View Full Version : Hibs vs Queen of the South Match thread.

Pages : 1 [2]

19-12-2015, 05:00 PM
Edinburgh News ‏@edinburghpaper 13s13 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/edinburghpaper/status/678273641075843072) Hibernian 0 - 0 Queen of the South: Hibs go level with Rangers at the top of the league

FFS EEN.

19-12-2015, 05:01 PM
Why are some folk going on about us giving the ball back? We were in possession when the play stopped. Refs entitled to drop the ball to us.

Absolute non-issue.
Exactly. Can't believe people think that. Fyvie was in possession and the QOS player was feigning injury

Great to see us fight to the end, but the overall performance was rank rotten and we got away with it big style.

We won, who cares about the performance, that's just an added bonus

Arch Stanton
That was my impression too, I think the ref looked a bit pissed off he'd stopped the game thinking he was hurt just to see him spring to his feet as soon as the whistle went.

Sorry it's probably been covered but why were they going so raj at malonga? Surely they're beef should have been with Fontaine?

It looked like the ref brought the physio on without being asked to - they were going mental at that - I didn't know he could do that (mind you the defender had been holding his head, if that makes a difference).

I'm guessing at the end malonga was giving them verbals - two guys had to stay on him holding him back and he was gesticulating over the top of them.

19-12-2015, 05:02 PM
Yeah, I saw that you'd mentioned that a couple of posts above mine. Opinions eh?

I just thought he looked careless in possession like a good few of our players today and didn't ever look like he wanted to drive at/ beat his man when he got into decent positions.

To be fair to Queens I thought they did a good job of making things difficult for us, they pressed us high up the park and made it hard for us to get our passing going. That made it hard for us to get our fullbacks into good positions which is a big part of the way we play.
Yes they cut our supply to Gray and Lewis in wide positions today which meant neither were very effective going forward. If Keatings Boyle or Fontaine had taken any of those spurned chances in 1st half...it would have been a completely different match. Boyle and keatings twice in particular were absolute sitters

19-12-2015, 05:04 PM
Letting the huns off the hook. Again.

****in pathetic.

Aye, so we are 😴

19-12-2015, 05:06 PM
Got up, went down the stairs stopped, sat back down and we scored... Thank god I changed my mind lol

Aye, so we are 

You missed his "never in doubt" post about 5 posts later after we scored, kinda funny :greengrin

Aye, so we are 😴

Pulling up posts made in the 90th minute just before we score.

Yeah well done. You got me good.

19-12-2015, 05:10 PM

Just fortunate the players didn't quit as easily as you (and others - folk around me actually left before FT).

SausageSurprise
19-12-2015, 05:10 PM
A drop ball is a drop ball. There's no rule saying it should be passed to the opposition. The queens player was close enough to put a foot in to challenge but he didn't. **** them

19-12-2015, 05:13 PM
So, will this be remembered as the "Liam Fontaine" game in the same way as the "Matty Jack" game? :greengrin

19-12-2015, 05:15 PM
I thought the ref was wrong to stop the game and could not believe he gave Hibs the ball. It never crossed my mind that he expected Hibs to give them the ball back. I thought we just played on and scored.

19-12-2015, 05:15 PM
Just fortunate the players didn't quit as easily as you (and others - folk around me actually left before FT).

It's just as well we have sanctimonious super-fans like yourself to will us over the line then.

Thanks for the last minute goals. :thumbsup:

19-12-2015, 05:20 PM
A Queens player was there when the ball was dropped but Fonts just took control. Not sure what they were expecting. We have a league to win. Serves them right for the blatant timewasting.

This. Sevco have and will be given every advantage by corrupt officials, so we need to take full advantage of any opportunities that present themselves. For too long, Hibs have been the subservient push-overs when the heat is on.

QOS summed up a lot that is wrong about Scottish football today and why it's heading for the gutter - no attempt to win the match and time wasting for a 0-0 after 45 mins. Horrible lot got their just deserts and the Hibs machine moves on.

19-12-2015, 05:25 PM
So far, so good!

All good now. :thumbsup:

19-12-2015, 05:27 PM

Absolutely ☺

19-12-2015, 05:28 PM

Still a shocker of a post though.

19-12-2015, 05:30 PM

Yea,suppose so, we are pathetic

How many games since we got beat again....yea, pathetic,what a word to come out with the run that we are on 😨

19-12-2015, 05:31 PM
So who regrets not getting a ticket for Ibrox now.they sold out early. no one can complain, except Hibernian fc for lack of away seats as usual. deduct 960 from 3800 and you will see the point

19-12-2015, 05:33 PM

Thing is you were got good.

This is a different Hibs team and whilst there will no doubt be accidents along the way, it's maybe time we started trusting them and even gave them a bit of slack when the accidents do occur.

I get that the scars of the past run deep but if all we do is spend time harking back to past failures or believing they have any bearing on the present we will miss the future.

19-12-2015, 05:34 PM
Still a shocker of a post though.

That would have been a major kick in the teeth so apologies for being emotional.

No one else ever made a post in the heat of the moment then?

Give the guy a break, he's undoubtedly as delighted as anyone to be wrong.

MileHighBees
Like this picture of Dom celebrating the goal with JC
(sorry that it's from the DR website)

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-match-reports/hibs-1-queen-south-0-7042371

19-12-2015, 05:35 PM
Read on why I never comment till the game is over.

