View Full Version : Favourite stadium that isn't Easter Road

AngusHibby
08-01-2016, 08:45 AM
What's everyone's favourite stadium apart from Easter Road?

For me it's Glebe Park, home of Brechin City. Hedge running down the one side a couple tiny stands and a terrace. My earliest memories of watching football so it's an obvious choice for me, but the place has a nice character about it. The amount of balls that used to get lost over the hedge side was outrageous.

08-01-2016, 08:50 AM
Always quite like going to East End park as much to do with the proximity in terms of easy to get to and away from.

08-01-2016, 08:58 AM
PBS on 1/1/73!

08-01-2016, 09:02 AM
I liked Muirton Park. Most confortable has to be Ayebrokes. Not where we end up now but remember the semis vs Celtic in the cup and been in the club deck a couple of times including the Darren Jackson penalty win. Great views and a little like our own these days.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

Tom Hart RIP
08-01-2016, 09:16 AM
PBS on 1/1/73!

And 19/12/99

08-01-2016, 09:26 AM
I like Palmerston Park. Old fashioned ground that still retains a bit charm as opposed to being just run down.

For modern stadiums Wembley takes some beating, it's a quite brilliant stadium.

08-01-2016, 09:26 AM
I loved Brockville, especially the away enclosure opposite the main stand. It had a really low roof, it was all terracing, and you were separated from the home end by a cage and only a few feet of empty space - always made for a superb atmosphere.

08-01-2016, 09:30 AM
The old tannadice terracing.So steep it felt like you needed a safety harness.

08-01-2016, 09:31 AM
Favourite stadium experience was a random away game at Gayfield on one of the coldest January nights on record. Arbroath vs Ayr United - it was so cold (and the stadium empty enough) that most people were walking counterclockwise around the terraces to keep warm. It was like a circle-pit with a football match going on in the middle - the players looked somewhat bemused by the entire experience.

Favourite stadium probably isn't a football stadium but a baseball one, Wrigley Field. Just walking into the stadium on gameday is an experience loaded with a history that's arguably as painful as ours (even though I'm not a Cubbie, I can't help but feel for their fans!).

TamHibs
08-01-2016, 09:32 AM
Have to say Tincastle is my favourite ground out with ER due to the atmosphere generated during a derby, even better when it's a win for us :greengrin:greengrin

I've yet to visit a more impressive stadium than Old Trafford throughout the UK.

I hope to vist the Westfalenstadion as some point to take in a Dortmund match

linlithgowhibbie
08-01-2016, 09:46 AM
The old Firs Park. Not Motherwell but the old East Stirlingshire ground. Saw us will 5-3 there in the good old days.

Closely followed by Brockville and Prestonfield (Linlithgow Rose):agree:

08-01-2016, 09:47 AM
I like Palmerston Park. Old fashioned ground that still retains a bit charm as opposed to being just run down.

For modern stadiums Wembley takes some beating, it's a quite brilliant stadium.

Agree with both of those - quite enjoy Palmerston, don't mind Somerset park for similar reasons.

Wembley's magnificent. I was on the pitch for the boxing and the sheer size of the place is unreal, very impressive. Bernabeu is impressive aswell, height and steepness of the top tiers isn't for the faint hearted.

Ricky Bobby
08-01-2016, 10:03 AM
100% Wembley. Puts Hampden to shame.

St Pauli Hibee
08-01-2016, 10:27 AM
In Scotland has to be East End Park, we always take a big following through there and usually a good atmosphere

In UK probably the Emirates nothing comes close

In Europe being biased love the Millerntor Stadion (St Pauli) but the Allianz Arena is definitely something special

Juice-Terry
08-01-2016, 10:28 AM
The Boleyn Ground. Sadly soon to pass into memory only. :boo hoo:

08-01-2016, 10:36 AM
Somerset Park, the Scottish cup quarter final in 2012 under the old terracing was absolutely incredible!

MKHIBEE
08-01-2016, 11:05 AM
Watching Schalke at the Veltins Arena was one fantastic experience, right from arriving at the ground until after the match.My favourite non Hibs and Lincoln trip.

08-01-2016, 11:16 AM
The old Brockville for me as well. I loved going there, you could get off the train and fall into one of the pubs and it was 5 mins to the ground. The atmosphere was always brilliant, the two games there the last time we were relegated were legendary.

