View Full Version : Hibernian V Falkirk
Green Reaper
12-12-2015, 04:01 PM
Tell you what the much maligned Anier played a big part in the goal and almost played JC in for a 2nd just after.
Yep, great flick and vision
12-12-2015, 04:02 PM
Never I read he is like iniesta ...
Aye wee
zolliehibs
12-12-2015, 04:04 PM
When (rather than if) we win this league this performance should be bookmarked as one of the most courageous performances Ive seen from a Hibs side in a long time. Fyvie was immense in the second half, absolutely everywhere although there are 4 or 5 others that also put in lung bursting performances.
T come back from a goal down with 10 men, and a ref who is a cheating *******, in the last 10 mins says everything you need to know about this Hibs side. Brilliant absolutely brilliant
Agreed about Fyvie, needed a hero performance from him with all the other key midfielders out and he gave us one.
12-12-2015, 04:05 PM
I think serious foul play is punching someone rather than a reckless tackle but referee will decide.
Hope so mate. We were thinking that a punch would be boiling conduct. We'll see, fingers crossed
12-12-2015, 04:06 PM
1-1 FT.
Girfuy ya yam helmet Houston.
Great heart and fight from Hibs. Superb.
Indeed mate....that was a massive goal for hibs......keeps them 6points adrift....and pisses off that plum Houston
When (rather than if) we win this league this performance should be bookmarked as one of the most courageous performances Ive seen from a Hibs side in a long time. Fyvie was immense in the second half, absolutely everywhere although there are 4 or 5 others that also put in lung bursting performances.
T come back from a goal down with 10 men, and a ref who is a cheating *******, in the last 10 mins says everything you need to know about this Hibs side. Brilliant absolutely brilliant
Brilliant post. Love it. Missed today for first time this season. So love to hear that. Big day today. Could have been 6 behind. Huns away to Falkirk next weekend.
12-12-2015, 04:07 PM
Normally when sevco drop any points, we should be taking full advantage of it and not dropping points ourselves.
Sometimes there are just circumstances when picking up one point is a good result, and today is probably one of those days. :thumbsup:
12-12-2015, 04:07 PM
1-1 FT.
Girfuy ya yam helmet Houston.
schinkenotto
12-12-2015, 04:09 PM
Title race over IMO. This was the chance.
No idea why didn't expect it!
Even if Boyle hadn't scored,this is a ridiculously defeatist statement.
Greenblood70
12-12-2015, 04:10 PM
Did anyone else half expect the ref to disallow our equaliser?
12-12-2015, 04:11 PM
Stevenson didn't come back on, hope he's ok!
12-12-2015, 04:12 PM
Dont be silly
Yeah, our game's 'Squeaky clean' right enough - the Hun's behaviour was just a one-off !!
12-12-2015, 04:15 PM
Stevenson didn't come back on, hope he's ok!
First viewing, I thought the boy looked at him and smashed Lewis's face with his head deliberately.
12-12-2015, 04:21 PM
Haha fair enough.
Deserved the pelters mon the Hibees.
Dublin07
12-12-2015, 04:21 PM
First viewing, I thought the boy looked at him and smashed Lewis's face with his head deliberately.
100% he did. Ref seen it as a 50/50 but Falkirk took Lewis out without any question.
12-12-2015, 04:26 PM
Great point in the end, and no ground lost with Morton doing a shift. Its all to play for..
shamo9
12-12-2015, 04:27 PM
5 minutes left, 1-0 down, only 9 players on the pitch. CHARACTER.
Particularly liked the way Fyvie demanded a drop ball with the Falkirk player rather than giving the ball back. There was no doubt in my mind who was going to win that 50-50. More than anything it's great to see a Hibs team with backbone after so long. Instead of crumbling after losing a silly goal we just fought harder and got what we deserved.
12-12-2015, 04:28 PM
Particularly liked the way Fyvie demanded a drop ball with the Falkirk player rather than giving the ball back. There was no doubt in my mind who was going to win it. More than anything it's great to see a Hibs team with backbone after so long. Instead of crumbling after losing a silly goal we just fought harder and got what we deserved.
