View Full Version : Leon Osman

davym7062
23-12-2015, 01:22 PM
heard today hes coming to us in January!!!! anybody heard anything?

23-12-2015, 01:28 PM
That would be a scoop , top player , not getting a game at Everton , Stubbs connection a possibility !

23-12-2015, 01:29 PM
Was a name mentioned after stubbs made his "surprise player" comment the other day. Could well be people guessing.

23-12-2015, 01:29 PM
Wow! where has this come from? :-)

23-12-2015, 01:34 PM
Thought we were looking at a striker. Isn't he a midfielder?

Salt N Sauzee
23-12-2015, 01:37 PM
Please stop.

23-12-2015, 01:37 PM
No chance!

23-12-2015, 01:42 PM
Doubt it, would walk into any English championship team on 4x the wages.

lumbo_hfc
23-12-2015, 01:44 PM
Doing his coaching badges in Scotland...

23-12-2015, 01:48 PM

Close friends with Stubbs though and probably doesn't need the cash. Not saying it's happening but strangers things have happened.

23-12-2015, 01:59 PM
Would be a good signing. Can play as an amc, cm and on the left. Has that experience too something our team is lacking.

23-12-2015, 02:00 PM
Would be the greatest signing since Sauzee.

23-12-2015, 02:09 PM
No chance

23-12-2015, 02:09 PM
Not quite the defender or attacker that Stubbs himself said he was looking at bringing in, unless this is something that has just happened and it's too good to turn down.​

23-12-2015, 02:40 PM
Wow! where has this come from? :-)

Leftfield!

The_Sauz
23-12-2015, 02:47 PM
I was told about him on Saturday! Supposed to be coming in as a Player/Coach :agree:

23-12-2015, 02:53 PM

He's 34

23-12-2015, 02:57 PM
No chance

Better than Sauzee is he ?

23-12-2015, 03:03 PM

Currently yes he is.

23-12-2015, 03:03 PM
Smell a rat. Leon Osman is an anagram of Noel Moans and that it what we do when we review January signings at Christmas time.

23-12-2015, 03:05 PM
Also an anagram of Some Loann - good enough for me

23-12-2015, 03:06 PM
He's 34So?

Osman played every game for an Everton team who finished 5th 18 months ago. He could do better than Hibs. Will he? Who knows, it would be a wonderful signing.

Lee Marvin
23-12-2015, 03:14 PM
Close this thread please. Embarrassing and will give nothing but false hope to some.

The boy earns about 30k a week for goodness sake!

23-12-2015, 03:18 PM
So?

Osman played every game for an Everton team who finished 5th 18 months ago. He could do better than Hibs. Will he? Who knows, it would be a wonderful signing.

Ayp that was 18 months ago and made his fortune . Maybe fancies coaching and his mates offered him a job

23-12-2015, 03:19 PM
The cycle of nonsense, in the internet age:

1. Thread on Hibs.net about a mystery big name signing.
2. Somebody posts, not seriously, a ridiculous name like Leon Osman.
3. Somebody who's a bit dumb reads that post and thinks it's serious.
4. Said dimwit tells his friends he's 'heard' that we're signing Leon Osman.
5. Friend starts thread on Hibs.net saying he's heard we're signing Leon Osman.

23-12-2015, 03:25 PM
Leftfield!

I was being sarcastic, think its gash, happy to be wrong for 6 months though.

23-12-2015, 03:26 PM

6. Hibs host press conference to announce surprise loan signing of Wayne Rooney. 'Alan's a pal and Van Gaal is ******ing mental, plus I love the Hibs, so it was an easy decision to make', said Rooney. Ed Woodward, asked to comment on the shock move, said that tough negotiating had meant Man Utd were only paying 98% of his wages during the loan, rather than 99%.

23-12-2015, 03:28 PM
I was told this strictly on the down low last week, could be something in this.....

23-12-2015, 03:34 PM
Smell a rat. Leon Osman is an anagram of Noel Moans and that it what we do when we review January signings at Christmas time.

A conspiracy in fact....Lone Mason !!!

23-12-2015, 03:36 PM
Thought we were looking at a striker.
Steven Naismith was in the papers the other week saying he'd have to consider his position with Everton in January as he wasn't getting enough game time there. I don't think he'll come though, as that would put an end to the team who plays at his old ground's chances of winning the league.

23-12-2015, 03:42 PM

Eh?:confused:

23-12-2015, 03:42 PM
Also an anagram of Some Loann - good enough for me
Oan Melons

23-12-2015, 03:49 PM
Almost certain to be be coming.

23-12-2015, 03:52 PM

Are you on the wind up Brooster? Because when someone with a reputation like yourself lends their weight to a rumour, it certainly gets peoples attention :agree:

23-12-2015, 03:55 PM

:hyper

23-12-2015, 03:55 PM

I'm not entirely convinced that Leon Osman is such a ridiculous suggestion. He's 34, he hasn't been getting a game at Goodison, he knows Stubbs and Stubbs knows him, and he's exactly the sort of player Stubbs is looking for in the second half of this season.

This is all speculation, admittedly, but speculation can be fun and as long as no one takes it too seriously, what's the harm?

I've been dropping dark hints to any The Rangers supporters I know that we could be signing a "forward from Everton" who's looking for proper game time and who "wouldn't be averse to coming back to Scotland".

