View Full Version : Scottish Rate of Income Tax

07-12-2015, 04:09 PM
Just heard about this, rates being announced on the 16th December apparently to go live in April.

Anyone else nervous they're about to be shafted?

SneakersO'Toole
07-12-2015, 04:25 PM
No chance Sturgeon, Swinney and Co will increase rates. Not yet anyway.

07-12-2015, 04:32 PM
No chance Sturgeon, Swinney and Co will increase rates. Not yet anyway.

Will stay the same in December, but they will raise income tax when they win the 2016 elections.

07-12-2015, 04:41 PM
Just heard about this, rates being announced on the 16th December apparently to go live in April.

Anyone else nervous they're about to be shafted?

You've just heard of this??

Almost no chance it'll go up in December, possibly next year, but not this.

Look out for a letter from HMRC in the next few days confirming you are a Scottish tax payer.

07-12-2015, 04:41 PM
Will stay the same in December, but they will raise income tax when they win the 2016 elections.

They won't do it mid year though as it would be impossible to administer, so it might go up in April 17 but not before then.

liamh2202
07-12-2015, 05:16 PM

Look out for a letter from HMRC in the next few days confirming you are a Scottish tax payer.

Does anyone know where i stand being in the forces?

07-12-2015, 05:21 PM

Your sergeant? :greengrin

07-12-2015, 05:29 PM
i've said for decades now i wouldn't mind paying an extra 1 or 2p in the £ to a scottish government, my minds not changed

07-12-2015, 05:56 PM
Possibly where your regiment is based?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

07-12-2015, 06:08 PM

In all seriousness, it will probably be where you live that will determine how much tax you pay.

07-12-2015, 07:47 PM
In all seriousness, it will probably be where you live that will determine how much tax you pay.

Depends where you live.

As a general rule, if you spend more time in England that. Scotland you'll be English resident and vice versa.

Depends on other things though. How often are you abroad? Do you have a house up here?

07-12-2015, 08:38 PM
I think a lot will depend on HMRC.

Previously they were charging 2p in the £ to administer it. A government charging 3p for a 1p benefit was never going to happen!

The Scottish Government stance, all shades, was to tell them to bolt as the taxpayers in Scotland were already paying for HMRC and they should be doing what they're telt by the government of the day.

It will be interesting to see if their stance, under direction from Westminster, has softened as I still can't see the benefit of 1p in the £ costing 3p.

07-12-2015, 09:28 PM
I'm happy to pay more but I want know what benefits we will get with the additional tax collected. Also if it's after next years election I hope any party considering it will have their plans in their manifesto

07-12-2015, 10:17 PM
I'm happy to pay more but I want know what benefits we will get with the additional tax collected. Also if it's after next years election I hope any party considering it will have their plans in their manifesto

Good point...we shall see!

Halifaxhibby
08-12-2015, 02:10 AM
Increase income tax yet keep council tax levels frozen?, another flagship policy from miss magoo and her crooks?, sterling work sturgeon!!!, gave away 12 million yesterday. For what?, main transport artery in scotland ****** and she's throwing around money like santa claus. Run a country?, lol!, wouldn't trust that mob to run me a bath!!!!!.

08-12-2015, 05:32 AM

Will be interesting to see if the Tories stand on reducing income tax in Scotland.

08-12-2015, 06:45 AM
Increase income tax yet keep council tax levels frozen?, another flagship policy from miss magoo and her crooks?, sterling work sturgeon!!!, gave away 12 million yesterday. For what?, main transport artery in scotland ****** and she's throwing around money like santa claus. Run a country?, lol!, wouldn't trust that mob to run me a bath!!!!!.
Have the Government actually said that they will increase IT?

08-12-2015, 06:47 AM
Have the Government actually said that they will increase IT?

No. :greengrin

malcolm
08-12-2015, 07:32 AM
The scottish budget will be announced on 16 Dec having been delayed from September due to dependancies on the overall UK position. For various reasons there is no chance the 10p portion of income tax, available to be set higher or lower across all the income tax rates , will be different to the rest of UK.