19-12-2015, 05:36 PM
No one else ever made a post in the heat of the moment then?

Give the guy a break, he's undoubtedly as delighted as anyone to be wrong.

It's good that this is all some people have got to moan about. Burn the witch :thumbsup:

19-12-2015, 05:36 PM

He didn't need to get you good, you made yourself look daft all by yourself. To call what would have been a point gained f*****g pathetic had the draw stood and in the run we are currently in the middle of was hysterical nonsense.

19-12-2015, 05:40 PM
they sold out early. no one can complain, except Hibernian fc for lack of away seats as usual. deduct 960 from 3800 and you will see the point

So give them the same percentage when they play at ER.

19-12-2015, 05:42 PM
impression I got from the radio was that a QOS player went down feigning injury, and the ref told him to bugger off the pitch, so any supposed unsporting play from Fontaine is for me cancelled out!

He had the game stopped and went mental at their trainer for coming on the pitch because he then had to come off. Cheating fud who was caught out. They deserved to get rammed for their pathetic antics throughout and their fury should be directed at themselves who tried to con their way to a point instead of try to play the sport.

19-12-2015, 05:45 PM
Can't we all just get along?

19-12-2015, 05:45 PM
He didn't need to get you good, you made yourself look daft all by yourself. To call what would have been a point gained f*****g pathetic had the draw stood and in the run we are currently in the middle of was hysterical nonsense.

Good grief who is over reacting now?

Chastisement city.

Argylehibby
19-12-2015, 05:51 PM
Ref got it spot on, when he whistled we were in control of the ball, the whistle went whilst fontaine passed back to Oxley. Drop ball for our expected posession was correct and the sporting thing to do. Fontaine did nothing wrong

:agree: think the ref got it wrong though in not making it clear that it was to be contested. However the Falkirk guy had to be off his head to think it was going to be pumped back to them.

The guy throwing punches at Dom was well out of order and surely will get a retrospective red card

19-12-2015, 05:52 PM
Just home and am knackered after that. Why do we never do things easily? I don't think I have ever seen a goal against anyone other that the OF, or hearts celebrated so wildly. Place went crazy and I'm in the FF lower!!!
I'm not normally one to tell others what to do but we need as many of the folks who haven't been along this season to try to get to games. This team, management team, and board deserve our support big time. We really are in the up on so many levels

Hedlund12
19-12-2015, 05:52 PM
Well chuffed with Hibs determination to grinding out that result.
What a stramash at the end of the game though...
I've never seen Dom as angry as he was at the end. Hibs security guy was holding him back. A QOS player went head he'd to head with Fountain at the end of the game... a wee melley started and Stubbs intervened. All a bit ugly.
Disappointed to see hibs fans throwing coins at the QOS dugout! That is not Hibs class!
In the main.... well done Hibs today...
Three valuable points GGTTH

19-12-2015, 05:56 PM
My take on the game, we were poor today, too many players not anywhere near where they should be, delighted with the win and points but could easily have been worse, I was waiting for the sucker punch goal, thankfully they never got it.
Play like that next week and we'll be lucky to get a draw.

19-12-2015, 05:57 PM
It's just as well we have sanctimonious super-fans like yourself to will us over the line then.

Thanks for the last minute goals. :thumbsup:

I prefer to be called supportive.

Wasn't just you though - loads of folk in the FF were flapping today. Can't imagine what it'll be like come April/May.

19-12-2015, 05:58 PM
My take on the game, we were poor today, too many players not anywhere near where they should be, delighted with the win and points but could easily have been worse, I was waiting for the sucker punch goal, thankfully they never got it.

FFS JC, its not even seven O'Clock, enjoy the win and the way we won and worry about next week around Wednesday Thursday. :greengrin

19-12-2015, 05:59 PM
I thought the support was very patient today. The team had an off day. No urgency, poor quality and very little movement. The fans stuck with the team with only a little discontent which actually got a positive reaction. Never thought a mid season goal against QOTS would be celebrated like that. Delighted that for once the cheats got punished. Hopefully the boy who feigned injury gets both barrels from his team mates. I thought Stubbsy was very slow in changing things today but he got the result so in the end got things right.

franks
19-12-2015, 06:01 PM
Thank you Matty Jack but long live Liam Fontaine.:flag:

high bee
19-12-2015, 06:02 PM
Can we just be clear, if anyone should have been kicking the ball back it should have been QOS. Not a criticism of anyone but let's not start making it a fact that we were unsporting.

Oxley had the ball and went mental when the whistle was blown and kicked it away. The QOS player had the ball and wouldn't give it back, the referee took the ball off him and dropped it at Fontaines feet. We had possession and their player was faking injury so can't see any conceivable reason why it would be their ball.

19-12-2015, 06:05 PM
He had the game stopped and went mental at their trainer for coming on the pitch because he then had to come off. Cheating fud who was caught out. They deserved to get rammed for their pathetic antics throughout and their fury should be directed at themselves who tried to con their way to a point instead of try to play the sport.

This post exactly right, and the bit in bold 100%.

Thats two weeks on the trot we have left it late, overcome some gamesmanship, and come up trumps.

Thought the team togetherness was clear when they players came off, Doms, Cummings and two others (didnt see) were in a huddle going mental.

These guys are so far removed from the squads we have had over the last few years it is frightening.

19-12-2015, 06:06 PM

Sad to see qos resort to the nonsense when they used to be a tidy side. Hugely important win.

