View Full Version : Match Updates Raith Rovers 0 - 2 Hibernian (McGregor, Malonga) FT

09-01-2016, 11:06 AM
Well, Diddy cup time today, a wee distraction away from the diddy league we are in, but a game we should win to progress to the next round of this cup, won't be attending today myself as I'm being a good person today.

Anyway, to the game, will the 2 new lads start today, think the lad Dagnall may have a chance of starting this one with Keatings dropping out, but I'm sure Stubbs will pick the right 11 so that we go in to the hat for the next round, big crowd heading through as per to support the Cabbage, so, no naughty songs like the last time over there, lets get behind the team and roar them on to victory, I will do my bit from my Don settee.

Weather today, expecting heavy rain around kick off (no umbrella's allowed in stadium :greengrin) and it will feel very cold out there too, so a nice bowl of soup rather than 40 V & Cs today and rap up in nice warm clothing that you got from Santa.

And don't worry about the bridge, it is totally safe to drive over, even in a big bus. :tee hee:

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

Hibs updates only please. :cb

09-01-2016, 01:00 PM
C'mon the Hibees!!

09-01-2016, 01:04 PM
Gunnarsson and Dagnall start. Cummings not in starting 11.

09-01-2016, 01:05 PM
Today's team. Oxley, Gunnarsson, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGeouch, McGinn, Keatings, Malonga, Dagnall

No Cummings!

Where the **** is Cummings

Oxley, Gunnarsson, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGeouch, McGinn, Keatings, Malonga, Dagnall

daly playing his last game today before moving to the gimps at pinksville

09-01-2016, 01:06 PM
Where the **** is Cummings

Celtic don't want him cup tied! 😳😜

No Cummings in the squad today. Is he really off to Wolves for 500,000 or did I just make that rumour up?

#Hibs substitutes: Brennan, Henderson, McGregor, Boyle, Forster, Shaw, Anier

No Cummings Gray or Feruz quoted

09-01-2016, 01:08 PM
Please don't tell me this is a sign Cummings is offski

09-01-2016, 01:09 PM
Celtic don't want him cup tied! 😳😜

If we sell him we have to get In another quality similar age.

09-01-2016, 01:10 PM
Did JC not take a knock on his thigh last week? Maybe just not risking it with a huge league game next week.

09-01-2016, 01:11 PM
Did JC not take a knock on his thigh last week? Maybe just not risking it with a huge league game next week.

he did indeed, took a risk taking the penalty as well

confirmed on BBC, JC been ill all week

09-01-2016, 01:15 PM
Jason is ill. Nothing more in it than that. Blow for today but Dagnall not steps up.

Lang Toun Hibs
09-01-2016, 01:16 PM
Well done Royal Mail! Tickets arrived just over an hour ago and now in Kirkcaldy...thought I was going to miss out!

Hibees here Hibees there, Hibees absolutely everywhere!

09-01-2016, 01:17 PM
Jason is ill. Nothing more in it than that. Blow for today but Dagnall not steps up.

We should be rotating anyway for cup games. Yes we all want to win a cup but winning the league is a must and players need a rest or they face burning out in the run in.

Twiglet
09-01-2016, 01:18 PM

Something going round team? No Gray or Ruguero either.
My first reaction with Jason missing was uh oh until o saw the other 2 missing too so illness going round seems like a possibility.

HappyHibby93
09-01-2016, 01:18 PM
Interesting starting 11. Prbably the midfield i'd like to have seen. I'm not gonna read to much into Cummings not being in the squad. Hopefully he's just getting a rest, he's barely missed a game in the last few months. Stubbs must rate the 2 new boys to put them in so soon. Got a feeling they'll do the business

09-01-2016, 01:24 PM
Hibs in purple today.

Gunnarson looks a big lad.

09-01-2016, 01:24 PM
Brennan and Shaw on the bench definitely looks like something is up w/ a fee players.

Hopefully daggers, dom and keats step up.

09-01-2016, 01:26 PM
Hibs in purple today.

I'm thinking aerial assault from set pieces. So unHibs.

007 Mickey Weir
09-01-2016, 01:26 PM
So do we think it's a 4-4-2 with a diamond midfield or a 4-3-3?

09-01-2016, 01:27 PM
Can anyone post team and subs please

09-01-2016, 01:27 PM
So do we think it's a 4-4-2 with a diamond midfield or a 4-3-3?