08-01-2016, 11:31 AM
Hampden - due to the atmosphere and importance of games that I'm watching when I go there!

08-01-2016, 11:32 AM
Somerset Park, the Scottish cup quarter final in 2012 under the old terracing was absolutely incredible!

This for me too .... It was like being in a time warp, the place had barely changed from my time following Hibs to away games in the 70s & 80s, but you cant beat that old under the shed atmosphere you can still get there, even if the pace is a tip.

Of all time my favourite has to be Partick Thistle .... always a cracking atmosphere with both sets of fans sharing the shed opposite the main stand.

In fact if I win the lottery I'm going to knock down the FF and South at ER, move all the fancy stuff to the East, and replace both stands with old style sheds like the have at Ayr with standing for 3,500 in each stand ( Rail seats of course ) .... that'll put paid to any lack of atmosphere at ER :greengrin

08-01-2016, 11:38 AM

I like Somerset Park as well.

Football how it used to be.

Allianz Arena is special and I have to say I really like St James Park in Newcastle, excellent ground and slap bang in the city centre so it makes for a great day out.

I love the Boleyn too and I'm gutted that West Ham are choosing to move from a ground that oozes character and has a great atmosphere to a big, soulless Olympic Stadium. It is a recipe for disaster imo as West Ham will lose a lot of what is cool about them.

08-01-2016, 11:39 AM
Have to say Tincastle is my favourite ground out with ER due to the atmosphere generated during a derby, even better when it's a win for us :greengrin:greengrin

I've yet to visit a more impressive stadium than Old Trafford throughout the UK.

I hope to vist the Westfalenstadion as some point to take in a Dortmund match

Tynie when the hibs are winning...great atmosphere, and good to see 3 other stands quiet as mice.
I enjoy going to east end park too.....dunno why.
The san siro is pretty impressive with the flags chanting and flares....

magnificent_seven
08-01-2016, 11:50 AM
What's everyone's favourite stadium apart from Easter Road?

For me it's Glebe Park, home of Brechin City. Hedge running down the one side a couple tiny stands and a terrace. My earliest memories of watching football so it's an obvious choice for me, but the place has a nice character about it. The amount of balls that used to get lost over the hedge side was outrageous.

Been to the Westfalen a few times and been standing in the "yellow wall" behind the goals. Nothing compares to that atmosphere, it is unbelievable.

UK wise, loved Craven Cottage when I was there a few weeks back, great old fashioned ground that sits right on the Thames.

08-01-2016, 11:51 AM
This for me too .... It was like being in a time warp, the place had barely changed from my time following Hibs to away games in the 70s & 80s, but you cant beat that old under the shed atmosphere you can still get there, even if the pace is a tip.

Of all time my favourite has to be Partick Thistle .... always a cracking atmosphere with both sets of fans sharing the shed opposite the main stand.

In fact if I win the lottery I'm going to knock down the FF and South at ER, move all the fancy stuff to the East, and replace both stands with old style sheds like the have at Ayr with standing for 3,500 in each stand .... that'll put paid to any lack of atmosphere at ER :greengrin

I'd be well up for that. :greengrin

They could do Scottish football a big favour by knocking down a lot of the crap that was thrown up in the nineties to comply with the Taylor report and replacing the new stands with piss-soaked covered terraces again.

Get a bit of the old atmosphere back.

Funny nobody's mentioned Broomfield or Boghead yet eh?

08-01-2016, 12:03 PM
Somerset Park for me, it's an incredible stadium, full of character and just absolutely love the place, I always try and get through a couple of times every season just incase they decide to yank the thing down. Like Tynecastle aswell but it might be because the sense of occasion it has when we go to visit, I know a lot of jambos who feel the same about ER.

nellio
08-01-2016, 12:07 PM
Millenium stadium in Cardiff for me. Incredible when full especially if the roof is closed.

08-01-2016, 12:13 PM
The Boleyn Ground. Sadly soon to pass into memory only. :boo hoo:

Beat me to it, especially for a match at night. Will miss it when it goes.

08-01-2016, 12:14 PM
Stadion An der Alten Försterei in Berlin - home of Union Berlin.