19-12-2015, 06:07 PM
This. Sevco have and will be given every advantage by corrupt officials, so we need to take full advantage of any opportunities that present themselves. For too long, Hibs have been the subservient push-overs when the heat is on.

QOS summed up a lot that is wrong about Scottish football today and why it's heading for the gutter - no attempt to win the match and time wasting for a 0-0 after 45 mins. Horrible lot got their just deserts and the Hibs machine moves on.

indeed, possibly the most anti-football team that have appeared at ER this season :agree:

no bad strips though :)

mvteng
19-12-2015, 06:11 PM
Like this picture of Dom celebrating the goal with JC
(sorry that it's from the DR website)

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-match-reports/hibs-1-queen-south-0-7042371

That photos just after full time. Dom was raging & trying to get at the QOTS player. Jason went on & calmed him down. Thought it was really well done from Jason as Dom was really trying to get at the guy

19-12-2015, 06:12 PM
So give them the same percentage when they play at ER.of course. or less would be better, imho

19-12-2015, 06:18 PM
i thought stubbsy got his subs spot on today, not often you see JC getting subbed so early but the ball just wouldn't stick to the laddies feet at all, couple of fans up the back of where i was sitting giving the laddie grief for upping his 'workrate' :rolleyes: quite a few players passing today was dire and that was passes along the ground, can't blame the wind for they ones

19-12-2015, 06:26 PM
QOS got what they deserved as they were cheating gits all day but if I was them i'd be raging with Fontaine for his unsporting play. The ref dropped it at his feet so he could pass it back to QOS & he passed it to a Hibs player & up we went & scored.

When the ref blew up for the Queens player lying on the deck we had possession deep in our own half. The player was time wasting and realised he was too late in jumping up before the trainer came on which meant he had to go off. Hibs got the ball back exactly where they had it when the whistle blew. No requirement to give it back imho.

19-12-2015, 06:27 PM
When the ref blew up for the Queens player lying on the deck we had possession deep in our own half. The player was time wasting and realised he was too late in jumping up before the trainer came on which meant he had to go off. Hibs got the ball back exactly where they had it when the whistle blew. No requirement to give it back imho.

19-12-2015, 06:29 PM
FFS JC, its not even seven O'Clock, enjoy the win and the way we won and worry about next week around Wednesday Thursday. :greengrin

Lok, I've got a cold, working tonight, sat through boring game, I'm now 57 and allowed a moan :) delighted with the win though

19-12-2015, 06:29 PM
So who regrets not getting a ticket for Ibrox now.

Watch the scramble for spares!!!!!

19-12-2015, 06:34 PM
Lok, I've got a cold, working tonight, sat through boring game, I'm now 57 and allowed a moan :) delighted with the win though

A boring game?Shouldn't you have been at Easter Road?

19-12-2015, 06:37 PM
This post exactly right, and the bit in bold 100%.

Thats two weeks on the trot we have left it late, overcome some gamesmanship, and come up trumps.

Thought the team togetherness was clear when they players came off, Doms, Cummings and two others (didnt see) were in a huddle going mental.

These guys are so far removed from the squads we have had over the last few years it is frightening.

:top marks and haven't seen ER go that bonkers for a goal in a while.

19-12-2015, 06:41 PM
Don't we have a game in hand over rangers.....bbc shows us both having played 17 games

No game in hand

We both have a extra game, us v Morton away and them V Raith away. Although we will have two games to reshedule as our home game v Morton will be caped due the league cup semi final that weekend.

The huns are also going to be playing in the Petrofact cup final so they will have a resheduled game that weekend.

19-12-2015, 06:41 PM

I will take a spare if any going?

19-12-2015, 06:42 PM
That would have been a major kick in the teeth so apologies for being emotional.
Yeah it would have been disappointing to drop 2 pts but we still would have went to Ibrox next week with a chance to go top. Just admit your post was OTT and a bit out of order given we are unbeaten since August...

19-12-2015, 06:44 PM
Any chance of bringing back that thread from September where more than a few declared the league was over.

19-12-2015, 06:45 PM
I will take a spare if any going?

You'll be lucky kid!

19-12-2015, 06:55 PM

Give me a shout if you know of 1 spare. :thumbsup:

19-12-2015, 07:03 PM

Not far off the mark there J

19-12-2015, 07:03 PM
So that's two weeks in a row we've scored late late goals straight from dropped balls? Are we practising them in training?

19-12-2015, 07:20 PM
Those who think we werr poor (and we were not at our best)dont seem to have adjusted opinions to the conditions. Wind made it difficult. Great 3 points. Might even have made it 2 with another bit of late luck. Did it kick off afyer the final whistle? Ooked like it could have got tasty. Dom was raging at something.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

19-12-2015, 07:23 PM
Give me a shout if you know of 1 spare. :thumbsup:

There were half a dozen spares playing in red shirts at Falkirk today .... :greengrin

19-12-2015, 07:31 PM
Those who think we werr poor (and we were not at our best)dont seem to have adjusted opinions to the conditions. Wind made it difficult. Great 3 points. Might even have made it 2 with another bit of late luck. Did it kick off afyer the final whistle? Ooked like it could have got tasty. Dom was raging at something.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

I have not seen the game yet, but those saying we have to be much better next week obviously never saw sevco on the telly this afternoon?

Did QOS actually have a shot on goal or even threaten it today, as listening on HI it certainly did not appear so, and we missed a few sitters?

