View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 1 - 0 Raith Rovers (Cummings) FT

02-01-2016, 01:52 PM
So after last weeks defeat a change is in order. My only previous appearance this season was the update thread for our 2-0 win against Aberdeen so I can be relied upon to do it in the big games.

Need a win today to get back on track, team selection has been debated at length, not long now until all is revealed.

C'mon the Hibees :flag:

02-01-2016, 01:53 PM
Fancy us but closely fought match 2-1 with all goals in second half

02-01-2016, 02:13 PM
Oxley, Gray, Fontaine, Hanlon, Stevenson, Bartley, McGeouch, McGinn, Henderson, Malonga, Cummings.

Confirmed team.

02-01-2016, 02:14 PM
Pretty much what I thought it would be with the exception of Gray who I thought may well miss out.

Iceman1875
When's Dagnall free to play?

At Easter Road we play...

Thought Stevenson was suspended today? :dunno:

02-01-2016, 02:15 PM
That team has enough quality to beat anyone at home. No excuses.

02-01-2016, 02:18 PM
Oxley, Gray, Fontaine, Hanlon, Stevenson, Bartley, McGeouch, McGinn, Henderson, Malonga, Cummings.

Confirmed team.

Nice to see Bartley in the team even if it is down to Fyvie's ban. Midfield need to step it up and the misplaced passing and bad judgement needs ironed out.

Confident that the defeat will work in our favour as we were fortunate, imo, in the two games previous to The Rangers one. Team was getting a little complacent and struggled against this leagues better sides recently.

02-01-2016, 02:19 PM
So after last weeks defeat a change is in order. My only previous appearance this season was the update thread for our 2-0 win against Aberdeen so I can be relied upon to do it in the big games.

Need a win today to get back on track, team selection has been debated at length, not long now until all is revealed.

C'mon the Hibees :flag:

Good luck PB, no pressure. :greengrin

:flag: :gwa: :flag:

02-01-2016, 02:36 PM
Thought Stevenson was suspended today? :dunno:

Nee too

02-01-2016, 02:36 PM
Pat Nevin is BTG

02-01-2016, 02:41 PM
Looks like decent crowd, with big queues at TO. Could be good . 👍

CL0762
02-01-2016, 02:41 PM
In my bed feeling like **** so missing the game today.

Hopefully we can get back on track with a comfortable victory.

02-01-2016, 02:43 PM
I'm hoping we are over our blip.
Mon the Hibs.

02-01-2016, 02:45 PM
Definitely feels busier than usual around the ground

02-01-2016, 02:46 PM
Cmon the hibees

Ronster117
02-01-2016, 02:49 PM
Time to put another run together to keep the pressure on the newest team in Scotland :gwa:

02-01-2016, 02:50 PM
Substitutes
17 Boyle
19 Keatings
20 Feruz
22 Anier
23 Forster
24 McGregor
31 Reguero

Raith Rovers
01 Cuthbert
12 Matthews
06 Benedictus
22 Bates
23 McKeown
30 Robertson
08 McCord
04 Callachan
28 Craigen
16 Daly
11 Megginson
Substitutes
03 Petrie
07 Anderson
18 Wighton
24 Ellis
25 Ford
29 Mackie
31 Law

Mark79
02-01-2016, 02:51 PM
Thought Daly was new **** coach?

02-01-2016, 02:53 PM
Substitutes
17 Boyle
19 Keatings
20 Feruz
22 Anier
23 Forster
24 McGregor
31 Reguero

Anier not returning to Utd then??

02-01-2016, 02:53 PM
Thought Daly was new **** coach?

Think he's going there after this game. Stick on to score.

02-01-2016, 02:55 PM
Think he's going there after this game. Stick on to score.

Feruz still here too. Wonder when the new guys clearance comes through?

02-01-2016, 02:57 PM
In my bed feeling like **** so missing the game today.

Hopefully we can get back on track with a comfortable victory.

I got half way top the stadium and had to turn back, feel terrible, got the runs, sweating and shivering too. Confident of winning, just wish I could have been there.

02-01-2016, 02:57 PM
Mon the Hibs. Let's get back on track.

02-01-2016, 03:13 PM
Monrahibs

02-01-2016, 03:15 PM
Slow start, Stevenson just scooped one away from a yard of our own line.

One good move saw a poor final ball by Gray. Need to sharpen up.

02-01-2016, 03:15 PM
Not much happening then?

Ronster117
02-01-2016, 03:16 PM
Big let off there according to the radio

02-01-2016, 03:17 PM
Big let off there according to the radio
Stevenson was sharper in his reactions then the RR player, that's all......

02-01-2016, 03:18 PM
Mis hit cross by Lewis hits the bar

Good shot by Bartley.

Ronster117
Stevenson was sharper in his reactions then the RR player, that's all......
Glad to hear that.... Mon the Hibs

02-01-2016, 03:19 PM
Stevenson hits the bar with a cross

02-01-2016, 03:21 PM
Oxley hurt after colliding with Gray when taking a cross. Stays down.

