View Full Version : Hibs/Celtic Relationship

Iceman1875
18-12-2015, 02:46 PM
During the last 10 years, there have been a number of players transferred between us and Celtic both ways, and with potentially GMS in January, there could be another one.

Do we have a 'special' relationship with them or is it just pure coincidence?

At Easter Road we play...

18-12-2015, 02:50 PM
During the last 10 years, there have been a number of players transferred between us and Celtic both ways, and with potentially GMS in January, there could be another one.

When they were founded they were trying to copy Hibernian so we willingly gave their original founder quite a bit of assistance setting them up, shortly after they paid money to virtually all of our players to join them -I really do like to think all the similarities with celtc and they way they have chosen to go since ended there.

Special relationship, deary me,,,,,,,,,,,,,

18-12-2015, 03:27 PM
No special relationship with Celtic.

I'd much rather sit and watch them pump rangers and hearts rather than the other way around.

I also like watch big games at Celtic Park on CL nights.

However, there is absolutely no special relationship there!

18-12-2015, 03:29 PM
**** Celtic.

18-12-2015, 03:32 PM
I hate them the least out of them, the Huns and the diet Huns.

18-12-2015, 03:33 PM

Personally, I ****ing detest that club. They are only marginally behind hearts but in front of Der Hun on my list of clubs that I hate! Thankfully we have NO special relationship as far as I can see

Iceman1875
18-12-2015, 03:35 PM
Special relationship, deary me,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Was just a question, pal.

18-12-2015, 03:39 PM

But in terms of a relationship, the answer is still no, aye?

18-12-2015, 03:43 PM
Was just a question, pal.

Sorry, not aimed at you - just the wider concept of a special relationship:aok:

Iceman1875
18-12-2015, 03:45 PM
Sorry, not aimed at you - just the wider concept of a special relationship:aok:

No worries [emoji106]🏻

Newry Hibs
18-12-2015, 03:45 PM
I think the average Celtc fan has more of a softish spot for us, waaaaay more than the average Hibs fan has for them (the soap dodging b******s)

18-12-2015, 03:46 PM
I posted on the PM forum the other day that sometimes getting a transfer sorted quickly, see Scott Allan as an example, is for the best.

If we can deal with Celtic in such a way that we get a fair price/deal and things can be resolved quickly then I see no issue with that. I'd rather that than have to endure weeks of tedious paper chat and insulting bids from tramps like Rangers. If part of that involves us getting more players of the quality of Dylan McGeough and Liam Henderson on loan (and potentially 1st chance if they become available permanently) then all the better.

18-12-2015, 03:46 PM
I think the average Celtc fan has more of a softish spot for us, waaaaay more than the average Hibs fan has for them (the soap dodging b******s)

:agree: This, can actually feel a bit patronising. Certainly not sought or wanted. Lucky we are better than all of them:wink:

18-12-2015, 03:47 PM
140 years of existence means we have a relationship with every club in Scotland, most of those in the rest of Britain, a good wedge of most parts of Europe and some of the rest of the World. We just cannae help it like.

18-12-2015, 03:48 PM
**** Celtc

18-12-2015, 03:53 PM
Are you serious??? I hate them no less than The Rangers.

Salt N Sauzee
18-12-2015, 03:56 PM
****** the Old Firm

18-12-2015, 03:56 PM
Are you serious??? I hate them no less than The Rangers.

This. They're jakey, weegie, soap dodging

18-12-2015, 03:58 PM
They seem to think we are something to them, not very respectful therefore not very special - if only they could spell.

The team I dislike most

Newry Hibs
:agree: This, can actually feel a bit patronising. Certainly not sought or wanted. Lucky we are better than all of them:wink:
Certainly has a patronising feel about it. Definately unwanted. A few Celtc fans here are quite surprised with my 'two cheeks of the same arse' approach.

18-12-2015, 04:01 PM
Certainly has a patronising feel about it. Definately unwanted. A few Celtc fans here are quite surprised with my 'two cheeks of the same arse' approach.

Yup. my brother in law plays golf with a rich Celtc shareholder, he was surprised when I said the same thing to him. The Celtc man had told him we were their "wee cousins" and we liked each other.

