View Full Version : Anthony Stokes

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11

15-01-2016, 11:22 AM
Welcome to the Hibees, never in doubt! To the ones I PM'd... Told you he'd sign by Fri 😁👍🏼

The deal done Cat :)

15-01-2016, 11:22 AM
Na that's Osman mate :greengrin

No one will know who the 'wabbit' was.

Fwiw the bread man and Der Hun can have their league 2 signings

hibsmad
15-01-2016, 11:33 AM
Welcome to the Hibees, never in doubt! To the ones I PM'd... Told you he'd sign by Fri 

Can still get 1/4 on Bet Victor.

If it's really a done deal then there's still the chance to make plenty of cash!

15-01-2016, 11:35 AM
TC - Thanks for the pm mate, always put a lot of faith in your posts.

15-01-2016, 11:36 AM
I am finding it highly amusing that whilst looking at this thread I am seeing adverts for hair transplant procedures :tee hee:

If we get this over the line it will be a fantastic bit of business.

Over which line ? .... Finishing line ? .... Hair line ? 🤔

😋

If it's really a done deal then there's still the chance to make plenty of cash!

Yeah they will et you have a bet of no more than £10:agree:

I am finding it highly amusing that whilst looking at this thread I am seeing adverts for hair transplant procedures :tee hee:

If we get this over the line it will be a fantastic bit of business.

Did I hear Delilah saying, "Hair today, gone tomorrow" about Stokes?

hibsmad
15-01-2016, 11:38 AM
Yeah they will et you have a bet of no more than £10:agree:

Seriously?

I've never bet on players or managers moving between clubs and haven't come across this type of restriction before.

Greenworld
15-01-2016, 11:39 AM

Its not done till its done

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

15-01-2016, 11:39 AM
Nice when Hibs Transfer News. C&P a post from here. Keep up the good work. :greengrin

No they don't do that. Said so on here..........

Deek01
15-01-2016, 11:46 AM
Seriously?

I've never bet on players or managers moving between clubs and haven't come across this type of restriction before.

I've got £20 on stokes coming so you can bet more than £10

hibsmad
15-01-2016, 11:49 AM

Yep I agree.

However there will always be that window when a deal is done but it hasn't been announced yet.

I'm not in ITK, but if some people are and know this to be the case, then I was simply pointing out that the opportunity is there.

15-01-2016, 12:05 PM
Yep I agree.

However there will always be that window when a deal is done but it hasn't been announced yet.

I'm not in ITK, but if some people are and know this to be the case, then I was simply pointing out that the opportunity is there.

Can't wait until we get someone ITK that posts on here to help us out with this.

banchoryhibs
15-01-2016, 12:05 PM
I work through the West and the bears here are gutted about him signing for us.
Can't wait for the official announcement

15-01-2016, 12:11 PM
How long till the 'Song for Stokes' thread? :Dunno

15-01-2016, 12:11 PM
I work through the West and the bears here are gutted about him signing for us.
Can't wait for the official announcement

Same here. Hope it happens 👍🙈

hibsmad
15-01-2016, 12:12 PM
Can't wait until we get someone ITK that posts on here to help us out with this.

I trust The Cat's posts and he has welcomed him.

No pressure TC :wink:

15-01-2016, 12:13 PM

"Stokesy, Stokesy" "Stokesy, Stokesy"

Lomondhibs
15-01-2016, 12:14 PM

Betting is is suspended stokes has cleaned them oot

15-01-2016, 12:15 PM

That will remain Stubbsy's song and Stubbsy's alone :wink I always like the "nananananana Tony, Tony Stokes" to the tune of Give It Up - KC & the Sunshine Band :hyper

15-01-2016, 12:15 PM

Cathy Dennis is ****ting herself. :greengrin

15-01-2016, 12:20 PM

I think a lot of apparently ITK actually KFA, BTW. All IMHO :thumbsup:

Anyways,

EOF :thumbsup:

15-01-2016, 12:20 PM
I've got £20 on stokes coming so you can bet more than £10

Depends who you are and at what stage the process is at ALL bookies operate a policy of restricting bets, especially when there will be people who will know the outcome prior to it being public knowledge.

15-01-2016, 12:22 PM

:singing: "He is Stokes, he is good…….." :singing:

15-01-2016, 12:23 PM
Our very own Famous 5....Cummings, Malonga, Keatings, Dagnall, Stokes...simply an outstanding array of forwards to select from

15-01-2016, 12:23 PM
If your 5950 or so posts how many are

'Hyper'

;-)

I'd say a good 50%

hibbypostie
15-01-2016, 12:24 PM
:singing: "he is stokes, he is good…….." :singing:

ahaaaaaaaaaaaaa

15-01-2016, 12:25 PM
Hibernian have agreed a deal with Celtic to take Anthony Stokes on loan. Player still to agree. Could happen today. @BBCSportScot

15-01-2016, 12:26 PM
:singing: "He is Stokes, he is good…….." :singing:

"He left Celtic to get a run.....

.....in the team"

15-01-2016, 12:26 PM
Tony Stokes is magic, he wears a magic hat.. he hates the rangers and thinks warburtons a.....

15-01-2016, 12:28 PM
I am pretty pleased that Stokes is signing as when fit he is a quality striker.