4-4-2 with Keatings at the top imo.

09-01-2016, 01:29 PM
Can't see Dagnall lasting the full ninety minutes on a heavy pitch.

The Sundance Kid
09-01-2016, 01:31 PM
Can anyone post team and subs please

Team: Oxley, Gunnarsson, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGeouch, McGinn, Keatings, Malonga, Dagnall.
Bench: Brennan, Henderson, Boyle, Anier, Forster, McGregor, Shaw

09-01-2016, 01:32 PM
I will happily lose today as long as we win next week.

09-01-2016, 01:33 PM
I will happily lose today as long as we win next week.

I'll never happily lose.

09-01-2016, 01:33 PM
Cummings has the flu

09-01-2016, 01:35 PM
Team: Oxley, Gunnarsson, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Bartley, McGeouch, McGinn, Keatings, Malonga, Dagnall.
Bench: Brennan, Henderson, Boyle, Anier, Forster, McGregor, Shaw
Nice one, take a draw but think we will win by 2 goals today, high hopes for dagnall. Great game for 2 newbies to get taste of hibernian

09-01-2016, 01:35 PM
Hibs in purple today.

Was a nightmare last time as both strips looked similar.
Mon the Hibernian .

09-01-2016, 01:37 PM
Anier could be cup tied

09-01-2016, 01:38 PM
Anier could be cup tied

hes on the bench!

09-01-2016, 01:38 PM
Jade not well all week. 😋

Anyhoo, Starks Park ..... Hibees spilling in ! Well done everyone

09-01-2016, 01:40 PM
hes on the bench!

Aha

09-01-2016, 01:42 PM
Jade not well all week. 😋

Anyhoo, Starks Park ..... Hibees spilling in ! Well done everyone

Feeling Jaded? 😉

09-01-2016, 01:44 PM
Filling up nicely in the North Stand.. Mon the Cabbage!

09-01-2016, 01:44 PM
Cummings - ill
Gray- injured or not being risked because of it.
Reguero - unsure.

09-01-2016, 01:45 PM
hes on the bench!

I thought he had to play but now realise that's not the case

09-01-2016, 01:49 PM
Cummings has the flu

Hasn't trained this week.

09-01-2016, 01:56 PM
Was a nightmare last time as both strips looked similar.
Mon the Hibernian .

Wasn't that because we used our home kit?

09-01-2016, 01:56 PM
Brennan on the bench ahead of Reguero

C'Mon the Cabbage.

EH6 Hibby
09-01-2016, 01:57 PM
Is the game on the radio or is it just the usual Open All Mics pish?

09-01-2016, 02:00 PM
They're playing Led Zep Rock n Roll over loudspeakers.

Been a long time
Been a long lonely lonely lonely lonely
.... Time

Aye cheers. We need reminded.

Get into them Hibees !!

09-01-2016, 02:05 PM
Bright start. Dagnall looks a livewire.

09-01-2016, 02:06 PM
Raith player booked for a poor challenge on McGinn

09-01-2016, 02:06 PM
Bright start. Dagnall looks a livewire.

So, a positive start :wink:

09-01-2016, 02:13 PM
Early thoughts on the new lads?

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

09-01-2016, 02:13 PM
Is this game on the radio?

09-01-2016, 02:15 PM
Ball into the box diverted towards our goal by Bartley, Ox saved well.

09-01-2016, 02:15 PM
RR miss a chance

09-01-2016, 02:16 PM
Pretty dull so far.

09-01-2016, 02:17 PM
Bartley nearly scores....at the wrong end.

09-01-2016, 02:23 PM
Ball forward just too long for Keatings.

09-01-2016, 02:23 PM
c'mon man gies a goal :I'm waiti

09-01-2016, 02:26 PM
Think Stubbs was optimistic when he said Raith would have a go. Exactly the same as last week from them

09-01-2016, 02:27 PM
Gunnarson caught out at the back post, shot well over

09-01-2016, 02:28 PM
Famous long throw flicked on but no one there

09-01-2016, 02:29 PM
Gunnarsson uses one of his trademark long throws. Went surprisingly far.

