View Full Version : Masonic Blacklisting because you're a hibs fan?

doddsy
04-12-2015, 07:28 PM
Has any other Hibee thought they may be on a Masonic Blacklist because they know you are a Hibs fan, because they think you of you either as a Catholic or Catholic tendencies because you support the Hibs.

I think it is the case. I hope this posting is allowed and people just give their opinion as it is a topic after all and related to the Hibs a club I love although I am not a Catholic and it shouldnt matter anyhow.

I am merely asking anyone who thinks this is the truth or not to give their opinion please.

doddsy.

CA Hibby
04-12-2015, 07:30 PM
Has any other Hibee thought they may be on a Masonic Blacklist because they know you are a Hibs fan, because they think you of you either as a Catholic or Catholic tendencies because you support the Hibs.

I think it is the case. I hope this posting is allowed and people just give their opinion as it is a topic after all and related to the Hibs a club I love although I am not a Catholic and it shouldnt matter anyhow.

I am merely asking anyone who thinks this is the truth or not to give their opinion please.

doddsy.

Have to disagree on this, think it will be more personal than being a Hibs Fab...my opinion of course

04-12-2015, 07:32 PM
Nah I was asked if I wanted to join and they knew I was a Hibs supporter. I also know Hibs supporters and Catholics that are Masons. BTW I declined the offer.

04-12-2015, 07:33 PM
Bloke in my street is the top man in his lodge and he's a Hibs fan so I doubt that's a problem.

04-12-2015, 07:35 PM
My old man has been a Hibby most of his life, and a mason for most of his adult life. Don't see the conflict myself.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

04-12-2015, 07:36 PM
Know a couple of Hibs fans who are in Masons, one is high up in his lodge

04-12-2015, 07:37 PM

doddsy.

Have you been blackballed??

04-12-2015, 07:38 PM
People I know who are masons in my home town support a variety of teams, with a good few Hibs fans in the ranks, but not sure about religious backgrounds. I don't know much about the masons to be fair and have never had any real desire to learn more about it.

04-12-2015, 07:40 PM

doddsy.

Have you tried to join? Out of interest, if so why? Fwiw Gordon Smith was a Mason so unless they've changed their t&c's being connected to the hibees shouldn't exclude you.

doddsy
04-12-2015, 07:41 PM
Definitely I always thought it was because I have been a Hibee all my life

But according to the guys posting maybe I just really pissed one off.

04-12-2015, 07:45 PM

Out of interest can I ask why you are so keen to join.

04-12-2015, 07:46 PM
I'd love to be on a list that would make it impossible for me to join their gang - where do I sign up to get on it?

doddsy
04-12-2015, 07:47 PM
Out of interest can I ask why you are so keen to join.

Ive never tried to join,

I meant I am quite sure I am on their blacklist

doddsy

04-12-2015, 07:50 PM
I'd love to be on a list that would make it impossible for me to join their gang - where do I sign up to get on it?

As the famous Groucho Marx said. I DON'T WANT TO BELONG TO ANY CLUB THAT WILL ACCEPT PEOPLE LIKE ME AS A MEMBER

04-12-2015, 07:50 PM
Being a hibs fan? Can't see it, as others have said and from personal experience that type of discrimination is supposed to be in "anti-masonic"

I was booked to do a gig recently for a group of masons.... the reason? A Catholic wedding! ... don't get me wrong some of the guys wouldn't step in to the chapel but everyone went to the hall afterwards and had a good time! :-)

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

04-12-2015, 07:57 PM
I know plenty Hibs fans who are also 'wash hand basins' so don't see the connection.

Many years ago though, I was definitely on the receiving end of a union decision that went against me because the two top local union reps were staunch yams and had a problem with me because I am a Hibby. Their decision and stance forced me out of my trade.