I put him straight. Detest those barstewards.

18-12-2015, 04:05 PM
What with Stubb's career with Celtic and John Collin's previous connection with Hibs, then right now I'd say that relationships between the two Clubs will be pretty good. As long as Hibs benefit then I'm all for it.

18-12-2015, 04:06 PM
**** Celtic.

I don't like the tone or suggestion of the original post at all.

I have stopped 'hating' people because of what football team I support but the relationship with Celtic is simply as a rival as two of the biggest clubs in Scotland.

There are players who have went from Hibs to Rangers or Hearts to Hibs - special relationships in a very basic sense only.

They hate us because we betrayed our Irish heritage.

No celtc we evolved and focoused on the community the very reason why we were set up. We did not single out the Scottish and claim to be a 100% full Irish team.
We know our roots and know where we are from. Couldn't care less about them. They're as bad as the Rangers and use politics and religion in football which has no place.

18-12-2015, 04:08 PM
At this moment in time on the transfer front? Maybe. I don't mind as we are in different leagues and it's mutually beneficial.
It will soon end when we are promoted though.

18-12-2015, 04:11 PM
Although we, as fans, may like or dislike other teams, I would guess that the guys (and gals!) that run the top clubs in Scotland have a perfectly amicable relationship with each other, in the main. Maybe not managers and players but the board members.

As one of the top teams in the Country, it's natural that players will move between us.

I doubt there is anything "special" about the relationship between us and Celtc though.

SausageSurprise
18-12-2015, 04:12 PM
Hate the *******s

18-12-2015, 04:22 PM

This. A Celtc supporting colleague was stunned when I expressed delight at them being pumped in Europe a few years ago. Love it when we beat them.

18-12-2015, 04:26 PM
At this moment in time on the transfer front? Maybe. I don't mind as we are in different leagues and it's mutually beneficial.
It will soon end when we are promoted though.

On the money. Had we been in the same league as them, the Scott Allan transfer would have played out very different.

18-12-2015, 04:26 PM
Although we, as fans, may like or dislike other teams, I would guess that the guys (and gals!) that run the top clubs in Scotland have a perfectly amicable relationship with each other, in the main. Maybe not managers and players but the board members.

As one of the top teams in the Country, it's natural that players will move between us.

I doubt there is anything "special" about the relationship between us and Celtc though.

:agree: Maybe their relationship with Dundee Utd this season is even more special recently given the player movements:greengrin

18-12-2015, 06:15 PM
No we don't .... one cheek of the OF arse and that's all they are as far as I'm concerned.

We share a heritage and colours, that's all ..... and I live in hope that one day they will be taken over by some Chinese guy who will change their colours to red.

18-12-2015, 06:18 PM
**** Celtc.

GreensesArab
18-12-2015, 06:19 PM
The team I dislike most

Me too. In the SPL they're a huge, gluttonous goldfish in a small bowl yet still buy up the best of the rest. Then they complain that the domestic scene doesn't test them enough!! Usually after being put out of Europe by mediocre opposition. Total hypocrites. IMO, the Jambo's are our rivals, the Old Firm are our enemy.

18-12-2015, 06:58 PM
**** Celtc

18-12-2015, 07:09 PM
**** Celtc.

And **** their patronising fans.

18-12-2015, 07:25 PM
What with Stubb's career with Celtic and John Collin's previous connection with Hibs, then right now I'd say that relationships between the two Clubs will be pretty good. As long as Hibs benefit then I'm all for it.

:agree: This for me.I am only interested in Hibs and if mutual connections benefit us then that is great.

18-12-2015, 07:28 PM
We used to have a relationship with Rangers, and at one time they were one of our very few friends in Scottish football. This was obviously in the days before Bill Struth arrived at Ibrox and the sectarian policies he imposed on the club that would continue for 70 odd years. Policies and "tradition" that many followers of that horrible club most likely wish continued today.
I`d rather have nothing to do with either half of the Old Firm.

18-12-2015, 07:34 PM
I despise absolutely everything to do with that club.

There is absolutely no special relationship between Hibs and Celtic, as far as I'm concerned, and there hopefully never will be.