09-01-2016, 02:33 PM
Keeper just beats Dagnall to a diagonal ball.

09-01-2016, 02:33 PM

09-01-2016, 02:37 PM

Is there a reason these are so small?

Try uploading them to imgur or something, and just post the link here

archiebald
09-01-2016, 02:37 PM
Gunnarsson uses one of his trademark long throws. Went surprisingly far.

That's what long throws do

09-01-2016, 02:38 PM
Gunnarson wins a header from a corner, Fontaine shoots miles over on the turn from the loose ball.

09-01-2016, 02:41 PM
Stanton having "a fine game" for Livvi according to Sportsound :greengrin

09-01-2016, 02:42 PM
Good control and turn by Malonga, cross cut out.

Raith miss another good chance.

Raith player wide from a Daly knockdown.

Fontaine and Stevenson have been poor for me, Hanlon strolling it.

09-01-2016, 02:44 PM
Feeling Jaded? 😉

Jase !! Hehe ( cold fingers ) 😊

09-01-2016, 02:46 PM
Half time.

Pretty grim stuff. Very sluggish and no real chances.

09-01-2016, 02:46 PM
HT 0-0 booooo

09-01-2016, 02:47 PM
is the game as ***** as the commentator on BBC seems to think it is?

09-01-2016, 02:47 PM

If he thinks it's total garbage with neither keeper having a save of note then yes.

09-01-2016, 02:49 PM

A first half full of sideways passes.

09-01-2016, 02:52 PM
No service to the front men, too predictable. Crap atmosphere, poor game, freezing.

dmc1875
09-01-2016, 02:52 PM
The role Stubbs has Keatings playing these days is making him pretty anonymous

09-01-2016, 02:54 PM
Half time.

Pretty grim stuff. Very sluggish and no real chances.

Been the way of it lately. Strange when you consider the number of attacking players we have.

09-01-2016, 02:55 PM
How do the new guys look?

09-01-2016, 02:57 PM

Yep

We need much more character and desire

Slow workrate from people like Malonga is killing us, i'm afraid

Anier should be on for him

SherbetFountain
09-01-2016, 02:58 PM
The role Stubbs has Keatings playing these days is making him pretty anonymous

He's not an attacking midfield player, does his best work in and around the box! Not sure why AS persists playing him in this role!

09-01-2016, 02:58 PM
Tam McManus says keepers could get frostbite :(

looks at possible replay dates

09-01-2016, 02:59 PM
How do the new guys look?

Dagnall looks lively but had literally no service.

Gunnarson looks a bit off the pace to me, been caught out a few times although he has had a couple of nice passes and 1 good long throw.

09-01-2016, 03:00 PM
If he thinks it's total garbage with neither keeper having a save of note then yes.
You summed it up perfectly.

cloudy
09-01-2016, 03:01 PM
Cummings - ill
Gray- injured or not being risked because of it.
Reguero - unsure.
I'm sure the Scottish cup has a rule about number of u21 players you must have on your bench or it might be squad, that would explain the sub gk.

09-01-2016, 03:02 PM
There's goals here if someone steps up.

09-01-2016, 03:04 PM
Chance for Raith early. Caught out our right again. Shot and rebound blocked.

09-01-2016, 03:04 PM
How the new boys playing?

09-01-2016, 03:05 PM
Malomga slips as he's about to shoot. Collum decides that's a Raith free kick.

09-01-2016, 03:07 PM
How are the new guys playing ?

09-01-2016, 03:07 PM
I don't get it. It's slippy and wet and no one will shoot. Trying to walk it in.

09-01-2016, 03:08 PM
Hanlon shoots! Saved well

09-01-2016, 03:09 PM
McGreggor on for Gunnarson.

Not a shock, he's been caught a few times.

09-01-2016, 03:10 PM
Gunnarsson taken off due to injury according to commentary(sigh) replaced by Darren McGregor

09-01-2016, 03:12 PM
Henderson ready

09-01-2016, 03:14 PM
On for Bartley. Strange one, he's done his job well today.

09-01-2016, 03:15 PM
Gunnarsson sounded like shady game from him..

One goal is all we need!