02-01-2016, 03:21 PM
And he's up.

02-01-2016, 03:23 PM
This team should have started against Rangers IMO

Ronster117
02-01-2016, 03:23 PM
And he's up.

Edson Arantes
02-01-2016, 03:25 PM
This team should have started against Rangers IMO

Agree with that.

02-01-2016, 03:25 PM
Gray absolutely halfs a Raith player when the ball was running out. Must have hit him at waist height. Booked.

Ronster117
02-01-2016, 03:27 PM
Gray absolutely halfs a Raith player when the ball was running out. Must have hit him at waist height. Booked.
Last thing we need is more bookings and suspensions......

02-01-2016, 03:33 PM
Good move but Malongas shot under pressure is high and wide.

CL0762
02-01-2016, 03:34 PM
Hibs TV audio not working so they've provided a link for the video in the meantime, nice one 👍🏻

02-01-2016, 03:36 PM
Cummings shoots about a yard over after making space well.

02-01-2016, 03:38 PM
Cummings just over after cutting inside

02-01-2016, 03:38 PM
McGeough cross come shot just out of reach of Malonga and just past the post.

02-01-2016, 03:39 PM
Is the game as flat as the BBC txt summary suggest?

02-01-2016, 03:39 PM

The reporter doesn't sound impressed on the radio!

02-01-2016, 03:40 PM
Fair to say we are well on top but not the best game in the world......

02-01-2016, 03:41 PM
The reporter doesn't sound impressed on the radio!

she is too timid to shout like Chico

Ronster117
02-01-2016, 03:42 PM
Cummon Hibs we need to win now

02-01-2016, 03:43 PM
she is too timid to shout like Chico

Quite liked Richard Gordon saying as it is your team you will be able to identify the players easily!

02-01-2016, 03:44 PM
Gray over with a header after a good cross.

02-01-2016, 03:45 PM
Cummon Hibs we need to win now

We need to win by the time the final whistle blows. Plenty of time yet.

02-01-2016, 03:46 PM
Both Kilmarnock and rangers 1 up

02-01-2016, 03:46 PM
Rangers 1 up

02-01-2016, 03:47 PM
Gray over with a header after a good cross.
Think he must have caught that one with the corner of his heid, it went straight up....... :greengrin

02-01-2016, 03:47 PM
Quite liked Richard Gordon saying as it is your team you will be able to identify the players easily!

He's a smart mouth.

02-01-2016, 03:48 PM
Fair to say we are well on top but not the best game in the world......
Yip, seem to have majority of play, but lacking end product.

Yes !

AL-Qaholik
This is not the reaction I was hoping for after Monday. Rocket required at HT.

02-01-2016, 03:49 PM
Poorest first half I've seen at Easter Road this season.

Poor half with Hibs looking like a team playing a friendly.

Ronster117
Time for AS to give the team a pep talk and come out and win this:gwa:

That must be the least eventful match of the season going on the updates here and the BBC's pathetic offerings.

02-01-2016, 03:50 PM
Definitely feels busier than usual around the ground

Definitely, someone was in our usual parking space, the cheek! :greengrin

02-01-2016, 03:50 PM
Such a poor half from Hibs. Rangers winning, we need a MUCH improved 2nd half as that was a hard watch! I want to see the Henderson that first arrived at Hibs!!

MileHighBees
02-01-2016, 03:52 PM
HT 0-0
Very similar to last 2 home games, and plenty others this season.
Opposition back in numbers, hoping to catch us out on the break.
Hibs struggling to find a way through the 10-man defence.

this is utter utter drivel

haagsehibby
Trying to think of one shot on target 😟

Cheshire Hibby
Pedestrian today. Need to speed up in second half.

02-01-2016, 03:53 PM
Definitely, someone was in our usual parking space, the cheek! :greengrin

I've got someone sitting next to me today. I've grown accustomed to having room to spread myself out rather than being surrounded by riff raff.

Murder so far.

When did it get that good? 😊

02-01-2016, 03:54 PM
I'd sacrifice Bartley for Keatings to try and change it.

02-01-2016, 03:54 PM
6 points behind the huns as it stands. That should be the halftime team talk delivered by hairdryer.

02-01-2016, 03:55 PM
Awful first half. Looking for a result before a performance now .

02-01-2016, 03:56 PM
6 points behind the huns as it stands. That should be the halftime team talk delivered by hairdryer.

5 as it stands

02-01-2016, 03:57 PM
So we haven't come out the traps firing on all cylinders as a reaction to our defeat ,but wasn't really expecting that to be honest We just need to find a way as we did v Queens to win the Match and subs may be needed again to change this

We are doing just fine, we are well on top with possession but we need the final ball. Malonga and Cummings are finding space well enough but the final pass isn't there. We only need a couple of good final balls though and all will be well.......

That is disappointing. Really expected Hibs to come out firing on all cylinders after the rangers game.