18-12-2015, 07:50 PM
If it wasn't for Hibs there would be no Sellick.....(Or Dundee Utd for that matter)

They seem to want to re-write History, to romanticise their heritage/history, but they were underhand in 1888, and have no special relationship with us.........

18-12-2015, 07:55 PM
Do we have a 'special' relationship (with Celtc)

Sorry but that's got to be one of the most ridiculous questions ever posted on this site.

Iceman1875
18-12-2015, 07:56 PM
Sorry but that's got to be one of the most ridiculous questions ever posted on this site.

Why?

Iceman1875
18-12-2015, 07:57 PM

Exactly.

18-12-2015, 08:00 PM
Why?

Almost every Hibs Fan I know hates them with a vengance. Their Fans are either patronising toward us or have open hatred.

FWIW, I've probably been in more fights with Celtc Fans at games than Fans of any other club. My first experience of Parkhead was standing in the (unsegregated) East Terrace and being spat on by them for the first half then attacked physically during the second.

Going to Parkhead even now is the most unpleasant away trip.

Iceman1875
18-12-2015, 08:08 PM
Almost every Hibs Fan I know hates them with a vengance. Their Fans are either patronising toward us or have open hatred.

FWIW, I've probably been in more fights with Celtc Fans at games than Fans of any other club. My first experience of Parkhead was standing in the (unsegregated) East Terrace and being spat on by them for the first half then attacked physically during the second.

Going to Parkhead even now is the most unpleasant away trip.

I understand what you are saying and I agree with your points however my question was purely asking the forum if we had a special relationship from a business point of view considering recent dealings with both clubs. I thought it was a valid question, obviously not! [emoji6]

18-12-2015, 09:11 PM
I can't stand the hypocritical image Celtic spout. Acting like some socialist pariah club, when in our game they are a ruthless part of the establishment that greedily exploits any opposition and regularly uses bully boy tactics with its neighbours to force its will on the rest of the game, much to its detriment. Examples, all ireplicared by their friends in Govan,would be their long running cashing in on bigotry and prejudice, their scuppering of the SPL TV deal which was the beginning of the end financially for a lot of clubs, the levy they jointly imposed with Rangers when selling away tickets to Celtic and Rangers (a few clubs like ours stood up to this), tapping up players using the media they jointly control and using their collective veto to deny meaningful and much needed prize money to other clubs who need it much more. All this whilst cynically destroying any talent from the other clubs in the league and complaining about a lack of talent in the game after a defeat in Europe with any potential talent for our game is sat festering on the bench at Parkhead to weaken their opponents who already are at a huge disadvantage to them. That's just a couple of examples that came immediately came to mind.
The club they have a special relationship with in reality is Rangers/their reincarnation, judging by their collectively orchestrated strangulation of the game to the sole benefit of each other.
A revolting, cynical and shamelessly greedy club, in my opinion.

18-12-2015, 09:53 PM
The mere notion of a special relationship with those pretentious, patronising, arrogant, wannabe-Irish, stuck in the past, knuckle dragging, terrorist-sympathising Weejie gluebags is sickening. I hate them more than Rangers and Hearts put together.

18-12-2015, 09:56 PM
I can't understand anyone who hates anyone more than the huns.

18-12-2015, 09:58 PM
The mere notion of a special relationship with those pretentious, patronising, arrogant, wannabe-Irish, stuck in the past, knuckle dragging, terrorist-sympathising Weejie gluebags is sickening. I hate them more than Rangers and Hearts put together.

18-12-2015, 10:02 PM
Hating septic and hating the Hun is not mutually exclusive. Celtic are one of two clubs to attack hibs directly as a club In terms of our survival. Both parties involved had no honorable motives.

18-12-2015, 10:02 PM
**** the Hertz,Celtic and Huns. Simple enough.

18-12-2015, 10:03 PM
Going against the grain here but growing up I always had an affinity for Celtic, I think it started in 1977 with King Kenny's transfer and after that I always looked out for them, wanted them to win in Europe and generally considered them as my favourite Scottish team. Then I moved to Edinburgh and you know the rest :greengrin

18-12-2015, 10:06 PM
Going against the grain here but growing up I always had an affinity for Celtic, I think it started in 1977 with King Kenny's transfer and after that I always looked out for them, wanted them to win in Europe and generally considered them as my favourite Scottish team. Then I moved to Edinburgh and you know the rest :greengrin

A Liverpool fan with an affinity for an inappropriately sentimental club. Colour me surprised.