It usually takes a couple of minutes for the penny to drop, but when it does .... :devil:

And then I point out (truthfully) that we did have a bid in for him before, when he was at Kilmarnock.

Nutmegged
23-12-2015, 03:56 PM

You at it mate? I filed this under fantasy until I saw your input...jeeez

23-12-2015, 03:57 PM

You've spoiled it now.

It's far nore fun calling people dumb, idiots and dimwits.

23-12-2015, 03:58 PM
I'm not entirely convinced that Leon Osman is such a ridiculous suggestion. He's 34, he hasn't been getting a game at Goodison, he knows Stubbs and Stubbs knows him, and he's exactly the sort of player Stubbs is looking for in the second half of this season.

This is all speculation, admittedly, but speculation can be fun and as long as no one takes it too seriously, what's the harm?

I've been dropping dark hints to any The Rangers supporters I know that we could be signing a "forward from Everton" who's looking for proper game time and who "wouldn't be averse to coming back to Scotland".

It usually takes a couple of minutes for the penny to drop, but when it does .... :devil:

And then I point out (truthfully) that we did have a bid in for him before, when he was at Kilmarnock.

Islam Feruz was dismissed out of hand as a ridiculous suggestion when his name was first seen on the forum, so you never know...

23-12-2015, 03:58 PM
Never doubted it.

Velma Dinkley
23-12-2015, 03:59 PM
I heard we were signing osman sow.

23-12-2015, 04:01 PM
I heard we were signing osman sow.

He was meant to signing for us before the Butcher was emptied .

23-12-2015, 04:05 PM
Leon osman is mates with Gary naysmith

23-12-2015, 04:09 PM
Islam Feruz was dismissed out of hand as a ridiculous suggestion when his name was first seen on the forum, so you never know...

Feruz hasn't worked out, but a lot of people were very dismissive of the idea that Chelsea would ever enter a deal like that with a club like Hibs.

What i heard forst was that Stubbs was after an old colleague from Everton who was looking for game time.

First name I thought of was Osman's, for the reasons I've already listed.

23-12-2015, 04:10 PM
Are you on the wind up Brooster? Because when someone with a reputation like yourself lends their weight to a rumour, it certainly gets peoples attention :agree:

No wind up mate. From what Im hearing I think there is every chance of this happening.

Arch Stanton
23-12-2015, 04:27 PM
Guy next to me at QoS game said, very authoritatively, that Leon Osman was was all signed and sealed.

Mind you, he's forever coming out with very authoritative statements that are a load of p*sh.

However, if Osman sees his career developing as a player/coach in a lower division and then into management then Hibs could be a reasonable first step. He maybe hasn't realised how much he could make as an agent!

And didn't I read on here that the 'surprise' and 'needing a forward and defender' are two different things?

23-12-2015, 04:27 PM
Feruz hasn't worked out, but a lot of people were very dismissive of the idea that Chelsea would ever enter a deal like that with a club like Hibs.

What i heard forst was that Stubbs was after an old colleague from Everton who was looking for game time.

First name I thought of was Osman's, for the reasons I've already listed.

:agree: I was agreeing with you, Doddie. :greengrin

23-12-2015, 04:36 PM
It's worth remembering as well we have quite a young team.

If this happens another experienced head, who's a very good pro I believe, around the place to take the lead and help the younger lads through what could be a lot of pressure in the coming months is no bad thing.

marleyhib
23-12-2015, 04:38 PM
If it's as player coach then this maybe isn't that far fetched.

Steven Naismith is fantasy land.

high bee
23-12-2015, 04:44 PM
It's not that ridiculous. Think about it, if he's mates with Stubbs and he can see Stubbs is going to go on to have a successful management career and could quite possibly attract a big move as early as next year or the year after.

He might be thinking if I get into his coaching set up now I could follow him to his big move. Stubbs may have countered and said yeah come up here and we will give you your first coaching gig but only if you play for us too. He has to start somewhere and he may be a good player but he's an unproven coach.

Stubbs words were very interesting in his interview lately, he said something similar to "it's amazing what happens when you're on a good run, I've got people offering me their services from all over place" and I'm sure he went on to says something about people you would never normally expect.

23-12-2015, 05:41 PM
Leon osman is mates with Gary naysmith

Signing for East Fife? :greengrin

SausageSurprise
23-12-2015, 06:05 PM
6. Hibs host press conference to announce surprise loan signing of Wayne Rooney. 'Alan's a pal and Van Gaal is ******ing mental, plus I love the Hibs, so it was an easy decision to make', said Rooney. Ed Woodward, asked to comment on the shock move, said that tough negotiating had meant Man Utd were only paying 98% of his wages during the loan, rather than 99%.

7. Leighton Baines is unveiled on a 6 month loan as part of the cancelation clause in the recent friendly/bounce game which was called off last minute

Mikeystewart
23-12-2015, 06:05 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbqKhedaiIw

23-12-2015, 06:30 PM
Will anyone take up the mantle from Kuki but score and do that belly-flop thingy?

23-12-2015, 06:37 PM
Will anyone take up the mantle from Kuki but score and do that belly-flop thingy?

I'd give it a go, but I'm not sure the ground would recover from the impact!

23-12-2015, 06:51 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbqKhedaiIw

I swear I've seen something like that goal before... And around this time of year too. Hmm...

