View Full Version : Sportscene

09-01-2016, 09:26 PM
Starting shortly. Their comprehensive coverage of the 4th round is likely to be their best program of the year. Looking forward to it - especially with our win today.

09-01-2016, 09:31 PM
Oh dear Hamilton. Wonder if they will blame the synthetic pitch.

09-01-2016, 09:32 PM
Wouldn't fancy Annan

09-01-2016, 09:32 PM
jeezo, went through for a cuppa just as the teams were getting read out, came back and it's finished

09-01-2016, 09:33 PM
Sportscene is just so bad.

09-01-2016, 09:38 PM
Nice goal from el bakhtaoui

09-01-2016, 09:39 PM
if they knocked down that away stand at dunfy i would be able to see my nieces hoose :)

no wonder the dunfy fans were going ape for that county penalty

09-01-2016, 09:39 PM
Nice goal from el baktoiu

Supposed to be a signing target for us.

09-01-2016, 09:40 PM
Supposed to be a signing target for us.

Has looked pretty lively in these highlights

09-01-2016, 09:41 PM
jeezo, went through for a cuppa just as the teams were getting read out, came back and it's finished

I quite like the no frills approach. Less talk, more fitba!

09-01-2016, 09:42 PM
What about the lead up to Ross County's 2nd goal?! Pars player closelined!! Ref? "Play on"!

skyehibee
09-01-2016, 09:45 PM
Joe Cardle looks decent

09-01-2016, 09:45 PM
Just watched every single goal in a tatty Tenerife bar. Much better than sportscene

09-01-2016, 09:46 PM
Get that boy signed

09-01-2016, 09:46 PM
Joe Cardle looks decent

Wee joe's a great wee player.

09-01-2016, 09:47 PM
that was some run + shot by the El gadgie

09-01-2016, 09:47 PM
Has looked pretty lively in these highlights

Yip. His performance has probably put him out of our reach.

Hibby_G
09-01-2016, 09:48 PM
Nice goal from el bakhtaoui Looks a player , lets get him signed:agree:

09-01-2016, 09:50 PM
Wouldn't fancy Annan

The day we start fearing Annan Athletic is the day I take up another hobby.

They had a good result today but Hamilton must have been honking to lose 4-1 to them.

I would be delighted to draw them in the next round.

09-01-2016, 09:51 PM
What about the lead up to Ross County's 2nd goal?! Pars player closelined!! Ref? "Play on"!

Another example of why we should use video replays during the match.

One of the worst refs in the Scotland makes another major blunder. Alan Muir , dear oh dear. :wtf:

Gordy M
09-01-2016, 09:54 PM

One of the worst refs in the Scotland makes another major blunder. Alan Muir , dear oh dear. :wtf:
Video replays wont/cant work in matters of opinion. Not this incident, but what i may think is a foul, someone else might not. Can only be used in matters of 'fact' eg offside, goal line etc.imo.

09-01-2016, 09:57 PM
Scott Martin played a part in both forfar goals

09-01-2016, 09:57 PM
The presenters eyes freak me out

DavieRoy
09-01-2016, 10:00 PM

Don't forget, that game had 8 cameras on it. In the Scottish Cup, BBC have two featured games, a live game and Sky have two live games which means a satellite video truck at the game with operators to turn around replays instantly. The Scottish FA actually have a good TV deal, something that gets missed.

Most league games and the rest of the Cup games are just single camera games or two cameras with replays edited in later making video replays difficult and just one angle.

In England, every Premier League game have a minimum of eight cameras at it.

More chance of it being successful in the Scottish Cup.

09-01-2016, 10:01 PM
The magic of the Cup shone thru in that tie. Love the grass embankment (terracing) at the back of the goals!

09-01-2016, 10:03 PM
time for another cuppa

09-01-2016, 10:05 PM
Video replays wont/cant work in matters of opinion. Not this incident, but what i may think is a foul, someone else might not. Can only be used in matters of 'fact' eg offside, goal line etc.imo.