Stunning save keeps out a Keatings shot

09-01-2016, 03:16 PM
great save rovers keeper from Keatings, hibs on top now

yessssssssssssssss 1-0

09-01-2016, 03:17 PM
Stunning save keeps out a Keatings shot

We bit of luck is all that is required. Cmon Hibs lets do this

Goooooal Mcgreggor. Right under the keeper.

Boooooooom

Get in there!!!

oldbiker
Yes :thumbsup:

another two goals could save my nails

Off the bar
yesssss mon the HIBS!!

09-01-2016, 03:18 PM
One goal is all we need!

Right on cue 1-0 Hibees :thumbsup::gwa::flag:

Alan Stubbs tactical genius

Yes get in.

[emoji106][emoji106]

Glad mcgregor scored!

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

Get in !!

Get in. Will hopefully force them to try and get a few more men beyond the ball leaving some space for us to attack

Inspired substitution. :cb

Mon the hibs

09-01-2016, 03:19 PM
Its our year!! :hide:

Anyone else think this could be the year? :wink:

2-0 yeehaaaaaaaaaaa DO do do

Right on cue 1-0 Hibees :thumbsup::gwa::flag:

That's a few times I've predicted that??? Luck!! ;-)

One goal is all we need!
You got it

2-0 absolute stunner from Malonga.

Top corner from 30 yards.

Do do doo 😃

Doo doo doo..

09-01-2016, 03:20 PM

Off the bar
doo doo doo now it's 2!!!!

Like buses now all coming at the same time 2-0 :gwa::flag:

Whoop whoop Get in!

oldbiker
another two goals could save my nails

Must have heard you:thumbsup:

1st pop at the keeper goo
Yaaaaaassss !!

Doo doo doo... we're gonnae win the cup!

09-01-2016, 03:21 PM
Must have heard you:thumbsup:

still need another one :partyhibb

09-01-2016, 03:22 PM
Get in http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

Anyone else think this could be the year? :wink:

Yes!

:partyhibb

Hearts v Aberdeen game a late kick off !

ooops....hope I did not spoil it for anyone planning to watch the highlights later tonight.

Daly should have scored haw haw

1455 guests slowing site down

GET IN!

Bring on Aberdeen in the next round!

09-01-2016, 03:23 PM
Buttt!! Roi Dom!🇨🇩🇨🇩

What a goal by the king

Glesgahibby
:thumbsup: DOO,DOO,DOO!!!:thumbsup:
:gwa::gwa:

#KingDom

09-01-2016, 03:24 PM
Malonga KNOWS.

Niffy
09-01-2016, 03:24 PM
Lots of yaaaaaas's and yeeeehasssss ? Is it 5-0 now ?

09-01-2016, 03:25 PM
Att: 5,203

Cue the 'When's the draw?' and 'I'll take anyone at home' next opponent threads

ps. When's the draw?

pps. I'll take anyone at home.

Lots of yaaaaaas's and yeeeehasssss ? Is it 5-0 now ?

Nah just folk catching up!!

Started reading this thread 10 mins ago at 0-0. I love it when I get to the end and the games virtually sewn up :greengrin

09-01-2016, 03:26 PM

ps. When's the draw?

Followed by "the weakest team left in the cup, at home please."

09-01-2016, 03:26 PM

More than 3,300 Hibs Fans.

09-01-2016, 03:27 PM

ps. When's the draw?

Aberdeen at home

Followed by "the weakest team left in the cup, at home please."

That should always be the answer - no idea why there's ever a debate.

How is Grant Anderson playing? Thought he was sent off last week

Doo doo doo... we're gonnae win the cup!

The treble.

Agreed!

09-01-2016, 03:28 PM
Aberdeen at home

Annan away :greengrin

09-01-2016, 03:28 PM

different competition, only misses next game whatever if it's a red for dangerous play

09-01-2016, 03:29 PM

I'll take a guess at it being because this is the cup and not the league :greengrin

killie-hibby

ps. When's the draw?

Monday 6.15pm

Board would be awfully quiet if we skipped every needless debate.

09-01-2016, 03:30 PM
More than 3,300 Hibs Fans.

