View Full Version : Cup Tie In Doubt?

07-01-2016, 10:58 AM
Work colleague is a Raith Rovers fan and he tells me the pitch at Kirkcaldy is notorious for flooding, especially down in the corner of their main stand. Reckons with the rain and possible snow forecast over the next few days, the pitch will be in a poor condition and will be surprised if it goes ahead.
Pitch inspection scheduled for 11.00am on Saturday apparently.
Don't know if the above is all fact or speculation but he is a past S.T. holder and still goes to a lot of their games, and has a ticket for Saturday, so I assume he knows what he is talking about re the pitch.

Main reason for posting this is, I know quite of a few mates who are heading for the 11.30am (ish) train and if there's others that thinking similarly, then it might pay to check before getting on the train, unless you still fancy a swallae in Kirkcaldy of course :greengrin

07-01-2016, 11:02 AM
Weathers been crap all week. No wonder it's in doubt.

07-01-2016, 11:02 AM
I passed on the train yesterday and the pitch looked ok, no groundsman working on it, no obvious water lying on pitch and looked pretty green..

Having said that its very wet in Fife today

07-01-2016, 11:07 AM
Just checked the BBC forEcast think it will be on. Rain today until about 4pm or so then little or no rain both Friday and Saturday. Could change of course but would imagine they should be able to get pitch ok.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2645298

07-01-2016, 11:10 AM
The only solution.... move the tie to Easter Road

07-01-2016, 11:12 AM
The only solution.... move the tie to Easter Road

Wouldnt rule out a replay for this tie.

07-01-2016, 11:17 AM
Wouldnt rule out a replay for this tie.

Absolutely

I'm just concerned by the fixture pile up we could be facing

07-01-2016, 11:31 AM
Heard myself from locals that they believe the game to be in doubt also.

07-01-2016, 11:37 AM
From a total selfish point of view I hope it is cancelled as I'm working on Saturday but could make it midweek!

07-01-2016, 11:40 AM
From a total selfish point of view I hope it is cancelled as I'm working on Saturday but could make it midweek!
Me too. Assuming I could nab a ticket. Agree re the fixture pile up though

Sent via the bushes @ EM

07-01-2016, 11:42 AM

Weather to be worse next week,could be a week on Wednesday

07-01-2016, 12:55 PM
As I type this the rain is relentless, has been since 8am this morning. Raith had to cancel last home game 2 weeks ago due to water logged pitch and we have had wet days more often than not since then. If the weather stays as it is now think it will be touch and go. If it goes ahead ground conditions could have real bearing on the outcome of the game. Obviously just my opinion.

07-01-2016, 02:30 PM
If cancelled, what are options for Sat tickets ? Do Hibs offer refund ? Presume you're not allowed to sell on as limited to registered fans ?

07-01-2016, 02:32 PM
Stark's Park is in good condition 48 hours ahead of our @WillHillBet Scottish Cup tie v @HibsOfficial and no inspection is currently planned

From the Raith Rovers twitter

07-01-2016, 02:47 PM
Stark's Park is in good condition 48 hours ahead of our @WillHillBet Scottish Cup tie v @HibsOfficial and no inspection is currently planned

Good news. Thanks for posting.

07-01-2016, 04:34 PM

Find that astonishing.

07-01-2016, 04:41 PM

Is that from the groundsman? Rumour has it he is the brother of the Morton groundsman :-)

07-01-2016, 07:34 PM

Must be the one piece of grass in Kirkcaldy that is.:greengrin

07-01-2016, 07:50 PM

Good news if correct and if it's from an official source then no need to doubt it.

07-01-2016, 08:27 PM
Weather to be worse next week,could be a week on Wednesday

Trust me Billy ,it's defo game on :wink:

08-01-2016, 03:46 PM
Whats the weather in Kirckaldy been like today ?

08-01-2016, 03:51 PM

Fife has been dry and cold today. Tomorrow to be the same so we should be fine :thumbsup:

08-01-2016, 03:56 PM
Fife has been dry and cold today. Tomorrow to be the same so we should be fine :thumbsup:

Hope i can get there thru the snow from lanarkshire😣

08-01-2016, 04:12 PM
Was in the minus last night, and to be the same tonight, game could be off due to a frozen pitch.

08-01-2016, 04:14 PM

Are you going Andy?

08-01-2016, 04:15 PM
Surprised they don't have undersoil heating.

08-01-2016, 04:15 PM

Brilliant no be waterlogged then..Lets hope its no frozen over !

08-01-2016, 04:16 PM
Are you going Andy?

Yeah mate with my dad and uncle Steph

08-01-2016, 04:17 PM
Snowing now in West Lothian.

08-01-2016, 04:18 PM
Surprised they don't have undersoil heating.

I think they do have it installed, they done it when they redeveloped Starks Park in the Nineties but theres no requirement for them to use it in the championship.

08-01-2016, 04:26 PM
Was in the minus last night, and to be the same tonight, game could be off due to a frozen pitch.

Little chance of being off only forecast to be 0 then up to 5 during the day.

08-01-2016, 04:27 PM
I think they do have it installed, they done it when they redeveloped Starks Park in the Nineties but theres no requirement for them to use it in the championship.

When they were in the SPL one of the conditions was that they must have under soil heating. Whether it still works or not, who knows.

08-01-2016, 05:39 PM
Yeah mate with my dad and uncle Steph

Might see you there.