Stuarty27
19-12-2015, 07:35 PM
What an ending, thot the roof was gonna come off when the goal went,

I celebrated that goal like I would if it was against Hearts!

So glad we got the 3 points even tho we weren't at our best.

19-12-2015, 07:36 PM
I have not seen the game yet, but those saying we have to be much better next week obviously never saw sevco on the telly this afternoon?

Did QOS actually have a shot on goal or even threaten it today, as listening on HI it certainly did not appear so, and we missed a few sitters?

They were poor G but organised.
Predictable I'd even say.

19-12-2015, 07:39 PM
They were poor G but organised.
Predictable I'd even say.

I think we are better when teams open up against us, hopefully sevco play right into our hands and do so. Beating teams that sit in is a lot harder, and if they have no real intention of making a game of it, its even harder to find the gaps.

I'm sure next week will see us punish them again. :thumbsup:

19-12-2015, 07:42 PM

Free kick in the first half the Oxley pushed over. That was it.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

19-12-2015, 07:45 PM
We were poor today
But if I can celebrate a poor Hibs performance like I did at 10 to 5 today then I'll accept that every week

Having watched the the Rangers game at the pub before and then our game, I'm confident ahead of next week

QOTS set up to frustrate us
The time wasting tactics proved that

Last week Falkirk ran us close but ultimately they were poor over all. The same Falkirk team looked comfortable today.

Bring them on

19-12-2015, 07:46 PM
I think we are better when teams open up against us, hopefully sevco play right into our hands and do so. Beating teams that sit in is a lot harder, and if they have no real intention of making a game of it, its even harder to find the gaps.

If Sevco try 4-3-3 next week we'll beat them as it opens the game up, need to get the passing working better as is was god awful at times, especially Fyvie. The discipline and our shape is better, I think we'll go 3-5-2 and hit on the counter with big Dom startig.

19-12-2015, 07:47 PM

Huns will open up for sure, I'm betting we can out gun them at grey skull We believe they hope !! Times are changing

19-12-2015, 07:49 PM
Huns will open up for sure, I'm betting we can out gun them at grey skull We believe they hope !! Times are changing

Big time pressure on Der Hun for sure!

We must stay disciplined and we must take our chances when they come along.

We also need a strong ref!

SausageSurprise
19-12-2015, 07:50 PM
How deep into injury time was the goal?

19-12-2015, 07:51 PM
How deep into injury time was the goal?

4 minutes

CyberSauzee
19-12-2015, 08:00 PM
4 minutes

The internet took it's time updating in Ascot. We thought it had ended 0-0, then 3 of us at the back of The Stag all erupted. Fantastic, never won a thing at the races, but so, so happy. Thank you, The Cabbage.

BurghHibby
19-12-2015, 08:09 PM
Derek Lyle looked to be wanting a square go with Tam McCourt ffs!
Forster and Stanton stood around wee Tam for protection, but Lyle looked to want to carry it on outside, what a prick.
Their beardy coach was also virtually assaulting the linesman, seem to blame him for the carry on with the lead up to the goal/Hutton the huns pretend injury.
Queens player also tried to nut king Dom, Oxley had to jump in to stop it, looked to be plenty verbals going on as well, Dom not wanting to let it lie.
After a poor quality match it didnae half explode at the end though!
Great result though, that's why we go to the fitba, that's why we follow the Hibs!

SausageSurprise
19-12-2015, 08:14 PM
Today was like that Matty Jack game. They timewasted, cheated and were in general dirty bad people and we scored right at the death. Cud the rage from the opposition bench and players. GIRFUT!!!

19-12-2015, 08:16 PM
Any footage of the goal yet?

SausageSurprise
19-12-2015, 08:20 PM

Any footage of the wee dude running on the pitch? Haha

19-12-2015, 08:31 PM
A bit homage from me anyway !!
King Dom !

19-12-2015, 08:50 PM
Big time pressure on Der Hun for sure!

We must stay disciplined and we must take our chances when they come along.

We also need a strong ref!

Most crucial I feel. We will get chances. You are right, we must take them.

Rangers will not sit back and this will suit us. Of course we also have to defend well.

Quietly confident.

high bee
19-12-2015, 08:59 PM

Exactly, pressure is all on them. They called into question our bottle about a month ago and then let a massive pints gap disappear.

We're not playing great but we're still winning/scoring last minute goals with 9 on the park to draw. Even if they win next week it's fine because teams have realised they are there for the taking, stop Wallace and Travernier and have a go, they are weak at the back.

Teams are trying everything from swapping kick off ends, surprise attacking tactics, feigning injury from the first minute, getting in our players faces, time wasting from ridiculously early yet we keep finding the answers. There's a long way to go and as long as we take each game as it comes it will be an interesting battle, a few weeks ago it was thought that only us and maybe Falkirk could take points off them but now that's all changed.

Twiglet
19-12-2015, 09:48 PM
Just read the QotS match report. They are not happy, seems like it is written by a fan rather than a media type.

http://www.qosfc.com/match-1254

19-12-2015, 09:59 PM
Just read the QotS match report. They are not happy, seems like it is written by a fan rather than a media type.

Very amateur report there and also very petty at times. The description of the drop ball situation is very incorrect, it was midway in to our half and there was a queens player right beside it!