3500 confirmed on BBC....surprised at low home attendance for a cup game, they brought 671 to ER last week

semaj64
09-01-2016, 03:31 PM
Well that was a surprise popped out to let the dog pee, got a glass of wine and return to find 2 nil up, Good going after what sounds like a glum first half

hibbytam
Monday 6.15pm
The only logical time to have it really :rolleyes:

3,500 Hibbies :thumbsup:

3500 confirmed on BBC....surprised at low home attendance for a cup game That'll be very close to an away fan sell out. Raith have a very poor support and are lucky to get 1500 out with Hibs and dear Hun

09-01-2016, 03:34 PM
1530 guests...getting slower

09-01-2016, 03:36 PM
3500 confirmed on BBC....surprised at low home attendance for a cup game, they brought 671 to ER last week

Most football fans in Kirkcaldy will be watching their team on TV in one of tomorrow's two cup games.

semaj64
09-01-2016, 03:38 PM
1530 guests...getting slower

Probably the Raith fans who are not at their home game

Hibiza
Most football fans in Kirkcaldy will be watching their team on TV in one of tomorrow's two cup games.

Nice one.

Boyle replaces the king.

09-01-2016, 03:42 PM
Are Hamilton playing a reserve team today?

09-01-2016, 03:44 PM
Good run Boyle, Dagnall effort drflected for a corner.

09-01-2016, 03:44 PM
And a header from him hacked away from just before the line, rebound well over.

09-01-2016, 03:45 PM
Do do do!

09-01-2016, 03:47 PM
And a header from him hacked away from just before the line, rebound well over.

You seen enough of Dagnall to suggest he'll do a job PB?

09-01-2016, 03:48 PM
Are Hamilton playing a reserve team today?
It's a Liverpool thing :rolleyes:

FT woop !!

Job done and a good performance after we got the lead.

09-01-2016, 03:49 PM
FT that's 16 wins in the last 19 games!

Back to League business!

oldbiker
09-01-2016, 03:49 PM
:thumbsup::hibees Well done the Hibbees

09-01-2016, 03:50 PM
Probably the Raith fans who are not at their home game

There's plenty of Hibbies I would rather take to task over non attendance than get all smug over the Raith Rovers crowds. Crap as we have been over the last few years we have been in 2 Scottish cup finals and mostly in the premier league and yet have plenty of folk who seem to have chucked it after one season in the championship.

Compared to the lot of your average Raith Rovers fan that's footballing Nirvana, so lets not start getting all superior and dare I say Yamish about other clubs followings.

09-01-2016, 03:51 PM

09-01-2016, 03:54 PM
0-2 just about right. Much livelier 2nd half .

09-01-2016, 03:55 PM
Excellent result Hibs.

OxoHibby
09-01-2016, 03:59 PM
0-2 just about right. Much livlier 2nd half .

Wasn't there but job done. Well done hibs

09-01-2016, 04:01 PM
other attendances today

3,147 @ Perth v Killie pies
2,330 @ Airdrie v Dundee utd
2,153 @ Linlithgow v Forfar
817 @ Annan v Hamilton
3,439 @ Dunfermline v Ross co
3,833 @ Motherwell v Cove
1,224 @ Stirling v ICT

5,203 @ kirkcawdy

so in two games involving three SPL clubs( st.johnstone, Kilmarnock,Dundee utd) they mustered 250 more fans than were at Kawdy

09-01-2016, 04:03 PM
Now - c'mon the Dons. :wink::greengrin

09-01-2016, 04:04 PM
Well done the Cabbage. Sorry I couldn't make it and at 0-0 thinking there might be a replay I can get to but that's one less game to worry about.

09-01-2016, 04:04 PM
I'll take a guess at it being because this is the cup and not the league :greengrin

Where's Fyvie then ?

09-01-2016, 04:06 PM
other attendances today

3,147 @ Perth v Killie pies
2,330 @ Airdrie v Dundee utd
2,153 @ Linlithgow v Forfar
817 @ Annan v Hamilton
3,439 @ Dunfermline v Ross co
3,833 @ Motherwell v Cove
1,224 @ Stirling v ICT

5,203 @ kirkcawdy

873 @ Livingston v Morton
And no doubt over 400k @ Swynie - if not in person then at least in spirit :greengrin

007 Mickey Weir
09-01-2016, 04:07 PM
Where's Fyvie then ?

Suspended today

09-01-2016, 04:08 PM
Where's Fyvie then ?