Couple of things concern me though. Does he partner Jason? That means we drop Dom who at the moment is the only striker we have that holds the ball bringing our midfield into the game.

Secondly, he's not played for months. When is he likely to be fit?

Thirdly, I'm not enjoying the love in and favours from Celtic just now. I appreciate that Stubbs may have contacts there but I just wonder how long it'll be before Stubbs, McGinn and Cummings et al trot along the M8 after 'taking Hibs as far as they could'.

Lastly, any comparisons of Stokes signing to Latapy and Sauzee are radio rental!!!!!

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

15-01-2016, 12:30 PM

Couple of things concern me though. Does he partner Jason? That means we drop Dom who at the moment is the only striker we have that holds the ball bringing our midfield into the game.

Thirdly, I'm not enjoying the love in mans favours with Celtic just now. I just wonder how long it'll be before Stubbs, McGinn and Cummings trot song the M8 after 'taking Hibs as far as they could'.

Lastly, any comparisons of Stokes signing to Latapy and Sauzee are radio rental!!!!!

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

I wouldn't mind seeing Malonga tried at the tip of the diamond in place of Keatings.

His ability to control and hold onto the ball could be a huge asset in that role and bring others into the game.

15-01-2016, 12:31 PM

TC has said it is happening - good enough for me. Gets most thing right. Have faith mate, have faith. Hope when he does sign you come on and acknowledge he is/was right.

15-01-2016, 12:32 PM

Thirdly, I'm not enjoying the love in and favours from Celtic just now. I appreciate that Stubbs may have contacts there but I just wonder how long it'll be before Stubbs, McGinn and Cummings et al trot along the M8 after 'taking Hibs as far as they could'.

There's nae 'love in' with Celtc, and I don't think I've read anyone comparing him to Latapy or Sauzee (unless I've just missed those posts).

I don't see any downside to getting Stokes, very good striker, will improve our squad.

15-01-2016, 12:32 PM
TC has said it is happening - good enough for me. Gets most thing right. Have faith mate, have faith. Hope when he does sign you come on and acknowledge he is/was right.

He's an opportunist that's fooled you and many others.

If the rabbit out the hat he told me about a few weeks comes true I'll apologise.

15-01-2016, 12:33 PM
I wouldn't mind seeing Malonga tried at the tip of the diamond in place of Keatings.

His ability to control and hold onto the ball could be a huge asset in that role and bring others into the game.

Yep, Dom could easily play that role. In fact it could work better for him there imo as he holds up the ball really well and would thrive playing just in the hole.

15-01-2016, 12:33 PM
Tony Stokes is magic, he wears a magic hat.. he hates the rangers and thinks warburtons a.....

**** doesn't rhyme with hat Dexter.

15-01-2016, 12:35 PM
Alan Stubbs says he's hopeful Anthony Stokes will be in his team against Falkirk on Sunday as Hibs agree a loan deal with Celtic.

15-01-2016, 12:36 PM

I don't buy that. McGeoch, Henderson and now Stokes are quality players who enhance our team.

**** doesn't rhyme with hat Dexter.

Respectfully, I think you've misunderstood...

15-01-2016, 12:37 PM
Yep, Dom could easily play that role. In fact it could work better for him there imo as he holds up the ball really well and would thrive playing just in the hole.

Don't we all.

😂😂

The East Mains spy in the bushes is reporting that Mr Stokes is down there just now as he's answered the call for volunteers to shovel snaw.

Honest.

I get your drift :wink:

15-01-2016, 12:38 PM
😎

Wait he's signed?? Surely no 😁

TamHibs
15-01-2016, 12:40 PM

Wait he's signed?? Surely no 

You tell us :wink::greengrin

duffers
15-01-2016, 12:41 PM
Stokesy, Stokesy how's your da :offski:

Agree with option of keatings and new signing as attacking options from bench

cummuings stubbs
malonga
mcginn bartley mcgeough

You tell us :wink::greengrin

Nah he's sitting on Hibs net laughing at this thread 😉

😎

Wait he's signed?? Surely no 😁

Never listen to Thecat23, he's always at the wind up and fools us all etc, etc...

jamieross
15-01-2016, 12:44 PM

cummuings stubbs
malonga
mcginn bartley mcgeough

Is he still match fit? :wink:

From an STV journo on Twitter;

Alan Stubbs says he's hopeful Anthony Stokes will be in his team against Falkirk on Sunday as Hibs agree a loan deal with Celtic.

cummuings stubbs
malonga
mcginn bartley mcgeough

I like Stubbs but not sure about him up front !

Paul Barnes STV just tweeted that he has signed a loan deal and AS hopes he is in the squad for sunday.

15-01-2016, 12:45 PM
http://bit.ly/1nntjMQ

15-01-2016, 12:46 PM

Yeah or even a front three with Dom central and Stokes and Cummings playing off him.

15-01-2016, 12:46 PM
Deal agreed between Hibs and Celtic, just waiting on Stokes to agree.

15-01-2016, 12:47 PM
Paul Barnes STV just tweeted that he has signed a loan deal and AS hopes he is in the squad for sunday.

