View Full Version : Hibernian V Falkirk

Long suffering
12-12-2015, 05:33 AM
Thought I'd start the Matchday thread from out here in smoggy China! (Hope that's alright always wanted to start a Matchday thread)I know it's during the night at the moment but what's the weather looking like for the match? Think it'll be tough today but think we'll get a narrow 1-0 win a mcgregor header 83! Crowd of 10,122.
Glory glory

Long suffering
12-12-2015, 05:35 AM
[QUOTE=Long suffering;4521244]Thought I'd start the Matchday thread from out here in smoggy China! (Hope that's alright always wanted to start a Matchday thread)I know it's during the night at the moment but what's the weather looking like for the match? Think it'll be tough today but think we'll get a narrow 1-0 win a mcgregor header 83! Crowd of 10,122.
Glory glory[/QUOTE
Not during the night I see half 7

12-12-2015, 06:03 AM
Weather looking fine for later, and the only smog evident will be from the throng of half time smokers. Looking forward to getting back after the three week break and hopefully the winning streak can continue. Not heard of any team new at this early hour.

Hibby_G
12-12-2015, 11:19 AM
Team news ??
Weather??
Score predictions??

ASGWA
:gwa::gwa::flag::flag:

12-12-2015, 11:25 AM
:music: gie the baw tae reillyyyyy

SJNB Hibby
12-12-2015, 11:46 AM
Chance to put Falkirk out of the 1st/2nd equation today---lets keep the run going:gwa:

12-12-2015, 01:15 PM
Any team news

12-12-2015, 01:16 PM
Anier on the bench today

12-12-2015, 01:17 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CWB-pi0WEAA0lM3.png:large

12-12-2015, 01:18 PM
Maybe something in these suggestions that Feruz's time is up.

12-12-2015, 01:18 PM
No Dylan???

12-12-2015, 01:20 PM
Mcgeogh?

12-12-2015, 01:21 PM
He is injured

12-12-2015, 01:22 PM
He is injured
What's up he was just back??

12-12-2015, 01:22 PM
Good to see Henderson back, not surprised to see Feruz missing and a bit concerned about McGeough and Farid being totally omitted.

12-12-2015, 01:28 PM
Good to see Henderson back, not surprised to see Feruz missing and a bit concerned about McGeough and Farid being totally omitted.

McGeough can never get a decent run of games without picking up an injury. Frustrating.

12-12-2015, 01:28 PM
Looks like 3-4-3 formation?

PiemanP
12-12-2015, 01:30 PM
Looks like 3-4-3 formation?

A lot will depend how deep keatings plays. interesting team anyways. Is the Bartman injured too? After what seems like an eternity without a game i'd be hoping to see more players fit!

12-12-2015, 01:39 PM
Bartley had a small back spasm problem through the week. Sure I read he'll be back for the next game and just missing out today

12-12-2015, 01:45 PM
Thats an attacking team as I see it.

high bee
12-12-2015, 01:47 PM
Need a late surge here, haven't seen the stadium this empty in a long time.

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 01:52 PM
I can't make it with my family first home game I've missed in 3 years!! Gutted.

12-12-2015, 01:52 PM
Need a late surge here, haven't seen the stadium this empty in a long time.

Its pretty quiet!

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 01:54 PM
Hoping for decent updates!

12-12-2015, 01:56 PM
I have a bad feeling about today - not playing for 3 weeks, against a very good Falkirk side

Missing a few players - I hope im wrong but I can see us dropping points

A win will really send a message to The Gers - who have a really tough run of games coming up

livi hibs 1875
12-12-2015, 01:58 PM
Any radio today guys

Benny Brazil
12-12-2015, 01:59 PM
Crowd looks quite poor just now

12-12-2015, 02:00 PM
Filling up slowly. West looks busier than usual, East a lot quieter.

12-12-2015, 02:00 PM
Ffs can't believe Falkirk are in navy.

This is Raith away all over again.

12-12-2015, 02:02 PM
Looking in on HibsTV and it looks a shocking crowd! So so disappointing and feel for Leeann and Alan as they clearly pleaded with fans to come out for this one.

