And we are off.

Anderson on tonight.

17-12-2015, 06:48 PM
Who do u think will win?

17-12-2015, 06:55 PM
I'm tempted by Peter Wright e/w at 20s.

If MVG plays to his best he's the man to beat though imo.

17-12-2015, 07:14 PM
Ian White is one I'm siding with.

17-12-2015, 07:44 PM

Interesting.

17-12-2015, 07:53 PM
Interesting.

He looks a certainty to me to get to the Q/F where he'll most likely meet MVG or Bunting. On his day, White can match anyone's 3-dart average.

If he was to hit his doubles in the Q/F then who knows. He's a difficult opponent and will have the crowd on his side.

There seems value in the odds.

17-12-2015, 08:46 PM
He looks a certainty to me to get to the Q/F where he'll most likely meet MVG or Bunting. On his day, White can match anyone's 3-dart average.

If he was to hit his doubles in the Q/F then who knows. He's a difficult opponent and will have the crowd on his side.

He's a good player.

I must admit, I just can't see past MVG but hope for Gary.

18-12-2015, 06:48 PM
What a pile of dross this qualifying match is tonight. I've honestly witnessed better darts in my local boozer.

No surprise that SKY don't show the 3 dart averages.

18-12-2015, 07:10 PM
What a pile of dross this qualifying match is tonight. I've honestly witnessed better darts in my local boozer.

Watched the 1st set - hard watch.

This boy Kyle Anderson looks decent. Probably get beat now!

18-12-2015, 11:20 PM

The boy played a lot better v MVG losing 4-2 in the 5th set. Good entertainment.

19-12-2015, 09:14 AM
How does an E/w darts bet work or am I being silly.

19-12-2015, 10:57 AM

No doubt he's a good player G, but I just don't think he can hold it together when it comes to the really big games. I watched him beat Anderson a few months back at the Grand Prix where he didn't miss a double all night - next evening he couldn't hit one. Can't see him winning it, but good luck.

19-12-2015, 02:55 PM

Hope you didn't go large.

19-12-2015, 02:55 PM
No doubt he's a good player G, but I just don't think he can hold it together when it comes to the really big games. I watched him beat Anderson a few months back at the Grand Prix where he didn't miss a double all night - next evening he couldn't hit one. Can't see him winning it, but good luck.

He certainly won't be winning it now!

:kdarts:

19-12-2015, 05:47 PM
He certainly won't be winning it now!

:kdarts:

Stick to the Ryman League :greengrin

19-12-2015, 06:00 PM
Stick to the Ryman League :greengrin

As you said, Dave, White can blow hot or cold. He was on an off-day and the Belgian won fairly easily. In all honesty, it should have been 3-0 as White stole the 1st set.

I have a ticket for tonight's session but really can't be bothered. I'll watch the prelim match and if my mood changes then I might head to the Ally Pally.

I'd rather watch MotD since I've avoided seeing that Man Utd lost 1-2 at home to Norwich :greengrin

19-12-2015, 08:00 PM
Whitlock out, he should have had it wrapped up but what a come back by evans, cracking match

19-12-2015, 08:10 PM
Whitlock out, he should have had it wrapped up but what a come back by evans, cracking match

High quality. I enjoyed that - the scoring and the accuracy on the doubles was brilliant by both.

19-12-2015, 08:13 PM
High quality. I enjoyed that - the scoring and the accuracy on the doubles was brilliant by both.

I half wish I had went now - as I had a freebie in the players lounge.

I'm not a huge Whitlock fan and glad to see him out.

19-12-2015, 08:29 PM
I half wish I had went now - as I had a freebie in the players lounge.

I've always quite like Whitlock.

Is there something you know about him that makes you dislike him G?

19-12-2015, 08:34 PM

I always wanted him to do well but he was a complete c0ck when he played Anderson recently, slowing the game down to an absolute crawl. Painter is another one like that, so hopefully he gets the booted out next round and disappears into the PDC wilderness.

I don't mind slow players if that's their style but this slow, staggered walk to get the arrows does my nut in. Gamesmanship, pure and simple.

19-12-2015, 08:43 PM
I've always quite like Whitlock.

Is there something you know about him that makes you dislike him G?

Don't quote me on this :wink: but when he broke onto the scene he made it to the semi-final of the WC only to get beaten by Wade in a classic match (one of the best I've seen). He was lacking a sponsor and was having to move back to Australia due to lack of funds.