No he didn't

Salt N Sauzee
15-01-2016, 12:48 PM
No he didn't

He did pal :agree:

https://twitter.com/STVPaul/status/687991099466608640

No he didn't

yes, he did :agree:

There's nae 'love in' with Celtc, and I don't think I've read anyone comparing him to Latapy or Sauzee (unless I've just missed those posts).

I don't see any downside to getting Stokes, very good striker, will improve our squad.

There's been a few that have likened this signing as a major coup. It's a good one but not incredible.

Only downside is he could upset an already stable applecart but I reckon he'll want to make an impression so all good.

Hibs and Celtic have agreed, not Stokes just yet.

15-01-2016, 12:49 PM

Doesn't say that he's signed. Says Hibs and Celtic have agreed a deal. So had Dundee Utd and Celtic

Last Minute
Official now. Welcome Anthony stokes

He really didn't

Deal agreed between Hibs and Celtic, just waiting on Stokes to agree.

Stokes agreed on Tuesday.

15-01-2016, 12:50 PM
I don't buy that. McGeoch, Henderson and now Stokes are quality players who enhance our team.

I am not debating that these lads are quality players and Dylan is a hibs player so it is irrelevant. There is just a closer than normal link just now.

15-01-2016, 12:51 PM
I like Stubbs but not sure about him up front !

ha over excited but ill go with it. Gee the baw to stubbsey

15-01-2016, 12:51 PM

No he didn't

He really didn't

Can one of you just write fact, in capital letters at the end of your post, so I know who to believe.

15-01-2016, 12:53 PM
Can one of you just write fact, in capital letters at the end of your post, so I know who to believe.

:greengrin he wrote something to that effect, FACT :greengrin

15-01-2016, 12:53 PM

This was the tweet:

FACT

15-01-2016, 12:54 PM

Any idea when we can expect an announcement?

:greengrin he wrote something to that effect, FACT :greengrin

This was the tweet:

FACT

Not both of you!

:dizzy:

This was the tweet:

FACT

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/35311478

Hibernian have agreed a deal with Celtic to take Anthony Stokes on loan.
The striker has still to agree to the move himself, but Hibs manager Alan Stubbs says a deal with Stokes could be agreed on Friday.

15-01-2016, 12:56 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/35311478

Nowhere confirms he has signed. I will wait to see him with the scarf above his head saying how good the training centre is

15-01-2016, 12:57 PM
Cmon Stokesy:

1. Win the title
2. Score against the Jambos
3. Leave the Rangers in tears (see 1)

Whats not to enjoy about that.

15-01-2016, 01:02 PM
Must say I was against it to begin with but now I am pretty excited, and trust Stubbs' judgement 100%. Go on Stokesy lad.

hibsmad
15-01-2016, 01:03 PM

If the rabbit out the hat he told me about a few weeks comes true I'll apologise.

So he's not ITK?

What makes you ITK regarding Cats ITK status?

15-01-2016, 01:04 PM

I see hibstransfernews have just copied this as well now.

15-01-2016, 01:04 PM
Good stuff but not conclusive Meeko. Striker has still to decide it says.

Hopefully soon tho eh? 👍

15-01-2016, 01:05 PM
Alagui away seemingly.

hibbypostie
15-01-2016, 01:07 PM

OMG and the sun had the same story as the record how can both of them know surely only one person can know a thing

15-01-2016, 01:07 PM
Alagui away seemingly.

That'll free up #9.

15-01-2016, 01:08 PM
OMG and the sun had the same story as the record how can both of them know surely only one person can know a thing

Wind yer neck in eh!

He claimed he didn't copy from here yet it appears on his feed minutes after underscore posted it.

Hibby Gav
15-01-2016, 01:09 PM
Alagui away seemingly.

A real shame we lost a great player with that injury if true...but time for him to move on..

15-01-2016, 01:10 PM

rockets. :greengrin

15-01-2016, 01:11 PM
Alagui away seemingly.

Shame, cos I liked him a lot but to be brutally honest, in these times we can't afford to have any walking wounded in the squad.

hibbypostie
15-01-2016, 01:11 PM
Wind yer neck in eh!

He claimed he didn't copy from here yet it appears on his feed minutes after underscore posted it.

the amazing thing is if they are not members of that page they wouldn't see the posts lol so obviously they joined and check it

15-01-2016, 01:12 PM

😳 The so called rabbit was Hibbert. That was the info I was told as I passed it into yourself.

I don't try to fool anyone at all DH, I pass info on that I'm told and some signings happen others don't. But I certainly don't come on here to make stuff up. Many posters on here know me and know where my info comes from.

I understand if some don't believe things that's completely fine, but to say I'm fooling people is way off the mark.

15-01-2016, 01:12 PM
Still nothing officially confirmed yet, cmon Hibs I'm at 20% on the iPhone at work with no charger!! Keeping everything crossed this actually happens, a huge signing is an understatement!

15-01-2016, 01:13 PM
So he's not ITK?

What makes you ITK regarding Cats ITK status?

15-01-2016, 01:15 PM
 The so called rabbit was Hibbert. That was the info I was told as I passed it into yourself.

I don't try to fool anyone at all DH, I pass info on that I'm told and some signings happen others don't. But I certainly don't come on here to make stuff up. Many posters on here know me and know where my info comes from.