:agree: This
12-12-2015, 04:35 PM
Great fight and character from the team...have to say I'm pretty annoyed at the number of Hibs fans that upped and left when Falkirk scored...I feel this team deserves better backing than that...
12-12-2015, 04:39 PM
Great fight and character from the team...have to say I'm pretty annoyed at the number of Hibs fans that upped and left when Falkirk scored...I feel this team deserves better backing than that...
A habit developed over last few years. With the team digging in, people may think about hanging around a bit longer in future. A win would have been sweet considering the Hun draw, but still proud of the team. :agree:
12-12-2015, 04:40 PM
Particularly liked the way Fyvie demanded a drop ball with the Falkirk player rather than giving the ball back. There was no doubt in my mind who was going to win that 50-50. More than anything it's great to see a Hibs team with backbone after so long. Instead of crumbling after losing a silly goal we just fought harder and got what we deserved.
This again. Best game byFyvie in a Hibs shirt, great shift. Of course we wanted to win it but we would have lost that last year. I was expecting an
equaliser rather than accepting the orst.
GG & well done Greenock.
12-12-2015, 04:48 PM
Great character to get back into it with 10 men at 0-1 down. How long have we been waiting for a Hibs side like this ?
MOTM Cummings was the architect with a superb piece of wing play, decent ball in to Anger who played a cute flick to Boyle. Around good goal and well deserved. :top marks
StevieBoyKdy
12-12-2015, 04:55 PM
I had to leave early to get my train met graham stack on the way out, lovely guy. Did Stevenson leave field of play and we scored with just 9?
Got on the subway at 0-1 and spent the ride into Manhattan cursing a missed opportunity. Get off the train to read what went wrong and see we equalized. HO HO HO HAPPY
12-12-2015, 04:56 PM
Normally when sevco drop any points, we should be taking full advantage of it and not dropping points ourselves.
Sometimes there are just circumstances when picking up one point is a good result, and today is probably one of those days. :thumbsup:
It was indeed. Great response after they scored and we could even have snatched all three points with a wee bit of luck.
12-12-2015, 04:56 PM
A habit developed over last few years. With the team digging in, people may think about hanging around a bit longer in future. A win would have been sweet considering the Hun draw, but still proud of the team. :agree:
Know I'm a big fan, but JC typifies the spirit of this Hibs side - always positive, always expecting good things to happen. Anyone who think Cummings simply scores goals is missing the point - great spirit, belief and drive.
Greenblood70
12-12-2015, 04:58 PM
Know I'm a big fan, but JC typifies the spirit of this Hibs side - always positive, always expecting good things to happen. Anyone who think Cummings simply scores goals is missing the point - great spirit, belief and drive.
He was tireless in the second half, superb energy and will to win.
12-12-2015, 04:58 PM
I watched it closely. Lewis had his eyes on the ball and when he jumped for it I just knew he was getting wiped out. I don't think the Falkirk player intended challenging for the ball.
shamo9
12-12-2015, 05:00 PM
I had to leave early to get my train met graham stack on the way out, lovely guy. Did Stevenson leave field of play and we scored with just 9?
Yes, head to head (Stevenson fully committed as always). We'd made all our subs so Henderson moved over to the left. We went 3-3-2 I think:greengrin
12-12-2015, 05:02 PM
Having had an hour or so to reflect on that I am seriously proud of Hibs tonight.
We have quite rightly had a lot of praise for our football in weeks past but today we had to grind it out and we did so with first 10 then 9 men. Some real heroics; Fyvie, the 2 central defenders and Cummings in particular. Any question re fight or heart was well answered.
12-12-2015, 05:02 PM
I wasn't sure we got the personnel right today. Obviously the red card didn't help but felt Keatings, Henderson (who looked like he was struggling), Hanlon - just didn't feel the right balance in the middle.
We are going to miss McGinns creativity in next 2 games.
Felt even with 10 men we sat too deep. We were up against it today and could have had zero points but in the end wasn't a bad draw and felt it we had just scored earlier maybe we would have got a winner.
Any idea how Stevenson is? Heard the noise when he collided - look like the Falkirk player knew what he was doing. Hopefully nothing serious like cheekbone etc.
As for the ref - another shocker and so inconsistent.