19-12-2015, 10:04 PM

Mostly a load of pish! Different game to the one I watched. Hibs could and should have had 4 or 5. No mention of the two cleared off the line, Keating's sitter, Boyle's sitter etc. Hibs didn't play particularly well but definitely deserved to win

19-12-2015, 10:08 PM

Very sour grapes in Dumfries tonight.

19-12-2015, 10:10 PM
Very amateur report there and also very petty at times. The description of the drop ball situation is very incorrect, it was midway in to our half and there was a queens player right beside it!

Ignoring the fact that the QOTS players play acting was why we had a drop ball in the first place.

19-12-2015, 10:13 PM
Ignoring the fact that the QOTS players play acting was why we had a drop ball in the first place.

Ignoring the fact that we were comfortably in possession of the ball when the game was stopped with Fontaine just about to pass it back to Oxley. We only got the ball back where we had it in the first place.

19-12-2015, 10:13 PM

Derek Lyle wrote that didn't he? :greengrin

19-12-2015, 10:24 PM

Usually on his TV at midnight

19-12-2015, 10:38 PM
Very sour grapes in Dumfries tonight.

What you doing in Dumfries. :confused:

19-12-2015, 10:39 PM
What you doing in Dumfries. :confused:

Wine tasting by the sounds of things.

19-12-2015, 10:53 PM
Wine tasting by the sounds of things.

19-12-2015, 11:00 PM
Seems we have a team of pure winners right now

Grinding out results and scoring in the last minute. About time we have started doing this

19-12-2015, 11:09 PM
There was a nice wee song played during Half time today - announcer noted who it was written by and said it had been penned as a tribute to someone fighting leukemia, I think. Anyone able to confirm the details please? Would like to hear it again.

cheers :aok:

19-12-2015, 11:24 PM
They got what they deserved, QOTS were time wasting time for the last third of the game. If that's not unsporting I don't know what is.....

19-12-2015, 11:33 PM
Phew .... that was mental at the end, I don't think I've seen a goal scored outside of a derby celebrated like that for years, the place went bonkers :greengrin

We didn't play to our best and to be honest nobody stood out. I have to admit Fyvie was driving me to distraction with his slack passing, but as usual he didn't hide, and neither did any of his team mates .... its that attitude that's going to get us out of this league.

One thing I would say is that 2,000 or so folk in the crowd going mental at a centre half because he would rather take his time than aimlessly hump the ball up the pitch isn't going to help anybody and I'm sure Darren McGregor agrees with me.

As somebody else said, we are going to have to play better at Ibrox.

Mikeystewart
19-12-2015, 11:44 PM
Anyone seen any highlights kicking about?

19-12-2015, 11:56 PM
Anyone seen any highlights kicking about?

Our goal is on hibs.tv.

always turns up at midnight:thumbsup:

20-12-2015, 12:00 AM
Watching the goal from Hibs TV I think the ref got it right on. Gave us the ball back where it was when he blew up. Too often the team with the ball loses out because the ball is sent back to the goalie or put out for a throw in or goal kick. Well done ref.

20-12-2015, 12:15 AM
Watching the goal from Hibs TV I think the ref got it right on. Gave us the ball back where it was when he blew up. Too often the team with the ball loses out because the ball is sent back to the goalie or put out for a throw in or goal kick. Well done ref.

I think today's game was much better refereed than the Falkirk one last week.

20-12-2015, 12:53 AM
Our goal is on hibs.tv.

"Rising like a salmon,........." :greengrin

20-12-2015, 02:13 AM
Our goal is on hibs.tv.

Link please

20-12-2015, 03:17 AM
Link please

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/freeview

20-12-2015, 04:16 AM
Yeah it would have been disappointing to drop 2 pts but we still would have went to Ibrox next week with a chance to go top. Just admit your post was OTT and a bit out of order given we are unbeaten since August...

:agree:Aye, it was...but let's be honest, that's how we were all feeling deep into injury time.
Sevco dropped points last week that nobody was expecting and we didn't win our home game.
Sevco drop more points which is another opportunity and it looks like, for the second week in a row, we somehow fail to beat a team that are there for the taking if we really want it. I won't have negativity from anyone I'm at games with but FFS Hibs.

If the final whistle had gone before we scored there would have been none of this "disappointed but it's still two points difference" stuff. The performance was sub standard and the morale of the team might have been effected. There would have been utter dejection in the pubs and the posters who enjoy venting their spleen when we are losing would be all over this place, dragging everyone down with talk about missed opportunities and Rod Petrie. The reaction when we scored should tell you how much the difference between drawing and winning was.

Still can't believe we're level with them though after months of wondering who we'll get in the play offs after finishing second.

20-12-2015, 07:28 AM
One thing I would say is that 2,000 or so folk in the crowd going mental at a centre half because he would rather take his time than aimlessly hump the ball up the pitch isn't going to help anybody and I'm sure Darren McGregor agrees with me.

As somebody else said, we are going to have to play better at Ibrox.

Completely agree. There were a lot of folk on edge yesterday; "get it up the park FFS", "no not that far up the park" etc.

The players must shake their heads at some of the shouts directed at them.

20-12-2015, 07:54 AM
Completely agree. There were a lot of folk on edge yesterday; "get it up the park FFS", "no not that far up the park" etc.

:agree: There was a massive nervousness around the stadium yesterday. An early goal might have helped but folk were getting up to ninety with half an hour still to play.

We will find ourselves in this situation again before the season is out, collectively we need to be better at dealing with the pressure, otherwise we have no chance.