Some folk on here might have been there for that pre-season game.

90% standing, 110% atmosphere. Belter of a stadium.

08-01-2016, 12:52 PM
Wouldn't say I've got a favourite but always liked the terracing at the PBS ( when we were in the opposite end )
Enjoyed most clubs terracing in the 80s tbh .
Games at Dumbarton's old Bog Head stadium were sureal when the fans I the terraces swapped ends at half time :)

DarrenSQH
08-01-2016, 12:56 PM
The Superdome for me. Been twice and its superb. Only wembley has came close for me.

08-01-2016, 01:00 PM

Had the best bratwurst ever at that game.....(more than 1 actually)

Always liked Maribor stadium, good atmosphere....Den Haag was nice, just a trek to get to..............

08-01-2016, 01:23 PM
I was at Anfield for a Liverpool Chelsea game a few years back, was the game Suarez bit Ivanovic. About ten yards away from the Chelsea supporters... Not a fan of either team but was some atmosphere.

Up here I especially like the trips to Ibrox, Tynecastle, Fir Park and Tannadice. Really enjoyed Palmerston Park the last few years and the trips to Ayr in the cups in recent years have been something different. Inverness is a tidy wee ground and always makes for a brilliant trip away on the bevvy if nothing else.

Absolutely hate St Mirren Park, St Johnstone, Dumbarton etc, just any those souless new Lego set stadiums really. Holes.

08-01-2016, 01:24 PM
East End Park for me..........good views of the pitch, good atmosphere and the best steak bridies in Scotland. Nice wee tuck shop as well............not often you get fresh doughnuts and cakes alongside your Bovril!

08-01-2016, 01:35 PM
East End Park for me..........good views of the pitch, good atmosphere and the best steak bridies in Scotland. Nice wee tuck shop as well............not often you get fresh doughnuts and cakes alongside your Bovril!

There are disturbing rumours that they don't sell these any more! I agree though - good place to watch a match

08-01-2016, 01:38 PM
Somerset is a good shout.

I always enjoyed the old Celtic Park. Can't stand the new one.

norwayhibs
08-01-2016, 04:19 PM
Westfallen stadium in Dortmund. The atmosphere is absolutely fantastic. 81000 at every Bundesliga home game.

08-01-2016, 04:24 PM
Hampden - due to the atmosphere and importance of games that I'm watching when I go there!

This. Some great memories wathcihg Hibs and Scotland at Hampden.:thumbsup:

08-01-2016, 04:27 PM

Yup, I was over for that game, managed to get stuck in the home end behind the goals and they wouldn't open the gates to let the 3 of us walk round. Still had a great time with beer on the terraces and the locals were great. Swapped a scarf with one of them as well.

08-01-2016, 04:27 PM
There are disturbing rumours that they don't sell these any more! I agree though - good place to watch a match

They didn't for a while but they do now. :aok:

08-01-2016, 04:28 PM
I like tynecastle, always a good atmosphere in a derby.

08-01-2016, 05:15 PM
A few German stadiums getting a mention. Surprised none of the big Spanish stadiums have yet as know a few of us have been to at least one.

majorhibs
08-01-2016, 05:31 PM
A few German stadiums getting a mention. Surprised none of the big Spanish stadiums have yet as know a few of us have been to at least one.

Aye Spain has some good uns, Mestalla is my current fave, nae mention of the Maracana, new one is OK but that auld yin before the redevelopment for the World Cup, there will never be another place like that, truly a lgendary place that just had that special feel all about it... but E.R. is home.

08-01-2016, 05:38 PM
And 19/12/99

Never, ever!😩

micksoo
08-01-2016, 05:47 PM
the old Wembley, fantastic atmosphere!

08-01-2016, 05:47 PM
My favourite away days were in the terracing era: Tannadice, Fir Park and East End Park. Used to always get a good sing-song going at each of them.

08-01-2016, 05:52 PM
I liked Anfield when the Kop was still terracing. An amazing atmosphere, especially for the many midweek European ties.

08-01-2016, 05:53 PM
Out with watching Hibs, Allianz arena, great, beers on the terracing, nice beer too!! very civilised!🍺

micksoo
08-01-2016, 06:30 PM

08-01-2016, 06:39 PM

Sadly it was a realy cr*p stadiium to actually watch the game.