Still unbeaten at home in the league - important next week we get back to winning ways and sets us up nicely for the ibrox game.
Yeah, our game's 'Squeaky clean' right enough - the Hun's behaviour was just a one-off !!
I am long enough in the tooth to know that nothing in life is squeaky clean, however if I read your post correctly you are saying the ref came to ER with the sole intention of ensuring Hibs lost the game and Falkirk won. Quite a statement to make.
12-12-2015, 05:06 PM
I wasn't sure we got the personnel right today. Obviously the red card didn't help but felt Keatings, Henderson (who looked like he was struggling), Hanlon - just didn't feel the right balance in the middle.
We are going to miss McGinns creativity in next 2 games.
Felt even with 10 men we sat too deep. We were up against it today and could have had zero points but in the end wasn't a bad draw and felt it we had just scored earlier maybe we would have got a winner.
Any idea how Stevenson is? Heard the noise when he collided - look like the Falkirk player knew what he was doing. Hopefully nothing serious like cheekbone etc.
As for the ref - another shocker and so inconsistent .
Are you sure McGinn will miss the next two games? Is it not usually the next game then the other one a bit later?
GreenArmy1875
12-12-2015, 05:07 PM
Ha!! Oh well... Goal for Boyle coming up!! :greengrin
Spot on
12-12-2015, 05:07 PM
Are you sure McGinn will miss the next two games? Is it not usually the next game then the other one a bit later?
Not 100% sure..assumed it was straight red and misses next to automatically. Anyone know ? We need him for Ibrox or at least Dylan back.
12-12-2015, 05:08 PM
Great fight back. Better team up until the sending off without being at our best. After that we shut up shop and didn't look like conceding until Oxley's mistake. We don't know when were beaten 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
seanshow
12-12-2015, 05:11 PM
A great point in the end well done Hibs, to all those who left the stadium after Falkirk scored, including half the row in front of me in the East, Get it right up ye :)
Scrambled a draw, on first view can have no complaints about the Red card or the yellows for Fonts and one other.
Hope Dylan is back to plug the gap in midfield nxt week.
12-12-2015, 05:13 PM
I am long enough in the tooth to know that nothing in life is squeaky clean, however if I read your post correctly you are saying the ref came to ER with the sole intention of ensuring Hibs lost the game and Falkirk won. Quite a statement to make.
He didn't come to ER with the intention of ensuring Hibs got beat.
He was ridiculously incompetent though.
12-12-2015, 05:14 PM
Great point in the end, and no ground lost with Morton doing a shift. Its all to play for..
I watched it closely. Lewis had his eyes on the ball and when he jumped for it I just knew he was getting wiped out. I don't think the Falkirk player intended challenging for the ball.
If we're correct here that's not just red card but full blown assault in my opinion.
12-12-2015, 05:16 PM
11 v 11 Falkirk were never in the game. Long ball into the corners causing no harm. McGinn moment of madness (red for me all day) but would like to see it again in case I'm wrong from my angle changed it.
Thought we were to deep most of the second half but the boys were doing very well covering and defending well. Oxley who this season has been very good lost one of the worst goals I've seen him lose! Not power in the shot down in stages and fumbles it. Was like slow motion!
I found he took an eternity to take his goal kicks today as well. Over all poor day for him but he's saved us a few times this season so can't really be to mad.
Hanlon I thought was MOTM by a country mile, played well won nearly everything and done everything needed and more for me.
The team spirit was fantastic today, Stubbs went mad when we scored and that's the never say die attitude we have these days! Well done Hibs for pulling it back with 9 men that was terrific.
The referee today bar the red had a shocker and gave us nothing and booked our players for nothing. He really had a mare and that's meant to be a top official.
12-12-2015, 05:18 PM
Great point considering we had a man sent off and was up against 12 men! Referee was an absolute disgrace today!
Anyway, well done hibs for sticking in and fighting till the end. Many hibs teams in the past would have dropped the heads after the goal and given up.
12-12-2015, 05:22 PM
A great point in the end well done Hibs, to all those who left the stadium after Falkirk scored, including half the row in front of me in the East, Get it right up ye :)
Scrambled a draw, on first view can have no complaints about the Red card or the yellows for Fonts and one other.