23-12-2015, 06:52 PM
Eh?:confused:

What ?

23-12-2015, 06:54 PM
You've spoiled it now.

It's far nore fun calling people dumb, idiots and dimwits.

:agree: :greengrin

23-12-2015, 06:56 PM
What ?

you tell me. I didn't say anything about Sauzee...so where does he come into it?

23-12-2015, 07:04 PM
you tell me. I didn't say anything about Sauzee...so where does he come into it?

If you were told he was signing what would you say ?

Why is there no chance of him signing ?

23-12-2015, 07:07 PM
If you were told he was signing what would you say ?

Why is there no chance of him signing ?

If I was told Sauzee was signing? What you on about?

23-12-2015, 07:07 PM
Good source I also heard osman on a coach player basis BEFORE stubbs was in paper, but ive not put on here as didnt think it was true. Sowho knows

23-12-2015, 07:13 PM
If I was told Sauzee was signing? What you on about?

Just wondering why we have no chance of signing him

The_Sauz
23-12-2015, 07:16 PM
No chance
How do you know this?

The_Sauz
23-12-2015, 07:20 PM
Good source I also heard osman on a coach player basis BEFORE stubbs was in paper, but ive not put on here as didnt think it was true. So who knows
The only people who really know, is AS & LD!

Benny Brazil
23-12-2015, 07:22 PM
The only people who really know, is AS & LD!

And LO - possibly and hopefully :greengrin

23-12-2015, 07:27 PM
And LO - possibly and hopefully :greengrin

And Mrs O :greengrin

23-12-2015, 07:28 PM
On the plus side the Osman rumour is going to be put to bed in about a fortnight, John Eustace for The Sevco - been running since June and still going on. :cb

I got told about Osman from a usually reliable source on Monday but kept shtuum.

23-12-2015, 07:28 PM
Just wondering why we have no chance of signing him

Cos he'll have plenty better offers than our level.

I'll happily be proven wrong.

23-12-2015, 07:30 PM
How do you know this?

I don't, but when folk were saying we were going to get Allan and Stokes on loan I said there was nae chance of that too, I didn't have any hard facts to back that up either.

Osman coming to Hibs seems unlikely to me.

23-12-2015, 07:32 PM
Leon Osman is the sort of signing The Rangers would make, had they not already got John Eustace.

23-12-2015, 07:50 PM
He would a great signing, he was last capped by England in 2012. So this would be a signing up there with signing of Sauzee & Latapy.

w pilton hibby
23-12-2015, 08:00 PM
Leon Osman is the sort of signing The Rangers would make, had they not already got John Eustace.

Eustace never signed for The Rangers. Was never able to get fit and left Murray Park last week in November.

23-12-2015, 08:02 PM
Eustace never signed for The Rangers. Was never able to get fit and left Murray Park last week in November.

Whoosh? :greengrin

23-12-2015, 08:03 PM
He would a great signing, he was last capped by England in 2012. So this would be a signing up there with signing of Sauzee & Latapy.

How old was latapy when he joined us?

I'm not disagreeing with you by the way, your post just got me thinking, I thought he was quite old when he joined us but he was around for ages so couldn't have been that old?!

I don't know much about osman but I think he was known for being a hard worker and having a good attitude, if I've got that right then he's more likely to be a sauzee than a johanssen.

1875STEVE
23-12-2015, 08:19 PM
How old was latapy when he joined us?

I'm not disagreeing with you by the way, your post just got me thinking, I thought he was quite old when he joined us but he was around for ages so couldn't have been that old?!

I don't know much about osman but I think he was known for being a hard worker and having a good attitude, if I've got that right then he's more likely to be a sauzee than a johanssen.

Latapy was born 68, joined us in 98, so roughly 30.

23-12-2015, 08:21 PM
Latapy was 30 Le God 34

high bee
23-12-2015, 08:29 PM
Cos he'll have plenty better offers than our level.

I'll happily be proven wrong.

Correct, on a playing level. However on a coaching level perhaps not. His main priority may be getting a good coaching role rather than worrying about money or his playing career. If he is coming here to coach it would makes sense for him to spend 6 months here playing while taking a few coaching sessions as he builds up his experience.

Stubbs is apparently quite convincing when getting players so he maybe sold him the dream that he will be a future Everton manager and that he will bring Osman with him.

Alternatively, I believe we provide facilities for coaching badges so maybe he will come up here to get his badges (if he doesn't have them already) and play a bit of football before slotting into Stubbs' coaching team.

23-12-2015, 08:41 PM
No chance!

100% :agree:

23-12-2015, 09:02 PM
Latapy was born 68, joined us in 98, so roughly 30.

I, but after all that smoking and drinking his body was about 60!

23-12-2015, 09:37 PM
Thought he may have played at ER before but didn't feature in the friendly that Rooney played in a few years ago.

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/match-reports/hibernian-2-everton-2-dpost-3557829

23-12-2015, 09:41 PM
Signing for East Fife? :greengrin

if he flops in the green n white lol

Which I doubt hope we get this one tho

23-12-2015, 10:09 PM
Whoosh? :greengrin

23-12-2015, 10:16 PM
It would be a good signing if it happens but I'll believe it when I see it.