18-12-2015, 10:10 PM
A Liverpool fan with an affinity for an inappropriately sentimental club. Colour me surprised.

18-12-2015, 10:12 PM
I dislike the Sellick, but have totally seething loathe for the huns and poppy thieves

18-12-2015, 10:15 PM
Brother Walfrid was a Hibby.

18-12-2015, 10:17 PM

18-12-2015, 10:19 PM

What's your point caller.

18-12-2015, 10:21 PM
What's your point caller.

Stereotypical pish

18-12-2015, 10:23 PM
Stereotypical pish

You don't do irony ?

18-12-2015, 10:25 PM
I can't stand the hypocritical image Celtic spout. Acting like some socialist pariah club, when in our game they are a ruthless part of the establishment that greedily exploits any opposition and regularly uses bully boy tactics with its neighbours to force its will on the rest of the game, much to its detriment. Examples, all ireplicared by their friends in Govan,would be their long running cashing in on bigotry and prejudice, their scuppering of the SPL TV deal which was the beginning of the end financially for a lot of clubs, the levy they jointly imposed with Rangers when selling away tickets to Celtic and Rangers (a few clubs like ours stood up to this), tapping up players using the media they jointly control and using their collective veto to deny meaningful and much needed prize money to other clubs who need it much more. All this whilst cynically destroying any talent from the other clubs in the league and complaining about a lack of talent in the game after a defeat in Europe with any potential talent for our game is sat festering on the bench at Parkhead to weaken their opponents who already are at a huge disadvantage to them. That's just a couple of examples that came immediately came to mind.
The club they have a special relationship with in reality is Rangers/their reincarnation, judging by their collectively orchestrated strangulation of the game to the sole benefit of each other.
A revolting, cynical and shamelessly greedy club, in my opinion.

10/10

18-12-2015, 10:45 PM
You don't do irony ?

No the missus does it mate, never touched an iron in my life.

18-12-2015, 11:12 PM
Stereotypical pish

And again. Make a counter point please.

18-12-2015, 11:14 PM

liamh2202
18-12-2015, 11:20 PM

Say no more. My feelings exactly

18-12-2015, 11:58 PM
Stereotypical pish

Can I have a reply please captain ignorant??

19-12-2015, 12:04 AM
Can I have a reply please captain ignorant??

Maybe just leave it there, eh? We can then at least try and keep the thread on topic.

19-12-2015, 01:07 AM
Just no. Absolutely disgusting club who I very much hate.

Andy Bee
19-12-2015, 01:45 AM
If they keep giving us the chance of players like Dylan McGeouch and Liam Henderson I don't really care what label anyone puts on it, long may it continue. Stubbs has obvious links with Celtic and if he can use that to ours and their advantage then fairplay, mon the special relationship. It's all about winning the next game not whats happened in the past.

Islington Hibs
19-12-2015, 08:20 AM

I bloody well hope we have no special relationship with them. No friends of ours.

19-12-2015, 08:30 AM

Yip, Glasgow Hibernian, simple as :)

19-12-2015, 08:43 AM
I can't understand anyone who hates anyone more than the huns.

Me either, not much time for Celtic but the huns are far worse. next time the play us at home a walk down Easter Road will confim this. (my personal opinion I hasten to add)

cad
19-12-2015, 09:46 AM
Special theyre special alright, both of them I see no difference in either of them apart from the obvious ,they've maligned ,cajoled misinformed , ,manipulated ,misdirected,and ruined Scottish football , they have forced Scottish clubs other supporters to suffer their abhorrent rhetoric for decades ,an original thought hasn't passed through either club since they unfortunately grabbed onto Scottish football like a limpet to spread their cancer.

