View Full Version : Alex Salmond
Why is he climbing over the sofa?
http://www.scotsman.com/news/odd/alex-salmond-forgoes-syria-debate-to-unveil-portrait-of-himself-1-3959574
Answers on a postcard.
27-11-2015, 08:57 AM
...to get to the whisky? :greengrin
Assuming you meant "sofa".... it reminds me of one of the scariest things I've ever seen on telly, when "Bob" climbed over the sofa in Twin Peaks.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c5WC0TW_0qc
27-11-2015, 01:23 PM
Why is he climbing over the soda?
http://www.scotsman.com/news/odd/alex-salmond-forgoes-syria-debate-to-unveil-portrait-of-himself-1-3959574
Answers on a postcard.
More to the point, why was he swanning around in this jolly, when an important debate about our National security and well-being was being debated in West Minster?
27-11-2015, 03:16 PM
More to the point, why was he swanning around in this jolly, when an important debate about our National security and well-being was being debated in West Minster?
He had already been briefed in private, apparently (think he's still a PC member?). In any event, he's not the SNP leader in the House. His views would have been well-represented by his colleagues, I'm sure.
fulshie
27-11-2015, 03:49 PM
More to the point, why was he swanning around in this jolly, when an important debate about our National security and well-being was being debated in West Minster?The debate on whether to bomb Syria or not was brought forward due to the Paris attacks. Alex Salmond had already had other appointments (as would other MP's) and one of these was to take part in a war veterans get together (not sure exactly what it was about) but, if he chose to walk away from that what do you think his political opponents would say. I think he was in a catch 22 situation myself. The unveiling of a portrait of himself didn't help him either to be fair.
It's a fantastic portrait. Syria will still be there tomorrow.
27-11-2015, 04:07 PM
It's a fantastic portrait. Syria will still be there tomorrow.
...or not, if DC gets his way. :greengrin
27-11-2015, 04:12 PM
There wasn't a debate. Cameron was making a statement to the House. No vote took place.
Salmond was in Edinburgh because he is still an MSP.
27-11-2015, 05:09 PM
With perfect timing, certain elements of the unionist camp get all a-froth at their most hated pantomime villain.
Boo! Hiss!
Gaun yersel, Big Eck!
27-11-2015, 05:46 PM
Salmond in self indulgence shock..........
27-11-2015, 07:00 PM
Tbf the SNP MPs and supporters are never off Twitter moaning about who is and isn't in the House so they are probably getting an idea of how boring it is.
28-11-2015, 09:32 AM
Salmond in self indulgence shock..........
His portrait unveiling was a lunchtime visit, along with his other duties as an MSP, he was then briefing the SNP MSP's on the information he'd gleaned from the privy council meeting he'd had with MI5, MI6, on Syria, the day before.
http://www.thenational.scot/politics/tories-moves-to-undermine-salmond-for-absence-backfire.10513
28-11-2015, 09:44 AM
His portrait unveiling was a lunchtime visit, along with his other duties as an MSP, he was then briefing the SNP MSP's on the information he'd gleaned from the privy council meeting he'd had with MI5, MI6, on Syria, the day before.
http://www.thenational.scot/politics/tories-moves-to-undermine-salmond-for-absence-backfire.10513
I totally agree with you, there was no real need for him to be in the chamber at Westminster. I said the same thing about MPs in general when the new SNP group were pulling their stunts at Westminster just after the election. Busy MP's can't be there 24/7 if they are doing their job properly. Good to see that you now think the same. :greengrin
28-11-2015, 11:28 AM
Why is Salmond both an MP, and an MSP? Presumably he is doing neither very important job full-time?
A long anticipated statement by the Prime Minister on Syria was made in parliament, and there was a subsequent debate / questions raised. Both were missed by the SNP's foreign affairs spokesman, Alex Salmond, because he was away unveiling a portrait of himself. :rolleyes: Just because he got a briefing is no excuse. He should have been there.
Would he not be better resigning his position as an MSP if he is to do justice to the important role he has been given in the House of Commons? Imagine if this had been the foreign affairs spokesperson from Labour, Tories or Lib Dems.
Because it's Alex Salmond, every excuse under the sun is trotted out by the Nationalists. He can do no wrong in their eyes.
28-11-2015, 01:04 PM
...or not, if DC gets his way. :greengrin
Exactly!
Halifaxhibby
28-11-2015, 01:25 PM
Surprised the guy managed to fit his head inside the national portrait gallery.