Ken
23-12-2015, 10:16 PM
We'll just have to wait and see what happens :agree:

23-12-2015, 10:20 PM
I don't want to get too excited, I don't want to get too excited, I don't want to get too excited...!!!

23-12-2015, 11:47 PM
Not a whisper of it in Liverpool which makes me think it's not happening.

24-12-2015, 05:02 AM
Everton need Osman.

24-12-2015, 05:58 AM
Not a whisper of it in Liverpool which makes me think it's not happening.

Complete nonsense - Liverpudlians don't know how whisper!! :greengrin

24-12-2015, 07:08 AM
I think the info coming out of the club is slim pickings to the 'itk' folk at the moment.

I'm not going to rule out anything but I'd rather we had rumours like Osman and the like compared to nowt coming out of The Rangers apart from 19 year old loanee's from the Championship.

Not long to find out who else will be added!

24-12-2015, 07:49 AM
Would obviously be a great signing but really can't see it happening. Would have said the same about Sauzee last time we were in the championship though

24-12-2015, 08:36 AM
What the hell is Stubbs thinking about if this is true?!! 34years old?! Only scored 65 goals in his entire carrer!! And is he fit?! Stubbs oot! :greengrin

24-12-2015, 10:21 AM
I swear I've seen something like that goal before... And around this time of year too. Hmm...

Exactamundo, and the perpetrator is there for the taking. :wink: :stirrer:

24-12-2015, 10:24 AM
The Scotsman is getting its news from us these days http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/championship/rumour-mill-leon-osman-to-hibs-hearts-cool-aymen-belaid-talk-souttar-told-to-reject-celtic-1-3984091

24-12-2015, 10:49 AM
It's times like this when it hits home that I don't really follow football outside of Hibs. I have never heard of the guy :embarrass
Sounds like it would be a major signing if true - 2016 looks like being an exciting time for Hibs fans.

24-12-2015, 10:55 AM
It's times like this when it hits home that I don't really follow football outside of Hibs. I have never heard of the guy :embarrass
Sounds like it would be a major signing if true - 2016 looks like being an exciting time for Hibs fans.

:greengrin My dad is very much the same. Told him about this and he said "who?". Everton are my English team, and although Osman is now 34, I think he would add a lot to our team. He has over 300 games for Everton, played 28 games just last season, and has a decent scoring record too. Is a very fit guy too so should breeze this league. I have my fingers crossed this happens.

24-12-2015, 10:59 AM
:greengrin My dad is very much the same. Told him about this and he said "who?". Everton are my English team, and although Osman is now 34, I think he would add a lot to our team. He has over 300 games for Everton, played 28 games just last season, and has a decent scoring record too. Is a very fit guy too so should breeze this league. I have my fingers crossed this happens.

Everton fans seem to have mixed feelings about him. Capable of turning out a match-winning performance and at times unbelievably good, yet fairly anonymous at others.

Could be a great signing for us.

24-12-2015, 11:04 AM
Everton fans seem to have mixed feelings about him. Capable of turning out a match-winning performance and at times unbelievably good, yet fairly anonymous at others.

Could be a great signing for us.

He's been good enough to have the record of most EPL games played for Everton (nearly 350). On his day he is tremendous, but obviously if he was that good consistently, he would have more than 2 England caps. His ability "should" be a class above what is in most teams in Scotland, even at 34. I agree, in the short term it could be an excellent move.

24-12-2015, 11:50 AM
Deal close to being agreed as a player/coach.

Would be a terrific bit of business if we can get it over the line.

24-12-2015, 11:52 AM
Deal close to being agreed as a player/coach. Would be a terrific bit of business if we can get it over the line. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quality player, will enhance the squad and bring a lot of experience to the team and club.

24-12-2015, 11:55 AM

The midfield of Osman, McGinn, Fyvie, McGeouch, Henderson, Bartley and Boyle would have anyone wet theirselves with excitement.

http://cs403316.vk.me/v403316515/a77/sHXyJ7q3034.jpg

24-12-2015, 11:56 AM
The midfield of Osman, McGinn, Fyvie, McGeouch, Henderson, Bartley and Boyle would have anyone wet theirselves with excitement.

Especially when you consider that it would've been built in just a couple of years! Stubbs deserves all the credit for how he has completely revamped the squad. The midfield that we got relegated with was honking!

Lee Marvin
24-12-2015, 12:48 PM

Do you have a proper source or are you going on the rumour?

I'd a gobsmacked if this was true/happens. Gobsmacked. It would easily be up there with Latapy/Sauzee.

If we sign Osman (we won't), we will win the league. He would be the best player in Scotland by a country mile

24-12-2015, 12:54 PM
Do you have a proper source or are you going on the rumour?

I'd a gobsmacked if this was true/happens. Gobsmacked. It would easily be up there with Latapy/Sauzee.

If we sign Osman (we won't), we will win the league. He would be the best player in Scotland by a country mile

I have a source who knows a couple of guys inside Hibs.

Told me about Keatings, McGinn and Allan going to Celtic etc.

It's not over the line yet, but it's close.

Lee Marvin
24-12-2015, 01:01 PM

Osman would be relatively as good in the Scottish Championship as Andres Iniesta is in La Liga!! Maybe better.

24-12-2015, 01:09 PM

Jeez, just had a bum squeezing moment.
I thought you meant Keating's &McGinn were following Allan to the Soapies in January.
Phew!