He found a sponsor - Harlow Dogs - believe me, as a greyhound owner and knowing the folks involved at Harlow Dogs (and the adjacent football club) there's a lot of iffy money being sloshed around in those parts. Without checking, I think they lost their BAGS status recently.

There's no evidence in the public domain, but I understand that several of Whitlock's matches have been flagged-up for irregular betting. Given who his (then) sponsors were, I'm not the slightest bit surprised. 2 + 2 does add up to 4 now and again.

Lo-and-behold, Whitlock loses his contract with Harlow and his form has suddenly picked-up again.

I fully expect darts to be hit with betting scandals akin to what has happened in snooker. Barry Hearn is involved in both organisations so he'll attempt to sweep everything under the carpet. IMHO - Whitlock is/was on the make.

22-12-2015, 05:47 AM
Thornton pumped 3-0 last night.

26-12-2015, 09:58 AM
Anderson plays again tonight, I think he is last on, doubt I'll be able to make out whether he is scoring 180 or 360 by then! :-)

26-12-2015, 07:38 PM
Gary's not at the races just now.

26-12-2015, 10:04 PM
Not sure how Gary won 4-1 but I'll take it, bed time!

Oh aye I meant to say his 170 was a tremendous checkout.

McKenzie
27-12-2015, 09:22 PM
Mvg incredible! Can't see anyone knocking him out of this

29-12-2015, 05:31 PM

Akin, And his name is Gary Anderson because he gets right under MVG skin AND he is a bloody good darts player who's BOTTLE is never EVER in question.

29-12-2015, 08:04 PM
Anderson has just made Van der voort look silly...wins 4-0 and basically 12-1 in legs!

Someone that plays as fast as Gary and you don't beat him.. I'm no caring if its MVG or Ady Lewis, Anderson starts favourite from here on in IMO that was ****ing flawless!! Vincent was shaking his head at some of checkouts.

By far and away the best display of the tournament.

29-12-2015, 08:31 PM
Anderson played well, don't think he played as well as MVG did when he averaged 109 earlier in the tournament. Gary averaged 101.5 tonight.

29-12-2015, 09:07 PM
The two Dutchmen putting on a show as Barney goes 3-2 up, magic darts!

29-12-2015, 09:14 PM
3 sets each, game on!

29-12-2015, 09:21 PM
Unbelievable!! Never thought Barney had it in him!

29-12-2015, 09:21 PM
Barney wins 4-3, what a match, brilliant!

29-12-2015, 09:23 PM
Fantastic match.

29-12-2015, 09:23 PM
Oooooft.

He'll get beat next time out! Ha Ha!

30-12-2015, 07:38 AM

I can :-)

30-12-2015, 07:24 PM
Wright v Chisnall is going to a deciding set, been a great match so far.

30-12-2015, 07:43 PM
Tremendous stuff yet again, I love The Ally Pally!

30-12-2015, 07:44 PM
What a match!

30-12-2015, 07:46 PM
Get in there Peter! :-)

30-12-2015, 07:57 PM
Next up - THE BO'NESS BOY!

30-12-2015, 08:03 PM
Next up - THE BO'NESS BOY!
I wondered what you were on about there so I googled him and found out. I wonder how he ended up in Bo'ness.

30-12-2015, 08:20 PM
I wondered what you were on about there so I googled him and found out. I wonder how he ended up in Bo'ness.

Now't wrong with Bo'ness :greengrin

1 set up :thumbsup:

30-12-2015, 08:56 PM
Alan Norris 3-1 up.

To think I took a leg off him in The Crown last year :cb

30-12-2015, 09:44 PM
Can the commentators get their tongues any further up Taylors ring?

30-12-2015, 10:44 PM
Bye, bye Phil! What a tournament this is.

30-12-2015, 10:45 PM
Get in! Brilliant from Klaasen!

31-12-2015, 12:34 AM

His mum and dad from good old boness

01-01-2016, 01:12 PM
His mum and dad from good old boness

He's back on now and winning 3-1

01-01-2016, 02:01 PM
Chuck loses 5-4

01-01-2016, 03:15 PM
Anderson kills off Wade as a darts player.

01-01-2016, 03:23 PM
Wade just fell to bits at the end there, well played anderson though

01-01-2016, 03:25 PM

Akin, And his name is Gary Anderson because he gets right under MVG skin AND he is a bloody good darts player who's BOTTLE is never EVER in question.