20-12-2015, 08:16 AM
What was the trouble up the tunnel after the game that the SFA are investigating? ( BBC report )

20-12-2015, 08:20 AM

"Gray, you call yourself a ****ing full back? Yer ****ing *****" was my personal favourite from the clown at the back of the west that felt the need to verbalise every single thought that came into his head. We all think and talk rubbish sometimes but is there any need to scream all of it out so everyone can hear?!

20-12-2015, 08:32 AM
Mostly a load of pish! Different game to the one I watched. Hibs could and should have had 4 or 5. No mention of the two cleared off the line, Keating's sitter, Boyle's sitter etc. Hibs didn't play particularly well but definitely deserved to win

Absolutely. 👍🏻
No mention in their report about McGinn dancing round their player. Anier showing a bit of class holding the ball up waiting on the arrival of Gray who had a lung bursting run the length of the pitch before skinning their defense to send over a perfect cross onto Dom's " samon-like " heid to power a header into the goal.

Kinda prefer my description. 😊

Oh yeah ..... Merry Christmas QoS

SausageSurprise
20-12-2015, 08:43 AM
Absolutely. 👍🏻
No mention in their report about McGinn dancing round their player. Anier showing a bit of class holding the ball up waiting on the arrival of Gray who had a lung bursting run the length of the pitch before skinning their defense to send over a perfect cross onto Dom's " samon-like " heid to power a header into the goal.

Kinda prefer my description. 😊

Oh yeah ..... Merry Christmas QoS

They also fail to mention that they were a shower of dirty, cheating, timewasting...

20-12-2015, 09:00 AM

Grinding out results and scoring in the last minute. About time we have started doing this

:agree: Hibs showing all the traits of a league winning side.

20-12-2015, 09:08 AM
"Gray, you call yourself a ****ing full back? Yer ****ing *****" was my personal favourite from the clown at the back of the west that felt the need to verbalise every single thought that came into his head. We all think and talk rubbish sometimes but is there any need to scream all of it out so everyone can hear?!

Oxley got it as well "Oxley you should be coming for that". The ball being on the edge of the 18 yard box with various players, including McGregor who comfortably cleared it, didn't come into the equation.

20-12-2015, 10:29 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/freeview

It's no wonder the ground went mental at that. Given the importance, the timing and the sublime play leading to it, that's one of the best goals we've seen this season

20-12-2015, 10:35 AM
Oxley got it as well "Oxley you should be coming for that". The ball being on the edge of the 18 yard box with various players, including McGregor who comfortably cleared it, didn't come into the equation.

At one stage the boy behind me was shouting "shoot" and the guy in front of me "pass it". Suppose he could pass it into the net.

Do these folk really think that a player will do what they shout?

20-12-2015, 10:36 AM
It's no wonder the ground went mental at that. Given the importance, the timing and the sublime play leading to it, that's one of the best goals we've seen this seasonI didnt realise how good a goal it was, until I watched it again, and again, and again..superb stuff, from build up to finish 😃

20-12-2015, 10:47 AM
I didnt realise how good a goal it was, until I watched it again, and again, and again..superb stuff, from build up to finish 

I agree with that 100%.

Fontaine, McGinn, Anier, Gray and Malongs all did really well.

20-12-2015, 10:48 AM
I agree with that 100%.

Fontaine, McGinn, Anier, Gray and Malongs all did really well.

And how refreshing it is to see our full backs marauding down both flanks literally right to the final whistle - the fitness of the side in general is top notch.

20-12-2015, 11:12 AM
Slightly off topic but hopefully worth a smile. I don't know if they're still there but the Hibs Club used to have copies of our ( Hibs ) assessment of refs up on the walls, these mostly dated from the post war years. There was one classic where we had written, possibly by Willie McCartney that, I paraphrase, the referee was completely biased, was an obvious homer, was incompetent & totally influenced by the home crowd. Harsh words but even harsher when I noted, IIRC, that the game was at Palmerston & we had won 7-2!! imagine if we had lost! Those were the days when Hibs feared no one & hopefully we're on our way back to that.

20-12-2015, 12:19 PM
At one stage the boy behind me was shouting "shoot" and the guy in front of me "pass it". Suppose he could pass it into the net.

Do these folk really think that a player will do what they shout?

I've heard and shouted myself, "Oh dinny shoot fae...GOAAAAAAAL!" on more than one occasion! :greengrin:

20-12-2015, 12:30 PM

We're 3 points better off because of our never give up attitude which is very pleasing.

However, we won't get away with that every week.

I'd far prefer us to win games convincingly before the 90th minute. It's about time we remembered to do that.

20-12-2015, 12:37 PM
I've just watched the last five again nothing wrong with the drop ball we had the ball the ref blew for the "injury" to wee Hutton, then their reaction to Dom can't see a thing wrong or anything he did, might have said to someone??

20-12-2015, 12:42 PM
If this is our dip in form and we can still grind out results and not get best I will take that ,but look forward to us getting our form back ,playing fluent passing football and winning by a few .However the weather the now and players picking up knocks and feeling below par will all be contributing to this .
And for the record I would take a 94 fourth minute winner on the 28th They will be under real pressure from thier fans to get back to winning ways

20-12-2015, 03:11 PM
I've heard and shouted myself, "Oh dinny shoot fae...GOAAAAAAAL!" on more than one occasion! :greengrin:

My old man managed to miss Rankin's squiggler against Celtc because he turned away in frustration when he saw him going to shoot.