They seriously must shake their heads and wonder just what they need to do. This team DESERVE more fans turning up. I fear these fans may be gone for good and we'll be stuck at around 10,000

12-12-2015, 02:03 PM
The stands always look empty just before kick off, everyone seems to stay in the concourse until the teams come out.

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 02:05 PM
I feel even worse for not making it today!! Couldn't give my season tickets away. Is there any radio coverage anywhere?

12-12-2015, 02:06 PM
4 at the back. Hanlon in midfield.

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 02:06 PM
1-0 to Der Hun

12-12-2015, 02:07 PM
Looking in on HibsTV and it looks a shocking crowd! So so disappointing and feel for Leeann and Alan as they clearly pleaded with fans to come out for this one.

They seriously must shake their heads and wonder just what they need to do. This team DESERVE more fans turning up. I fear these fans may be gone for good and we'll be stuck at around 10,000

In fairness crap time of year to find spare cash.

Godsahibby
12-12-2015, 02:10 PM
Also a lot of days / nights out, reason I'm Not there.

12-12-2015, 02:12 PM
Keatings shot looked to hit an arm. No penalty.

12-12-2015, 02:13 PM
Should have just had a penalty there on that shot by Keatings

12-12-2015, 02:14 PM
Keatings bundled over. No penalty.

12-12-2015, 02:15 PM
And another penalty shout.

12-12-2015, 02:16 PM
Yams or huns would have had 2 penalties by now.

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 02:18 PM
FFS this sounds ominous

12-12-2015, 02:18 PM
Crowd looks quite poor just now
10k I would expect at best.

12-12-2015, 02:19 PM
No yellow for slamming the ball down and ranting. Ref finger wags and lets Falkirk escape a booking.

12-12-2015, 02:20 PM
Keatings trundler goes right through the keeper and just wide. Would have been a howler.

Benny Brazil
12-12-2015, 02:21 PM
Slow start from hibs should have had a pen, Keatings shot pushed round the post - starting to get into it now

12-12-2015, 02:21 PM
FFS this sounds ominous

After a slow start we are playing well and have created chances.

Cummings just forced another save from the keeper.

12-12-2015, 02:22 PM
Who's the mason in the black today then?

12-12-2015, 02:24 PM
Wheres Danny Carmichael?

12-12-2015, 02:27 PM
Wheres Danny Carmichael? injured i think??

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 02:28 PM
After a slow start we are playing well and have created chances.

Cummings just forced another save from the keeper.

Encouraging. This is painful not being able to watch it.

12-12-2015, 02:29 PM
Malonga shoots over.

12-12-2015, 02:30 PM
One of the worst attempts at a smoke bomb I've ever seen in the Falkirk end. Looked like a Smurf had farted.

12-12-2015, 02:32 PM
Morton score, come on Hibs

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 02:34 PM
Couldn't happen to a nicer guy tavernier

12-12-2015, 02:34 PM
Spookily enough, Hibs played Falkirk on 12th December at ER when we won the 1st Division in 98/99.

It was the first of four home games in a row.

12th Dec: Hibs 2-1 Falkirk - Att 12,570
19th Dec: Hibs 3-0 Clydebank - Att 9,060.
26th Dec: Hibs 3-0 Ayr Utd - Att 14,106.
2nd Jan: Hibs 5-1 Raith - Att 14,703.

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 02:35 PM
Come on hibs

12-12-2015, 02:36 PM
1-1 at ibrox

SausageSurprise
12-12-2015, 02:36 PM
Spookily enough, Hibs played Falkirk on 12th December at ER when we won the 1st Division in 98/99.

We also played Morton on the 5th too

12-12-2015, 02:40 PM
Falkirk have pushed 10 yards up the park and we seem at a loss how to deal with it. Lots of misplaced passes under pressure putting us in trouble.

12-12-2015, 02:42 PM
Mcginn shot side netting, keeper got a touch.

Horrific corner.

12-12-2015, 02:43 PM
Mcginn sent off.

Over ran the ball and lunged in. Stupid tackle and gave the ref no real choice.

12-12-2015, 02:44 PM
Never a red

Oops!

Backs to the wall now.