02-01-2016, 03:58 PM
I read a couple of previous posts that said this should have been the team we started against rangers with? We still huvnae scored and the game is flat from other posters? So is it really the team we should have started with or are we just not as good as we think are. We will imo struggle to catch Falkirk so whats the answer? More pace or what

renato
02-01-2016, 03:59 PM
Too pedestrian. Nice football at times but need a higher tempo. Still think we need pace out wide. Hope we get a more urgent pace 2nd half.

02-01-2016, 04:00 PM
I read a couple of previous posts that said this should have been the team we started against rangers with? We still huvnae scored and the game is flat from other posters? So is it really the team we should have started with or are we just not as good as we think are. We will imo struggle to catch Falkirk so whats the answer? More pace or what

There's loads of budding managers mate - opinions are allowed.

Catch Falkirk? We're a point ahead as it stands...

02-01-2016, 04:02 PM

How the hell did ah miss that

Ronster117
02-01-2016, 04:03 PM

Can't see Falkirk dropping points to Alloa so we need to win this to stay ahead

02-01-2016, 04:04 PM

The difference being is that Rangers were playing football, not sitting back and catching us on the break.

02-01-2016, 04:07 PM
Get in there

Gooooall

Crap penalty, scores the rebound

skyehibee
1-0 Cummings pen!!

Ronster117
Goal.....yessssss cummings

Off the bar
02-01-2016, 04:08 PM
Yesss poor pen well followed up

Jeez. Fortunate but it counts. :flag:

Sensational chip/loop by Cummings just wide.

02-01-2016, 04:09 PM
Can't see Falkirk dropping points to Alloa so we need to win this to stay ahead

I see the game is on Alba later

northeast hibby
02-01-2016, 04:10 PM
come on hibees need to win this

02-01-2016, 04:11 PM
I see the game is on Alba later

****! Now your tell me. Signing off now. Will watch the second half tonight.

Edit, just checked, it's Alloa v Flakirk live, no repeat of the Hibs game.

02-01-2016, 04:11 PM
Yessssssss...

02-01-2016, 04:12 PM
Ball just nicked off Doms toes after a Henderson cross.

02-01-2016, 04:12 PM
****! Now your tell me. Signing off now. Will watch the second half tonight.

He means the Falkirk game!!!

02-01-2016, 04:13 PM
He means the Falkirk game!!!

Cool. Back in the game.

02-01-2016, 04:14 PM
Keeper saves well from McGeough

02-01-2016, 04:15 PM
That effort from Cummings a few minutes ago was Riordanesque. Shame it just crept by.

02-01-2016, 04:17 PM
2-0 Sevco

02-01-2016, 04:20 PM
Bartley booked for being shoved

02-01-2016, 04:20 PM
2-0 Sevco

Both by that big hibs supporter kenny miller

02-01-2016, 04:22 PM
Was it a pen and if so, what was it for?

02-01-2016, 04:22 PM
Hat trick for miller, not doing rangers goal difference any harm at all.

02-01-2016, 04:23 PM

Hat trick now

MileHighBees

Cummings tripped by defender
Def pen

Fontaine header just over.

A 2nd would settle the nerves nicely here.

CL0762
Wish we'd be a bit quicker when we go a goal up, feel as if we slow the game down a wee bit too much.

02-01-2016, 04:24 PM

Yep, Cummings rolled away from the guy and his standing leg tripped him.

02-01-2016, 04:25 PM
Good ball McGeough, Gray and Fontaine seemed to get in each others way and it went wide.

02-01-2016, 04:25 PM
2-0 Sevco

No real surprise their Sergey , they have had thier current dip we just need to make sure we keep winning and wait for them to have thier next one

02-01-2016, 04:26 PM
Need another. All these chances, not taking them will hopefully not come back to haunt is.

02-01-2016, 04:27 PM
Need another. All these chances, not taking them will hopefully not come back to haunt is.

I feel like Goal Difference may come back to haunt us near the end of the season too.

02-01-2016, 04:27 PM
3-0 Rangers - Miller hat trick.

02-01-2016, 04:28 PM
4-0 Rangers

It's goal difference v Falkirk we need to worry about - no catching Rangers.

02-01-2016, 04:29 PM
3-0 Rangers - Miller hat trick.

02-01-2016, 04:30 PM
Our corners are murder.

02-01-2016, 04:31 PM
Daft shot from Cummings from 30 yards, earns a withering glance from Dom.

02-01-2016, 04:32 PM
I feel like Goal Difference may come back to haunt us near the end of the season too.

Will be irrelevant as we will have more points. ;-)

02-01-2016, 04:36 PM

Hope your right Aldo ,but it would be nice to get back to beating teams by a few goals
Didn't realise Dom has only scored four then Keatings seven and Cummings sixteen now .
With Farid not fit and Feruz not making an impact it's crucial we keep Jason , but others need to help out
Hopefully the new guy will help out when able to play .

02-01-2016, 04:36 PM
Our corners are murder.
Corners and throw ins, do we practice in training?