24-12-2015, 01:09 PM

I'll be raging if we sell Keatings and McGinn to Celtic.

24-12-2015, 01:14 PM

Very poorly worded by myself! :faf

24-12-2015, 01:14 PM

Read it again, Oz.

I had to :greengrin

Caversham Green
24-12-2015, 01:22 PM
He's been good enough to have the record of most EPL games played for Everton (nearly 350). On his day he is tremendous, but obviously if he was that good consistently, he would have more than 2 England caps. His ability "should" be a class above what is in most teams in Scotland, even at 34. I agree, in the short term it could be an excellent move.

To be fair he had the likes of Gerrard and Lampard to compete with. Didn't he get his caps quite late in his career - i.e. fairly recently?

Anyhow he played against Reading in the League Cup earlier this season and pretty much ran the game - I said at the time I was surprised he wasn't getting a regular game.

24-12-2015, 01:37 PM
To be fair he had the likes of Gerrard and Lampard to compete with. Didn't he get his caps quite late in his career - i.e. fairly recently?

Anyhow he played against Reading in the League Cup earlier this season and pretty much ran the game - I said at the time I was surprised he wasn't getting a regular game.

Yeah, just in 2013.

24-12-2015, 01:58 PM

Very poorly worded by myself! :faf

YOU THINK???????????

But if this deal is closed by New Year, it's really good news.

Osman's a good player with all the experience in the world.

24-12-2015, 01:59 PM
YOU THINK???????????

But if this deal is closed by New Year, it's really good news.

Osman's a good player with all the experience in the world.

Agree mate!

The_Sauz
24-12-2015, 02:33 PM

Would you still be raging if was Griffiths for Keatings and Armstrong & Henderson for McGinn :wink:

24-12-2015, 02:39 PM
Would you still be raging if was Griffiths for Keatings and Armstrong & Henderson for McGinn :wink:

No GMS?

24-12-2015, 02:41 PM

... Are you saying Leigh Griffiths is coming home?! :hyper

The_Sauz
24-12-2015, 03:01 PM
No GMS?

Injury prone :agree:
Has only played in 23 (14 as a sub) games in all comps for Celtic this season!

The_Sauz
24-12-2015, 03:03 PM
... Are you saying Leigh Griffiths is coming home?! :hyper

Down Boy............:greengrin

24-12-2015, 05:02 PM

I feel playing 7 in midfield might leave us a tad short in other areas though......

But seriously, an extraordinary signing if it ACTUALLY happens.

24-12-2015, 05:21 PM
I feel playing 7 in midfield might leave us a tad short in other areas though......

------------------Oxley
-----McGregor--Hanlon--Fontaine
Boyle------Bartley-----Fyvie------McGeouch
---------McGinn---------Osman
----------------Henderson

Definitely doable tbh :greengrin

24-12-2015, 06:38 PM

Oxley

McGregor Hanlon

The Magnificent Seven

Griffiths ( :hyper )

Saturday Boy
24-12-2015, 09:32 PM
That's 5 pages now, and I'm still confused: is Leon the son of Donnie or little Jimmy ??

24-12-2015, 09:37 PM
That's 5 pages now, and I'm still confused: is Leon the son of Donnie or little Jimmy ??

You crazy horse 🎸

hibbypostie
24-12-2015, 09:39 PM

neither its Richards brother I wonder if he's good in the air

24-12-2015, 09:47 PM
You crazy horse 🎸
It'll be the Twelfth of Never before this deal happens.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

24-12-2015, 09:50 PM
So is the plan to bring in Osman - let him learn about coaching / managing and Hibs - then when Stubbs moves away Osman becomes next manager / assistant ? Surely not !

24-12-2015, 09:59 PM
On the rare occasions that Ozzy has appeared for the Toffees lately he has mostly been a water carrier. He does like to have a dash but his efforts tend to be fruitless these days which annoys the crowd. In the SPL, however, he'd definitely bag some goals. Can't see it coming off. He could earn far more at Forest or Leeds or whatever. My bet would rather be McGeady who has Scottish links.

SausageSurprise
24-12-2015, 10:04 PM
I only wish I knew how to post the daffy gif

24-12-2015, 10:09 PM
Box to box player . sounds too good to be true tho fingers crossed

MagicSwirlingShip
24-12-2015, 10:14 PM
He would be a great influence on our young midfield. Even if it's all just speculation, it's great to be buzzing about a Hibs signing that could swing the Championship in our favour.

Loving life under Stubbs, long may it continue

24-12-2015, 10:34 PM
I just want it to happen so the poster that called everyone stupid(or words to that effect) can come back and apologise.

24-12-2015, 10:44 PM

neither its Richards brother I wonder if he's good in the air

This thread is pointless. :greengrin

24-12-2015, 10:57 PM
I only wish I knew how to post the daffy gif
http://www.reactiongifs.us/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/daffy_fapping.gif

25-12-2015, 01:04 AM
I just want it to happen so the poster that called everyone stupid(or words to that effect) can come back and apologise.

No chance :greengrin

25-12-2015, 08:39 AM
No chance :greengrin
I'll be waiting patiently if it does happen :greengrin

25-12-2015, 11:22 AM
I'll be waiting patiently if it does happen :greengrin

You won't be alone :wink:

monteddie
25-12-2015, 12:36 PM
Close friends with Stubbs though and probably doesn't need the cash. Not saying it's happening but strangers things have happened.