Muir will have had doubt, just not the cabaility or bottle to have called it in the game. But if he had the option to have another look I bet even he would have asked for a video review. In rugby the call trys back. The video ref could be doing this even before he's asked, by reviewing the last phase of play up to a goal or in this case a penalty - quick word in the refs ear and play pulled back.

09-01-2016, 10:05 PM
time for another cuppa

The maroon giants on now . Levein's Lumpers.

09-01-2016, 10:08 PM
Paterson giving the Aberdeen fans the get it up you there when he scored?

09-01-2016, 10:09 PM
Didn't know the hertz mascot has 15 on his back

09-01-2016, 10:09 PM
The day we start fearing Annan Athletic is the day I take up another hobby.

They had a good result today but Hamilton must have been honking to lose 4-1 to them.

I would be delighted to draw them in the next round.
Annan would be a bye for us

Gordy M
09-01-2016, 10:10 PM
Muir will have had doubt, just not the cabaility or bottle to have called it in the game. But if he had the option to have another look I bet even he would have asked for a video review. In rugby the call trys back. The video ref could be doing this even before he's asked, by reviewing the last phase of play up to a goal or in this case a penalty - quick word in the refs ear and play pulled back.
No i appreciate that, but rugby is a game where the rules, in general, are pretty black and white, did the ball go forward, was he offside etc, football isnt like that, what if a foul happens and the video ref calls it, the ref looks and says well i dont think thats a foul? What happens then?

09-01-2016, 10:11 PM
Don't forget, that game had 8 cameras on it. In the Scottish Cup, BBC have two featured games, a live game and Sky have two live games which means a satellite video truck at the game with operators to turn around replays instantly. The Scottish FA actually have a good TV deal, something that gets missed.

Most league games and the rest of the Cup games are just single camera games or two cameras with replays edited in later making video replays difficult and just one angle.

In England, every Premier League game have a minimum of eight cameras at it.

More chance of it being successful in the Scottish Cup.

Obviously it can only be used if the cameras are there - they were so it should be used. TV (or I should say BBC) are quick to stick a player in for incidents after a game even with single cameras. It has to work two ways.

If the cameras are not there then you can't use them, and for that reason I'd have no issue with that.

09-01-2016, 10:15 PM
No i appreciate that, but rugby is a game where the rules, in general, are pretty black and white, did the ball go forward, was he offside etc, football isnt like that, what if a foul happens and the video ref calls it, the ref looks and says well i dont think thats a foul? What happens then?

Yes but simple question here as is the case in rugby. Did the County player impede the Pars players as County broke? Video Ref - Yes. Result Foul Pars game on.
In Rugby the match ref always takes the opinion of the video ref. Why, because the video ref has had the benefit of watching the incident again.

09-01-2016, 10:17 PM
Pat is trying to get Gary nevilles sky gig

09-01-2016, 10:17 PM
The maroon giants on now . Levein's Lumpers.

missed it...damn :( anyway, wee pat nevin is 5ft 6" and towers over that presenter gadgey :greengrin

09-01-2016, 10:18 PM
Sportscene trying to be like Monday Night Football with analysis now. :greengrin I like Pat Nevin since he's a Hibs fan!

Though wish Sportscene would be a better production each week - this week has been much better due to less pish analysis.

The cup shows are much better as you see all the random pitches - the weekly 6 game show is crap.

Gordy M
09-01-2016, 10:22 PM
Yes but simple question here as is the case in rugby. Did the County player impede the Pars players as County broke? Video Ref - Yes. Result Foul Pars game on.
In Rugby the match ref always takes the opinion of the video ref. Why, because the video ref has had the benefit of watching the incident again.
Well thats not strictly true, in the rwc the refs on the pitch were having a look at replays on the big screen, anyway, we will agree to disagree, todays incident was clear cut, but what if it had been a 50/50 and the ref says no foul but the video ref decides it is a foul? It would just create chaos in every game. So much of football is down to opinion that i just cant see it working.

09-01-2016, 10:23 PM
The headline act has got to be coming up soon.