I understand if some don't believe things that's completely fine, but to say I'm fooling people is way off the mark.

I certainly remember from when on before to pay what you say close attention, of course things change quickly in transfers but I always believed and still do that people like yourself are sharing what you believe to be 100% genuine stuff.

15-01-2016, 01:18 PM
I certainly remember from when on before to pay what you say close attention, of course things change quickly in transfers but I always believed and still do that people like yourself are sharing what you believe to be 100% genuine stuff.

Thanks,

That's exactly it, I just like to post things I get told and sometimes it's on the money other times it doesn't happen and that's football.

15-01-2016, 01:21 PM
Thanks,

That's exactly it, I just like to post things I get and sometimes it's on the money other times it doesn't happen and that's football.

Will Stokes sign?

15-01-2016, 01:21 PM
Always laugh at this. Yogi and Stokesy around 1:10 into the video http://youtu.be/gL6EdV2sanQ :greengrin

15-01-2016, 01:23 PM
Will Stokes sign?

I've said all week I think he'll sign. Stokes was happy to sign as early as Tuesday until Celtic started getting in his ear.

hibbypostie
15-01-2016, 01:24 PM
Thanks,

That's exactly it, I just like to post things I get and sometimes it's on the money other times it doesn't happen and that's football.

that's why I don't get all this hounding people or facebook pages for posting stuff its not the end of the world if the infos wrong

as for the facebook page if you post stuff on a public site then its out there anyone can use it if you don't agree then keep it to yourself

H18S NX
15-01-2016, 01:25 PM
 The so called rabbit was Hibbert. That was the info I was told as I passed it into yourself.

I understand if some don't believe things that's completely fine, but to say I'm fooling people is way off the mark.............i'm with you there cat m8...:aok:

Stuarty27
15-01-2016, 01:27 PM
Team Cat...

Booooo Danderhall Hibs

15-01-2016, 01:28 PM

Trouble is, folk like TC set themselves up for a fall if their info doesn't bear fruit.
I'm sure there are a lot of other people 'ITK' on this forum who stay stoosh rather than take the unnecessary flak.

TC has good form, as does scoopyboy & a couple of others. So to those bona fide guys I say "Thank you & keep up the good work".

15-01-2016, 01:29 PM
that's why I don't get all this hounding people or facebook pages for posting stuff its not the end of the world if the infos wrong

as for the facebook page if you post stuff on a public site then its out there anyone can use it if you don't agree then keep it to yourself

Exactly, as soon as its posted anywhere on the net it's open to be posted elsewhere. I've no issue with any Hibs news sites on Twitter or FB. They have posted many things that I hadn't heard and were true! Some info like here comes off and others don't. If folk stopped posting little bits of info this place would be pretty boring.

15-01-2016, 01:32 PM
Trouble is, folk like TC set themselves up for a fall if their info doesn't bear fruit.
I'm sure there are a lot of other people 'ITK' on this forum who stay stoosh rather than take the unnecessary flak.

TC has good form, as does scoopyboy & a couple of others. So to those bona fide guys I say "Thank you & keep up the good work".

Scoops, Underscore, Ronaldo, Couple others as well have proved as well they have good info. These are guys also look out for if I haven't heard anything.

I think some have been put off posting on the MB because of it doesn't happen the usual suspects shoot you down. I actually find it funny now so it won't stop myself. Maybe they should hit ignore if they don't want to read the stuff I post. 😁

Greenworld
15-01-2016, 01:33 PM
You would have to laugh if he dosnt come after all this

15-01-2016, 01:33 PM
Team Cat...

Booooo Danderhall Hibs

Thing is I actually agree with many DH posts think he's one of the better posters he clearly doesn't think the same of mine haha.

15-01-2016, 01:35 PM
Will Stokes sign?

My sources say it's very likely. Pretty much a done deal, just waiting on official announcement which should come shortly.

15-01-2016, 01:38 PM
Scoops, Underscore, Ronaldo, Couple others as well have proved as well they have good info. These are guys also look out for if I haven't heard anything.

I think some have been put off posting on the MB because of it doesn't happen the usual suspects shoot you down. I actually find it funny now so it won't stop myself. Maybe they should hit ignore if they don't want to read the stuff I post. 

I just copy stuff from Hibs Transfer News. :wink:

15-01-2016, 01:38 PM
Amidst all the bitter resentment/narcissistic crowing on who got it right/wrong, the role of social media, and the sanctity or otherwise of the direct messageboard, it's hard to work out from this thread whether or not Stokes has actually signed.

15-01-2016, 01:39 PM
Sources (other peoples) are all aligning

Quoted as deal done on Hibernian FC Fans News

https://www.facebook.com/groups/682116121809885/?fref=nf

15-01-2016, 01:41 PM
my sources reckon it might be anthony stokes of sellick we might be talking to, but they've been wrong in the past

aw man that feels good, such power :greengrin

Greenworld
15-01-2016, 01:41 PM
until it comes from official site nothing is done interestingly not a cheap on Sky sports news

15-01-2016, 01:47 PM
****in' hurry up Hibs.

15-01-2016, 01:48 PM
I'm not going to believe it until i see a picture of Stokes, with a tricolour tied round his neck, getting heavy with half the youth team.