Hertz fud.
28-11-2015, 05:05 PM
Why is Salmond both an MP, and an MSP? Presumably he is doing neither very important job full-time?
A long anticipated statement by the Prime Minister on Syria was made in parliament, and there was a subsequent debate / questions raised. Both were missed by the SNP's foreign affairs spokesman, Alex Salmond, because he was away unveiling a portrait of himself. :rolleyes: Just because he got a briefing is no excuse. He should have been there.
Would he not be better resigning his position as an MSP if he is to do justice to the important role he has been given in the House of Commons? Imagine if this had been the foreign affairs spokesperson from Labour, Tories or Lib Dems.
Because it's Alex Salmond, every excuse under the sun is trotted out by the Nationalists. He can do no wrong in their eyes.
The SNP is more of a cult than a political party, it's shameful that their foreign affairs spokesman was more interested in stroking his already overinflated ego than representing Scotland in such an important debate. He's an embarrassment to this country.
28-11-2015, 05:09 PM
well done wee eck, the mans a star :clapper:
28-11-2015, 05:20 PM
The SNP is more of a cult than a political party, it's shameful that their foreign affairs spokesman was more interested in stroking his already overinflated ego than representing Scotland in such an important debate. He's an embarrassment to this country.
It was a debate, not a vote. He had engagements already booked and one of these was the portrait thing. He is a member of the Privy Council and was already aware of what DC was going to say and what the intelligence was. No big deal. Also remember the PC is what Corbyn refused to be invested into at his earliest opportunity. Again no big deal but shows how busy these guys diaries are
28-11-2015, 05:40 PM
I'm no fan but he is far from an embarrassment to Scotland. He had Westminster in full panic mode during the latter stages of the referundum.
28-11-2015, 06:55 PM
If you drop the L and stick in another letter it describes David Cameron...
Halifaxhibby
29-11-2015, 03:45 AM
I'm no fan but he is far from an embarrassment to Scotland. He had Westminster in full panic mode during the latter stages of the referundum.
Really?
Before the financial crash circa 2008 fat eck was well known for saying scotland would join the 'arc of prosperity' which included ireland and iceland. That worked out well eh?, primary school classes would be cut to 20 kids per class which led to myself and several others asking how the eff can we have 2 kids in different schools supposed to start at the same time in the morning!!!!, essentially, we were all told to beat it from bigwigs at the city chambers. 2 years later, class sizes over 20 in several schools in edinburgh. Nice one eck!!!!
2 year estimate on oil revenue 2013/2015 was supposed to be 3 billion roughly, turns out it was 147 million roughly. Polis Scotland a joke, prestwick airport a joke, new hospital in weejistan a joke. More sleaze in the party than a night up the pubic triangle!!!, sturgeon undermined constantly by fat eck, i love my country and hopefully one day we will have independence but i'll never vote for snp while these muppets are in power. Aye, their very good at patter and talking a good game but they deliver very little.
Referendum will be once in a lifetime/generation?
We won't vote on english laws?
I love Scotland but i wouldn't let the snp run me a bath. Too busy with self indulgent rhetoric.
Mind you, their laughing as their competition is, at best dire!!!
29-11-2015, 10:01 AM
The SNP have an abundance of talent, none more so than Angus Robertson, the leader of the SNP in WM. He was the one taking on the Syria questions.
Here's a nice piece for the Unionists to peruse.:greengrin
https://t.co/1AMPDnjHZc
29-11-2015, 06:17 PM
If you drop the L and stick in another letter it describes David Cameron...
I'm no great fan of Cameron either (or most politicians for that matter), but thanks for your well thought out contribution. :rolleyes: I'd like to just add a few comments.
Alex Salmond is a top bloke though. Yep, he is. Just ask some of his old pals. Here's a small selection:
Like Fred Goodwin for example. Does anyone remember Alex writing to Goodwin when he was RBOS Chief Executive offering the Scottish Government's assistance in the takeover of ABN-Amro and wishing Fred good luck? That takeover contributed to the banks massive losses and the need to bail it out with £45billion of UK taxpayers money. Not just Scottish taxpayers. UK taxpayers.
Or there's Rupert Murdoch - "a remarkable man" according to Eck, whilst touting for The Sun's support in the lead up to the referendum. The Sun. Need I say more?