04-12-2015, 07:58 PM
[QUOTE=doddsy;4516900]Has any other Hibee thought they may be on a Masonic Blacklist because they know you are a Hibs fan, because they think you of you either as a Catholic or Catholic tendencies because you support the Hibs.

U

doddsy.

Blacklist? Can I ask why you would even think that? Personally I think your imagination has been running wild.

04-12-2015, 07:58 PM
This has crossed my mind a number of times. I wear my fathers ring which has his initials on one side and the Masonic sign on the other. I wear this ring always and it always has his initials showing. I am a fairly well known Hibby locally and fairly well known in general. I owned a local business and for a number of years actually had the spare keys for the local lodge in case of emergency. I also know several of the past masters of the local lodge and regularly play dominoes there in the local league. I have been really surprised that at no time have I ever been approached to join . It does disappoint me because I would have loved to tell them where to go.

Stax
04-12-2015, 08:08 PM
[QUOTE=doddsy;4516921]Ive never tried to join,

doddsy[/QUOTE:smokin

04-12-2015, 08:08 PM
As the famous Groucho Marx said. I DON'T WANT TO BELONG TO ANY CLUB THAT WILL ACCEPT PEOPLE LIKE ME AS A MEMBER

04-12-2015, 08:10 PM

doddsy.

Perhaps you'll feature on next weeks episode of The Blacklist on Sky Living. If a guy called Raymond Reddington trys to contact you you should inform the FBI! ;-)

04-12-2015, 08:16 PM
My Grandfather was a Hibby and a mason.

Stax
04-12-2015, 08:25 PM
My Grandfather was a Hibby and a mason.
My grandfather was a Hibby and a plumber.

04-12-2015, 08:27 PM
Ive never tried to join,

doddsy

Maybe it's because of the time you broke into the lodge and ****ged the goat ??

04-12-2015, 08:29 PM
Perhaps you'll feature on next weeks episode of The Blacklist on Sky Living. If a guy called Raymond Reddington trys to contact you you should inform the FBI! ;-)

Raymond would just shoot him.

04-12-2015, 08:29 PM
Maybe it's because of the time you broke into the lodge and ****ged the goat ??

He could just become a PM.

04-12-2015, 08:32 PM
Mason's Orange Lodge, it's all the same pish.

04-12-2015, 08:55 PM
My Grandad was a Hibs player and a Mason.

Not for me I'm afraid, the Masons that is, but can't see it being an issue.

04-12-2015, 09:09 PM
I'd be as likely to become a Jambo as a Mason but there is no way there's a blacklist of Hibs fans.

I was at a party in the Masonic Club at Shrubhill and the function suite was like something from the 1970's. I suspect membership is ageing and therefore declining like many social clubs.

04-12-2015, 09:16 PM
He could just become a PM.
PM's don't do goats. They do pigs, no?

04-12-2015, 09:44 PM
Ive never tried to join,

doddsy

This bit doesn't really make any sense? Unless you have tried and failed or were blackballed what are you basing your assumption on?

04-12-2015, 09:46 PM

Only one?

04-12-2015, 09:47 PM
This bit doesn't really make any sense? Unless you have tried and failed or were blackballed what are you basing your assumption on?

That was the bit that bemused me. This thread is just bizarre.

04-12-2015, 10:46 PM
That was the bit that bemused me. This thread is just bizarre.

Definitely one of the more random ones. The boy's clearly not very good at keeping a secret, so that's probably been the undoing.

04-12-2015, 11:06 PM
There was a guy at my school called mason, but he wasn't any good at pool so I can't help move this discussion forward, sorry.

05-12-2015, 09:11 AM
I know I've heard Celtic supporters singing "who's the mason in the black?" at football matches, aimed at referees they feel are screwing them over. I'm fairly sure Hibs supporters have been heard singing that wee song too in the past, but not so much recently.

Just saying.

05-12-2015, 09:35 AM
I know of plenty Hibbys who are or have been masons.