Hope Dylan is back to plug the gap in midfield nxt week.
Saying 'get it up ye' to fellow Hibees. Stay classy.
And no, I didn't leave early.
Capt Mainwaring
12-12-2015, 05:23 PM
Great spirit to dig in and get the point. Great resilience shown by the players and well backed by the fans in the closing stages
Thought Fyvie was Man of the Match - always looking to make the right pass, and worked his socks off all game.
Others worthy of mention for a good shift would be McGregor, Fontaine Keatings and Cummings
Too far away to make a definite comment on McGinn's sending off. Looked like he did stretch into the tackle after being bumped by a few defenders but Red Card looked harsh.
Thought it was a definite penalty when the Falkirk defender put his hands up to block the cross in the first half
Onwards and upwards however - all to play for
12-12-2015, 05:26 PM
Happy with the way it worked out with Morton doing us a favour. And to get the goal back showed a bit character.
Even with 10 men, I thought we could have done a bit more second half. It seemed to take their goal to bring a bit urgency to our play.
shamo9
12-12-2015, 05:26 PM
What did people think of the Cummings 'dive'? I didn't get a good look at it but I sensed the ref couldn't wait to make an example of him. I'm sure some Falkirk people had been in his ear at somepoint because they accused us of diving a lot in the first half (Houston especially). Still not over the penalty in the last game it seems.
Penalty all day for me :wink: :flag:
Benny Brazil
12-12-2015, 05:29 PM
Just back in from the game - Fully deserved at least a point, thought we weren't at our best today prior to the sending off, McGinn looked liked he was trying too hard which is understandable, but even when we went down to 10 men the defence looked comfortable and apart from Oxley's mistake didnt think we were going to concede, really like the look of McGregor - no-nonsense defending.
Fyvie was outstanding in midfield. Cummings was really good today. Not too sure about Hanlon in the midfield - did some good things and some not so good.
The less said about the ref the better.
With the Huns dropping points I think we got away with it today.
Credit to the Falkirk fans and their bench for the minutes applause.
12-12-2015, 05:31 PM
It was indeed. Great response after they scored and we could even have snatched all three points with a wee bit of luck.
a fantastic result that is good as a win with the Ibrox result going our way, they weathered the storm ( more of a wet fart IMHO) in the second half, but it's never easy when you go down to 10 for the whole second half and they are playing with 12!
12-12-2015, 05:31 PM
I didn't even realise we were down to 9 when we scored so that makes our second half performance even more remarkable.
Would love to see the penalty incident again. My initial reaction was why dive as he was in and on his left foot but the fall was theatrical and might have swayed the ref.
All in, a great point considering the McGinn and Oxley howlers.
12-12-2015, 05:38 PM
Very poor challenge - Lewis looked like he was concussed. The way Clancy was reffing the game had Lewis made the challenge he'd have been booked. Falkirk boy got a kiss to make it better....
12-12-2015, 05:44 PM
What did people think of the Cummings 'dive'? I didn't get a good look at it but I sensed the ref couldn't wait to make an example of him. I'm sure some Falkirk people had been in his ear at somepoint because they accused us of diving a lot in the first half (Houston especially). Still not over the penalty in the last game it seems.
Initially thought it was. Jason's right foot was pushed into his left so he went down. On reflection, he may have done that himself, he signaled to the bench he'd taken an elbow - which I didn't see.
Like the sending off and the two first half penalties, need to see the replay....
12-12-2015, 05:47 PM
I don't know whether to feel relieved that Hibs pulled it out of the fire at the end to maintain the 6 point lead over Falkirk, and more importantly not fall further behind the Huns. Or, to feel disappointed that a chance has gone abegging, given the result at Castle Greyskull today. Even with a man advantage Falkirk didn't really look all that threatening and what a s*** goal they finally got.
John McGinn, maybe, wasn't right mentally for today's game. His performance was poor compared to his recent performances, but he is only human.
12-12-2015, 05:47 PM
It it may have been a penalty but from where I was sitting it looked like Cummings made too much of it....
12-12-2015, 05:51 PM
I didn't even realise we were down to 9 when we scored so that makes our second half performance even more remarkable.