15-01-2016, 01:50 PM
I just copy stuff from Hibs Transfer News. :wink:

😂👍🏼

15-01-2016, 01:51 PM
Never in doubt

You would have to laugh if he dosnt come after all this

Imagine the which hunt 😳😳

Hello Berg :thumbsup:

15-01-2016, 01:55 PM
I think some have been put off posting on the MB because of it doesn't happen the usual suspects shoot you down. I actually find it funny now so it won't stop myself. Maybe they should hit ignore if they don't want to read the stuff I post. 

Well said :agree: Your inside info good or bad is appreciated mate.

Greenworld
15-01-2016, 01:56 PM
Imagine the which hunt 😳😳
Name change is good then you can join in the witch hunt against yourself.....lol

Why the delay in announcement do u think

15-01-2016, 01:56 PM
Imagine the which hunt 

Aye. Witch hunt shall we blame? :wink:

15-01-2016, 01:57 PM
Aye. Which hunt shall we blame? :wink:

Jeremy Hunt?

15-01-2016, 01:57 PM
Aye. Which hunt shall we blame? :wink:

Haha liked that! 😁👍🏼

DTS
15-01-2016, 02:06 PM
My hun supporting manager just said he'll be ****ing it if stokes signs and said a front two of Cummings and stokes could probably win us the league. They're running scared

15-01-2016, 02:13 PM
It's all done bar the signing. Stokes still has to do that part. the clubs have done their bit. would be the best pick-up Hibs have had at this time of the season, for many a year. reliable info.

15-01-2016, 02:14 PM
Amidst all the bitter resentment/narcissistic crowing on who got it right/wrong, the role of social media, and the sanctity or otherwise of the direct messageboard, it's hard to work out from this thread whether or not Stokes has actually signed.

I wasn't aware Stokes had anything to do with this thread. :greengrin

15-01-2016, 02:18 PM
Any mileage in the rumour that we're signing Stokes ?

DTS
15-01-2016, 02:21 PM

Not sure about mileage but there's over 40 pages on it

15-01-2016, 02:21 PM

Where you hearing this from Stoneyburn?

Hibeewilly
15-01-2016, 02:22 PM
1312 guests online - a tremendous welcome for Stokesy!!:gwa::flag::flag::flag:

15-01-2016, 02:26 PM
:hyper Hurry up, I have to go to work soon! :hyper

15-01-2016, 02:27 PM
:hyper Hurry up, I have to go to work soon! :hyper

Free drinks on this guy if it's confirmed. :greengrin

15-01-2016, 02:30 PM
A friend of a work colleages next door neighbours babysitter, who also babysits for Roy Keanes sister's sister in law had heard a rumour we were signing a guy called Anthony St Oaks from some Irish club...

15-01-2016, 02:32 PM
What squad number will he wear?

15-01-2016, 02:33 PM
What squad number will he wear?

I'm guessing 9 if El Alagui's gone. Otherwise, 20?

15-01-2016, 02:34 PM
So taking a 50/50 punt on whether an already pretty well trailed press story will complete or not is now being ITK? 😉

In that case my sources tell me it will be done. Mind, stuff always goes wrong so I can't be responsible for that.

Godsahibby
15-01-2016, 02:37 PM
BREAKING NEWS: Hibs and Celtic agree loan move for striker Anthony Stokes.

Evening news facebook

Godsahibby
15-01-2016, 02:38 PM

Evening news facebook

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-and-celtic-agree-deal-over-anthony-stokes-loan-move-1-4002086

15-01-2016, 02:42 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-and-celtic-agree-deal-over-anthony-stokes-loan-move-1-4002086

ON the BBC Website also

15-01-2016, 02:43 PM
Is the rabbit out the hat ?

15-01-2016, 02:43 PM

Evening news facebook

Is this not old news?

Green Man
15-01-2016, 02:44 PM
Is this not old news?

Yep. We already know the clubs have agreed a deal, still waiting on Stokes to agree.

15-01-2016, 02:45 PM
Is this not old news?

Yes it is. Stokes is still to put pen to paper as far as i can tell

15-01-2016, 02:45 PM
So taking a 50/50 punt on whether an already pretty well trailed press story will complete or not is now being ITK? 😉

In that case my sources tell me it will be done. Mind, stuff always goes wrong so I can't be responsible for that.

I PM folk on here long before the press. But I'd never expect you to admit anyone has info 😉👍🏼

15-01-2016, 02:47 PM
Where you hearing this from Stoneyburn?

I have a good source.

15-01-2016, 02:48 PM
So taking a 50/50 punt on whether an already pretty well trailed press story will complete or not is now being ITK? 

Not sure why you're so bitter. Enjoy the moment! :thumbsup:

I thought Stokes had agreed earlier in the week and that it was Celtic holding things up? What would Stokes have to agree on exactly if the clubs have agreed the financials??