We can still do this

ManBearPig
Ffs

12-12-2015, 02:45 PM
Time to dig deep

His studs were not even up

Oh ****😱

12-12-2015, 02:46 PM
Is McGinn suspended for Ibrox.

I take it he is out the rangers game as well now

If Pretty boy says it's a red I trust him.

Will mcginn miss ibrox?

The good ol days, when folk came home to Christmas and were busting to go to a game.

12-12-2015, 02:47 PM
Whos the ref?

His studs were not even up

Irrelevant.

You can't tackle like that now. As soon as you leave the ground and 'lose control' you are in big bother if you make contact. Players reactions say a lot and the Hibs players were pretty accepting of the decision.

Rotten luck there. McGinn was fouled and spun around which didn't help with his final tackle. Probably a red but unfortunate turn of events there. Could have been a penalty before it.

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 02:48 PM
Seems general consensus that it was a red but not really his style I am quite shocked need mcegogh back now

12-12-2015, 02:48 PM
Has to be serious foul play for 2 game ban so assuming QOS game goes ahead in 19th then that is only game he would miss.

12-12-2015, 02:50 PM
Has to be serious foul play for 2 game ban so assuming QOS game goes ahead in 19th then that is only game he would miss.

Hope he's available because he was outstanding v them the last time.

Well now is the time to see how well we can dig.

Mcgann was spun around just before the tackle. It was entirely spontaneous and not with intent.

Rotten luck there. McGinn was fouled and spun around which didn't help with his final tackle. Probably a red but unfortunate turn of events there. Could have been a penalty before it.

Ref was pretty keen to get his red card out i thought, the way he reactes didnt help the situation at all

hibbytam
Looked like it should have been a hibs pen. Too far away to judge if it was a red, but it didn't look that bad.

Whos the ref?

Kevin Clancy/Falkirk's number 6

Seems general consensus that it was a red but not really his style I am quite shocked need mcegogh back now

Looked a red to me. McGinn was having a shocker today.

12-12-2015, 02:51 PM
Kevin Clancy/Falkirk's number 6

Thanks.

Gonna be a really really hard ask now to win. Gutted, but it was a definite red. Big decisions for Stubbs at half time

I take it he is out the rangers game as well now

Will depend how may yellows he's had before today no?

12-12-2015, 02:52 PM
Play three at the back and go for it.

12-12-2015, 02:52 PM

Was having a shocker?? Really?! Wow I must be watching a different game. Each to their own

JJP
12-12-2015, 02:53 PM
Definite red card. McGinns let us down big time. Hopefully we can still get the three points but it's going to be a lot tougher. Surely Henderson has to brought on now.

Is a straight red for a 2 footed lunge not serious foul play? Hope not

Ronster117
Time to dig deep... Any win will do:flag:

Thought he was the best player on the park myself

12-12-2015, 02:54 PM

Sky sports have it down as violent conduct

12-12-2015, 02:55 PM
Is a straight red for a 2 footed lunge not serious foul play? Hope not

I think serious foul play is punching someone rather than a reckless tackle but referee will decide.

12-12-2015, 02:58 PM
Time to dig deep... Any win will do:flag:

Settle for a draw as long as Sevco don't win.

12-12-2015, 02:59 PM
Couldn't argue with the red from my view, a rash challenge to make. Going to be a tough 2nd half and when the chances come we have to take them. Not going to be too many perhaps but this is going be a big half for us and one that requires the players to dig extra deep.

Sky sports have it down as violent conduct

No way could it be deemed violent conduct. Poor tackle and reckless yes but more mistimed and over committed than intentional.

Henderson for Malonga, need to keep some pace
Hopefully 1 game ban max
Bad decision from Mginn although looked minimum contact.
From East

12-12-2015, 03:00 PM
No way could it be deemed violent conduct. Poor tackle and reckless yes but more mistimed and over committed than intentional.

They probably think it was for the wee melee after the tackle!

12-12-2015, 03:00 PM
Did Hibs actually look like sticking the ball in the net first half?

12-12-2015, 03:01 PM
Did Hibs actually look like sticking the ball in the net first half?
Not really it'd been very flat tbh

12-12-2015, 03:02 PM
Was having a shocker?? Really?! Wow I must be watching a different game. Each to their own

Got beaten too easily early on couple of times kicked the ball straight out the park during the minutes applause, poor passing, poor corners, overran the ball couple of times...did have one decent shot.