In fact there is little chance they will ever use these powers as the SNP do not think they are flexible enough. When the next and third incarnation of tax powers are delivered - when the Scots govt ratifies the (yet to be passed) Scotland Act 2016 - it would allow them to set rates and also allowances unconnected to the rest of the UK. This is apparently attractive as it allows progressive taxation - tax the poor less and the rich more... course some of the latter will either need paid more or they or their employers may move south. It is costing HMRC £35m to implement the current powers to which the scots have to date contributed about £1.7m.

08-12-2015, 08:33 AM
Jumping the gun a bit lol.

08-12-2015, 08:55 AM

:faf: That's brilliant. Absolute outrage at something that hasn't happened. :hilarious

I take it you had a good night, last night. :thumbsup:

08-12-2015, 09:20 AM
:faf: That's brilliant. Absolute outrage at something that hasn't happened. :hilarious

I take it you had a good night, last night. :thumbsup:

A Good night and Halifax don't usually go together :wink:

08-12-2015, 09:25 AM

lots of giggles

HappyHanlon
08-12-2015, 11:05 AM

Let me taste your tears.

08-12-2015, 07:36 PM

About the December update, aye.

The paperwork I saw says it's where you live rather than where you work that determines whether you're a Scottish taxpayer or not. So will depend where you are registered.

Halifaxhibby
08-12-2015, 08:46 PM
Brilliant!, Ha ha!, you snp guys are easier to wind up than a clockwork toy!!!! Lol!
Merry christmas guys!, if santa doesnt bring you what you want, don't blame davey cameron!!!

08-12-2015, 08:52 PM
Brilliant!, Ha ha!, you snp guys are easier to wind up than a clockwork toy!!!! Lol!
Merry christmas guys!, if santa doesnt bring you what you want, don't blame davey cameron!!!

Ach, of all the things you could have said, thats such a disappointing reposte.

I was only kidding. Pah.

Halifaxhibby
08-12-2015, 08:59 PM
Ach, of all the things you could have said, thats such a disappointing reposte.

I was only kidding. Pah.

Always up for a debate bud. Not much to say until the 16th though on snp income tax. They won't touch the rate until there re-elected next year in case they eff that up as well!

liamh2202
09-12-2015, 10:44 AM
Depends where you live.

As a general rule, if you spend more time in England that. Scotland you'll be English resident and vice versa.

Depends on other things though. How often are you abroad? Do you have a house up here?

Based in pompey just now... Have a house in scotland where i travel to at weekends... Where im based changes every two years and obviously deployment... Sounds like a minefield haha

09-12-2015, 10:51 AM
Based in pompey just now... Have a house in scotland where i travel to at weekends... Where im based changes every two years and obviously deployment... Sounds like a minefield haha

"HMRC is currently working closely with the Ministry of Defence on the preparation of separate guidance to ensure that all service personnel will have clarity on how the SRIT will apply to their individual circumstances prior to its introduction. This guidance will be available later this year."

09-12-2015, 02:28 PM
"HMRC is currently working closely with the Ministry of Defence on the preparation of separate guidance to ensure that all service personnel will have clarity on how the SRIT will apply to their individual circumstances prior to its introduction. This guidance will be available later this year."

So around the 30th of February then?

SausageSurprise
09-12-2015, 09:31 PM

You wouldn't last 2 minutes on the TAMB!

I reckon it'll stay the same or even decrease ever so slightly(highly unlikely all the same) to sweeten us up for the May elections then once those are out the way we'll see a fair wee hike in their first budget or whatever it will be called

SNPgood or SNPbad??? We'll soon find out

10-12-2015, 06:54 AM

I reckon it'll stay the same or even decrease ever so slightly(highly unlikely all the same) to sweeten us up for the May elections then once those are out the way we'll see a fair wee hike in their first budget or whatever it will be called

You reckon that the SNP will put politics before principles? That would be a surprise...

10-12-2015, 08:18 AM
You reckon that the SNP will put politics before principles? That would be a surprise...