I think there might be a conflict being a practicing Catholic and being a mason. Not being either i can't comment from experience but i'm sure to become a mason you have to denounce something a practicing Catholic's cannot.

Then again i could be talking complete mugumba.

05-12-2015, 09:36 AM
Have you asked if you can join?
Have you shown an interest ?

05-12-2015, 10:19 AM

I think there might be a conflict being a practicing Catholic and being a mason. Not being either i can't comment from experience but i'm sure to become a mason you have to denounce something a practicing Catholic's cannot.

It's more, I think, that being a mason is not seen as compatible with Catholic belief rather than the other way round.

05-12-2015, 10:43 AM

Almost....

A Mason has to state they believe in God, a higher being etc etc of whatever flavour, and that they must allow others to follow whatever belief they have. The Catholic faith essentially states that their is *only* one God. End of..... Something like that at least.

05-12-2015, 12:01 PM
A former client of mine is Sir Archibald Donald Orr-Ewing who was twice heid bummer of Scotland's freemasons. I got to know him and his wife fairly well and, for toffs, they were (probably still are) fantastic people. I never once sensed a hint of prejudice of any sort.

On the other hand, my ex father-in-law wasn't a freemason but was very much a bigot. He was senior partner of his firm and when it came to employing people, he wouldn't even interview anyone with what he termed a "suspect" surname, regardless of their CV.

05-12-2015, 12:08 PM
A former client of mine is Sir Archibald Donald Orr-Ewing who was twice heid bummer of Scotland's freemasons. I got to know him and his wife fairly well and, for toffs, they were (probably still are) fantastic people. I never once sensed a hint of prejudice of any sort.

On the other hand, my ex father-in-law wasn't a freemason but was very much a bigot. He was senior partner of his firm and when it came to employing people, he wouldn't even interview anyone with what he termed a "suspect" surname, regardless of their CV.

And a member of Ancient Stirling No 30.

There is no such thing as a Masonic blacklist to answer the OP. Many Hibees are Masons,in fact the Master elect of Denny St Andrew is a Hibby. To those who say they are a load of sheichts I would be interested to know how they come to this conclusion.

05-12-2015, 08:11 PM
Almost....

A Mason has to state they believe in God, a higher being etc etc of whatever flavour, and that they must allow others to follow whatever belief they have. The Catholic faith essentially states that their is *only* one God. End of..... Something like that at least.
I always say atheism is the future and this just helps convince me further

06-12-2015, 01:09 AM
PM's don't do goats. They do pigs, no?

Well, some of them do kids, allegedly.

For DC it might've been any animal, as long as it involved an humiliating climb down.

06-12-2015, 02:33 AM
My grandfather was a Hibby and a plumber.

You must be his little plumb? :greengrin

06-12-2015, 04:04 AM
You must be his little plumb? :greengrin

You good for a tap

06-12-2015, 04:39 AM
You good for a tap

Are you interested?

06-12-2015, 06:29 AM
Are you interested?

Maybe/probably:greengrin

06-12-2015, 06:34 AM
What do the Masons even do? Can't for the life of me fathom why anyone would want to join, but not much of a clue about what they actually get up to.

06-12-2015, 06:50 AM
What do the Masons even do? Can't for the life of me fathom why anyone would want to join, but not much of a clue about what they actually get up to.

Contacts. It's not what you know...

Greenworld
06-12-2015, 08:17 AM
You would be amazed at the amount of Free Masons in the Hibs ranks. Lots of misguided beliefs about religion its is first and foremost a Friendship group of people who do a lot of good for a lot of causes.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

06-12-2015, 08:27 AM

It makes good men better by using a system of morality, based on allegory and illustrated by signs and symbols. ☺Charity is one of its main raison d'etre. The Grand Lodge of Scotland has in the last two years donated in excess of £100,000 to Prostate Scotland alone. They gave also donated to many other charities. The Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire since 2011 has donated over £50,000 to charity, mostly local. They also donated around £15,000 to Prostate Scotland last year. None of this usually gets published though. It is not any more "jobs for the boys" than the local golf club.