Hate to say i told ye so ..Gary Anderson is the world champion and he aint giving it up lightly !!

I'd wager Ando v Wright or Smith final.

01-01-2016, 03:51 PM
Wade just fell to bits at the end there, well played anderson though

One of Wade's key strengths is throwing straight darts as he rarely lets his arrows stray into the 5 or 1 beds. Today he was struggling to get three consecutive darts into the 20 or 19's.

On another bright note, that performance might see Wade slip out of contention for a Premier League spot.

01-01-2016, 05:05 PM
One of Wade's key strengths is throwing straight darts as he rarely lets his arrows stray into the 5 or 1 beds. Today he was struggling to get three consecutive darts into the 20 or 19's.

On another bright note, that performance might see Wade slip out of contention for a Premier League spot.

Wayne Mardle alluded to the fact Wade was 'bobbing' up and down when throwing his arrows and replays showed that, I have NEVER seen Wade throw Darts as bad as he did today, Eric Bristow is his new(ish) coach i wonder if he had anything to do with it.

Take nowt away from Anderson though, The best player through out the tournament (Maybe bar Klassen) should be some semi final.

01-01-2016, 05:22 PM
Hate to say i told ye so ..Gary Anderson is the world champion and he aint giving it up lightly !!

I'd wager Ando v Wright or Smith final.

Anderson didn't beat MVG!

01-01-2016, 05:33 PM
Anderson didn't beat MVG!

Really ? I was more alluding to his point 'Nae one will beat MVG'...Which to be fair the erse fell oot of that one.

I'd have preferred Anderson to play MVG ( straight from the horses mouth) he plays better against the big uns.

Either way only 2 Englishmen left in the tourney and it will only be 1 after tonight ;-()

01-01-2016, 07:21 PM
Smith is wiping the floor with Barney at the moment. 3 zip.

01-01-2016, 07:38 PM
Some good arrows from Barney and it's now 3-2. Game on!

01-01-2016, 07:57 PM
Smith looks like he's chucked it. 4-3 to RVB

01-01-2016, 08:04 PM
4-4 some match again. This has been some tournament

01-01-2016, 08:14 PM
Really ? I was more alluding to his point 'Nae one will beat MVG'...Which to be fair the erse fell oot of that one.

I'd have preferred Anderson to play MVG ( straight from the horses mouth) he plays better against the big uns.

Either way only 2 Englishmen left in the tourney and it will only be 1 after tonight ;-()

So you reckon 2 Brits left after tonight then ;-)

01-01-2016, 08:16 PM
RVB wins after Smith has 1 dart to win it

01-01-2016, 08:19 PM
Barney played really well to come back from 3-0, but Smith probably suffered from a lack of experience a bit.

Would think either Lewis or Wright will beat him in the semi.

01-01-2016, 08:44 PM
Barney played really well to come back from 3-0, but Smith probably suffered from a lack of experience a bit.

Would think either Lewis or Wright will beat him in the semi.

Smith seemed to get a wee bit wound up when Barney celebrated right in front of him. Made a face at the time and he fell apart a bit after, was frosty at the post match handshake as well.

01-01-2016, 08:53 PM
Anyone else think the kolo/yaya chant gets a bit boring?

01-01-2016, 08:56 PM
Anyone else think the kolo/yaya chant gets a bit boring?

The whole darts atmosphere looks like it would get a bit boring after 15 minutes imo.

A sport I far prefer to watch on the telly.

01-01-2016, 08:58 PM
The whole darts atmosphere looks like it would get a bit boring after 15 minutes imo.

A sport I far prefer to watch on the telly.

Most of the crowd look pished so I think it's probably good for those there. But if your sober it would murder

01-01-2016, 11:06 PM
The standard is starting to defy common sense, what a great tv attraction this is. Cannae believe Sergey prevented me from being at Ally Pally for one extra time, that's who I'm blaming anyway.

01-01-2016, 11:13 PM
The standard is starting to defy common sense, what a great tv attraction this is. Cannae believe Sergey prevented me from being at Ally Pally for one extra time, that's who I'm blaming anyway.

I've just got back - brilliant night (but there are some weirdo's there).

Big Dutch contingent too.