08-01-2016, 05:43 PM
The best place to watch the cup game in Doubt is The Ahm No Too Sure Aboot That Arms.

08-01-2016, 09:07 PM
I think they do have it installed, they done it when they redeveloped Starks Park in the Nineties but theres no requirement for them to use it in the championship.why would they not have it on tonight then? nip along and gie us a report

Roxyhibee
08-01-2016, 10:16 PM
Heavy rain apparently forecast in Kirkcaldy tomorrow from 10am til 2pm. Doesn't mean certain cancellation of course but there must be a bit of a doubt on it kicking off.

Really want this game to go ahead and we get it finished tomorrow - fixture build up isn't ideal for us right now at a very crucial part of our season..

08-01-2016, 10:53 PM
Heavy rain apparently forecast in Kirkcaldy tomorrow from 10am til 2pm. Doesn't mean certain cancellation of course but there must be a bit of a doubt on it kicking off.

Really want this game to go ahead and we get it finished tomorrow - fixture build up isn't ideal for us right now at a very crucial part of our season..

No chance it will be off IMO

08-01-2016, 11:26 PM

Let's hope the floodlights stay on this time...

James provided the half time entertainment when we played them in a preseason game under Yogi

http://youtu.be/ejU5YAHN3vQ

09-01-2016, 08:10 AM
Pitch being checked at 0930 according to Raith Rovers Twitter feed

Billy
09-01-2016, 08:29 AM
Game on

09-01-2016, 08:30 AM
game on
https://twitter.com/RaithRovers_FC?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

09-01-2016, 08:30 AM
Pitch is fine no inspection is planned. The game is on according to RR Twitter feed.

09-01-2016, 08:31 AM
Never in doubt.

SausageSurprise
09-01-2016, 08:31 AM
A playable park is all well and good but it might be wise to ask Police Scotland what the surrounding roads are like before venturing out 😈

09-01-2016, 08:37 AM
A playable park is all well and good but it might be wise to ask Police Scotland what the surrounding roads are like before venturing out stop being naughty, the fife polis would not wait until the last minute then call it off. :dummytit:

09-01-2016, 08:43 AM
just phoned Raith, and the phone was answered in 2 rings! game on, and the guy says" it's like Barbados over here at the moment".:aok:

mjh
09-01-2016, 08:54 AM
just phoned Raith, and the phone was answered in 2 rings! game on, and the guy says" it's like Barbados over here at the moment".:aok:
Breaking news. - tropical storm Jason about to hit Barbados!

09-01-2016, 09:09 AM
A playable park is all well and good but it might be wise to ask Police Scotland what the surrounding roads are like before venturing out 

Perfectly correct Mr Sausage.

Here in the Borders the roads are a wee bit dodgy and I'm really wondering if that will be enough to jeopordize the game in Kircaldy.

09-01-2016, 09:11 AM
Scotrail train running to time, the ticket guy is much cheerier than Hermit Crab. ;-)

09-01-2016, 09:21 AM
Scotrail train running to time, the ticket guy is much cheerier than Hermit Crab. ;-)

Wouldn't be too difficult mind.

09-01-2016, 09:51 AM

That will be the Train Guard then Hutchy won't it :greengrin.

Here in the Borders the roads are a wee bit dodgy and I'm really wondering if that will be enough to jeopordize the game in Kircaldy.

We just drove back from the golf club and the roads were fine here:greengrin

Wouldn't be too difficult mind.

You can shut it anaw :greengrin

09-01-2016, 09:58 AM

It will indeed, very professional service. Now sitting in The Exchequer with my old man about to quaff our first pints of the day.

09-01-2016, 10:04 AM
It will indeed, very professional service. Now sitting in The Exchequer with my old man about to quaff our first pints of the day.

Definitely wasn't me then :greengrin. Enjoy, maybe see you in Kirkcaldy after the game.

09-01-2016, 10:25 AM

I think the game should be postponed, the path outside my hoose is a bit slippy. :greengrin

09-01-2016, 10:26 AM
I think the game should be postponed, the path outside my hoose is a bit slippy. :greengrin

stick some velcro on the bottom of your zimmer! :greengrin:greengrin

09-01-2016, 10:54 AM

Aye for how long, glorified kitkat seller😄

09-01-2016, 11:04 AM
Aye for how long, glorified kitkat seller

Well you obviously have not heard the latest news K. :wink:

09-01-2016, 11:09 AM
Lol remember I can change the future 👍

09-01-2016, 11:10 AM
HC looked ****ing miserable on the train while checking our tickets :greengrin

09-01-2016, 11:34 AM
HC looked ****ing miserable on the train while checking our tickets :greengrin

The guy is okay, sometimes anyway, :greengrin: not a negative bone in his body. Says it as it is. :greengrin

09-01-2016, 12:54 PM
Just arrived. Rain hammering down in Kirkaldy. Going to be a good old fashioned cup tie played in the mud .

09-01-2016, 10:48 PM
HC is on my train hame, cannae get away from the guy! Cheers Rooney! ;-)

10-01-2016, 05:27 PM
Credit to the ground staff. Pitch was okay despite a very difficult week.

10-01-2016, 06:03 PM
Credit to the ground staff. Pitch was okay despite a very difficult week.

I thought the players struggled with the surface a bit at times but considering the weather we have had it was understandable. There was a lot of work done a couple of seasons back whilst renovating the Starks Park surface. http://www.raithrovers.net/8856/pitch-renovation.htm