Given that they are so far ahead in the polls they could enter the election with a promise to raise taxes without suffering any significant electoral damage. It will go against the grain though, they love giving us "free" stuff, they aren't so keen on asking us to pay the bill.
I'd rather they left income tax alone and let councils set their own levels of Council Tax. Thats nothing To do with the rights and wrongs of the council tax freeze for me, local politicians should be locally accountable for their actions. Its ironic that a party whose main reason for existence is to give Scots more control over their destiny maintains as much power as possible at Holyrood for itself.

10-12-2015, 09:15 AM

As I understand it, the Scottish Income Tax Rate Change will not become law until Aril 2016 anyway, so it can't rise, or fall, in December.

In other news, Local Government Finance is explained in simple terms.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CV2aboBWIAAiJk8.jpg:large

13-12-2015, 03:05 PM

I think we should tax you twice, seeing as you've got the best of both worlds.:wink:

Canon Hannan
13-12-2015, 05:03 PM

Scotland is run well by SNP.....unlike the corrupt, paedophile ridden, war mongering Westminster brigade.

13-12-2015, 05:28 PM
Scotland is run well by SNP.....unlike the corrupt, paedophile ridden, war mongering Westminster brigade.

13-12-2015, 08:42 PM

Tell that to the Fifers, council workers, NHS, railways and ferry users

ano hibby
14-12-2015, 07:50 AM
Am I right in saying that in April next year the SNP could raise income tax rates but only on ALL bands ie disproportionate hit on lower income earners? But when the current Scotland bill (if approved) goes through then they can vary eg put up the highest tax rates whilst holding lowest one?

14-12-2015, 08:01 AM
Am I right in saying that in April next year the SNP could raise income tax rates but only on ALL bands ie disproportionate hit on lower income earners? But when the current Scotland bill (if approved) goes through then they can vary eg put up the highest tax rates whilst holding lowest one?

RE your first bit.... Yes indeed, in fact on TV yesterday the Labour person (Sunday politics) stated that if they were in power they'd not make any changes as the tax set up currently stands.

I think so re your 2nd bit!

14-12-2015, 08:37 AM

So well run and managed they failed massively to deliver their promise for school class sizes. Great job SNP.

ano hibby
14-12-2015, 09:01 AM
RE your first bit.... Yes indeed, in fact on TV yesterday the Labour person (Sunday politics) stated that if they were in power they'd not make any changes as the tax set up currently stands.

I think so re your 2nd bit!

Thanks

happiehibbie
14-12-2015, 10:52 AM
TBH I am not looking forward to this tax malarkey. I did not vote for a independent Scotland and am worried about the financial hit on my income and company profits. I personally don't agree with tax bands why do people always want hard working people to pay more.
I think the bands are too low 31 k a year is not a lot of money before jumping up to the next level.
Secondly I hope the accounts forecast is better than their oil forecast

14-12-2015, 10:56 AM
TBH I am not looking forward to this tax malarkey. I did not vote for a independent Scotland and am worried about the financial hit on my income and company profits. I personally don't agree with tax bands why do people always want hard working people to pay more.
I think the bands are too low 31 k a year is not a lot of money before jumping up to the next level.

Company profits are unaffected by the tax moves; it's only Income Tax that is affected.. Corporation Tax is the last tax that will be devolved, given its political significance.

As for the banding, the HR band actually kicks in at £42k, given the Personal Allowance.

14-12-2015, 11:06 AM
I did not know about the corporation tax which is good news http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/14/bcc1416130e2bf74c1aea95af20ce72c.jpg

Your pic there.... you should add the PA of £10,600 to the Higher Rate threshold of £31,785. You only pay Higher rates if you earn more than £42,385.

14-12-2015, 11:09 AM
I did not know about the corporation tax which is good news http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/12/14/bcc1416130e2bf74c1aea95af20ce72c.jpg

It does say Tax rate on income above your personal allowance (£10k?).

14-12-2015, 01:02 PM
Company profits are unaffected by the tax moves; it's only Income Tax that is affected.. Corporation Tax is the last tax that will be devolved, given its political significance.