09-01-2016, 10:25 PM
Didn't know the hertz mascot has 15 on his back

It's their cut off mark for potential girlfriends

09-01-2016, 10:26 PM
****in hell we must be last on

09-01-2016, 10:28 PM
Wouldn't fancy Annan

The day we fear Annan is the day we chuck it. Hamilton were rotten but Annan aren't a good side. I want them next round or someone as ****ty.

09-01-2016, 10:34 PM
Unstoppable strike by Blair Spittal. Looks like Dundee Utd have discovered another good young player.

09-01-2016, 10:34 PM
Murrawell/Dundee utd/Partick th @ ER ta...mucho pennies for the club coffers

09-01-2016, 10:36 PM
Sportscene trying to be like Monday Night Football with analysis now. :greengrin I like Pat Nevin since he's a Hibs fan!

Though wish Sportscene would be a better production each week - this week has been much better due to less pish analysis.

The cup shows are much better as you see all the random pitches - the weekly 6 game show is crap.

Cup shows are produced by Sunset & Vine not usual BBC mob, although they obviously use same presenter / commentators.
Part of the charter for independent companies... Just means a bunch of fannies fly up from London for the weekend to tell everyone what to do.

09-01-2016, 10:38 PM
And that was that.

09-01-2016, 10:38 PM
That was worth waiting up for .... NOT

09-01-2016, 10:39 PM
Hope no-one went to make another cup of tea those highlights were so brief.

Great reverse move by Dom. Think the Raith defence thought it was heading in the otherside so Gk was completely miss footed.
Great finish Dom.

2 fantastic goals though

27 seconds of pure magic

09-01-2016, 10:40 PM
QoS get caught cheating again ha ha.

09-01-2016, 10:40 PM
27 seconds of pure magic

That's how my ex described me.

09-01-2016, 10:41 PM
😂😂

Sportscene "highlights" aye ok then!

That's how my ex described me.

exactly what she told me :confused:

kenny.ff
Forgot why i stopped watching this dross a few years back..... ive just been reminded, wait ages and get a flash set of highlights

09-01-2016, 10:43 PM
think i'l watch Father ted on more4 now :greengrin

09-01-2016, 10:45 PM
Pat Nevin just made reference to "the old Rangers" there, when they lost to Berwick Rangers.

He better make sure all his doors and windows are locked up securely tonight.

09-01-2016, 10:46 PM
Quickest highlights ever!

Changed my mind - useless show :rolleyes:

09-01-2016, 10:47 PM
Not exactly comprehensive coverage of our game but overall a fairly enjoyable program.

09-01-2016, 10:47 PM
I went for a Quality Street I've hid upstairs, opened, in mouth, back to "highlights" game missed 😢😢

StevieBoyKdy
09-01-2016, 10:51 PM
I hate that smarmy bass Jonathan Sutherland he seriously has a vendetta against us. Every year he says a remark, a face I wouldn't get tired of slapping. So smug, if it was a team like Celtic or Aberdeen that had our record it wouldn't be said in jest but Hibs its fine.

JJP
09-01-2016, 10:53 PM
I hate that smarmy bass Jonathan Sutherland he seriously has a vendetta against us. Every year he says a remark, a face I wouldn't get tired of slapping. So smug, if it was a team like Celtic or Aberdeen that had our record it wouldn't be said in jest but Hibs its fine.

It's actually a bit of a back handed compliment. We are too good to have such a ridiculous record in this competition.

09-01-2016, 10:54 PM
Don't know if and when you lads get to watch MotD - Check out Barry Bannon's goal.

StevieBoyKdy
09-01-2016, 10:59 PM
It's actually a bit of a back handed compliment. We are too good to have such a ridiculous record in this competition.

imo there is no compliment there what so ever he loves a gloat about it. Very Jambo-esque

exactly what she told me :confused:

And me

Yip. His performance has probably put him out of our reach.

Nobody is after him. One Scottish club has inquired (might be us) . Dunfermline very hopeful of getting him on a long contract.