"Accepted" a retrospective 2 match ban for simulation @ Ipox in the Halliday sending off incident.

09-01-2016, 04:15 PM
Well done to the boys today. 0-2 away from home against anyone is a good result. Clean sheet as well, bring on Annan at home next round 😁

09-01-2016, 04:17 PM
Hutchy Vale at E Rd please.

09-01-2016, 04:25 PM

For purely sentimental reasons I would love that !!!

09-01-2016, 04:26 PM

Think East Kilbride might be a bit annoyed at you suggestion however I have to agree. That draw at ER would do nicely!

09-01-2016, 04:28 PM

I still remember how we struggled at home against Irvine Meadow a few seasons back....... :bitchy:

QMU-1875
09-01-2016, 04:38 PM
Second half was night and day. The difference when we play more direct and with a bit of pace and urgency, these teams can't handle it! Hopefully more of the same, Henderson made a real impact. Dom and McGregor's goals were class.

09-01-2016, 04:41 PM
Second half was night and day. The difference when we play more direct and with a bit of pace and urgency, these teams can't handle it! Hopefully more of the same, Henderson made a real impact. Dom and McGregor's goals were class.

What was Dagnall like QMU?

QMU-1875
09-01-2016, 04:49 PM

Think he looked decent, first half was quiet but the quality of pass to him was poor. In the second half when he had the ball he looked dangerous, always looking to shoot so think he'll contribute. Worried with Keatings, that's a few bad games on the bounce hopefully gets over it soon!

09-01-2016, 04:52 PM

Looks a handful. Didn't do too much but was busy and tidy enough. Promising I think.

09-01-2016, 04:57 PM

Game changed when Henderson came on for Bartley. Henderson went to right mid and Dylan went to centre mid and ran the show whilst previously Bartley was posted missing.

09-01-2016, 05:02 PM
Game changed when Henderson came on for Bartley. Henderson went to right mid and Dylan went to centre mid and ran the show whilst previously Bartley was posted missing.

Bartley did well I thought at winning the ball. The others weren't doing much with it when we got it. Henderson was the better player to push the game on though.

09-01-2016, 05:06 PM
Professional job by Hibs. Two pieces of quality were enough to see off a disappointing Raith. Maybe our year :greengrin

09-01-2016, 05:25 PM
Rubbish first half great second half. Thought Henderson made the difference. Keatings was poor today but overall a good away win

Peanut Shaz
09-01-2016, 05:59 PM
A bit off topic here, but some people just shouldn't go to games. The two women sitting in Row YY in seat numbers 72 & 73 I think NEVER stopped talking for 90 minutes. I now know all about their friends illness, what they watch on Netflix, family problems, etc etc. If they read this, next game please go to Costa for the afternoon because obviously you weren't in the least interested in the match. Rant over. 🙊

JHFC
09-01-2016, 05:59 PM

Would like that myself. Got two mates who player for them.

09-01-2016, 06:06 PM
3519 :greengrin That's what the stadium announcer said .

09-01-2016, 06:10 PM
I'll take a guess at it being because this is the cup and not the league :greengrinFyvie is banned today for a league incident and Malonga missed league games for a red in the Scottish last season. Pretty sure 2 yellows isn't an immediate ban.

09-01-2016, 06:11 PM
I still remember how we struggled at home against Irvine Meadow a few seasons back....... :bitchy:We won comfortably 3-0 that day?

09-01-2016, 06:14 PM
We won comfortably 3-0 that day?

My memory is we were really poor for the 1st 20 minutes or so and they started well, as you'd expect from them. Think they hit the side netting or had a shot go just wide or something. Once we scored and settled there was only 1 winner though.

09-01-2016, 06:17 PM
Dreadful first half, far better second and after McGregor's goal it was straightforward. Best for me were Hanlon and Fontaine in defence and Malonga and McGeoch in patches. Well done Stubbs for making the right subs at the right time.

09-01-2016, 06:50 PM
Professional job by Hibs. Two pieces of quality were enough to see off a disappointing Raith. Maybe our year :greengrin

I wish every team we played was disappointing ..... don't knock it.