Imagine forums were around in the days when we signed George Best and Steve Archibald.

26-12-2015, 03:56 PM
On the bench at Ashley's English place.

26-12-2015, 04:24 PM
Down Boy............:greengrin

26-12-2015, 04:27 PM
Can't imagine there's anything in this. Apart from anything else it's not a position we need to address. Stubbs said a striker and a right back only didn't he?

26-12-2015, 04:32 PM
Can't imagine there's anything in this. Apart from anything else it's not a position we need to address. Stubbs said a striker and a right back only didn't he?

He added that if anything else presented itself then who knows what can happen

26-12-2015, 05:27 PM

The fact we had to play Paul Hanlon in midfield a couple of weeks ago tells me we might not be as strong in there as we think. Especially with McGeough being so injury prone.

26-12-2015, 06:12 PM
Osman coming on for Everton now.....

Titch
26-12-2015, 06:13 PM
That'll be that then 😢😢😢

26-12-2015, 06:16 PM
This will be some signing,an international currently playing in the EPL:wink:

26-12-2015, 06:18 PM
Been on for 6 minutes and done absolutely nothing. Probably best that Everton get rid. Waste of a wage

26-12-2015, 06:45 PM
Been on for 6 minutes and done absolutely nothing. Probably best that Everton get rid. Waste of a wage

Justification to start the "not Hibs Class ", thread.

26-12-2015, 06:47 PM
Osman is Sow last year ;)

26-12-2015, 08:36 PM
That'll be that then 

I notice Steven Naismith the striker and Tony Hibbert the right back were nowhere to be seen.

Also...

Everton: Steven Naismith loves Alan Stubbs' banter (http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-steven-naismith-loves-alan-10577871)

27-12-2015, 05:13 AM

Everton were drawing when we came on, his short appearance turned the game. :greengrin

27-12-2015, 05:39 AM
Everton were drawing when we came on, his short appearance turned the game. :greengrin

Also true! Get it sorted Stubbs [emoji16]

Mark79
27-12-2015, 07:40 AM
Box to box player . sounds too good to be true tho fingers crossed

The new de graaf. :-)

27-12-2015, 07:41 AM
Legs have gone, looks finished would be a terrible signing for us.

_hucks_
27-12-2015, 01:21 PM

Osman has never been quick - his touch, experience, and ability at a much higher level than us should be plenty to see him piss this league. At his best, it was his intelligence that got him through so I don't think his legs not being what they once were will have too major an effect.

27-12-2015, 03:17 PM

Don't suppose the fact he plays for your local rivals has anything what-so-ever to do with this comment ? :wink:

27-12-2015, 03:27 PM

I'm assuming your at the wind up. Not many EPL players that played this weekend would be regarded as a poor signing by an English Championship club never mind one in the Scottish championship.

So have a word with yourself for trolling or being an ass

27-12-2015, 03:32 PM
If he played this weekend then he's unlikely to be coming to us unless it was a farewell type substitution? Did it look like that?

27-12-2015, 03:35 PM
I'm assuming your at the wind up. Not many EPL players that played this weekend would be regarded as a poor signing by an English Championship club never mind one in the Scottish championship.

Brilliantly delivered even if there is a whoosh!

proud_and_green
27-12-2015, 03:39 PM
And Mrs O :greengrin
And her bridge partners....!

Sent from my GT-S6810P using Tapatalk

29-12-2015, 05:00 PM
Naismith (not) to Hibs 🙈

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35195533

29-12-2015, 05:02 PM

Away and blow yer clown,my opinion of him like it or not.

29-12-2015, 05:04 PM
Don't suppose the fact he plays for your local rivals has anything what-so-ever to do with this comment ? :wink:

Nope, so did Stubbs and I back him 100%

29-12-2015, 05:07 PM
I'd rather a different type of player

29-12-2015, 05:15 PM
Away and blow yer clown,my opinion of him like it or not.

Then your opinion is not that great when it comes to football. You must be only person who thinks a EPL player could not do well for Hibs in the championship.

As for you personal comments, really, shakes head

29-12-2015, 05:25 PM
Then your opinion is not that great when it comes to football. You must be only person who thinks a EPL player could not do well for Hibs in the championship.

As for you personal comments, really, shakes head

You started the personal comments pal so keep shaking your head!

Mcpakeisgod
29-12-2015, 06:45 PM
Both eh you boys bile both your heads ! Or you'll be getting put on the naughty step

30-12-2015, 08:47 AM
Both eh you boys bile both your heads ! Or you'll be getting put on the naughty step

No room left on it just now. Full up with a waiting list.

30-12-2015, 09:14 AM
Naismith (not) to Hibs 🙈

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/35195533

It's Griffiths all over again.

PETRIE!!! :greengrin

30-12-2015, 10:54 AM
The boy can play and would add some much needed experience to a young midfield.

I'd be surprised if we could get him ,even at 35 or whatever his age is, as he is still in and around the Everton first team.

30-12-2015, 07:53 PM
Would take the sting out the game and be calming influence in the team with experience would give everyone a lift

Hope there is something in this

Hutchie
30-12-2015, 11:33 PM
Never going to happen. Poor mans John O ' Neil anyway....

