ticket to the derby and was unable to go to the Falkirk 4-4 game.

My last match was 12th August 2012, 1-1 draw with Hearts. Griffiths equalised for Hibs after Andy Driver scored following a bad error from Alan Maybury.

Took a load of folk to the game including 2 Germans I randomly met in the pub.

Hope to get back in May and catch a game or 2. Maybe even a big one that's not a playoff match :wink:

AK86
13-01-2016, 08:41 PM
6 year I was in the big Hoose
always pack my own suitcase now :agree:

13-01-2016, 08:45 PM
I lived in Guernsey from 1976 to 2000 then up in the Highlands for a couple of years so I was probably lucky if I attended one match per season during that time. Just depended if we had a match during the time I managed to get back to Edinburgh for a holiday.

13-01-2016, 08:45 PM
Close to twenty years, but that was because there was no-one to take me when I was a kid and I wasn't allowed as a teenager.

Next longest would be about fifteen years, a stretch that came to an end last year when I attended the 1-1 draw with Raith. I hadn't been enjoying the games and had other commitments and interests, so stopped going.

The uber-fans will be appalled to read that second paragraph.

Great that you went back after such a break. Hopefully you will make it a bit more regularly in the future.

I have gone a few years without seeing a game, but I left Edinburgh 20 years ago and don't go back as often as I did. Always look to catch a game when I do though.

13-01-2016, 10:06 PM
Great that you went back after such a break. Hopefully you will make it a bit more regularly in the future.

I have gone a few years without seeing a game, but I left Edinburgh 20 years ago and don't go back as often as I did. Always look to catch a game when I do though.

I don't think I'll ever manage to be a regular attender, let alone return to being a season ticket holder, but I've been to another three games since then and hope to make another couple before the season is over.

The question was asked on here last summer about what would make people go more often, and my response was "if I had more time".

13-01-2016, 10:32 PM
Probably 3 years or so I'd guess. Can't remember, it was when I was wee.

13-01-2016, 11:11 PM
The question was asked on here last summer about what would make people go more often, and my response was "if I had more time".

I hear you. :agree:

14-01-2016, 02:18 AM
Between 1982 and 1994.

Didn't get back during that period.

aussie_hibee
14-01-2016, 02:51 AM
Roughly, it would be 7 years.
Exactly, it would be the time between us breaking the hoodoo at tynie in 1994 just before I was carted off to Oz by my parents and the "de la cruz Derby" which was my first game on my first holiday back in 2001.

Probably only seen them a handful of times on the to during that period as we hardly got any coverage over here.

Since then I've been back in 2003, 2007, 2011, 2012 and 2014 taking in 2 or 3 games each time and now every game Hibs to shows.

Im back on the 26th for a few weeks so will probably head out to Morton midweek also.

14-01-2016, 06:20 AM
From March-September 1993 when working abroad.

14-01-2016, 08:59 AM
Since first game in 1978 I've had some spells where attendance has dropped off, sure that I've never went a full season without seeing a game though.

14-01-2016, 09:22 AM
You're only 56 according to your profile :greengrin. That's a new thread who bought the earliest ST
Aye, noticed that, I am 63 but don't know how to ammend my age on my profile.

14-01-2016, 09:45 AM
1960 - 1975 ........ Too poor and nobody to take me anyway.

Between 1985 and the late 90s could go months without going ..... my pesky family insisted on eating and that we should pay the rent, selfish sods :grr:

Since about 1998 I think I might have missed a couple of home games.

14-01-2016, 09:48 AM
First game was in 2006, second trip to Easter Road was 4 years later and that's still the last time I was there. So apart from the 10 years it took until I attended my first game, 6 years and counting is the longest gap, unfortunately! I'd be there every week if I had the chance. (I swear I'm not a masochist).

14-01-2016, 09:49 AM

Yip, really sad that I moved to Alaska to be with my hubby to be and get married there. If it hadnt been for visa issues then it would have been longer. Getting up at 3.30am on a sunday morning to watch the derby and tv games was really sad, really 😩

14-01-2016, 09:49 AM
Eh?? I'm not "proud" of anything in particular, just that the ebbs and flows of life have taken me away from Edinburgh on a relatively long term basis, as has happened to many others.

This. I don't live in Edinburgh, therefore I can't go to every single game or have a season ticket. Doesn't make me any less of a fan. Doesn't mean I haven't felt the pain of that Final, or relegation (was at both games) or the highs of the CIS final in 2007.

The only advantage I have is I don't have to put up with any ribbing at work.

That said, when I was a student down here, I ended up working in a deli and the owner was a Jambo, go figure!

Nails
14-01-2016, 06:23 PM
Missed a couple of seasons when I was around 15-17 as was skint, and was getting a bit old for jumping the wall in to the terracing.

Get to as many home and away games as finances and work allows these days.

Nutmegged
14-01-2016, 06:26 PM
5 months in 2012

14-01-2016, 07:46 PM
When Hibs let Jimmy & Pat go in the 70's it sickened me so much I gave up & watched the Juniors for several years.

14-01-2016, 08:07 PM
Surely the most common answer amongst "Hibs fans" will be IN BETWEEN CUP FINALS :greengrin

14-01-2016, 08:46 PM
Surely the most common answer amongst "Hibs fans" will be IN BETWEEN CUP FINALS :greengrin

😂😂

ED Hibee
14-01-2016, 09:03 PM
Being based in London and having 2 young kids I don't get see as much of the Hibs as I would like these days. My last game was an epic 14hr return car journey just to see us get tanked 4-1 by Motherwell at Fir Park one Friday evening about 3 years ago.

Definitely doesn't mean I have any less interest and I'm already looking forward to the day I'm able to take my boys along to Easter Road for the first time.

15-01-2016, 08:42 AM
Was officially in the huff after the 2012 final, didn't renew my season ticket. Didn't go again until the we played Dundee Utd at home in early 2013.

15-01-2016, 08:47 AM
Was officially in the huff after the 2012 final, didn't renew my season ticket. Didn't go again until the we played Dundee Utd at home in early 2013.

I go in the huff to such an extent that I leave the country for 2-3 years at a time. I then spend much more coming home every so often for games than I would have if I still lived in Scotland.

I admit, I'm not the sharpest tool in the toolbox :wink:

15-01-2016, 12:13 PM
7 years.

15-01-2016, 12:23 PM
Towards the end of the miller era, my brother and i went up to Dundee to watch Hibs and it was so bad that we never had a shot at goal with nae passion desire-nothing, we decided then that enough was enough and only went back after Miller was emptied.