Bed for moi (a bit worse for ware/wear/where)

01-01-2016, 11:45 PM
I've just got back - brilliant night (but there are some weirdo's there).

Big Dutch contingent too.

Bed for moi (a bit worse for ware/wear/where)

What do u mean weird?

02-01-2016, 09:59 AM

The standard at the PDC is amazing.

I've said it before - the BDO guys are crazy having their tournament straight after this. It shows them up as complete amateurs in comparison. They should move it to early December or out to May or June.

02-01-2016, 10:14 AM
The standard at the PDC is amazing.

I've said it before - the BDO guys are crazy having their tournament straight after this. It shows them up as complete amateurs in comparison. They should move it to early December or out to May or June.

The biggest issue with the BDO for me isn't so much the standard, whilst it can be appaling in the early rounds there are some good darts players reach the latter stages, but rather the presentation.

The PDC is so slick and professional in it's appearance. The Sky studio is as good as you see at football matches, player interviews take place either in there or in front of a huge, boisterous crowd, you never, ever see alcohol consumption from the players and that all combines with good darts to provide a watchable spectacle. The BDO by comparsion is Colin Murray and Bobby George in the back room of a boozer where you clearly see players having a pint post match and on ocassion pre match whilst on the practice boards. It looks cheap and like a pub game which matters little to the real darts fan but to the legions of casual viwers the PDC attracts it is laughable and a turn off. There's no doubt in my mind that kind of thing happens in the PDC as well it's just kept a million miles away from the TV cameras.

02-01-2016, 11:49 AM
The biggest issue with the BDO for me isn't so much the standard, whilst it can be appaling in the early rounds there are some good darts players reach the latter stages, but rather the presentation.

The PDC is so slick and professional in it's appearance. The Sky studio is as good as you see at football matches, player interviews take place either in there or in front of a huge, boisterous crowd, you never, ever see alcohol consumption from the players and that all combines with good darts to provide a watchable spectacle. The BDO by comparsion is Colin Murray and Bobby George in the back room of a boozer where you clearly see players having a pint post match and on ocassion pre match whilst on the practice boards. It looks cheap and like a pub game which matters little to the real darts fan but to the legions of casual viwers the PDC attracts it is laughable and a turn off. There's no doubt in my mind that kind of thing happens in the PDC as well it's just kept a million miles away from the TV cameras.

I think it's fair to say that that the players are not nipping off to the toilets at every ad break.

02-01-2016, 07:02 PM
2 cracking matches tonight, come on Gary.

02-01-2016, 07:54 PM
Watching the women in the BDO, Anastasia against someone else called Zulstra.

Both trying to hit double 1 to finish. 18 darts between them at doubles 4, 2 and 1. Zulstra finally hit double 1 after a painfully long time. Tony Green doing his best to make it seem like top entertainment.

02-01-2016, 07:59 PM

Both trying to hit double 1 to finish. 18 darts between them at doubles 4, 2 and 1. Zulstra finally hit double 1 after a painfully long time. Tony Green doing his best to make it seem like top entertainment.

I remember watching the BDO tournament last year and the standard was excruciating.

It was like watching a different sport after watching the PDC the week before.

02-01-2016, 08:06 PM
Barney is struggling here, could end up 6-0

02-01-2016, 08:23 PM
Barney is struggling here, could end up 6-0

comeback is on!

02-01-2016, 08:28 PM
It's times like this I regret getting shot of Sky Sports.

Commentators on the cooncil darts getting all excited because a guy is averaging 'over 90'. His opponent averaging 72.3.

Visit to the boozer for the PDC final tomorrow I think.

02-01-2016, 08:28 PM
Lewis currently ending Van Barneveld's career as a darts player.

Lucky for him, it can't end 5-1. :greengrin

02-01-2016, 08:57 PM
All over, Lewis through to final 6-3

02-01-2016, 09:19 PM
Nine darter for Anderson. :not worth

Wins the first set.

02-01-2016, 09:20 PM

Wins the first set.

Outstanding.

Wins the first set.

Brilliant. What a great first set from him.

9 darter from Gary Anderson!

Had £5 on either player to get one tonight @ 10/1 :)

02-01-2016, 09:21 PM
Oh Gary Gary .....

02-01-2016, 09:21 PM

:hilarious sounds like me and my mates playing in the garage!

02-01-2016, 09:24 PM
Different class.