06-12-2015, 09:09 AM
Almost....

Almost...:greengrin

The Roman Catholic Church has a long history of objection to Freemasonry. The objections raised are based on the allegation that Masonry teaches a naturalistic deistic religion which is in conflict with Church doctrine.

Deism is the belief that reason and observation of the natural world are sufficient to determine the existence of God, accompanied with the rejection of revelation and authority as a source of religious knowledge.

A number of Papal pronouncements have been issued against Freemasonry. The first was Pope Clement XII’s in 1738; the most recent was by Pope Leo in 1890. The 1917 Cole of Canon Law explicitly declared that joining Freemasonry entailed automatic excommunication and also forbade books friendly to Freemasonry.

The matter was clarified again in November 1983 when the Vatican’s Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, issued a Declaration on Masonic Associations, which states:

“… the Church’s negative judgment in regard to Masonic association remains unchanged since their principles have always been considered irreconcilable with the doctrine of the Church and therefore membership in them remains forbidden. The faithful who enroll in Masonic associations are in a state of grave sin and may not receive Holy Communion.”

In 1996 the Bishop of the Diocese of Lincoln, Nebraska, published a list of organizations in which membership by Catholics was forbidden. The Freemasons were on that list, and the Vatican backed the issuance of the list.

There was also a six-year study of Masonry by the German bishops and a study of American Masonry by Professor William Whalen, who was commissioned by the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops Pastoral Research and Practices Committee. Both studies arrived at a similar conclusion: That the principles and basic rituals of Masonry embody a naturalistic religion in which active participation was judged to be incompatible with Christian faith and practice.

Thus, from a Catholic perspective, there is still a ban on Catholics joining Masonic Lodges.

Are Catholics alone in this among Christians? No, but in contrast to Catholic allegations of rationalism and naturalism, Protestant objections are more likely to be based on allegations of mysticism and occultism.

06-12-2015, 09:59 AM
Contacts. It's not what you know...

Not really true these days.

06-12-2015, 10:15 AM
Not really true these days.

Of course it is, but it's not confined to the freemasons. However it's the secrecy/mystique of the Freemasons that arouses suspicion and feeds rumours (not always false either).

06-12-2015, 01:03 PM
Almost...:greengrin

The Roman Catholic Church has a long history of objection to Freemasonry. The objections raised are based on the allegation that Masonry teaches a naturalistic deistic religion which is in conflict with Church doctrine.

Deism is the belief that reason and observation of the natural world are sufficient to determine the existence of God, accompanied with the rejection of revelation and authority as a source of religious knowledge.

A number of Papal pronouncements have been issued against Freemasonry. The first was Pope Clement XII’s in 1738; the most recent was by Pope Leo in 1890. The 1917 Cole of Canon Law explicitly declared that joining Freemasonry entailed automatic excommunication and also forbade books friendly to Freemasonry.

The matter was clarified again in November 1983 when the Vatican’s Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, issued a Declaration on Masonic Associations, which states:

“… the Church’s negative judgment in regard to Masonic association remains unchanged since their principles have always been considered irreconcilable with the doctrine of the Church and therefore membership in them remains forbidden. The faithful who enroll in Masonic associations are in a state of grave sin and may not receive Holy Communion.”

In 1996 the Bishop of the Diocese of Lincoln, Nebraska, published a list of organizations in which membership by Catholics was forbidden. The Freemasons were on that list, and the Vatican backed the issuance of the list.

There was also a six-year study of Masonry by the German bishops and a study of American Masonry by Professor William Whalen, who was commissioned by the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops Pastoral Research and Practices Committee. Both studies arrived at a similar conclusion: That the principles and basic rituals of Masonry embody a naturalistic religion in which active participation was judged to be incompatible with Christian faith and practice.