02-01-2016, 04:38 PM
Keatings getting ready

Iceman1875
Sevco 5 up

Bartley off Keatings on

02-01-2016, 04:40 PM
You better be right, rangers now 5 up.

02-01-2016, 04:40 PM
Anier getting stripped as well

AL-Qaholik
02-01-2016, 04:41 PM
When was the last time we scored that many against anybody??

02-01-2016, 04:41 PM
Stevenson hacked down well after the ball was gone. Raith player booked. Lewis has been superb today.

Cummings replaced by Anier.

02-01-2016, 04:42 PM
Bartley off Keatings on
10 mins to go, Stubbs hasn't given him much time to influence the game.

02-01-2016, 04:42 PM

Who gives a flying **** how many Sevco score. All that matters is we get three points . If

AL-Qaholik
02-01-2016, 04:43 PM
Who gives a flying **** how many Sevco score. All that matters is we get three points . If

Goal difference matters.

Well said. :agree:

10 mins to go, Stubbs hasn't given him much time to influence the game.

Anier has made a big difference in last two home games when he came on so let's hope he keeps that up today

02-01-2016, 04:44 PM
10994 attendance. 691 from Kirkcaldy

02-01-2016, 04:45 PM
McGeough man of the match

02-01-2016, 04:46 PM

Let's all be Huns instead.

Iceman1875
02-01-2016, 04:47 PM
Sevco now 6 up. We need to hang on

02-01-2016, 04:48 PM
Good to hear Mcgeouch man of the match we will need him fit and in form in the coming weeks

Raith player sent off for a karate kick on Hanlon.

Goal difference matters.
Certainly does, rangers now 6 up. We need to start scoring like that.

Sevco now 6 up. We need to hang on

Either that or hope the sons make a comeback, whichever one is most likely :wink:

AL-Qaholik
02-01-2016, 04:49 PM

What a ridiculous reply. We are trying to encourage fans back. We're in a truly awful league with some very poor teams and yet we very rarely comfortably beat anybody. Big results like that might encourage some fans to come back. It certainly worked at the PBS. Plus, goal difference could very easily become a factor in where we finish this season.

erskine-hibby
Goal difference matters.

Could make a huge difference.
Plus if your gubbing teams the more the so called smaller teams fear you. This can make things a lot easier in games.

Goal difference matters.

We were well behind on that before today. Stuff looking for negatives, three points after losing at IBronx is the perfect response.

Iceman1875
Either that or hope the pars make a comeback, whichever one is most likely :wink:

You mean Dumbarton [emoji6][emoji23]

02-01-2016, 04:50 PM

Why does that count as a reply to a fair question?

02-01-2016, 04:50 PM
McGinn thrown off the ball. Ref gives Raith a free kick.

02-01-2016, 04:51 PM
Could make a huge difference.
Plus if your gubbing teams the more the so called smaller teams fear you. This can make things a lot easier in games.

Nail on the head!!:top marks

02-01-2016, 04:51 PM
Full time. Good 2nd half and a deserved victory.

02-01-2016, 04:52 PM
Ft 1-0

**** rangers they will balls it up again soon and we will overtake them

Ronster117
Good 3points
:gwa:

MileHighBees
02-01-2016, 04:53 PM
FT 1-0
Another 3 points is all that really matters today

McIntosh
We are grinding out these wins

Three points the most important thing today after last week. Keeps pressure in sevco and Falkirk

kenny.ff
02-01-2016, 04:54 PM
Good result today, all the matters is 3 pts week in week out, the rangers will loose more poits than us before the end of season so goal difrence wont matter a hoot:gwa:

Rangers arrogance hopefully will mean they will drop points and we will have to do it the hard way and beat them at ER. We've played them twice now at their place they still have to come to us. Keep the faith!

Ronster117
Keeps us going,all we can do is what we are doing, I'll take 1-0 every week

AL-Qaholik
02-01-2016, 04:55 PM
Very happy with the 3 points. Still maintain we could do with putting these teams away much more decisively though. Goal difference could play a huge part in the run in and as somebody else said, it might just make a few teams fear us that bit more.

high bee
Let's hope this is our blip, last 4 games have been poor yet we picked up 7 points (including half a game with 10 men). We do need to be more clinical, we won't keep scraping games. All that matters is that we start pulling our socks up from now.

What a ridiculous reply. We are trying to encourage fans back. We're in a truly awful league with some very poor teams and yet we very rarely comfortably beat anybody. Big results like that might encourage some fans to come back. It certainly worked at the PBS. Plus, goal difference could very easily become a factor in where we finish this season.

The perfect response to losing at Ibrox was winning today which our team did. Yet you try to portray our win as a negative. Pathetic stuff, support our team, the

02-01-2016, 04:56 PM
Good result. Wish we could score a few more goals each game. Always going to be vulnerable to lucky goals against and losing points.

I do believe we acheived the same points today as Rangers.:cb

Excellent result for us against yet another pub team full of cloggers.

pleased to see us get over the line. big 3 points, as we would have faltered in the past. next week, we'll know what we are up against, and their sending off will effect them next week surely

02-01-2016, 04:57 PM
We are not going to catch the difference in goal difference between us and them in the time left. Only thing that matters is we win.