20-12-2015, 03:33 PM
Fantastic goal great timing BUT if that happened to us at Ibrox or Tynie we would be going mental calling the ref a cheat:greengrin

ehf
20-12-2015, 06:51 PM
:agree: Hibs showing all the traits of a league winning side.

Not sure if it's been mentioned but loved that chant yesterday:

**** you Rangers, we're going to win the league!

Top marks to whoever came up with it and look forward to us belting it out at Greyskull on 28 Dec.

20-12-2015, 06:58 PM
... but look forward to us getting our form back ,playing fluent passing football ...I think that fluent, passing football is a good summary of that goal.

20-12-2015, 07:02 PM
It has been described as 'madness' at ER.

This is unbelievable

It was utter bedlam! I haven't celebrated a goal like than in a long time! The place absolutely erupted.

high bee
20-12-2015, 07:09 PM
Fantastic goal great timing BUT if that happened to us at Ibrox or Tynie we would be going mental calling the ref a cheat:greengrin

That's just it, if there is any fault it is with the ref not us. It was our ball to have and if him dropping at our feet was against the rules then that's fine but it would've been played back to us from one of their players so it would have been ridiculous for us to play it back to them when it was their player that was down and we had the ball when the whistle went.

They are just focusing on that because they couldn't clear their lines and its gutting to lose a goal in the 94th minute. I'm sure if we are on Sportscene tonight we will be labelled as cheats and they will ignore all the facts to try and create some controversy.

20-12-2015, 07:10 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned but loved that chant yesterday:

**** you Rangers, we're going to win the league!

Top marks to whoever came up with it and look forward to us belting it out at Greyskull on 28 Dec.

Was a Hearts chant from last season unfortunately

ehf
20-12-2015, 07:36 PM
Was a Hearts chant from last season unfortunately

Ah, ok thanks; let's just change "Rangers" to "Sevco" and claim it as ours!

fulshie
20-12-2015, 07:54 PM
Probably stating the obvious here! I thought we were poor and to be honest QOTS did a good job on us in midfield. We had too many players that were below par BUT, our spirit has to be admired. We didn't give up, even when things weren't going well and we got our reward for that. Rangers are going through a bad patch just now but, so are we as we're not playing as well as we can but, we're not dropping as many points as them and we have good players that can still come in to the team, McGeoch, Bartley, Hanlon etc. I think its looking good for us just now as we will improve our performances, I have no doubt about that. GGTTH

20-12-2015, 08:00 PM
I think that fluent, passing football is a good summary of that goal.

It was ,and the subs helped dig the win out ,as acknowledged by Stubbs ,who was honest enough to say too many players had an off day but we still found a way to win the game and as I said in my post if that's what it takes to win at Ibrox that will do me

20-12-2015, 08:03 PM
Ah, ok thanks; let's just change "Rangers" to "Sevco" and claim it as ours!

I like this.

20-12-2015, 08:10 PM
Probably stating the obvious here! I thought we were poor and to be honest QOTS did a good job on us in midfield. We had too many players that were below par BUT, our spirit has to be admired. We didn't give up, even when things weren't going well and we got our reward for that. Rangers are going through a bad patch just now but, so are we as we're not playing as well as we can but, we're not dropping as many points as them and we have good players that can still come in to the team, McGeoch, Bartley, Hanlon etc. I think its looking good for us just now as we will improve our performances, I have no doubt about that. GGTTH

I thought QoS were good for the first hour and then started with the timewasting and moaning at the ref. The number of times the ref pointed at his watch in the second half.

Queens got what they deserved.

20-12-2015, 08:46 PM

The entire Hibs support, myself included, did that when Eoin Doyle took aim in the semi final against Falkirk.

20-12-2015, 09:01 PM
The entire Hibs support, myself included, did that when Eoin Doyle took aim in the semi final against Falkirk.
That was a "What the f......OAL!"

Sent via the bushes @ EM

20-12-2015, 09:03 PM

Done that when David Murphy lined up that free kick in the LC semi 2007.

21-12-2015, 04:19 PM
I thought QoS were good for the first hour and then started with the timewasting and moaning at the ref. The number of times the ref pointed at his watch in the second half.

Queens got what they deserved.

Agree thought they were good and kept the ball well and looked to me better than Falkirk had the week before.

21-12-2015, 04:56 PM
Have only had sporadic looks at the odd page of this thread over the last few days, but I'm pretty surprised at how disparaging people have been about us on Saturday (especially given the result was always the most important outcome). Yes, we were far from our best, but first half I thought we played pretty well, certainly played some nice incisive stuff in the final third to get in behind them a few times and create some good scoring opportunities. We should have been ahead at half time.

The first half of the second 45 minutes was very poor though, and the crowd at the game do deserve credit for reigning it in when it looked like many were starting to get on players backs, and turned that into good, vocal support that drove the players on. In the last twenty minutes we really went for it, and worked the ball well to put Queens under a lot of pressure, which eventually paid off in a really well worked goal - and one of the best moments at ER in recent years, total elation.

I've gathered that there were some negative posts from folk on this thread raking over the past and giving it the 'typical Hibs' stuff before we scored - disappointing if true. Apart from the fact that the game wasn't over yet, even if we had only drawn on Saturday, it wouldn't have been the end of the world, it would have been another point being gained on Rangers. Yes, it could have been looked upon negatively as a big missed opportunity, but no more so than the opportunity they had blown last week at home to Morton, as we were down to ten against Falkirk.