As for the banding, the HR band actually kicks in at £42k, given the Personal Allowance.

It's quite scary that people are so willing to complain the bands are set too low while clearly not having the faintest scooby where they are actually set.

Personally I think the steps are too coarse and there's too few of them, they should build in smaller jumps to get to a highest rate of 50% somewhere around £100K.

14-12-2015, 02:46 PM
It's quite scary that people are so willing to complain the bands are set too low while clearly not having the faintest scooby where they are actually set. Personally I think the steps are too coarse and there's too few of them, they should build in smaller jumps to get to a highest rate of 50% somewhere around £100K.

Well I know exactly where they are set and thanks to HMRC know exactly what my overall rate of tax is (although they cunningly missed out my employers NIC contribs which is a bit of a joke considering that is a not inconsiderable amount of cash that is included in my cost of employment)...I would agree they are too coarse with the 40% band in particularly very harsh.

Add in VAT, council tax and all the various other taxes I suffer and it's clear a very significant percentage of my salary goes to the tax man one way or the other...hence why you'll find me complaining bitterly (no shock there!) if someone suggests that I pay even more!!

Lucky_Jim
14-12-2015, 05:54 PM
[QUOTE=happiehibbie;4523097]TBH I am not looking forward to this tax malarkey. I did not vote for a independent Scotland and am worried about the financial hit on my income and company profits. I personally don't agree with tax bands why do people always want hard working people to pay more.

What's your suggestion for alternative(s) to tax bands? Tax bands ensure that income tax remains one of the most progressive forms of taxation available to Government and that those with the greater means of contributing do indeed contribute more. The principle of higher earners bearing a greater tax burden is one of the most fundamental ones in a civilised society. Taxes that are applied at a flat rate - e.g VAT - are the most regressive and unfair and take absolutely no account of a consumers ability to pay. It is deeply unfair IMO that the richest in society pay exactly the same for some of life's most basic necessities as the poorest in society.

Have I misunderstood you or are you seriously suggesting that higher earners are harder working than low earners? I hope not because that's a deeply flawed argument.

I also agree with other posters that the bands could be better tapered so that there are more steps between the basic rate and higher rate of tax, for example a 30% rate that kicks in on earnings mid way between the current thresholds.

happiehibbie
14-12-2015, 10:33 PM
[QUOTE=happiehibbie;4523097]TBH I am not looking forward to this tax malarkey. I did not vote for a independent Scotland and am worried about the financial hit on my income and company profits. I personally don't agree with tax bands why do people always want hard working people to pay more.

What's your suggestion for alternative(s) to tax bands? Tax bands ensure that income tax remains one of the most progressive forms of taxation available to Government and that those with the greater means of contributing do indeed contribute more. The principle of higher earners bearing a greater tax burden is one of the most fundamental ones in a civilised society. Taxes that are applied at a flat rate - e.g VAT - are the most regressive and unfair and take absolutely no account of a consumers ability to pay. It is deeply unfair IMO that the richest in society pay exactly the same for some of life's most basic necessities as the poorest in society.

Have I misunderstood you or are you seriously suggesting that higher earners are harder working than low earners? I hope not because that's a deeply flawed argument.

I also agree with other posters that the bands could be better tapered so that there are more steps between the basic rate and higher rate of tax, for example a 30% rate that kicks in on earnings mid way between the current thresholds.

Actually that's exactly the opposite. low earners are the ones I am looking to be rewarded knocking there pan in and getting hit by tax. I actually got my wires crossed TBH typing and driving !
The Tax system is ancient and a complete overhaul is required. I am concerned re the SNP financial experts

PiemanP
14-12-2015, 10:48 PM
I work for a company that is registered in both England and Scotland, flexible working on both sides of the border etc. If the SNP put up rates in Scotland for middle earners I'm sure there'll be a way for me to move over to the English system easily enough.

I hope they don't touch anything, I believe the current tax system is fine and the lowest earners generally pay no income tax, which is fair. But I'm sure if the SNP do change things the motive will be to further divide Scotland away from the rest of the uk and drive their 'us v them' agenda.