But yes a shocker by his own very high standards.

12-12-2015, 03:03 PM
Don't feel very confident now.

McGinn has let Hibs down badly.

12-12-2015, 03:03 PM
Henderson replaces Dom at the break.

12-12-2015, 03:05 PM
Got beaten too easily early on couple of times kicked the ball straight out the park during the minutes applause, poor passing, overran the ball couple of times...did have one decent shot.

But yes a shocker by his own very high standards.

He'd been to visit the wee man before he passed away,hit him quite hard.

12-12-2015, 03:05 PM
The red card may be justified but it was not a two footed tackle at the end of a 15 yard sprint. He had literally pirouetted out of being fouled just as he went into the tackle.

12-12-2015, 03:07 PM
Good football, Fyvie shoots over.

12-12-2015, 03:09 PM
The red card may be justified but it was not a two footed tackle at the end of a 15 yard sprint. He had literally pirouetted out of being fouled just as he went into the tackle.

But if that had been a Falkirk tackle then we would have expected a red card.

12-12-2015, 03:10 PM
Don't feel very confident now.

McGinn has let Hibs down badly.

Steady .
He got sent off. It happens

PiemanP
12-12-2015, 03:11 PM
Need big performances from everyone now to win this. You never know, Falkirk might come at us a bit more leaving space at the back to exploit.

12-12-2015, 03:11 PM
But if that had been a Falkirk tackle then we would have expected a red card.

We would, but they would have had a penalty. ;)

12-12-2015, 03:13 PM
Bit Falkirk pressure. They're getting some joy out wide. We seem stretched, to be expected obviously.

12-12-2015, 03:15 PM
Matching Rangers' result is the bare minimum, given the red card. If we both draw, at least no ground is lost.

12-12-2015, 03:16 PM
Clancy is having a shocker.

12-12-2015, 03:17 PM
Clancy is having a shocker.

Or maybe he knows exactly what he's doing, sounds like he's doing his best for Sevco.

swindonhibs
12-12-2015, 03:18 PM
stick or twist now Stubbs? 4-4-1 and try no to lose or 3 at back and go on offensive.. With the Huns drawing maybe tempted to go for it now?

12-12-2015, 03:19 PM
Keating cross hacked clear by a defender, could have gone anywhere.

Niggly ref is getting the fans behind the team.

12-12-2015, 03:20 PM
We need to realise that, with us being close to the Hun points-wise, that refs will have been told to 'do their bit for the cause' - naive to think otherwise !!

12-12-2015, 03:22 PM
We need to realise that, with us being close to the Hun points-wise, that refs will have been told to 'do their bit for the cause' - naive to think otherwise !!

here we go...

12-12-2015, 03:22 PM
Cummings brought down, definite contact but booked for diving.

12-12-2015, 03:23 PM
No need to dive there as he was in. If it was a dive it was crazy but it wasn't.

Gray now booked. Ref has lost the plot.

Ref hasn't got a clue

It's a conspiracy.

12-12-2015, 03:24 PM
That was a stonewall penalty. Disgusting.

12-12-2015, 03:24 PM
Yellow card fiesta for Hibs.

12-12-2015, 03:26 PM
No need to dive there as he was in. If it was a dive it was crazy but it wasn't.

Gray now booked. Ref has lost the plot.

Gray's tackle looked worse than Mcginn's

12-12-2015, 03:27 PM
Referee has taken it upon himself to seemingly book every Hibs player

12-12-2015, 03:27 PM
Fontaine now booked. Body checked the Falkirk player who went down like he'd been snipered and ref coyldn't wait to get the card out.

We'll have another sent off here, it's a cert.

12-12-2015, 03:28 PM
Surprised Tavernier goal wasn't disallowed for offside .

Falkirk man runs and dives on the wing. Fontaine gets booked. Hilarious.

Keatings smashed in the face as he beats a man. No booking.

Dont be silly

Fontaine now booked. Body checked the Falkirk player who went down like he'd been snipered and ref coyldn't wait to get the card out.