Would love to see the penalty incident again. My initial reaction was why dive as he was in and on his left foot but the fall was theatrical and might have swayed the ref.
The ref waited approx 0.07 seconds to whip out his red card for McGinn, he then sprinted 32 yards in 4 seconds to wave it in McGinn's face.
With Cummings he waited a little longer, maybe 0.14 seconds before whipping out the yellow.
Clancy was very reminiscent of Richmond or Thompson in the way he reffed the game. Biased would be kind to him...
MileHighBees
12-12-2015, 05:53 PM
I think that's exactly what happened.
It was difficult to tell if the defender made contact or not.
But when the attacker embellishes the fall like Cummings did it just makes it really easy for the ref to book him.
Not the first time we've seen penalties not given simply because the attacker tries too hard to 'sell it' and just makes it look like a dive.
Cummings needs to learn from this and be smarter in future.
Happy not to lose today given the circumstances.
Also agree with those saying MOTM for Fyvie - thought he was outstanding today :thumbsup:
12-12-2015, 05:55 PM
It it may have been a penalty but from where I was sitting it looked like Cummings made too much of it....
What annoyed me, that being the case, was the free kick given to Falkirk/booking given to Gray shortly after it when the boy was going theatrically down long before there was any chance of Falkirk. Extra points for Falkirk players enjoying a good scream of pain when going down.
12-12-2015, 06:00 PM
What annoyed me, that being the case, was the free kick given to Falkirk/booking given to Gray shortly after it when the boy was going theatrically down long before there was any chance of Falkirk. Extra points for Falkirk players enjoying a good scream of pain when going down.
In a strange way I think this might be the making of the Team, Stubbs will be thinking, several first team choices not available, no game in 3 weeks, down to 10 men, with a biased referee and then 0-1 down with 9 minutes to go and he will saying to the Players, is that all Falkirk have?, we should have won it in the 2nd minute of injury time
The Hibs performance was what you need to pull out of the bag when you hope to be Champions and I am sure AS will be making that point to the players
He didn't come to ER with the intention of ensuring Hibs got beat.
He was ridiculously incompetent though.
Now with your statement I totally agree:agree:
12-12-2015, 06:04 PM
In a strange way I think this might be the making of the Team, Stubbs will be thinking, several first team choices not available, no game in 3 weeks, down to 10 men, with a biased referee and then 0-1 down with 9 minutes to go and he will saying to the Players, is that all Falkirk have?, we should have won it in the 2nd minute of injury time
The Hibs performance was what you need to pull out of the bag when you hope to be Champions and I am sure AS will be making that point to the players
:agree: a good example of the spirit and fight of this team.
12-12-2015, 06:29 PM
You are obviously not the total arse that was sitting near me.
LithgaeHibby
12-12-2015, 06:34 PM
The goal made it feel like a win for me today. Great character by the boys in green. The 9 men were really going for it at the end - they wanted to win it. I was worried we'd be caught on the break, but Falkirk were a shower of s***e. My wee boy wanted to leave after Falkirk scored but I told him to hang on... he's glad now he did
12-12-2015, 06:38 PM
Haha fair enough.
Deserved the pelters mon the Hibees.
Hafekkinha indeed,bit more support and less guff 🚀
12-12-2015, 06:44 PM
I don't know whether to feel relieved that Hibs pulled it out of the fire at the end to maintain the 6 point lead over Falkirk, and more importantly not fall further behind the Huns. Or, to feel disappointed that a chance has gone abegging, given the result at Castle Greyskull today. Even with a man advantage Falkirk didn't really look all that threatening and what a s*** goal they finally got.
John McGinn, maybe, wasn't right mentally for today's game. His performance was poor compared to his recent performances, but he is only human.
Good post. Agree completely with the first point. A paradoxical result in that feels both like getting out of jail, and also missing up a chance to put further pressure on a shaky Johnny Hun.
I think you are also correct about the second point. John McGinn wasn't at his usual best, and I think his sending off was as a result of his frustration.
12-12-2015, 06:48 PM
Happy with the way it worked out with Morton doing us a favour. And to get the goal back showed a bit character.
Even with 10 men, I thought we could have done a bit more second half. It seemed to take their goal to bring a bit urgency to our play.