How about his old pal Donald Trump? Now there's a c***. Eck's backing of Donald's golf course on a previously unspoiled coastline north of Aberdeen. Yes, Scotland is desperately short of golf courses. The thousands of jobs which were being blethered about turned out to be around 200 I believe. More total bull****. I believe Eck and Donald are not best pals anymore now though.
Then there's Eck's admiration for Vladimir Putin's leadership right in the midst of the Ukraine crisis, which has disappeared off the radar these days due to the dire and tragic situation in Syria & Iraq. What about Ukraine's desire to be a sovereign independent country?
How anyone can be taken in so easily by Salmond, trust his judgement, or anything he says, especially after the farce that was the White Paper is a mystery really.
PS: Does anyone know why Salmond is an MP and an MSP? If his diary is so full, would it not be the best and honest thing to do and resign from one of these important positions?
29-11-2015, 06:59 PM
The SNP have an abundance of talent, none more so than Angus Robertson, the leader of the SNP in WM. He was the one taking on the Syria questions.
Since when did criticising Salmond or the SNP automatically make you a unionist? :confused:
jockodile
30-11-2015, 01:39 AM
I'm no great fan of Cameron either (or most politicians for that matter), but thanks for your well thought out contribution. :rolleyes: I'd like to just add a few comments.
Alex Salmond is a top bloke though. Yep, he is. Just ask some of his old pals. Here's a small selection:
Like Fred Goodwin for example. Does anyone remember Alex writing to Goodwin when he was RBOS Chief Executive offering the Scottish Government's assistance in the takeover of ABN-Amro and wishing Fred good luck? That takeover contributed to the banks massive losses and the need to bail it out with £45billion of UK taxpayers money. Not just Scottish taxpayers. UK taxpayers.
Or there's Rupert Murdoch - "a remarkable man" according to Eck, whilst touting for The Sun's support in the lead up to the referendum. The Sun. Need I say more?
How about his old pal Donald Trump? Now there's a c***. Eck's backing of Donald's golf course on a previously unspoiled coastline north of Aberdeen. Yes, Scotland is desperately short of golf courses. The thousands of jobs which were being blethered about turned out to be around 200 I believe. More total bull****. I believe Eck and Donald are not best pals anymore now though.
Then there's Eck's admiration for Vladimir Putin's leadership right in the midst of the Ukraine crisis, which has disappeared off the radar these days due to the dire and tragic situation in Syria & Iraq. What about Ukraine's desire to be a sovereign independent country?
How anyone can be taken in so easily by Salmond, trust his judgement, or anything he says, especially after the farce that was the White Paper is a mystery really.
PS: Does anyone know why Salmond is an MP and an MSP? If his diary is so full, would it not be the best and honest thing to do and resign from one of these important positions?
There is Holyrood election in under 6 months. Alex is stepping down to concentrate on his Westminster seat.
30-11-2015, 06:31 AM
The blind loyalty to the SNP by some is quite frightening. They can do no wrong, even when they have done wrong.
You only have to look at what's happened to Labour to see the result of what happens to a party that abandon the beliefs and ambitions of huge chunks of their electorate.
It will be interesting to see how the SNP fair in the Scottish election in just 5 months time.
30-11-2015, 09:21 AM
:kettle:
30-11-2015, 09:37 AM
There is Holyrood election in under 6 months. Alex is stepping down to concentrate on his Westminster seat.
Thanks for that information. It's surely the right thing to do, albeit belatedly.
I couldn't understand how or why he thought he could do both jobs /roles at the same time, and do them both properly.
30-11-2015, 01:35 PM
Since when did criticising Salmond or the SNP automatically make you a unionist? :confused:
It doesn't, and I don't think anyone's said it does:confused:
30-11-2015, 02:57 PM
It doesn't, and I don't think anyone's said it does:confused:
My mistake. When I read the above I thought you were directing all critics of the SNP towards the link and describing them as unionists. Why did you think it was only a nice piece for supporters of the union to read then? Was it some sort of punishment? :greengrin
30-11-2015, 03:32 PM
My mistake. When I read the above I thought you were directing all critics of the SNP towards the link and describing them as unionists. Why did you think it was only a nice piece for supporters of the union to read then? Was it some sort of punishment? :greengrin
They'll take more persuading than others:greengrin
30-11-2015, 03:34 PM
They'll take more persuading than others:greengrin
30-11-2015, 07:33 PM
One at a time.:wink:
https://t.co/Ox2UZu6ea5