02-01-2016, 04:59 PM
We are not going to catch the difference in goal difference between us and them in the time left. Only thing that matters is we win.

Exactly.

No way are we making up 20 goals give or take. A wins a win and it's points that matter. Over the season of we are relyong on goal difference to finish above Falkirk then we have bigger problems to worry about.

02-01-2016, 05:01 PM
Its all about winning now until the rangers come to ER.

02-01-2016, 05:01 PM

Very happy with the 3 points and at the end of the day that's what matters most right now. In saying that though it's hard to disagree. Whilst it's nice to see us successfully grind games out where we'd previously falter, it's starting to become all too frequent.

I'd like to see us up the tempo somewhat and start playing with some energy. It's the difference between us and Rangers and ultimately will be the difference come the end of the season.

Good game for a few players today especially Hanlon and Stevenson. Defence as a whole worked hard. Would like to see the midfield link up better with the strikers though. Cummings and Malonga haviong to play the channels too often. Nice to see Anier on again after not making an appearance at Ibrox. A sign that he may infact be staying?

02-01-2016, 05:03 PM
Phew, but today was all about the result. :thumbsup:

I wonder who's fault todays result is? :greengrin

AL-Qaholik
02-01-2016, 05:04 PM
The perfect response to losing at Ibrox was winning today which our team did. Yet you try to portray our win as a negative. Pathetic stuff, support our team, the

Shove yer "pathetic" opinion where it belongs. Trying to portray a win as a negative? Not remotely. Thinking we should be scoring more goals than we are? Absolutely. And so we should. Still a very important win and and even more important 3 points, regardless.

02-01-2016, 05:07 PM

Nothing pathetic or negative about the post, all the points made are valid. Only managing 1 nil wins game after game only encourages the opposition.

02-01-2016, 05:10 PM
Nothing pathetic or negative about the post, all the points made are valid. Only managing 1 nil wins game after game only encourages the opposition.

Quite happy to win every match just 1-0 personally.

AL-Qaholik
02-01-2016, 05:11 PM
Somebody calls me pathetic for sharing a genuine concern that we should be scoring more - no action. I call that person a muppet in response - my comment gets deleted. Nice work, admins. Very balanced.

02-01-2016, 05:14 PM
Much better 2nd half, could of been a lot more that 1. Cummings hook shot/volley would of been contender for goal of the season, just wide. McGeough should of done better with his chance..or perhaps Henderson should have shot first? Very close header by Fontaine. All in all happy as usual with the 3 points, and to see us break the 10k barrier, we should NEVER be bellow that. Hopefully we won't from now to the end of the season.

Somebody calls me pathetic for sharing a genuine concern that we should be scoring more - no action. I call that person a muppet in response - my comment gets deleted. Nice work, admins. Very balanced.

Anyone calling someone a muppet would have the post deleted, admin or otherwise.

I'd rather not go down the warning etc route so let's leave it here.

We won today after a sore defeat. I will celebrate that rather than looking at a negative.

02-01-2016, 05:15 PM

Your comment is restored, I've been called much worse than a muppet

02-01-2016, 05:18 PM
Hibs played very poorly today but we won and essentially that's all that matters. On today's showing Bartley is better than Fyvie.

If you look at the bigger picture we need to start creating chances again, we looked disjointed today. I'm not sure this diamond works.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

02-01-2016, 05:19 PM
Very happy with the 3 points and at the end of the day that's what matters most right now. In saying that though it's hard to disagree. Whilst it's nice to see us successfully grind games out where we'd previously falter, it's starting to become all too frequent.

I'd like to see us up the tempo somewhat and start playing with some energy. It's the difference between us and Rangers and ultimately will be the difference come the end of the season.

Good game for a few players today especially Hanlon and Stevenson. Defence as a whole worked hard. Would like to see the midfield link up better with the strikers though. Cummings and Malonga haviong to play the channels too often. Nice to see Anier on again after not making an appearance at Ibrox. A sign that he may infact be staying?aye, it's all becoming far too frequent.grinding out results,especially after a bad day at Ibrox, with 2 or 3 players well under par at once and one player making a real hash of 2 they scored against us. I'll take the 3 points ground out today,thanks. we will get back onto a better level soon, quite sure of that.

Off the bar
02-01-2016, 05:20 PM
Hibs played very poorly today but we won and essentially that's all that matters. On today's showing Bartley is better than Fyvie.

If you look at the bigger picture we need to start creating chances again, we looked disjointed today. I'm not sure this diamond works.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

Would agree that Bartley looks better than Fyvie I think it was our final ball more than anything that let us down today

02-01-2016, 05:20 PM
We totally controlled that game, I just wish we'd finish teams off and score a few goals.

MileHighBees
02-01-2016, 05:21 PM
Last season we failed to beat Raith in either home game and ended up with only 5 points out of 12 against them.
This season so far we have 9 out of 9.