14-12-2015, 10:53 PM
I work for a company that is registered in both England and Scotland, flexible working on both sides of the border etc. If the SNP put up rates in Scotland for middle earners I'm sure there'll be a way for me to move over to the English system easily enough.

I hope they don't touch anything, I believe the current tax system is fine and the lowest earners generally pay no income tax, which is fair. But I'm sure if the SNP do change things the motive will be to further divide Scotland away from the rest of the uk and drive their 'us v them' agenda.
It won't be your call.

If you're resident in Scotland, that's where you'll be taxed.

By the way, I'm pretty sure companies can't be registered in both England and Scotland. It's one or the other.

14-12-2015, 11:13 PM
It won't be your call.

If you're resident in Scotland, that's where you'll be taxed.

My company is registered in Scotland, but I'll be living in England.

What will happen in those circumstances?

14-12-2015, 11:44 PM
My company is registered in Scotland, but I'll be living in England.

What will happen in those circumstances?
It's not relevant where the company is registered. It's your residence that counts.

Think of a situation where you are living in the UK, working for a US company. You'd be taxed under UK law. Broadly, the same principle applies here.

15-12-2015, 12:09 AM
The capital gains tax might be more significant to some.

15-12-2015, 12:36 AM
It's not relevant where the company is registered. It's your residence that counts.

Think of a situation where you are living in the UK, working for a US company. You'd be taxed under UK law. Broadly, the same principle applies here.

The Daily Mail is registered in Bermuda for tax purposes. How does that work?

15-12-2015, 05:56 AM
The Daily Mail is registered in Bermuda for tax purposes. How does that work?
Not sure that's the case.

IIRC, the controversy is over the fact that Rothermere's ownership is through some offshore trusts. That allows him to avoid tax. The company itself, though, is resident in the UK.

15-12-2015, 06:35 AM
The capital gains tax might be more significant to some.

Is CGT being devolved?

15-12-2015, 10:02 AM

This is why I've deserted the "Holy Ground", when this sort of tosh is not only accepted as "political debate" but cheered on it's clear there's no debate to be had here.

I'm surprised you'd didn't throw in a wastemonster or westmonster for good measure.

15-12-2015, 08:06 PM
Well I know exactly where they are set and thanks to HMRC know exactly what my overall rate of tax is (although they cunningly missed out my employers NIC contribs which is a bit of a joke considering that is a not inconsiderable amount of cash that is included in my cost of employment)...I would agree they are too coarse with the 40% band in particularly very harsh.

Add in VAT, council tax and all the various other taxes I suffer and it's clear a very significant percentage of my salary goes to the tax man one way or the other...hence why you'll find me complaining bitterly (no shock there!) if someone suggests that I pay even more!!

The tax band increases aren't as big as they seem. It's only a 10% increase when you include NI; 20% + 12% NI to 40% + 2% NI.

Of course, there is the possibility of 40% + 12% NI for a small section of your income if you have NI exempt benefits like medical cover.

15-12-2015, 10:05 PM
The tax band increases aren't as big as they seem. It's only a 10% increase when you include NI; 20% + 12% NI to 40% + 2% NI. Of course, there is the possibility of 40% + 12% NI for a small section of your income if you have NI exempt benefits like medical cover.

Well it depends if you treat NI the same as income tax I suppose but either way I'm not sure anyone would rejoice about the fact that when one tax is tapered another is increased.

Im in a minority (of one possibly!) on here in believing people are taxed too much and as a nation we would be much better served leaving more money in more people's hands so I'm never going to be convinced that direct tax on earnings of 32% or 42% out with a set allowance is appropriate...especially with a VAT rate of 20% to pay on taxed earning after ;-)

15-12-2015, 10:59 PM
It's repugnant that 30 odd % of what I earn (which is a pittance) gets taken off me after the personal allowance, I can barely afford to wipe my own erse, so if it gets put up I'm banjoed.

