View Full Version : 50 most promising Scottish youngsters in Scotland

grammyb111
22-12-2015, 02:32 PM
Ok, it's a list by the Daily Record, but still worth a look.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scottish-footballs-top-50-brightest-6935333

Walter
22-12-2015, 02:43 PM
I'm maybe being a tube but I can't see the top 10!

22-12-2015, 02:44 PM
I'm maybe being a tube but I can't see the top 10!

Same here.

22-12-2015, 02:48 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scottish-footballs-top-50-brightest-6960424

Found it.

Number 1 though :faf:

grammyb111
22-12-2015, 02:50 PM
Same here.

Don't know why they made it so hard to find. 9-1 here: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scottish-footballs-top-50-brightest-6960424

22-12-2015, 02:56 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scottish-footballs-top-50-brightest-6960424

Found it.

Number 1 though :faf:

Did you see No. 10?

"May be prone to the odd error but he is a commanding defender and calming presence at the back, confident enough to organise and steer his team-mates through matches."

22-12-2015, 03:20 PM
Cummings, McGinn, Henderson and Martin on the list alongside what seems to be every Hearts player under the age of 22. Yawn.

22-12-2015, 03:39 PM
Cummings, McGinn, Henderson and Martin on the list alongside what seems to be every Hearts player under the age of 22. Yawn.

Hearts brought through a few youngsters a couple of years back but none of them seem to be knocking on the doors of the international team or be attracting much attention from bigger clubs.

22-12-2015, 03:50 PM
Alan Forrest should be higher on that list due to his excellent stats on Football Manager.

22-12-2015, 03:53 PM
Hearts brought through a few youngsters a couple of years back but none of them seem to be knocking on the doors of the international team or be attracting much attention from bigger clubs.

Paterson, King and McKay were talked up at every opportunity by Hertz management and the Scottish media. I didn't see anything special then and haven't changed my mind.

22-12-2015, 04:00 PM
Can't speak enough praise for the East Fife striker Nathan Austan. He really is a class act

CorrieHibs
22-12-2015, 04:04 PM
Paterson, King and McKay were talked up at every opportunity by Hertz management and the Scottish media. I didn't see anything special then and haven't changed my mind.

I think Paterson is decent but the other 2 I don't think are anything special.

22-12-2015, 04:06 PM

Think Paterson will be involved in the world cup qualifiers next year.

22-12-2015, 04:18 PM
Ok, it's a list by the Daily Record, but still worth a look.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scottish-footballs-top-50-brightest-6935333

Rubbish.

22-12-2015, 04:30 PM
Number 1.....:confused:

The brightest young talent we have is a guy who can't get in the Celtc team as he's being kept out by that diddy Izaguirre?

Mind you, if you went back 15ish years, you'd probably find them saying Bob Malcolm was about to be the next Desailly or something.

22-12-2015, 04:46 PM
Can't speak enough praise for the East Fife striker Nathan Austan. He really is a class act

I watched him a fair bit with Leven and have seen him a couple of times with East Fife. He is athletic and quick, but misses his share of chances.

Here's what his manager said after saturday's draw (Insall scored their goal)

"Naysmith knows the Fifers need to be more ruthless in front of goal.

He said: “We’ve been here so many times before, we just can’t miss the chances we’ve missed.

“He won’t mind me saying it because I named him in the changing room but Fash (Nathan Austin) has to score his chances.

“There was one when he was on the goalie a couple of yards out and that needs to go in the net. If we go 2-1 up we go on to win comfortably."

Read more: http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/binos-are-on-form-but-we-can-go-there-and-beat-them-1-3982489#ixzz3v4JTUjzC

22-12-2015, 05:07 PM
Think Paterson will be involved in the world cup qualifiers next year.

Imo he's utter pish.

Has the odd good effort going forward which disguises his flaws defensively.

22-12-2015, 05:09 PM
Imo he's utter pish.

Has the odd good effort going forward which disguises his flaws defensively.

He'll fit perfectly into Gordon Strachan's team planning, then ... :devil:

22-12-2015, 05:14 PM
I only saw the bottom ten and I have to say I have never heard of the chaps. But then these days only Hibs interests me.

22-12-2015, 05:34 PM

Surprised no one has taken a chance on him.

gringojoe
22-12-2015, 07:01 PM
The same paper that wanted 17 year old John Fleck to start for Scotland after he scored a penalty for the Huns in 2008. Only scored another 7 goals since then.

stantonsboots
22-12-2015, 07:21 PM
Can't speak enough praise for the East Fife striker Nathan Austan. He really is a class actis that the laddie that played against us a wee while ago?thought he looked class

22-12-2015, 10:52 PM
A guy who's played a handful of games for Celtic is #1😂.

23-12-2015, 08:17 AM
The same paper that wanted 17 year old John Fleck to start for Scotland after he scored a penalty for the Huns in 2008. Only scored another 7 goals since then.

Scotland's Rooney? :tee hee:

Is Tony Watt on the list?

23-12-2015, 08:40 PM
Surprised no one has taken a chance on him.

23-12-2015, 11:34 PM

Disagree!! Sam Nicholson is a class act!! Quick, direct, skillfull, good touch, can take a player on and can finish. Him and McGinn are my top 2.

24-12-2015, 01:25 AM
Disagree!! Sam Nicholson is a class act!! Quick, direct, skillfull, good touch, can take a player on and can finish. Him and McGinn are my top 2.

Agree. Two genuine talents with level heads which should see them progress to the EPL in the future.