Thought I heard Stubbs on Forth One news at 3.00pm saying something like they had agreed a deal and were just trying to tie things up with Anthony and his representatives.
That sounds to me like Stokes Agent is looking for more than Hibs are prepared to bung him

15-01-2016, 02:50 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-and-celtic-agree-deal-over-anthony-stokes-loan-move-1-4002086it is now more than increasingly likely that it's a done deal...................if he signs:wink: reports being denied that Liann Dempster had him by the scruff of the neck at one point.:greengrin

Thought I heard Stubbs on Forth One news at 3.00pm saying something like they had agreed a deal and were just trying to tie things up with Anthony and his representatives.
That sounds to me like Stokes Agent is looking for more than Hibs are prepared to bung him

He wants his membership to York Place casino reinstated.

IFONLY

And what would Hibs be bunging him!!!!!!!

15-01-2016, 02:52 PM
Sounds a bit odd that we need to be discussing terms with him? His Celtic contract can't be altered can it? Can you legally earn bonus money at another club? Perhaps he wants his goal bonuses to still be paid etc? Dunno how it all works TBH.

And what would Hibs be bunging him!!!!!!!

Loyalty points probably

I thought Stokes had agreed earlier in the week and that it was Celtic holding things up? What would Stokes have to agree on exactly if the clubs have agreed the financials??

Yup - that was the chat - He wanted to come back and help us win promotion / get one over Sevco.

Then Celtic had agreed terms with Utd - but player not keen to play in a relegation battle.

Now Hibs and Celtic agree...but reported Stokes need to agree personal terms..

Hopefully an official conclusion ASAP as we reach a crucial point in the season.

15-01-2016, 02:54 PM

I thought that whoever pays his wages, his wages would be the same. Maybe he is negociating things like guaranteed game time, goals bonuses and other conditions. I can't think what else would have to be discussed.

15-01-2016, 02:55 PM
Guys, I imagine all the hold is is just waiting on the paper work etc being finalised with the SPFL/SFA etc.

Putting a clause in his contract that if he borrows money from the youngsters again, he doesn't need to pay them back again :greengrin

What a carry on. You would think that it was Messi or Ronaldo that we were chasing and not a Celtic player who can't even get a game for them.

Get it done.

SausageSurprise
15-01-2016, 02:56 PM
Now all Alan Stubbs needs to do is sign Daz McCormacks right hook to keep Stokesy in check

15-01-2016, 02:57 PM
Guys, I imagine all the hold is is just waiting on the paper work etc being finalised with the SPFL/SFA etc.

this

Salt N Sauzee
15-01-2016, 02:57 PM

Thought that as well.

15-01-2016, 03:00 PM

Evening news facebook

Read all about it. Worst kept secret breaks.

15-01-2016, 03:00 PM

Nah, far to sensible 😂

Green forever
15-01-2016, 03:02 PM
Read all about it. Worst kept secret breaks.
Celtic also agreed terms with Dundee Utd but Stokes turned it down, hope he signs but will wait for official confirmation.

15-01-2016, 03:09 PM
my source says the talks have reached the critical stage regarding stokes's twitter account, can he still use it or not

#sigh

Iceman1875
15-01-2016, 03:18 PM
Will be interesting to see if he's on the bench tonight at Tannadice for Celtic.

At Easter Road we play...

Iceman1875
15-01-2016, 03:22 PM
One thing is for certain, he won't be going to Cardiff. They are under a transfer embargo until the summer!

At Easter Road we play...

Hibeewilly
15-01-2016, 03:26 PM
Off the official site

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6077

15-01-2016, 03:27 PM
Off the official site

That's the first time I've ever seen Hibs discuss an incomplete transfer on the official website.

SausageSurprise
15-01-2016, 03:28 PM
Any chance the title could be edited to not signed or signed in brackets?

LordBamba
15-01-2016, 03:30 PM
From Hibs web:

Speaking to Hibs TV, he said: “We’ve made contact with Celtic regarding Anthony Stokes. We’ve agreed in principal with Celtic a deal to hopefully speak to Anthony, we just need to tie one or two things up now with him and his advisor.

“Following that we will hopefully be in a position where we can announce something, but we’re not at that stage yet.”

Juice-Terry
Strange thing to announce unless the club are certain to sign him.

That's the first time I've ever seen Hibs discuss an incomplete transfer on the official website.
I mind Calderwood doing the same with Griffiths to be fair

15-01-2016, 03:31 PM
Off the official site

Thank god, some clarification at last.

Hibeewilly
15-01-2016, 03:31 PM
Formalities I would think or else he wouldn't have announced it. As I said in an earlier post it could be to do with securing his services for next season should the loan deal work out. I cant think of any other reason as we definitely have agreement with Celtic so it cant be wages

15-01-2016, 03:32 PM
Great to see the club keeping us informed on where the deal is actually at, they must know that some fans are getting a bit restless with it all. Delighted that it's nearly done. :aok:

AinsterHibs
15-01-2016, 03:32 PM
Right, I am now completely bald and nail-less.

Come on Hibs and Stokes, get it done.

15-01-2016, 03:33 PM
I thought that whoever pays his wages, his wages would be the same. Maybe he is negociating things like guaranteed game time, goals bonuses and other conditions. I can't think what else would have to be discussed.

Game time and a few extra quid if he helps Hibs pip the Huns to promotion, and scores the winner in the Scottish Cuo Final and guarantees Hibs Euro footie next season. :greengrin

15-01-2016, 03:35 PM
Feels to me this statement has been made by hibs to try and force the issue a little. If it was just a formality, why bother saying anything now? Why not just wait til it's sorted properly?