16-12-2015, 04:32 AM
Working paying tax in sweden I pay 35% tax (thats the lowest bracket by the way) this is a mix of national and local taxes as well as a church tax which you can and I have stopped paying. Once you go over it's 45% the thresholds aren't to high either. Your first 13000kr is tax free. Its strange in a way one of my coworkers lives 5minutes from my house but pays 32% tax as it's worked out on which area you live in.

16-12-2015, 05:43 AM
Working paying tax in sweden I pay 35% tax (thats the lowest bracket by the way) this is a mix of national and local taxes as well as a church tax which you can and I have stopped paying. Once you go over it's 45% the thresholds aren't to high either. Your first 13000kr is tax free. Its strange in a way one of my coworkers lives 5minutes from my house but pays 32% tax as it's worked out on which area you live in.

Local Income Tax. No brainer in that you pay for the services that your local government offer. Want more libraries or more bin collections, you pay more.

16-12-2015, 07:56 AM
Local Income Tax. No brainer in that you pay for the services that your local government offer. Want more libraries or more bin collections, you pay more.

I don't want any library's, can I get a % discount compared to my neighbour who loves the library?

16-12-2015, 09:08 AM
I don't want any library's, can I get a % discount compared to my neighbour who loves the library?

If we could all get discounts for services we don't use?

Where I live there are no street lights or pavements, I have no kids at school, the nearest park is a mile and a half away, but I still contribute to these services.

Funding for local services currently is a joke, coming as it does from central government in the main. Local taxation would make local government more accountable.

16-12-2015, 09:08 AM

Which, btw, is what's wrong with the SNP's local tax proposal. The money would be distributed locally but set at a national rate. Madness.

16-12-2015, 09:11 AM
Which, btw, is what's wrong with the SNP's local tax proposal. The money would be distributed locally but set at a national rate. Madness.

http://www.luath.co.uk/blossom.html

16-12-2015, 01:57 PM
Staying at 10% to absolutely nobody's surprise.

Meaning the bands are still 20%, 40% and 45%.

16-12-2015, 03:50 PM
Agreed, as the current system stands none of the parties in Scotland would have changed it.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

17-12-2015, 09:40 PM
I listened this morning to Libdem Willie Rennie, Tory Murdo Fraser and Labour Jackie Baillie all have a go at the budget. Negative criticism in all of the interviews. But...... When asked what they would have done differently none of them actually gave an answer. The Tory just said that SNP need to stop moaning as they had the chance to put up taxes. Libdem said they were "looking at options". Labour said they would have taken a three year view of an annual budget, WTF?!?!. And in a nutshell that is why the SNP will be returned again in the election next year. Thankfully!!!!!

18-12-2015, 05:23 PM

Piss off. My local Council would clean me out to fund transgender support group for unemployed criminals.

18-12-2015, 11:14 PM
I listened this morning to Libdem Willie Rennie, Tory Murdo Fraser and Labour Jackie Baillie all have a go at the budget. Negative criticism in all of the interviews. But...... When asked what they would have done differently none of them actually gave an answer. The Tory just said that SNP need to stop moaning as they had the chance to put up taxes. Libdem said they were "looking at options". Labour said they would have taken a three year view of an annual budget, WTF?!?!. And in a nutshell that is why the SNP will be returned again in the election next year. Thankfully!!!!!

exactly, all Labour/tory politicians and voters do is spew out the anti-SNP this anti SNP that garbage, they don't actually tell us what they would do to improve anything, only one party that will make a difference...and they just happen to be in government at the moment...thank the lord, Labour voters are totally and utterly obsessed with the SNP, which is great for the SNP of course as all their energy goes in to slating SNP policies...the man on the street hasn't a clue wtf Labours are :) hence nae votes :agree:

19-12-2015, 07:01 AM
"Yeah, you're right"

"No, you're more right"

"I don't agree, I actually think you're the rightest"

"At least, we can agree that everyone else is wrong"

"Oh yeah, you're right there"

Repeat ad nauseam.

19-12-2015, 11:25 PM
"Yeah, you're right"

"No, you're more right"

"I don't agree, I actually think you're the rightest"

"At least, we can agree that everyone else is wrong"

"Oh yeah, you're right there"

Repeat ad nauseam.