02-01-2016, 05:23 PM
Last season we failed to beat Raith in either home game and ended up with only 5 points out of 12 against them.
This season so far we have 9 out of 9.

A far too objective, sensible and factually correct post for some to take in !

02-01-2016, 05:23 PM
We totally controlled that game, I just wish we'd finish teams off and score a few goals.

That's how I saw it.

1st half we were on top without really threatening, 2nd half we could have had 3 or 4 as we totally controlled the game and created a few chances. I take the point we could do with scoring a few more but I'll take 1 goal if it means 3 points quite happily.

Bobo
02-01-2016, 05:24 PM
Good 3 points but less than average performance, not nearly enough pace or creation in our play, we need to stop showing diddy teams far too much respect!

02-01-2016, 05:26 PM
Great 3 points after last week's disappointment. Would have been real easy to feel sorry for themselves and drop another 2 or 3 points so full credit to Stubbs and the boys. Hope fully the start of another run of wins.

Poor first half but upped the tempo at the start of the 2nd and got the break we needed. Raith were solid but pretty poor, like many 2nd tier teams. Best for Hibs were McGeough, Hanlon and McGinn (2nd half).

02-01-2016, 05:28 PM
Its all about winning now until the rangers come to ER.

Matching or doing better than the results they get.

I actually thought we played ok today and completely dominated the game but I also share the concern that we are not scoring enough.
It's not about catching Sevco's goal difference, it's about having the fire power there on days when we maybe lose a couple of goals.

Mike_C
Would agree that Bartley looks better than Fyvie I think it was our final ball more than anything that let us down today

I must have been at a different game. Fyvie for me every time.

02-01-2016, 05:29 PM
That's how I saw it.

1st half we were on top without really threatening, 2nd half we could have had 3 or 4 as we totally controlled the game and created a few chances. I take the point we could do with scoring a few more but I'll take 1 goal if it means 3 points quite happily.

Who knows mate we might take 3 or 4 off them in the cup - today was a great boost for our cup tie against them.

02-01-2016, 05:29 PM
Good 3 points but less than average performance, not nearly enough pace or creation in our play, we need to stop showing diddy teams far too much respect!

Totally agree. Stubbs needs a bit of a re-think re our approach v these teams.

shamo9
02-01-2016, 05:30 PM
We dominated the second half and should've won more comfortably.

At the other end Oxley didn't have save to make. Raith had 1 good opening in the first half, other than that we were solid.

Yes we were dreadful first half but if we maintain that second half performance over 90 minutes we'll be fine moving forward. Great to see 10500 Hibs fans today :flag:

northeast hibby
02-01-2016, 05:31 PM
3 points was what we needed, every game it is what is required hope that they slip up along the way

02-01-2016, 05:35 PM
Just back and delighted the 3 points are in the bag. Again we didn't play well at all, compared to what we have been seeing. Second half I thought was much better than a horrible first half. Raith Rovers done what we set out last week, defend and punt long.

Stevenson was superb I thought today Dylan as well. The rest were alright but we really need to start having more shots on goal because that could be vital come the end of the season.

Over all back to winning ways but far from the form we have showed earlier in the season.

02-01-2016, 05:35 PM

Fyvie every time for me. I thought Bartley was like a man short today. He is very poor.

02-01-2016, 05:37 PM
Fyvie every time for me. I thought Bartley was like a man short today. He is very poor.

I think both are good players and it's a decent problem to have over who should start.

Bartley was ok imo, bit rusty after a few weeks out but he's great at snuffing out other teams attacks before they really get started. Fyvie is a bit less effective at that but a better 'football player'.

Agree with all that.

Just back and delighted the 3 points are in the bag. Again we didn't play well at all. Second half I thought was much better than a horrible first half. Raith Rovers done what we set out last week, defend and punt long.

Stevenson was superb I thought today Dylan as well. The rest were alright but we really need to start having more shots on goal because that could be vital come the end of the season.

Over all back to winning ways but far from the form we have showed earlier in the season.
We can't have more shots on goal if the final ball isn't good enough and that was the only problem today. We dominated them completely and Ox didn't make a save as far as I can recall....

02-01-2016, 05:40 PM

Fyvie is a better player in my opinion, it's obviously easier to look good at home to Raith than it is away to Rangers though.

02-01-2016, 05:42 PM

This! We were never in any trouble today but we do need to be far more clinical in front of goal.

How many games this season have we failed to score in the first half at ER?

02-01-2016, 05:44 PM
Poor first half, by far the better team second half and deserved the win. Looking forward to a wee day out in Kirkcaldy next week.

02-01-2016, 05:45 PM
Hanlon was very good today. My MOTM behind Dylan.

02-01-2016, 05:45 PM

No he's not

02-01-2016, 05:48 PM

Absolutely. Bartley was rubbish, didn't assert himself physically, didn't break up any Raith attacks, just let the game pass him by when we were in possession rather than look for the ball.