15-01-2016, 03:35 PM
Great to see the club keeping us informed on where the deal is actually at, they must know that some fans are getting a bit restless with it all. Delighted that it's nearly done. :aok:

I feel that's the reason for this announcement

15-01-2016, 03:37 PM
Off the official site

Yup - very strange considering we never announce anything till deal is fully done.

15-01-2016, 03:40 PM
Has the proof-reader been sacked?

PRINCIPLE.

Would never have happened on Rod's watch....

15-01-2016, 03:40 PM
So taking a 50/50 punt on whether an already pretty well trailed press story will complete or not is now being ITK? 

I'm hearing that Celtic and Hibs have agreed terms, Stokes hasn't signed anything yet but something might happen within a fortnight.

"Beefster Sports News - first with all the breaking news"

SausageSurprise
15-01-2016, 03:41 PM
Strange thing to announce unless the club are certain to sign him.

That's what I thought. If he has signed then announce it, If he's not then don't say nothing until he has signed.

Posh Swanny
15-01-2016, 03:42 PM
"We totally, definitely didn't tap up Stokes before agreeing a deal with Celtic. Look, there's still things to agree with him and his advisors and everything."

Greenworld
15-01-2016, 03:44 PM
Oh dear Thecat 23 you better check out some names just in case ....lol

SausageSurprise
15-01-2016, 03:44 PM
Yup - very strange considering we never announce anything till deal is fully done.

It's all very reminiscent of the Scotty Allan gate, albeit the two clubs hadn't agreed anything yet but we are still going in to the public domain about a player who as of yet has nothing to do with us

15-01-2016, 03:46 PM
It's all very reminiscent of the Scotty Allan gate, albeit the two clubs hadn't agreed anything yet but we are still going in to the public domain about a player who as of yet has nothing to do with us

Which is very unlike us. Trying to calm down all the speculation?

15-01-2016, 03:47 PM
Hibs are the third club to go public about Stokes. Hopefully we will be more successful that United or ICT

15-01-2016, 03:48 PM
Feels to me this statement has been made by hibs to try and force the issue a little. If it was just a formality, why bother saying anything now? Why not just wait til it's sorted properly?

Maybe AT (or his agent) is trying moving the goalposts at this late stage and it's Hibs way of saying "We've done everything we can so if he doesn't sign it's his fault"
(which he might). :dunno:

15-01-2016, 03:48 PM
Which is very unlike us. Trying to calm down all the speculation?

Well, that worked :greengrin

15-01-2016, 03:49 PM
Sounds to me like they have said something because of all the speculation.

Without going back thru the last few pages of this thread, am I right in thinking that we're in exactly the same position as Dundee United were in yesterday?

When the other team has agreed you can talk to the player it is very different.

15-01-2016, 03:50 PM
Has the proof-reader been sacked?

PRINCIPLE.

Should of been, for that. :agree:

15-01-2016, 03:50 PM
Without going back thru the last few pages of this thread, am I right in thinking that we're in exactly the same position as Dundee United were in yesterday?

Yes but we appear to have a few sources suggesting he wants to come to us. They had the opposite.

15-01-2016, 03:51 PM
Hibs are the third club to go public about Stokes. Hopefully we will be more successful that United or ICT

Yup - ICT - http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/35273644

D.United - http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/mixu-paatelainen-anthony-stokes-dundee-7183625#bSIDWuGe0BJyZy0b.97

This whole saga is very odd - not tapping up as a loan player.

It's not calming down fans at all - quite the opposite :greengrin

I blame this thread. Its been a frenzy for days. Fantastic.

Near enough.

Only difference being that we're making contact with Anthony and he's interested. He didn't fancy United at all.

All in all, I wouldn't be surprised if he was announced as a Hibs player tonight, at some point.

15-01-2016, 03:52 PM
The cat , i'm no being funny mate but you are 'high fiving' everyone that has won cash on Stokes ? But as far as i'm aware he hasn't even signed :confused:

That seems to be the case. Although it appears that the player is much more interested in our case.

Aye, send him/her to the Principle :wink:

Yes but we appear to have a few sources suggesting he wants to come to us. They had the opposite.

15-01-2016, 03:53 PM

See what you've done there!😂

15-01-2016, 03:57 PM
So what Hibs are saying is he's signed but he's no signed.Or to put it another way, he's no signed but he's signed.

Greenworld
15-01-2016, 03:58 PM
Just need to sign that Rabbit instead :)

15-01-2016, 03:58 PM
I'm hearing that Celtic and Hibs have agreed terms, Stokes hasn't signed anything yet but something might happen within a fortnight.

"Beefster Sports News - first with all the breaking news"

:agree: mind and not cry if it doesn't happen and posters question you.

15-01-2016, 03:59 PM
I suspect the announcement is a thinly veiled "We're working on it but it's not happening any time soon so haud yer horses and stop refreshing the Stokes thread on hibs.net."

15-01-2016, 04:02 PM
I will get dogs abuse from Mrs Col2 tonight if I spend the whole evening on my phone refreshing this bloody thread.....I got away with it today as I was at work!

15-01-2016, 04:03 PM
Jeeezus - will you all relax. All done.