The fact that we got three points is a major bonus, as it the fact that we did it whilst below par - our desire to win the match got us over the line, when the football wasn't at the peak that it has been for much of this season - and that, along with our reaction to going behind against the Bairns last week, speaks volumes for where we are as a club right now

We are on an incredible run at the moment, 15 wins and two draws from 17 matches, and an 11 point gap to Rangers closed in a matter of weeks - and we go into our biggest game of the season in buoyant mood. However, chances are we will hit another bad patch at some point this season, and if that does happen it would be helpful if people could not resort to pulling out a catalogue of failures and chastising our current team for them. It helps no one.

Dempster, Stubbs and the players deserve huge credit for getting us to where we are now, as many, many people thought this was completely over after that defeat at Ibrox - and the support deserve great credit too. But we need to continue playing our part - the mentality of the players and management, and the atmosphere around the club has changed massively since the darkest days under Butcher, let's keep that going. If/when that next disappointing result does come, let's remember the big strides we've made since August, and not disappointments that have nothing to do with our current incumbents.

Really looking forward to Ibrox on Monday.

21-12-2015, 05:12 PM

I think this should be known as Prenderville's phenomenon.

21-12-2015, 05:36 PM
Last season we couldn't beat QOS at Easter Road.This season we have.That's all that matters.

21-12-2015, 06:39 PM

Ah yes an #Oxleymoron

fulshie
21-12-2015, 07:03 PM

Queens got what they deserved.Too tru. Totally agree.

21-12-2015, 07:08 PM
Have only had sporadic looks at the odd page of this thread over the last few days, but I'm pretty surprised at how disparaging people have been about us on Saturday (especially given the result was always the most important outcome). Yes, we were far from our best, but first half I thought we played pretty well, certainly played some nice incisive stuff in the final third to get in behind them a few times and create some good scoring opportunities. We should have been ahead at half time.

The first half of the second 45 minutes was very poor though, and the crowd at the game do deserve credit for reigning it in when it looked like many were starting to get on players backs, and turned that into good, vocal support that drove the players on. In the last twenty minutes we really went for it, and worked the ball well to put Queens under a lot of pressure, which eventually paid off in a really well worked goal - and one of the best moments at ER in recent years, total elation.

I've gathered that there were some negative posts from folk on this thread raking over the past and giving it the 'typical Hibs' stuff before we scored - disappointing if true. Apart from the fact that the game wasn't over yet, even if we had only drawn on Saturday, it wouldn't have been the end of the world, it would have been another point being gained on Rangers. Yes, it could have been looked upon negatively as a big missed opportunity, but no more so than the opportunity they had blown last week at home to Morton, as we were down to ten against Falkirk.

The fact that we got three points is a major bonus, as it the fact that we did it whilst below par - our desire to win the match got us over the line, when the football wasn't at the peak that it has been for much of this season - and that, along with our reaction to going behind against the Bairns last week, speaks volumes for where we are as a club right now

We are on an incredible run at the moment, 15 wins and two draws from 17 matches, and an 11 point gap to Rangers closed in a matter of weeks - and we go into our biggest game of the season in buoyant mood. However, chances are we will hit another bad patch at some point this season, and if that does happen it would be helpful if people could not resort to pulling out a catalogue of failures and chastising our current team for them. It helps no one.

Dempster, Stubbs and the players deserve huge credit for getting us to where we are now, as many, many people thought this was completely over after that defeat at Ibrox - and the support deserve great credit too. But we need to continue playing our part - the mentality of the players and management, and the atmosphere around the club has changed massively since the darkest days under Butcher, let's keep that going. If/when that next disappointing result does come, let's remember the big strides we've made since August, and not disappointments that have nothing to do with our current incumbents.

Splendid post. :agree:

21-12-2015, 07:13 PM

Genuinely cannot add anything to that.

22-12-2015, 07:45 AM

Great post and couldn't agree more. QOS were good on Saturday and playing like that will win a few games before the end of the season however they were obviously well up for it and rightly so. Conditions were difficult and the wind didn't help either Keats or Boyles chances. No doubt we haven't been at our best the last 2 games however the desire and belief are great to see and should see us in good stead for the huge challenges ahead starting on Monday. It is there for us that is for sure. :flag:

23-12-2015, 09:46 PM
Billy Bryson ‏@billybryson07 (https://twitter.com/billybryson07) 35m35 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/billybryson07/status/679785882430390272)
Hibs v QOS highlights from QOS: http://youtu.be/R9bEUq9EIWI (https://t.co/Pjb71b37Sx)

Extended highlights,

23-12-2015, 10:02 PM
Billy Bryson ‏@billybryson07 (https://twitter.com/billybryson07) 35m35 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/billybryson07/status/679785882430390272)
Hibs v QOS highlights from QOS: http://youtu.be/R9bEUq9EIWI (https://t.co/Pjb71b37Sx)

Extended highlights,

Enjoyed that, cheers

23-12-2015, 10:19 PM

Extended highlights,

Excellent thanks Billy

Kiddo
24-12-2015, 01:58 AM

Spot on mate. Saturday was a massive result for us, the performance meant nothing, 3 points were all that mattered

Dan Sarf
24-12-2015, 11:01 AM
Great highlights, thanks. (Some terrible shooting though.)