Clearly some of the boo boys who've decided Fyvie is this season's target wrote their posts praising Bartley before the game kicked off today and have decided to go ahead with posting them regardless.

02-01-2016, 05:50 PM
Hanlon was very good today. My MOTM behind Dylan.

:agree: mine too

02-01-2016, 05:50 PM
Absolutely. Bartley was rubbish, didn't assert himself physically, didn't break up any Raith attacks, just let the game pass him by when we were in possession rather than look for the ball.

Clearly some of the boo boys who've decided Fyvie is this season's target wrote their posts praising Bartley before the game kicked off today and have decided to go ahead with posting them regardless.

Horses for courses, I rate both players.

02-01-2016, 05:52 PM

As opposed to the 'boo boys' who have decided to have a pop at Bartley based on his first 78 minutes in weeks?

02-01-2016, 05:53 PM

I can't add to this. Absolutely bang on.

02-01-2016, 05:53 PM
Dylan was the man of the match for me, and I was impressed with Stevenson.

02-01-2016, 05:55 PM
As opposed to the 'boo boys' who have decided to have a pop at Bartley based on his first 78 minutes in weeks?

He had a solid, if unspectacular game after coming back from injury. I thought we struggled to keep possession a bit more often when he went off.

02-01-2016, 05:56 PM
He had a solid, if unspectacular game after coming back from injury. I thought we struggled to keep possession a bit more often when he went off.

Exactly as I saw it. A million miles away from being 'rubbish'.

Ronster117
02-01-2016, 05:57 PM
We needed a win to keep ahead of Falkirk, that's what we did. Scoring a hatful of goals is great but the bigger picture is stay ahead of Falkirk and don't loose ground to sevco.
we are on track......
:gwa:

02-01-2016, 05:59 PM
We can't have more shots on goal if the final ball isn't good enough and that was the only problem today. We dominated them completely and Ox didn't make a save as far as I can recall....
There were more than a few decent 'final balls' though. McGeouch to Malonga that he didn't connect with and McGinns cut back to Stevenson that he got caught under his feet in the first half to name a couple. McGeouch and Fontaine also had very good chances to score that were bordering on sitters.

You only need to look at the table to see how good a result that was today but the performance was poor again. Playing like that is all well and good against pish like Raith and QOS because they generally don't hav the quality to punish you for it but as we saw on Monday it won't be enough when we come up against the likes of Rangers.

Performances need to improve because I'm not sure we'll get away with 'grinding out results' forever.

02-01-2016, 06:02 PM
If we finish the season with one more point than Sevco, that'll be enough to finish above them, no matter how good their goal difference.

I'd happily take that.

02-01-2016, 06:02 PM

I don't think Oxley did either. I don't class passing across the box and back as dominating. That's just having the ball. We struggled in the final third today and need to try improve that. But it's about 3 points so happy enough.

Velma Dinkley
02-01-2016, 06:04 PM
The first The Rangers goal was scored by cheating. A clear handball. Their third was well offside. Their 5th was a very fortunate defection. If we cheated more and got numerous dodgy decisions in our favour every game we would be winning games by a lot more goals. Interestingly, waghorn dived in the box while 3-0 up but was booked. If we keep winning our season will end well.

02-01-2016, 06:06 PM
Instead of having a pop at each other re Bartley or Fyvie maybe it would be worth a wee chat re Cummings and his overall play today. IMO did nowhere near enough work off the ball, lost possession several times and gave up a ball chase second half far too easily.

Yes I know he is there to score goals (missed a penalty as well) but needs to do and show more at this level imo.

02-01-2016, 06:07 PM
Let's all slag off our players after a win! Fyvie needs a word, did nothing today.

FFS.

02-01-2016, 06:08 PM
Instead of having a pop at each other re Bartley or Fyvie maybe it would be worth a wee chat re Cummings and his overall play today. IMO did nowhere near enough work off the ball, lost possession several times and gave up a ball chase second half far too easily.

Yes I know he is there to score goals (missed a penalty as well) but needs to do and show more at this level imo.

Why do we need to have a pop at anyone today, 1 defeat in god knows how long and in a title race but we are still picking holes in the team? :confused:

02-01-2016, 06:08 PM
Never mind our players (who got the win by the way)

How honkin was that ref?

02-01-2016, 06:10 PM

How honkin was that ref?

Gave most decisions their way, even some clear fouls the other way.

02-01-2016, 06:10 PM
Strolled it the day, some cracking football and a win what else could you ask for?

02-01-2016, 06:12 PM
Strolled it the day, some cracking football and a win what else could you ask for?

6 goals, a Claude Makelele performance from Bartley and an excuse to slag at least 1 player apparently.

Gave most decisions their way, even some clear fouls the other way.

Never seemed to keep up with play. Seemed to just guess what way some fouls were going. Booked Bartley for getting kicked and ignored the most blatant handball I've ever seen!

Why do we need to have a pop at anyone today, 1 defeat in god knows how long and in a title race but we are still picking holes in the team? :confused:
But that's what being on Hibs.net is all about isn't it ? :cb

aljo7-0
02-01-2016, 06:13 PM

How honkin was that ref?