09-01-2016, 06:52 PM
There's plenty of Hibbies I would rather take to task over non attendance than get all smug over the Raith Rovers crowds. Crap as we have been over the last few years we have been in 2 Scottish cup finals and mostly in the premier league and yet have plenty of folk who seem to have chucked it after one season in the championship.

Compared to the lot of your average Raith Rovers fan that's footballing Nirvana, so lets not start getting all superior and dare I say Yamish about other clubs followings.

You're obviously 100% correct.

However, I do think that football in Scotland is in a poor place when a town the size of Kirkcaldy (population almost 50,000) can only attract 1,684 fans to attend a home Scottish Cup match. Theses figures are repeated up and down the country. The romance of the cup - not in Scotland.

09-01-2016, 06:54 PM
According to EEN, Darren McGregor's goal was Hibs 1,000th in the Scottish Cup.

09-01-2016, 06:55 PM
Empty seats at the home end at Tynecastle.

09-01-2016, 07:11 PM

Can't possibly be.

09-01-2016, 07:21 PM

Bit harsh imo.
Raith offered nothing in the second half but Bartley didn't put a foot wrong all day! Think Henderson's energy instead of his power caused them more problems and in the end, we managed to get those two goals.

09-01-2016, 07:26 PM

However, I do think that football in Scotland is in a poor place when a town the size of Kirkcaldy (population almost 50,000) can only attract 1,684 fans to attend a home Scottish Cup match. Theses figures are repeated up and down the country. The romance of the cup - not in Scotland.

I think for many it is just too expensive.

Ricky Bobby
09-01-2016, 07:27 PM
A poor first half and miles better in the second half just like last week. Bartley done ok in the middle but there is no doubt Henderson offers far more creativity.

09-01-2016, 07:30 PM
Dom's goal :thumbsup: (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZdHXDayzd2Y&feature=youtu.be)

09-01-2016, 07:53 PM

Unfortunately thats where the game is in Scotland, lost sparkle and appeal.

09-01-2016, 07:55 PM
According to EEN, Darren McGregor's goal was Hibs 1,000th in the Scottish Cup.

Superb, scored by a Hibby. :thumbsup:

09-01-2016, 07:56 PM
Dom's goal :thumbsup: (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZdHXDayzd2Y&feature=youtu.be)

:agree::agree:

09-01-2016, 08:26 PM
http://i.imgur.com/8CmfRGi.gif

09-01-2016, 11:41 PM
Poor poor first 45 - only Lewis, CHs and Bartley showing up well.

Second half was much better/more impressive .. Dylan excellent and much more involved.

Some finish from Malonga.

Liked the look of Dagnall - clever player. Wasn't too convinced by the big guy at RB though.

The cup's in the bag :wink:

StevieBoyKdy
09-01-2016, 11:47 PM
Just watched the highlights on Hibs tv played close attention to gunnarsson came to narrow once or twice, Oxley gave him a right good telling of twice in the highlights. Hope
he improves. Good win today though.

StevieBoyKdy
09-01-2016, 11:51 PM
Interestingly if Hibs get to the quarter finals ties to be played on 5/6 March when we are due to play the Rangers. Be good to get that moved to a nice tasty evening game under the lights rather than an early kick off 12.15 affair.

09-01-2016, 11:52 PM
Interestingly if Hibs get to the quarter finals ties to be played on 5/6 March when we are due to play the Rangers. Be good to get that moved to a nice tasty evening game under the lights rather than an early kick off 12.15 affair.

This. :agree:

vuefrom1875
10-01-2016, 12:08 AM

Spot on, absolutely amazing. ..4000000fans..sorry 4450000..and huge spaces on the terracings. .love it...Billy big time team .tramps!!

10-01-2016, 12:20 AM

Sweet as you like :wink:

10-01-2016, 07:45 AM
Raith player wide from a Daly knockdown.

Fontaine and Stevenson have been poor for me, Hanlon strolling it.
Opinions ah...I thought Hanlon was honking 1st half...passing was dreadful improved massively like the team 2nd half

10-01-2016, 08:14 AM
Nice tweet from Raith last night. Congratulating us and saying they've been put out by the eventual winners for the last three years. Nice touch.

10-01-2016, 10:49 AM
http://i.imgur.com/8CmfRGi.gif