Thus, from a Catholic perspective, there is still a ban on Catholics joining Masonic Lodges.

Are Catholics alone in this among Christians? No, but in contrast to Catholic allegations of rationalism and naturalism, Protestant objections are more likely to be based on allegations of mysticism and occultism.

Makes me wonder how they investigated Masonry if they were not members. Masonry does not limit itself to any religion. It can be joined by any person who professes a belief in a Supreme Being no matter their, colour , race, creed or religion.

06-12-2015, 01:04 PM
Of course it is, but it's not confined to the freemasons. However it's the secrecy/mystique of the Freemasons that arouses suspicion and feeds rumours (not always false either).

It really isn't any more Peeve. There are as many unemployed Masons as non Masons. In the old days, yep, now, no.

06-12-2015, 01:15 PM
Maybe/probably:greengrin

06-12-2015, 01:28 PM

I was referring to the freemasons specifically.

06-12-2015, 01:49 PM
It really isn't any more Peeve. There are as many unemployed Masons as non Masons. In the old days, yep, now, no.

The only point I was trying to make is that wherever you have a group of people who meet up regularly, be it in a lodge, at a golf or social club, rotarians/round table.- wherever, favours will be done and backs may be mutually scratched. It's human nature and not necessarily a bad thing either.

06-12-2015, 02:00 PM
The only point I was trying to make is that wherever you have a group of people who meet up regularly, be it in a lodge, at a golf or social club, rotarians/round table.- wherever, favours will be done and backs may be mutually scratched. It's human nature and not necessarily a bad thing either.

I get you now, agreed.

06-12-2015, 02:21 PM

Cool. Totally agree with this.

Should add that this was indeed more apparent in days gone past though. If someone has been found guilty of a crime then the chances are he will not be allowed to join Freemasonry. In the past, when employment was bountiful, if two people went for a job and one was a Mason with equal qualification and the guy interviewing was a Mason, chances are the Mason would get it simply because the interviewer knew he was an honest man. I am not for one second saying here though that there have not been many occasions of Masons committing crimes!!!! They should be kicked out if caught and prosecuted though.

06-12-2015, 03:21 PM
My old boss at work was a mason and he always maintained that the only advantage it gave anybody was for example if you had two candidates in a head to head for a job and they were both equally qualified you would give the job to your fellow mason.

Personally I could never join anything that meets in a lodge :greengrin

06-12-2015, 04:10 PM
My old boss at work was a mason and he always maintained that the only advantage it gave anybody was for example if you had two candidates in a head to head for a job and they were both equally qualified you would give the job to your fellow mason.

Personally I could never join anything that meets in a lodge :greengrin

No apres ski?

Rasta_Hibs
06-12-2015, 04:25 PM
Nothing to contribute except the masons have a bloody cheek black listing anyone seeing that they willingly or unwillingly follow the true doctrine of Lucifer!

06-12-2015, 04:26 PM
Nothing to contribute except the masons have a bloody cheek black listing anyone seeing that they willingly or unwillingly follow the true doctrine of Lucifer!

LOL. Load of mince.

06-12-2015, 05:50 PM
LOL. Load of mince.

I agree. The loyal orange lodge is a load of mince :greengrin

I've met a few of their membership recently, absolute roasters. Good luck joining them if they know you're a hibs fan doddsy :greengrin

06-12-2015, 06:13 PM
I agree. The loyal orange lodge is a load of mince :greengrin

I've met a few of their membership recently, absolute roasters. Good luck joining them if they know you're a hibs fan doddsy :greengrin

😅 Definitely have a problem going through degrees in the Orange if they knew he was a hibby.

06-12-2015, 06:13 PM

You come out with some amazing stuff on here.

06-12-2015, 06:22 PM
Do the Masons really Black Ball people?

Isn't it enough that they do wierd things to Goats?

06-12-2015, 07:07 PM
It's a black goat.