02-01-2016, 09:55 PM
Unbelievable darts from Anderson, Taylor at his best would struggle to live with this.

02-01-2016, 10:05 PM
Tremendous darts from Anderson so far.

02-01-2016, 10:12 PM
Anderson is unstoppable on that form.

02-01-2016, 10:15 PM
Whitewash

02-01-2016, 10:16 PM
Anderson is unstoppable on that form.
:agree: Head and shoulders above anyone else

02-01-2016, 10:16 PM
Phenomenal from Ando. If he plays like that tomorrow, he wins.

02-01-2016, 10:28 PM
Words fail me, what a performance that was, Anderson looks like he owns the stage. Looking forward to the final. What a tournament.

02-01-2016, 10:30 PM
Gary averaged 132 and a bit in set 1, thats half decent! :-)

02-01-2016, 10:33 PM
Tough game tomorrow. If he keeps it going then he should win.

2011 still pisses him off so hope he uses that to his advantage tomorrow.

murray26
02-01-2016, 10:55 PM
He seems to be improving with age.. If he produces the same again tomorrow he'll stroll it.

03-01-2016, 08:26 AM
Is it just me who always expects Lewis to keel over half way through a match? He looks absolutely terrible, always looks really ill to me.

03-01-2016, 08:34 AM
Is it just me who always expects Lewis to keel over half way through a match? He looks absolutely terrible, always looks really ill to me.

He could do with losing a few lbs. He's a big unit.

Great tits though.

03-01-2016, 09:28 AM

He looks like he needs a wash

03-01-2016, 10:02 AM

Great tits though.

03-01-2016, 10:52 AM
What times the final

03-01-2016, 10:55 AM
What times the final

It's scheduled to start at 20:15 on SKY Sports 1

03-01-2016, 11:31 AM

He's a big laddie. Sure I heard he was a goalkeeper on a pro clubs books when he was younger. He'll be very difficult to beat tonight if he finds a rhythm early on.

03-01-2016, 12:40 PM
Decent match in the BDO just now. Caldwell v Mitchell, 11 dart leg, 12 dart leg, 161 checkout, couple of chances at a 9 darter after 6 darts, double figures for 180s and both averaging over 95.

Pleasantly surprised.

03-01-2016, 01:22 PM
Followed by a game that saw the 1st leg won in 23 (twenty three) darts.

Back to the standard expected.

03-01-2016, 01:29 PM
2nd leg was a better 17 darts, 3rd saw us back up to 19.

One of the players is a scrawny guy from Lincolnshire who takes an age counting and spends more time mouthing at the crowd rather then throwing darts. Pitiful stuff.

03-01-2016, 01:32 PM
The walk ons were hilarious in this game. Swedish bloke took about 10mins and the English kids Ma almost kissed him to death!

03-01-2016, 01:38 PM
The walk ons were hilarious in this game. Swedish bloke took about 10mins and the English kids Ma almost kissed him to death!

Almosy cheered when he won that leg there. 12 missed doubles and 6 legs lost on the bounce. Feel a bit sorry for him.

03-01-2016, 01:42 PM
Jeezo the worlds slowest comeback is on. 8 missed darts at a double in a row but the 9th lands for a 24 dart leg. 2 doubles out of 20.

03-01-2016, 01:57 PM
And we're into a deciding set. The standard has been so bad it's actually ended up being an exciting match.

03-01-2016, 02:25 PM
Women's walk on was the ultimate cringe. Danish women was off her nut.

03-01-2016, 02:55 PM
Women's walk on was the ultimate cringe. Danish women was off her nut.

Up against a 1/5 favourite and won.

Why do womens darts players play less sets than men?

03-01-2016, 03:12 PM

It'll be down to the fitness and strength required?

More likely they take even longer to get the double so it keeps the matches at a similar length?

03-01-2016, 03:12 PM
Ted Hankey is so tedious to watch.

03-01-2016, 03:13 PM
Decent match in the BDO just now. Caldwell v Mitchell, 11 dart leg, 12 dart leg, 161 checkout, couple of chances at a 9 darter after 6 darts, double figures for 180s and both averaging over 95.

Pleasantly surprised.

I saw this part of the match - was surprised at the standard. Mitchell won it last year but is only no 6 seed this year and the other boy was unseeded - he was pinging a few 140s in and done the first 6 darts for a 9 darter before he realised and bottled it.