I only ever stood behind the goals and could hardly see the pitch

08-01-2016, 06:44 PM
They didn't for a while but they do now. :aok:

Phew !!! [emoji1]

08-01-2016, 07:00 PM
Sadly it was a realy cr*p stadiium to actually watch the game.

I only ever stood behind the goals and could hardly see the pitchWembley was much like Hampden from behind the goals, not much point in being there other than for the atmosphere.

Torto7062
08-01-2016, 07:04 PM
To be fair I do like Pittodrie had some good away days whether it's been by bus or train..needless to say half the time I cannae mind the score on the trip home

08-01-2016, 07:14 PM
To be fair I do like Pittodrie had some good away days whether it's been by bus or train..needless to say half the time I cannae mind the score on the trip home

The beech end at pittodrie was brilliant

08-01-2016, 07:32 PM
Powderhall for me.
Cmon trap 1

08-01-2016, 07:54 PM
Loved Broomfield and that funny novelty stand.

08-01-2016, 07:59 PM

Hate Hampden, lacks atmosphere, stands too far from pitch, horrible to get to, nae decent pubs nearby, the cheapest makeover of all home nations and so neutral it has a Rangers end and a Celtic end.

majorhibs
08-01-2016, 08:15 PM
Hate Hampden, lacks atmosphere, stands too far from pitch, horrible to get to, nae decent pubs nearby, the cheapest makeover of all home nations and so neutral it has a Rangers end and a Celtic end.

Aye you got it- seriously who thinks highly (or even moderately) on what they have made into our national stadium?

08-01-2016, 08:26 PM
Tynecastle for me......its so bad i just can't stop laughing at it

08-01-2016, 08:33 PM
Griffin Park, Brentford. Just a nice wee ground.

08-01-2016, 09:13 PM
Somerset Park, the Scottish cup quarter final in 2012 under the old terracing was absolutely incredible!one of my favourites too. that game was brilliant as well. Also like Palmerston,as mentioned by previous poster.

08-01-2016, 09:20 PM
Griffin Park, Brentford. Just a nice wee ground.was there a couple of years ago, loved it , with the auld terracing and able to buy beer at half time. the pub almoswt next to it was a star wars bar! wummin' wi' cockney accents screaming at the kids.....get orf that ' table yoos!:greengrin

08-01-2016, 09:33 PM
Newtown park

08-01-2016, 09:38 PM
Griffin Park, Brentford. Just a nice wee ground.

Great shout, pub on each corner of the ground. Its days sadly numbered though.

08-01-2016, 09:38 PM
Loved Broomfield and that funny novelty stand.

08-01-2016, 09:49 PM
Ross County's ground has a nice feel to it and is in a beautiful part of the country.

Favourite old grounds would be Hampden and Tynecastle. Proper old school terracing.

08-01-2016, 09:58 PM
The new Dumbarton stadium for the surrounding scenery only 😀

08-01-2016, 10:20 PM
Boghead, Love St, Broomfiel & Firhill all great terraces where fans met at half way line and some of the banter with the songs were priceless. Muirton Park worth a shout too.

08-01-2016, 10:33 PM
Aye you got it- seriously who thinks highly (or even moderately) on what they have made into our national stadium?

"Hampden - due to the atmosphere and importance of games that I'm watching when I go there!" :rolleyes:

I'm perfectly aware there are some not very nice things about Glasgow.

Loopz
08-01-2016, 10:37 PM
Flying to Rome for Roma v Milan game tomorrow at Stadio Olimpica with Gyle hibby. Atmosphere at last years Lazio game was incredible. The fire crackers give you a fright every time. I Really should be sleeping.

08-01-2016, 10:41 PM

Best football atmospheres I've experienced have come at Hampden. (both for Hibs and Scotland)

I do agree re getting to the stadium/pubs. you might as well throw weegie Polis into that.

But if we're talking about how easy it i to get to stadiums - the Bernabeau is a sh**e hole too! :greengrin

08-01-2016, 10:48 PM
After going to a MLS game there while on holiday last year its Orlando's Citrus Bowl for me.

It's only being used by Orlando City while they are constructing their new stadium. The atmosphere was superb, supported by beer served at your seat.