31-12-2015, 01:05 AM
Only 18 goals

macd123
31-12-2015, 01:53 AM

His legs might be an issue if (like torres) his game relied on pace and power. Osman has never really had the physique so it has always been about his technical ability. Joe cole always says he osman was technically the best English player he played with. He could easily sit in front of the back 4 with henderson, mcginn and mcgeouch doing his running and take the mickey out of the likes of goodwin and halliday.

31-12-2015, 07:45 AM
His legs might be an issue if (like torres) his game relied on pace and power. Osman has never really had the physique so it has always been about his technical ability. Joe cole always says he osman was technically the best English player he played with. He could easily sit in front of the back 4 with henderson, mcginn and mcgeouch doing his running and take the mickey out of the likes of goodwin and halliday.

I would say we don't need more midfielders, we need more intensity more pace and hunger and much more intense closing down from our existing midfielders (and front 2)

thats all that's missing right now, the talents there, its the hard work and pace and intensity we need to rediscover

31-12-2015, 08:01 AM

Not for me I'm afraid, we need pace and energy and bringing in Osman who would be a high earner and short term fix is not a route I want to see us go down.

31-12-2015, 08:14 AM
Not for me I'm afraid, we need pace and energy and bringing in Osman who would be a high earner and short term fix is not a route I want to see us go down.

We need pace and energy in the right positions.

Some of my favourite Hibs players (Sauzee, Paatelainen, Rob Jones and David Murphy just for starters) weren't exactly blessed with an abundance of pace or energy but had a multitude of other attributes that they could call upon to do a magnificent job for us.

I honestly can't see this move happening but I don't think we should ever turn up our noses at a player of this age who has played at a far higher level than we are at. Sauzee, Steve Archibald, Jim Leighton - these are signings that have worked out well for us in the past.

31-12-2015, 08:17 AM
We need pace and energy in the right positions.

Some of my favourite Hibs players (Sauzee, Paatelainen, Rob Jones and David Murphy just for starters) weren't exactly blessed with an abundance of pace or energy but had a multitude of other attributes that they could call upon to do a magnificent job for us.

I honestly can't see this move happening but I don't think we should ever turn up our noses at a player of this age who has played at a far higher level than we are at. Sauzee, Steve Archibald, Jim Leighton - these are signings that have worked out well for us in the past.

You must have watched a different David Murphy to me. :confused:

31-12-2015, 08:25 AM

Pace and energy?

Immaculate first touch, superb going forward, strong in the tackle and solid defensively.

If he had had pace and energy he'd have been one of the best fullbacks in the UK, if not Europe or the World. He had enough pace to get by and enough to be the best left-back I've seen play for us but he wasn't quick by any stretch of the imagination.

He was a superb player and had more than enough to compensate for a relative lack of pace, as do many other players, and as long as we have pace elsewhere in the team we shouldn't reject players on this basis.

kenny.ff
31-12-2015, 08:26 AM
Murphy used to rip up and down the line all day... bizare comment:confused:

31-12-2015, 08:26 AM

Murphy was a great player with a sublime touch but cerainly wasn't blessed with exceptional pace which in his position was needed if he was to play in the EPL.

31-12-2015, 08:28 AM

He had great energy but not great pace

31-12-2015, 08:34 AM

Energy in abundance but not great pace is how I recall Murphy.

31-12-2015, 08:46 AM
The Murphy lack of pace thing turned into a bit of a .net myth after his debut when he was returning from injury imo.

Nowhere near as slow as people make out.

31-12-2015, 08:59 AM
Murphy was quick just not lightening quick as such struggled at the highest level.

Osman, if signing is going to playing in the Scottish championship which must be at least 4 levels below EPL standards. Yes he may be a quick short term fix but that's exactly what we need. It's called promotion.

31-12-2015, 10:11 AM
The Murphy lack of pace thing turned into a bit of a .net myth after his debut when he was returning from injury imo.

Murphy had pace where it mattered--between the ears.

31-12-2015, 10:15 AM
Murphy had pace where it mattered--between the ears.

Like Osman hopefully ?

31-12-2015, 10:16 AM

Any Hibs player I spoke to at the time would agree with that !!

31-12-2015, 01:45 PM
Murphy lacked that initial burst of acceleration. Somewhat similar to Calum Booth.

31-12-2015, 02:33 PM
Murphy lacked that initial burst of acceleration. Somewhat similar to Calum Booth.

That's the only similarity!

31-12-2015, 02:52 PM

Both left footed. Similar hair colour too :greengrin

01-01-2016, 07:52 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-kills-rumours-of-swoop-for-leon-osman-1-3988918?

01-01-2016, 07:58 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-boss-kills-rumours-of-swoop-for-leon-osman-1-3988918?

doesnt rule it out though.

01-01-2016, 08:35 AM
As I said, no chance.

01-01-2016, 10:23 AM

That'll be the same Calum Booth playing every game this season for Partick Thistle in the Premier League. Still just 24 and I believe has been playing very well in a team that has only lost once in last 9 games.

Still. Not good enough for a team in the Championship....one in its second consecutive season there.

hibbymick
01-01-2016, 10:48 AM
That'll be the same Calum Booth playing every game this season for Partick Thistle in the Premier League. Still just 24 and I believe has been playing very well in a team that has only lost once in last 9 games.