Going down the players that have passed from club to club, far to many to mention ,my example of what could have been .
Scott Brown was one of the best young players Ive ever watched at Easter Road drive passion great athlete never injured a more dynamic talent you would find it very hard to better in Europe`s elite, the only thing lacking was goals ,you knew he wouldn't be long at Hibs ,Spurs Everton and a few others West Ham I think were all keen on SB , that should have been his next level , his next learning curve ,he chose or was advised to take Celtic,you see the results to this day IMHO his talent was shot as soon as a hooped jersey went over his head. on the other hand our best recruit from them by far was Jackie Mac ,I`d like to say Im not bitter but I am , I cant stand either Mars would be a good place for them to play football.

19-12-2015, 11:26 AM
I get as much joy from seeing Hibs pump them as I do watching us pump the hun.

19-12-2015, 11:58 AM
I get as much joy from seeing Hibs pump them as I do watching us pump the hun.

:agree: :top marks

19-12-2015, 12:12 PM
Me too. In the SPL they're a huge, gluttonous goldfish in a small bowl yet still buy up the best of the rest. Then they complain that the domestic scene doesn't test them enough!! Usually after being put out of Europe by mediocre opposition. Total hypocrites. IMO, the Jambo's are our rivals, the Old Firm are our enemy.

19-12-2015, 12:13 PM
I can't stand Celtic. I don't dislike them quite as much as Rangers (but not far off it) and I've always disliked the OF and all they stand for a whole lot more than Hearts who are just our rivals.

Relationships between clubs work in different ways though. You get these utterly nauseating "special relationships" which seem to exist between Celtic and every club they feel like patronising with 50/50 scarves and all that crap which I can't stand.

Clubs have to have working relationships though and I'm happy for Hibs to have a good working relationship with Celtic creating win/win situations. Scottish football needs more of them tbh.

The Scott Allan situation showed how things should work. That's a deal that should benefit Hibs, Celtic and the player. Compare the way Celtic handled the situation to the way Rangers conducted themselves throughout the affair. Night and day, and we're not the only ones who are struggling to have a good working relationship with Rangers at the moment (see Dundee United, Aberdeen and more).

I'd be surprised if at boardroom level LD doesn't have a very good working relationship with Anne Budge - similar sized clubs in the same city facing similar problems and adversaries. The screaming and wailing is for the fans, the clubs should be allowed to work together.

19-12-2015, 12:26 PM
If they keep giving us the chance of players like Dylan McGeouch and Liam Henderson I don't really care what label anyone puts on it, long may it continue. Stubbs has obvious links with Celtic and if he can use that to ours and their advantage then fairplay, mon the special relationship. It's all about winning the next game not whats happened in the past.

Indeedy, but we should never forget that their special relationship is with Der Hun, not us. Having said that Celtic buying Scott Allan has probably done The Rangers
more harm than anything bar King this season.
GGG

Canon Hannan
19-12-2015, 05:18 PM
Me either, not much time for Celtic but the huns are far worse. next time the play us at home a walk down Easter Road will confim this. (my personal opinion I hasten to add)

Agree with One Day here.

Never had a problem with Celtic. They stuck to their roots and became a huge club while we fell away. Their business model worked considering we were the original greens. They have a 60,000 seater stadium while we have a 20,000. I have been nearly stabbed, spat on and attacked on a few occasions both at Easter Road and Hampden by Rangers supporters. Only had a good experience with Celtic supporters. I know many Celtic fans who attend Easter Road and used to go to Parkhead with them purely for Old Firm games. I don’t really follow the typical hatred of them by some on here. They have bought our players and we have profited. We do the same to smaller teams. I feel many of our fans have an insecurity complex and always feel aggrieved with them? Personally I am 100% Hibernian, my Great Uncle played for Hibs- John Meaney and he was Irish. My Grandad was a Leith docker….Hibs are my team and in my blood. But I have no problem with Celtic and their fans. They are just another club. There is no special relationship, but in general I appreciate their attacking play like us and their decent supporters. They are a diluted version of us ;-)

19-12-2015, 05:34 PM
Agree with One Day here.