Pat is trying to get Gary nevilles sky gig

Good old Pat and Hi tech, but wasn't he an embarrassing 'rocker'. Why use that type of visual aid when talking over a vt is just as effective.:greengrin

DavieRoy
09-01-2016, 11:01 PM
Not exactly comprehensive coverage of our game but overall a fairly enjoyable program.

Only two games are 'featured' games with long highlights plus the live game.

The BBC don't send a camera to one Scottish Premiership game, their deal is that the league provide the footage.

In the Scottish Cup they have featured games meaning they have a satellite truck with 8 cameras at two games (like Sportscene of old) meaning replays, different angles and commentators actually at the game and not dubbing on the commentary later.

With 3 games that have longer edits, the rest are usually covered by one or two cameras. They did a package on Inverness but the game was crap which limited what they tried to do. These games are split between Sky and BBC, meaning a scramble between the two to swap footage and edit it to get it on Sky Sports News HQ and Sportscene. The 3 featured games go straight into the studio and can be turned around much quickly.

The Scottish Cup TV deal is very good, the Scottish FA have good TV deals in place but many fans generally presume it is poor due to the SPFL.

vuefrom1875
09-01-2016, 11:05 PM
He's coming to the hibees....told you all days ago. ..you heard it here first. Again! !😊😊

09-01-2016, 11:07 PM
He's coming to the hibees....told you all days ago. ..you heard it here first. Again! !

Who is?

09-01-2016, 11:09 PM
He's coming to the hibees....told you all days ago. ..you heard it here first. Again! !

Sorry but you are way off the mark here. I'll apologise in the unlikely event that there might be something in this.

09-01-2016, 11:11 PM
He's coming to the hibees....told you all days ago. ..you heard it here first. Again! !😊😊

You're pished.. You heard it here first. Again!!

09-01-2016, 11:19 PM
How overweight did Keith Watson look !!!!

Great finish but jeez he was waddling back to the halfway line - total contrast to his physique at Hibs

09-01-2016, 11:21 PM

We knocked his team out two years running and they got beat tonight at Tynie so he's hurting - chill, we're in the hat, Aberdeen ain't !

sbell1875
10-01-2016, 04:03 PM
Feel a bit for the Raith keeper who made a fantastic save from Dagnall (I think) just before the first goal and it wasn't even included in the highlights.

As for Dom's strike...wow.

10-01-2016, 04:06 PM
Feel a bit for the Raith keeper who made a fantastic save from Dagnall (I think) just before the first goal and it wasn't even included in the highlights.

Cuthbert was the Rovers sponsors MOM. Strange as he looked at fault for the first goal. They had better players on the pitch IMO.

10-01-2016, 04:13 PM

I thought that save was world class....it had taken a deflection too....

berwickhibee
10-01-2016, 04:15 PM
will we get good highlights on raith tv?? I know they did for the league game but will they be allowed for the cup????

10-01-2016, 04:18 PM
will we get good highlights on raith tv?? I know they did for the league game but will they be allowed for the cup????

Nope. They weren't allowed to cover yesterday's game. Contractual reasons apparently.

Feed McGraw
10-01-2016, 04:26 PM

As for Dom's strike...wow. It was a good effort from Dagnall, it reminded me of Ross Caldwell`s winner at Tynie the way he struck it.

10-01-2016, 05:22 PM
If Hibs are included in the Sportscene highlight program I always record it because 9 times out of 10 we are on last or nearly last. Once again I was able to whizz through to view the 20 seconds of highlights.

10-01-2016, 06:41 PM
Wondering if anyone can pop this on YouTube for us in parts of the world that can't access bbc iplayer? Would be hugely appreciated by me for sure! Any chance..?

10-01-2016, 09:43 PM
Wondering if anyone can pop this on YouTube for us in parts of the world that can't access bbc iplayer? Would be hugely appreciated by me for sure! Any chance..?

Here's (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkhJAibuWlM&sns=em) the goals at least :thumbsup:

10-01-2016, 09:59 PM
Cuthbert was the Rovers sponsors MOM. Strange as he looked at fault for the first goal. They had better players on the pitch IMO.Robertson was very good, kept them ticking over well.