We'll have another sent off here, it's a cert.

Looked like player ran onto Fontaine, he turned his body to let man run past

12-12-2015, 03:29 PM
Dont be silly

It's 'silly' not to suspect any different.

12-12-2015, 03:30 PM
Dont be silly

I'm not so sure it is silly. This referee is so bad he's either unfit for purpose or a cheat.

If we don't have another sent off, the Huns will have a penalty.

Or both for good measure...

Keatings goal coming up...

12-12-2015, 03:31 PM
Boyle on for Keatings.

12-12-2015, 03:32 PM
I'm not so sure it is silly. This referee is so bad he's either unfit for purpose or a cheat.
I would think unfit, but no doubt many are examining who he supported as a 5 year old.

12-12-2015, 03:34 PM
Keatings goal coming up...

Not anymore.

12-12-2015, 03:34 PM
Boyle on for Keatings.

Ha!! Oh well... Goal for Boyle coming up!! :greengrin

12-12-2015, 03:35 PM
Lee Miller to score.......

It seems a bit strange Falkirk are time wasting when playing against 10 men.

Surprised Tavernier goal wasn't disallowed for offside .

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

Banana republic standard of ref today.

12-12-2015, 03:36 PM
Charlie Mann saying Ref was correct to book Cummings

Off the bar
12-12-2015, 03:37 PM
C'mon hibs

12-12-2015, 03:37 PM
Mon the hibees

Ronster117
12-12-2015, 03:38 PM
Cumon Hibs.... Big push in last 10 mins

12-12-2015, 03:38 PM
come on Hibs nick a goal!

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 03:39 PM
Come on let's do this hibs!!!

12-12-2015, 03:40 PM
Morton!!!

Ronster117
Morton ahead

2-1morton

Newcastlehibby
Morton 2 The Rangers 1

1-2 Morton.

Houston having a hissy fit because Hibs didn't put it out when yet another of his players is rolling about on the ground.

ManBearPig
Need to do this hibs now more than ever!

Rangers 1 Morton 2

Goal now for Hibs would be massive.

Rangers now need 2 pens in 8 mins. They'll get at least one.

12-12-2015, 03:41 PM
Rangers now behind.

2nd goal for Morton

Remember being at a game in the west stand,about 10yrs ago.
Guy arrived 15mins late to see another dodgy decision.

"Who's the b@@@@@d in yellow?" he shouted.
"The referee" came a weary reply.

GO MORTON 1-2

We Have to get a goal !! A draw is great but a win is Carlsberg-esque !!

Come on Hibs! Morton doing us a massive favour at ipox. Let's get this winner!

2-2

12-12-2015, 03:42 PM
You'll all have the Wrong Thread Polis coming for you but who cares! 'Mon and grab a winner!

2nd goal for rangers

2-2 at ibrox

Off the bar
Did the second half kick off late? BBC has us 8 minutes behind hunbrox

2-2

Baws

ManBearPig

Happy enough if we match their result

McKenzie
Fathorn scores

As you were.

We should win this. A class act by someone in the last minutes.:flag:

1-0 Falkirk.

Absolute howler from Oxley. Spilled a nothing shot that my sister could have held.

Goal Falkirk

12-12-2015, 03:43 PM
Horrendous from oxley

Well that was an utterly minging couple of minutes all round.

ManBearPig
Falkirk scored? According to Sky bet

Off the bar

Oxley gifts it.

Oxley not able to hold on to it.

Well that was an utterly minging couple of minutes all round.

Yep

12-12-2015, 03:44 PM
Games a bogey now

ManBearPig
Typical

PiemanP
knew that was coming ever since he was quoted on the website saying how good he's been this season !

12-12-2015, 03:45 PM
Same place the Falkirk keeper dropped an easy one in the 1st half. Wonder if there's anything in that?

Anier on for Hanlon.

****ing typical. Now expect a Huns winner

Bad day at the office

ManBearPig
Same place the Falkirk keeper dropped an easy one in the 1st half. Wonder if there's anything in that?

Anier on for Hanlon.

Too late?

Typical. Been sitting here saying their keeper is dodgy and Oxley ballsed up their first shot on target.