I agree

20-12-2015, 08:31 AM
I would not trust this government to run a bath. They have done nothing but cry about not having enough power over their own finances, they get it, and they don't use or, or copy what Westminster do. The only variation being the new stamp duty...which has resulted in most being worse off and far less revenues for the government...well done John, you have played a blinder.

Council tax tax is a vote winning story so they won't change it until after the elections. Scratch the surface and a freeze on this tax does nothing more than benefit the most wealthy as it is incredibly disproportionate-hardly something you would think the SNP would be in favour of, unfortunately they are not quite clever enough to to work that out.

Sooner we are shot of this mob the better.

20-12-2015, 12:00 PM
The majority are worse off?

I wouldn't say the majority of people have bought houses worth over 330k recently and that's the point at which the new LBTT rates are worse than the rest of the UKs SDLT

20-12-2015, 02:31 PM
I would not trust this government to run a bath. They have done nothing but cry about not having enough power over their own finances, they get it, and they don't use or, or copy what Westminster do. The only variation being the new stamp duty...which has resulted in most being worse off and far less revenues for the government...well done John, you have played a blinder.

Council tax tax is a vote winning story so they won't change it until after the elections. Scratch the surface and a freeze on this tax does nothing more than benefit the most wealthy as it is incredibly disproportionate-hardly something you would think the SNP would be in favour of, unfortunately they are not quite clever enough to to work that out.

Sooner we are shot of this mob the better.

The two bits I have highlighted are just nonsense, especially when put together as you have done. If income tax had been increased then it would have to be increased across ALL tax bands, impacting the poorest in our society more than anyone. And you also then claim that only the wealthiest in Scotland have benefited from the council tax freeze. I can assure you that I am anything but wealthy but it has helped me that my council tax has not been going up with inflation over the last ten years. If you dont agree with the things that the Scottish Government is doing can you please offer alternatives rather than just being negative. I would also love to see the opposition parties do the same. Unfortunately you wont and they cant!!!!

speedy_gonzales
20-12-2015, 03:43 PM
In my experience, it is the poorest in society that have lost out when essential services were cut (elderly, child care, support services). Whether these cuts are directly associated with tax freezes I don't know, but I do know that those that can afford it can use private services, an option not available to all.

20-12-2015, 04:11 PM
Piss off. My local Council would clean me out to fund transgender support group for unemployed criminals.

👍

20-12-2015, 04:13 PM

Great idea. Just like upgrading or cancelling your Sky package.

20-12-2015, 08:56 PM

Where I live there are no street lights or pavements, I have no kids at school, the nearest park is a mile and a half away, but I still contribute to these services.

Funding for local services currently is a joke, coming as it does from central government in the main. Local taxation would make local government more accountable.
Re the schools. They are teaching the next generation nurses, doctors , policemen firemen teachers etc. You'll benefit from their education so whether or not you have children is irrelevant for funding education.

20-12-2015, 09:38 PM
The two bits I have highlighted are just nonsense, especially when put together as you have done. If income tax had been increased then it would have to be increased across ALL tax bands, impacting the poorest in our society more than anyone. And you also then claim that only the wealthiest in Scotland have benefited from the council tax freeze. I can assure you that I am anything but wealthy but it has helped me that my council tax has not been going up with inflation over the last ten years. If you dont agree with the things that the Scottish Government is doing can you please offer alternatives rather than just being negative. I would also love to see the opposition parties do the same. Unfortunately you wont and they cant!!!!

This isn't accurate. The poorest pay tax on less of their income. So those in the higher tax brackets are impacted more by an increase in tax.

It's a weak argument by the SNP.

21-12-2015, 09:20 AM

Re the schools. They are teaching the next generation nurses, doctors , policemen firemen teachers etc. You'll benefit from their education so whether or not you have children is irrelevant for funding education.