Never had a problem with Celtic. They stuck to their roots and became a huge club while we fell away. Their business model worked considering we were the original greens. They have a 60,000 seater stadium while we have a 20,000. I have been nearly stabbed, spat on and attacked on a few occasions both at Easter Road and Hampden by Rangers supporters. Only had a good experience with Celtic supporters. I know many Celtic fans who attend Easter Road and used to go to Parkhead with them purely for Old Firm games. I don’t really follow the typical hatred of them by some on here. They have bought our players and we have profited. We do the same to smaller teams. I feel many of our fans have an insecurity complex and always feel aggrieved with them? Personally I am 100% Hibernian, my Great Uncle played for Hibs- John Meaney and he was Irish. My Grandad was a Leith docker….Hibs are my team and in my blood. But I have no problem with Celtic and their fans. They are just another club. There is no special relationship, but in general I appreciate their attacking play like us and their decent supporters. They are a diluted version of us ;-)

What a crock of *****.

Canon Hannan
19-12-2015, 05:46 PM
What a crock of *****.

Good post and glad you accept another view.

19-12-2015, 06:49 PM
Good post and glad you accept another view.

They are bigoted ****, glad you enjoy their company.

Canon Hannan
19-12-2015, 07:16 PM

Can't think of them as singing bigoted songs in the last few years to be honest? We had the worst hooligans for years and are no saints!

19-12-2015, 07:26 PM
Can't think of them as singing bigoted songs in the last few years to be honest? We had the worst hooligans for years and are no saints!

Aye very good, our worst hooligans were years ago if you want to play that game.

franks
19-12-2015, 07:33 PM
Yes there is a relationship, they have stolen everything they can from HIbernian since 1888 they have endeavoured to become Hibernian. They of course have failed but have become there own perverted version. To start with we helped with their foundation and in return they tried to destroy us in the early eighteen nineties. I will never forget that but hate the other side of the bigot divide just as much.

Hibs for me, I hate celitic and the rangers equally and lets not forget the tarts.

19-12-2015, 07:37 PM
Agree with One Day here.

Sorry mate but I can't agree with any of that. Patronising,deluded, over inflated sense of self importance and total thugs to boot. I have seen as much bother with Celtic fans as rangers. I can remember them taking liberties in the 80s when a full on battle was going on in the away end and they opened up the gates to the jungle to let more of them in against us. They will tell you all day long that we are their wee cousins as long as we don't beat them and then it all changes. They are the huns twin ugly sister

19-12-2015, 07:43 PM
Agree with One Day here.

CS gas bring back any memories?

19-12-2015, 08:08 PM

I hate them most out of all football teams the world over. Always want Hertz and Rankgers to beat them because I know that will hurt.

19-12-2015, 08:10 PM
Say no more. My feelings exactly

What he says.

19-12-2015, 08:22 PM

They also have an over inflated opinion of themselves that most Scottish fans find nauseating. Any group of supporters who have to constantly remind everyone of how special they are, are not special.

19-12-2015, 10:24 PM

Can only assume you're on the wind up. "Up the 'RA" gets trotted out most weeks, and let's not forget the anti-poppy banners and the like.

Quite often get Celtc fans on the train south wheeling out the "wee cousins" rubbish. Absolutely despise them. Cheeks of the same horrible weegie backside with The Rangers.

19-12-2015, 10:33 PM
Can only assume you're on the wind up. "Up the 'RA" gets trotted out most weeks, and let's not forget the anti-poppy banners and the like.

Quite often get Celtc fans on the train south wheeling out the "wee cousins" rubbish. Absolutely despise them. Cheeks of the same horrible weegie backside with The Rangers.

How is "up the RA" a bigoted song? I hear many protest songs when Celtic play....and yes, there is a proportion of them with republican songs in their song book...none of that is bigoted though....

19-12-2015, 11:25 PM
How is "up the RA" a bigoted song? I hear many protest songs when Celtic play....and yes, there is a proportion of them with republican songs in their song book...none of that is bigoted though....

Maybe not bigoted in the true sense of the word, but you'd agree that singing in support of a terrorist organisation is in somewhat poor taste?

19-12-2015, 11:28 PM
Maybe not bigoted in the true sense of the word, but you'd agree that singing in support of a terrorist organisation is in somewhat poor taste?

100% agree with that. But it is not bigoted. There will be many non Catholics who support their cause..