View Full Version : Can You Remember

Edina Erin
13-12-2015, 08:49 AM
The last time you saw a goal that came from a contested drop ball?

13-12-2015, 09:39 AM
The last time you saw a goal that came from a contested drop ball?

Yesterday :greengrin

13-12-2015, 10:04 AM
Apart from yesterday I can't recall a contested drop ball....

13-12-2015, 10:10 AM
Maybe not from a drop ball scenario,but did we not score against Dundee Utd, when Mattias Jack refused to give the ball back ?
Utd players went tonto if i remember correctly . :greengrin

13-12-2015, 10:12 AM
Ironically I was raging as it shoukdnt have been a drop ball. Ox had put the ball out. It should have been a Falkirk throw in that they would ordinarily have given us possession from.

13-12-2015, 10:13 AM
Maybe not from a drop ball scenario,but did we not score against Dundee Utd, when Mattias Jack refused to give the ball back ?

Was it not a throw in he never gave back, and we went into box an got a pen in with literally last kick of the game

13-12-2015, 10:17 AM
Ironically I was raging as it shoukdnt have been a drop ball. Ox had put the ball out. It should have been a Falkirk throw in that they would ordinarily have given us possession from.

The ref had already blown to stop the game. It shouldn't have been a drop ball though because it was a bad foul on Stevenson,

13-12-2015, 10:33 AM
The ref had already blown to stop the game. It shouldn't have been a drop ball though because it was a bad foul on Stevenson,

:agree: This is correct.

13-12-2015, 10:37 AM

Ta. I can calm doon now.😄

AngusHibby
13-12-2015, 10:40 AM
who won the drop ball?

13-12-2015, 10:40 AM

If Hibs were in possession ( Ox had the ball ) should it not have been a knock back to the keeper and not a contested drop ball.

13-12-2015, 10:44 AM

That was fantastic. As I remember (and it's possible I may have embellished this in the time since...), Dundee United were struggling to hang on and their players were throwing themselves at the ground at every opportunity. The 'Matty Jack Incident' happened when Hibs were running in on goal and their player went down for the umpteenth time, kidding on he was mortally wounded. It was a pathetic and calculated attempt to get possession back in a dangerous area for them. They didn't :greengrin.

SausageSurprise
13-12-2015, 10:53 AM
Every drop ball should be contested. I can't stand all this giving the ball back pish

13-12-2015, 12:38 PM
I like modern-day drop balls. If there's ever wind that one team won't just be given the ball back, everyone stands around for a good minute without a scoob what to do next.

13-12-2015, 12:54 PM
That was fantastic. As I remember (and it's possible I may have embellished this in the time since...), Dundee United were struggling to hang on and their players were throwing themselves at the ground at every opportunity. The 'Matty Jack Incident' happened when Hibs were running in on goal and their player went down for the umpteenth time, kidding on he was mortally wounded. It was a pathetic and calculated attempt to get possession back in a dangerous area for them. They didn't :greengrin.

Our goalkeeping coach was their goalie that day.....

Green Reaper
13-12-2015, 01:37 PM
Our goalkeeping coach was their goalie that day.....

You mean this one. Quality not good but fun to watch! Hope link works

https://youtu.be/BgBQlenWbBk

13-12-2015, 01:48 PM
I thought the ref had awarded them a free kick at first which would have summed his performance up

13-12-2015, 01:49 PM
I thought the ref had awarded them a free kick at first which would have summed his performance up

That's exactly what I thought, after the tackle he definitely had his hand raised pointing towards the Hibs end..........

13-12-2015, 01:50 PM
Was it not a throw in he never gave back, and we went into box an got a pen in with literally last kick of the game

Got a corner from the throw, then from the corner Craig Easton(?) gave away a (fairly soft) penalty, which Latapy scored. It was in the 97th minute IIRC. I have a feeling the foul for the pen might have been on Jack as well. Combe attempted to headbutt one of the linesmen as he was leaving the pitch.

Bonus fact: it was the second last game in front of the old main stand.

Green Reaper
13-12-2015, 02:15 PM
This link should work:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BgBQlenWbBk

McLean grinning about getting a draw just before it all happened, then raging after

13-12-2015, 02:19 PM
This link should work:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BgBQlenWbBk

McLean grinning about getting a draw just before it all happened, then raging after

Alex Smith I think.

Matty Jack had the honour of being hated by both Dundee teams. United for that game and Dundee for getting hit in the face by one of their players who was sent off. Always got pelters whenever we played either of them.

Green Reaper
13-12-2015, 02:35 PM
Alex Smith I think.

Matty Jack had the honour of being hated by both Dundee teams. United for that game and Dundee for getting hit in the face by one of their players who was sent off. Always got pelters whenever we played either of them.
You're right, was Smith. Very soft pen made it even better

13-12-2015, 04:03 PM
:agree: This is correct.

And Houston claims it was the Falkirk player who was fouled! Crazy interpretation.

13-12-2015, 04:21 PM
There should be far more contested drop balls. I can't recall a goal coming from one. It was definitely the Hibs players who wanted it contested.

As for the Matty Jack penalty, Utd fans still rage about it to this day :big grin: Their player clips Jack's achilles tendon but it looks accidental. I was busy moaning about Lehman giving away a foul before I realised Freeland had given a penalty. Freeland was a total roaster of a ref. This game which finished 0-1 to Falkirk was out of control from beginning to end http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/premiership/bairns-find-points-amid-red-mist-1-1415459

Wee Scottie Dug
13-12-2015, 04:26 PM
who won the drop ball?

The same guy who insisted on it being a drop ball ..... FF :not worth

ACLeith
13-12-2015, 05:15 PM
The same guy who insisted on it being a drop ball ..... FF :not worth

Looking at the "contestants" there was only going to be one winner, given the determination that was running through us. 👍

13-12-2015, 05:55 PM
And Houston claims it was the Falkirk player who was fouled! Crazy interpretation.

Houston is usually way out with these things, imho.

Edina Erin
20-12-2015, 05:12 PM
So our last two goals have now come from "contested" drop balls. Does that make us specialists ?[emoji6]

20-12-2015, 07:59 PM

My lord! Falkirk WERE busy yesterday........ :wink:

20-12-2015, 08:04 PM
My lord! Falkirk WERE busy yesterday........ :wink:

No they weren't. They played Rangers. Check the date ya dafty.

21-12-2015, 06:33 PM
No they weren't. They played Rangers. Check the date ya dafty.

My bad! :greengrin

Blame it on the weekend's excitement!

21-12-2015, 11:49 PM
My bad! :greengrin

Blame it on the weekend's excitement!

hibbydog
22-12-2015, 09:22 AM
Every drop ball should be contested. I can't stand all this giving the ball back pish

Totally agree.

All this crap etiquette about putting the ball out of play when the opposition has a player hurt is bollocks. The referee only should decide when the game stops.

Can't remember who, but there was a manager who wrote to every team in the league at the start I the season saying his team would be contesting every drop ball. They won't be putting the ball out of play if the opposition has a player hurt and they don't expect other teams to do that for them.

That way everyone knows where they stand and there's no nonsense going on.