It's probably more about the overall experience of football in a sunny climate which was no doubt boosted by my holiday mode mood.

Loved it though. http://www.cityoforlando.net/venues/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2014/02/Orlando-City-3.8.15-MLS-season-opener-at-Citrus-Bowl.jpg

08-01-2016, 10:57 PM
I've also been to Werder Bremen's stadium for a match before.

It is a neat wee stadium but it's the relationship and positioning with the City that I really loved. Home fans all marching up to the game from the town centre on a Saturday, drinking en route! The football team really does mean a lot to the city, and the pubs during matchday are excellent.

And they play in Green with 500 miles belting out the PA system :flag:

08-01-2016, 11:16 PM
Flying to Rome for Roma v Milan game tomorrow at Stadio Olimpica with Gyle hibby. Atmosphere at last years Lazio game was incredible. The fire crackers give you a fright every time. I Really should be sleeping.

Have a good trip W, sounds excellent :aok:

I always enjoyed the trips to Starks' Park, the game towards the end of the Duffy/McLeish relegation season was a memorable day and night out, despite the result :greengrin

My other favourite was Boghead when we played Clydebank there in 98-99.

The ground was a post-apocalyptic wasteland, like something out of a '70s disaster movie, when the prisoners break free in Logan's Run or when Charlton Heston discovers the remnants of civilisation in the Planet of the Apes films.

Long raking terracing, with weeds as high as your waist and the constant nagging fear that zombies or mutant apes would attack on your flank, to the cheers of the handful of Bankie fans :greengrin

monarch
08-01-2016, 11:31 PM
100% Wembley. Puts Hampden to shame.

Hampden didn't get the government handout that Wembley did which was originally intended to be an all encompassing sports stadium. Having said that I hate Hampden ( 1972, 1991and 2007 excepted!)

09-01-2016, 04:33 AM
Hate Hampden, lacks atmosphere, stands too far from pitch, horrible to get to, nae decent pubs nearby, the cheapest makeover of all home nations and so neutral it has a Rangers end and a Celtic end.Don't forget absolutely awful view.

09-01-2016, 05:02 AM
https://vimeo.com/141447156

09-01-2016, 06:14 AM
Annfield for the memories. On the park having a kick about at half time. Great times.

HiBremian
09-01-2016, 06:58 AM
I've also been to Werder Bremen's stadium for a match before.

It is a neat wee stadium but it's the relationship and positioning with the City that I really loved. Home fans all marching up to the game from the town centre on a Saturday, drinking en route! The football team really does mean a lot to the city, and the pubs during matchday are excellent.

And they play in Green with 500 miles belting out the PA system :flag:

Can see it out of my bedroom window as I type :-)

BigKev
09-01-2016, 07:39 AM
Hillsborough. Traditional old stadium, great atmosphere.

Been to a rake abroad with Hibs and Scotland. Anderlecht's stadium was brilliant at the time, Westfalen a cracking atmosphere, Wembley been done up to a great standard but Emirates is slightly better IMO and quite liked Elfsborg's little ground.

Biggest disappointment was the San Siro which was a hole.

09-01-2016, 07:43 AM
I used to like Firhill in Glasgow.

sbell1875
09-01-2016, 07:56 AM
Volunteer Park, home of the great Armadale Thistle Juniors! :)

09-01-2016, 08:11 AM
East End Park. First game of the season circa 1990 (maybe late 80s). 27 degrees. Home and away fans split at half way line. Terracing. Shed. Finished 3-3.

Magic.

09-01-2016, 08:14 AM
Bayer Leverkusen's BayArena stadium has gas heating in the roof. In winter you leave with a suntan.

09-01-2016, 08:15 AM
Any away European trip is generally excellent. New ground, town & country but I like ICT away for the trip especially on a Saturday

09-01-2016, 08:25 AM
East End Park. First game of the season circa 1990 (maybe late 80s). 27 degrees. Home and away fans split at half way line. Terracing. Shed. Finished 3-3.

Magic.

Remember that one very well.

Went across wi Brooster in my snazzy black Ford Capri. For bowlers we watched Tranent's Graham Robertson winning the Scottish singles at Queens Park live on the tele in the Elizabethan before heading up to the game.

Next game we beat Rangers 1-0 at ER with a John Collins goal IIRC.