Green Man
15-01-2016, 04:03 PM
Sounds to me like they have said something because of all the speculation.

Your just speculating.

15-01-2016, 04:05 PM

Source?

15-01-2016, 04:05 PM

So where is the official confirmation ?

15-01-2016, 04:06 PM

I think it's hilarious mate.

15-01-2016, 04:06 PM

Aye? Hope you're right.

15-01-2016, 04:07 PM

Not doubting you, but we were told much the same when Steve Clarke was defo the next manager and look how that turned out. :wink:

It's all very well you 2 saying it's all done. Why no announcement??

15-01-2016, 04:08 PM

What ? Cause we are asking for official confirmation ? How's that hilarious ?

15-01-2016, 04:10 PM

Is Stokes your pal as well as Stanton ?

It's all very well you 2 saying it's all done. Why no announcement??

When a deal has been agreed you then get the paper work put through. This can takes couple of hours for all signatures etc or can be longer depending on clearance.

Some think deals are a case of walking in signing then that's it. It can all be agreed but take a while to actually go through officially.

You're loving it

15-01-2016, 04:12 PM
When a deal has been agreed you then get the paper work put through. This can takes couple of hours for all signatures etc or can be longer depending on clearance.

Some think deals are a case of walking in signing then that's it. It can all be agreed but take a while to actually go through officially.

So when was it actually done?

15-01-2016, 04:12 PM
Not doubting you, but we were told much the same when Steve Clarke was defo the next manager and look how that turned out. :wink:

I had a few bob on that as well 😩😩

Funny as that was prob more likely than the Stokes deal but shows what could happen at the last min.

15-01-2016, 04:13 PM
For a situation where the player is allegedly keen and the receiving club is keen, the protracted discussion seems to be a bit puzzling. Maybe the whole thing has been too public and that all loan arrangements go on like this one. I'm trying to think of another comparable example.

15-01-2016, 04:14 PM
Just need to sign that Rabbit instead :)

Anthony must be 'the rabbit' given the amount of bugs there's been up to now.

15-01-2016, 04:15 PM
So when was it actually done?

Stokes agreed as far back as Tuesday he'd be happy to come back. All that was needed was personal terms and others moving on. Other teams as you know wanted him and he turned them down.

Now that both clubs have agreed this, Stokes I'd expect will be here shortly!

I suspect the announcement is a thinly veiled "We're working on it but it's not happening any time soon so haud yer horses and stop refreshing the Stokes thread on hibs.net."

Yes, Hibs' negotiating team will just be getting slowed down by having to continually check this thread so they know what's REALLY going on! :greengrin

Is Stokes your pal as well as Stanton ?

Yeah 😊

That's all fine and well but no need for the billy big baws "I find it hilarious"

15-01-2016, 04:16 PM
What ? Cause we are asking for official confirmation ? How's that hilarious ?

I think the official statement says to me that it is pretty much done. Not like Hibs to ever announce in talks with a player etc. My guess is that it is deal done.

wills
Could the delay be that Stokes wants assurances regarding game time?

Stokes agreed as far back as Tuesday he'd be happy to come back. All that was needed was personal terms and others moving on. Other teams as you know wanted him and he turned them down.

Should we put the kettle on? :greengrin

15-01-2016, 04:17 PM

So you don't know and the laughing was just a bit daft?

The rabbit is Javier Saviola.

That's all fine and well but no need for the billy big baws "I find it hilarious"

I should have made it clearer, it was the digs I was finding funny. Nothing wrong with folk asking about it being official.

15-01-2016, 04:18 PM
So you don't know and the laughing was just a bit daft?

I don't know what?

15-01-2016, 04:18 PM
Should we put the kettle on? :greengrin

Coffee, milk, 2 sugars please 😁

15-01-2016, 04:19 PM
Not coming

15-01-2016, 04:19 PM

Has he agreed personal terms?

15-01-2016, 04:20 PM
Not coming

Who?

My sources tell me that Stokes is signed and a surprise player/coach (presumably Thomson) will be announced tomorrow - pay as you play.

Any chance the title could be edited to not signed or signed in brackets?

Lazy! :wink:

Who?

His bird. :agree:

15-01-2016, 04:21 PM
My sources tell me that Stokes is signed and a surprise player/coach (presumably Thomson) will be announced tomorrow - pay as you play.

Heard the same.

If this falls through it'll be worse than last year.

I'm believing nowt until confirmed by Brooster or Big Mo.

15-01-2016, 04:22 PM
His bird. :agree:
There's books he could get. Or operations.

15-01-2016, 04:23 PM
Yeah 😊

Nae bother mate. You crack on

SausageSurprise
15-01-2016, 04:23 PM
I think the official statement says to me that it is pretty much done. Not like Hibs to ever announce in talks with a player etc. My guess is that it is deal done.

Sparky last season? Stubbs went public about how we were going to get him on a 90 day emergency loan

15-01-2016, 04:24 PM

Thomson wouldn't get a game in our team

15-01-2016, 04:24 PM
The rabbit is Javier Saviola.

I think you'll find that it's The Malaga right winger Sombrero Conejo

We are also speaking to Norwegian Goalkeeper Sjokk Kanin