03-01-2016, 03:15 PM

It gives them more time to get the housework done. :-)

03-01-2016, 03:39 PM
It gives them more time to get the housework done. :-)

http://youtu.be/6zXDo4dL7SU

03-01-2016, 03:40 PM
http://youtu.be/6zXDo4dL7SU

03-01-2016, 04:15 PM
What times the final

Its due to start at 1900 according to Sky Sports website.

03-01-2016, 05:31 PM
Fancy Lewis tonight

03-01-2016, 06:18 PM
It's scheduled to start at 20:15 on SKY Sports 1

It started 10 minutes ago

03-01-2016, 06:19 PM
1-0 Lewis poor start by Anderson

03-01-2016, 06:20 PM
It started 10 minutes ago

Thank the lord for the ispy function - I only missed the opening set!

03-01-2016, 06:22 PM
1-0 Lewis poor start by Anderson

Very slack start. If he let Lewis gets away he will toil to claw it back.

03-01-2016, 06:27 PM
Awesome darts 1-1

03-01-2016, 06:27 PM
Very slack start. If he let Lewis gets away he will toil to claw it back.

Turned up in the second set!

03-01-2016, 06:31 PM
Turned up in the second set!
36 darts to win the 2nd set :not worth

03-01-2016, 06:44 PM

Thank the lord for the ispy function - I only missed the opening set!

:greengrin Glad to be of service.

03-01-2016, 06:51 PM
I'm in two minds here.

He's not playing overly well and has thrown too many loose darts. Then on the other hand, Lewis is only holding him at 2-2 and you hope Gary will get better!

03-01-2016, 07:02 PM
3-2 Lewis. Anderson missing a few doubles now.

03-01-2016, 07:02 PM
Adrian Lewis looks like a caveman.

03-01-2016, 07:20 PM
Both missing doubles but it's a slight advantage to Anderson after he wins the 7th set against the darts.

03-01-2016, 07:23 PM
He needs to follow that set up and take control.

03-01-2016, 07:36 PM
Mental stuff Anderson miscounts for the third time tonight but goes 5-3 up

03-01-2016, 07:46 PM
6-4 to Anderson needs one more to retain his title. Mon the Hibby

03-01-2016, 07:55 PM
Oh no.

03-01-2016, 08:01 PM
All over Hibs retain the darts world championship

03-01-2016, 08:03 PM
All over Hibs retain the darts world championship

Along with winning the Davis cup :greengrin

03-01-2016, 08:05 PM
Well done Gary lad!

03-01-2016, 08:10 PM
Glory Glory Gary Anderson :thumbsup: :aok: :flag:

03-01-2016, 08:10 PM
Pulsating stuff!

03-01-2016, 08:19 PM
Pulsating stuff!

Entertaining,but at times the standard was abysmal. Having said that at times it was also outrageously good.

03-01-2016, 08:21 PM
Entertaining,but at times the standard was abysmal. Having said that at times it was also outrageously good.

Yeah i agree, I think that's what made it pulsating, going from incredible standards to poor and back again. :greengrin

03-01-2016, 08:25 PM

Really? Did u not see all the 180's?

03-01-2016, 08:32 PM
Well done Mr Anderson, fully deserved over the course of the tournament.

03-01-2016, 08:44 PM

The players said it themselves in the post match interviews. I think they both "only" averaged around 100 - it's usually a bit higher than that I think?

Still exciting though.

03-01-2016, 08:54 PM

Come on now. Both players at points were terrible. Lewis took 12 darts and still didn't get close to a finish.

Anderson burst himself and miscounted about 3/4 times.

But at other times it was amazing, hence, all the 180s.

03-01-2016, 09:39 PM
Not a classic but delighted for Anderson. That 170 finish was superb.

03-01-2016, 11:38 PM
The players said it themselves in the post match interviews. I think they both "only" averaged around 100 - it's usually a bit higher than that I think?

Still exciting though.
Which shows you how ridiculous the standard is at the PDC right now, absolutely frightening!!:agree:

05-01-2016, 07:02 AM
I only found out recently that PDC trebles are bigger than the BDO trebles so that might explain the higher averages/scoring etc...

I don't buy it though, I still think 9 out of 10 PDC players would tank BDO on either board!

05-01-2016, 12:00 PM
I only found out recently that PDC trebles are bigger than the BDO trebles so that might explain the higher averages/scoring etc...

