View Full Version : Semi Final Venue

pundy man
13-11-2015, 08:06 PM
Disgusted we are playing there and them making money out of this game.

They have not spent a penny on their crap stadium for years and instead of the authorities getting tough with them regarding safety they award them with a semi final.

You could not make it up.

13-11-2015, 08:21 PM
maybe the budge will do the right thing and give any money the gimps receive to some of the creditors they disgustingly bumped

but then again

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_3SD8YumMVbY/SoN2zIVFNtI/AAAAAAAAAR4/v_XUlvnds6o/s320/flying_pig.jpg

13-11-2015, 08:41 PM
my initial thoughts were, ah well at least we did not end up with a traipse to Glasgow and an early kick off, also tv. However, after thinking hard, and also talking to fellow Hibs fans and branch members, the majority (myself included) are not happy about the gorgie mob making money on this semi-final.

13-11-2015, 08:43 PM
my initial thoughts were, ah well at least we did not end up with a traipse to Glasgow and an early kick off, also tv. However, after thinking hard, and also talking to fellow Hibs fans and branch members, the majority (myself included) are not happy about the gorgie mob making money on this semi-final.

Correct & denies a well earned trip to the National Stadium

13-11-2015, 08:51 PM

The cheats probably felt the same when they lost to 9 men ICT at the Leith San Siro.

13-11-2015, 08:55 PM
The cheats probably felt the same when they lost to 9 men ICT at the Leith San Siro.

Was horrible seeing them in our end . But fin hilarious when they lost to 9 men :) hopefully we keep our 100% cup semi final record intact at the PBS
Then enjoy our jaunt to Hampden in March .

13-11-2015, 09:00 PM
The cheats probably felt the same when they lost to 9 men ICT at the Leith San Siro.I hope they felt more scunnered than that:wink:

13-11-2015, 09:02 PM
Was horrible seeing them in our end . But fin hilarious when they lost to 9 men :) hopefully we keep our 100% cup semi final record intact at the PBS
Then enjoy our jaunt to Hampden in March .

Think we lost a semi at the piggery (Aberdeen IIRC)?

13-11-2015, 09:05 PM
Think we lost a semi at the piggery (Aberdeen IIRC)?

At Dens in Scottish S noh ?

13-11-2015, 09:09 PM
At Dens in Scottish S noh ?

Deffo lost a semi at the pigsty............

13-11-2015, 09:20 PM
Was that the game that the tattooed freak was high fiving the hearts fans just before the 9 men equalised?

13-11-2015, 09:22 PM
Was that the game that the tattooed freak was high fiving the hearts fans just before the 9 men equalised?

yip........:greengrin

13-11-2015, 09:24 PM
Folk need to get over themselves. Either you're attending to watch and support Hibs or you're not.

Shilly shallying about what a few bob Hearts might get is looking for an excuse not to go IMO.

13-11-2015, 09:24 PM
Deffo lost a semi at the pigsty............

Scottish Cup 1992/1993 0-1.........Jeez, thought I was going madder than normal...............

13-11-2015, 09:26 PM
How much will the maroonics make from the game being at their midden?

13-11-2015, 09:32 PM
Scottish Cup 1992/1993 0-1.........Jeez, thought I was going madder than normal...............

Good shout & fair play. Sure we lost to Sheep @ Dens in Scottish Semi too

13-11-2015, 09:34 PM
Disgusted we are playing there and them making money out of this game.

They have not spent a penny on their crap stadium for years and instead of the authorities getting tough with them regarding safety they award them with a semi final.

You could not make it up.

That's not true. They purchased a 40w light bulb (not sure they paid the bill mind you) a few years ago.

13-11-2015, 09:35 PM

Aye 1985/1986 3-0

We also lost to Dunfermine in 1964/1965 in semi at pigsty 2-0 (before my time)........

13-11-2015, 09:36 PM
How much will the maroonics make from the game being at their midden?

I'd guess £100k the gimps 👎 Probably they're biggest unexpected payday since they last settled a bill. Wrong in every way IMO

13-11-2015, 09:37 PM

Difference is they were in a modern stadium fit for purpose. Tynecastle is an accident waiting to happen.

13-11-2015, 09:38 PM
We lost to the sheep in 1986, the year hearts did the double, here's the pictures of them celebrating

13-11-2015, 09:41 PM
Difference is they were in a modern stadium fit for purpose. Tynecastle is an accident waiting to happen.

Fair point............

13-11-2015, 09:41 PM
We lost to the sheep in 1986, the year hearts did the double, here's the pictures of them celebrating

Overcome with joy, they dinnae look happy winning the double.......

13-11-2015, 09:42 PM
Aye 1985/1986 3-0

We also lost to Dunfermine in 1964/1965 in semi at pigsty 2-0 (before my time)........

before my time too, I'd rather pay Hibs the entrance fee as a donation

13-11-2015, 09:43 PM
I'd guess £100k the gimps ddc4e Probably they're biggest unexpected payday since they last settled a bill. Wrong in every way IMO

No danger they'll get that much.

Anyway let's just get the place rocking.

Always love the atmosphere when we are in the away end.

With 2/3 of the stadium ours the noise will be incredible and I'm confident we will inspire the team to victory

Hampden in March .... Here we come

13-11-2015, 09:44 PM
Scottish Cup 1992/1993 0-1 (tel:1992/1993 0-1).........Jeez, thought I was going madder than normal...............

The overall feeling going in to that game was we were going to lose. Couldn't believe that mentality on the way over, and almost wondered why folk were going if they thought that! I think the moral of the story is that we only lose semis over yonder if we expect to lose them! We're winning this one.

13-11-2015, 09:46 PM
The overall feeling going in to that game was we were going to lose. Couldn't believe that mentality on the way over, and almost wondered why folk were going if they thought that! I think the moral of the story is that we only lose semis over yonder if we expect to lose them! We're winning this one.

Without doubt.......

13-11-2015, 09:54 PM
We defo lost to Aberdeen in the early/mid 90s. Remember it because I went with my mum lol. Might not be funny to you but I was 15/16 at the time and we went just the both of us. Her one and only ever hibs game.

13-11-2015, 09:56 PM

My thoughts exactly!!
Also gives the young players to get the feel of the atmoshere at Hampden .

13-11-2015, 09:58 PM
Never Been To Tynecastle !!!

And - Never Will... :agree:

Been Sooo Tempted at times over the years - but I just cant do it guys...

13-11-2015, 10:01 PM
We defo lost to Aberdeen in the early/mid 90s. Remember it because I went with my mum lol. Might not be funny to you but I was 15/16 at the time and we went just the both of us. Her one and only ever hibs game.

Don't take her to any more games she has a 100% loss record.............

13-11-2015, 10:02 PM
My thoughts exactly!!
Also gives the young players to get the feel of the atmoshere at Hampden .

The atmosphere at Hampden in front of 25,000 people Max in a semi is a world away from the atmosphere in a final, so no real benefit from that POV of having it played at Hampden.

13-11-2015, 10:04 PM
The atmosphere at Hampden in front of 25,000 people Max in a semi is a world away from the atmosphere in a final, so no real benefit from that POV of having it played at Hampden.

Also worth remembering that almost every member of our starting 11 has played at Hampden at least once in their career.

13-11-2015, 10:09 PM

You are a better man than the rest of us!:not worth

13-11-2015, 10:19 PM

:faf::faf::faf:

13-11-2015, 10:29 PM

Been Sooo Tempted at times over the years - but I just cant do it guys...you don't know what you are missing, it's such a welcome place for us from the East side of our town and has become even more so since Ms Budge has taken the reigns.:wink:

13-11-2015, 10:59 PM
The most sensible venue at the most sensible time.

13-11-2015, 11:17 PM
Aye 1985/1986 3-0

(But not before mine)

I was there......think it may even have been grand national day?

13-11-2015, 11:20 PM
(But not before mine)

I was there......think it may even have been grand national day?

I was told it was grand national day.....

Funnily enough so was the Aberdeen loss at Tynie......

13-11-2015, 11:21 PM

I have to say that some of the happiest times I have had have been at Tynecastle.....none more so than on January 1 1973.......

13-11-2015, 11:23 PM
I have to say that some of the happiest times I have had have been at Tynecastle.....none more so than on January 1 1973.......

Jammy beggar, 6-2 was fab, but 7-0......Would have loved to have witnessed that..........

13-11-2015, 11:26 PM
We should not be playing there.

The ground is a safety hazard which has not been improved in a generation.

Auckland Hibs
13-11-2015, 11:52 PM

Don't remember much from the game itself - pretty sure we didn't really have many chances?

Two things I do remember; 1) the Aberdeen casuals getting a serious kick-in under the bridge next to Robbos Bar - my first experience of seeing fighting at a football game. 2) the smell of pish standing in the shed area at Tynecastle.

13-11-2015, 11:57 PM
Don't remember much from the game itself - pretty sure we didn't really have many chances?

Two things I do remember; 1) the Aberdeen casuals getting a serious kick-in under the bridge next to Robbos Bar - my first experience of seeing fighting at a football game. 2) the smell of pish standing in the shed area at Tynecastle.

Yeah a bit of bother afterwards, and Tynie always smells like that.....

14-11-2015, 12:32 AM

High sixes all round

BigT-Hibeez
14-11-2015, 03:47 AM
High sixes all round

One word... ASBESTOS!!!

14-11-2015, 04:08 AM

Remember that vaguely. Crud game and I think Scott Booth scored their goal.

ACLeith
14-11-2015, 06:01 AM
Jammy beggar, 6-2 was fab, but 7-0......Would have loved to have witnessed that..........

Best hangover cure I have come across 😀

Bob1875
14-11-2015, 06:40 AM

You won't attend a football stadium to watch 2 teams play due to who plays there? Do adults not grow out of that?

14-11-2015, 09:07 AM

Agreed and in fact there is nothing to suggest that getting used to Hampden by playing a game there would help us win a subsequent game at Hampden.

2001 2012 and 2013 we won three semis at hampden, all of which were our first visit to Hampden that season. So we didnt need the previous experience of Hampden to win. Then, it didnt really help us much in the finals having had that Hampden experience.

14-11-2015, 10:02 AM
The most sensible venue at the most sensible time.

14-11-2015, 10:20 AM

Do you and others honestly believe it is such a safety hazard that it gets used all the time?
Might be me but it gets boring after a while and people who use it as an excuse not to go is even worse

14-11-2015, 10:22 AM
Aye 1985/1986 3-0

Beat Dundee United 1-0 in 93 LC Semi Final.

Darren Jackson scored at the Roseburn end.

14-11-2015, 10:25 AM
Do you and others honestly believe it is such a safety hazard that it gets used all the time?
Might be me but it gets boring after a while and people who use it as an excuse not to go is even worse

I did think like that and haven't been there since 2001 (John O'Neil's last-minute equaliser) BUT, there's no way I'm missing this game :aok:

14-11-2015, 10:26 AM
Would you be happy to sit in it? I wouldn't.. If there was a fire in that stand it would be horrendous and it's got asbestos leaking from the roof. To answer your question, I do think it's a safety hazard compared to a modern football stadium like Easter Road.

pundy man
14-11-2015, 10:32 AM
After Hands off Hibs many Hibs people including me vowed never to go back to Tynecastle so as not to give them a penny of our cash.

They will benefit so I won't be there and as my original post says a disgrace they get a national semi final as the ground is a disaster waiting to happen.

The Sfa etc are bending over backwards to help them and Rangers in anyway they can so crime does pay.