There was a lack of intensity right from the first minute and the game was abysmal, given Falkirk's lack of ambition against 10 men. That said, it nearly worked out for them after Oxley's howler... I can't be the only one who thinks Gray was simply shocking - hoofing the ball out of play on a number of occasions and making so many poor decisions. Lack of pressure? Lack of fitness?
Most of the team had an off day and I guess we got out of jail with a bit of pluck in the closing stages. Didn't do enough to win but losing would have been harsh.
12-12-2015, 06:52 PM
Good post. Agree completely with the first point. A paradoxical result in that feels both like getting out of jail, and also missing up a chance to put further pressure on a shaky Johnny Hun.
I think you are also correct about the second point. John McGinn wasn't at his usual best, and I think his sending off was as a result of his frustration.
12-12-2015, 07:00 PM
On the train back to Glasvegas - standing room only, no working toilet - welcome to 21st Century Scotland.
Group of Falkirk fans complaining about the brutal treatment their players got and how the ref favoured us.
Perspective, eh?
12-12-2015, 08:00 PM
The ref waited approx 0.07 seconds to whip out his red card for McGinn, he then sprinted 32 yards in 4 seconds to wave it in McGinn's face.
With Cummings he waited a little longer, maybe 0.14 seconds before whipping out the yellow.
Clancy was very reminiscent of Richmond or Thompson in the way he reffed the game. Biased would be kind to him...
After 5 mins injury time Clancy looked at his watch ,put the whistle to his mouth and just as he was going to blow for full time he saw a Falkirk player with a chance to go clear on the edge of the box , took it away to give Falkirk one last chance for the winner. Fortunately the ball was eventually blootered over the bar but to me it is either time up or it's not.
ClewsHibs
12-12-2015, 08:09 PM
On the train back to Glasvegas - standing room only, no working toilet - welcome to 21st Century Scotland.
Group of Falkirk fans complaining about the brutal treatment their players got and how the ref favoured us.
Perspective, eh?
20:51 to helensburgh?
12-12-2015, 08:09 PM
Injuries, decisions, errors, and a pretty lack lustre performance couldn't win over our sheer spirit and desire to succeed. It was an important game and a draw wasn't ideal but given our and The Rangers form it isn't the end of the world. The Rangers have only managed 11 from 18 points in the last 6 weeks or so while today has been our only dropped points. They have faltered since we started applying the pressure and with today's draws that pressure is still firmly on them.
seanshow
12-12-2015, 08:20 PM
Saying 'get it up ye' to fellow Hibees. Stay classy.
And no, I didn't leave early.
Hey when their team has won 14 out of 15 games, One! goal is scored against them
.....(old guys who should know better) toys oot the pram block the view for the rest of us and stomp of out the stadium.
You were right it was a misguided remark... I meant to say, Get it f*****g up ye, hope the cheers ringing in their ears will make them think twice the next time. :na na:
12-12-2015, 08:22 PM
20:51 to helensburgh?
7:30 to Queen Street... Many bevvied passengers (with nowhere to pee) but nothing compared to the local train after that!
That Helensburgh train will be like a zombie movie.
13-12-2015, 01:10 AM
We started slowly, but even then we were going forward reasonably effectively, I was too far away from the sending off but it did look a bit reckless from McGinn. On that subject, the guy is just a kid and IMO the events of the last week really affected him and it showed today ..... he has been outstanding this season and folk saying 'he let the team down' need to get a grip. I hope Hibs move heaven & earth to try and get him into the team for Ibrox, he is made for these big games.
I thought McGregor was excellent in the first half and in the 2nd Fyvie improved 100% from his first half showing. Cummings was decent for 85 minutes and tremendous in the last 10. His penalty shout was right in front of me, there was contact but he made too much of it, I didn't think it was a blatant dive, but not a pen either IMO.
If we can take anything from today its that we showed real guts in a game where nothing went for us and IMO we struck a real psychological blow against the Huns ... they will be gutted that they couldn't take advantage of our result, whereas we saved the day against the 2nd most difficult team in the league with only 9 men on the park.
ano hibby
13-12-2015, 07:55 AM
I agree with this but more importantly so does Stubbs if you listen to his interview, he's pretty pumped at the turn of events.