The above is the context. I was not advocating only pay for the services you use, but pointing out that what Easty said doesn't work. I happily contribute to the services I don't use. Easty said he didn't want libraries (which I took as being tongue in cheek)

Taxation needs to be devolved to local level so we can vote at local level to get the services we feel are more important at a local level. Better public transport in my area would be good.

21-12-2015, 09:27 PM
This isn't accurate. The poorest pay tax on less of their income. So those in the higher tax brackets are impacted more by an increase in tax.

It's a weak argument by the SNP.
Yeah, i understand that but it would probably have a bigger impact on the lower paid worker to increase income tax as the possibility is that they would already have less disposable income. So do you think it would be OK to raise income tax for the lowest paid workers then? Personally I think that would have been a shocking thing for any party to do. In fact it was pretty universally agreed by all parties that Swinney had done the right thing by not increasing income tax at this time. And again to my other point can you suggest some other ideas that would have been better

21-12-2015, 09:42 PM
The above is the context. I was not advocating only pay for the services you use, but pointing out that what Easty said doesn't work. I happily contribute to the services I don't use. Easty said he didn't want libraries (which I took as being tongue in cheek)

Taxation needs to be devolved to local level so we can vote at local level to get the services we feel are more important at a local level. Better public transport in my area would be good.

Wouldn't work imo. You would start to get a real postcode lottery in essential services such as hospitals and schools. Plus I wouldn't trust any/most councils to budget and spend correctly.

22-12-2015, 06:29 AM
Yeah, i understand that but it would probably have a bigger impact on the lower paid worker to increase income tax as the possibility is that they would already have less disposable income. So do you think it would be OK to raise income tax for the lowest paid workers then? Personally I think that would have been a shocking thing for any party to do. In fact it was pretty universally agreed by all parties that Swinney had done the right thing by not increasing income tax at this time. And again to my other point can you suggest some other ideas that would have been better

So you are happy for all parties to agree when it suits you? The other parties will have their own ideas come election time.

My personal view is that they're all lacking inspiration and the SNP are as bad as the rest. They talk about being progressive but there's no substance, no evidence of any actual policies. They get new powers but don't use them and once again it's Westminsters fault. It's pathetic.

If there's to be a tax rise, then yes I would suggest all bands see an increase, to answer your question.

22-12-2015, 09:23 AM
Wouldn't work imo. You would start to get a real postcode lottery in essential services such as hospitals and schools. Plus I wouldn't trust any/most councils to budget and spend correctly.

Works fine in Denmark.

22-12-2015, 09:56 AM

But the thing is it really isn't a lottery in those circumstances. People do actually get what they voted for. Switzerland (population 8M) has a federal government and 26 tax raising cantonal governments. The federal government handles only what needs done across the country: defence, transport etc and the cantons are free to set their own tax rates and spending priorities. It really does work.

22-12-2015, 11:17 AM

no it would not and you have missed the point the Scottish government has tax varying powers...it has never even thought about using them to go up or down as swinney and wee sturge know they would make a total mess of it.

Re council tax you seemed to have picked the bit you want, again my point, as noted was is that as a tax it is disproportionately icy is a fact.

For a start I would unfreeze and review council tax. During an era where there requires to be spending cuts these nuggets have slashed the budget again by freezing their revenue. Noting more than tipping the cap to their deluded followers.

22-12-2015, 07:21 PM
no it would not and you have missed the point the Scottish government has tax varying powers...it has never even thought about using them to go up or down as swinney and wee sturge know they would make a total mess of it.

Re council tax you seemed to have picked the bit you want, again my point, as noted was is that as a tax it is disproportionately icy is a fact.

For a start I would unfreeze and review council tax. During an era where there requires to be spending cuts these nuggets have slashed the budget again by freezing their revenue. Noting more than tipping the cap to their deluded followers.
Pretty sure your 1st paragraph is wrong, as it stands there's no % differential, if a Scottish government want to raise (or lower) tax by 1p then it would apply exactly the same on each band making the impact of any changes disproportionately higher on the lower bands (down = much better but up = much worse) which is why all the parties stated they also wouldn't have made any changes.

Agree with your other points tho :-)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk