View Full Version : Scott Allan - perma-sub.

26-11-2015, 07:38 PM
Deila was going on about SA showing up really well in training but he can't even get into what must be the weakest Celtic European team on record. Numb bum yet again.

26-11-2015, 07:40 PM
Indeed.

Unless you believe they signed them to help rangers out it's been a very odd signing.

26-11-2015, 07:43 PM
He's a prick and one of a small number of hibs players that I haven't been able to warm to despite excellent performances. Anthony Stokes was another. Both players were playing purely for themselves rather than the club when at easter road. Compare that to say liam henderson who busts a gut and celebrates like a true fan when we score and when we win despite only being here on loan. **** scott allan hes a waste of ability.

Stax
26-11-2015, 07:51 PM
Deila was going on about SA showing up really well in training but he can't even get into what must be the weakest Celtic European team on record. Numb bum yet again.
I make it 7 Scots in the starting line up, must be the most Scottish players starting a European game for them for a long time.

26-11-2015, 07:55 PM
His appearances this season on the bench have been impressive. Deserves a Scotland call-up.

26-11-2015, 07:58 PM
Stuff him.

Hope he's getting splinters up his arse. :bye:

26-11-2015, 07:58 PM
Who?

The Sundance Kid
26-11-2015, 08:08 PM
Still played the same amount of competitive games for Hibs this season as he has done for Celtic. Great move Scott

26-11-2015, 08:09 PM
1-0 Celtic already.

26-11-2015, 08:10 PM
Scott Allan has consistently chased £'s rather than play football throughout his short career. Not worth worrying about now. McGinn's a better player.

Kavinho
26-11-2015, 08:13 PM
Still played the same amount of competitive games for Hibs this season as he has done for Celtic. Great move Scott

As as much as I'm glad to see him away, I've no doubts in time he'll do alright there.

Happier with the team we've got without him.

26-11-2015, 08:14 PM
I would love Scott Allan still to be playing away at our place...he did things with a ball that were moments of genuine wonder and delight...That said, he is away now..so much more interested in those with us now..

26-11-2015, 08:18 PM
Wonder if Stubbs is considering a loan move in January?!

They've still got a great relationship and let's no kid ourselves on, he's an excellent player.

Not sure where he'd fit in but good players win games, as the season goes on you need as many as you can get.

SausageSurprise
26-11-2015, 08:18 PM
Good luck to him, he's earning a fortune and gets a Saturday off, we got a few quid and a cracking player on loan for zilch meaning we are an even better outfit for it and The Rainjurrss never got one of their own.

Everyone's a winner as far as I'm concerned

ACLeith
26-11-2015, 08:21 PM
SA had a vision to see and play a pass that others can't. So better than John McGinn with that, JMcG is only excellent at that so for me 1-0 to SA

BUT ..... drive, determination, non-stop work, team work, shooting - JMcG for me well ahead.

So works out 5-1 to JMcG 🙄

26-11-2015, 08:23 PM
Good luck to him, he's earning a fortune and gets a Saturday off, we got a few quid and a cracking player on loan for zilch meaning we are an even better outfit for it and The Rainjurrss never got one of their own.

Everyone's a winner as far as I'm concerned

Apart fae Halliday. Does a Greyfriars Bobby whimper into his "we arra peepul" duvet set every night.

26-11-2015, 08:24 PM

They've still got a great relationship and let's no kid ourselves on, he's an excellent player.

Not sure where he'd fit in but good players win games, as the season goes on you need as many as you can get.

Don't think it'd be allowed.

26-11-2015, 08:28 PM
Don't think it'd be allowed.

How?

26-11-2015, 08:31 PM
How?

Three teams in one season. I'm surmising each move would be treated separately.

26-11-2015, 08:35 PM

Sure the rule is you can't play for three clubs in one season and not the amount of transfers per the season.

There's a huge possibility I'm talking pish here but was that rule not brought in when there was talk of Nike buying the fat ronaldo and leasing him out to clubs?

I remember Fifa panicking about that happening but the two incidents might (probably) be completely separate

26-11-2015, 08:35 PM

Are we not the same club now? Scottish football is going mad. [emoji3]

26-11-2015, 08:39 PM
How?

There was a rule at one stage where you couldn't resign for your former club within 12 months of leaving.

26-11-2015, 08:45 PM
There was a rule at one stage where you couldn't resign for your former club within 12 months of leaving.

I remember that one. It was there to shore up the teams pulling a flanker on the loan system. The same loan system that is now a complete basket case.

26-11-2015, 08:46 PM
SA had a vision to see and play a pass that others can't. So better than John McGinn with that, JMcG is only excellent at that so for me 1-0 to SA

BUT ..... drive, determination, non-stop work, team work, shooting - JMcG for me well ahead.

So works out 5-1 to JMcG 

McGinn has set up two goals in last two games with sublime passes.....6-0 to McGinn for me, Allan is a waste of discussion:wink:

ACLeith
26-11-2015, 08:50 PM
McGinn has set up two goals in last two games with sublime passes.....6-0 to McGinn for me, Allan is a waste of discussion:wink:

OK BF. fast forward to 2016 cup final. I'll settle for a tenner on 5-1 you go for 6-0. 👍

26-11-2015, 08:50 PM
Does that work with loans? Just thinking of Charlie Christie signing for Celtic but being loaned back to ICT.

I'd take Scott Allan back in a second. He's a class player.

26-11-2015, 08:52 PM
Does that work with loans? Just thinking of Charlie Christie signing for Celtic but being loaned back to ICT.

Not sure mate. I shouldn't have said 'doubt it'd be allowed' cos it made me sound like I know for sure!

26-11-2015, 08:53 PM
OK BF. fast forward to 2016 cup final. I'll settle for a tenner on 5-1 you go for 6-0. 

Deal.......:aok:

Not sure mate. I shouldn't have said 'doubt it'd be allowed' cos it made me sound like I know for sure!
haha no bother!

Half time 1-1. I'll forecast a final score of Celtic 1, Ajax 2.

ACLeith
26-11-2015, 08:55 PM
Deal.......:aok:

Good man 👍

anon1875
26-11-2015, 08:55 PM
Scott Allan has consistently chased £'s rather than play football throughout his short career. Not worth worrying about now. McGinn's a better player.

They're professionals mate, they play because it's their job no for the badge I'm afraid. Good player, would take him back in a heartbeat but where would he fit in, everybody has a job defensively now and I don't see him getting back in the side considering how balanced we are.

26-11-2015, 08:56 PM
SA is a fantastic player and I'd have him back at ER in heartbeat. I hope he gets game time at the spin offs. He has the ability to go a long way in the game if he knuckles down. He has the ability to play for Scotland but must show the desire to match his skill.

Kavinho
26-11-2015, 09:11 PM

More likely to to upset the balance of the team than enhance it.
He can stay where he is..

26-11-2015, 09:27 PM

Not sure Celtic would be interested in Charlie Christie at his age.

They might want his son, Ryan, though. :wink:

26-11-2015, 09:28 PM
I would't take him back either.

Yes he has quality but it's all about balance and team unity - currently that is strong.

How bad are Celtic by the way - they are getting worse every season which is a positive for the rest of us.

26-11-2015, 09:29 PM
Here he comes...

26-11-2015, 09:29 PM
He's coming on.

26-11-2015, 09:30 PM

Hope so. :aok:

26-11-2015, 09:31 PM
Latest scores;

Molde 0-1 Fenerbahce
Celtic 1-1 Ajax

Celtic going out as things stand.

Shame.

26-11-2015, 09:32 PM
The Ajax fans have been outstanding. Great noise compared to TGFITW.

26-11-2015, 09:32 PM
Latest scores;

Molde 0-1 Fenerbahce
Celtic 1-1 Ajax

Celtic going out as things stand.

Shame.
Gutted. Hopefully they lose on the night too.

hibeesboii
26-11-2015, 09:34 PM
Good luck to him tonight.

26-11-2015, 09:36 PM
Absolutely superb through ball by the flicky haired one. Griffiths fluffs it.

26-11-2015, 09:36 PM
That was a delightful pass through to Griffiths. Nae luck.

26-11-2015, 09:38 PM
LG should have scored from an Allan through ball.

The Celtic youngster McGregor looks handy.

SausageSurprise
26-11-2015, 09:42 PM
The Ajax fans have been outstanding. Great noise compared to TGFITW.

Leeds would have taken more

26-11-2015, 09:44 PM
Scott Allan is a fantastic player.

Not the common view on here but he is better player than McGinn , although I'd agree McGinn has improved the team as he is a better fit for the side , if he realises his potential he is superb footballer.

Stax
26-11-2015, 09:44 PM
Two best bits of movement / passes from Celtic in his two first touches.

26-11-2015, 09:46 PM
Sparky has made poor decisions all evening.

26-11-2015, 09:47 PM

Good touch on the Ajax boy's legs too when he got booked.

26-11-2015, 09:49 PM

2-1 Ajax. Ho ho ho. Knew I should have backed them.

That's a harsh lesson for Allan. Gets robbed of ball and leads to winner ....ouch

Hope you put that on at the bookies. :tee hee:

Scott Allan at fault for the goal too by giving the ball away.

Nae luck. :bye:

26-11-2015, 09:50 PM
Back in the reserves for Scott. Good assist for Ajax's winner.

26-11-2015, 09:50 PM
HAHAHAHA No luck SA......

Stax
26-11-2015, 09:51 PM
Doh! Then guilty of letting Ajax back into the game...

26-11-2015, 09:51 PM
Soap dodgers 1 Soap powders 2 ;)

26-11-2015, 09:52 PM
Hahahaha unlucky Allan!

26-11-2015, 09:54 PM
How bad has Craig Gordon been in Europe this year? Went down about an hour early for that goal.

Allan robbed of the ball at corner and Ajax break and score - 2v1

LG has missed several chances also.

Mulgrew just walked off the pitch??

Should have been 3v1 / 4v1/ 5v1 if you add in the shot that hit the post.

Scottish teams are terrible in Europe!

How bad has Craig Gordon been in Europe this year? Went down about an hour early for that goal.

Also at fault for the first, why didn't he just catch it?

les83
26-11-2015, 09:55 PM
Allan wanted to go to Celtic to make an impact in the Europa League, he's certainly done that!!

26-11-2015, 09:56 PM
Wonder what the story is with Mulgrew? How weird was that?

26-11-2015, 09:57 PM
inspired sub by ajax bringing on scotty allan

26-11-2015, 09:58 PM

Maybe he remembered he'd left his son in his car. Wouldn't be the first time.

26-11-2015, 10:02 PM
Once Allan gets into the team I reckon he'll stay there. He's too good not to. There's a real opportunity for him now that Brown is injured. He's still an absolute welt of a guy, however

Great assist for the winner tonight as well [emoji4]

26-11-2015, 10:03 PM
Don't think John McGinn would've given ball away like that. Oh, wrong thread.

26-11-2015, 10:04 PM
did anyone else feel quite frightened looking at Frank de boer's eyes

twiceinathens
26-11-2015, 10:05 PM
And how long until the rest of us are blamed(again!!) for not giving them enough competition at home?

26-11-2015, 10:05 PM
Once Allan gets into the team I reckon he'll stay there. He's too good not to. There's a real opportunity for him now that Brown is injured. He's still an absolute welt of a guy, however

Allan may be SPFL standard but no chance will he run games in Europe - teams will work him out.

Time for a Chris Sutton rant....

26-11-2015, 10:08 PM
Chris sutton is such a helmet. Petrov was giving a good summary of his thoughts on allan and sutton completely interrupts him. Absolute fool.

26-11-2015, 10:09 PM

Looked really weird. Looked like he said something to Allan or McGregor and just walked right off the pitch and down the tunnel. Didn't look injured the way he strolled off as well.

26-11-2015, 10:09 PM
Chris sutton is such a helmet. Petrov was giving a good summary of his thoughts on allan and sutton completely interrupts him. Absolute fool.

What did he say?!

26-11-2015, 10:12 PM
More his manner than the content tbh. Petrov was saying its hard to judge sa on 20 minutes after not playing a while and Sutton burst in saying he gave the ball away. Despite the truth of it he made a bit of a james blunt of himself imo. Again.

26-11-2015, 10:12 PM
Allan thought he was bigger than Hibs. He was wrong. Good player but suspect attitude.

As for Celtc going out, good.

26-11-2015, 10:14 PM

Could you imagine the Hun & their media if he DID come to us on loan and scored a vital goal that was the decider between us and them winning the league - such a scenario happening would be absolute heaven !!!

26-11-2015, 10:14 PM

I give him credit for his honesty in post match analysis - basically slating the board for lack of money and poor signings.

Too many pundits just say the same cliches and sit on the fence - Sutton was right - Allan gave ball away as he was slow to react and that cost them the goal.

26-11-2015, 10:18 PM
I give him credit for his honesty in post match analysis - basically slating the board for lack of money and poor signings.

Too many pundits just say the same cliches and sit on the fence.
Fair enough. He could at least give his colleagues the courtesy of being able to finish their input before going off on another rant. If I wanted to hear a rabid celtic fan bleating about how hard done by they are I'd phone my cousin. I'd like to think a former footballer being paid for his opinion could be a bit more professional.

26-11-2015, 10:34 PM
Sutton is a ****ing pain in the arse when he's commentating. Also, he must have said "Derek" about a hundred times tonight.

26-11-2015, 10:49 PM
Fair enough. He could at least give his colleagues the courtesy of being able to finish their input before going off on another rant. If I wanted to hear a rabid celtic fan bleating about how hard done by they are I'd phone my cousin. I'd like to think a former footballer being paid for his opinion could be a bit more professional.

Yup that's true - Petrov was interrupted several times.

Sutton is obviously just passionate about his former club - I guess you would except the same if it was Hibs in Europe and former Hibs players at the pundits.

26-11-2015, 10:54 PM
Oddly enough, despite his boob at the corner, SA seems to be the only one to come out of the game with some plaudits. By the sound of it on KS, he impressed the masses and might get a chance in the team in bread and butter games.

26-11-2015, 10:55 PM
Is it not time to give it a rest over Allen?

He gave his best in the Hibs jersey. OK he has moved on but to the financial advantage of Hibs.

We are better off without him so it's a case of win/win.

We are better than the vindictive crap posted on this thread. I hope?

26-11-2015, 11:04 PM

He gave his best in the Hibs jersey. OK he has moved on but to the financial advantage of Hibs.

Well said.

He's a daft lad who did well for us and then got his head turned. He wasn't the first and won't be the last.

26-11-2015, 11:07 PM
Well said.

He's a daft lad who got his head turned. He did well for us and then got his head turned. He wasn't the first and won't be the last.

We got the better deal, SA is irrelevant now................

26-11-2015, 11:14 PM

He is arguably the reason we had such a lacklustre start.

26-11-2015, 11:16 PM

I dunno,whose Allen? The Liverpool guy? Seems irrelevant.

Otherwise discussing an ex Hibs player still playing in Scotland seems pretty relevant.

26-11-2015, 11:36 PM
McGinn has set up two goals in last two games with sublime passes.....6-0 to McGinn for me, Allan is a waste of discussion:wink:your just trying to body swerve that 5-1 thing, aren't you? be honest.:greengrin

26-11-2015, 11:38 PM

I'd take Scott Allan back in a second. He's a class player.he'd take a few weeks to get back up to our speed. needs game time:rolleyes:

27-11-2015, 12:01 AM
I did not watch the game tonight, but having heard that he gave the ball away which then lead to the away team's goal, I am not really surprised. he is a very good player but he is more of an individual, rather than a team player. this was evident on more than just occasional times when he played for Hibernian. I am sure a few times, he lost the ball when he tried to be a clever Charlie, showboating just too many times when with us. for that reason, I prefer JMcG any old day.

27-11-2015, 12:01 AM

Agreed. SA was class. I enjoyed watching him while he played for us. He one of the long line of players who moved for more money. Like the rest, football is his profession and most of us would try and get the best deals for ourselves and our families.
Scott's moved on. So should we.

27-11-2015, 12:05 AM
Agreed. SA was class. I enjoyed watching him while he played for us. He one of the long line of players who moved for more money. Like the rest, football is his profession and most of us would try and get the best deals for ourselves and our families.

He's a bit of a stand out in terms of agitating to leave us after just a year though. He acted like a tool. Nothing class about his behaviour.

27-11-2015, 12:17 AM
I did not watch the game tonight, but having heard that he gave the ball away which then lead to the away team's goal, I am not really surprised. he is a very good player but he is more of an individual, rather than a team player. this was evident on more than just occasional times when he played for Hibernian. I am sure a few times, he lost the ball when he tried to be a clever Charlie, showboating just too many times when with us. for that reason, I prefer JMcG any old day.

Lost the ball on the edge of the opposition penalty area, bit of a stretch in my opinion to actually blame him, where were the rest of the Celtic team? To be caught on the counter that high up the pitch is pish poor defending and organisation of the team.

27-11-2015, 12:27 AM
Lost the ball on the edge of the opposition penalty area, bit of a stretch in my opinion to actually blame him, where were the rest of the Celtic team? To be caught on the counter that high up the pitch is pish poor defending and organisation of the team.
They needed a goal so everyone was in the penalty box and they got caught on the counter. Didn't think it was poor defending but a great counter attacking goal. :agree:

GreenOnions
27-11-2015, 12:29 AM
Oddly enough, despite his boob at the corner, SA seems to be the only one to come out of the game with some plaudits. By the sound of it on KS, he impressed the masses and might get a chance in the team in bread and butter games.

This is more like it. I was actually at the Celtic game tonight. Allan did make the mistake that led to their goal but it was irrelevant by then. Celtic needed to win and 1-1 was as bad as 1-2 for them.

His general performance was excellent apart from that. He almost set up a goal with his first pass (which was the best pass of the game IMO) and then nearly set up another a few minutes later. If Leigh had had his shooting boots on Scott would be the hero for creating the second and third goals in a 3-1 victory. I was interested to see if he could make the step up to play in European games. After tonight's cameo I'd be amazed if he doesn't. A class act IMO and I see him being a fixture in the Celtic team very soon - hopefully also in the Scotland team as we have no other midfielders who can do anything near what he does.

I despair about some of the stuff on this thread. Small-minded, petty nonsense for the most part. Scott didn't behave well when he left us but how many of us behaved brilliantly at his age? Let's get over ourselves and move on - please.

27-11-2015, 12:29 AM

Both teams were playing pressing all out attack in the last ten minutes because of the Fenerbahce score. That's why there was no cover. 100% Allan's fault.

27-11-2015, 12:32 AM
Both teams were playing pressing all out attack in the last ten minutes because of the Fenerbahce score. That's why there was no cover. 100% Allan's fault.

Rubbish.

27-11-2015, 12:34 AM
Rubbish.

OK.

27-11-2015, 12:58 AM
This is more like it. I was actually at the Celtic game tonight. Allan did make the mistake that led to their goal but it was irrelevant by then. Celtic needed to win and 1-1 was as bad as 1-2 for them.

His general performance was excellent apart from that. He almost set up a goal with his first pass (which was the best pass of the game IMO) and then nearly set up another a few minutes later. If Leigh had had his shooting boots on Scott would be the hero for creating the second and third goals in a 3-1 victory. I was interested to see if he could make the step up to play in European games. After tonight's cameo I'd be amazed if he doesn't. A class act IMO and I see him being a fixture in the Celtic team very soon - hopefully also in the Scotland team as we have no other midfielders who can do anything near what he does.

I despair about some of the stuff on this thread. Small-minded, petty nonsense for the most part. Scott didn't behave well when he left us but how many of us behaved brilliantly at his age? Let's get over ourselves and move on - please.

I love him as a player and agree that he did very well when he came on. I'd love to see him succeed, as there has to be a place in the game for a pure footballer. However, it was a fleeting cameo so canonizing him as the next international superstar is as much jumping the gun as writing him off as a permanent benchwarmer. I think this is a huge season for him. Could pretty much go either way for I think.

27-11-2015, 01:36 AM
I love him as a player and agree that he did very well when he came on. I'd love to see him succeed, as there has to be a place in the game for a pure footballer. However, it was a fleeting cameo so canonizing him as the next international superstar is as much jumping the gun as writing him off as a permanent benchwarmer. I think this is a huge season for him. Could pretty much go either way for I think.well said, oh wise one.:not worth

27-11-2015, 01:48 AM
**** him.

wick hibby
27-11-2015, 04:22 AM

Spot on :agree:

27-11-2015, 07:17 AM
Not really that bothered about Scott Allan either way, but very pleased to see Celtic lose last night.

27-11-2015, 08:29 AM

Allan robbed of the ball at corner and Ajax break and score - 2v1

LG has missed several chances also.

Mulgrew just walked off the pitch??

Should have been 3v1 / 4v1/ 5v1 if you add in the shot that hit the post.

Scottish teams are terrible in Europe!

L G had enough chances to Score a few goals ,he had a real off night .When S A first came on he put through a brilliant ball for L G who was one on one against the keeper .But as we know Allan is skilfull but he isn't the strongest player and once they Sussed that out ,he was ineffective and his inexperience at this level was cruelly exposed in the lead up to thier second goal .
Where does this leave our coefficient ,we must be nearing a point where Scottish Teams will need to play in so many qualifying rounds it diminishes the chances of any of our teams getting into the tournament proper :confused:

RMQ1967
27-11-2015, 08:31 AM

Well said :agree: - makes me cringe reading a lot of the bitter childish insults that are thrown at every ex-employee that is perceived to have betrayed us. Hard to believe grown men write that stuff. We should be above this nonsense & all the stuff about the BBC hating everything Hibs - just embarrassing.

27-11-2015, 08:37 AM
& all the stuff about the BBC hating everything Hibs - just embarrassing.

How can the BBC hate Hibs?

Certain pundits on their Sportsound programme undoubtedly do though.

RMQ1967
27-11-2015, 08:57 AM
How can the BBC hate Hibs?

Certain pundits on their Sportsound programme undoubtedly do though.

As supporters of our rivals I'm sure they'd prefer that Hibs don't prosper and therefore is it any surprise that comes through in their reports? So a supporter of another club doesn't give a Hibs tinted report of the world - cue online tantrums & complaints of the terrible bias from (over)sensitive souls.
They also fairly frequently criticise their own teams & compliment Hibs but that seems get overlooked.

27-11-2015, 09:28 AM
As supporters of our rivals I'm sure they'd prefer that Hibs don't prosper and therefore is it any surprise that comes through in their reports? So a supporter of another club doesn't give a Hibs tinted report of the world - cue online tantrums & complaints of the terrible bias from (over)sensitive souls.
They also fairly frequently criticise their own teams & compliment Hibs but that seems get overlooked.

I expect balance from BBC employees. It simply doesn't happen on Sportsound.

You can try and smooth things over as much as you want but, despite the (feint) praise when Hibs win a game, they don't show much balance.

I don't expect unwarranted praise or "tinted" reports on Hibs from them, just reports. The delight when Hibs lose is palpable on that show. Not from the BBC but from a couple of their employees.

GreenOnions
27-11-2015, 09:38 AM
L G had enough chances to Score a few goals ,he had a real off night .When S A first came on he put through a brilliant ball for L G who was one on one against the keeper .But as we know Allan is skilfull but he isn't the strongest player and once they Sussed that out ,he was ineffective and his inexperience at this level was cruelly exposed in the lead up to thier second goal .

This is such obvious rubbish and motivated by something other than objectivity that I doubt I will read any of your future posts as IMO they will have no credibility. Sorry - but true.

27-11-2015, 09:46 AM
His pass for Griffiths was sublime . Loved watching him play for us . Yes he soured it by his actions at the end , but anyone who says he's not a talented footballer knows nothing about football

27-11-2015, 10:07 AM
Where does this leave our coefficient ,we must be nearing a point where Scottish Teams will need to play in so many qualifying rounds it diminishes the chances of any of our teams getting into the tournament proper :confused:

Good point. Celtc are really letting Scottish football down. Just not good enough.

RMQ1967
27-11-2015, 10:27 AM
I expect balance from BBC employees. It simply doesn't happen on Sportsound.

You can try and smooth things over as much as you want but, despite the (feint) praise when Hibs win a game, they don't show much balance.

I don't expect unwarranted praise or "tinted" reports on Hibs from them, just reports. The delight when Hibs lose is palpable on that show. Not from the BBC but from a couple of their employees.

Thankfully, those days are behind us :greengrin

I've heard many glowing reports about our performances on Sportsound in recent months - we get the credit when we play well and we rightly get the criticism when we don't - exactly the same as other clubs.

27-11-2015, 10:49 AM
His pass for Griffiths was sublime . Loved watching him play for us . Yes he soured it by his actions at the end , but anyone who says he's not a talented footballer knows nothing about football

If you look at most 'SA' threads and posts, I don't think many really have a go at his skill and talent. As you say, it was his actions and attitude that caused the resentment, making him fair game as a target for bit of banter and message board abuse. As the OP of this thread, my target was not so much Scott Allan but more the inability of Celtic and Deila to effectively deploy their player resources. The bottom line was that they were scraping the barrel to put out a winning team, yet, despite Deila's assurances that Allan was showing up really well in training, he still couldn't bring himself to include him in the starting line up. Bad decision, Ronny. I'm quite indifferent to the progress of Allan's career now but for the record, I think he will be a huge player, if not for Celtic, for another big team in England, probably.

27-11-2015, 10:49 AM
we get the credit when we play well and we rightly get the criticism when we don't - exactly the same as other clubs.

I don't mind or care about the criticism. We've deserved every bit of criticism we've received over the last few years.

What I don't expect from BBC employees is the laughing and snide remarks along with the huge "all is well with the world" attitude adopted when we lose a goal. So it's not "exactly the same as other clubs."

If you don't mind it fair enough. Other people don't like their licence fee money contributing to the culprits wages.

There are more fair minded pundits on Sportsound than not, it's easy to show a degree of professionalism and detachment if necessary. Some find those skills beyond them however, and don't really deserve a job with the national broadcaster.

27-11-2015, 11:28 AM

You can add the tool's that gave him dog's abuse at Dumbarton on the opening day of the season to that list, adults not youngsters. Never been at a game with such a poisinous atmosphere which I'm convinced affected the team as a whole that day.

27-11-2015, 11:30 AM
I don't mind or care about the criticism. We've deserved every bit of criticism we've received over the last few years.

What I don't expect from BBC employees is the laughing and snide remarks along with the huge "all is well with the world" attitude adopted when we lose a goal. So it's not "exactly the same as other clubs."

If you don't mind it fair enough. Other people don't like their licence fee money contributing to the culprits wages.

There are more fair minded pundits on Sportsound than not, it's easy to show a degree of professionalism and detachment if necessary. Some find those skills beyond them however, and don't really deserve a job with the national broadcaster.

Agree entirely almost broke my hand punching the kitchen worktop in my house when listening to the radio with Blobbo and Preston ecstatic when Ross County scored a late equaliser in the cup a few years back. Absolute joke and not banter IMO. Key point being would an OF fan ex-player get away with doing the same about the other half of the inform if the same thing happened, we just know it would never be allowed to happen.

