View Full Version : Player ratings v Sevco

leithsansiro
28-12-2015, 07:44 PM
Oxley - 6 probably nothing he could do about any of the four goals. Made some decent stops
Gray - 5 good drive up the flank, but wasn't tight enough on McKay for most of the half
McGregor - 5 seemed a bit rash with some decision making. His lack of awareness made the space for their second
Hanlon - 5 didn't inspire confidence in the way he normally does, looked better with Fontaine than McGregor
Stevenson - 6 worked hard, some decent crosses but ultimately had little options in the final third. Caught for the killer second
McGeouch - 6 A lot of effort without any real end product. Not convinced he was fully fit
Fyvie - 4 looked defensively weak, and misplaced too many passes, including THAT one
Mcginn - 5 tried a few things, nothing really came off for him.
Henderson - 5 doesn't look comfortable in wider positions, had an off day
Keatings - 5 ran about a lot, but no real end product
Cummings - 7 worked hard, great finish. He worried their defence but needed to drop deep too often

Subs
Fontaine - 5 probably should've started as part of a back 3
Boyle - 4 direct running made a decent impact
Malonga - 4 contributed a few good touches in link up play, got a goal

A couple of observations
- as the base of a midfield diamond, Fyvie doesn't work. We missed someone like Bartley who makes his tackles. For all of our technical skills in the middle of the park, we lost out there
- Keatings and Cummings are too similar, but I suspect the plan was to use their work rates to harass Sevco's back line. Keating probably should have been hooked at half time
- why does nobody ever show for throw ins? It annoys me so much!

28-12-2015, 07:49 PM
Fair enough mostly, but Cummings was worth an 8 or 9. A complete strikers performance, boundless energy.

28-12-2015, 07:49 PM
Oxley - 6 probably nothing he could do about any of the four goals. Made some decent stops
Gray - 5 good drive up the flank, but wasn't tight enough on McKay for most of the half
McGregor - 5 seemed a bit rash with some decision making. His lack of awareness made the space for their second
Hanlon - 5 didn't inspire confidence in the way he normally does, looked better with Fontaine than McGregor
Stevenson - 6 worked hard, some decent crosses but ultimately had little options in the final third. Caught for the killer second
McGeouch - 6 A lot of effort without any real end product. Not convinced he was fully fit
Fyvie - 4 looked defensively weak, and misplaced too many passes, including THAT one
Mcginn - 5 tried a few things, nothing really came off for him.
Henderson - 5 doesn't look comfortable in wider positions, had an off day
Keatings - 5 ran about a lot, but no real end product
Cummings - 7 worked hard, great finish. He worried their defence but needed to drop deep too often

Subs
Fontaine - 5 probably should've started as part of a back 3
Boyle - 4 direct running made a decent impact
Malonga - 4 contributed a few good touches in link up play, got a goal

A couple of observations
- as the base of a midfield diamond, Fyvie doesn't work. We missed someone like Bartley who makes his tackles. For all of our technical skills in the middle of the park, we lost out there
- Keatings and Cummings are too similar, but I suspect the plan was to use their work rates to harass Sevco's back line. Keating probably should have been hooked at half time
- why does nobody ever show for throw ins? It annoys me so much!

Shocking that it's never been addressed since Broonie left.

28-12-2015, 07:52 PM
Not many get pass marks today. We were second best all over the park.

Cummings and McGeough at a push as I thought they both kept going and showed a bit fight.

28-12-2015, 07:54 PM
Fontaine was to blame for the third goal. How does he score as many as hanlon???

28-12-2015, 08:21 PM
Poor all over park, out fought, they were far more hungrier from the get go.....

Cummings and McGeouch did well, not high scores for any others......

28-12-2015, 08:52 PM
Fontaine was to blame for the third goal. How does he score as many as hanlon???

Agreed. Fontaine looked uncomfortable. Really poor defending at the goal.

29-12-2015, 11:34 AM
Oxley ......... 5 .. Had no chance with the goals, had little to do apart from pick the ball out of the net

Stevenson ... 6 .. Held his end up pretty well and a couple of good crosses

Hanlon ..... 5 .... At times looked as shaky as I've seen him for the last 2 seasons

McGregor ... 5 .. his poorest game for Hibs.

Gray ..... 6 .... Some crunching tackles and was doing well until he had to go off

McGeouch .... 7 ... Our best player in the first half, fell away in the 2nd but hardly a surprise given his lack of game time recently

Henderson ... 5 .... made nothing happen

Fyvie ..... 5 .... You cant fault his workrate, an honest player, but his use of the ball was poor 'again' and he gifted them the first goal

McGinn ... 5 ... Just wasn't involved enough and sometimes tried to beat one man too many when a pass was on

Keatings ... 4 ... I think he kicked the ball twice in the whole time he was on the park

Cummings ... 8 ... Took his goal brilliantly and ran tirelessly for the whole 90 minutes ... well done son, came of age in this game MoM by a mile

Subs:

Fontaine ... 5 ... Wasn't any worse than McGregor or Hanlon, but WTF was he trying to do with a ball he should have blasted up the pitch .. dozy sod !

Malonga ... 6 ... Tried hard to get into the game and was brave when he scored .. good effort from him

Boyle ... 4 ... Little impact

Observations:

It was a decent performance up until the Huns leveller, after that we just couldn't pick up our game and were second to just about every ball in the 2nd half, we were killed by individual errors, but in truth only McGeouch and Cummings emerged from this one as players who could be happy with their input.

I feel a bit for McGregor, he isn't a specialist right back and he was up against it with two of the Huns most effective players to try and contain in the 2nd half. Whether Fyvie was headbutted or not doesn't matter, the dirty Hun bassa had already kicked him before the headbutt and deserved to go for that alone.

McGinn hasn't been the same since the death of young Brandon Walker and even if he wouldn't admit it I'm willing to bet that he has been affected by what happened .... I'm not joking when I say that perhaps it would be an idea for the club to consider some counselling for him.

At the end of the day we have lost 3 points ...... Its how we react to it this Saturday that will really give us an idea of where we stand for the challenges to come between now and May. We can improve on this and have the team and manager to do it.

Dinnae get me started on beards ..... if it was up to me I'd fine every bugger who turns up at training with less than a bairns bum type clean shave two weeks bloody wages :grr:

29-12-2015, 11:49 AM
Oxley 5 did nothing wrong but lost 4 goals

Gray 5 did not show much going forward
McGregor 5 at fault for the equaliser by chasing the ball
Hanlon 5 tried hard but struggled throughout
Stevenson 6 best of the back 4

Fyvie 3 very poor, at fault for 2 goals
McGinn 4 never in the game
McGeough 6 good work rate but isolated by the performance of others
Henderson 4 poor touch and looked sluggish

Keatings 3 did nothing
Cummings 7 great finish, showed well for the ball

Fontaine 4 should have cleared the ball for the crucial 3rd goal
Boyle 4 ran at them at least
Malonga 4 scored and should have started

Stubbs 4 heavy defeat and needs to look at his selection as two Wee guys up front does not work.

30-12-2015, 01:48 AM
I thought Boyle put us on the front foot. JC was excellent, no one else did much of note really. Bad day at the office, it's gone now, onwards and upwards