Yes I loved going there and was at the 7-0 game but past history of what they put us through in 1990 dictates I will not be there and the safety side I worry about for my fellow Hibby's

HibbyDave
14-11-2015, 11:51 AM
Which fans will get the use of the "Asbetoshed?"
If it's us then perhaps worth carrying out a demonstration of non-attendance for that stand only.
I can't go as I'll be in Stuttgart that day in any case but I would not sit in that stand.

14-11-2015, 12:54 PM
Would you be happy to sit in it? I wouldn't.. If there was a fire in that stand it would be horrendous and it's got asbestos leaking from the roof. To answer your question, I do think it's a safety hazard compared to a modern football stadium like Easter Road.

It wouldn't really bother me as thousands of hearts fans use it each week.
I'll be going for the wheatfield stand however 😄

14-11-2015, 01:42 PM
It wouldn't really bother me as thousands of hearts fans use it each week.
I'll be going for the wheatfield stand however 
As will I :greengrin

14-11-2015, 01:49 PM
Do the yams do their catering in house ?

14-11-2015, 01:56 PM
There's a big trough that runs along the concourse in the Wheatfield stand and a guy comes along and pours leftovers from gorge farm into it just before half time. It's the stuff that the animals in the farm won't eat.

hibsquaker
14-11-2015, 02:03 PM
Saturday at 3pm in Edinburgh. Fantastic. Unheard of these days getting a big game at 3pm on a Saturday!!! Like the good old days!

14-11-2015, 02:42 PM
After Hands off Hibs many Hibs people including me vowed never to go back to Tynecastle so as not to give them a penny of our cash.

They will benefit so I won't be there and as my original post says a disgrace they get a national semi final as the ground is a disaster waiting to happen.

The Sfa etc are bending over backwards to help them and Rangers in anyway they can so crime does pay.

Yes I loved going there and was at the 7-0 game but past history of what they put us through in 1990 dictates I will not be there and the safety side I worry about for my fellow Hibby's

Do you support Hibs more than you hate Hearts? They will get the same payment for the use of the PBS if there's 10000 or a full house

14-11-2015, 02:50 PM
Do you support Hibs more than you hate Hearts? They will get the same payment for the use of the PBS if there's 10000 or a full house

It will be a full house, those who choose not to go is their choice, but tickets will still sell out............

14-11-2015, 03:30 PM
Best venue to have this game.
Good bit of common sense and just cause its there lifts the Hibs fans so should be a great atmosphere, if only it was a wee bit bigger

MM19
14-11-2015, 03:55 PM

Mine too still remember it like it was yesterday. We also lost a semi to Aberdeen at Dens around maybe 1980 by 1-0. McDonald was in goal and I think the Aberdeen player scored from out towards the left wing.

14-11-2015, 05:26 PM

Why do that when someone else can pay for it?!

pundy man
14-11-2015, 07:21 PM

As a active member of HOH I don't need to justify my love for Hibs and if we did not fight the way we did then we would not have a game to worry about on 30th Jan..

i am am happy to stick to my principles and not go but also disgusted they are making money when their stadium is not fit for a national semi final.

lastly some of my fiends and sons will be there as that is rightly their choice but I worry about their safety along with the other Hibby's

HiBremian
14-11-2015, 08:57 PM
There's a big trough that runs along the concourse in the Wheatfield stand and a guy comes along and pours leftovers from gorge farm into it just before half time. It's the stuff that the animals in the farm won't eat.

Think you're confusing their catering with their urinals......

14-11-2015, 09:07 PM
Mine too still remember it like it was yesterday. We also lost a semi to Aberdeen at Dens around maybe 1980 by 1-0. McDonald was in goal and I think the Aberdeen player scored from out towards the left wing.

Stuart Kennedy was the scorer - total fluke.

15-11-2015, 01:46 AM
Think you're confusing their catering with their urinals......

One and the same my friend

16-11-2015, 08:08 AM
i see in amongst all the weekends sad events in paris the BBC have chosen the sellick v Ross co game as the tellybox one

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/34812417

BBC Scotland will broadcast live television coverage of the Scottish League Cup semi-final between Ross County and holders Celtic.