Awful but so was the West Stand assistant ref. It was him that called the ref when their no. 11 kicked Bartley (a clear sending off) but obviously told the ref they were both at it and missed the actual kick as he booked them both. Also there was a clear handball right in front of him that stopped the ball going out and gave them the chance to attack down the wing. Genuinely don't know how he could have missed that - Lewis was spewing at him for that one!

02-01-2016, 06:15 PM
6 goals, a Claude Makelele performance from Bartley and an excuse to slag at least 1 player apparently.

Can't please everyone then :greengrin

02-01-2016, 06:16 PM
Never seemed to keep up with play. Seemed to just guess what way some fouls were going. Booked Bartley for getting kicked and ignored the most blatant handball I've ever seen!
He was ****ing garbage. Made it up as he went.

02-01-2016, 06:16 PM

02-01-2016, 06:17 PM
We dominated possession without really creating many chances.

They defended deep and kept their shape well, especially in the first half and based on them being a tough nut to crack I'm delighted to get 3 points from that game regardless how we did it.

We need to look a bit more clinical in the final third, I don't know what the answer is to make us look more threatening.

Bartley did his job well - he was a bit rusty but played his part in our victory. He has his strengths over Fyvie but he also has his limitations. I thought our players seemed more hesitant to use him than Fyvie though.

As regards MOTM, Hanlon didn't set a foot wrong and with about 10 minutes to go I would have given it to him. But Stevenson also played very well, defensively and going forward and he had a very strong finish to the game so shaded it over Hanlon for me. The two of them I thought were absolutely superb today though and deserve huge credit. Whilst it wasn't a great team performance it can be easy to overlook individual performances like these. McGeoch also did well but not as well as those 2.

I think we'd have dropped points in that game last season. We aren't playing great and need to keep on picking up results throughout this tough run of fixtures, if we do then the good football will return.

02-01-2016, 06:17 PM
But that's what being on Hibs.net is all about isn't it ? :cb

It does seem that way these days, gone are the days when people like myself were being slaughtered for having the cheek to moan about poor results.

These days winning is not enough, although i have seen this before.

02-01-2016, 06:21 PM
Dylan was the man of the match for me, and I was impressed with Stevenson.

Stevenson was also brilliant today :agree:

02-01-2016, 06:21 PM
I thought Bartley played well today, surprised at some of the comments on here.

02-01-2016, 06:22 PM
Stevenson was also brilliant today :agree:

Lewis was superb today. I agreed with the Motm selection bur Stevenson and Hanlon were a close 2nd and 3rd.

02-01-2016, 06:26 PM
Good result. Glad we got a win after Monday.

Hope the league doesn't come down to goal difference though!

02-01-2016, 06:32 PM
It does seem that way these days, gone are the days when people like myself were being slaughtered for having the cheek to moan about poor results.

These days winning is not enough, although i have seen this before.

Maybe some folk are wanting us to score more as GD come the end of the season could be vital. I'm delighted with the 3 points we deserved them but we need to start scoring more goals.

02-01-2016, 06:34 PM
Lewis was superb today. I agreed with the Motm selection bur Stevenson and Hanlon were a close 2nd and 3rd.

Yep, Stevenson was outstanding today. Dylan also very good so can see why he got it. Hanlon also solid!

02-01-2016, 06:45 PM
Maybe some folk are wanting us to score more as GD come the end of the season could be vital. I'm delighted with the 3 points we deserved them but we need to start scoring more goals.

We are never going to peg that goal difference back, today was all about the result and getting back to winning ways.

02-01-2016, 06:46 PM
We are never going to peg that goal difference back, today was all about the result and getting back to winning ways.

And yet again I agree with you. This is getting to be a habit now. :greengrin

02-01-2016, 06:48 PM
And yet again I agree with you. This is getting to be a habit now. :greengrin

We are never that far away in our differences. :greengrin

02-01-2016, 06:50 PM

Stop this BH. We are agreeing too often.

Edit: I see M59 beat me to the punch.

02-01-2016, 06:53 PM
We won today again and that's all that counts. Clearly we've went of the boil but we are still very much in the hunt to win the league.

02-01-2016, 06:56 PM
Stop this BH. We are agreeing too often.

Edit: I see M59 beat me to the punch.

We all want a winning team, said it all along just give me a team thats punching its weight and i'm happy. I know we are in the 2nd tier, but we can only beat whats put in front of us, and we normally do. :thumbsup:

02-01-2016, 07:00 PM

I'm not saying it wasn't, I'm saying some folk may just feel goals are needed. Myself I'm happy with 3 points but that wasn't a good game as very few chances were created but I think we'll hit form again soon.

02-01-2016, 07:02 PM
We are never that far away in our differences. :greengrin

Stones or the Beatles? :greengrin

02-01-2016, 07:06 PM
Stones or the Beatles? :greengrin

Not a real fan of either, much prefer Queen. :greengrin