09-01-2016, 08:41 AM
Remember that one very well.

Went across wi Brooster in my snazzy black Ford Capri. For bowlers we watched Tranent's Graham Robertson winning the Scottish singles at Queens Park live on the tele in the Elizabethan before heading up to the game.

Next game we beat Rangers 1-0 at ER with a John Collins goal IIRC.

I remember the Dunfy game.....sticks in my mind that Mickey Weir had a great game.

09-01-2016, 09:05 AM
I loved the old Muirton Park (old home of St. Johnstone). We always played well there and Rourky always scored.

CyberSauzee
09-01-2016, 09:21 AM
PBS on 1/1/73!

Thought you might have said the 'executive boxes', Hayes Lane, Bromley 5/2/13 ;-) ?

09-01-2016, 10:08 AM
i love going to East End Park a stadium of memories for me and when the away end is full its puts out a great atmosphere. Their hospitality is first class and affordable too.

The quaintest, was a wee bit of grass with goals on either side in sun drenched Tobago!

09-01-2016, 10:11 AM
I loved the old Muirton Park (old home of St. Johnstone). We always played well there and Rourky always scored.

and sometimes for them ;-)

09-01-2016, 10:18 AM
Bayer Leverkusen's BayArena stadium has gas heating in the roof. In winter you leave with a suntan.

...and they sell good quality Doner Kebabs in the away end.
Rank home support mind.

#SGE

09-01-2016, 10:20 AM
Bayview

Sproule Three
09-01-2016, 10:48 AM
Always liked Rugby Park at Kilmarnock pre Lego stands as well as East End Park and Somerset .
Sydney FC's Allianz Stadium is very good . Great pubs nearby and good atmosphere especially on Sydney derby day .

09-01-2016, 08:03 PM

The main stand was still being built when Hibs were there, but you could still tell it was a special place, much like Berlin itself. The fans were great, couldn't get enough of the Hibs fans and the boozing wasn't bad either.

My favourite though is the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff, such a shame it isn't used for football very often these days. Watched Bolton twice there in the First Division Play Off Final in 2001 and Carling Cup Final in 2004, plus a Rugby League World Cup game in 2013. Great view now matter where you're sat, smack bang in the city centre with tons of pubs and a great atmosphere, even more so when the roof is closed.

Honourable mention for Fulham, cracking away day and a lot more relaxed than a lot of the other London grounds. Shame my next visit will be on the last day of the season for what is likely to be Bolton's last Championship game.

As for Scottish grounds, there really isn't a lot that can match Tynecastle on derby day, though I obviously have to mention Palmerston purely for it being so easy to drive to from down here.

10-01-2016, 08:20 AM
Watching Schalke at the Veltins Arena was one fantastic experience, right from arriving at the ground until after the match.My favourite non Hibs and Lincoln trip.

I was going to post Schalke aswell, great pre match, training grounds, excellent club shop, stadium is immense, bars all round outside of stadium, great views inside. Excellent.

majorhibs
10-01-2016, 09:42 AM
"Hampden - due to the atmosphere and importance of games that I'm watching when I go there!" :rolleyes:

I'm perfectly aware there are some not very nice things about Glasgow.

Theres just about everything wrong wi the weedge, starting wi weedgies & escalating, but anyone who thinks Hampden is a ground fit for the Scottish support or for national finals is way out there on the chloroform. The point is, the S/GFA made a complete james hunt of bulding a stadium for Scottish football. & now they wont admit to their past errors & rectify it. Total waste, is Hampden.

Hibiza
10-01-2016, 09:03 PM
Kilbowie ( clydebank ). Stopping trains and plastic school chairs.

fulshie
10-01-2016, 09:11 PM
Dortmund stadium for me. Av never done the Easter Road Stadium tour and I know £10 a tour isn't a lot of money but, is it worth it and what do you get if you don't mind me asking. Am guessing a tour of the trophy room, the changing rooms, and a trip round the playing park.

Hibiza
10-01-2016, 09:20 PM
Dortmund stadium for me. Av never done the Easter Road Stadium tour and I know £10 a tour isn't a lot of money but, is it worth it and what do you get if you don't mind me asking. Am guessing a tour of the trophy room, the changing rooms, and a trip round the playing park.n thats not bad.

fulshie
10-01-2016, 09:28 PM
n thats not bad.I agree, if that's what you get for £10 but, am guessing that, that's what you get.