Still. Not good enough for a team in the Championship....one in its second consecutive season there.

I never had you down as a Tory Calum.

01-01-2016, 10:55 AM
I never had you down as a Tory Calum.

😎 I see Sean Welsh and Tomas Cerny are also regular starters.

01-01-2016, 12:26 PM

Correct, he's not good enough and would be 3rd choice LB if he was still at Hibs. Glad he's moved on and making a career for himself though

01-01-2016, 06:53 PM
Murphy was quick just not lightening quick as such struggled at the highest level.

Osman, if signing is going to playing in the Scottish championship which must be at least 4 levels below EPL standards. Yes he may be a quick short term fix but that's exactly what we need. It's called promotion.

David Murphy got his move to the EPL and proved himself to be accomplished enough in that league, but not exceptional in any way.

Classy for us, great technique and stamina, but clearly still not the complete player at the highest level.

06-01-2016, 08:48 PM
I see Everton are keeping Osman match fit again for us tonight.

06-01-2016, 08:54 PM

Osman's done ok. Everton's subs bench have come up to the mark tonight.

06-01-2016, 09:11 PM

Good professionalism. Thought of St Johnstone and Morton at the turn of the month didn't play on his mind a bit.

07-01-2016, 07:36 AM
Everton's injury situation has changed the Osman scenario somewhat.

07-01-2016, 08:00 AM

Who is injured they onlynne have McCarthy listed as injured (well midfielder anyway)

07-01-2016, 08:02 AM

Yes it has changed from he was never coming to he is never ever coming.

07-01-2016, 10:16 AM
Yes it has changed from he was never coming to he is never ever coming.

Have a day off.

07-01-2016, 10:34 AM
Who is injured they onlynne have McCarthy listed as injured (well midfielder anyway)

A number of injuries have left them short of cover resulting in Osman being listed as a sub. Off the top of my head McCarthy, Baines, Cleverley and Pienaar. There was a very good chance Osman was coming in as player coach but that is looking less likely now.

07-01-2016, 10:35 AM
A number of injuries have left them short of cover resulting in Osman being listed as a sub. Off the top of my head McCarthy, Baines, Cleverley and Pienaar. There was a very good chance Osman was coming in as player coach but that is looking less likely now.

Jeez, is this lad ever fit

07-01-2016, 10:37 AM
Have a day off.

What's the matter? I have said all along that he won't be coming.

07-01-2016, 10:42 AM

Of the injuries mentioned Baines and Cleverley were playing last night with Pienaar and McCarthy not far off being fit so maybe some hope especially if Everton sign a couple. As you say looking less likely given he is playing in first team and the possibility of a final also.

07-01-2016, 10:57 AM
Of the injuries mentioned Baines and Cleverley were playing last night with Pienaar and McCarthy not far off being fit so maybe some hope especially if Everton sign a couple. As you say looking less likely given he is playing in first team and the possibility of a final also.
Cleverley broke down last night as did Lukaku and one other who I forget. Im only passing on what has happened in that Osman was close to coming to Hibs but things changed when he was called up to the Everton bench.

07-01-2016, 11:10 AM
Cleverley broke down last night as did Lukaku and one other who I forget. Im only passing on what has happened in that Osman was close to coming to Hibs but things changed when he was called up to the Everton bench.

Your info is always very much appreciated, Brooster :aok:

07-01-2016, 11:14 AM

Thanks for the info. :thumbsup:

07-01-2016, 11:29 AM

Never realised you had inside info on him coming, fair enough if you say it's fact and there actually was an intention then I backtrack.

13-01-2016, 05:56 PM
Osman starts for Everton against Man city this evening

13-01-2016, 06:17 PM
If Stokes and Osman had arrived this window I think I would've had to go check this was actually real life and wasn't me cheating at Football Manager.

SausageSurprise
13-01-2016, 06:39 PM
If Stokes and Osman had arrived this window I think I would've had to go check this was actually real life and wasn't me cheating at Football Manager.

Barry Bannan completed the full 90 last night too. He should be able to be thrown in the first team when he arrives

13-01-2016, 11:09 PM

Osman played against Man city tonight and nearly scored a screamer, no chance of him signing for us.

13-01-2016, 11:36 PM
Nearly scored a screamer of a volley tonight.

14-01-2016, 07:26 AM
Nearly scored a screamer of a volley tonight.

Osman's career in a nutshell.

Salt N Sauzee
14-01-2016, 07:27 AM
Osman played against Man city tonight and nearly scored a screamer, no chance of him signing for us.

He's not signing for us on the basis that he nearly scored a screamer?

14-01-2016, 07:37 AM

More the fact that he is in the starting 11 of an EPL side and not many players (well none) will go from the starting 11 of an EPL side to the Scottish Championship.

14-01-2016, 07:59 AM

No, he's not signing for us on the basis he's playing for evertons first team!!

14-01-2016, 04:13 PM
Osman, the nearly man. nearly signed for Hibernian and nearly scored a screamer for Everton once.

14-01-2016, 05:20 PM
Osman, the nearly man. nearly signed for Hibernian and nearly scored a screamer for Everton once.

Nearly played for a big team.

Nutmegged
14-01-2016, 06:16 PM

I think its a safe assumption that on the basis he's featuring in the first 11 for a very good EPL club means he wont be signing for HibernianFootball Club