I don't buy it though, I still think 9 out of 10 PDC players would tank BDO on either board!

I'm sure I read that somewhere too but that the doubles beds were larger in the bdo ( as the board is the same overall size) so kinda evens out.

08-01-2016, 02:55 PM
Really enjoying the darts this afternoon, two very decent matches.

08-01-2016, 06:14 PM
Really enjoying the darts this afternoon, two very decent matches.
When the bdo gets to the latter stages it's great. Scotty(too hotty) Waites was brilliant against Durrant and is where my money's going to win it.

08-01-2016, 06:24 PM
When the bdo gets to the latter stages it's great. Scotty(too hotty) Waites was brilliant against Durrant and is where my money's going to win it.

Agreed. The BDO has some good players that make the latter stages of tournaments and the averages reflect that. Let's be honest plenty of the early matches in the PDC world champs are a pretty poor standard as well.

08-01-2016, 09:21 PM
Agreed. The BDO has some good players that make the latter stages of tournaments and the averages reflect that. Let's be honest plenty of the early matches in the PDC world champs are a pretty poor standard as well.
:agree: There's no doubt the standards are higher in the pdc but those guys are professional darts players and when the two codes meet the bdo shows up pretty well.
That said give me the pdc every time. I'm going to Newcastle next month for the premiere league, I usually go to Glasgow, but it falls on Cheltenham week :greengrin

08-01-2016, 11:05 PM
Every PDC champion has come from the BDO except Jackpot. A good apprenticeship.

09-01-2016, 06:30 AM
:agree: There's no doubt the standards are higher in the pdc but those guys are professional darts players and when the two codes meet the bdo shows up pretty well.
That said give me the pdc every time. I'm going to Newcastle next month for the premiere league, I usually go to Glasgow, but it falls on Cheltenham week :greengrin

See Anderson plays Van Gerwen.

09-01-2016, 10:18 AM
Every PDC champion has come from the BDO except Jackpot. A good apprenticeship.

No, Lewis did start in the BDO but only ever played in a couple of events.

Given the PDC has only been around for 20 odd years and the dominance of Taylor it's a no brainer that every PDC champ started off in the BDO as that's where good county players got a grounding. However, the PDC has invested heavily in the youth tour and guys like Smith, Brown and some of the good Dutch and Belgian youngsters who will be future champs will have been brought through the PDC.

09-01-2016, 11:49 AM
No, Lewis did start in the BDO but only ever played in a couple of events.

Given the PDC has only been around for 20 odd years and the dominance of Taylor it's a no brainer that every PDC champ started off in the BDO as that's where good county players got a grounding. However, the PDC has invested heavily in the youth tour and guys like Smith, Brown and some of the good Dutch and Belgian youngsters who will be future champs will have been brought through the PDC.

No doubt the PDC has invested heavily in youth but they'd love to get their hands on the county set up hence the bids they have made to buy the BDO.

With Ollie Smith out the way and Wolfie softening his stance slightly towards the PDC (appeared in the Grand Slam for the 1st time last year for example) it wouldn't be a massive shock if there's some kind of 'merger' or formal agreement in the medium term.

09-01-2016, 07:44 PM
Jeff Smith just had 7 perfect darts whilst 3-2 up in the decising set with the match at 5-5.

Took out double 10 with the 10th dart to reach the final. Brilliant leg of darts under that kind of pressure.

10-01-2016, 06:14 PM
Waites was cruising 5-0 in the final, Smith took out a 161 to win set 6, he's started well in set 7 too but, can't see Waites losing from here.

10-01-2016, 06:21 PM
6-1 Waites now, cane back from a break down in the 7th set.

Pretty poor standard for a final really which is a shame as the tournament has been decent.

10-01-2016, 06:32 PM
Game, set and match - 7-1 Waites.

10-01-2016, 06:34 PM
Game, set and match - 7-1 Waites.

Be lucky if the match average was above 80

10-01-2016, 09:39 PM
Some decent scoring at times - it's the consistency these guys lack.

I take it the doubles are smaller in the BDO?

15-01-2016, 08:56 PM

There was a thread on a darts forum which said there was a difference in wire thickness between the Eclipse Pro (PDC board) and Winmau (BDO) but that no longer is the case.

18-01-2016, 06:31 AM

Bigger I believe. Trebles smaller, doubles bigger!