11-01-2016, 07:54 AM
Theres just about everything wrong wi the weedge, starting wi weedgies & escalating, but anyone who thinks Hampden is a ground fit for the Scottish support or for national finals is way out there on the chloroform. The point is, the S/GFA made a complete james hunt of bulding a stadium for Scottish football. & now they wont admit to their past errors & rectify it. Total waste, is Hampden.

Agreed, however was it not something to do with the amount of money we had? Did England not get mega millions to rebuild Wembley and we got a pitiful amount in comparison? Not sure where the Taffs got the money from.

11-01-2016, 08:09 AM
Don't forget absolutely awful view.

Hampen is a truly atrocious stadium. The main stand is good the rest is awful particularly both ends of the ground, too far away from the pitch and too shallow. Compare it with the Millenium stadium or Murrayfield for that matter and see what it could have been. Would happily bulldoze the place and use Murrayfield IMO.

11-01-2016, 08:10 AM
Dortmund stadium for me. Av never done the Easter Road Stadium tour and I know £10 a tour isn't a lot of money but, is it worth it and what do you get if you don't mind me asking. Am guessing a tour of the trophy room, the changing rooms, and a trip round the playing park.

Have done a tour it is very good and well worth doing. Very impressive stadium and much better facilities that Anfield for example.

11-01-2016, 09:00 AM

The worst thing about people from Edinburgh is the casual stereotyping IMHO. Closely followed by the shhiite nightlife.

11-01-2016, 09:21 AM
Bloomfield Road when they were gaining promotion and the season they were in the Premiership was a very special stadium, with a fantastic atmosphere.

nellio
11-01-2016, 11:42 AM
Not sure where the Taffs got the money from.

Millenium commission mostly: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Millennium_Commission#Examples_of_projects_funded lottery as well I think.

I should give a shout to the Rome Olympic stadium. Was there in 2005 to see Roma V AC Milan, sensational atmosphere.

majorhibs
11-01-2016, 01:30 PM
The worst thing about people from Edinburgh is the casual stereotyping IMHO. Closely followed by the shhiite nightlife.

Best thing about the weedge is the real dead barry in your face types who never tire of tellin you glesga is the friendliest place in the world while trying to get you to buy them a drink. Give you the nightlife tho, leaps & bounds from 20 years ago, weedge tops it there.

11-01-2016, 01:33 PM
Loved going to East End Park in the late 60's and early 70's even although it snowed most of the time. That's when the cold weather wasn't a problem and I didn't need gloves, a hat and a thermal vest like nowadays.

11-01-2016, 01:52 PM
Best thing about the weedge is the real dead barry in your face types who never tire of tellin you glesga is the friendliest place in the world while trying to get you to buy them a drink. Give you the nightlife tho, leaps & bounds from 20 years ago, weedge tops it there.

I've never had anyone in Glasgow in my face telling me how friendly they are, or had anyone trying to cadge a bevvy, and absolutely I guarantee you 100% that I've had more experience on the lash in Glasgow than you. :wink:

majorhibs
11-01-2016, 02:49 PM
I've never had anyone in Glasgow in my face telling me how friendly they are, or had anyone trying to cadge a bevvy, and absolutely I guarantee you 100% that I've had more experience on the lash in Glasgow than you. :wink:

Mainly cos I prefer to go on the lash in the capital.

11-01-2016, 02:56 PM
Anfield... only place other than AEK Athens ER match to make me cry at a football match.

11-01-2016, 03:04 PM
Anfield, the time will soon come when my time as a season ticket holder at Anfield will be surpassed in years by the time I have had one at Easter Road.

joebakerforever
11-01-2016, 05:06 PM
Fritz-Walter-Stadion, built on the Betzenberg hill, Kaiserslautern and the Olympic Stadion, Berlin.

fulshie
12-01-2016, 05:47 PM
Have done a tour it is very good and well worth doing. Very impressive stadium and much better facilities that Anfield for example.
Thanks for that.

Nutmegged
13-01-2016, 01:58 AM
In Scotland I've always liked Fir Park...still a raw feel to it.