No wonder I'm a pessimist! :greengrin

12-12-2015, 03:46 PM
3 points lost, McGinn red carded, multiple other Hibs yellow cards. Great performance by the ref.

12-12-2015, 03:48 PM
Title race over IMO. This was the chance.

No idea why didn't expect it!

Bad clash of head with Stevenson and a Falkirk player.

Would love a last minute goal to **** off the Falkirk bench who seem a right bunch of moaning erseholes.

4 points behind now

12-12-2015, 03:49 PM

Jesus

Hardly. We are only 1 point worse off than this morning. As it stands of course.

Hardly

swindonhibs
McGinn cost us here, let sham Falkirk stay relevant in league and likely misses Huns game. Poor.

ManBearPig

Painful loss but not over

Overreact much?

Horrible battering for Stevenson. Ref will give a bounce ball.

Get a grip.

hailhail22

Wouldn't say over by any means they haven't won either !!! A big opportunity missed though

12-12-2015, 03:50 PM
Just my opinion. With goal difference it's effectively five points.

Lewis looks done. We are down to 9 for the remainder I think.

Falkirk also 3 behind us now

:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

Yah beauty !!!!!

Ducking yes

Boyle goooaall

Cummings cross, Anier flick, tap in

Booooomm

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 03:51 PM
Yeeeesssssss

Ronster117
:gwa:

What the chance of an appeal on McGinns red card?

Ducking yes

Child friendly celebration

Boyler!

aljo7-0
woo hoo http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

Great ball Anier plays cummings in, he cuts back for Boyle who just lost his footing when about to shoot.

Great spirit with 9 men.

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

12-12-2015, 03:52 PM

1-1, stop yer greeting

swindonhibs
Get ****ing in there boyler..massive.

Huns miss a must score

1 - 1 conspiracy.

Off the bar
Yeeeessss get in!!!

ManBearPig
12-12-2015, 03:53 PM
So nothing changes....what an afternoon

Ronster117
Jason holt blooters over the bar with last kick....

Ducking yes

Quacking strike :agree:

HibeeEmma

Boyle's goal has shown the exact opposite of this. For the last few years it has been Hibs conceding goals in 90+2, this season is the opposite. Long may it continue.

12-12-2015, 03:54 PM
Could be the biggest goal we score all season. Great spirit!

ManBearPig
Jason holt blooters over the bar with last kick....

Never I read he is like iniesta ...

Haha fair enough.

Deserved the pelters mon the Hibees.

1-1 FT.

Girfuy ya yam helmet Houston.

Great heart and fight from Hibs. Superb.

12-12-2015, 03:55 PM
Attendance today ?

Ronster117
12-12-2015, 03:55 PM
1-1 FT.

Girfuy ya yam helmet Houston.

Great heart and fight from Hibs. Superb.

12-12-2015, 03:56 PM
Great performance against the vile officiating in Scottish football.

12-12-2015, 03:56 PM
Haha fair enough.

Deserved the pelters mon the Hibees.
:aok: :greengrin

12-12-2015, 03:57 PM

Agreed!!

In the taxi now up to Dean Bridge. It's all over!

😣

Massive goal at the end there.

Get in there.

Huns looking in? GIRFUY :thumbsup:

Well done Hibs. We weren't brilliant but the circumstances were difficult.

Tell you what the much maligned Anier played a big part in the goal and almost played JC in for a 2nd just after.

Steady, Mrs. Loads of twists and turns to go.

Before the game I'd have said we need to win all our home games and shouldn't be drawing with Falkirk at ER.

The way it's actually panned out, you've got to be content with that.

rotherhamrob
12-12-2015, 03:59 PM
Jeezo what a last 10 mins that was for the emotions.

Greenblood70
12-12-2015, 04:00 PM
When (rather than if) we win this league this performance should be bookmarked as one of the most courageous performances Ive seen from a Hibs side in a long time. Fyvie was immense in the second half, absolutely everywhere although there are 4 or 5 others that also put in lung bursting performances.

T come back from a goal down with 10 men, and a ref who is a cheating *******, in the last 10 mins says everything you need to know about this Hibs side. Brilliant absolutely brilliant