27-11-2015, 11:43 AM
If you look at most 'SA' threads and posts, I don't think many really have a go at his skill and talent. As you say, it was his actions and attitude that caused the resentment, making him fair game as a target for bit of banter and message board abuse. As the OP of this thread, my target was not so much Scott Allan but more the inability of Celtic and Deila to effectively deploy their player resources. The bottom line was that they were scraping the barrel to put out a winning team, yet, despite Deila's assurances that Allan was showing up really well in training, he still couldn't bring himself to include him in the starting line up. Bad decision, Ronny. I'm quite indifferent to the progress of Allan's career now but for the record, I think he will be a huge player, if not for Celtic, for another big team in England, probably.
Fair enough Jim . Wasn't a dig at yourself mate .

HappyHanlon
27-11-2015, 12:12 PM
He was a cracking player for us. He was also a money grabbing ****bag.

He should never have started against Dumbarton - too much of a circus around him at that time and it was clear to see the pressure on the team.

IIRC, there was trouble in the stands too cause someone booed him.

I'm glad we have McGinn on a long contract :thumbsup:

27-11-2015, 12:34 PM

I love him as a player and agree that he did very well when he came on. I'd love to see him succeed, as there has to be a place in the game for a pure footballer. However, it was a fleeting cameo so canonizing him as the next international superstar is as much jumping the gun as writing him off as a permanent benchwarmer. I think this is a huge season for him. Could pretty much go either way for I think.

Pretty much sums sums it up for me though I also agree largely with the OP. However SA did with one pass what Celtc had completely failed to do in the prior 70 minutes. Unfortunately, for Celtc, LG had an absolute shocker both in his finishing & his decision making.

27-11-2015, 12:41 PM
Thankfully, those days are behind us :greengrin

I've heard many glowing reports about our performances on Sportsound in recent months - we get the credit when we play well and we rightly get the criticism when we don't - exactly the same as other clubs.

I know some of you guys are trying to be fair and objective about Sportsound's reporting and as you say they recently have been quite positive, but they would have come across as stupid if they had adopted any other viewpoint. However, I honestly don't think we get exactly the same level of criticism when we are poor or get beaten. Gordon, Preston and Robertson et al are always ready to throw in a sarcastic and sneering aside. They are too shallow to rise above it.l

27-11-2015, 03:55 PM
Allan thought he was bigger than Hibs. He was wrong. Good player but suspect attitude.

As for Celtc going out, good.

This. A class act on the pitch but seems like a bit of a diva off it. His nonsense in the summer when he handed in a transfer request after the huns pathetic offer just felt like a huge slap in the face tbh.

portyhibernian
27-11-2015, 04:03 PM
Good player but an absolute welt of a man who showed our club zero respect.

27-11-2015, 04:15 PM
I'm going to cut him a massive amount of slack by saying that some of his behaviour this summer was (almost) understandable.

He lives in Glasgow and had just become a father. The promise of much more money and a job closer to home would have been very hard to turn down. With his best pal coming up the road and his agent in his ear you could see how his head could be turned.

He is too good to be playing in the First Division - he knew that, we knew that. It would have been nice (and imo everyone's best interests) if he had stayed for another year though. But if he had to go since he'd just had a kid he'd be less inclined to take another punt on going down to England again, as well as the fact that he's failed there fairly recently.

I'd been warned about him by friends who supported United so got a feeling it was only a matter of time before he did the dirty on us somehow. And for all I liked him as a player I think - as a team - we look better without him. Quite a lot better tbh.

27-11-2015, 05:16 PM
Terrific player and a move to Celtic was good for the boy. Not going to cheer him on after way he left us but nothing but praise for what he did at his time here. Last night, yes, he gave the ball away for the 2nd goal (albeit 90 yards away) but his ball to Griffiths was superb but Sparky missed the opportunity. He's played very little amount of football at Celtic and lacks sharpness but he'll do well there and a move to Celtic was good for him. Having said that, I'd still rather have John McGinn.

27-11-2015, 05:25 PM
**** Scott Allan and **** Celtic. They're made for each other.

GGTTH!

29-11-2015, 04:19 PM
**** Scott Allan and **** Celtic. They're made for each other.

GGTTH!